Brits would be brilliant Bok bolter
24 Oct 2012
MARK KEOHANE says Schalk Brits would be a bold but brilliant Springbok selection for the November internationals.
It is unlikely to happen but don’t be surprised if lock Marco Wentzel is part of the Boks three-Test campaign.
Brits, according to those with South African links and actively involved in rugby in Europe and the United Kingdom, is the best hooker in the English Premiership and he is also rated by many as the best in Europe.
He plays for Saracens and has always expressed his desire to play again for the Springboks.
For those in South Africa who haven’t seen much of Brits in the past few seasons, take a look at this Brits performance against Leicester. It just illustrates the class of the player on attack, in defence, doing the basics of hooker play and so much more. You can find many more examples of his performances on Rugbydump.
Heyneke Meyer rates Adriaan Strauss highly and he will probably select Chiliboy Ralepelle and Craig Burden as back up to Strauss for the Tests against Ireland, Scotland and England.
Bath director of rugby and former Bok forwards coach Gary Gold says Brits would add a dimension to the Boks.
‘He has been brilliant for the last few seasons and is so highly regarded over here,’ Gold told keo.co.za. ‘There are several European and English-based South African players still good enough to play for the Springboks, which doesn’t necessarily mean they are better options than what is in South Africa. But Brits, in the absence of injured Bismarck du Plessis, would be a player I’d not hesitate in getting involved. He commands presence and there is huge respect in the English game, especially, for his ability.’
Former Bok and Italy coach Nick Mallett said Brits would be the one overseas-based player he would look to in the November internationals.
‘More so in light of the absence of [Bismarck] du Plessis. You have a guy who consistently has been the best performer in his position. He knows the opposition. He knows the conditions and he is not a player at the tail end of his season, as is always the negative for the southern hemisphere sides touring in November and of course for the northern hemisphere sides touring here, Australia and New Zealand in June. Fatigue is always a factor to be considered and Brits, of the South Africans abroad, has been a big performer for some seasons.’
Mallett singled out Francois Louw and Ruan Pienaar, who will be selected, as quality additions to the squad and said he had been impressed with the contributions of Bakkies Botha, Gurthro Steenkamp and Rory Kockott.
Injuries may force Meyer to look at a veteran like Botha, but outside of that he is expected to put his faith in those who played in the Rugby Championship.
Brits would be a bolter, even though he should be selected on ability and performance, but the player who may be the bolter is lock Marco Wentzel, who played for the Boks as a youngster a decade ago.
Wentzel lacks the physicality of Eben Etzebeth, Flip van der Merwe and Botha, but he is primarily a No 5 lock and Meyer told keo.co.za earlier in the week it was the one area of concern because of injury to Andries Bekker and Ulster-based Johann Muller. Juandre Kruger assumed the responsibility in the three-Test series against England played in South Africa earlier in the season, but Wentzel has been consistently impressive as a winner of lineout ball and in his organisation of the lineout.
Wentzel, capped just twice for the Boks, has enjoyed spells at Leicester and Leeds and is now integral to the forward pack at London Wasps.
For those unfamiliar with his contribution read Brendan Gallagher’s feature in the London Telegraph on how Wentzel is viewed within the Wasps coaching structure. He has assumed a role very similar to Victor Matfield’s at the Bulls and Boks.
Meyer also confirmed that none of the Japanese-based trio Fourie du Preez, Danie Rossouw and Jacque Fourie are available for selection because of the structure of their respective club contracts.

84 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
24 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
Pulling a rabbit out of a hat here.
But what a rabbit.
He would be an admirable selection.
24 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
@willievz-1:
Jislaaik, can you imagine how that will upset some of the usual suspects…
24 Oct 2012, 12:21 pm
@WP-Forever-2: Let them choke on their brandy and coke.
Brits has played 50 tests too few for the green and gold.
24 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
Marco Wentzel?
You can’t be serious.
