Etzebeth up for three awards

Eben Etzebeth has been nominated in three categories for the Saru Player of the Year Awards.

The 20-year-old lock has starred for the Stormers, Springboks and now Western Province in what has been a fantastic rookie season. In recognition of his consistent efforts, he has been nominated in the categories for Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year and Super Rugby Player of the Year.

In the main category of Player of the Year, Etzebeth will be up against Bryan Habana, Keegan Daniel, JP Pietersen and Pat Lambie.

For the first time the public were able to vote in the awards, through a voting process on the Springboks’ Facebook page, alongside the country’s rugby media, who traditionally vote for the winners in some of the categories.

The winners will be announced at Saru’s annual awards ceremony in Cape Town on 1 November.


Player of the Year:
1. Keegan Daniel
2. Eben Etzebeth
3. Bryan Habana
4. Pat Lambie
5. JP Pietersen

Young Player of the Year:
1. Marcell Coetzee
2. Eben Etzebeth
3. Johan Goosen
4. Elton Jantjies
5. Raymond Rhule

Team of the Year:
1. Eastern Province Kings (Currie Cup First Division)
2. The Sharks (Super Rugby)
3. The Sharks (Currie Cup)
4. South Africa U20 (IRB Junior World Championship)
5. Stormers (Super Rugby)

Coach of the Year:
1. Allister Coetzee (Stormers and Western Province)
2. Pote Human (Griquas)
3. John Plumtree (The Sharks)
4. Alan Solomons (EP Kings)
5. Dawie Theron (SA U20)

Super Rugby Player of the Year:
1. Marcell Coetzee (The Sharks)
2. Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)
3. Bismarck du Plessis (The Sharks)
4. Eben Etzebeth (Stormers)
5. JP Pietersen (The Sharks)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year:
1. Deon Fourie (Western Province)
2. JC Janse van Rensburg (Golden Lions)
3. Elton Jantjies (Golden Lions)
4. Louis Ludik (The Sharks)
5. Raymond Rhule (Free State Cheetahs)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year:
1. Hansie Graaff (Griffons)
2. JW Jonker (Pumas)
3. Rudi Mathee (Pumas)
4. Paul Perez (EP Kings)
5. Luke Watson (EP Kings)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year:
1. Marcel Brache (Western Province)
2. Demetri Catrakilis (Western Province)
3. Jaco Kriel (Golden Lions)
4. Gouws Prinsloo (Sharks XV)
5. Jan Serfontein (Blue Bulls)