No pressure on Province
24 Oct 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that a young and depleted Western Province team is likely to lose this Saturday. It’s a probable outcome that shouldn’t be met with the typical public lament.
Neither the Stormers nor Western Province have won a title of substance since 2001. It’s a fact that’s shaped public expectation ahead of every subsequent campaign.
When the Stormers fail in the Super Rugby competition, the inevitable public fall-out is soon followed by a greater sense of expectation in the Currie Cup. The pressure builds with each failed campaign, as does the expectation. The situation is rarely taken into account.
I’m not suggesting that we should accept the Stormers and WP are not good enough to win a title. For a top franchise or union to go 12 years without winning a big trophy… it’s indefensible.
This is the only conclusion one can reach when considering the bigger picture. However, you also have to accept that there will be seasons where the Cape side is weakened and depleted, and so cannot be expected to go all the way. And 2012 has been one of those seasons.
If one is to consider the situation, the Stormers overachieved in this year’s Super Rugby competition. Their situation was so dire that they were asking club players to start in their back row towards the end of the tournament.
In spite of the injuries, some of these to key personnel with international experience, the Stormers were able to finish at the top of the Super Rugby log. Yes, they played their semi-final at Newlands, but they were always going to be the underdogs fielding second- and third-choice provincial players against a Sharks side stacked with Springboks.
When the Cape public lifted itself out of yet another period of depression, they grew optimistic. Surely WP would set things right in the Currie Cup?
But national call-ups and further injuries continued to undermine the Cape crusade. Schalk Burger, Nizaam Carr, and Nick Koster were always considered doubtful to return in the domestic competition, and it didn’t help when the likes of Dewaldt Duvenage, Siya Kolisi, Rynhardt Elstadt and Kurt Coleman succumbed to season-ending injuries. Then returning Boks of the calibre of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker and Tiaan Liebenberg were ruled out of the Currie Cup play-offs.
When you add up all of these losses, how can you realistically expect WP to beat the Sharks in Durban?
I’m not saying it’s impossible, I’m merely stating that it’s unlikely considering Province’s handicap. It would be a miracle if they could pull it off, but it wouldn’t be a disaster if they did not.
You have to give Allister Coetzee and his coaches credit for the manner in which they have responded to the challenge this year. The Stormers won the South African conference trophy and topped the Super Rugby log in spite of crippling injuries to key players. A young WP side has been further depleted over the course of the Currie Cup, and yet they are still through to the final. It speaks volumes for the team culture and structures.
I don’t think the guts as well as the collective clout of this Province side will be sufficient this Saturday. My statement is made in the context of who they are up against: a Sharks side that is stacked with players that have not only won the Currie Cup twice in the past four years, but also players that have won greater accolades at international level.
There is individual brilliance in this Sharks side, but there’s also a strong sense of unity. And it would follow that a united Bok-laden Sharks team playing in Durban would be too strong for a united-yet-understrength WP side.
People like to look at the newspaper and see the world in black and white, not in shades of grey. Teams are either excellent or rubbish, individuals are either heroes or villains. I expect that the Cape newspapers will run the same old headlines on Sunday, and there will be very little perspective. The Sharks will be heroes, and WP will be villains.
And yet, perspective demands that we see Province’s task as immense. The Sharks have all the advantages and if they were to lose, it would be regarded as a choke. For WP, however, a loss could not be aligned with the disappointments of yesteryear, even though it will go down in history as yet another lost final.

359 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All
24 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
“JON CARDINELLI writes that a young and depleted Western Province team is likely to lose this Saturday. It’s a probable outcome that shouldn’t be met with the typical public lament.
…how can you realistically expect WP to beat the Sharks in Durban?
I’m not saying it’s impossible,…”
The fact that it is “not impossible” suggest to me that there is a possibility, however small it may be. I, for one, am looking at that slight possibility.
WP laaities to moer the overweight Shark toppies.
By 10…at least.
GO PRROOOOOOOOOVVIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
24 Oct 2012, 12:40 pm
@Anomander-298:
are you in durban?
you’re taking a big risk coming on here. the people of durban have embarked on an unoffical mass action campaign. seriously illegal wildcat strike wrt this site.
you culd be targeted.
24 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-302:
Nobody likes a scab.
24 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
I hate people who scheme they are “intellectually superior” to everyone else.
Hand me my firearm.
24 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-302: Yes tell him Bakkies. I already told him to fck off. There is no place for Sharks here, especially if they regard themselves to be superiour.
24 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-302:
Listen.
It is not “the people of Durban”
It’s two supporters who blog with their willies in their hands at the mention of Lambie.
One is more boring than Hugh Bladen on a Saturday and the other is a racist right winger who belittled and insulted anyone and everything who didn’t share his pink-tinged-due-to-much-booze hue.
24 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@Finfan-305:
Stop wiggling your fin in righteous indignation.
They chose to go, BOTH of them, so let them go.
24 Oct 2012, 12:51 pm
@Finfan-305: Who do you support Finfan? The nic suggests the Sharks, but your comments suggest not, unless I’m missing a lot of sarcasm.
24 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@Anomander-290: Hi Helen/HG, it did not last long before you appear in a new guise. Who are going to protect this time?
24 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@KingTJ-252:
wow!
were we watching the same game?
24 Oct 2012, 12:56 pm
@WP-Forever-303:
@Finfan-305:
exactly
@Dawn-306:
i’m guessing somebody doesn’t SL and Puma
besides, i got word from the bloggers here that its spreading.
24 Oct 2012, 12:56 pm
@Dawn-304: “Hand me my firearm.”
mshiniwami?
24 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-311:
Spreading?
