Brits would be brilliant Bok bolter

MARK KEOHANE says Schalk Brits would be a bold but brilliant Springbok selection for the November internationals.

It is unlikely to happen but don’t be surprised if lock Marco Wentzel is part of the Boks three-Test campaign.

Brits, according to those with South African links and actively involved in rugby in Europe and the United Kingdom, is the best hooker in the English Premiership and he is also rated by many as the best in Europe.

He plays for Saracens and has always expressed his desire to play again for the Springboks.

For those in South Africa who haven’t seen much of Brits in the past few seasons, take a look at this Brits performance against Leicester. It just illustrates the class of the player on attack, in defence, doing the basics of hooker play and so much more. You can find many more examples of his performances on Rugbydump.

Heyneke Meyer rates Adriaan Strauss highly and he will probably select Chiliboy Ralepelle and Craig Burden as back up to Strauss for the Tests against Ireland, Scotland and England.

Bath director of rugby and former Bok forwards coach Gary Gold says Brits would add a dimension to the Boks.

‘He has been brilliant for the last few seasons and is so highly regarded over here,’ Gold told keo.co.za. ‘There are several European and English-based South African players still good enough to play for the Springboks, which doesn’t necessarily mean they are better options than what is in South Africa. But Brits, in the absence of injured Bismarck du Plessis, would be a player I’d not hesitate in getting involved. He commands presence and there is huge respect in the English game, especially, for his ability.’

Former Bok and Italy coach Nick Mallett said Brits would be the one overseas-based player he would look to in the November internationals.

‘More so in light of the absence of [Bismarck] du Plessis. You have a guy who consistently has been the best performer in his position. He knows the opposition. He knows the conditions and he is not a player at the tail end of his season, as is always the negative for the southern hemisphere sides touring in November and of course for the northern hemisphere sides touring here, Australia and New Zealand in June. Fatigue is always a factor to be considered and Brits, of the South Africans abroad, has been a big performer for some seasons.’

Mallett singled out Francois Louw and Ruan Pienaar, who will be selected, as quality additions to the squad and said he had been impressed with the contributions of Bakkies Botha, Gurthro Steenkamp and Rory Kockott.

Injuries may force Meyer to look at a veteran like Botha, but outside of that he is expected to put his faith in those who played in the Rugby Championship.

Brits would be a bolter, even though he should be selected on ability and performance, but the player who may be the bolter is lock Marco Wentzel, who played for the Boks as a youngster a decade ago.

Wentzel lacks the physicality of Eben Etzebeth, Flip van der Merwe and Botha, but he is primarily a No 5 lock and Meyer told keo.co.za earlier in the week it was the one area of concern because of injury to Andries Bekker and Ulster-based Johann Muller. Juandre Kruger assumed the responsibility in the three-Test series against England played in South Africa earlier in the season, but Wentzel has been consistently impressive as a winner of lineout ball and in his organisation of the lineout.

Wentzel, capped just twice for the Boks, has enjoyed spells at Leicester and Leeds and is now integral to the forward pack at London Wasps.

For those unfamiliar with his contribution read Brendan Gallagher’s feature in the London Telegraph on how Wentzel is viewed within the Wasps coaching structure. He has assumed a role very similar to Victor Matfield’s at the Bulls and Boks.

Meyer also confirmed that none of the Japanese-based trio Fourie du Preez, Danie Rossouw and Jacque Fourie are available for selection because of the structure of their respective club contracts.

84 Comments

• 1.willievz: Reply to this comment

Pulling a rabbit out of a hat here.

But what a rabbit.

He would be an admirable selection.

• 2.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@willievz-1:

Jislaaik, can you imagine how that will upset some of the usual suspects…

• 3.willievz: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-2: Let them choke on their brandy and coke.

Brits has played 50 tests too few for the green and gold.

• 4.puff: Reply to this comment

Marco Wentzel?
    You can’t be serious.
    Where is Gerhard Mostert?

Steenkamp
    Brits
    Botha
    Mostert
    Louw
    Van Niekerk
    Kockott

I wonder whether Meyer will consider Pedrie Wannenberg?
    He seems to like that type of player at 7.
    And with Potgieter injured, will he take the likes of Deysel or Daniel on tour… or will he draft in Wannenberg to the squad?
    It’s no less of a controversial decision than calling on Wentzel.

Kockott is a fine example of how short some fans’ memories can be.
    He was often punted as the next best 9 in the country behind Du Preez – even ahead of Pienaar.
    He is abrasive, likes to snipe, strong.
    Plus he has a formidable kicking game – both for territory and at poles.

