Currie Cup preview (Final)
26 Oct 2012
GARETH DUNCAN analyses Saturday’s Currie Cup final between the Sharks and Western Province.
WHY THE SHARKS WILL WIN
Most of the odds lie in the Sharks’ favour: home ground advantage, they have the better team on paper, they have settled combinations and the stronger pack. Let’s not beat around the bush, the Sharks are overwhelming favourites to claim the title.
The Sharks have not lost against any South African team at home during Super Rugby and the Currie Cup. Kings Park has been a fortress against their local rivals, and they will carry that confidence into the title-decider. WP will also go into this match knowing they only won once in the last five against the men from Durban in all competitions. The bashing they received in the Super Rugby semi-final at Newlands must still haunt them.
A key advantage for the hosts will be their expected ascendancy among the heavies. While the Golden Lions boasted the strongest pack for most parts of the domestic competition, the Sharks forwards won that reputation during the latter league rounds and in the semi-final win over the Blue Bulls as their Springboks returned.
The Sharks boast brute strength up front, which has been central on attack and defence, their scrumming performances and setting a quality platform for in-form flyhalf Pat Lambie and his dangerous backline. There’s a 60% chance of rain in Durban on Saturday, highlighting the importance of dominance among the forwards.
Kudos must be given to head coach John Plumtree, who mastered the management of his Test players after they came back from Rugby Championship duty. The Kiwi learned his lesson the hard way last season when he rushed all seven of his internationals into the starting line-up when they jetted back from the World Cup in New Zealand. They struggled to make an impact in the 2011 Currie Cup final at Ellis Park, which saw the Lions ease to a 42-16 win. Plumtree will get the best out of his Boks on Saturday.
Lambie’s most outstanding individual performance came in the 2010 Currie Cup final. He’s yet to eclipse that memory over the last two years, but the signs he’s shown over the last fortnight in the No 10 jersey indicate he’ll be an important player on the pitch on Saturday. Even though he struggled to get game time with the Springboks this season, he’s looked confident at flyhalf and will play a vital role with the boot and in marshalling his team-mates on his outside. A strong run this weekend will force Bok coach Heyneke Meyer’s hand in picking him at pivot (and not fullback) during the end-of-year tour.
If the Sharks gain ascendancy, their backline will thrive. Young scrumhalf Cobus Reinach has been Plumtree’s find of the season, the young centre combination of Paul Jordaan and Tim Whitehead has gelled really well (to think Frans Steyn will still jump into the midfield equation next season), and wing JP Pietersen and fullback Louis Ludik are enjoying a purple patch of form.
This is the Sharks’ final to lose.
WHY WP HAVE A CHANCE
It doesn’t look good for the visitors.
They shocked the Lions by scoring a late try for a 21-16 comeback win in Johannesburg last weekend. But the final against the Sharks should be a step too far.
However, head coach Allister Coetzee and optimistic Province fans will say: ‘never rule out the underdogs’.
The main targets the Cape side will aim for are the lineouts, the breakdown battle and the tactical kicking game. If WP can achieve any ascendancy in these facets of play, they’ll have hope.
The Sharks have been poor at the lineouts in recent weeks, while Province have excelled at the set piece throughout the domestic campaign. Province will miss their injured lineout kingpin Andries Bekker, but if they can continue their impressive showings, they have a platform to attack from. Their driving maul has beaten most defences from close range.
The individual performances of No 8 Duane Vermeulen and flank Deon Fourie will be very influential. Both players have been consistent throughout the year, and their team will need big contributions from them. They’ll be key in the breakdown assault and as ball carriers. Fourie will also need to keep a cool head and not concede needless penalties.
The halfback combination of Nic Groom and Demetri Catrakilis will need to fire. The two players know each other well as they’ve played alongside each other ever since the 2011 Varsity Cup with UCT.
Groom provides quick service and will keep the defenders around the fringes on their toes, which takes some pressure off Catrakilis. The Kings-bound pivot has impressed with the boot when his forwards hold their own up front, but he’s known to falter when defences give him no space or time with the ball. The Province pack need to play their part, as Catrakilis will be a vital part of their tactical kicking game.
If WP can achieve this, they will have the chance to win favourable field positions. If they can milk kickable penalties off the Sharks, the visitors have a sharpshooter to rely on. But I stress, this will be a tough task.