Like a disease?
Should we be worried?
@Transformation-312:
Double-barrelled shotgun
24 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-311:
They’ve got RT, they’ve got Sharksworld
What they want is a public apology from Joanne.
24 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
@John1976-309: multinic?
24 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@Dawn-313:
no hg
no ranger
no sharksgirl
no treehugger
shouldn’t you..?..:shock: the interweb as we know it could fail….
24 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@Transformation-315: Multinics?????????????????? Ohdearhellno. Start handing out the vaccines.
24 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
@Transformation-315: Yep
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-316:
No ranger?
Ok now that he’s gone, anyone who calls Lionel Mapoe “Ma poo poo” doesn’t belong here anyway.
Skop had it right with them.
@Dawn-304: That was easy!
24 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
@John1976-309: Who is Helen?
24 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@Transformation-315: Hehehe, sometimes I still think you are Ryan Vrede
@Dawn-314: They only have Sharksworld.
As long as I’m on RT they are outnumbered.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-302: Nope mate, in Jozi. I’ve supported Natal since the days when we languished at the bottom of the B section, and a game against North Eastern Free State was a big challenge
So, for me at least – I never get too confident about Sharks pulling things off. I expect the worst and sometimes am pleasantly surprised.
24 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@John1976-309: No mate – definitely not.
24 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@Anomander-324:
OK then …..
HIYAS!
24 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-321: Helen was on this blog about a year ago. “She” had quite an impact with her blogging style and online persona.
24 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@Dawn-319:
sjoe! the love really is cold
come on dawn, ranger was a good man.
@Anomander-324:
ok, all good then.
sharkies are the form team this season and probably next. thet deserve the cc and were it not for the travel schedule and dirty kiwi play could very well have been super champs too.
they need to show resolve and build on this in next season.
24 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@willievz-322: No he is the Sharksworld “expert” Megatron according to Helen/HG.
24 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
Good grief.
“Johannesburg – An anonymous South African has bought what could be the most expensive bottle of whisky in the country, it was reported on Wednesday.
An anonymous buyer from Johannesburg apparently paid R230 000 for one of the three bottles of the Balvenie Fifty single malt whisky, The Star reported.
The new owner was expected to receive the bottle next week.
Only three bottles of the Balvenie Fifty were imported out of a total of 88 released globally in September.”
24 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
@Dawn-330: But you do get 10% off if you buy it by the case.
24 Oct 2012, 13:24 pm
Haai oe, maar julle skinner darem nou lekker!!!
24 Oct 2012, 13:24 pm
@Dawn-326: Thanks. Will try not wind anyone up (too much).
24 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@Anomander-333:
You know the call!!!!
You a real Shark1
24 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@Dawn-330:
ridiculous really.
i am not much of a drinker, but i really don’t get the fascination/hype about whisky?
i would rather drink beer and if i had to then i would choose irish over scottish whisky, otherwise.
24 Oct 2012, 13:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-328: Yeah, I have noticed that theme of yours. It certainly seems to succeed in getting the Kiwi’s goat! I actually have liked all the Kiwi’s I have met (in person), but the guys on this site do seem to have a bit of a chip on their shoulders.
24 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@Dawn-334: Shark1 ?? Lived in CT for quite a while and like the Stormers too. Just have not enjoyed their defence oriented style over the last few years. Makes no sense to me with the backline you have had at your disposal.
24 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
the team with the least amount of quotas will win .. sorry WP …
24 Oct 2012, 13:35 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-335: I wonder how it tastes with Apletizer.
24 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@suffer_guy-338: Wow!! That is a very astute observation.
24 Oct 2012, 13:44 pm
@John1976-340: And we get that insight for free here on Keo.
24 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
@Anomander-336:
lets get something straight. it may be a theme to bloggers here (who am i kidding, it is) but at the end of the day, when judged in cold hard light, its the truth.
i really don’t give a shitt about the kiwi’s who read it and the chips they have (which they do) because its really only about telling the truth for me.
and the fact that kiwi’s are the biggest scumbags in the game is a plain and simple fact. how they choose to deal with it is their business.
24 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@stormersboy-339:
24 Oct 2012, 13:51 pm
@John1976-340:
Ignore him.
He’s looking for reaction.
24 Oct 2012, 14:26 pm
Howziiiiiiiiiit
Ode to Shark Chumming:
We are Black, we are White
We are Dynamite
Eyem pink, eyem dof
But ai tog, not mof (juz a bit rof)
Tho unbalanced, eye havenae yettee fallen seaward
offa da right winged balcony, Hotel d’ Edward
Eye rate Lambie… somewhat
But any night rather some t wat
On moi palms not a callous,
nor a hair, & moi eyes not blind
Banter & barbs eye doan mind
C’mon S_l & P et al, doze poasts devoid o’ malice
*** back to da ‘Keo Tank’
& let’s savage doze dat say we w ank
GOoooo Saaaaarks!
24 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
@Anomander-336:
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-342:
ok, maybe thats a bit harsh to say i dont give a shitt about them.
i retract that part.
apologies.
24 Oct 2012, 14:45 pm
2001 No Presuure ????
24 Oct 2012, 14:53 pm
A Whole bunch of new faces on here today…hmmm……..
24 Oct 2012, 15:04 pm
@Rage-348:
Reminds me of the time after the 1st Groot Trek. After a while some “new” bloggers would register and their standard intro line would be: “I’ve been reading this site for a while now but this is the 1st time that I comment.”
It did not take too long to figure out who was who in the zoo before the Trek.
24 Oct 2012, 15:09 pm
@nama1-349:
Name them, if you’re not lying
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All