‘WP have formula to beat Sharks’

WP defence coach Jacques Nienaber believes his team has the blueprint to become the first SA side to beat the Sharks at Kings Park this year.

Nienaber is praised as the guru who has masterminded the Cape teams’ defensive structures, which excelled during Super Rugby and the Currie Cup over the last three years.

The Stormers’ strong guard helped them qualify for two semi-finals (2011 and 2012) and one final (2010) in Super Rugby. WP also featured in one semi-final (2011) and a final (2010) on the domestic scene.

However, those teams all lost their respective play-off matches, extending their title drought to 11 years. The last piece of silverware added to the Newlands trophy cabinet was the 2001 Currie Cup (that’s if you exclude the over-hyped South African conference title won in Super Rugby).

These three years of finals rugby heartache forced the management to rethink their game plan. Backline coach Robbie Fleck revealed to this site in September that this year’s domestic campaign would be used to implement a stronger attacking game, which their players have bought into.

Gio Aplon told me midway during the league phase: ‘We’ve realised the hard way that a strong defence won’t win semi-finals and finals. It’s good enough to get you to the top of the league, but you have to be able to attack well if you want to win those play-off games.’

As a result, WP have scored the second most tries in the tournament (behind the Sharks) and are the third top point-scorers (close behind the Sharks and Golden Lions). They showed great composure with ball in hand to score a late try for a 21-16 comeback semi-final win over the Lions at Ellis Park.

They now have the opportunity to carry that momentum into the final against the Sharks, who have beaten all South African teams at Kings Park during Super Rugby and the Currie Cup in 2012.

While the Sharks have beaten the Stormers and WP four out of five times during these tournaments, Nienaber said the last two defeats have helped the team progress.

‘We were beaten 43-27 in Durban during round two, but we played with 12 men at one stage,’ Nienaber told keo.co.za. ‘We were still in the game before we were issued those two red cards and the final yellow card just made things even more difficult. The Sharks scored three tries with a greater man advantage.

‘But earlier in the game, we were very competitive. We manned up against their powerful pack and had the technical game plan that troubled them.

‘The 25-23 loss in Cape Town in the opening round was a learning curve for us. While we were placing a greater focus on attack, it revealed we didn’t have an effective scramble defence. Most of their tries came from turnovers in possession. But the situation has improved since then. We’ve lost many of our first-choice players to injury, but we have the formula to beat the Sharks in the final.

‘This greater balance between attack, defence and tactical kicking plan also bodes well for Super Rugby next year.’

Nienaber added that the Sharks’ defence and kicking game have been key in their successful year, especially during the Currie Cup.

‘Many people believe the Sharks are doing well because of their strong attack,’ he said. ‘But the Sharks have improved very well on defence. They’re also kicking the ball a lot. The Currie Cup stats show that they’ve kicked the most during the tournament. They even had six more kicks than the Blue Bulls in the semi-final. I don’t think anyone has picked up on that.’

Nienaber believes discipline will be vital in Saturday’s Currie Cup showdown: ‘The Lions conceded more penalties than us at Ellis Park last weekend, but we leaked too many in kickable positions and gave Elton Jantjies a chance to boot his team to victory. We can’t afford that against the Sharks and Pat Lambie.’

251 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-199: Or a final the Sharkies might lose at HOME, AGAIN?

• 202.W.P: Reply to this comment

Geez this outjie with WP in his very k@k nick seems terribly upset at WP and their supporters. Can only be a Sharks supporter lol

• 203.charo: Reply to this comment

@W.P-202:

brilliant!

• 204.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-161:

Actually he reminds me of you my angel.

• 205.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-170:
    The bookies know though
    It all that matters, for the Sharks supporters it is only one of many robberies, should get used to it by now
    It’s WP turn or so SARU decided!
    :-D

• 206.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@gunther-204:

I like this new Anti-WP guy, he’s got attitude but as a WP fan we can’t argue too much with what he’s saying.

• 207.gunther: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-206:

He’s like a mirror image of pedigree.

Even down to the nickname.

Spicy ekse.

• 208.Nikita: Reply to this comment

Oh dear.

What can the matter be?

• 209.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-207: I am Jebb Sinclair. He is Jean Deysel. We know how that ended….

(Note to self: ask Skoppie how to successfully appeal red card offences on this site)

• 210.gunther: Reply to this comment

This site has less life than a Kimberly Nightclub.

Paradise Lost.

• 211.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-209:

I didn’t have you down for the violent sort babes.

but if you are going to throw a punch make sure you get the first one in.

Remember every time the poison dwarf in vishoek gets banned a puppy dies.

• 212.Dusky: Reply to this comment

WP has formula to beat the Sharks ? Geez a pity they didn’t find this formula 4 games ago. I suppose after a certain number of attempts you eventually have to succeed.

And what ‘formula’ is it ? Does it involve e.coli or brooklax ? Because that is about the only ‘formula’ that might help.

Sharks will bliksem WP into their 2013 Stormers jersey’s. The next time they wake up, it will be a new year of getting ready to be the Sharks b!tches….again….

• 213.skunk: Reply to this comment

Dog food

Stop trying to convince us weepee have a chance. Your “kids” are going to lose. And no matter how much pity talk you throw at us thats not gona change.