Where is Gerhard Mostert?
Steenkamp
Brits
Botha
Mostert
Louw
Van Niekerk
Kockott
I wonder whether Meyer will consider Pedrie Wannenberg?
He seems to like that type of player at 7.
And with Potgieter injured, will he take the likes of Deysel or Daniel on tour… or will he draft in Wannenberg to the squad?
It’s no less of a controversial decision than calling on Wentzel.
Kockott is a fine example of how short some fans’ memories can be.
He was often punted as the next best 9 in the country behind Du Preez – even ahead of Pienaar.
He is abrasive, likes to snipe, strong.
Plus he has a formidable kicking game – both for territory and at poles.
Just imagine if Meyer decides to really pull a rabbit out of a hat and draft in John Smit.
He couldn’t call on Matfield because Vic retired from all forms of the game, but Smit still plays for Saracens so it is still at least possible, right?
I know this for sure… Grant 10 would have a heart attack!
24 Oct 2012, 12:28 pm
Heinke Van Der Merwe
Brian Mujati
24 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
@puff-5: Mujati has a Zim passport. Cannot play.
Heinke warms the bench for this club.
24 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@willievz-6:
I reckon Steenkamp, possibly Botha, Mostert, Louw and Pienaar are all viable choices.
24 Oct 2012, 12:35 pm
@puff-7: Certainly. Hopefully Brits too.
Mostert is a good player, played very well against the ABs in 2011.
24 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
Gurthro Steenkamp gave Dan Cole (Eng/Tigers 3) a lot of trouble at the scrum last weekend.
24 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
I rate this guy; rough & tough he is.
Oh, and he can play a little as well!
24 Oct 2012, 12:40 pm
@willievz-8:
Where is Mostert playing?
Couldn’t see his name in any Heineken Cup squads when I looked, but it’s very possible I missed it.
24 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
Who’s this doing the writing here? Keo? Wa val jy uit? We’ve been saying this for about a thousand years now. Don’t pretend you suddenly had a divine epiphany.
24 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
Crusaders winger Sean Maitland has signed a 3-year deal with the Glasgow Warriors in Scotland, the same club for which former Lions number 8 Josh Strauss is now playing.
The 24-year-old Maitland, like so many other Kiwis, has a Scottish grandparent and thus qualifies not only for the ancestral visa which will allow him to work (i.e. play) in the UK without requiring a work permit, but also to represent the Scottish national side immediately, if selected. Tighter immigration rules in the UK have made it incredibly hard for players who don’t have “proven international pedigree” to obtain the necessary visas to join clubs in England, Scotland or Wales, making a player like Maitland an ever-more -precious commodity to the likes of Glasgow
24 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
@puff-11: In Paris, for Stade Francais.
24 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
Why?
What’s wrong with Strauss, Chilliboy and Burden (who was in the Bok group for 4 weeks)?
24 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@nama1-15: Nothing wrong with them.
Brits just a better player.
24 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@nama1-15:
I think Meyer actually rates his hookers in this order
Bismark
Strauss
Ralepelle
Maku
Or, at least, he did when he first got the Bok coaching job.
Maku has only just returned from injury so I’m not sure whether he”ll get the nod for EOY tour.
But Strauss and Chilli defs will.
Either Meyer will opt for continuity and bring in Burden, which makes sense considering starting props will be Sharks players.
Or… a third hooker from overseas.
If that’s the case, I really do believe Meyer will look at Gary Botha before anyone else.
24 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
Check his try against Gloucester: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MslWzc6nNCM
And against Wasps: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkWWsda67AM&feature=related
I’d have him in the match 22 any day of the week. If Bissy was fit, I’d start with him and bring Brits on later. If Bissy was injured I’d start with Brits and tell him he’s there for 80 minutes.
24 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
And then there’s this one, finished off by Ernst Joubert. But watch Schalk’s pass.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_fjF6srCmU
24 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
When does Meyer announce his squad – after CC final?
