Potent Province power to glory
27 Oct 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched Western Province break their 11-year Currie Cup drought with a famous 25-18 final win over the Sharks at Kings Park.
Everyone loves an underdog story. And this match was one of the greats in South African domestic rugby.
The pre-match odds laid heavily in the Sharks’ favour. They had home-ground advantage, the strongest pack of the competition and the best team on paper, one loaded with Springboks. The Sharks had the confidence of beating the Stormers and WP four out of five fixtures earlier in the season, and they never lost to a South African team in Durban all year. The stats also proved they were the best attacking and defensive side of the Currie Cup.
However, what stats can’t measure is heart, mettle and determination. And WP, who were missing the likes of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker, Tiaan Liebenberg, Siya Kolisi and Schalk Burger, had bucket loads of this on the day.
The Sharks started off strongly and created several try-scoring opportunities, but they unraveled against a gritty WP outfit that failed to tire. The men from the Cape might have come off second best at the collisions and scrums for most parts of the match, but their breakdown assault, superior lineout efficiency and accurate tactical kicking game was crucial in their surprising triumph.
Man of the Match Deon Fourie was a star at openside flank, while Eben Etzebeth, Juan de Jongh and Demetri Catrakilis also deserve special mentions for their individual contributions in a top team performance.
But it took a while for the visitors’ ascendancy to emerge.
The opening quarter was dominated by the Sharks, who exposed the usually resilient Province defence on several occasions. Conversely, the hosts’ guard was resolute.
If it wasn’t for a sensational cover tackle from Bryan Habana, which denied opposite number JP Pietersen a clear run to the whitewash in the seventh minute, the Sharks would’ve held a comfortable lead.
However, Habana’s moment of defensive brilliance came with a sacrifice. The Springbok speedster struggled to gather to his feet after that hit and was taken off the field moments later because of a knee injury. Big blow for Province, and to those who were hoping to see more from the face-off between the two in-form wings.
While the Sharks were denied try opportunities, flyhalf Pat Lambie punished most of the penalties the visitors conceded. The 22-year-old found the target on four occasions to give the Sharks a 12-3 lead by the half-hour mark. Catrakilis nailed one three-pointer during this period.
Then came the unexpected Province fightback.
The biggest damage was done by Juan de Jongh, who executed a telling break shortly after Joe Pietersen’s 32nd-minute penalty.
From a scrum in centre field, the outside centre ran a perfect angle off Catrakilis to expose a gap in the Sharks’ defensive line. His explosiveness saw him beat three defenders in Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Lwazi Mvovo on his way to the chalk. Catrakilis converted.
The pivot also added his second penalty on the stroke of half-time, which saw WP lead 16-12 at the break.
The Sharks regained the ascendancy in the second stanza and jumped back into the lead thanks to Lambie’s fifth and sixth penalties.
But Catrakilis landed three vital shots at goal thereafter. First a penalty to regain the lead, which was their only reward after applying relentless pressure on attack against a solid Sharks defence in the opposition’s red zone. Then he nailed two drop goals to add to the buffer. The second drop goal was an important score as it forced the hosts to search for a converted try in order to level the scores.
The Sharks created late drama as Louis Ludik broke down the sideline during the closing stages, with Charl McLeod on his outside. He only had Pietersen to beat, but he passed the ball too early and the defender guessed right to tackle McLeod. The reserve scrumhalf then tried to offload to Lambie, but he lost the ball in contact.
The Sharks also won possession after the final hooter, but again, they lost the ball in contact – this time 10m from the tryline.
Province held on to complete an excellent victory. What an amazing underdog story.

1,055 Comments
27 Oct 2012, 16:55 pm
Province dragons!
27 Oct 2012, 16:58 pm
Sharks by 10.
27 Oct 2012, 16:58 pm
SHARKKKKSSSSSSS
27 Oct 2012, 16:59 pm
Today am rooting for Province, too many Sharks fans here…
27 Oct 2012, 17:02 pm
HISTORY, the provider of the necessary experience
. Some learn its lessons and others do not because they are too spoilt , for far too many generations, to the point they succumb to the weak attitude of entitlement.
Sometime just recent history is required and if that is so, where should the smart money then go?
27 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
I hate it when you clearly hear the ref say one thing when he blows the penalty and then the commentator says something completely different. Peyper said “advantage, from the side” and Skinstad immediately says “the ref blowing Alberts for not rolling away”. Come on, get it right.
27 Oct 2012, 17:05 pm
Shut up.
27 Oct 2012, 17:05 pm
Gp Peyper!
Start the loot, SARU is watching!
27 Oct 2012, 17:08 pm
Jordaan is dynamite.
27 Oct 2012, 17:08 pm
Jordaan is quick.
27 Oct 2012, 17:11 pm
Pieterson in ominous form. Quick paced match. Exciting.
27 Oct 2012, 17:12 pm
Wow Ginger ripped that ball off the Sharks.
The pace is intense so far.
Min 12
No2 for WP is on his 3rd faked tackle already?!
27 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
Plug it, hond.
27 Oct 2012, 17:14 pm
Is this dominant play as ominous as it seems to me?
27 Oct 2012, 17:15 pm
Habs off
27 Oct 2012, 17:15 pm
@mikeybrass-15: Let him be. His high school sweetheart left him for a Zulu. He’s still smarting.
27 Oct 2012, 17:16 pm
Forgive Hondo
He is nervous
He may lose his house
27 Oct 2012, 17:17 pm
******* hell Catrikilis!!!
Too many penalties wp!
Go sharks.
27 Oct 2012, 17:18 pm
Thats a punch.off!
27 Oct 2012, 17:18 pm
@Dawn-19:
That’s OK, tomorrow’s showday so he can steal some more estate agents signs and build a new one.
27 Oct 2012, 17:19 pm
Catrakilis has easily had the worst 20 minutes this season. Trying very hard to do a Dean Greyling here. Poor kid should be taken off and soooooooooooooooon
I like JP, intercepting the banana pass destined to the two tokens squatting for it on the overlap,,,
27 Oct 2012, 17:20 pm
@katman-18: Jealous of the stick
27 Oct 2012, 17:21 pm
Ok.maybe not a punch.but vuilgat.
27 Oct 2012, 17:21 pm
The RC truck that delivers the kicking tee gets bigger and bigger. Pretty soon they’ll just send a bloke on with a Bantam bakkie.
27 Oct 2012, 17:22 pm
Wonder how many of our fellow bloggers are at the game.
I understand Puma got some last minute tickets!
Does the tank looked packed?
27 Oct 2012, 17:22 pm
WP ball handling is poor.
27 Oct 2012, 17:23 pm
@katman-29: No need. Just hire Skoppie the Datsun
27 Oct 2012, 17:24 pm
Jaco jou doos
27 Oct 2012, 17:24 pm
@carol-30: Quite a few empty seats. That’s what happens at R350 a pop.
27 Oct 2012, 17:25 pm
@carol-30: Not really – the weather is bad and the tickets are expensive.
27 Oct 2012, 17:25 pm
Jaco missed a Sharks hand on the ground at the scrum
27 Oct 2012, 17:26 pm
Nice call Peyper…there goes your conspiracy theory Homdo. Wave your house goodbye.
27 Oct 2012, 17:27 pm
Aplon and DeJongh are busy today,,
I TOLD this dumb f’ng coach NOT to play the Greek at 10 and this doos don’t wanna listen.
Goddamn greenhorn Greek is gifting the bloody game to the Sharks on his own get the mediocre journeyman off. All the momentum been fckd to hell already by starting the WRONG man AT 10
DUMB f’ng coach still don’t know how to win finals after how many attempts?
@katman-34:
@kaksioek-35:
Such a shame, you need a packed stadium for a final. Someone is being too greedy!
27 Oct 2012, 17:28 pm
FFS, that should have been a WP scrum!
Thr3 poor calls by ref.
Shut up old fool. Find another thread for your garbled rubbish.
@assagai-39: Deep breathes Skop. Groom is playing well.
27 Oct 2012, 17:29 pm
@assagai-39:
Deep breath Skop….
Have Grant and JR gone to Durban this time?
27 Oct 2012, 17:30 pm
Between the Sharks’ experience and Pepyer, WP is being dismantled.
Ref not helping the WP cause!!
Skew throw,Beast hand deck scrum time,Joe Petersen knock on off the boot.What’s the point of playing here
Wooow, allows the scrum to be reset twice afte sharks collapse and then they hit before the engage call and they get the penalty…. Maybe sarfu wants the sharks to win thus one
@Hondo-38: hondkak.
27 Oct 2012, 17:32 pm
Get the Cat OFFFFFF
27 Oct 2012, 17:32 pm
In the 2010 final Pat Lambie scored in excess of 20 points in his control of that Trophy performance.
Are we seeing a repeat performance? Already he has 12 pts.
27 Oct 2012, 17:34 pm
Lambie is controlling the pace of the game.
27 Oct 2012, 17:35 pm
WP fans can moan all they like about the ref, but it’s not Peyper who screwed up three scoring opportunities.
Work trying to play springbok rugby here by kicking away possession. I hope they change tactics in the second half because it’s clearly not working.
So a second “last” warning for the Doc
Jannie moet af! Doos.
@mikeybrass-44:
Snap !! lol
27 Oct 2012, 17:36 pm
The Dr to get a yellow and cost the Sharks.
get Catrakillis OFF god almighty can’t this dumb fck coach SEE where the game is going pear shaped, get the weakest link OFF G’DAMMIT
@katman-54: Pepyer is having a terrible game and the WP backs are being hampered by Cat stuffing up two attacking opportunities.
27 Oct 2012, 17:37 pm
Peyper is k#k
27 Oct 2012, 17:37 pm
@assagai-60: The longer he stays on, the more at risk my laptop is !
27 Oct 2012, 17:38 pm
Wooihhhooooooo
27 Oct 2012, 17:39 pm
The quota scccoorrreeeeeesssssssssssss
Brilliance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Try!province!
What a try by de Jongh!
Hondo, do you agree?
JdJ should be Bok 13.
Straight in to the Springbok team…the captain being handed off in the process. Hahahahaha
There’s that dance we see so seldom – thankfully. It hasn’t improved.
27 Oct 2012, 17:40 pm
how’s them lemons Hondo
JdJ just showing Heyneke the dumb fck Meyer what a f’ng moronic goddamn DOOS the moron is
27 Oct 2012, 17:41 pm
Great try by JdJ
The Sharks pay dearly for playing Mvovo who is there for faking tackles and dropping passes
Wth is a’political game’!?!?!?
JdJ is dragging WP back into the match single-handedly with Eben helping.
27 Oct 2012, 17:42 pm
I am on course of making R20 grands!
Thanks Peyper, I knew I could count on you
27 Oct 2012, 17:42 pm
@Golden Boy-69: Yes.
27 Oct 2012, 17:43 pm
De Jongh you beauty! Was that the “Christian Cullen of loosies” on his backside?
@Hondo-72: You’re seriously disturbed.
@mxhosa-77: Nah. It was HG’s love ghost.
27 Oct 2012, 17:44 pm
Gangnam
27 Oct 2012, 17:44 pm
Game on!
27 Oct 2012, 17:45 pm
The Greek fights back.
Well dOne province!!! A poor first half playing against 26 men and still taking a lead to the half…where is that 20 point hiding!?!?!?
The Greek has guts. Limited ability but lots of guts.
Eben and JdJ are the outstanding WP players. We need Joe and Aplon to come to the party.
Hahaha…16…to much single malt
27 Oct 2012, 17:46 pm
Ginger is doing his part too.
Lambie is fantastic.
27 Oct 2012, 17:46 pm
Juan de Jongh is a class act. Still can’t believe Taute was picked ahead of him. Embarrassing for Heyneke
27 Oct 2012, 17:47 pm
sjoe! scintillating try by de jongh.
it would be nice if he could do that for the boks, but a pity he’s short on kg’s.
is it nerves for the sharkies?
27 Oct 2012, 17:47 pm
That first phase line break and try was something special by De Jongh. It’s not often you see something like that from a South African center. Pity Heyneke doesn’t think anything of it.
27 Oct 2012, 17:48 pm
Where’s nellynwata now?
De Jongh on Viagra!! Thank u Phizer. Have a peep Heineke
So, hardly a walk-over now is it?
27 Oct 2012, 17:49 pm
Eish !!! Come on Sharks !!!! WP giving us a cactus ***** right now.
WP playing very well so far. Deserve their lead at half time. Sharks started well but look like they backed off a bit. Jaco Peyper making several mistakes against both teams.
That handoff on keegan will be my new screensaver
27 Oct 2012, 17:50 pm
@stormersboy-95: Dont worry – I had Lambie’s hand off on Schalk as my screen saver in 2010 as well.
27 Oct 2012, 17:50 pm
Everyone counting the chickens before the eggs hatch again
27 Oct 2012, 17:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-88: Nothing wrong with JdJ for Bok level whatsoever.
27 Oct 2012, 17:51 pm
I don’t think the WP boys are reading from the same script…surely they should have been 15 points down by now?!?!?!?!
27 Oct 2012, 17:52 pm
what sykes has brought to the game? nothing. Marais for Sykes.
Sharks needs a fetcher. Deysel for Alberts.
Ndungane for Mvovo.
Burden is struggling at the line outs, Cooper was too but he is better at the scrum and is also a ball carrier. Cooper for Burden.
anyone got a recommendation for a high quality web stream?
@mikeybrass-98: I agree. Heyneke Meyer doesn’t though.
@Dawn-97: Not us WP supporters.
27 Oct 2012, 17:53 pm
@Dusky-102: Meyer has got learning to do, like Mallett over Breyton.
27 Oct 2012, 17:54 pm
@Golden Boy-99: What more can be said other than WP are playing well. There are 40 minutes left though
27 Oct 2012, 17:54 pm
96. But this one is even better… The Capes very own version of a p@&$ Klap
27 Oct 2012, 17:55 pm
@Golden Boy-106: Looked like a classic poor tackle from Keegan to me.
27 Oct 2012, 17:56 pm
Oh Peyper doing it for WP now!!! Hehehe
27 Oct 2012, 17:57 pm
Watsup Dusky
@mikeybrass-98:
international centers across the board to my mind seem a lot bigger, so there’s an obvious problem there. and we know how the coach feels about size and weight.
especially against nz i would be hesitant to play him.
107. Hopefully Peyper doesn’t stuff up the second half.
Great scrum Sharks!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 17:58 pm
Can the Beast ever scrum straight?
Comon ginger!tame the beast.
Knock on from Marcel Coetzee into Whitehead ahead of him on the floor,Whitehead gathers its a PENALTY Wp now the Sharks have a penalty???
27 Oct 2012, 17:59 pm
Sharks are looking good in the scrum and WP at the line outs…who will blink first… The Lamb having a good game too.
Lambie. De Jongh. Pls Heineke
Apart from the try, WP have not been impressive. Sharks to stroll home.
27 Oct 2012, 18:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110:
Conrad Smith and BOD are the 2 leading 13s, and both small.
27 Oct 2012, 18:01 pm
I must say, the WP fans here are doing themselves no favours with all this bitching about the ref and whatnot. As a neutral viewer is clear that Peyper is completely unbiased.
27 Oct 2012, 18:02 pm
lots of kak calls from the ref today.
i hate all this kicking.
27 Oct 2012, 18:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110: Not me. Not in the slightest. JdJ has handled all the Kiwi and Aussie centres.
27 Oct 2012, 18:03 pm
Brilliant by Whitehead.
27 Oct 2012, 18:04 pm
Easily the worst call of the game…not released in the tackle!?!?!? Hahahahaha
27 Oct 2012, 18:05 pm
Jaco Pyper is piss poor!!!! FFS!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 18:05 pm
Nonu will make mincemeat out of JdJ.
27 Oct 2012, 18:06 pm
Another rerrible penalty decision from Peyper. Too many for a CC final.
27 Oct 2012, 18:06 pm
@kaksioek-125:
Nonu is a 12.
27 Oct 2012, 18:07 pm
Lost forward!!!!!!
Reinacht is having a **** game
Knock on JP Pietersen??????again
Jacques Nienaber take a bow!
27 Oct 2012, 18:08 pm
How is this Ref missing all this????
@David-127: Exactly.
really too many kak calls by the officials today.
same as the semi.
@kaksioek-125: JdJ has seen him off when JdJ played 12 in 2010.
No one has made mincemeat of JdJ. Ever.
27 Oct 2012, 18:09 pm
Sorry Katman that one phase of play was poorly handled by Peyper.
27 Oct 2012, 18:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134: Pepyer is having a terrible game.
27 Oct 2012, 18:10 pm
JdJ made his debut against Jamie Roberts, and scored a brilliant try
Shut up about the ref already, you fcken girls. He missed the JPP knock which is understandable as he was on the other side. The rest is all in your nerve wracked minds.
