No pressure on Province
24 Oct 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that a young and depleted Western Province team is likely to lose this Saturday. It’s a probable outcome that shouldn’t be met with the typical public lament.
Neither the Stormers nor Western Province have won a title of substance since 2001. It’s a fact that’s shaped public expectation ahead of every subsequent campaign.
When the Stormers fail in the Super Rugby competition, the inevitable public fall-out is soon followed by a greater sense of expectation in the Currie Cup. The pressure builds with each failed campaign, as does the expectation. The situation is rarely taken into account.
I’m not suggesting that we should accept the Stormers and WP are not good enough to win a title. For a top franchise or union to go 12 years without winning a big trophy… it’s indefensible.
This is the only conclusion one can reach when considering the bigger picture. However, you also have to accept that there will be seasons where the Cape side is weakened and depleted, and so cannot be expected to go all the way. And 2012 has been one of those seasons.
If one is to consider the situation, the Stormers overachieved in this year’s Super Rugby competition. Their situation was so dire that they were asking club players to start in their back row towards the end of the tournament.
In spite of the injuries, some of these to key personnel with international experience, the Stormers were able to finish at the top of the Super Rugby log. Yes, they played their semi-final at Newlands, but they were always going to be the underdogs fielding second- and third-choice provincial players against a Sharks side stacked with Springboks.
When the Cape public lifted itself out of yet another period of depression, they grew optimistic. Surely WP would set things right in the Currie Cup?
But national call-ups and further injuries continued to undermine the Cape crusade. Schalk Burger, Nizaam Carr, and Nick Koster were always considered doubtful to return in the domestic competition, and it didn’t help when the likes of Dewaldt Duvenage, Siya Kolisi, Rynhardt Elstadt and Kurt Coleman succumbed to season-ending injuries. Then returning Boks of the calibre of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker and Tiaan Liebenberg were ruled out of the Currie Cup play-offs.
When you add up all of these losses, how can you realistically expect WP to beat the Sharks in Durban?
I’m not saying it’s impossible, I’m merely stating that it’s unlikely considering Province’s handicap. It would be a miracle if they could pull it off, but it wouldn’t be a disaster if they did not.
You have to give Allister Coetzee and his coaches credit for the manner in which they have responded to the challenge this year. The Stormers won the South African conference trophy and topped the Super Rugby log in spite of crippling injuries to key players. A young WP side has been further depleted over the course of the Currie Cup, and yet they are still through to the final. It speaks volumes for the team culture and structures.
I don’t think the guts as well as the collective clout of this Province side will be sufficient this Saturday. My statement is made in the context of who they are up against: a Sharks side that is stacked with players that have not only won the Currie Cup twice in the past four years, but also players that have won greater accolades at international level.
There is individual brilliance in this Sharks side, but there’s also a strong sense of unity. And it would follow that a united Bok-laden Sharks team playing in Durban would be too strong for a united-yet-understrength WP side.
People like to look at the newspaper and see the world in black and white, not in shades of grey. Teams are either excellent or rubbish, individuals are either heroes or villains. I expect that the Cape newspapers will run the same old headlines on Sunday, and there will be very little perspective. The Sharks will be heroes, and WP will be villains.
And yet, perspective demands that we see Province’s task as immense. The Sharks have all the advantages and if they were to lose, it would be regarded as a choke. For WP, however, a loss could not be aligned with the disappointments of yesteryear, even though it will go down in history as yet another lost final.

359 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All
24 Oct 2012, 08:38 am
@stormersboy-92:
No I understand! It gets rough here agreed, but hissy fits over something you and Nicky said is rather a bit over the top… Have they forgiven you?
24 Oct 2012, 08:39 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-83:

i know, but pops doesn’t take me head on as much these days. he prefers to circle round and check me out lately. hy kyk my so nou en dan skeef maar dit pla my nie
24 Oct 2012, 08:39 am
@WP-Forever-100:
I dare him. Go for it Stormerboy….
24 Oct 2012, 08:40 am
@WP-Forever-87:
Classic.
@trupisero-89: Well, I also took a look there yesterday. And I see S_L was posting Youtube links to songs that are official Shark anthems…..so, I guess a ‘cyber molest fest application’ is not way out of the question.
@Dawn-90: I triple dosed on the meds Dawn
24 Oct 2012, 08:41 am
@stormersboy-92:
SL a “journalist”??