24 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@willievz-6: Mujati – Are you sure? Born in Zim but has been capped 12 times for Boks – initially I think by Divvy.
Suspect that HM will go for:
G.Steenkamp, B.Mujati, S.Brits, M.Wentzel, F.Louw and R.Pienaar as foreign based players for Nov Tests.
Makes sense given that players are all acclimitised, experienced and relatively fresh compared to SA-based compatriots. Fatigue and forms should be considerations.
Interesting to see who will start at 10. Should be Lambie as he is looking good at moment and had a lot of rest during Castle Championship.
Meyer will go for 5-6 props in 32 man squad. Bench of 8 for Nov Tests apparently.
24 Oct 2012, 13:04 pm
1. Mtawarira, Steenkamp
2. Strauss, Ralepelle
3. Du Plessis, Cilliers
4. Etzebeth, Botha
5. Kruger, Van Der Merwe
6. Louw, Coetzee
7. Alberts, Deysel
8. Vermeulen, Daniel
9. Pienaar, Hougaard (lucky)
10. Jantjies, Steyn (lucky)
11. Habana, Basson
12. De Villiers, De Jongh
13. Taute, Engelbrecht/Mapoe
14. Pieterson, Mapoe/Mvovo
15. Kirchner, Lambie
Can’t see squad looking too different from this.
Reckon Meyer will give Lambie a go at 10 and perhaps start De Jongh alongside JDV with Taute on bench.
24 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
1. Mtawarira 2. Strauss 3. Du Plessis 4. Etzebeth 5. Kruger 6. Louw 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen 9. Pienaar 10. Lambie 11. Habana 12. De Villiers 13. De Jongh/Taute 14. Pieterson 15. Kirchner
16. Ralepelle 17. Cilliers 18. Van Der Merwe 19. Coetzee 20. Hougaard 21. Steyn/Jantjies 22. Taute/De Jongh
Can’t be far off…
24 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
@puff-22: Agree. Not sure if Daniels is still in his plans. Understand he is also looking at Arno Botha as back up 8. Englebrecht a winger i.m.o. Think he’ll take 3 hookers and 5-6 props. We need to find and settle with a 13…
24 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@puff-23: Yeah. Add a prop and barring injuries that looks like it. Schalk Brits will be a great “Impact Substitution” as HM refers to. Chilli came back from lengthy injury and needed proper game time.
24 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
Nah. Keep Strauss, Ralepelle and one of Deon Fourie, Bandise Maku or Burden
Personally I think Deon Fourie deserves a shot. Great player growing into a good talent.
24 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
Are you crazy? If we select Brits then we would be courting imagination. That’s heresy!
24 Oct 2012, 13:28 pm
My prediction:
Props: Mtawarira, Steenkamp, du Plessis, Mujati and Cilliers
Hookers: Strauss, Brits, Ralepelle
Locks: Etzebeth, van der Merwe, Kruger, Wentzel
Flankers: Louw, Coetzee, Alberts, Deysel
No.8: Vermeulen, Botha
Scrumhalves: Pienaar, Hougaard, Vermaak
Flyhalves: Lambie, Jantjies, Steyn
Wingers: Habana, Basson, Pietersen
Centers: de Villiers, de Jongh, Taute, Mapoe
Fullback: Kirchner (Lambie and Taute as cover)
Outside chance: Franco vd Merwe, Daniels, Deysel, Mvovo, Engelbrecht, Ludick
Injured: Bismarck, Liebenberg, Coenie, Bekker, Kolisi, Brussouw, F. Steyn
Contract issues: du Preez, Fourie, Kankowski
24 Oct 2012, 13:29 pm
@Jinx2-27: I think HM will give us an early Christmas present…
24 Oct 2012, 13:31 pm
@TrueBok-21: The Mujati question is used to separate the men from the boys on this site, and you’ve just been sent to Kindergarten.