Just imagine if Meyer decides to really pull a rabbit out of a hat and draft in John Smit.
    He couldn’t call on Matfield because Vic retired from all forms of the game, but Smit still plays for Saracens so it is still at least possible, right?

I know this for sure… Grant 10 would have a heart attack!

• 5.puff: Reply to this comment

Heinke Van Der Merwe
    Brian Mujati

• 6.willievz: Reply to this comment

@puff-5: Mujati has a Zim passport. Cannot play.

Heinke warms the bench for this club.

• 7.puff: Reply to this comment

@willievz-6:

I reckon Steenkamp, possibly Botha, Mostert, Louw and Pienaar are all viable choices.

• 8.willievz: Reply to this comment

@puff-7: Certainly. Hopefully Brits too.

Mostert is a good player, played very well against the ABs in 2011.

• 9.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Gurthro Steenkamp gave Dan Cole (Eng/Tigers 3) a lot of trouble at the scrum last weekend.

• 10.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

I rate this guy; rough & tough he is.

Oh, and he can play a little as well!

• 11.puff: Reply to this comment

@willievz-8:

Where is Mostert playing?
    Couldn’t see his name in any Heineken Cup squads when I looked, but it’s very possible I missed it.

• 12.katman: Reply to this comment

Who’s this doing the writing here? Keo? Wa val jy uit? We’ve been saying this for about a thousand years now. Don’t pretend you suddenly had a divine epiphany.

• 13.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Crusaders winger Sean Maitland has signed a 3-year deal with the Glasgow Warriors in Scotland, the same club for which former Lions number 8 Josh Strauss is now playing.

The 24-year-old Maitland, like so many other Kiwis, has a Scottish grandparent and thus qualifies not only for the ancestral visa which will allow him to work (i.e. play) in the UK without requiring a work permit, but also to represent the Scottish national side immediately, if selected. Tighter immigration rules in the UK have made it incredibly hard for players who don’t have “proven international pedigree” to obtain the necessary visas to join clubs in England, Scotland or Wales, making a player like Maitland an ever-more -precious commodity to the likes of Glasgow

• 14.willievz: Reply to this comment

@puff-11: In Paris, for Stade Francais.

• 15.nama1: Reply to this comment

Why?

What’s wrong with Strauss, Chilliboy and Burden (who was in the Bok group for 4 weeks)?

• 16.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-15: Nothing wrong with them.

Brits just a better player.

• 17.puff: Reply to this comment

@nama1-15:

I think Meyer actually rates his hookers in this order

Bismark
    Strauss
    Ralepelle
    Maku

Or, at least, he did when he first got the Bok coaching job.
    Maku has only just returned from injury so I’m not sure whether he”ll get the nod for EOY tour.
    But Strauss and Chilli defs will.
    Either Meyer will opt for continuity and bring in Burden, which makes sense considering starting props will be Sharks players.
    Or… a third hooker from overseas.
    If that’s the case, I really do believe Meyer will look at Gary Botha before anyone else.

• 18.katman: Reply to this comment

Check his try against Gloucester: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MslWzc6nNCM

And against Wasps: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkWWsda67AM&feature=related

I’d have him in the match 22 any day of the week. If Bissy was fit, I’d start with him and bring Brits on later. If Bissy was injured I’d start with Brits and tell him he’s there for 80 minutes.

• 19.katman: Reply to this comment

And then there’s this one, finished off by Ernst Joubert. But watch Schalk’s pass.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_fjF6srCmU

• 20.puff: Reply to this comment

When does Meyer announce his squad – after CC final?

• 21.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@willievz-6: Mujati – Are you sure? Born in Zim but has been capped 12 times for Boks – initially I think by Divvy.

Suspect that HM will go for:

G.Steenkamp, B.Mujati, S.Brits, M.Wentzel, F.Louw and R.Pienaar as foreign based players for Nov Tests.

Makes sense given that players are all acclimitised, experienced and relatively fresh compared to SA-based compatriots. Fatigue and forms should be considerations.

Interesting to see who will start at 10. Should be Lambie as he is looking good at moment and had a lot of rest during Castle Championship.

Meyer will go for 5-6 props in 32 man squad. Bench of 8 for Nov Tests apparently.