Wow!!- I would never have guessed- always thought he is Centuries City’s version of Jamie Oliver.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-105:
So you also stepped over to the dark side… I bet quite a few peeked in…
@stormersboy-84:
i dont like your pollution
@trupisero-89:
bwaaaaaaahahahahahahahahaaaa
24 Oct 2012, 08:42 am
@Robzim-107:
24 Oct 2012, 08:42 am
@Gumboots-101: I think people are mistaken about them being annoyed with me in the first place, I know them both personally, there are no issues.
Nikita is another story lol. I must admit, I was surprised at what seemed to be the last straw for them.
Puma takes certain things very seriously. he got into quite a fit on RT a while ago when Rudi posted that he considered the Sharks supporters to be very one eyed and totally biased in their assessment of players like Keegan.
24 Oct 2012, 08:43 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102: If there were an international interweb roll of honour or ‘Hall of Fame’……….you and Pops would be inducted.
24 Oct 2012, 08:43 am
Fark all these excuses man…..WP must fight from kick off to the final whistle and throw the kitchen sink….
No surrender….not a fark!
Give it all boys…..bust a gut for us long suffering supporters !
No farken surrender….
24 Oct 2012, 08:44 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-105: Hulle vleg piele comes to mind…
24 Oct 2012, 08:44 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102:
“he prefers to circle round”
see, I knew you were fat
24 Oct 2012, 08:45 am
@Gumboots-101:
Something was brewing. A bit earlier, SL told me that he wouldn’t talk to me in future because I posted a comment about preferring the old Natal supporters who were more humble and respectful towards the “traditional” rugby provinces.
24 Oct 2012, 08:46 am
Deon Fourie crucial…..
Daai dwergie kan kak maak vir die Haaie!
24 Oct 2012, 08:46 am
@stormersboy-111:
So they have problems dealing with the truth then… Maybe we should all just pretend with them then… I’m glad they not angry with you as she was only responding to what you had said and I found it really funny…
24 Oct 2012, 08:47 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-112: Im not sure bakkies would like second place there either though..
24 Oct 2012, 08:47 am
Personally, I think these Johnny-come-latelies have shot nerves.
24 Oct 2012, 08:48 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-93:
Let me post what I posted on another thread. Because this is exactly how I feel. About Finals rugby in particular.
“I think you’re fogetting that this is finals rugby.
Whilst the Sharks are probably favourites playing at home and the relatively small injury list,(Bismark and Frans being the only 2 to mention really), final games do funny things to the players nerves.
One strange ref call or bounce of the ball could be massively influential.
Also, Province pose a much larger threat to the Sharks than the Bulls did. I doubt Catrekilis will be as inefectual as Steyn was.
I watched that Semi again last night and for the first 30 mins the Sharks were actuall pretty average. Getting turned over and just playing pretty amatuer rugby.(might have had something to do with the conditions.)
Mellet tripped Lambie in the 30th minute and that seemed to change the complexion of the game and the Bulls were never in it from then on.”
Did you watch the Bulls/Cheetahs CC final from a few years ago? With Meyer Bosman scoring a lucky bounce try?
Ive seen this movie way too many times before to make me think that isnt a possibility this time round.
24 Oct 2012, 08:49 am
@poppa69-119: He would ask for a recount of the vote….blame the officials……pull out video evidence of clear cheating in minutes 3, 27 and 67 of the tallying process, and then blame it all on Richie.
24 Oct 2012, 08:50 am
@Gumboots-118:
sharks_lover has been on record that he was a parabat.
One of the insults for parabats – aside from “Flying Meatballs” – was “Air Pollution”.
Make of that what you will…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-102:
Ek jou pla mate, jy nagmerries
Ek sal aan jou stuur &’n paar meer stene vir jou bed
@Gumboots-108:
well has anyone registered and just asked them to come back? its like your five year old being ‘weally weally mad’ with you and telling you he will never speak to you again.
and you just have to humour the little guy and go through the motions with him.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-112:
:lol;
you’re too kind, and the the same to you, my lady.
@poppa69-115:
snake eyes….
24 Oct 2012, 08:51 am
Sharks lineout also a bit vulnerable…..WP must stay close to Daniel….the Sharks gonna use him a lot….
All about cutting down on Lambie space…..
Reinach is a good prospect but still green…..Groom must get in his face….
We may be underdogs but Sharks have some areas we can exploit…..