Jaco strikes again
Province defense is really strong.
27 Oct 2012, 18:11 pm
Terrible match by Peyper
Fark Peyper handing it to the Sharks
@David-118:
smith must be close to a 100 kg?
How can Malherbe move if Sykes falls directly on him???this ref well done
Peyper working hard for the Sharks.
@katman-139: Uh huh.
27 Oct 2012, 18:12 pm
Bring McLoud on qui
27 Oct 2012, 18:12 pm
Have a bad feeling about this one!!!!!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 18:13 pm
Dissapointed with Peyper. He is spoiling the game.
27 Oct 2012, 18:13 pm
139. You are watching the wrong game. Every single poster on here including the neutrals are seeing the same thing except you. Not playing in the cc does that I hear.
27 Oct 2012, 18:14 pm
@AssassinWP-145: He must move. SImple as that. Any ref should and will blow him. Don’t listen to the Province commentator. If he was blocking the ball from coming out, it doesn’t matter if an elephant fell on top of him. It’s a penalty.
27 Oct 2012, 18:15 pm
Does watching Arsenal win solve, or add to, your -itchy problem?
Hope Peyper asked someone to tape the game for him. He’s missing a good one…
@Golden Boy-151: That’s lame, bud. You can do better.
What the hell!!! Peyper couldn’t wait to blow up that side entry ( although he did get it right)
27 Oct 2012, 18:16 pm
Katman you impartial?
27 Oct 2012, 18:17 pm
@Dawn-157: 100%
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-144:
95kg, 1.86m
Peyper has done so much for the Sharks this game.
27 Oct 2012, 18:18 pm
Pulsating stuff.
Hate saying this but Province look the hungrier team and much more together than the Sharks.
155. I’m drunk. Forgive me…actually I meant super rugby
27 Oct 2012, 18:19 pm
For a player playing his first season in senior rugby, Etsebeth has been immense… He gets my vote fo SA rugby player of the year…
27 Oct 2012, 18:20 pm
@Treehugger-162: Agree, WP are looking better now.
27 Oct 2012, 18:20 pm
How Craig Burden is a Springbok is a wonder
27 Oct 2012, 18:21 pm
Penalty try
WP have actually been the better team so far.
WP line out+Sharks scrum there you go Heyneke
@Dawn-167: You drunk too?
YES
27 Oct 2012, 18:22 pm
just saw grantie with a blue wig on, he looks good
27 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
@David-159:
well there you go.
27 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
yeessss
27 Oct 2012, 18:24 pm
No katman why?
Four penalties in the area is a penalty try
27 Oct 2012, 18:24 pm
anything to say about the wp fh now skop..?..
27 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-173: LOL
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-173: JdJ is the future at Bok 13.
27 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-176: The Greek has guts. He has recovered well.
27 Oct 2012, 18:26 pm
@Dawn-175: Since when? A penalty try is just when a foul prevents a certain try from being scored. Don’t make up new rules out of frustration.
27 Oct 2012, 18:26 pm
C’mon Province!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 18:27 pm
@mikeybrass-178:
listening to skop explain that one away will be a larf, as always
@Dawn-175: Really ? Where in the rule book does it say that ? At the one kept at Newlands ?
Wow the youngsters destroyed Beast and Doc at that scrum
27 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
Too easy!
27 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
sharkies folding…
wait
what’s that
think i hear something
think it sounds like a
27 Oct 2012, 18:29 pm
Ohlala my Sharkies really just not even in it right now.
27 Oct 2012, 18:29 pm
Game could have been so different if Peyper didn’t stand so k@k
27 Oct 2012, 18:30 pm
Gotcha Dusky!
27 Oct 2012, 18:30 pm
Guppies looking like a fish out of water?
27 Oct 2012, 18:31 pm
@Dawn-188: Having someone respond to something particularly dumb that you say is some form of victory for you ?
27 Oct 2012, 18:31 pm
Come on, Peyper has been all WP for the last half hour. Surely these Province girls see this too?
27 Oct 2012, 18:32 pm
KD being outplayed by a hooker
is he still good enough to be a Bok???
27 Oct 2012, 18:33 pm
still anyones game
very exciting
regardless of the ref
@katman-191: Don’t make me laugh.
5 minutes laaities
Lighten up Dusky it’s the weekend
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-193: What you doing here ? You finished grieving after last weekend ?
27 Oct 2012, 18:34 pm
Groom was better than Schreuder at scrumhalf.
27 Oct 2012, 18:35 pm
@katman-191:
Now, take your own advice, and stop criticising the ref.
YYYYYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
@mikeybrass-194: I understand though. When your team’s in the final you see what you want to see. Most people do this.
Yessssssssssss….. The Kat making up for a poor first half
Wow Greek, WOW
Well done WP – game over. Man of the match: Katrakilis.
27 Oct 2012, 18:36 pm
@katman-201: Oh quit your patronising attitude. The ref has had a cr*p game. Klaar.
27 Oct 2012, 18:36 pm
@David-199: I’m not. I think he’s been good. But the 50 50 calls have gone WP’s way for a while now.
27 Oct 2012, 18:37 pm
@Dusky-197:
ja, and it looks like its time for you to grieve too
HG will be in depression for the next week. BOOM
game over
the greek wins it
Proooovince!!!! Die Currie Cup Kim weer!!!!!!!!!
AC gonna have a heart attack
squeaky bum time!!!!
wat se jy nou skop?
@mikeybrass-205: Relax bud. He’s letting you win now. The war is over.
27 Oct 2012, 18:38 pm
I had a feeling WP would win once the Keo boytjies cursed the Banana Boys.
Daniel gone missing. Not Bok quality
Booooooooom!!!!!!!!!!! The silence is deafening!!!!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-207: Yep – WP deserved this victory. No excuses.
27 Oct 2012, 18:39 pm
Who is this woman they keep showing
Well done Province. Better team won on the day.
Shark’s won’t sleep well tonight because they slept the whole time during the game.
See you next year.
Duane outplayed the Cullen.
Well done Joe!
Great tackle by Pietersen. Saved the Cup there.
BOOOOOOOM!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
Big mistake by Ludik! No one was marking him.
27 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
OCO don’t leave!
27 Oct 2012, 18:42 pm
Peyper might still ensure the Sharks win this. lol
Good game WP
you made us proud today!!!! Well done Sharks. You were the best team this season, but in a final anything is possible. Stormers and sharks looking good for next years super season.
What a wally.
27 Oct 2012, 18:43 pm
Very well done PROVINCE players, you played out of you skin, a well deserved win…fizzle !!!
its over!!!!!!
PPPPPPPRRRROOOOVVVIIIIINNNNCCCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
Take that all you WP-haters!
BOOM!!!!!!!!
Well done to WP. After a shaky start, they were the better team for a good 60 minutes.
Sharks cant complain. Peyper worked hard. Congrats WP!!!!. Now where the hell is Heavens Game
27 Oct 2012, 18:44 pm
Catti showing Bambie that a drop can and will win the CC
PROOOOOOOOVIIIIIIIIIIINCE!!!!!!
Well done WP. Nice try at the death Sharks.
ALL I WANT TO SAY
BOOM
Well played WP. Definitely deserved the win. Great game.
3 finals in a row for Sharks.
Chokers?
@Golden Boy-227: They were the best CC team, but overall WP and the Stormers have been superior
Top of the Super log, Conference Cup and now the CC
BOOOM!!!!!
@Dusky-218:
hard luck, boet
and better luck next time. sharkies still a dangerous squad and with one or two good signings or juniors coming through should easily be in the running next super season
Congratulations to Wp, deserve the win, you where exceptional today.
To the supporters, enjoy, its been a long time for you.
27 Oct 2012, 18:45 pm
@grant10-238: HG was so sure WP would lose. The Loosie Cullen was not a factor.
FARKEN BOOM
Well done Pronvince… Etsebeth is a beast, MOM!
YYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
FIIIIIIIIIINNNAAAALLLLYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
PROVINCE!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 18:46 pm
Well done WP and supporters. If we had won this game I would have felt sorry for you, because you deserved it. Great game of rugby! Thanks to both sides.
Ah, all is right with the world! HGs “traditional” union has shown him why their are.
Wow, this site is going to be truly unbearable now.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-243: Without a doubt.
WP managed to get on top of the Sharks scrum which was impressive.
Eben was immense. JdJ outstanding.
27 Oct 2012, 18:47 pm
WEEEPEEE FOREVER
Il echo that.BOOM.where is heavens game?
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO
De Jongh, Catrakilis, Etzebeth, Ntubeni and D Fourie exceptional
Well done boys
well done wp
played a great game
Gangnnam everyone
27 Oct 2012, 18:48 pm
it seems like wp/stormers can only win when they are the underdogs.
Congratulations.
plum, u thought u have learned from 2011′s mistakes. u did not.
alberts, mvovo, burden and sykes did nothing today.
What bliss this site will be without HG and the like bleeting about a boom here and a pop there.
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@mikeybrass-252:
well done on your teams win, boet
What now varkies? Catrakilis the new world beating 10?
@grant10-246:
Congrats mate…. Your u21 pack, outstanding!
@CoachPete-253:
I’m right here!
What a game! The Greek God of Sniping!
Well done province, great game, better on the day and deserved their victory. For us Sharks, thats the way the boerie bends, but proud of the boys. This sharks side will grow, learn and become better.
27 Oct 2012, 18:49 pm
Ek is so vokken trots op die manne.skote petoors!
Hey Skoppie, the Greek came through
@mikeybrass-245:
Quite honestly, I didn’t think our youngsters could do it either. Poor JdeV, not being there after so long.
@kaksioek-251: Give them their dues and take the medicine like a man. It’s a 11 years constipation that has to be released now. And we’ve given them their share of grief. Its their chance now – and well done WP for giving your fans something – finally !
Lambie played fantastic today…his pack disappeared, however.
Lambie should be Bok flyhalf, in my opinion…
27 Oct 2012, 18:50 pm
I HAVE WAITED ELEVEN FARKEN YEARS FOR THIS…BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
WP JOU LEKKER DING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Brendope-267: SA rugby is in good hands with the Sharks and WP. Ref aside, who was disgusting, there was great promise shown by both sides.
Sharks and WP will be our dominant sides for the next couple of years.
When the going got tough, Lambie didn’t get going…
BOOM Sharks supports have left the building
Ohhhhhhhh yeeeeeaaaaaah!
No more No Cups Coetzee jokes!
Great game, Currie Cup still has the magic!
@phil72-264: He looked very good today. He must just put a few of those performances together in a row and he will be here. From Varsity Cup two years or so ago to Springbok. Imagine !
27 Oct 2012, 18:51 pm
No more farken kak empty cabinet jokes!
WP FOR LIFE!!!!!!!
The Greek made Skop look silly. Bitter-sweet win for him.
11 Years. Now that “when has WP last won a trophy “line is farken right outta here . What a performance.
All afternoon I was saying that Pietersen was not built for tight games and always took the wrong decision although I take my hat off to him for that take and he kicked a long range kick. Well done.
27 Oct 2012, 18:52 pm
@CoachPete-276: Nope.
@WP-Forever-266:
Yeah I see that
Gongrats WP! Take a bow Etzebeth, Fourie and Catrakilis
11 years of heart ache now for the super 15 prooooooovince!
WOW WOW WOW…!!
And a massive ***AIR PUNCH***…!!!
Congratulations Western Province…!!
Very very very proud of the way the team played tonight and through a very difficult season and year!!
Commiserations to all the Sharks fans… Charo, Puma, Ranger, SharksGirl, Ryecatcher, Mr Black, SharksLover and everyone else.… your team has been the best of the season and the one to beat all season… and Province finally put one over the Sharks today…!!
Well done again Province players…
And awesome job to Allister, Jacque, Matthew and Robbie…
Heaven’s Game: “Who’se Your Daddy?”
BOOM
@Dusky-271: Ja, no, well, fine.
27 Oct 2012, 18:53 pm
Cracker game of rugby. Truly awesome final.
Congrats Province, enjoy the win. Its an amazing feeling when u win this thing after such a long time. Believe me.
WP jou lekka ding
Enjoy this loss Sharks fans, the ref kept you in the game
@wp_boytjie-281: Feels good ey ?
Sharks fans know….
“the rain is certainly coming down raining on the sharks parade” – joel stranky
@kaksioek-251:
Listening to the Sharkies, it’s been unbearable for the last week. As they say, “Hope makes a poor supper, but a good breakfast”!
Ja. Keegan. Thank Peyper. He worked hard.
Heavens game just went Jehova.
yes revenge is sweet we didn’t forget the super 15 semi
Rugby was the winner today. Either side could have won it but wow, Province, what a performance! What a high-intensity match in difficult conditions! Great advert for SA Rugby.
You beat us 4times in a row you serial Finals Chokers,WE HAD THE LAST LAUGH!!!!!!!!!!!WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE PEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
WP jou lekka Ding!!!Haaaa haaaaa haaaaaaaaa
WP WP WP WP WP WP
27 Oct 2012, 18:54 pm
@ufo-287: yooo hooo
Ok – I am out of here. Let the record show I did hang around a bit…..:-) Enjoy boys. Again – congrats WP !
@mxhosa-275: Outplayed by the young greek…
27 Oct 2012, 18:55 pm
@Dusky-283:
I was kidding I like many of you Sharks fans to be honest
@kaksioek-280:
ag, skop will say he was using ‘reverse psychology’ on him
Howzit UFO
@CoachPete-303: Enjoy it buddy. Don’t drink and drive. Ok – really…going now
27 Oct 2012, 18:56 pm
@Transformation-300:
Howdy… could not ignore such a great result…!!
sheesh… very exciting… very cool…
at LAST….!!!
27 Oct 2012, 18:56 pm
beyond proud……absolutely beautiful
boom
27 Oct 2012, 18:57 pm
@Dawn-305:
Howdy Dawn…
How you been…?
Great result for us long-time supporters hey…!?
I can’t believe a severely depleted WP team beat a Bok laden Sharks team at KP with Peyper intent on handing the Sharks the trophy
@grant10-308:
Now you can come back here a bit.
27 Oct 2012, 18:58 pm
party time
boom
WP WP WP WP WP WP WP WP WP WP WP
11 years die Currie Cup kom Weer!!!!
WP jou lekker ding
@David-270: I had a quiet feeling.
WP jou lekker ding!!!!!!
@Dusky-306:
its very early here and Our SF giants have still to play at Detroit
Go Giants
27 Oct 2012, 18:59 pm
Just love these guys celebrating in Kings Park. Heavens Game must be frothing at the mouth.
27 Oct 2012, 18:59 pm
@Ashraf Ismail-313:
feelin’ lekker hey…??
27 Oct 2012, 19:00 pm
@W.P-310: I enjoyed how WP played with a controlled attacking mindset without compromising their defence.
As much as I like JdV, I just feel his time has come and gone after this year.
commisserations sharks…awesome game…could of gone either way.
Brigadier Van Zyl….wat se jy nou oor JDJ?
@rossoneri-316:
I dont think we will see him here for about a week
@rossoneri-316: Did you see the little Sharks fan weeping in his dad’s arms? A HG flashback
27 Oct 2012, 19:01 pm
Truly amazing, so proud of the boyz, beating a Sharks team packed with stars! Etsebeth was immense!
27 Oct 2012, 19:02 pm
His banshee is moering him with a wooden spoon
@grant10-319: The Greek surprised me. He started off shockingly and pulled it together. It was like he played off JdJ’s confidence, especially after JdJ and Eben single-handedly dragged Province back into the match.
Groom was outstanding at scrumhalf. Please, no more Duvenhage unless off the bench. Please please please.
Somebody forgot to give this young WP side the script!
What a cracker of a final!
27 Oct 2012, 19:03 pm
Eben, JDJ, *****!!!!!!, I’m going insane!!!!!!
@mikeybrass-324:
Dmitri “The Greek God of Sniping” Catrakilis.
@ufo-317: Hey fella, sweet, aint it???
27 Oct 2012, 19:04 pm
Great game, well done Province. The ref was really with the home team today but Province were determined to win. Well done!!! It has been a long wait
It feels good na-na-na-na! So good! So good! So good!
The Cup has found its way home to the Mother
27 Oct 2012, 19:05 pm
Boom!
@WP-Forever-327: That left-footed drop goal took nerve!
WP team of the year
Eben player of the year by a great margin
Toetie coach of the year
Deon Fourie fetcher of the year
Peyper kakkest ref of the year
Did I leave anything out???
@stormersboy-328:
Howdy Bud…
Words are inadequate right now…!!
Yeah… very sweet…
So proud…!!
Been a LOOOOONNNG time a-coming…!!
Allastair Coetzee, now you know , never, never , never never, never, never, never,never allow Duvenhage anywhere near a WP or Stormers jersey, we have been telling you since 2010…….
