Drotske takes no chances

The Free State Cheetahs have made three changes to their starting XV for the second promotion-relegation match against the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth on Friday night.

While the Cheetahs are all but guaranteed a place in next year’s Currie Cup Premier Division, having won the first match in Bloemfontein 53-14, coach Naka Drotske has named his strongest possible line-up for the return fixture.

Injured flanker Lappies Labuschagne and centre Andries Strauss have been replaced by Davon Raubenheimer and Philip Snyman respectively, while Nico Scheepers has been dropped to the bench with Ryno Benjamin starting on the right wing.

Free State Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Ryno Benjamin, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Philip Snyman, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Francois Uys, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Marcel van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Carl Wegner, 19 Hendrik Venter, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Barry Geel, 22 Nico Scheepers.