Coetzee backs rookie for final
24 Oct 2012
WP coach Allister Coetzee has selected Damian de Allende at No 12 for Saturday’s Currie Cup final against the Sharks.
De Allende replaces Marcel Brache in this crucial position; the first time he will partner Juan de Jongh in midfield. This is the only change made by Coetzee following last week’s semi-final win against the Golden Lions.
A season-ending injury to Ederies Arendse allowed De Allende to come into the squad, and a string of strong performances eventually saw him securing a starting berth on the wing during the latter half of the season.
Coetzee feels that the powerful player is good enough to start at No 12 in the most important game of the Currie Cup season. It’s clear that the slightly-built Brache does not fit the requirement for a clash of this nature.
‘Marcel will still have a job to do from the bench, but we’ve gone with Damian to start because we need somebody who can front up physically in that position,’ said the Province coach.
‘He has explosive pace and is a good ball carrier. He has good core skills and is a solid defender. Whenever he has played for us, he has made a massive impression. He did that again last week; his contribution was telling.’
Coetzee doesn’t feel that the fact that De Allende hasn’t played at No 12 at this level will count against him. De Allende’s inexperience is also not viewed as a shortcoming.
‘The conditions underfoot will be heavy, and Damian is the player we need for these conditions. He’s young but he’s good enough to be handed this opportunity.
‘He has played in that position for the WP U21s before. He will also have some experienced players around him like Juan and Bryan Habana. Damian knows what’s required of him in that position, he knows our systems having been involved for some time.’
Gio Aplon is retained at fullback despite the superior kicking game of Joe Pietersen. Coetzee explained that it would help to have Aplon’s left boot complementing Demetri Catrakilis’s right in what should be a big tussle for territory.
Former Springbok prop Deon Carstens and provincial veteran Brok Harris are also named on the bench, with younger front rowers in Frans Malherbe and Steven Kitshoff backed to start. The WP coaches are hoping that this will allow the team to finish strongly.
Western Province – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Don Armand, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Marcel Brache, 22 Joe Pietersen.
By Jon Cardinelli

151 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
24 Oct 2012, 15:36 pm
@nama1-49:
you wouldn’t even notice if i did
24 Oct 2012, 15:39 pm
@willievz-15: Net op hierdie blog is hulle
24 Oct 2012, 15:40 pm
@charo-43: relevant nonetheless.
24 Oct 2012, 15:42 pm
@mabu-46: andiyazi bamsaphi! bubudenge bodwa!
24 Oct 2012, 15:49 pm
@capebull-50: are you sure you are answering the #13 post on this thread?
24 Oct 2012, 15:52 pm
Mitchells Plain Town centre
24 Oct 2012, 15:58 pm
@Transformation-55: This is just for you, and the other fellow (can’t remember who)…..
Province will also be taking injured captain and normal inside centre Jean de Villiers to KwaZulu-Natal with them, and his mentoring and calming influence will be sought to smooth the rookie’s way.
24 Oct 2012, 15:58 pm
@capebull-50:
wrong thread jy’s heeltemal uit jou wentelbaan uit in ‘n ander sonnestelsel in
24 Oct 2012, 16:05 pm
@charo-51:
Oh, I would. Believe me.
What’s your take on Saturday’s game? Quietly optimistic?
24 Oct 2012, 16:05 pm
Jarre, if their ever was a game Province need to win it is this one.
Just break the seal and the rest will follow.
24 Oct 2012, 16:14 pm
@Jeraldjay-60:
Agree.
24 Oct 2012, 16:16 pm
@nama1-59:
hate being the journo’s “favourite”.
this is a strong weepee team even with their “baby” front row and they will be motivated as all hell.
can see lots of kicking for corners and driving mauls from your team. they are the best in the country at it.
24 Oct 2012, 16:17 pm
@charo-39:
Andries Strauss/Jaco Taute/Meyer Bosman/JJ Engelbrecht
@mabu-46:
Ku better uThabang Molefe, nuff said….
24 Oct 2012, 16:17 pm
big call by ac. rolling the dice, but starting with brache would be a gamble too considering his inconsistency
24 Oct 2012, 16:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-57: BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA now jean is a “calming influence”, these WP okes are copycats of note!
the only “calming influence” is playing for Newcastle in England, one Corne Uys
24 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
@mxhosa-63: udlala phi loMolefe khona?
24 Oct 2012, 16:22 pm
@mxhosa-63:
approx 75% of those are boks…
ok, i know that doesn’t always mean a lot…
even timotei was once
but brache???? really
but, sorry, brache
24 Oct 2012, 16:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-57:
dunno if you’ve seen this already, its a larf
http://kyknet.dstv.com/2012/10/19/kwela-funnies-wenner/
24 Oct 2012, 16:25 pm
@Transformation-65: Wasn’t it Barry Geel?
24 Oct 2012, 16:28 pm
@mamma_lou-64: brache was rubbish last saturday…no impact in contact, kicked aimlessly on 1st phase, kak hands….just rubbish!
bagel was here when the game was on and i mentioned it to him just before half-time, by the time AC put in de Allende i’d worked the WP supporters into a frenzy
24 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
@transformation-66:
Griffons
24 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
The De Allende/ JDJ combo is a match made in heaven.
