‘WP have formula to beat Sharks’

WP defence coach Jacques Nienaber believes his team has the blueprint to become the first SA side to beat the Sharks at Kings Park this year.

Nienaber is praised as the guru who has masterminded the Cape teams’ defensive structures, which excelled during Super Rugby and the Currie Cup over the last three years.

The Stormers’ strong guard helped them qualify for two semi-finals (2011 and 2012) and one final (2010) in Super Rugby. WP also featured in one semi-final (2011) and a final (2010) on the domestic scene.

However, those teams all lost their respective play-off matches, extending their title drought to 11 years. The last piece of silverware added to the Newlands trophy cabinet was the 2001 Currie Cup (that’s if you exclude the over-hyped South African conference title won in Super Rugby).

These three years of finals rugby heartache forced the management to rethink their game plan. Backline coach Robbie Fleck revealed to this site in September that this year’s domestic campaign would be used to implement a stronger attacking game, which their players have bought into.

Gio Aplon told me midway during the league phase: ‘We’ve realised the hard way that a strong defence won’t win semi-finals and finals. It’s good enough to get you to the top of the league, but you have to be able to attack well if you want to win those play-off games.’

As a result, WP have scored the second most tries in the tournament (behind the Sharks) and are the third top point-scorers (close behind the Sharks and Golden Lions). They showed great composure with ball in hand to score a late try for a 21-16 comeback semi-final win over the Lions at Ellis Park.

They now have the opportunity to carry that momentum into the final against the Sharks, who have beaten all South African teams at Kings Park during Super Rugby and the Currie Cup in 2012.

While the Sharks have beaten the Stormers and WP four out of five times during these tournaments, Nienaber said the last two defeats have helped the team progress.

‘We were beaten 43-27 in Durban during round two, but we played with 12 men at one stage,’ Nienaber told keo.co.za. ‘We were still in the game before we were issued those two red cards and the final yellow card just made things even more difficult. The Sharks scored three tries with a greater man advantage.

‘But earlier in the game, we were very competitive. We manned up against their powerful pack and had the technical game plan that troubled them.

‘The 25-23 loss in Cape Town in the opening round was a learning curve for us. While we were placing a greater focus on attack, it revealed we didn’t have an effective scramble defence. Most of their tries came from turnovers in possession. But the situation has improved since then. We’ve lost many of our first-choice players to injury, but we have the formula to beat the Sharks in the final.

‘This greater balance between attack, defence and tactical kicking plan also bodes well for Super Rugby next year.’

Nienaber added that the Sharks’ defence and kicking game have been key in their successful year, especially during the Currie Cup.

‘Many people believe the Sharks are doing well because of their strong attack,’ he said. ‘But the Sharks have improved very well on defence. They’re also kicking the ball a lot. The Currie Cup stats show that they’ve kicked the most during the tournament. They even had six more kicks than the Blue Bulls in the semi-final. I don’t think anyone has picked up on that.’

Nienaber believes discipline will be vital in Saturday’s Currie Cup showdown: ‘The Lions conceded more penalties than us at Ellis Park last weekend, but we leaked too many in kickable positions and gave Elton Jantjies a chance to boot his team to victory. We can’t afford that against the Sharks and Pat Lambie.’

251 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

Let the Sharks do the talking boys….put a cork in it WP….

• 2.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

finally an end to the your the favourites, no your the favourites excuse me for being in the finals nonsense

• 3.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

Pipe Down Nienaber, Log says that u lost 5 out of 10 matches, this blueprint you speak of kaak.
    Odds are stacked heavily in Sharks favor, still think its going to be an entertaining game.

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

‘This greater balance between attack and
    defence also bodes well for Super Rugby
    next year.’

these WP okes are SLOW on the uptake hehehe, at least they’ve seen the folly of their rigid 2012 “defence wins games” strategy.

• 5.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-3:
    its gonna be an arnwrestle, its not gonna be pretty judging by the cagey interviews given by the coaches

• 6.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-4:

I would say 11 out of 13 is not bad in a long Super Rugby season with all the injuries we had.

Cracked at the end but it was a successful strategy.