The Tank is a martha farker to go win at…..but no excuses….no farken cry babies here, we must shape up….
So must our 2 junior teams…..
farken go boys!!!!
24 Oct 2012, 08:52 am
@David-116:
So poor Nikita takes the blame. I hope she comes back after all that.
I find her quite urmmmmm pleasant and a beeeeeeeaaaaaaautifulllll sense of humour…
24 Oct 2012, 08:52 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-122:
maybe if we call it the “super hall of rugby” then he wont because he doesnt watch any super anymore
24 Oct 2012, 08:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125: its like taking your rugby ball and threatening to go up north really
24 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125:
Don’t you think they are reading as we write? Just my opinion…
24 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
@John Galt-121:
Of course I agree with ‘anything can happen’ in a final. Which is why I give my fellas a 30% chance. One area where we could put you fellows to the sworn, is on the ground…(Deon and Duane), but to put the Sharks and WP on a 50/50 – “this is too close to call” pedestal pre-kick off, is really not an accurate statement.
All I am saying, as are most, is that this final is the Sharks game to lose mate, no matter which team one supports.
(Plus we have had the HUGE amount of travel, on a scale you fellows has in the S15, and it can be used as an excuse if needed…Jhb, to CT, to Durban…….exhausting sh y te that
24 Oct 2012, 08:56 am
@poppa69-128:
You freaking me out
24 Oct 2012, 08:56 am
@Gumboots-127:
Ja we all know you jas
24 Oct 2012, 08:57 am
@Gumboots-127:
She was here yesterday
24 Oct 2012, 08:58 am
@poppa69-129: Is this SL?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BzK-iHua_I&feature=youtube_gdata_player
24 Oct 2012, 08:59 am
@Dawn-133:
24 Oct 2012, 09:00 am
@Gumboots-130: Of course they are
And just for them:
“Lambie, Daniel, Jordaan, Ludik, Reinach, Bresler, Coetzee, Alberts, Mvovo, JPP, Jannie, Beast are AWESUM”.
24 Oct 2012, 09:00 am
@Gumboots-136: Sy wil graag
24 Oct 2012, 09:02 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-137:
Like don’t forget about PSDT who is like LANK awesum.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-131:
77% of the voters on the keo (a “unpolluted” WPdominated site) poll is of the opinion that the shark will win.Therefore it is save to assume that on a site like sharksworld the % will be 95% plus.
I am not even going to watch the massacre
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-131:
if the sharks lose that many lineouts again with a ref who does not blow one-way.
WP have a pretty decent shot considering it is away from home, unless they get pumped upfront….then they could be in all sorts of trouble, but too be fair, that hasn’t happened for a while.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-137:
‘like’
‘theyareallsofurkenawesomeindeedsmiley’
24 Oct 2012, 09:03 am
@trupisero-135: lmfao.. classic
this one is HG..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v19PpD5uqL0
24 Oct 2012, 09:04 am
@Robzim-140:
Don’t come and pollute our minds with such rubbish…
24 Oct 2012, 09:06 am
@grant10-113:
no grant, this is sad and hurtfull conflict is killing people. its bigger than you and its bigger than the game.
i have to say that for reasons other than rugby… the sharks must and will win the cc.
go black and white!
go dynamite!
go sharks!
24 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
@poppa69-124:
jy pla my niks, popa
water van n eend se rug af, of hoe…
24 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146:
water af &’n eende terug?
vreemde vergelyking
is dit omdat wat vet jy waggel soos &’n eend
24 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
@Gumboots-118: I think that a guy like Puma, who is a really non offensive blogger and really not the sort of blogger one is talking about when Sharks supporters being offensive is mentioned, when he feels that generalisations are being made and the group insulted as a whole then he gets really annoyed.
The thing is, they have some bloggers who claim to be Sharks supporters like HG who are nothing more than trolls. We (as WP supporters) have them too of course, and that is where some moderation would come in handy, if the lunatic fringe is kept out of things then everyone gets on better. Those guys seem to have the knack of winding people up to the point where everyone just joins in and then everyone just claims that they are just “returning serve” which in most cases is actually true because the nonsense was started by someone else.
I left Keo for a while earlier because i just got tired of all the slagging, and that’s possibly what’s best for some of the Sharks guys.
24 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
@poppa69-143: Baahaahaaa!!!!
24 Oct 2012, 09:18 am
moet verlaat
cheers almal
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All