• 22.puff: Reply to this comment

1. Mtawarira, Steenkamp
    2. Strauss, Ralepelle
    3. Du Plessis, Cilliers
    4. Etzebeth, Botha
    5. Kruger, Van Der Merwe
    6. Louw, Coetzee
    7. Alberts, Deysel
    8. Vermeulen, Daniel
    9. Pienaar, Hougaard (lucky)
    10. Jantjies, Steyn (lucky)
    11. Habana, Basson
    12. De Villiers, De Jongh
    13. Taute, Engelbrecht/Mapoe
    14. Pieterson, Mapoe/Mvovo
    15. Kirchner, Lambie

Can’t see squad looking too different from this.
    Reckon Meyer will give Lambie a go at 10 and perhaps start De Jongh alongside JDV with Taute on bench.

• 23.puff: Reply to this comment

1. Mtawarira 2. Strauss 3. Du Plessis 4. Etzebeth 5. Kruger 6. Louw 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen 9. Pienaar 10. Lambie 11. Habana 12. De Villiers 13. De Jongh/Taute 14. Pieterson 15. Kirchner

16. Ralepelle 17. Cilliers 18. Van Der Merwe 19. Coetzee 20. Hougaard 21. Steyn/Jantjies 22. Taute/De Jongh

Can’t be far off…

• 24.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@puff-22: Agree. Not sure if Daniels is still in his plans. Understand he is also looking at Arno Botha as back up 8. Englebrecht a winger i.m.o. Think he’ll take 3 hookers and 5-6 props. We need to find and settle with a 13…

• 25.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@puff-23: Yeah. Add a prop and barring injuries that looks like it. Schalk Brits will be a great “Impact Substitution” as HM refers to. Chilli came back from lengthy injury and needed proper game time.

• 26.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Nah. Keep Strauss, Ralepelle and one of Deon Fourie, Bandise Maku or Burden

Personally I think Deon Fourie deserves a shot. Great player growing into a good talent.

• 27.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Are you crazy? If we select Brits then we would be courting imagination. That’s heresy!

• 28.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

My prediction:

Props: Mtawarira, Steenkamp, du Plessis, Mujati and Cilliers
    Hookers: Strauss, Brits, Ralepelle
    Locks: Etzebeth, van der Merwe, Kruger, Wentzel
    Flankers: Louw, Coetzee, Alberts, Deysel
    No.8: Vermeulen, Botha
    Scrumhalves: Pienaar, Hougaard, Vermaak
    Flyhalves: Lambie, Jantjies, Steyn
    Wingers: Habana, Basson, Pietersen
    Centers: de Villiers, de Jongh, Taute, Mapoe
    Fullback: Kirchner (Lambie and Taute as cover)

Outside chance: Franco vd Merwe, Daniels, Deysel, Mvovo, Engelbrecht, Ludick

Injured: Bismarck, Liebenberg, Coenie, Bekker, Kolisi, Brussouw, F. Steyn

Contract issues: du Preez, Fourie, Kankowski

• 29.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-27: I think HM will give us an early Christmas present…

• 30.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-21: The Mujati question is used to separate the men from the boys on this site, and you’ve just been sent to Kindergarten.

• 31.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-26:

Deon Fourie?? Ralepelle?? Maku?? Burden??

Schalk Brits is lightyears ahead of these clowns

wasted talent who should have earn more caps by now.

• 32.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-30: Yes, perhaps I deserve to be sent to Kindergarten because I honestly don’t know what you’re talking about??? Please explain….

• 33.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-32:

Brian Mujati does not have a SA passport.

The Department of Sport has regularly confirmed that you need to have a SA passport to play for the Springboks. There was a crisis when it was realised that Beast did not have his passport yet, and they fast-tracked.

Mujati has stated he will not play for the Springboks again.

Mujati is not eligible for selection, at all.

• 34.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-32: What WP-Forever said.

• 35.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-33: Thanks mate. You schooled me today. Much appreciated.

• 36.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-32:

Mujati had obtained residency in South Africa, and was allowed to play for South Africa under the IRB rules.

However, the ANC government via the Department of Sport insisted that only SA citizens are allowed to represent national teams.

• 37.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-35:

No worries.

Even if Mujati was to be given a SA passport, he would not agree to play for the Springboks again. He feels he was hard done by in South Africa, and would rather stay in the UK (even if that means he can never play Test rugby again).

• 38.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-36: Eish, the ANC… That’s why I vote Cope…

• 39.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

i’d like to know some more about his scrummaging. Who are his props either side at saracens. If Guthro was selected I’d possibly chance it but with Beest way off his game and only Jannie, scrumming could go backwards?

something else to consider when selecting a hooker.

• 40.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-16:
    Is he?

With the game plan that Meyer plays, I don’t think he is the right kind of hooker.

See how Strauss had to adapt his play after a poor start in Meyer’s team. He was much more involved in the tight stuff in the last two RC matches. Totally different to his usual loose type of play when he plays for the Cheetahs.