27 Oct 2012, 19:06 pm
WP/Stormers, the SA Side of the Year 2012.
Sniping not Shipping?
Greeks own ships
PROOOOOOVVVVVIIIIIINCE…..
PRRRRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEEE…………………..
Sharks only allowed to play first 20 mins of each half. WP played exactly the right game. The Greek, Etzebeth, JDJ and Fourie were huge. As a Sharks supporters I must take my hat off to the guys.
27 Oct 2012, 19:07 pm
Well done WP, you were the better team. You guys kill at the line out and the scrum wasnt to bad whn it mattered.
Thank you Sharks for a awesome season. Sharks forever
JdJ showed Meyer what a centre is supposed to do!!! Still haven’t gotten over the whole JJ over JdJ in an extended squad. Here is a thought, it seems Meyer not picking a player for the boks seems to do wonders for the player in other matches. Lambie played well today but alas he is but one man.
I am so happy so happy for Province. Great and measured rugby performance. The Sharks won before the game started. They have really been brought down to earth.
That hand off on Daniel? It mwill haunt for the rest of his life!!
@XhosaKid-336: Groom for Stormers scrummy… Surely.
Schreuder strikes me as too tall for a scrummy. Think he should concentrate on flyhalf.
Great win by a young team. WP should be in the final a few more times in the coming years
Hoogmoed kom voor die val, of hoe, Heavens Game????
27 Oct 2012, 19:08 pm
If the EOYT doesn´t consist of a combo of the Sharks and WP then Meyer is a bigger moron than I already think he is.
And to think we had to travel away for the semi against the holders and then fly east again for the final.
@Dawn-338:
Hi Dawn Have another Whiskey
27 Oct 2012, 19:09 pm
So many here laughed when Fleckie said they believe they had the formula to beat the Sharks.
HG is drowning his sorrows in the tank.
What great talent we have in this country…if only the coaches will recognise it and allow them to develop…
In youngsters like Etzebeth and Lambie the Springboks have a FANTASTIC future…
Lambie to be Bok flyhalf and Etzebeth to become the greatest Springbok lock ever to play the game…
@umfezi-340: Said like a rugby man, the players you listed made the difference. JdJ try gave province the belief they could win
If JdJ isn’t in the tour squad……
27 Oct 2012, 19:10 pm
@digger-342:
The problem with HM is he cant look past a player who is shorter or smaller
He cant see their skills or value to a team
He is the same with Daniels
I´m outta here. Have some sorrows to drown. Enjoy your celebrations Weepees! Until next year…
@Transformation-300:
Yhu! Incedile iProvince iphumelele, besizoba yintoni ngabalandeli be Sharks…
@WP-Forever-351: Eben crunched the Sharks lineout. He is the mix of Victor & Bakkies we have cried out for.
27 Oct 2012, 19:11 pm
Awesome man, awesome. So happy.
27 Oct 2012, 19:12 pm
@CoachPete-354: Sigh, I agree! Pity though Province with a fair number of “midgets” won the day. Fourie, Ntubeni, JdJ, Pieterson and Aplon are all considered midgets yet JdJ’s defence is one of the reasons Province won
Eben showed bresler who is baas
No coach, later.
Western Province 2012 Currie Cup Champions, U/19 Champions and U/21 Runners Up…
Fantastic work, Western Province Rugby Football Union.
Absolutely bloody fantastic.
27 Oct 2012, 19:13 pm
@Transformation-360: Did Bresler play today?
@digger-359: no one gets through JdJ., not for 3 years straight.
This obsession with size is what lets the Boks down.
@Transformation-360: Eben showed everyone who is baas.
For a 20 year old he has a big career waiting.
27 Oct 2012, 19:14 pm
@WP-Forever-362: And only U/21 runners-up ’cause half the team was busy winning the CC
@WP-Forever-362:
Add to that Super 15 South African conference winners and semi-finalists…and it’s been a very, very good year for the WPRFU.
The most successful union in the country this year?
@stormersboy-365: He is a freak. Thank god he is with us.
just have to say… today was our day…
and…
this year was indeed OUR YEAR…!!???
well done WP… enjoy it all my brother and sister WP supporters…
let’s show some dignity and grace in victory too…!!
commiserations once again Sharks and their supporters…
27 Oct 2012, 19:15 pm
@digger-359:
yeah i forgot to add Fourie Would have been a great addition tot he bok bench where apart form playing 2 he can cover flank
and yes Aplon
I keep hearing to skinny under the high ball, but he has so many other skills
@stormersboy-365:
He has the pedigree.
And he is an extremely focused, hard-working young lad.
He will be a legend.
@stormersboy-334:
Yeah. Heavens Game…..?
@mikeybrass-364: Not only can he defend, the boy can STEP! Yes I had to use caps, he was magic today.
@WP-Forever-367: But but but our bubble was meant to have popped in round 1 of the Super, or was it round 7 or 12, I forget
27 Oct 2012, 19:16 pm
@digger-373: Best attacking centre in the land bar none.
Am out guys, going to watch the last bit of sun setting with a satisfied grin and a beer! PROOOVINCE!!!
Wanted to bugger off but just want to say that SA rugby has a great near future ahead. Cheers all. Enjoy your babalaas tomorrow!
@Dawn-361:
Do you watch baseball?
I hope you are a SF giants fan
@Transformation-360:
To think that Bressler was being touted as a Bok. One eyed ex-Rhodies.
27 Oct 2012, 19:17 pm
@digger-376: It’s pouring rain and feeezing over here in Mud Island. Our victory has warmed the cockels
WP, djou lekka ding!
Die Currie Cup kom weer!
@David-372: He doesn’t have the balls, grace or emotional intelligence to deal with this site like a man.
He is the chief reason that the Sharkies on this site will be given a pasting for the near future.
Sharks toothless without Mark Lawrence. He will have to reconsider his retirement.
27 Oct 2012, 19:18 pm
Where was Paul Jordaan today? Heard all week that he should be in the bok touring squad… Didn’t look it today. Craig Burden got his arse handed to him by an u21 hooker.
27 Oct 2012, 19:19 pm
After Fourie performance today, who does AC leave out next year when Burger and Kolisi returns?
@mxhosa-384:
Maybe Fourie should be touring…. as a hooker
@stormersboy-382:
true words
The Province front row – with a average age just north of 20 years old – really did a good job!
27 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
Gareth Duncan, WP were dominating the Beast and the Doc at scrum time by the time the game finished.
27 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
I am happy Kitrakilis is playing for EP next season. I initially thought was not a great buy but, boy, he layed to rest all my reservations today.
27 Oct 2012, 19:21 pm
With Goosen injured and Steyn off form, Lambie has to be picked as the Springbok flyhalf.
I thought I’d have a look at this site to read Heavens Game,Tacitus and the guy with the long name with Western Province in it being good sportsmen. Of course they’re not,so they’ve disappeared.
Well done Province and the Sharks; of individual players – especially Katrakilis,Etsebeth and Lambie.
@RainbowBanana-385: Keep Fourie at 6, Burger and Kolisi to alternate at 7. Duane and Carr for 8. Elstadt lock cover rotation.
27 Oct 2012, 19:22 pm
@CoachPete-386: Fourie showed that dominating a collison doesn’t equate to winning the ball.
27 Oct 2012, 19:23 pm
@mikeybrass-393:
I say put him back at 2 that gives you the extra lose forward at the breakdown winning ball
Heavens Game, where are you?
Rangerman, where are you?
Brokeback se GAT!!!
@mxhosa-384: Scar is coming on in leaps and bounds.
@Peter Mkata-390: He will do well under Alan Solomons.
27 Oct 2012, 19:24 pm
@CoachPete-395: I don’t think his scrummaging is powerful enough for 2. 6 is his real forte.
27 Oct 2012, 19:25 pm
@mikeybrass-393:
I do like the idea of rotating You could always have him fill in at 6 a few games
27 Oct 2012, 19:26 pm
I am so glad for Alister Coezee
What a coach!
And also one of the the biggest gentlemen SA rugby.
Catrakillis pulled it back in the last 20 min his 2 drops sealing the result, but he cost WP at least 12 points, had Schreuder started at 10 WP would have been up by 20 points in first half
Juan de Jongh, Nick Groom, Eben Etsebeth, Duanne Vermeulen and especially Deon Fourie with Joe Pietersen and Scara Ntubeni, Gio Aplon, Don Armand, De Allende, Kitchoff, Malherbe, these the players that won this game and stuffed the overrated guppies back in their sardonic sardine blik
Province gave away at least 3 tries and luckily Catrakillis came good in the end but first half he gave away too much momentum, had Schreuder started at 10 would have been one way traffic from first half. Groom is much better 9 than Schreuder and De Jongh turned the game around. Luckily the team effort translated into a win and thankfully De Jongh, Vermeulen, Etsebeth and Fourie set the platform for Catrakillis and a WP win.
Proooooooooooooooooooooovince!!!!!!!
Deon Fourie to replace Lieb’s in the Bok squad. Craig who?
@Robzim-400: AC is a true servant of SA rugby.
27 Oct 2012, 19:27 pm
Hats off to WP… well deserved victory
To state the obvious: WP was immense in defence, in the lineouts & in fetching prowess. Some WP players (e.g. Deon Fourie/ Juan dJ) may have forced themselves into the EOYT.
Re WP:
“And like bright metal on a sullen ground,
My reformation, glittering o’er my fault,
Shall show more goodly and attract more eyes
Than that which hath no foil to set it off.
I’ll so offend, to make offence a skill;
Redeeming time when men think least I will.”
Nothing as sweet as long overdue, unexpected, but well deserved victory… Enjoy!
@mikeybrass-398:
Well with out decent front row he does not need to scrum
How I wish people could comprehend isiXhosa and listen to their commentary. Men thos ecommentators are hillareous. The things they say about the players and Meyer the coach especially is out of this world.
27 Oct 2012, 19:28 pm
Deon Fourie is the WP/Stormers player of the season IMO. This fellow has been farking immense! He would be my reserve openside flank in the Bok team. Pure class!
@mikeybrass-393: I agree! IMO Fourie is a beter no6 then no2. I hope he makes Meyers bok team tomorrow.
@assagai-401: lighten up a bit Skop .
@Robzim-400:
Howzit Rib
Good win At last
@assagai-401: Schreuder had deer in the headlights play for the few minutes he was on. In hindsight, AC made the right choice sticking with Cat on the field once he had decided to field a settled team (with Allende being the surprise, and the right surprise choice).
AC got it right. Take a bow AC.
27 Oct 2012, 19:29 pm
JdJ’s man-handling of KD was a sweet moment.
27 Oct 2012, 19:30 pm
@assagai-401: Schreuder should think of his future as a flyhalf. He is too tall and gangly to be a quick scrummy. Groom is a superior scrummy and kept his cool.
27 Oct 2012, 19:31 pm
JDJ’s “Jammer meneer maar die bus is vol” moment was a personal highlight for me.
This will go down as the choke of all chokes for the Guppies.
PROVINCE……… PROOOVINCE……….DIE CURRIE CUP KOM WEER…
Ja where is that wp with the long name multinic
@CoachPete-411:
Hi Pete, just amazing, i never gave this youngsters much chance today,if they an keep this lot together we can dominate SA rugby for long time. Big party tonight for sure!!
The isiXhosa commentators are so hillarious. How I wish the players and Hannekke the Boks coach in particular could listen to them. Poetry in motion.
27 Oct 2012, 19:33 pm
@Peter Mkata-407: Wish I could. I have a dsylexia when it comes to learning other languages. Bloody strange problem.
@wnbb-413: The Cullen of loosies was nowhere except on the ground. Did you see him towards the end completely and utterly out on his feet with hands on his knees?
Fourie for Bok squad…
27 Oct 2012, 19:33 pm
Etzebeth will become the greatest Bok in the history of SA rugby!!
27 Oct 2012, 19:34 pm
@Robzim-419:
Yeah big party allover CT I am sure
I now have to take off my province T shirt and pu ton Orange and black for our
SF Giants this evening The leave 2-0 in World series
World series ??? they only play against other american teams
27 Oct 2012, 19:34 pm
Sorry “They lead”
27 Oct 2012, 19:35 pm
So so so happy
No Habana , Bekker , Elstadt , Liebenberg , Schalk.
Very pleased for the team and management, so many close games where we came second , finally!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 19:35 pm
@Robzim-419: AC did right by turning down M eyer and sticking with WP. We need strong provincial teams feeding through to the Bok squad.
27 Oct 2012, 19:36 pm
@wp_boytjie-425: Now the youngsters know how not just to win close matches and come top but to win the knockouts too.
27 Oct 2012, 19:37 pm
@CoachPete-423:
The Giants should beat the Tigers. Bumgarner pitched so well the last game!
27 Oct 2012, 19:37 pm
if jdj’s not the starting bok 13 dan weet ek nie…
27 Oct 2012, 19:38 pm
I knew it was going to end this way, all those Guppie Boks (and SHOULD be Boks) really smashed us.
There was just no way.
I couldn’t bear to watch the massacre…I wept for my U/20 kids. I howled for the WP fellas having to face Bresler, Burden, Reinach and co.
When Bryan went off, I knew it was over
So I’m just a little confused as to why I see the fatfcuk spermwhale Vermeulen holding the Currie Cup?
‘n Sakkie droe bokkoms en a sa-moo-sa…….
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM! Guppies sh y te just got real
I’m just trying to decide whether SARU’s “Player of the Year – as voted by Guppies – Keegan Daniel, spent so much time on his a s s ?”
Commisserations to my friends amongst the Sharks.
Utterly evil grins, air punches and mormon ^5′s for the others.
27 Oct 2012, 19:39 pm
Jislaaik but there is some young talent coming through.
Eben Etzebeth, Marcell Coetzee, Pat Lambie, Siya Kolisi…Bok rugby looks bright.
@CoachPete-423:
Just enjoy it as well… it’s good that u are embracing the american lifestyle as well, it always pisses me off when people go and live in another country and then only badmouth their new home – what are the americans saying about Lance Armstrong, or is it not really big news there (cycling being a cinderella sport over there) ?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-430:
HAHAHAHA, **** JUST GOT REAL!
FARKING BOOOOOOM!
@WP-Forever-428:
Yeah Plus they beat Verlander in game who is the games best pitcher
I would like to see more production out of 5-9 in the line up
we cant rely on top 4 the whole series
27 Oct 2012, 19:40 pm
@assagai-401:
dont be a doos,skop.
the wp fh shut you and the sharks up nicely.
give him his dues.
@stormersboy-415:
27 Oct 2012, 19:40 pm
@mikeybrass-427:
2 years ago Scarra , Etzebeth , Malherbe , Kolisi , Elstadt and maybe some names i forgot won the u21 final.
Wonderful to see how they have taken it a step further.
27 Oct 2012, 19:41 pm
They’re going hungry tonight, no bread made from WP “bone meal” tonight…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-430: Haha go get ‘em lass!
Dis n WP ding,n lekka lekka WP ding!!!When the Sharks shot into a nine point lead I feared for the worst,but that great team spirit of the boys refused to accept defeat.
@stormersboy-415: I only stopped laughing when a friend smacked me hard between the shoulder blades…….
I dont ever visit this site on weekends, but tonights special.
HeavensGame – You absolute and total moron. You are an absolute disgrace to all Sharks supporters and I love how much you are hurting now.
To all real Sharks supporters, hard luck. WP/Stormers fans know what it feels like to fail at the final hurdle!
To WP
Well done indeed. Against all odds, you showed what you can do!
Enjoy the victory, and good luck for next year!
Lastly, well done Mr Coetzee and Co. Take a bow!
Champions!
@Robzim-432:
Actually they are shocked Most cant believe it right now.
But it seems he had US and World cycling dupped for so long
Yes I think he cheated for many years and his doctors just made sure he was not caught
27 Oct 2012, 19:42 pm
Take nothing away from Allister , but John Dobson’s work with the youngsters has clearly had a very positive impact.
27 Oct 2012, 19:43 pm
Yeah, i feel so sorry for the jonny come latelies, they came so close only to choke again against an “under 20 side’ – the bruddas must be devestated now, could not have happened to a nicer bunch.
@Robzim-432:
yeah thanks i agree I like football and baseball but as you know rugby is my passion and I am a die hard WEEE PEE, Stormers and Bok supporter
@CoachPete-442:
It appears to have been the most systematic, sophisticated and well-orchestrated doping (and duping) program ever instituted in sport.
They should nail this guy to the posts. Jail time. He committed perjury.
27 Oct 2012, 19:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-440: @Robzim-444:
I’m really going to miss the Sharks supporters on the blog.
Who are we going to play with now?
27 Oct 2012, 19:46 pm
@Stawm-441: 100% well put.