It will be interesting to see how Coetzee’s gamble of starting rookie Damian de Allende at inside centre pays off. Marcel Brache has been inconsistent and many feel JP du Plessis (who’s with the U21s) should’ve been given a go, but Coetzee seems confident De Allende can provide a physical presence. Province can’t afford him to falter.
WP don’t have much running for them, but if they can put the Sharks under pressure in the aforementioned areas, they could find themselves in the position to pull off one of the most unlikeliest upsets of the year.
FORM
Sharks WWLWLWLWWWW
WP LWLWWLWLLWW
Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Jandre Marais, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Odwa Ndungane.
WP – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Don Armand, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Marcel Brache, 22 Joe Pietersen.
Gareth’s prediction: Sharks by 15

567 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
26 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
the bulls have 3 super titles.
they dont shout their mouths off every year like wpians.
but the sharks are the lucky team that gets to fk the stormers up AGAIN.
grind them to dust.
26 Oct 2012, 10:29 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-149:
You have said it better than I have… There is only two teams and the whole of SA know that, except the few of course
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-149: ah, theres that loser mentality.
handsopper jy klink soos ‘n gewone wpian.
@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-151:
Exactly they have nothing to prove, similar to us…
26 Oct 2012, 10:30 am
@Gumboots-152: yes, sharks and bulls.
although even the cheetahs and lions have won a cc in the last 10 years.
howfuckingfunnyisthat?
26 Oct 2012, 10:31 am
I am dumbstruck!
Cant ever remember as much arrogance and chicken counting before hatching on Keo ever!
Oh yes, this even rivals the Tacitus infamous Can of whoopass…..
and look at how that turned out.
Jeepers Sharks, bedaar Viskoppe,
If you boys are beaten you will never ever live it down.
26 Oct 2012, 10:32 am
@Gumboots-154: cant prove anything you mean gomskoene.
cant.
want die tjarks is die pappies en julle is ons stoute kinners.
en elke stoute kind verdien ‘n pakslae so nou en dan ne?
26 Oct 2012, 10:32 am
Empty vessels make the most noise.
Oh dear
26 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-157:
26 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@Nikita-158: Testosterone is abundant today…
26 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-151: Who did you support when you were a kid? NTVL? WP? (In the time the guppies’ games weren’t even being televised).
You fellows are lying to yourselves……
Every South African supported a REAL team – so which one was it?
Behind EVERY Sharks fan – is a fella who supported either NTVL or WP.
26 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@grant10-156:
I’m just going to enjoy the game. I hope the field isn’t a fishbowl…
26 Oct 2012, 10:36 am
@Gumboots-90: lol thanks, but will need my wits about me if I am not able to watch. I really do need some comic relief and escapism.
@Gumboots-142: @Gumboots-144:
Most of my Durban friends would always shout for Province instead of Bulls , it’s just the absolute prime sour grape idiots on here that are different.
@Nikita-158: Careful now………
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-161:
Must have been Free State. Where would the Sharks be without them
26 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
Time to support a real team, lads.
GO GRIQUAS !!!!!!!!!
26 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
@wp_boytjie-164:
Yeah I know…
26 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-161: I beg to differ, i was born a Natal supporter and have never supported another team other than the Sharks and always will.
some Sharks fans showing absolutely no respect…..reckon its all done and dusted already.
Farkit…..this movie may just have a few twists and turns in the plot line still….
My call is Sharks by 6
total points 30 or less.
total tries… maybe 1?
18-12 Saaarks.
26 Oct 2012, 10:40 am
@grant10-156:
Relax boet, its only coming from 1 or 2 guys who belong in the assylum.
If you want a real feel for how Sharks fans are really feeling in Durbs right now, ready Sharkie10′s post 146.
Leave us ‘normal’ supporters out of your rants.
26 Oct 2012, 10:41 am
@Treehugger-163:
You welcome!
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-165:
26 Oct 2012, 10:42 am
@John Galt-172:
of course i mean *read*
26 Oct 2012, 10:42 am
@Gumboots-162: I wish they would sort out their drainage. Maybe HG and this other fella can get to the ground at 3am tommorrow morning and start licking up the water?
26 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
@Sharkie10-146:
Well put Sharkie.
I think you’ve summed things up perfectly. That is how most normal Sharks supporters are feeling right now.