• 214.W.P: Reply to this comment

Glad there’s no pressure on WP. Dusky when the S15 comes all those injured WP will be back. You know how k@k the Sharks were when their players were missing during the first half of the 2012 S15. You don’t need to be reminded.

Also I would be so confident if I were you bru. Home final + overwhelming favourites…………..WP gonna moer you guppies like Ali bliksemed Foreman. PROOOOOOOOVIIIIIIIINCE!!!!!

• 215.W.P: Reply to this comment

It seems these Sharkies forgot about their recent losing spree to WP/Stormers

• 216.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Latest from News 24:

KZN ANC has faith in Sharks
    44 minutes ago
    The ANC in KwaZulu-Natal is confident that the Sharks will once again do the province proud by winning the Currie Cup rugby trophy.

So, it’s Zuma against Zille on Saturday?

• 217.shooter: Reply to this comment

There is a major anti climax brewing here. especially for the excitable Province supporters.

Sharks taking this one with 15.. at least.

• 218.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Like I said a couple of weeks ago, the Currie Cup has lost its value. Been reading other rugby sites and nothing happening there either. Sad really…

• 219.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-210:
    Was at a K!mberley n!ghtclub th!s year w!th the fam !n CPT and thought I could make up for lost t!me.

The club was called Spr!ngbok and was the s!ze of the CTICC and they were langarm!ng to the Far East Movement.

• 220.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Banning Skop is like banning Pieter Dirk-Uys. The audience loses, the site dies.

• 221.assagai: Reply to this comment

Howdy Jinxy2 Skop been outa action for couple days he just trying to get his mojo working – huffabilly puffabilly all fall down

• 222.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

He is the most astute “kenner” on rugby matters, despite the noise.

• 223.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@assagai-221: Oh you!

Ya little runtcnutfarkadilly!

• 224.assagai: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-223: that what they teach you at philosophy school in those fancy academic institutions where they pretend they know wtf is actually going on around their self infatuated dumbfck ears. You sound like a poor befuddled moron.. pity because I originally took you for somebody with a few brain cells between your uneducated ears.

• 225.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Where the hell did Bagel come from? Nkandla?

• 226.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Latest on News 24:

Zuma will be wearing a #6 Sharks jersey at KP on Saturday.

• 227.assagai: Reply to this comment

he’s a UCT graduate shows just how overrated dumb deluded academia is.

when the professors don’t know wtf they talking about how you expect the pupils to get any amount of wisdom into their poor delusional brains?

• 228.assagai: Reply to this comment

copycat the makhulu baas won’t work he’ll be wearing the wrong color No.6 jersey it ain’t the black and white one that gonna be on the victory podium after the game.. poor Zuma trying to do a Nelson thinking Shaka’s ancestors are listening he gonna look like a real stupid twat when it backfires in his face.

• 229.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@assagai-228:

like a Royale with Cheese :)

• 230.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@assagai-228: Zuma, “Going” to look like a stupid twat..
    hmmm…
    think he’s way ahead of you on that one mate :-D

• 231.katman: Reply to this comment

Anyone watching the cricket? Lions klapping those overpaid Delhi Bellies.

• 232.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

Zuma felt compelled to attend the match on Saturday after it was forecast that there is a very high possibility of Showers, thunder showers.

• 233.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-232:

You just killed me :) Classic.

• 234.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Schönes Fräulein, lust auf mehr
    Blitzkrieg mit dem Fleischgewehr
    Schnaps im Kopf, du holde Braut
    Steck Bratwurst in dein Sauerkraut!

• 235.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Brauch keine Hilfe, kein Koffein
    doch Dynamit und Terpentin
    Ich brauche Öl für Gasolin
    explosiv wie Kerosin
    mit viel Oktan und frei von Blei
    einen Kraftstoff wie Benzin

Dynamite Stadium…

BOOM

• 236.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

How sweet can it taste?
    How good can you feel?
    The enemy is dead
    Your victory is real
    How deep can you fall?
    How low can you feel?
    How sweet can it be?
    To know it is real?

How strong a will
    How long to kill
    The Sharks out to play
    They going for their prey…

• 237.papashanga: Reply to this comment

Many years ago,about 50,I recall a man saying,’Come on Province,murder those beach boys’. They did.

• 238.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

WTF

• 239.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Post restante?

• 240.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Must be too much of this Sharks pollution… Fuckedup Keo once and for all…

• 241.garth: Reply to this comment

Why can’t I see the comments. WTF have you guys at Keo cocked up now?

• 242.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Turn my back for a week and the site falls over.

The more things change, the more they remain the same.

• 243.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

Dragon stole the comments space

• 244.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

no comment

• 245.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Kuk site!Sharkievarkies bailed out just in time!

• 246.poppa69: Reply to this comment

this site is so “poluted” that even the comments dont want to stay

• 247.katman: Reply to this comment

Who broke the site? Probably one too many of Skoppie’s verbal vomits. Even the interwebs can only take so much.

• 248.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Is this Part II of the online exorcism started on Monday?

• 249.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Now they chucking everyone off the site, Bulls, WPians, the lot?

• 250.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

WTF is going on here?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.