27 Oct 2012, 19:46 pm
wel gedaan aan jou span se fantastiese oorwinning en aan al die trotse wp ondersteuners wie by hulle span bygestaan het deur al die swaar tye.
enjoy the BOOMS!
27 Oct 2012, 19:47 pm
@WP-Forever-446:
yeah I have to agree with you
I dont think he will I think he is going to lose a lot financially (endorsments etc)
So Buddha Thelo was the lucky charm after all….
@Robzim-444: Agreed, with a few exceptions
@WP-forever-409:
Not to mentioned Arno Botha, PSDT, Paul Jordaan, the Province front row…
27 Oct 2012, 19:48 pm
@WP-Forever-446:
But remember what the other cyclist are saying most of them cheated during the Tour de France so he was the winner out of all the cheaters
27 Oct 2012, 19:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-430: As promised welll done to your team.
Good win.
En joy
27 Oct 2012, 19:49 pm
@WP-Forever-447: @Robzim-444: I’m going to join that other site. Just to gloat….. I’ll enter with a “Hiyas Bro – hifuckingfive”.
And leave with a BOOM.
Honestly 3 Finals – 3 Chokes? Dearestgangnamitsalmostwristslittingtime. Hiyas ‘choker tag’ – hifucking5.
27 Oct 2012, 19:50 pm
Where is Heavens Rubbish
@ryecatcher-455: Thank you kind sir
Commisserations to you and your team. It was a great game though. Great advertisement for SA rugby.
@WP-Forever-351: Well sad
27 Oct 2012, 19:51 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-449: BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM Bakkies BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM.
27 Oct 2012, 19:52 pm
Lambie was good , did enough to start as bok flyhalf Heyneke can’t have any excuses now
27 Oct 2012, 19:53 pm
@Peter Mkatha-420:
Umbona njani lamfana weKings uyi prop, ungene njelalela phezolo?
27 Oct 2012, 19:54 pm
Well done Province deserved win, Etzebeth flippin phenomenal, the Sharks looked nervous to me. Province supporters every right to gloat, enjoy
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-449:
tye = tuie
fok my afrikaans is vrot
Ok Guys outa here
Cheers all enjoy the evening
WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
boom
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-460:
27 Oct 2012, 19:55 pm
@ufo-287: Welocome back.Have missed you
27 Oct 2012, 19:56 pm
@stormersboy-452:
There are some gracious shark supporters for sure.
Eben came a long way since u sent me the pic of him and your dad in law.
Bok , CC winner… and probably some accolades to follow next week when they announce the player of the year … 5 years ago he was a backline player in an age group C team for Tygerberg High and now he is “walking on water”. Amazing ride?
Haveto hope now my Man U can do mea favour tomorrow night.
@ryecatcher-467: I gave UFO your greetings the other day, he asked me to thank you.
Thanks.
27 Oct 2012, 19:57 pm
I think we should invite SL and Puma back to Keo, and if need be raise a kitty for them to come back, so that we can tell them to fark-off, three days before a Super Rugby or CC final.
27 Oct 2012, 19:58 pm
PROOOOOVINCE
Hasn’t sunk in yet.
27 Oct 2012, 19:59 pm
@Robzim-468: Yes indeed it’s been quite something hey?
Scarra had a great game too, so did Kitshoff, the youngsters showing how it is done. Great future ahead!
Looking forward to the ride!
27 Oct 2012, 19:59 pm
@stormersboy-448:
Hell yea!
HeavensGame, ride the hurt.
Think about who you are.
27 Oct 2012, 20:00 pm
@bananaboy-463:
It’s been such a long time since we won a major throphy so please excuse us (as fans) if we are slightly arrogant
Tough luck to the sharks too,it could have gone either way, really.
Also Peyper was utter kak. Still won despite it. With the ****** finally off our back, expect WP/Stormers to clean up in the coming years.
@ryecatcher-467:
Thank you Rye…
Got the message from Stormersboy…
Couldn’t ignore the first time WP or the Stormers have won since before thi site was created… This is the first time we can say our team did the biz…!!
Commiserations to you and your team… am very happy for Lambie that he has demonstrated with dignity why his bench-warming for the Boks was a travesty…
The best flyhalf in SA by a country mile IMO…
@stormersboy-470:
And thank you Bud…!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:01 pm
Why is m*nkey edited? This site’s regulations are a joke.
27 Oct 2012, 20:01 pm
@WP-Forever-272: Grac ious commentent
27 Oct 2012, 20:02 pm
@bananaboy-463: Thanks and well played!
Its a pity teams have morons like HeavensGame and Skopkiet as fans to fuel so much hatred etc ont his site.!
Hurt HeavensGame. I love it!
27 Oct 2012, 20:02 pm
@Stawm-474: Check my post 382.
27 Oct 2012, 20:03 pm
@mxhosa-275: kak
27 Oct 2012, 20:03 pm
What must hurt the haters the most: ‘Brokeback Harris’ is as we speak enjoying a beer out of the Currie Cup itself…….And then he will pass it to ‘Fatfcuk spermwhale Vermeulen’, who will then had it over to ‘Ginger’ Kitshoff, who after taking 5 slugs will throw it to Malherbe ‘the kakkest prop in SA’, who after 3 sluks, tosses it to ‘whothefuckisthat’ de Allende
Oh the joys …..
27 Oct 2012, 20:04 pm
@ufo-477: Anytime, going to collect on that beer soon!
27 Oct 2012, 20:04 pm
@Robzim-475: if Skoppie remembers i told him at the beginning of last season that Province have the potential to dominate but they lost some good players, Sadie, JJ, Schalk,Kolisi, Flouw for this CC season. They’ve got a good thing going but are afraid to lose and that stumps their attacking creativity in my opnion, focus has been too much on defence. They’ll get there though.
27 Oct 2012, 20:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-483: And this whilst the Christian Cullen of loosies drinks Oros out of a recycled plastic bottle…..
@ufo-287: Well said UFO.
No triumphalism>Well p[l;ayed WE.P.
Come on guys, no one likes a bad loser, and a bad winner is even worse..
27 Oct 2012, 20:07 pm
@stormersboy-473:
yeah… the youngsters put up their hands… i like Scarra… little pocket battle tank… puts in a helluva lot of work and tackles…
But so many really really good young players… we must just hang onto them now…!!
Eben must get young player of the year…
Bryan to get Player of the YEar for equalling the try-scroing record of the great Christian Cullen in a Tri(Quad)Nations season…
Aliister for coach of the year surely…!! is by far the most consistent coach…
27 Oct 2012, 20:07 pm
As a ex matie,is this team not similar to the ikey team that won varsity cup.demetri and eben played a big role in both.Point is those two showed that they have it to win on big stage as on paper maties always beats ikeys.Lekker province
27 Oct 2012, 20:08 pm
aahhhhh fkit….PPPPPPPPPPRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrroooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnncccccccccccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Die Currie Cup kom weer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:08 pm
@stormersboy-484:
seriously must do.. this week will be a good one… can celebrate a little result of the local team we support..!
@ryecatcher-487:
Thanks Rye..!
27 Oct 2012, 20:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-486: *collapsed laughing* Oros? Bwawawawawawawawawawawawa
Nice one boet!
@ufo-489: Yes, with WP getting team of the year.
The cupboard isn’t bare anymore!
Hope this gives them the confidence to kick on and go better in the Super Comp next year.
Now that I have had a few minutes to calm down I would just like to say the following:
I have always been taught to be humble in victory and gracious in defeat.
Firstly congratulations to my beloved Province. It has been a long lean period but today was all worthwhile. To the Sharks, you guys were not embarassed but beaten by a team that actually believed they could win even though very few gave them hope. Sport is played on the day and not on sites or the media. Take a bow Province….
I’m so happy…
27 Oct 2012, 20:11 pm
@Golden Boy-488: After the abuse round here, I am going to be the WORST type of Brokeback scum winner there is…..for a while at least
@ufo-492: Yeah I’ll try and make a plan!
@Golden Boy-491: Thata boy!
@ufo-287: Gracious post.
To all my mates here… Man I’m a proud boy tonight. Taken abuse and written off…
Province………………… jou blerrie lekka ding…
27 Oct 2012, 20:12 pm
@stormersboy-494:
absolutely…!!
@stormersboy-497:
let me know… will def be there…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-483: Oh man, coughing fit! Shame on you
@Gumboots-495: Feels good hey?
Pat who????????
Keegan who????????
We beat a 16 msn dharks team tonight. Peyper tried it all. Missing knocks. Calling knocks. Pathetic. Even giving Jannie two chances!!!!!!???????
Fact is if pat did what iur greek dud sll shark on earth wiuld be calling bok callup!!!!
Well dine province. Our b team beat their a team today!!!!!! Provinnnnnceeeeeee!!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:13 pm
No HG, no Tackler… Ah bliss reigns supreme.
@ufo-492:
Hey boet! Welcome home mate, welcome home… You are one of the most knowledgeable and humble guys around…@stormersboy-497: Boet dit is lekka innie kaap…
@Gumboots-495: Sheez I guess I am going to have to be the ‘worst type of winner’ on behalf of everyone
(Must be honest though, the gloating is only for a few Sharkies…..and they certainly ARE AWARE of who they are…..)
27 Oct 2012, 20:14 pm
@stormersboy-503:
Boet it is great… We brought our ******* to KP and left them there…
Hehehehe
Pat who????????
Keegan who????????
We beat a 16 man sharks team tonight. Peyper tried it all. Missing knocks. Calling knocks. Pathetic. Even giving Jannie two chances!!!!!!???????
Fact is if pat did what our greek did all shark on earth would be calling bok callup!!!!
Well dine province. Our b team beat their a team today!!!!!! Provinnnnnceeeeeee!!!!!!!!
@Gumboots-500:
Hey Bill… How you Bud…?
Great result hey…?!
Very proud of our young players… and older players… and coaching staff…
as Robzim said earlier… Allister a true gentleman and deserves this belated success finally… very pleased for the man!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:15 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-507:
We all know you and understand for sure…. It feels great…
I know what you do and I enjoy every minute…
27 Oct 2012, 20:15 pm
Beyond chuffed. Congratulations to Alistair and the boys. Deon. Eben. Dimitri. Everyone. Prrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrovvvvvvvvvvvvvvinccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:16 pm
@Gumboots-506:
Thanks Bill… more than I deserve… but thanks…
27 Oct 2012, 20:17 pm
@ufo-510:
I couldn’t be better. This young team showed years beyond them… They didn’t know anything but win… You are obviously good too…
To my mates at RT. Your team did you proud this year. Nothing to be ashamed of…
27 Oct 2012, 20:17 pm
@ufo-501:
Let me know as well! Would be great to see you again, and finally meet stormersboy in real life!
27 Oct 2012, 20:19 pm
Ja, would like to meet up with you guys too. Will be in CT soon… Work only though
27 Oct 2012, 20:19 pm
How amazing was that left-footed flat-trajectory droppie by the Greek God of Sniping though?
27 Oct 2012, 20:20 pm
We won the double this year.
27 Oct 2012, 20:20 pm
@Gumboots-516:
Your first two drinks are on me, bud!
(After that, all bets are off..
)
27 Oct 2012, 20:21 pm
@WP-Forever-519:
Thanks bud! Ja okey the rest is on me…
27 Oct 2012, 20:22 pm
@WP-Forever-517:
Man I was like did that go over…
27 Oct 2012, 20:22 pm
388.Gumboots said:
22 Oct 2012, 19:38 pm
@Robzim-387:
I like the gloating from the Shark fans. The underdog tag does the world of good. The Sharks believe they are the best, so we will just have to wait and see. Head says Sharks, heart Province. We wouldn’t be fans if we didn’t believe – right?
27 Oct 2012, 20:23 pm
Vodacom Cup Champs,U19 Champs & Currie Cup Champs
WP WP WP WP WWWWWWWWWWWWWWPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP
27 Oct 2012, 20:23 pm
I just watched that Juan de Jongh try again…
Such a lovely move…Catrakilis’s blind pass to the inside, de Jongh makes the break, hands off two Sharks loosies…then a clever little step leaves Mvovo out in the cold…
And…it’s…OVERRRRRRRRRR!
27 Oct 2012, 20:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-522:
27 Oct 2012, 20:25 pm
@WP-Forever-524:
Carel would be proud of that sidestep.
27 Oct 2012, 20:25 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-522:
I honestly feel like I am in the Lord of the Rings right now.
The forces of good have just defeated the dark forces of Sauron…in their own backyard…
…little Hobbits like Gio, Scarra, Fourie, JdJ all called “too small”…
…but they had it where it mattered…their hearts…
…I love a good ending.
27 Oct 2012, 20:26 pm
@WP-Forever-524:
My wife who watched with me was like…. Did you see that? I’m like give me the pvr remote and saw the sheer elegance and class… Superb indivdual try that changed the course of the game…
Fantastic result Province, its been way too long. Sharks are a great team, but it just didn’t happen for them today, bad luck guys. Perhaps your players lost the plot when they couldn’t quite believe what the referee was calling. I know nobody else could!
The Currie cup needs more of a spotlight, its a great competition and its constantly being degraded, give it the respect it deserves….
• 37.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy:
26 Oct 2012, 09:22 am
really want to see the wpian scrum getting a look at its own ahswhole.
the red head kid will be smirking with brown stains on his cheeks.
• 45.Tacitus:
26 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
How many final losses will this now be for WP/the Stormers?
Allistair gonna have to haul out his “It’s gut wrenching but I will never give up” speech again.
Or maybe the one where he says: “The Bulls also lost a number of play offs before winning the Super 14 3 times.”
Allistair’s got losing final speeches mastered by now. I’m just glad that our Bok captain won’t be there to have to suffer the indignity of yet another losing captain speech after a crunch game. He deserves better than that.
• 49.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy:
26 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
keegan daniel will bamboozle duane all night long.
like a thoroughbred vs a gluehorse.
• 50.Heavens Game:
26 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
Schönes Fräulein, lust auf mehr
Blitzkrieg mit dem Fleischgewehr
Schnaps im Kopf, du holde Braut
Steck Bratwurst in dein Sauerkraut!
27 Oct 2012, 20:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-530:
missed out on my multibet with this one. and so happy i did. awesome result province. the drought is broken, lets hope this is the start of a flood. 2 out of 3 with the u19′s too!
@Gumboots-514:
cool… enjoy…!!
@WP-Forever-515:
will do… would be cool to catch up…
perhaps we should try and get more of us together and celebrate our champion team for the first time since we all met…!!??
Yeah Bill… let us know next time you’re in town…
(the site suddenly seems to have ground to a halt…???)
27 Oct 2012, 20:29 pm
@Gumboots-528:
You missed the try in real time?
My condolences.
I saw it in real time and it was AWESOME!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:29 pm
Condolences to the sharks fans. I know howbub feel so I won’t rub it in. Awesome result and performance by a very young WP team. I do feel peyper was really pathetic as it was a final. Some obvious mistakes that could have cost us dearly. At the end of the day though the character of the team showed. Really happy tonight.
27 Oct 2012, 20:30 pm
@WP-Forever-524: I’ve watched it 12 times already
I’m undecided as to which is more beautiful. Juan’s Gangnam moves, or the desolate figure of K-Dwg Daniel flat on his butt in the background?
27 Oct 2012, 20:30 pm
@WP-Forever-534:
I was getting a beer…
I was like hyper… HD/AD… I was in panic mode… LOL
27 Oct 2012, 20:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-458: Abs olutely.Deon Fourie and Eben magnifecent gasmes.
Almost mastered thye mouse tonight.Enjoy the win.
27 Oct 2012, 20:31 pm
@ufo-533:
Boet, it’s been a long eleven years…and like you say, none of us have tasted success as supporters from when this blog started…let’s get the whole bloody fandamily out there, Ig, Dawn (unless she’s still a Bulls supporter), stormersboy, Slappes, Gumboots, sondebok et al…
27 Oct 2012, 20:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-536:
Stormersboy put it best…that split second when the frame is frozen with the subtitle, “Jammer, meneer, maar hierdie bus is vol!”
27 Oct 2012, 20:33 pm
@Gumboots-537:
Over and out. CC Champs fan off to celebrate her team WINNER style for the 1st time in wellllllll, many years.
WP JOU LEKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKER DING.
Be safe all.
@WP-Forever-539:
Ja celebrate good times come on…
Read the songs posted on RT… A few are applicable tonight
27 Oct 2012, 20:34 pm
@stormersboy-470: Txs again He is one of the better guys here
@WP-Forever-539:
Sounds good to be boet…
Count me in…!!
@mikeybrass-498:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-496:
EXACTLY!!! For one night at least we have to live up to our reputation!!
Is that the biggest choke in a Final?? :-p
@ufo-541:
I couldn’t sit still mate… I was like turning my head from the tv, going to the loo… I missed half the game… Must watch the replay with a bottle of my best red wine tomorrow…
But now I share the joy with my mates and gals…
27 Oct 2012, 20:35 pm
Am I not invited to shindig!