@TrueBok-21:
    That was before the Sports Law was amended to state that you have to be a SA citizen to represent the country at national level.

Remember the work behind the scenes to ensure that Beast get citizenship in order for him to be eligible for selection?

• 41.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-37: Am I still correct in saying that an 8 man bench will be used during the November tests. If that’s the case, are we not struggling with shortage of fit props?

• 42.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-35:
    no, its not the whole story.
    there’s also the ‘mujatigate’ affair.
    probably not the most important of all the factors involved but taken together as a whole, i would say its dead in the water (him ever playing for the boks again).

• 43.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-29:

I hope so. My stocking is waiting for WitBritz.

• 44.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42: Xenophobia is a bad thing…

• 45.TrueBok: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-43: Definitely. Need gambreakers ,the so called ‘X Factor’ that HM is looking for…

• 46.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-38:

Well, they were actually just being consistent.

The National Colours Regulations of 2009 (published pursuant to the National Sport and Recreation Act 110 of 1998) quite clearly state:

“National Colours will only be considered for sportsmen and sportswomen who can submit proof that they are South African nationals, i.e. they must be in possession of a valid South African passport. Athletes with South African resident permits only, are not eligible. This rule does not apply to Managers and Coaches.”

• 47.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@nama1-40:

Correct. Mujati was first capped as a Springbok in 2008, and the regulations were published in 2009.

• 48.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TrueBok-44:
    no, that was his father.

i’m referring to the false racism allegations.

• 49.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42:
    Oh man Bakkies…not that story again!!!

• 50.katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-39: I reckon he’s a better scrummager than Strauss, and probably even Ralepele. At Saracens he packs down between Matt Stevens and an islander called Vunipola. They also have a pretty sold bloke called Nieto and a few other props, including another Saffa called something du Plessis. They used to have Deon Carstens for a while.

• 51.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-40: Brits would inject necessary speed into our pack, which as a unit is far too slow for a tier 1 team at current.

• 52.willievz: Reply to this comment

@willievz-51: Especially since we now play a less mobile nr8

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-49:
    ja ok.

• 54.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-50:
    How many starts did John Smit have ahead of him and why was that?

• 55.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-51:
    Into the back line, you mean. :lol:

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53:

• 56.John1976: Reply to this comment

@willievz-52: The advantage however is, that he is not quick enough to get away for the potential contact ala his predesessor, Pierre Spies. :lol:

• 57.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-55: No, linking the back line.

Strauss and Chilli are the ones that set up camp at the far end of the back line on offense.

• 58.willievz: Reply to this comment

Mind you, I would still start Strauss.

• 59.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Brits is a poor version of Burden

• 60.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-59: Other way round.

• 61.Kid_Senekal: Reply to this comment

Keo, why the fascination with Brits? We’ve got plenty of talent playing in the Currie Cup – even without the injured okes like Bissie, Chillie and Liebenberg.

And Wentzel? Bro, have you lost it? lol.

• 62.katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-54: I haven’t followed all the games, but Smit was a sub in all the games I saw, with Brits the starting hooker.

• 63.nama1: Reply to this comment

@katman-62:
    Oh OK.

He started a few games ahead of Brits and I got the impression that it was because they were looking for more scrumming power. Might be totally wrong of course.

• 64.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black-59:

Burden is a less creative version of Brits. I like his passion though. But he is not a tier 1 unit.

• 65.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-64:

What do they say about opinions? :-)

• 66.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Chiliboi is the best!

• 67.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-66:
    Must have take a hell of a lot for you to admit that.

• 68.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Brits is overrated, it isthe question ofa big fish inasmall pond. English ckub rugby is at a lower level and that is why he loks good.

• 69.willievz: Reply to this comment

@KingTJ-68: So why did JDV at Munster and John Smit at Clermont struggle at this so-called “lower level”?

• 70.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Sorry tabloid keyboard

• 71.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

JS is over the hill, he should come back to the sharks and coach. Never watched JDV there…so cant pass opinion, but many of our plyers have gone there that couldn’t the mustard here. Just look at reinach strauss and the rest of the english squad…..none of those players where good enough. So UK idols to try and make it .

• 72.POM77: Reply to this comment

Hopelik trek Gottlieb Swart ‘n paar strooitjies.

• 73.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

So they joined UK idols(rugby) to try and make it.

• 74.husky: Reply to this comment

Oh dear I wonder if the unregistered keow is Brits’ agent? That’s why he’s forever punting him duh!!!

But Brits is good, maybe on par with Strauss; possibly not as good a scrummager but better with a bit of space and ball in hand. Not sure I would boot anyone to accomodate him though.