24 Oct 2012, 13:35 pm
@Rhys7-26:
Deon Fourie?? Ralepelle?? Maku?? Burden??
Schalk Brits is lightyears ahead of these clowns
wasted talent who should have earn more caps by now.
24 Oct 2012, 13:39 pm
@stormersboy-30: Yes, perhaps I deserve to be sent to Kindergarten because I honestly don’t know what you’re talking about??? Please explain….
24 Oct 2012, 13:43 pm
@TrueBok-32:
Brian Mujati does not have a SA passport.
The Department of Sport has regularly confirmed that you need to have a SA passport to play for the Springboks. There was a crisis when it was realised that Beast did not have his passport yet, and they fast-tracked.
Mujati has stated he will not play for the Springboks again.
Mujati is not eligible for selection, at all.
24 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
@TrueBok-32: What WP-Forever said.
24 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@WP-Forever-33: Thanks mate. You schooled me today. Much appreciated.
24 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@TrueBok-32:
Mujati had obtained residency in South Africa, and was allowed to play for South Africa under the IRB rules.
However, the ANC government via the Department of Sport insisted that only SA citizens are allowed to represent national teams.
24 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@TrueBok-35:
No worries.
Even if Mujati was to be given a SA passport, he would not agree to play for the Springboks again. He feels he was hard done by in South Africa, and would rather stay in the UK (even if that means he can never play Test rugby again).
24 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@WP-Forever-36: Eish, the ANC… That’s why I vote Cope…
24 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
i’d like to know some more about his scrummaging. Who are his props either side at saracens. If Guthro was selected I’d possibly chance it but with Beest way off his game and only Jannie, scrumming could go backwards?
something else to consider when selecting a hooker.
24 Oct 2012, 13:51 pm
@willievz-16:
Is he?
With the game plan that Meyer plays, I don’t think he is the right kind of hooker.
See how Strauss had to adapt his play after a poor start in Meyer’s team. He was much more involved in the tight stuff in the last two RC matches. Totally different to his usual loose type of play when he plays for the Cheetahs.
@TrueBok-21:
That was before the Sports Law was amended to state that you have to be a SA citizen to represent the country at national level.
Remember the work behind the scenes to ensure that Beast get citizenship in order for him to be eligible for selection?
@WP-Forever-37: Am I still correct in saying that an 8 man bench will be used during the November tests. If that’s the case, are we not struggling with shortage of fit props?
@TrueBok-35:
no, its not the whole story.
there’s also the ‘mujatigate’ affair.
probably not the most important of all the factors involved but taken together as a whole, i would say its dead in the water (him ever playing for the boks again).
24 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@TrueBok-29:
I hope so. My stocking is waiting for WitBritz.
24 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42: Xenophobia is a bad thing…
24 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@Jinx2-43: Definitely. Need gambreakers ,the so called ‘X Factor’ that HM is looking for…
24 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@TrueBok-38:
Well, they were actually just being consistent.
The National Colours Regulations of 2009 (published pursuant to the National Sport and Recreation Act 110 of 1998) quite clearly state:
“National Colours will only be considered for sportsmen and sportswomen who can submit proof that they are South African nationals, i.e. they must be in possession of a valid South African passport. Athletes with South African resident permits only, are not eligible. This rule does not apply to Managers and Coaches.”
24 Oct 2012, 13:59 pm
@nama1-40:
Correct. Mujati was first capped as a Springbok in 2008, and the regulations were published in 2009.
24 Oct 2012, 13:59 pm
@TrueBok-44:
no, that was his father.
i’m referring to the false racism allegations.
24 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42:
Oh man Bakkies…not that story again!!!
24 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-39: I reckon he’s a better scrummager than Strauss, and probably even Ralepele. At Saracens he packs down between Matt Stevens and an islander called Vunipola. They also have a pretty sold bloke called Nieto and a few other props, including another Saffa called something du Plessis. They used to have Deon Carstens for a while.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All