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-536: The Cullen moved so fast he was never seen except in the rear-view mirror.
@sparticus-535:
Agreed, my condolences to the (true) Sharks fans. It has, however, been very tough to be a WP supporter over the last eleven years in general, and on this rugby blog for the last seven years.
Trust me, Sharks fans, we WP supporters know the pain you are feeling now. We have felt it many a time.
What we have not felt recently is the elation of victory, which has been so elusive for so long. Please allow us our moment of celebration.
And know that we have immense respect for the Sharks, a truly great team in the last decade…
@HongKongSlong-529:
re you tslking about all those missed knock onns fro peyeper for sharks!?????”I mean they could knock on two or three times befiore he called it!
Joe did not knock that ball also! He was playing the crowd and will cry with them come review time! He was bad and we bet him and sharks by mile! Score is flattering to sharks!
27 Oct 2012, 20:36 pm
HG should have been back by now. Come on out HG, the floor is yours. Repeat after me…
“Congratulations WP. You are the better side.”
27 Oct 2012, 20:37 pm
@Dawn-548:
Are you not a Bulls supporter now, Dawnie?
27 Oct 2012, 20:37 pm
@WP-Forever-550:
I second that…
27 Oct 2012, 20:38 pm
@mikeybrass-552:
I actually enjoy Heavens Game…I must admit…I imagine an evening of beers with him must be hilarious…
@Gumboots-547:
cool… it’s great that we can enjoy this with all our long-suffering brother and sister supporters…
@mikeybrass-241:
I was only trying to be gracious mikey
After all we ARE THE CURRIE CUP CHAMPIONS!!! The traditional power of South Africa showed the upstarts what real champions are made of
And the best thing is that no one can say the ref handed us the final, the poor buggers were played off the park by the youngsters
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! or Brokeback style PPPppppffffffffffttttttttttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:39 pm
I have almost as big a smile now, as the bonus Thelo Wakefield will be getting…
I don’t want to…but I have to say it.
I TOLD YOU.
WEEPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
@WP-Forever-555: @WP-Forever-555:
Ja! He can be so funny… He never knows when to stop… He irks people though…
27 Oct 2012, 20:40 pm
Can you believe it, a bunch of bogsnuiter brokeback bergbokkies burgled the Currie Cup against all odds.
27 Oct 2012, 20:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-496: I think that I will just go and cower in the corner.
Celebrate with goodwine.Welldone
27 Oct 2012, 20:41 pm
Atreides must come too
We need new faces
Altho WP Forever seems new
@ufo-556:
Flip we have come a long way…I used to get so frustrated as we got so close but no champagne…
Remember the sayings…. Province supporters always saying this is their year… Thank goodness for 2012
@nama1-559:
Ek hoop jy verf vanaand vir Steinkopf rooi!
Vir ons ware WP-ondersteuners wat al sedert elf jaar vandag wag vir ‘n Curriebeker-kampioenskap…uiteindelik! En dit is wragtig soeter as wat ek gedink het dit sal wees.
505.nama1: Reply to this comment
{27 Oct 2012, 09:25 am
@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-499:
Last day on the site with this nic, I guess.
Just about 9 & 1/2 more hours and you’ll change it or disappear from this site.
GO WEEPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!}
Did this poepol show his face yet?????
27 Oct 2012, 20:42 pm
@Dawn-563:
Listen, Famous Grouse, this is WP Till I Die.
You know this.
@WP-Forever-555: I can think of more productive ways to spend my time, including an acid bath.
@ryecatcher-562:
Do we know the feeling…. 11 years of that…
27 Oct 2012, 20:43 pm
{508.Hondo: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 09:53 am
Stormers haven’t signed Jantjies yet, it took Real Madrid only two weeks to sign Ronaldo for $150 Millions in comparison
)}
Playing on a low muddy pitch JP might get a chance to catch Habana and beat him up a little, Aplon will need all the protection he could get from Peiper under the high ball if Lambie will manage to range it outside the 22nd line.
Players to watch:
Peiper, chief scoundrel (watched Joubert yesterday?
Come now Kondo, tell us about Peyper and his WP allegiance.
27 Oct 2012, 20:43 pm
@Hoops-551: I was actually joking mate, The ref had a complete shocker, but still Province won. You are right, the score flattered the sharks in the end they were only in with a shout because of a multitude of awful calls in their favour.
Province, best team on the day by a mile!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:44 pm
Once more… Congrats to WP, AC and us supporters…
Chin up to the Sharks and theirs…
Great to catch up guys…
Enjoy and take care…
Outta here…
Tetchy.
{ 510.nama1: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
Match ups to look forward to:
Jannie vs Kitshoff
Bresler vs Etzebeth
Keegan vs Vermeulen
Reinach vs Groom
Jordaan vs De Jongh
JPP vs Habana
Mmmm………….liplekker!!!}
Which one did we lose?
Has Meyer “warmed up” to Catrakilis yet?
27 Oct 2012, 20:45 pm
One thing you cannot say about Province supporters and that is they always appear when their team wins or loses…
27 Oct 2012, 20:45 pm
{512.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
Nama moenie so kwaai wees nie.
Jou span het n 20 percent kans om n trophie vir julle te wen.}
Bwahahahaha……………………………………………
27 Oct 2012, 20:46 pm
Look I knew we could and should win this thing..all and everyone was shouting it out that Sharks got WP’s number and Sharks were automatic victors.. even 2 nights ago they were comparing team sheets and the sharkshit wannabe pretender kenners were touting that WP only had ONE player better than Sharks in a head on comparison the entire team sheet.. being Etsebeth at no.4.. EVERY other Sharks player was in their holy estimation superior to every other WP player bar none…with the home town advantage as well as a ref who did his utmost to spoil WP opportunity and hand Lambie more ammo to clinch his Springbok FH berth.. WP STILL came out trumps..
My one and only reservation before kick off was playing Catrakillis at 10 which showed in the first 45 minutes how much we were missing when he handed Sharks 3 opportunities to steal our momentum and get points for free.
He came good in the end because the WP team led by stalwarts of immense stature in Fourie, Etsebeth and Vermeulen stuffed those overrated Sharkbok poeftas straight back into their overrated sardine tin..
Fourie, Etsebeth, Vermeulen, Groom and De Jongh, with Armand, De Allende, Joe Pietersen and Aplon destroyed the much fancied vaunted ‘superior’ Sharks..
They are the ones who handed Catrakillis the opportunity and belief to escape out of his shell and put over a couple of magic drops to seal the deal.. but it was Fourie and De Jongh who led the fight back and drilled the Sharks into the turf.. if Fourie is not made a Bok and JdJ automatic choice for Bok 12 or 13 on tonight and the entire seasons showing then Heyneke Meyer is a bigger doos than I ever thought
Had Groom and Schreuder started at half back this Sharks outfit would never have even been in the game.. WP would have drilled them into submission already from first half.. as it turned out the mistake of playing Catrakillis at 10 turned out good in the end,, thanks to the tenacity and belief and leadership and courage of the WP players that led the fight back.. Fourie is the MAIN MAN.. KING of the heap at either open side or hooker in the country by FAR.. with stalwarts Vermeulen, Groom, Etsebeth, De Jongh, Pietersen, Aplon, De Allende, Kitschoff, Malherbe and Armand.
@Gumboots-564:
Yeah… this was Maya year… and Your-a year… and Our-a year…
at Last!!!
Be in touch…
@ufo-572:
Cheers mate…
I must sign out now as the wife says I have shared the moment with my mates….
Long live Keo… and the true supporters…
Cheers boys and gals…
There are a great many of us who have waited a long time for this.
We have suffered endless abuse.
And finally the cycle has ended.
What I ardently hope now is that we, the true WP supporters, we who know what defeat tastes like, what disappointment feels like, what dashed hope hurts like, will know our place.
We must enjoy our victory. We deserve it, we have waited so long.
But let us respect our vanquished foe. Let us be gracious in victory.
And from this day forth let us in one strong voice in unison support the Springboks!
And where is Jockbok FFS
He should be here too
27 Oct 2012, 20:47 pm
{513.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 11:17 am
Lots of wpians in durbs.
They gonna make rain from their ogies later.}
Who’s making the rain now, poepol?
@assagai-577:
You called it mate… Well done…
WP you lekka forking ding
27 Oct 2012, 20:48 pm
I wish I could stay and chat… but I must go…
Speak tomorrow….
Ciao
27 Oct 2012, 20:48 pm
@Golden Boy-557: ROFLMAO
27 Oct 2012, 20:49 pm
@Ig-584:
LOL…Good to see ya again buddy…
@Ig-584:
Dawn is going to lose her self-control…
Stu, we finally did it!
{ 516.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 12:06 pm
This day the 27th October 2012 is the day of the Currie Cup Final…
Where are those doubters…
And scoundrels…
Those who would dare say…
The Currie Cup is irrelevant?
Honest Rugby brothers should say just this…
To those bu.llshitters and blasphemers…
LIAR!!!
For today is nothing more than:
St Crispins Day…
And on this same day long ago was
once heard echoes of these words…
“And the Currie Cup shall ne’er go by,
From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remembered-
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition;
And gentlemen in South Africa now-a-bed
Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Currie Cup day.”
To those who shall shed blood and oppose wills…
Good luck and may your honour be celebrated after…
To those cowardly curs like yours truly…
who shall but watch this bloody spectacle…
And support opposing teams as if our…
worthless lives depend on it…
Best of luck too. May the best team win…
With the ref being as insignificant to the outcome…
As a squashed spider…
SHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARKS FOREVER….
BOOM!!!}
…and what do you know…the best team did win.
BOOM!!! BOOM!!! …and BOOM again!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:50 pm
@Ig-584:
sheesh Ig bud…??
farken smilieys bud…
farken smileys…!!!
Merry Christmas to the Lions coach .
Extra time had crossed my mind especially when the Sharkies were throwing the kitchen sink after the hooter had gone.
27 Oct 2012, 20:51 pm
@WP-Forever-550: Great post
27 Oct 2012, 20:52 pm
Sharks, well and trully stuffed…. Brokeback style, No Vaseline.
27 Oct 2012, 20:52 pm
Oh my God!!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:53 pm
@assagai-577:
“Had Groom and Schreuder started at half back this Sharks outfit would never have even been in the game.. ”
We’ll never know about that. What we do know is that we moered the overrated, oversized fat gat plonkers with a junior WP team.
That’s good enough for me.
27 Oct 2012, 20:53 pm
@Ig-584: there we go from out the woodwork.. nothing like a WP victory to bring out all the real MacKoy support.
@Gumboots-583: I knew it from Monday we were gonna take this thing in spite of everything every other boffin was surmising we had this thing going for us.. and even Peyper tried his hand at pulling for Sharks.. I was concerned about one player only Catrakillis.. and his first 60 minutes was almost like he was playing for Sharks.. in the end he came good… the leadership and tenacity shown by Fourie, Vermeulen, Etsebeth, Kitschoff, Groom, De Jongh, and the work done by Armand, Pietersen, Aplon stabilized his wonky nerves and he pulled it through
27 Oct 2012, 20:54 pm
I just lost my self control!
MY first love is back!
27 Oct 2012, 20:56 pm
@Dawn-595: yip God has materialized on Keo.. how do you fancy that?
27 Oct 2012, 20:56 pm
The Greek deserves credit. he is ice cool. We needed that calmness today.
27 Oct 2012, 20:57 pm
@assagai-577: I agree with everything you said except (now with hindsight, before the game I would have agreed with you) the first sentence of your last paragraph.
What I will say is that Shreuder should concentrate on being a flyhalf.
No man.
Ig.
@Dawn-598:
It is the Second Coming…
Now after all this.
Let me give a heartfelt congratulations to the WP team, their coaching staff and all their patient supporters for this victory tonight.
GROOM be the man.
Etzebeth be the main man.
Allister Toetie Coetzee. YOU are the man.
Thanks WP.
27 Oct 2012, 20:58 pm
I will never, ever, forget Catrakilis’s cool-as-ice, left-footed, flat-trajectory punt of a drop goal…
27 Oct 2012, 20:59 pm
Juan was immense! Not just the try BUT on defense as well!! Etzebeth wow- Legend! And he is only 20 years old! Scarra played very well and Fourie has no equal. Province jou lekke ding!!
27 Oct 2012, 20:59 pm
Now babes repeat after me.
Not “forking”, “******”!!!
27 Oct 2012, 21:00 pm
I imagine Heyneke is scratching his head a bit tonight…
27 Oct 2012, 21:00 pm
Fo k k e n!!!
27 Oct 2012, 21:01 pm
After waiting for 11 years to win the CC i suppose the law of averages had to kick in sometime for wp.Hard luck sharkies on the day you were not good enough.
27 Oct 2012, 21:02 pm
@nama1-596: It was touch and go for far too long.. thankfully it came good in the end and Catrakillis fed off the energy and fight from his leaders and his warriors ahead of him and stuck his head up and played for a win in the end.. he almost handed this game to Sharks from outset … but had Schreuder and Groom started.. Sharks would have been out of contention in the first 20 minutes already we would have turned at half time 3 tries up…
WP had the beating of this Sharks team all ends up. I knew that without much doubt.. only doubt I had was Catrakillis I was afraid he would fold which he was doing till Fourie, De Jongh and Etsebeth showed him how to stand up and stand tall and pull his head out and go for gold… which thankfully he learned how and did in the end.
27 Oct 2012, 21:04 pm
@Dawn-602: I know all about who is God to you on keo.. that why I said god has materialized on Keo tonight.. you really think I’m all that dumb?
27 Oct 2012, 21:05 pm
@Dawn-602: Auto-correct and beer did me in
WP you lekka farking ding
Greetings and salutations.
Farking smilies indeed
27 Oct 2012, 21:05 pm
And now he gone.
27 Oct 2012, 21:06 pm
@Gumboots-569: A good wiinerr
ur
27 Oct 2012, 21:07 pm
Jinne
My night is made
Please come to drinks!
27 Oct 2012, 21:08 pm
Skop no brawling with me pls!
I’m happy!
27 Oct 2012, 21:09 pm
@mikeybrass-601: Yes no question about it.. Groom is by far the superior scrum half and Groom showed tonight he is ten thousand light years ahead of the new Guppyuppie wonderboy Reinach.. and Schreuder should stick at 10.. I say again with conviction had Schreuder started tonight at 10 Sharks would not have been in this game.. WP would have nailed them from the get go and we would have rounded some of those plays in first quarter and scored some tries.. and Lambie would not have had easy kicks at goal from poor defensive kicking and passing from WP no. 10 which gave Sharks turnaround momentum for the first 60 minutes.
27 Oct 2012, 21:10 pm
@WP-Forever-565:
Back under your 1st nic.
WE did it.
Enjoy the victory. I am.
27 Oct 2012, 21:11 pm
In fact I’m doing a gangnam dance
27 Oct 2012, 21:12 pm
WP wanted it more. It was clear to see. The beginning of a legacy. Taute will be awesome with us. We don’t need “hard to get” Jantjies.
27 Oct 2012, 21:13 pm
How great was that try by Juan though hey , and the celebration was almost as kwaai !! Hopa !!! LOL
bl**dy hell WP what is all this mass histeria about? You come across as if you won the world cup all by yourself. Pedigree is a much nicer individual when his team is losing. That said well done to WP for finally popping that cherry that regrown back to a rhinoceros thicness over your years in rugby hell. Province looked hungrier and more motivated througout the match. Jaco Peyper had a shocker and I say this even though I were supporting the Sharks for today.Province should have won much further if it was not for him.That said Wp will allways have the most arrogant and histerical supporters in all the world bar a handfull of truly wise and eceptional rugby bloggers.
@Dawn-617: 7th heaven kinda happy… don’t take much to make you happy.. A WP win and a hello from God and you happy as a girl who just found heaven
27 Oct 2012, 21:14 pm
@assagai-618: Groom and Reinach are both great prospects. Reinach’s speed is great. Groom’s control at the base is outstanding.
27 Oct 2012, 21:15 pm
@jet jungle-623: To be fair that was basically almost our second team that played and with more than half the pack still U21 , an away final and a Ref hell bent of giving the Cup to the opposition it was a great result. , befitting of a WC celebration.
27 Oct 2012, 21:15 pm
He not God he just s nice guy OK
27 Oct 2012, 21:16 pm
I called it earlier in the week as the Shark media hype was just too much. Also nobody gave WP a chance in hell. Prooooooooooooooooooviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiince!!!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 21:17 pm
It would seem that rugby fans should beware the portent of sharks falling from the sky!
303.MaximusLudicrusHumorus:
26 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
An omen for high-flying sharks fans…???