• 7.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou-5:
    arnwrestle = armwrestle

weather also big factor in type of game. must say that the saarks handling has been very good in the wet though

• 8.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Expect Sharks to try go all Crusaders/Chiefs on WP defence

• 9.katman: Reply to this comment

Where the formula? I know you got formula – where you hide it?!

• 10.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

IMO i think the team who scores the most points in the game will take it ….

• 11.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

sharks favourite …. on paper WP looks better …. if JDV, Bekker, Liebenberg, Kolisi, etc played … WP would’ve walked it!

• 12.coma: Reply to this comment

15. Ludick, Viljoen
    14. JPP, Odwa
    13. Jordaan, Mjekevu
    12. FSteyn, Whitehead
    11. Mvovu, Sithole
    10. Lambie, Bosman
    09. Reinach, McLeod
    08. Daniel, Kankowski
    07. Alberts, Deysel
    06. Coetzee, Mtemba
    05. Bresler, Franco vdm
    04. Steph di Toit, Marais
    03. Jannie Dup, Herbst
    02. Bissie, Burden, Cooper
    01. Beast, Chadwick

Say what you will about Straeuli, he has done an amazing job recruiting a well covered squad. Got to be one of the favorites for the S15 2013!

• 13.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Problem area :

05. Bresler, Franco vdm
    04. Steph di Toit, Marais

• 14.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

interesting … Sykes playing tomorrow … some come 2013, EP kings will have better locks than the Sharks ….

• 15.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Also 2 future EP Kings players playing in the CC final …. 0 from the Bulls, Lions & Cheetahs …… interesting indeed!!

• 16.coma: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-13: Bresler has been good all year, he is only 23/24, PSDT will become a great player, that is evident already, but I agree, throwing someone like Bakkies in there would be great.

With Botes still there, I will be tempted to shift Deysel into the lock position, he is only 1.91, but he can do the job if Kanko starts as a lineout option.

Hope they are planning to give Sykes a great send-off, he has been a Durban favorite for many a year – might just add to the motivation, not that this game is in the balance imo.

• 17.katman: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-15: Ha ha, now that’s scraping the barrel.

• 18.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@coma-12:

Who are Mvovu and Mtemba?

• 19.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Nienaber believes discipline will be vital in Saturday’s Currie Cup showdown: ‘The Lions conceded more penalties than us at Ellis Park last weekend, but we leaked too many in kickable positions and gave Elton Jantjies a chance to boot his team to victory. We can’t afford that against the Sharks and Pat Lambie.’

So what Nienaber is saying is, Elton is k@kker than Lambie …. nice one Elton, your future ***. coach doesn’t think alot of you …

• 20.coma: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-18: LOL, did you miss Steph di Toit? Racist!!

• 21.SuperStirrer: Reply to this comment

@coma-20: One would expect someone with xhosa in their nic would understand. Must be a member of the Eastern Cape “taal polisie”. You have been warned.

• 22.katman: Reply to this comment

I see Sunni Bin has lost his trainer with less than a month to go to his fight with Fransie Botha. The trainer’s son had a spat with Sunni Bin’s manager, and the trainer reckons family is more important than fame, so he’s sticking by his son.

Williams won’t last three rounds of this fight.

• 23.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@coma-20:

Racist indeed. How could you misspel, Du Toit?

• 24.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@coma-12: “Got to be one of the favorites for the S15 2013!’

They were favourites this season too and finished 6th on the log.

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@katman-22: The Lions held their annual Awards Ceremony last night, awarding players for their contribution to the Union for the rugby season.

Lionel Mapoe walked away with two awards, being the backline player of the year as well as the Players’ Player of the Year.

Franco van der Merwe was named forward player of the year while JC Janse van Rensburg was named as overall Player of the Year.