If one or two moves come off, this Province backline will be dynamite.
Province are desperate for a win. Habana is the only one that has won a Currie Cup.
24 Oct 2012, 16:30 pm
@Jeraldjay-60: Their time will come…not this Saturday….but soon……ish
24 Oct 2012, 16:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: Ha ha, dis snaaks.
24 Oct 2012, 16:32 pm
@Skeppie-73:
I’m a instant gratification kinda guy.
24 Oct 2012, 16:32 pm
@katman-74:
ja nee, hy’s n blou bul ou maat
24 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-68: Bakkies, I kid you not, I voted for that clip
That little face with quivering lip was too much…. I also voted for the little girl who is a Lions fan
(Now that was just tragic……..”Die Leeeeeeus her verrrrloooor *trane trane trane* – die stormers hhhheeeeettt hhhhuuule gewennnnnnnnnnnnnnn *trane trane trane*. Die Leeeeeeus wen noit nieeeeeeeeeeee huil huil huil.
(Ek love die Kwela funnies….die diere is gewoonlik my faves, maar die jaar was die rugby kinnertjies darem te goed om te ignoreer)
@Transformation-65:
Knew you would get a laugh out of that…
24 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
@Finfan-69: no, Barry Geel is the “SBW Killer”
17 – 0
24 Oct 2012, 16:34 pm
@Transformation-65:
24 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-77:
nice one.
24 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@willievz-79: It is you. The other fella terribly impressed with ‘calming influences’ – now I recall.
imagine if the Sharks also had Bismarck, it’d be more of a walk-over than this saturday is going to be…
It will be very ironic if WP wins the final, without Burger and JDV in the starting XV.
Those two senior Boks have yet to taste any trophy success at provincial / franchise level, and are arguably the most hungry WP players in this regard.
24 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@willievz-83:
Surely they can’t be hungrier than Brok.
24 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-77:
send that clip of the little lions girl to ****** kdk and cronies. let them see what they are responsible for. may they all rot in hell.
24 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@Transformation-70:
agree with you he had a shocker. still giving a guy his first game at 12 for a final is a big call. i think its the right decision, but now you have brache potentially coming on when the game is in the balance eish another roll of the dice. who will turn up! pinky or the brain
24 Oct 2012, 16:47 pm
@mamma_lou-86:
!=?
24 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@willievz-83: Not quite true. I am sure they were playing for the Stormers when they were SA Conference winners in the Super Rugby competition last year. I’ll never forget the wild celebrations and the joy in Cape Town’s streets.
24 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@Transformation-82:
i miss his mock punches.
never seen a guy c.ock em like that before. that’s hollywood s.hit right there.
almost makes you want to force him to go through with it just so you can see what it does
24 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@Finfan-88: Surely the Capetonians don’t count the Conference Trophy as trophy success?
If they do, that is just sad
24 Oct 2012, 16:54 pm
@Jeraldjay-75: I hear you, but you are gonna have to wait a little longer….my guppies are gonna take this one
24 Oct 2012, 16:55 pm
@willievz-90: They probably don’t. Just polluting a perfectly civilised and constructive WP thread
24 Oct 2012, 16:58 pm
@willievz-90:
It’s an improvement on Griquas trophy cabinet.
24 Oct 2012, 17:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-85: I doubt the tears of a child would tug at the heart strings of that lot at all. But take away their money…..and we might see emotional meltdowns of the exiled guppie sort.
24 Oct 2012, 17:02 pm
@willievz-90:
don’t think they do. remember jdv saying last year that their only goal is to win the super title. i personally don’t think it would be sad though they ended top of the conference and deserve it
24 Oct 2012, 17:03 pm
@David-93: Hey now
I was going to say that the Vodacom Cup should count as trophy success for Griquas. We missed out this year – only just – but we will be back.
And…we are, and always will be, the first ever winners of the Currie Cup. No one can take that away from us
24 Oct 2012, 17:06 pm
@mamma_lou-95: Wise words from JdV. As he is the current Bok captain, I would’ve been a little worried if he said that their only goal was to win the Conference Trophy.
24 Oct 2012, 17:10 pm
@willievz-90: No self respecting Capetonian counts the conference trophy. Although we bloody well should, as beating all local Super rugby teams to the conference winners title is a far tougher task than winning a diluted Currie Cup…..
(You will see just how much a conference winners cup means, when the Bulls or Guppies eventually get to win one…
24 Oct 2012, 17:12 pm
Oh yes Im the great polluter (ooh ooh)
Adrift in a world of my own (ooh ooh)
I play the game but to my real shame
You’ve left me to dream all alone
Too real is this feeling of make believe
Too real when I feel what my heart cant conceal
24 Oct 2012, 17:14 pm
So the KapeCunties getting way beyond themselves…
Consider this a good sized pollutingshit on this Brokeback thread…
Yours truly
Saark Mania
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All