26 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
@Sharkie10-169: You’re probably still young…. A child born in the 90′s. I’m actually not being obnoxiuos with my question – I know that when the Natalians were in the rugby wilderness, many supported either the Bulls or WP at the time.
26 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
Indeed this Sharkie chest thumping is almost as bad as the simpering false modesty from the brokebacks.
26 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
@willievz-167:
Hmm, I think they’ve gone already.
26 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-177: I was born in 83….and have never had the desire to support any other side. I was born in Natal, Vryheid to be exact and i have lived in natal my whole life. So i am a 100% Sharks Supporter!
26 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
May the best team win!!!
Will be back later…
26 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
@David-179: You guys can learn from us.
We beat the Sharks on a very regular basis
David, how do you feel about tomorrow?
26 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
@Nikita-158:
Wise words!
I tip my hat in your direction.
26 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
@Stawm-141: Shutup wench… get back in that kitchen, where you belong… and dust down that blue and white striped mattress strapped to your no doubt calloused back before I come and put you straight back in your place…
26 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
So, by all definitions of the Sharks’ chances tomorrow, should Province win tomorrow it will be an all-time shock?
26 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
greenandgoldrugby.com/going-with-the-crowd-super-rugby-attendance-trends/
26 Oct 2012, 10:55 am
@Kid_Senekal-171: I agree with you, finals rugby is normally a very close affair. Sharks are the favourites to take the CUP but on the day, especially considering the weather predicted, anything can happen. I think it will come down to the forward dominance, tactical kicking, number of kickable penalties and the accuracy of the kickers.
26 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
Australia regularly beat the far superior Bok side, by employing astute tactics and rugby acumen.
David can beat Goliath on Saturday, but it will be a massive ask.
26 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
@willievz-182:
I reckon the Sharks are carrying just too much experienced firepower for us to win.
26 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
Good luck to Wp and Sharkies, may the team with the most humble supporters win.
We are Black
We are White
We are fuckingDynamite….
26 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
@Heavens Game-192:
It would be safer to f*ck one of your blowup Sharks dolls.
26 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
There seems to be allot of trash talking going on and maybe even some overly confident Sharks supporters. After last years 42-16 beating in the final against the Lions, i tend to hold back on the trash talking. It is a level playing field. One team may look better on paper than the other, some players are in top form, but it takes one bad performance to let the team down. The Sharks may be at home, but it is still a rectangular grass field with some lines and two goal posts, 30 players on the field all equally hungry for the win, and a ref who hopefully has a good fair game. Nothing else matters. The Side that wants it most, will win.
(come to think of it WP have waited something like 12 years, i am sure they will want it quite badly)
But here is to hoping for a good Sharks win.
26 Oct 2012, 11:01 am
@grant10-156: wies die viskoppe piskop?
is jy nog ‘n wpian ondersteuner?
26 Oct 2012, 11:04 am
Fee fo fi fum…
I smell WePee fear…
All of a sudden big claims to underdog status…
What happened to the favourite mantle from just a few months back…
The “awesome” conference title “holders” from S15…
Sharks couldn’t improved by that much surely… Maybe they were always that good and you blindasfuck brokeback mountain dwellers just could not see the honest rugby wood for the trees…
And then dreams die…
Again…
For the 6th time this season…
At Kings Park Stadium… Cathedral of SA Rugby’s Future…
Maybe they should fly a few Black and white Jolly Roger flags tomorrow… Its gonna turn into a vaseline fest Bay of Blue and White piglets after tomorrow’s right royal rogering…
26 Oct 2012, 11:06 am
@Sharkie10-194: ag i am just playing with the wpians man.
i too am a shark, was a banaboy back in the day.
i love only the sharks.
and i do seriously believe we will grind wpians into dust tomorrow.
they are our little playthings en ons gaan lekker met hulle speel more.
@Heavens Game-191: @wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-195: You two make me feel so proud to be a Sharks supporter: witty, intelligent, insightful and balanced comments just flow from your keyboards…
@Heavens Game-184:
Come on, that the best you got?
This is your time in the sun.
Sharks will win the CC against a WP B team, in Durban.
You should be proud.
WTF !!!!!!!! So Sharks supporters must not talk up their team because it is arrogant, pathetic.
If we lose we lose….no shame in it, in the meantime.
S H A R K S S S S S S………..MOER HULLE
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All