All the winners are listed below:

U-19 Backline Player of the Year – Harold Vorster
    U-19 Forward Player of the Year – Dirk Kotze
    U-19 Player of the Year – Albertus Smith

U-21 Backline Player of the Year – Robert de Bruyn
    U-21 Forward Player of the Year – Etienne Oosthuizen
    U-21 Player of the Year – Stephan de Wit

Referee’s Award – Rashivenge Fhatuweni

Senior Backline Player of the Year – Lionel Mapoe
    Senior Forward Player of the Year – Franco van der Merwe
    Senior Lions Man (Players Player) of the Year – Lionel Mapoe
    Senior Lions Man – JC Janse van Rensburg

• 26.coma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-24: Can I fill that half empty glass of yours?

They were runners-up Transie, and started the S15 with allot of injuries. The youngsters will get better and there is far greater competition for places now than at the start of the year. Write them off if you like!

• 27.katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-25: Sounds about right. My backline player would have been a toss up between Jantjies and Mapoe, and up front it’s hard to choose between JC and Franco. Warren Whitely should also get a mention here.

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@coma-26: they’ve been “favourites” since 2009 chap, underachiever?

if the playoffs were only the top 4 teams the Sharks would be nowhere near “runner up” status…

• 29.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@katman-22: I do hope Supersport will broadcast this battle :) Although I doubt it, as I seem to remember reading that Fox and Sky will be broadcasting in Oz and NZ – no mention was made of SA.

Hell, I hope we can pick it up somewhere.

• 30.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-24: They are always the ‘team to beat’…..until they get beaten. Worse than the WP with their, “next year is our year” kak. Guppies own that mantra, not us.

• 31.katman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-29: I’m super keen to watch it, but I have a feeling the Kiwis will try to block our broadcast, citing the Prevention of Glorifying Bullying Act as motivation.

• 32.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@katman-31: :) I’m sure there will be an interweb broadcast we can follow (safely tucked away from the Kiwi ‘thought’ Police)

• 33.coma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-28: Nobody likes the format, but you play by the rules determined before the comp started.

Nowhere near? They were level with the 5th place Bulls on log points and had more than the 3rd place reds. I detect a little bit of jealously towards the Sharks in your responses.

Like I said, you are welcome to write them off. And I am welcome to voice my opinions.

• 34.coma: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-30: You right, deep down every WP supporter has made peace with the fact that they will never win a major trophy ever again.

We, on the other hand will stay positive of winning competitions, starting on Saturday!

• 35.Anomander: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-32: Curious to know why you always call the internet the interweb?

• 36.coma: Reply to this comment

@Anomander-35: He gets caught up in it every day!

• 37.coma: Reply to this comment

@coma-36: Hmm, that makes no sense as it work the other way around as well. Maybe he heard it on Die Antwoords video and thought that they cant be wrong.

• 38.Anomander: Reply to this comment

@coma-37: I think “he” is a “she” ? :)

• 39.David: Reply to this comment

@Anomander-35:
    I’ve noticed it’s become quite a common term, and actually makes sense, as the web is just a user of the internet and not the same thing.

• 40.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@coma-34: this is true.

the wp players probably puke like kiwis before every semi and final.

• 41.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@Anomander-38: she/he is a little excitable.

anyone got a ball?

• 42.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

@coma-34: I hope you are referring to just him and not the rest of us.

I expect Province to ruin your year on Saturday by turning you over.

• 43.coma: Reply to this comment

@Anomander-38: Oh yes, I forgot, not used to women talking that much nonsense.

In that case: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-30: You right my love, you are always right!!

• 44.coma: Reply to this comment

@BishopsOD-42: Good on you! It will be a statement of note.

Do you have enough drugs to last you till then?

• 45.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

the wp formula:

(hope x desperation)/ losing streak = this must be our year

• 46.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Anomander-35:

It’s slang for the Internet. It’s first recorded (albeit, accidental) use was by George W. Bush during the 2004 presidential election debates…

• 47.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

ayadlala kanene lamagxagxa kule mpela veki amagqibela ka nkqoyi. andinaxesha labo ke kodwa , abazuyikhaba ibhola bazoyifinkxa fondini.

• 48.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-45: (co.cky x Over confidence)/supporters expectation = broken hearts!!!

• 49.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-46:

Oh, no, wait, I am mistaken.

Bush used the word “the Internets” in the third Gore-Bush presidential debate in 2000.

• 50.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-46: ali g used it long before.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.