Shark falls from sky onto golf course
2012-10-26 11:05San
Juan Capistrano — Golf club employees in Southern California came to the rescue when a shark dropped out of the sky and flopped around on the 12th tee.
San Juan Hills Golf Club operations director Melissa McCormack says a course marshal found the leopard shark on Monday afternoon and brought it to the clubhouse. It had puncture wounds where it appeared a bird had snagged it from the Pacific Ocean, about 8km away.
They stuck the approximately 1kg shark into fresh water before somebody remembered it came from the sea, so they got some sea salt from the kitchen and mixed it in.
Another employee rushed the shark to the ocean where McCormack says it was very still for a few seconds before twisting around and speeding off.? – AP
See you on the 12th tee.
Felicitations to Western Province, their management and fans.
Sympathy and solace to the Sharks and theirs.
And yes I’m a person of simple needs.
Small things do make me happy.
#623 jet jungle you should realise in the last eleven years wp have only won once the vodacom cup,so today was something new for them,let them enjoy it,asnext year it will be back to normal sweet f##k all.
27 Oct 2012, 21:19 pm
@mikeybrass-625: Groom is superior, far more accurate direct service and control.. Reinach got some gas but still some way to go to catch up to Groom in overall scrumhalf mastery.
Groom and Fourie were the architects of WP success, with Etsebeth and Vermeulen and Armand and even Ntubeni, Kitschoff, Malherbe the workhorses and powerhouse infantry.. De Jongh and De Allende were great and Pietersen, Aplon, Catrakillis was the cherry on the icing.
27 Oct 2012, 21:20 pm
Etzebeth was my man of the match.The Sharks won their first 2 lineouts but then lost 4 or 5 in a row because of him. That was the turning point of the game imo. Anyway well done WP + supporters. Party hard!!
27 Oct 2012, 21:22 pm
Anyhoo back to Bond
Ig don’t be stranger
27 Oct 2012, 21:23 pm
Proud of all our WP supporters. We have taken a lot of stick from some very unsportsmanlike trolls. And well done Sharks players for being great competitors.
27 Oct 2012, 21:23 pm
@Dawn-627: If you say so…@Dawn-630: good for you.. stay happy
@W.P-628: very few called it.. Keohane wouldn’t believe it in a month of Sundays
every sharkshit in town were convinced we were going to get drilled by some margin…
I think maybe you and Nama1 and Jinx2 and myself were perhaps the only few who actually believed we were gonna smack these overrated self emblazoned choking immortals silly.
27 Oct 2012, 21:24 pm
@Peter Mkata-407: Xhosa commentary is out of this world, they tell the truth without being politically correct like the draad-seating English commentary
27 Oct 2012, 21:24 pm
@assagai-611:
Scrheuder5 nearly handed the game to the Sharks in the 81st minute when he couldn’t clean up behind the scrum. Just like he gave away the win against the Sharks in the semi of the S15 by kicking the ball away in the 78th minute while we were trailing by 7 points.
What is your verdict on Groom?
I know you rate DD but I think he is the best scrum half we’ve had since Serfontein.
27 Oct 2012, 21:30 pm
So Province do ‘it’ !!
Well done to the Newlands Boys….
Shame for the Sharkies, hard to be beaten at The Tank, bet the braai fields are a little subdued this evening. Shame, that place rocked and the Sharks fans I met there were very welcoming!!
Still, there is next season!
Lewt me just say this, I feel vokkol for any Shark supporter and if that make me an arrogant or bad winner… I don’t care what you think.
OK…
Puma,…commiserations.
Sharks_Lover… go shark yourself
Heavens Game… go to hell
Rangerman… go hunt a squirrel.
Dusky… the sun has set. Go to sleep.
Mr Black… blog under your original nic.
Skop we had a tough semi vs the Lions. That was the perfect preparation for the final. Got WP out of their comfort zone. I just had a feeling about this one. Zero chance and zero expectation. Just what we needed!
27 Oct 2012, 21:32 pm
15 Jaco Taute
14 JP Pietersen
13 Juan De Jongh
12 Jean de Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Patrick Lambie
9 Ruan Pienaar
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Willem Alberts
6 Francois Louw
5 Juandre Kruger
4 Eben Etzebeth
3 Jannie Du Plessis
2 Adriaan Strauss
1 Tendai Mtawarira
16 Chilliboy Ralepelle
17 Pat Cilliers
18 Flip Van Der Merwe
19 Marcell Coetzee
20 Francois Hougaard
21 Elton Jantjes
22 Gio Aplon
23 Scarra Ntubeni
24 JC Janse Van Rensburg
25 Franco Van Der Merwe
26 Deon Fourie/Dewaldt Potgieter
27 Cobud Reinach
28 Morne Steyn
29 Louis Ludik/Zane Kirchner
30 Raymond Rhule
27 Oct 2012, 21:33 pm
@MaximusLudicrusHumorus-629:
What was the Monty Python’athon yesterday about?
27 Oct 2012, 21:33 pm
@nama1-638: Schreuder is nowhere nearly as efficient and sharp as Groom at scrum half.. he is big and can hammer the advantage line.. he should stick at 10.. the 10 minutes he played last week at 10 actually got us into the final because if Catrakillis had stayed on I think Lions would have won.
First 60 minutes tonight Catrakillis was doing everything possible to hand Sharks a win.. luckily it turned around.. Fourie and De Jongh and Etsebeth and Vermeulen led the turnaround and Plumtree made some stupid replacement decisions and suddenly WP got the upper hand second half.. but we were well on top first 15 minutes every time Catrakillis kicked or passed..(one time straight to JPP) it was advantage Sharks all over again.
Thankfully Plumtree and Fourie and Etsebeth and De Jongh changed the momentum back again..
Coetsee almost blew it by playing Catrakillis at 10.. thank some god of good mercy that it swung around the way it did because one stage it looked to me like Catrakillis had absolutely obliterated all our front foot momentum to hell.
Groom was out of this world brilliant.. he and Fourie and De Jongh should go on Bok EOYT.. no two ways about it.
27 Oct 2012, 21:34 pm
@nama1-638: Best since Bootie Bun Ferreira.
27 Oct 2012, 21:35 pm
Bet you will find Nikita in Joe Cools, dancing with her knickers on her head right now!!
Congrats WP!
I scooped a sizable amount today by getting right both the winner and the margin!
And special thanks for Peyper, what an elegant, classy swindler he is!
No sympathy for the Sharks I am afraid who are guilty of:
1. Letting Peyper doing his cheats unopposed
2. For picking ‘Springbok’ Mvovo
27 Oct 2012, 21:39 pm
@jet jungle-623:
“Pedigree is a much nicer individual when his team is losing.”
HE is a woman.
What are you? A sore loser?
Let us gloat for tonight, OK!!!
@W.P-628:
You know that we did. That’s the most important thing.
WEEPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE………….
@nama1-638:
“but I think he is the best scrum half we’ve had since Serfontein.”
“he” = Groom.
27 Oct 2012, 21:39 pm
I hope this is the start of another WP legacy. I remember – as a kid in the mid 80′s – when that magnificent WP team won 5 cups in a row. Feel like a kid again!
27 Oct 2012, 21:40 pm
@Dawn-609:
Hou op vloek.
27 Oct 2012, 21:42 pm
@W.P-641: yip it was a setup too good to be true.. Sharks were going to implode in spite of all their own self embroiled infatuated mastery.. they proved again they are the chokers of all chokers .. the big mercenary hunters who can’t even buy themselves a proper full scale win.
Vermeulen, Armand and Fourie owned their back 3.. only when Alberts were on did they look dangerous.. Plumtree made big fckups replacing JdP, Beast and Alberts. played straight into our hands.. till then their scrum had us going backward.
Fourie has shown in no uncertain terms he is the best loose to the ball player in the country.. made Daniel and Coetsee look like couple kindergarten graduates..
27 Oct 2012, 21:43 pm
@Robzim-419:
Rob, enjoy your party!
27 Oct 2012, 21:45 pm
@assagai-651:
Skop, tonight you can relax and go to bed happy!!
27 Oct 2012, 21:45 pm
@mikeybrass-645:
No man, Freddie just had some brilliant players around him (Michael, Carel, Villet etc). Paul Lombaard was better than him but unfortunately he moved to N.TVL. Even Francois Bonthuys should’ve played ahead of him.
@Hondo-647:
In who’s favour did Peyper blow again?
27 Oct 2012, 21:46 pm
@carol-643:
‘Twas simply a silly soliloquy to show people on Keo not to take things so sillily.
Seriously.
You must spank her well, and after you are done with her, you may deal with her as you like… and then… spank me.
And me. And me too. And me.
Yes. Yes, you must give us all a good spanking.
On second thought, let’s not go to Camelot. It is a silly place.
27 Oct 2012, 21:47 pm
@assagai-651: Agreed, taking off Beast was a mistake, but Alberts was again inconsistent. He is no Juan Smith. Province were the better team, and now nobody should question De Jongh’s quality! The man is the best option for the book 13 spot.
27 Oct 2012, 21:53 pm
Viva Western Province Viva
Long live long live
May your roads be short, your meals be tasty and your girlfriends be pretty
Viva
Long live
27 Oct 2012, 21:54 pm
@assagai-651:
Wonder how the Coetzee groupies are feeling now after the lesson Fourie gave him tonight.
That was one of the highlights for me.
Only heard Coetzee’s name in the 74th minute.
Did he even play?
27 Oct 2012, 21:56 pm
@W.P-649:
Did you not read what I said during the week?
This is the start bru. We’ll win it for the next 5 years at least.
27 Oct 2012, 21:57 pm
@nama1-658:
Man o man.
2 drop goals.
1 right foot 1 left foot.
And we scored 1 more try than they did.
27 Oct 2012, 22:00 pm
@goodstuff-656:
Alberts is a 25 minute player…in the last 25 minutes of the game…against tired legs.
When are people/coaches going to realize this?
27 Oct 2012, 22:01 pm
@nama1-658: Deon Fourie is HUGE.. he got balls and a heart bigger than any player in this country.. if this dumb f’ng SCHMUCK Heyneke Meyer cannot see it then he is the biggest goddamn doos on the planet.. calling up the likes of Jaques Potgieter, Coetsee en kie.. and avoiding talents like Deon Fourie shows what kind of dumb moronic schmuck he actually is.
Deon Fourie would lift Boks potential by a massive percentage either at hooker or open side.. either / or .. and I would have him as Bok way ahead of any of the hookers Strauss or Liebenberg and way ahead of the other contenders for open side barring Frans Louw perhaps.
27 Oct 2012, 22:01 pm
What aqbout the WP scrum when Brok came on?
Anybody noticed the difference?
27 Oct 2012, 22:02 pm
@nama1-663: Yes Brok is a better TH
27 Oct 2012, 22:06 pm
@assagai-662:
Did you see Scarra stopping the big 120kg Alberts in his tracks on at least 4 occasions?
That little guy CAN play this game. He must’ve been in line for MoM, imo.
Who was MoM?
For me it was between Fourie, Scarra and Etzebeth.
27 Oct 2012, 22:06 pm
648.nama1 said : Very sorry about that me matey, thats vintage WP though talk like men then turn out to be girls. Dont let me spoil your fun though.Your team were great tonight and I do believe Eben will be scarier than Bakkies at his best.Now get out of your virtual prison and go and celebrate in the real world unless you have been grounded. Watch out for those girls that turn out to be boys.
27 Oct 2012, 22:07 pm
@stormersboy-664: To be fair the sharks also subbed half their frontow by then , the scrum before Brock came on we also dominated.
27 Oct 2012, 22:07 pm
@nama1-665: Deon Fourie , Personally I would have gone with Etzebeth but happy with Fourie as well
27 Oct 2012, 22:08 pm
@nama1-654: Bonthuys? No way man. Freddie was the best.
27 Oct 2012, 22:08 pm
@nama1-654: Never liked Bonthuys. The original skop ‘n jag idiot.
27 Oct 2012, 22:09 pm
Just want to say it was a great game. By both teams. Great sportsmanship. Yes there was off the ball stuff. And the ref buggered up a couple of decisions – in fact Peyper didn’t have a good game at all. But then this was Currie Cup final stuff and he was nervous as well.
It is just good to get that m.onkey off the back.
And all those cheap jokes. Because you’ll get them back twice as hard.
@nama1-665: scara , Juan and aplon once again proved its not the size of the man but the size of his heart that counts !!!! Awesome awesome players and at least Juan and Deon deserve Bok callups !! If they not then I dont know so lekka anymore.
@nama1-665: Fourie got MOM and he was the true champion candidate.. the leader of the fight.. .
little Scarra is dynamite.. he outplayed Burden and he is some tough little ball carrier and tackler he takes some stopping in full flight and is not chicken to get stuck in anywhere and any time when it matters..I rated him from first time I saw him.. he always showed huge heart and guts.
27 Oct 2012, 22:10 pm
@nama1-665:
Deon got MOM.
27 Oct 2012, 22:11 pm
@I am a stormer-671: in fact Peyper didn’t have a good game at all
UNDERSTATEMENT of the year !! For a final he was piss poor !! Hope he never reffs a final ever again and I hope he at least apologies for his k@k reffing , nearly cost me a 40 inch flat screen !! Just missed by centimeters lol
27 Oct 2012, 22:11 pm
@jet jungle-666: This year was Province’s year. We have been building steadily and all the jealousy at seeing WP on the rise is justified
27 Oct 2012, 22:12 pm
@assagai-673: And he is probably the best line-out thrower at WP if not the country !
27 Oct 2012, 22:13 pm
@assagai-673: Right on!
@sparticus-675: And me a laptop… with all my university work on it!
27 Oct 2012, 22:13 pm
@sparticus-677: It’s great to have two quality hookers on ours books, well 3 actually but then I rate Fourie a better 6 than 2.
27 Oct 2012, 22:14 pm
@MaximusLudicrusHumorus-655:
Horace
Much to his Mum and Dad’s dismay
Horace ate himself one day
He did’nt stop to say his grace
He just sad down and ate his face
“We can’t have this ” his Dad declared
“If that lad’s ate, he should be shared”
But even as he spoke they saw
Horace eating more and more:
First his legs, then his thighs
His arms, his nose, his hair his eyes…….
“Stop him someone”! Mother cried
“Those eyeballs would be better fired”
But all too late for they were gone,
And he started on his dong…….
Do you recall the rest??
27 Oct 2012, 22:21 pm
@carol-680:
The Haggis poem? Indeed…
“Oh foolish child!” the father mourned
“You could have deep-fried those with prawns,
Some parsely and some tartar sauce…”
But H was on his second course;
His liver and his lights and lung,
His ears, his neck, his chin, his tongue
“To think I raised himn from the cot
And now he’s gone to scoff the lot!”
His mother cried what shall we do?
What’s left won’t even make a stew…”
And as she wept her son was seen
To eat his head his heart his spleen
And there he lay, a boy no more
Just a stomach on the floor…
None the less since it was his
They ate it – and that’s what haggis is…!!!
That’s me done for tonight.
And to you all I bid goodnight.
27 Oct 2012, 22:21 pm
@carol-680:
Don’t be so deep, this is only a rugby site.
PROVINCEEE !!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 22:23 pm
676.mikeybrass said:
Yes Mickey thats true but you did change your game from being utterly boring to actually playing some attractive rugby. All i am saying is put the curry cup win in context. Last year a lot of WP bloggers belittled the Lions their win I thought were amazing for what they’ve been through.Your future look bright( for now)
27 Oct 2012, 22:23 pm
@jet jungle-666:
Nogal snaaks as dit nie so pateties was nie.
Wyk… SATAN
@sparticus-668: @assagai-673: @I am a stormer-674:
Thanks.
Did not watch the after match talks/ceremony because I was answering my phone.
@mikeybrass-669:
freddie was ‘n raasbek, nothing more.
Really not a good SH.
He had a great pass though.
@sparticus-675:
Totally agree with your post. He was absolutely KAK, in capital letters.
———————————————————————————————————–
Just see JdJ’s try again. See that the 1st would be “tackler” who missed him, was Marcell Coetzee.
Oops…
27 Oct 2012, 22:27 pm
@nama1-665:
Well done on picking Province
i was a doubter, to my shame.
@MaximusLudicrusHumorus-681:
Good Grief… Just like that…
Cheers and goodnight
@jet jungle-683:
“Last year a lot of WP bloggers belittled the Lions their win…”
It will be nice if you can name them. Better still, why don’t you copy and paste some of the posts where WP supporters “belittled the Lions their win.”
27 Oct 2012, 22:29 pm
Waar is die kont?: wp. winning nothing never looked so easy
27 Oct 2012, 22:30 pm
@Robzim-682:
Deep, Heheheh your Dylan bloke is the deep one…. when it comes to poems.
On a scale of 1 – 10 how delighted are you this evening?