• 75.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@nama1-54: Because JS was the best set piece hooker to ever play the game, was a brilliant leader, a good in close defender and he hit rucks…..pretty simple really.

• 76.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

Something interesting. Sorry for afrikaans

DIE feit dat daar nie ’n enkele gekleurde speler die naweek vir die Oostelike Provinsie Kings teen die Cheetahs opgedraf het nie, is ’n probleem vir die Suid-Afrikaanse Rugbyunie (Saru).Só sê die uitvoerende hoof van Saru, Jurie Roux.“Dit is ’n probleem vir Saru en ons het dit met die Kings opgeneem.”Roux het nie gesê wat aan die Kings gesê is nie.Wynand Claassen, oud-Bokkaptein, het gesê as die Kings nie Suid-Afrikaanse gekleurde spelers kies om te speel nie, is dit sinloos om hulle aanstaande jaar in die Superreeks te laat speel.“Dit defeat die purpose. Word hulle nie juis toegelaat om in die Superreeks te speel sodat meer gekleurde spelers die kans gegun word om op daardie vlak rugby te speel nie?”Naas Botha, voormalige Springbok-losskakel, sê om gekleurde spelers te laat speel, was nooit ’n amptelike rede vir hul insluiting in die Superreeks nie.“Daar is nooit amptelik gesê dit is die rede nie.”Die Cheetahs het die Kings Saterdag met 53-14 vermorsel in die eerste van twee promosie-en-relegasiewedstryde.Claassen reken die Kings gaan nie die mas opkom in die Superreeks nie.“Hulle gaan verneder word.” Roux het ontken dat Saru geld vir die Kings gegee het om spelers te kontrakteer vir aanstaande jaar se Superreeks.“Saru het nie méér geld vir die Kings gegee as vir enige ander unie nie en sal ook nie bykomende geld gee sodat hulle beter vaar in die Superreeks nie.”Botha wou hom nie uitlaat oor die Kings se kanse nie.“Ons sal moet wag en sien. Hulle het ’n paar spelers gekontrakteer wat dalk ’n verskil kan maak. Tot voor die onderskep-drie van Andries Strauss het hulle nie te vrot gevaar teen die Cheetahs die afgelope naweek nie.”Cheeky Watson, president van die Kings, het teen druktyd nie sy selfoon geantwoord nie.

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-75: Maybe in 2007 ….post 2007 a useless lump of lard .

• 78.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@husky-74: Brits probably would do a better job at 13 than Taute!

@grant10-77: let it go g10, Smit was still a top player in 2009 and a good test hooker in 2011 albeit Bismarck was a better one

• 79.whatever: Reply to this comment

@grant10-77:

Build a bridge ya boring git!

• 80.whatever: Reply to this comment

I rate Brits. Watched his game over the week-end, great hands, step and appears all over the park.

SA’s no 2 hooker IMHO, but doubt ‘ol blue eyes would consider him……..unfortunately

• 81.pplet: Reply to this comment

A hooker who does up and unders, is kick receiver, side-steps and runs in the back line like any centre… Maybe this is what the Bok back-line needs a forward who can cover both.

Check his performance in the Premiership final, this guy is very impressive

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BoZBKxO4TQ&noredirect=1

• 82.rabooby: Reply to this comment

In an ideal world my SA team

1 Steenkamp / Beast / Coenie
    2 Bis / Brits / Strauss
    3 Mujati / Doctor / Cilliers
    4 Estebeth / Mostert / Flippie
    5 Becker / Kruger / ?
    6 Brussow / louwe / Coetzee
    7 Smith / Burger / Alberts
    8 Burger / Vermulen / Daniels /Spies / Brits?
    9 Pienaar / kocket / Hougie
    10 Lambie / Goosen / Jnjies – Lambie before Goose just for experience for now
    11 Habs / Mvovo
    12 Fourie / F Steyn /Jordaan
    13 JdJ / Taute / JDV
    14 JPP / Hougie / Basson
    l515 Taute / F Steyn / Lambie / Ludik all before Nik Nak

• 83.pplet: Reply to this comment

@rabooby

Does SA not have any other quality scrum halves other than Pienaar (has been reliable at best) and Hougie (mercurial at best)?

Who is the new talent there, seems like another of the many Bok weak spots at the moment?

• 84.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Don’t think we have another option. We need to find another FDP or bring him back till we can. Think Pienaar will come good again.. we just need to get more game time with players, our 10 keeps changing so that changes things all the time. So I think Pienaar has done a great job considering,, I just wish he would clear the rucks quicker ..

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.