27 Oct 2012, 22:31 pm
@nama1-663:
@stormersboy-664:
agree with you guys…
many bloggers say they enjoyed the movie Moneyball… but can’t accept Brok has has statistically been the best tighthead in sa superrugby for three years now…
no props consistently totally dominate scrums these days… anywhere in the world… and with an average of 10 scrums per game what should a prop do for the other 70 minutes…?? brok holds his own at scrum time but has the highest workrate for the other 70 minutes… and puts in more tackles per gametime played than any other prop in all three countries superrugby teams… only prop in his league is coenie…
them’s the facts… simple and plain
27 Oct 2012, 22:32 pm
I’ve gotta feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good good night
I’ve gotta feeling (Woohoo) that tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good good night
And so it was.
And still is.
27 Oct 2012, 22:33 pm
@I am a stormer-691:
Are you doing the dance too?
27 Oct 2012, 22:34 pm
@nama1-688:
He’s stuck in the corner sobbing into his Windhoek. How pretty is that!
27 Oct 2012, 22:34 pm
@jet jungle-683: Our game has evolved. Final in 2010. Semis in 2011, semis in 2012 while topping the table and now we take the CC. Onward and upward.
27 Oct 2012, 22:36 pm
@carol-689:
I am on 9.9/10 tonight.
Up Demetri and the Greeks!!
27 Oct 2012, 22:36 pm
@nama1-687: He can’t. Tsk tsk asking such a question when he can’t even get my name right.
27 Oct 2012, 22:37 pm
@carol-692:
Haven’t stopped dancing since Juan ran in. That for me sealed the win.
Who says white okes can’t dance? I’m just over the moon right now.
27 Oct 2012, 22:38 pm
@Robzim-685:
I just had this feeling Rob.
1982 after playing in 5 consecutive finals.
2012 after playing in a couple of finals. super rugby and CC.
Die gety moes net een of ander tyd draai. Soos ek ook gese het in die week, die ooreenkomste tussen die span van daai jare en die huidige span was net te groot om dit nie raak te sien nie.
1980′s: Henning van aswegen, Robert Cockrell/Shaun Povey, Hempies du Toi, Hennie Bekker, Div Visser/Andre Markgraaf
A great tight five.
NOU Kitshoff, Scarra, Malherbe/Brok, Bekker/De Kock Steenkamp, Etzebeth
A great tight five in the making.
27 Oct 2012, 22:40 pm
@I am a stormer-697:
I reckon Juan sort of ended the keegan hype with that handoff.
27 Oct 2012, 22:41 pm
@MaximusLudicrusHumorus-681:
Totsiens.
27 Oct 2012, 22:43 pm
@Robzim-695:
That is great, hope your suburb is rockin’!
Remember lots of water before lights out!
27 Oct 2012, 22:43 pm
Holy ****!!! It’s still the 27th!!!
Another hour and twenty minutes if gloating!!!!
Pppppppprrrrroooooovvvviiiinnnncccceeeeeee
Not even Heineken and his rubbish book selections will spoil my weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Die Currie Cup Kim weer!!!!!!!!!!
POP!!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 22:46 pm
@ufo-690:
Howzit, mate. Stick around. This site is not to be taken too seriously. Everybody needs a break from time to time. I was away for a couple of weeks and suddenly a couple of sensitive Sharks supporters decided to log-off. This site evolves over time and you just have to choose the debates that you want to get involved in. Too many people let this site consume them. A break is cleansing. Anyway, good to see you around.
27 Oct 2012, 22:46 pm
@I am a stormer-697:
I wish I was in CT tonight!
27 Oct 2012, 22:47 pm
@nama1-663: Are you calling my bluff you old poker player.Does not mean it did not happened if i cant proof it. De Jongh got no passing skills and Aplon get run over on defence( despite having the heart of a lion). When I had my near death experience satan was wearing a wp trui.
27 Oct 2012, 22:50 pm
@I am a stormer-703:
Yeah, thanks Bud… all’s good…
just had to logon and share our awesome win…
marvelous stuff and so proud of our guys…!
27 Oct 2012, 22:51 pm
High fives and hand jobs all round for the wp.
Well, i guess even a blind ****** gets lucky and finds a banana sometimes.
27 Oct 2012, 22:53 pm
705. Even a near death experience can’t stop you obsession with WP. That’s not very healthy you know
27 Oct 2012, 22:54 pm
@Robzim-699:
This bus is full!
And how was Joe’s tackle on McLeod. Oh my god!
And Schroeder’s non-clearance at the line-out with 15 secs left.
Anyway, all that is history right now.
27 Oct 2012, 22:55 pm
707. Thanks for the handy Brig. Much appreciated
27 Oct 2012, 22:55 pm
@ufo-690:
Preach it boet…don’t stop preaching it.
@I am a stormer-693:
I told him yesterday that this nic is a short lived one.
He’ll be on here under his original nic or maybe a new one claiming that he has “just discovered” this site.
27 Oct 2012, 22:57 pm
When was Beast subbed?
I am watching the highlights on TV now and I see that he was part of the last scrum in the 81st minute.
27 Oct 2012, 22:58 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-707:
Don’t be rude.
Actually I take that as a complement. Thanks mate.
It is a m.onkey off our back. Thank god.
27 Oct 2012, 22:59 pm
The Brig found his way to the keyboard after drowning his sorrows. Tacitus is nowhere in sight. Poor Bullies. Beaten by the Stormers, thrashed by the Sardines and now facing the sight of the cup returning to its rightful home.
@I am a stormer-709: People can ***** and moan that Ludik threw the pass at the wrong time. The fact remains Joe read his body language and timed his tackle to perfection.
WP jou lekker ding!!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 22:59 pm
@nama1-712: He wasn’t. Just Burden and the Doc, who was coming off second best against Ginger who had worked him out by then.
27 Oct 2012, 23:00 pm
I guess this victory by WP settles the “Coach of the year” award.
Toetie must get it ahead of Plumtree.
1. Topping the s15 log.
2. Winner of the CC.
Ons gaan seker nie daaroor stry nie.
27 Oct 2012, 23:01 pm
708.Golden Boy said Are you trying to be nasty to me Golden boy. I were an ardent WP supporter untill I saw the light (like Paulus you know) now the only colour for me is blue the colour of heaven you know (with the odd pink thrown in as in a lipstick sunset ) And you my brother can change your life for the better too just go blue.
27 Oct 2012, 23:02 pm
@nama1-716:
indeed…
27 Oct 2012, 23:03 pm
@jet jungle-705:
you did not get it, I see.
666 ring a bell?
Oh yes, I’m calling your bluff. Cards on the table, my good man.
Show me the money…sorry posts.
27 Oct 2012, 23:05 pm
@mikeybrass-715:
jeepers, that laaitie worked him over, didn’t he.
How good is he going to be in 5 year’s time? Hope we’ll have the money to keep him in the Cape.
27 Oct 2012, 23:11 pm
717. I’ve seen the light.. And it’s blue AND white DYNAMITE!!!!
Booooooooooooooooom
Btw… WP supporters are never nasty. Arrogant, he’ll yeah!!!! But nasty? NEVER!!!!!
27 Oct 2012, 23:11 pm
@jet jungle-705:
“De Jongh got no passing skills…”
So, tell us what you think of his try scoring skills and of course his dancing skills.
27 Oct 2012, 23:14 pm
Province played their hearts out and were deserved winners.
The Sharks made sure that it was a massive contest. Bad luck to them. The sun will shine again.
But the lack of sorry sad sack sensitive saarks supporters sums this place up.
27 Oct 2012, 23:15 pm
719.nama1 said:But I did get it I went with it subtletly I thought.You probably prefer a hammer to a scalpel? As for your proof your honour I am no archeoalogist and digging up dinosaur bones are not my thing. Still does not mean it did not happen.
27 Oct 2012, 23:15 pm
@nama1-722:
Blue and white.
BOOM!!!
27 Oct 2012, 23:17 pm
@Golden Boy-721:
More like in humble …never nasty…never arrogant.
We leave that for the Shark supporters with HG their choir leader.
27 Oct 2012, 23:18 pm
@I am a stormer-725:
Once more.
BLUE AND WHITE!
BOOM!!
DYNAMITE! BOOM!
27 Oct 2012, 23:20 pm
722.nama1: Very good line he run, solid defender and if his distributing skills were as good as his dancing he would have been a legend.Now his only a legend under the dark shadow of the mountain. Its just not that special.
27 Oct 2012, 23:22 pm
726. Humble indeed..
BOOM!!!!!!
Pardon, it just slipped out. Where’s my manners
27 Oct 2012, 23:22 pm
@jet jungle-724:
If you can’t prove what you alleged WP fans said, you look like a liar.
It’s not a good look.
Don’t tell lies just to make a point.
@I am a stormer-725:
We are BLUE…
We are WHITE
We are ****** DYNAMITE…
BOOM!!!…
27 Oct 2012, 23:25 pm
Goodnight all… I will be sleeping in my province jersey tonight
Die Currie Cup Kom weer!!!!!!!!!!
Boooooooooooooooooooooom
27 Oct 2012, 23:28 pm
@Golden Boy-731:
Nag ou grote. Sweet dreams!
27 Oct 2012, 23:29 pm
@jet jungle-728:
Tell us about Lambie now.
did you see the tackle the “Vodacom cup fly half” made on him in the 80th minute? Who came out on top between the “Vodacom cup FH” and the “he-should’ve-been-Bok-FH-since-2010-already Lambie?”
A near Bok pack in front of him plus a “bolter” for the EOYT at SH compared to FIVE u/21 laaities in the pack with a green SH for the Greek.
Who, in your opinion, won that battle today?
27 Oct 2012, 23:29 pm
@Golden Boy-731:
cheers GB… me too…
cheers nama, IAAS…
enjoy…!!
27 Oct 2012, 23:31 pm
@nama1-720: Bugger 5 years. Imagine him at 31/32 when a prop is at the height of his powess!
Looks like the other boys are out against ol’ JdJ. SUCK IT UP! The midget’s all round game is magic! The modern Mannetjies le Rooux BOOM !
27 Oct 2012, 23:34 pm
See ye boys! It’s been a great evening. Poor HG, BOOM!
27 Oct 2012, 23:36 pm
730.nama1:What is the truth Nama but our own (and that mean you as well)skewed perception of it. (note to myself must keep notes in future) That blue and white nonsense you stole from heavens game? Is he your mentor? Sorry MickeyBrass no disrespect intended, just thought it was more informal.I am new here I am still learning the rules.Must give you WP supporters this, you get extremely optimistic very fast. Seems like when the glass is empty the glass is full? Win win.
27 Oct 2012, 23:39 pm
Some of the things I said early on Friday night and Saturday morning.
471.nama1: Reply to this comment
26 Oct 2012, 23:42 pm
@I am a stormer-466:
It won’t be by “1? point bru, I can guarantee you that.
@cab-467:
We don’t need Fleckie.
Our laaities in the front row will hold their own against a NEAR Bok front row. (+WP)
We’ll win the line outs. (+WP)
Our back row will be competitive. (slightly + Sharks)
Our half back pairing will outplay them (thanks to GROOM)
Our centers will outplay them (thanks to JdJ)
Our back three will outplay them. (thanks to Habana/Aplon)
The WP team will outplay them.
88.nama1: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 00:40 am
@I am a stormer-484:
All you have to do, is to BELIEVE.
We’ll do it tomorrow.
BELIEVE it.
I already explained HOW.
THEY are the team under pressure.
489.nama1: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 00:42 am
@I am a stormer-486:
Lekker slaap.
You won’t be able to sleep tomorrow night. That’s for sure.
493.nama1: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 01:21 am
WEEPEE going to win the Currie Cup this afternoon.
By 10.
510.nama1: Reply to this comment
27 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
Match ups to look forward to:
Jannie vs Kitshoff
Bresler vs Etzebeth
Keegan vs Vermeulen
Reinach vs Groom
Jordaan vs De Jongh
JPP vs Habana
Mmmm………….liplekker!!!
End result: WP will win the CC.
——————————————————————————————
Oh lord, it’s hard to be humble
when you beat them in every way
to know me, is to love me
I must be a helluva man
This calls for a tripple KWV.
27 Oct 2012, 23:39 pm
Apparently Jaco Peyper was the big loser today as the sharks refused to give him his leather jacket .
27 Oct 2012, 23:47 pm
733.nama1: I rate Lambie highly as a flyhalve not a fullback . One tackle here or there is not gonna change my opinion. The shark pack looked tyred to me even when they were dominating scrums. I had the feeling it was just a matter of time. The sharks were guilty of that old springbok mentality of not showing up when the going gets tough.You hardly ever get that from the all blacks.Today WP looked hungry, they played with freedom and they fought harder right through. The youngsters looked very good. I just wondered, what changed from that tyred boring outfit of superrugby.
27 Oct 2012, 23:48 pm
@Golden Boy-731:
Nag boet.
…en weer…en weer…en weer…
@jet jungle-737:
“That blue and white nonsense you stole from heavens game?”
“I am new here I am still learning the rules.”
Ahhhh…I see. You’ve been reading the site for a while now but you are a 1st time blogger.
Where have I heard that one before?
Here’s a rule to remember: Don’t make up lies to make a point.
27 Oct 2012, 23:48 pm
@mikeybrass-714: Tact will come out when Meyer announces his bulls laden bok team and try and justify it based on their U21 team that won the cup
27 Oct 2012, 23:52 pm
@jet jungle-740:
Remember Fleck said it in an interview with this site. They realized that their defensive orientated approach of the S15 won’t win them any cups and therefor they were going to use the CC to work on a more attacking minded approach.
I’m sure we;ll see a different Stormer side next year.
27 Oct 2012, 23:53 pm
@nama1-738:
Mooi man. Baie mooi!
The manne had to BELIEVE in themselves.
27 Oct 2012, 23:54 pm
@sparticus-742:
Meanwhile the WP u/21 won the CC.
27 Oct 2012, 23:56 pm
@I am a stormer-744:
That they did…that they did.
…and HOW!!!
28 Oct 2012, 00:02 am
741.nama1: Thats the truth Mr Nama,i have been following this site for a while,never blogged because I am sensitive but you know that saying about evil people prosper when good people do nothing? Well it seem that the balance of this site is tipping towards the dark side and the good are leaving in droves. I know you guys like to play with yourselves but is it really that much fun? Have to go now I have a lot of homework for monday.Enjoy it while it last.
28 Oct 2012, 00:06 am
@nama1-738: eish Eben made Anton “he should be a Bok” Bresler his beeyatch! yoh
851. Puma said:
21 Oct 2012, 21:12 pm
@sharks_lover-867: Bresler OUT PLAYED the Bok Locks from the Bulls. And that was in the wet conditions that we will be playing in NH coming up in two weeks time. If Meyer can’t appreciate that kind of player then really he can bugger off too. Why should Bresler then play that brainwashed up rugby for Meyer if he is not appreciated? Jeez time
to wait for a new coach it seems
that can see who is really the real deal in each position.
Bresler, Ludik and Keegan has been treated badly really.
eish
28 Oct 2012, 00:09 am
@jet jungle-747: Good luck with your homework. Grade 7 can be quite challenging.
28 Oct 2012, 00:12 am
749.Richard Senormous: Dankie oom lyk my jy weet waarvan jy praat.
28 Oct 2012, 00:12 am
This game today was a great specatacle of rugby for South Africa bearing in mind how many of the players from both teams could still qualify for the U/21′s. Take even those in the 22 to 24 year old bracket. That must be a huge up for Heyneke Meyer. Heyneke must now know by now which players he can work with.
Heyneke will very soon realise that the keep-the-vokkin-bal approach is the way to go and not the skop into the heavens approach will be the success of SA rugby.
Today has proved that he has the players to do just that.
28 Oct 2012, 00:19 am
@jet jungle-750: Wow, did you come up with that all by yourself?
28 Oct 2012, 00:21 am
HG.
About that beer.
I’m available.
Don’t be a schoolgirl!
28 Oct 2012, 00:24 am
Richard Senormous: Congratiolations Richard I thought that will go right over your head. You are now officially promoted to grade eight.
28 Oct 2012, 00:25 am
14.Hondo: Reply to this comment
Min 12
No2 for WP is on his 3rd faked tackle already?!
26.Hondo: Reply to this comment
I like JP, intercepting the banana pass destined to the two tokens squatting for it on the overlap,,,
38.Hondo: Reply to this comment
Aplon and DeJongh are busy today,,
——————————————————————————————————
Then he goes quiet only to return with this:
647.Hondo: Reply to this comment
Congrats WP!
I scooped a sizable amount today by getting right both the winner and the margin!
And special thanks for Peyper, what an elegant, classy swindler he is!
No sympathy for the Sharks I am afraid who are guilty of:
1. Letting Peyper doing his cheats unopposed
2. For picking ‘Springbok’ Mvovo
————————————————————————————————————
Making a kondo of yourself again, Herr Hondo?
28 Oct 2012, 00:30 am
@jet jungle-754: Well done. But if I wanted my own comeback I would have wiped it off your mom’s face last night.
28 Oct 2012, 00:33 am
@jet jungle-747:
Jy klink bekend met jou verskuilde boodskappies.
You are only fooling yourself, my son. No need to hide behind a new nic.
Sweet dreams.
@Transformation-748:
What on earth was he thinking when he wrote that?
28 Oct 2012, 00:34 am
@Richard Senormous-756:
No need to bring his mom into it.
Not nice.
28 Oct 2012, 00:37 am
@nama1-758: Well, when you’re dealing with children….
28 Oct 2012, 00:38 am
757.nama1: enlighten me then who am I and Richard my mom is not from this dimension anymore,unless you mean man of the match witch iI think is Eben. Good luck with that. Or are you one of those perverted gravediggers.
28 Oct 2012, 00:41 am
@jet jungle-760: Neither are mine, join the club.
28 Oct 2012, 00:41 am
@Richard Senormous-759:
Just deal with the person.
Leave his family out of it.
28 Oct 2012, 00:44 am
@jet jungle-760:
Bring me the posts where WP supporters “belittled the Lions win last year” first.
28 Oct 2012, 00:45 am
@jet jungle-760:
Eben could’ve been man of the match. But wasn’t.
Other than that you didn’t make much sense.
28 Oct 2012, 00:47 am
762.nama1 Thanks Nama i feel safe when you are around as for you richard you filthy boy a big car do not make up for you know what.:)
28 Oct 2012, 00:51 am
@jet jungle-765:
@Richard Senormous-759:
Scram both of you.
This is not a children’s playground.
People get hurt around here.
28 Oct 2012, 00:57 am
WESTERN PROVINCE
Conference Cup Winners – check
Vodacom Cup Champions – check
U/19 Provincial Champions – check
Currie Cup Champions – check
Blue Bulls
Craven Week Champions – check
U/21 Provincial Champions – check
Sharks
Currie Cup Loser Finalist 2011 – check
Super 15 Loser Finalist 2012 – check
Currie Cup Loser Finalist 2012 – check
CHOKERS – check
Normal order has been restored.
Nighty night.
28 Oct 2012, 01:00 am
@nama1-767:
Lekker slaap ou grote!
28 Oct 2012, 01:01 am
@jet jungle-765: If I haven’t said it yet: Well done on another original comment.
28 Oct 2012, 01:03 am
766.I am a stormer: This is gonna hurt you. You are not a Stormer, you are merely a stormer supporter. That does mean you prefer agony to ecstacy but tonight i will give it to you. Your team played well and you deserved your victory against the odds. (jaco peyper to name the biggest) I enjoyed Wp rugby for the first time in a long while now if only my Bulls…..
28 Oct 2012, 01:06 am
769.Richard Senormous A metaphor on your nickname, another year in grade 7 for you and you fought it was clever.
28 Oct 2012, 01:16 am
@jet jungle-770: What? You mean I am a Stormer is not really a Stormer? You mean to tell me that it’s just a nickname he’s given to himself? Please, please, please tell me you are indeed the real Jet Jungle. Otherwise my world is going to collapse.
28 Oct 2012, 01:16 am
@jet jungle-771: Please refer to comment # 769
28 Oct 2012, 01:18 am
How these tools can keep overlooking fourie after he turns out performance after performance completely beggars belief – theta rather lose than be wrong – here is a genuine match for Bismarck du plessis maar nee these okes have made up their mind – well ge ready for losses on the EOY tour – stupidity deserves what it gets.
As for de Jong how he has jot commanded a started Centre spot for the Boks over the last 2 years is positively criminal – he is by FAR the most attacking centre in south African rugby it’s not even close – this is is gdam pure colour blind and provincial stupidity preventing worldclass weapons like this from being selected for the Boks.
28 Oct 2012, 01:18 am
772.Richard Senormous I am the real Jet Jungle no illusions here
28 Oct 2012, 01:21 am
@jet jungle-775: Oh thank dog. I was about to end it all.
28 Oct 2012, 01:42 am
@assagai-651:
Sykes looked like Romney in a beer hall!
28 Oct 2012, 01:44 am
@nama1-654:
Francois Bonthuys + RBHS = Jou lekker skool!
28 Oct 2012, 02:03 am
Lyk my oom Richard het sy roes loop afslaap, hoop nie hy haal more sy babelaas hoofpyn op die tannie uit nie.
28 Oct 2012, 02:03 am
Zille United 25 AFC Zuma 18
28 Oct 2012, 02:21 am
Hard luck Sharks fans…
Seems the better team on the day won.
Good too see a few Sharks fans come on and have a blog about it, respect.
As we know there will be one or two Sharks fans that have the reputation of talking a big game then dissapearing after it goes pear shape…….Hes Gone Missing…..once again.
Well done to the WP, i have not watched the game yet, it was on delayed coverage on here in NZ at 4.00am. Well catch the replay.
28 Oct 2012, 02:32 am
Yoh but a trophy feels good
This performance against a very good Sharks team made those 11 years seem worth it! Still getting teary eyed even thinking about it. WP jou lekker ding!
28 Oct 2012, 02:36 am
Just watched final replay…………..BOOOOM!
Beauuuutiful, well done Province
To all those anti province shark supporting **** ends……..swivel china’s……
28 Oct 2012, 03:19 am
BOOM!!
What was that?
The sound of the canister of Whoopass [tm]!
Did it work?
It does, but you gotta pull it outta your own *** first.
28 Oct 2012, 03:32 am
congrats WP peoples – you deserved this.
never underestimate the underdog…
28 Oct 2012, 03:32 am
We are Black
28 Oct 2012, 03:33 am
we are white
28 Oct 2012, 03:33 am
we can like to be
28 Oct 2012, 03:34 am
pretty fkn shite…
FTFY.
28 Oct 2012, 04:50 am
Richard,jet shoes….wie de fok is die ouens????
28 Oct 2012, 04:51 am
@ 780 well said
28 Oct 2012, 05:00 am
@Rage-791:
For sure, ANC KZN:
Let them eat k@k
28 Oct 2012, 05:17 am
Well done province on the win,you were the better side on the day.
As for me,I am a Sharks supporter all the way.
Atleast the bulls did not win:-)
28 Oct 2012, 06:00 am
790.Rage : Welcome welcome is jy ook nuut hier?
28 Oct 2012, 06:02 am
Divans first choice record on the radio the morning after 1986 CC final:
“Oh Lord, it’s so hard to be humble”.
28 Oct 2012, 06:46 am
Durban was special. We partyied late into the night a The Roman Lounge. The Indian girls are so beautiful. I feel humbled buy the hosptalty. I made so many friends. Thank you Durbs. Breakfast in Toti – then on to the Kei for kreef. Life is so good without Haire Gate (haregat)
28 Oct 2012, 06:51 am
@KeurboomPark-796:
I googled that club,see itis a g ay bar.
ofcourse indian girls are beautifull,thats why my gf is indian
you bent little butterfly
28 Oct 2012, 06:57 am
@Fern-797:
Very Bent this morning. Durban is Poison
28 Oct 2012, 06:59 am
@KeurboomPark-798:
wow your side won and you had a blowbang bukake
congrats,now feck off
28 Oct 2012, 07:02 am
Really lovely morning here in Cape Town.
The ocean air seems even sweeter.
28 Oct 2012, 07:02 am
@Fern-799:
Whatevers, Fernburger, Three girls heading to the Kei with us. One of them is Lambie!
28 Oct 2012, 07:04 am
@Fern-799:
Whatevers, Fernburger.
28 Oct 2012, 07:11 am
thoroughly enjoyed the final well done to both teams, but province was the better team on the day and desreved the trophy
28 Oct 2012, 07:13 am
Clear Waters Spur here we come. The Victory lap (dance). God the boys are grak here. Fat boys.
28 Oct 2012, 07:14 am
Well done WP. Bad luck Sharks. These two teams will carry the flag for SA in next years Super comp.
Well done Alistair. You took a young group of players all the way. Keep up the good work
28 Oct 2012, 07:28 am
Bad luck Sharks boys and girls, finals can be cruel.
28 Oct 2012, 07:37 am
well done weepee – better team won on the night.
alister coetzee – good guys do come first!
matthew proudfoot – the much lampooned forwards coach – excellent job. would love to have you in the bok set up.
my boet in cpt – hope this helps to alleviate the current tough times.
ufo – good to see you on here – classy as always.
28 Oct 2012, 07:38 am
@PissAnt-806:
Strangely, out of all the WP sides in the last 11 years, this run on one is probably the last I would have backed to win the cup.
Just goes to show how little I actually know about rugby!
28 Oct 2012, 07:41 am
@PissAnt-806: Not as cruel as many WP fans having had to endure a lot of Sharks comments for the past few weeks….
28 Oct 2012, 07:46 am
@David-808:
I certainly did not back them! But I love being reminded rugby is not about what is said and done before the kick off. It is about what happens for that 80 minutes between the 4 white lines.
@stormersboy-809:
It’s never about what is said before the game takes place, it is what you say (or don’t say) after the final whistle that really counts.
28 Oct 2012, 07:47 am
I slept like a baby and dreamt of Ig
28 Oct 2012, 07:47 am
@PissAnt-810: Whats your take on Jaco Peyper?
28 Oct 2012, 07:48 am
@Dawn-811: And by “slept like a baby” you mean you cried incessantly and wet yourself from time to time??
28 Oct 2012, 07:49 am
More mense! Ek het net so lekker geslaap.
My coffee even tasted better this morning…
28 Oct 2012, 07:51 am
@Gumboots-814: I have a seriaaaas headache.
Not sure from what
28 Oct 2012, 07:51 am
@stormersboy-813: I think you’re talking about HG…..
28 Oct 2012, 07:52 am
And it was wp’s b team. Think the lions also would’ve beaten the sharks…. Beast not so beasttttttttt anymore… Sharks needs to get out the cheque book amd buy another 10 grey boys
28 Oct 2012, 07:53 am
@stormersboy-815:
Neck ache, back ache, headache, who cares… We need to get a new trophy cabinet…
Vodacom Cup
Conference Trophy
U/19 Trophy
Currie Cup
Most Loyal Supporter Trophy
Ouch…that move was too quick… Hehehe
@stormersboy-812:
He was poor. Refs miss stuff, but he (and his assistants) missed very obvious stuff which to me only means one thing, the moment got to them and it influenced how they manage the game and the players.
28 Oct 2012, 07:55 am
@Gumboots-819: It’s true. Let the good times roll!
28 Oct 2012, 07:56 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-816: Oh he’ll be lurking I’m sure……….
28 Oct 2012, 07:57 am
@stormersboy-821:
At least no heart ache
28 Oct 2012, 08:00 am
@Gumboots-819: I feel for John Dobson……..His U/21′s would have been in with a real shout of grabbing that U/21 trophy if he had been able to field a full strength team. One can only give him credit for the manner in which he sacrificed quite a bit this season for the greater good…. Dobson played an integral part in coaching MANY of the young UCT/WP players who performed so well yesterday.
If WP aren’t careful, that’s one coach who will be snapped up by another union……
28 Oct 2012, 08:00 am
@Gumboots-823: yeah I’ll take the headache every day!
28 Oct 2012, 08:01 am
@stormersboy-822: Crawling round the floor like a crack ho who has lost her pipe more likely……Wailing to the rugbygods about the traditional north/south powerhouses and fat spermwhales.
28 Oct 2012, 08:02 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-826:
28 Oct 2012, 08:06 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-824:
Yes indeed! They played their hearts out too, but the U/21 A side won the big one…
28 Oct 2012, 08:09 am
@Gumboots-828: Watched Juan’s try again this morning
Daniel and Coetzee left flapping, Mvovo caught napping, and Ludik running ankle yapping…..
Absolutely priceless.
28 Oct 2012, 08:13 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-829:
Pure plaas…
28 Oct 2012, 08:15 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-829: I hope Meyer took note as well !! Is that why the team’s announcement has been delayed until today ? Some guys knocking too hard for a spot in the touring side ?
28 Oct 2012, 08:17 am
congratulations to all you wp fans on your team’s gutsy performance yesterday. trust me your win was celebrated by most who abhor sporting arrogance
28 Oct 2012, 08:18 am
@charo-807:
A very gracious Sharks supporter. And cheers to you too, mate.
The WP team won against all odds. No one gave them a chance. Sometimes those are the best odds of all.
I started saying yesterday that if you believe you can do it then it’ll happen. And it did.
The Sharks are fierce competitors and put up a great fight. There will be plenty more ding dong battles going forward.
28 Oct 2012, 08:19 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-824: Yes I rate Dobson highly !! What’s your take on Swiel at 10 ? It’s the first time that I’ve seen him. He impressed with ball in hand but I couldn’t see if he could kick. I know they wanted to play a running game but a flyhalf has to be able to kick well. I would love to see more of him, especially since he is still under 19.
The Bulls had too much power up front and had a number of young Boks in their side plus some CC and S15 players (Botha and Venter) in their team.
Jan Serfontein came off the bench for the U/19s and scorde a try as well. A pity the venue was changed – I would have liked to see that match
28 Oct 2012, 08:21 am
@charo-807: Thanks man !!@Transformation-832: Thank You we’ll take it with a smile !! 11 years ago seemed like ages ago (I know it is !!)
28 Oct 2012, 08:23 am
@Transformation-832:
Thanks mate…
@I am a stormer-833:
Hi buddy! Man the wine tastes so much better. How ya doin mate?
28 Oct 2012, 08:27 am
@CharlesM-831: I also think a few niggling injuries might have played a role in that. I for one would be relieved if Habana and co didn’t tour.
Then there are players like Deon Fourie, Ludik etc – who surely can’t be ignored?
One thing yesterdays game put to bed, hopefully for the final time – is the huge value that should placed on having players who excel on the ground. Vermeulen, Fourie, Kitshoff….all rocking.
There might even be a place in the touring party for Kitshoff – even if he doesn’t start, the experience will be valuable. Hard to believe their ages…and credit to the WP systems, structures and coaches for believing in them. (We are going to be handsomely rewarded in the years to come….)
28 Oct 2012, 08:31 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-829: And that gannam style celebration! My kids have been doing the dance all morning!
28 Oct 2012, 08:32 am
@CharlesM-834: Felt sorry for him actually, as our forwards were being pumped at times, which didn’t make his job easier. Watched him when he was at school – and most agreed he’s got the goods, BUT he has a few weaknesses….
The semi final last week highlighted a few of them in terms of his kicking game – but nothing that can’t be fixed, look at Lambie.
I think an English club tried to get him to sign with them as well, but he chose to stay in CT and improve on what he seems to perceive his own weaknesses are, and fight for a spot in the WP setup.
Keen to see what we do with our 10′s next year. Still don’t believe we should try and keep Catrakilis though.
28 Oct 2012, 08:34 am
@Gumboots-836:
I’m doing just fine. And you. Life is good.
I’m just chuffed that the team weren’t burdened by that underdog tag. I think they threw it in the dustbin on the way to the stadium.
And they just said vokkit. We’re here for a game of rugby.
We must corner Humble Graciousness in Pretoria for that beer.
28 Oct 2012, 08:35 am
I think the work done by Rassie with the clubs and youngsters has been largely overlooked.
28 Oct 2012, 08:35 am
@stormersboy-838:
We did it last night…….. (not very attractive when all those doing said gangnam styling were pretty wasted and deliriously overjoyed – deleting footage of it as I type
)
28 Oct 2012, 08:38 am
@I am a stormer-840:
Ja anytime boet! I tell you I was so hyper yesterday as I just felt good the whole morning. I said to the wife yesterday that I was expecting something good – unlike other years. It feels great mate…
28 Oct 2012, 08:40 am
@David-841:
Rassie is part of the ‘systems’ and ‘structures’, as are the fellows who run the institute/academy….Jacques Hanekom and Stephan Nel.
There is no doubt in my mind, that the WPRI is the finest academy in the country, regardless of what other say
28 Oct 2012, 08:42 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-837: I agree. Speaking about the forwards: I think Plum made a mistake with the timing of the subs. The Sharks’ scrum was so dominant but when Jannie and Burden were subbed, we could hold our own which made it easier. Scarra is a promising young player but he’ll have to bulk up a little in order to be competitive against powerful opponents in the scrum.@David-841: Rassie got a lot of flack but he did a lot of the work behind the scenes. He also brought in John Dobson after his success with UCT.
I’m glad AC could finally get his hands on a trophy to show for his efforts.
28 Oct 2012, 08:45 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-844:
And we also outsource it to the Bulls.
Don’t forget that.
28 Oct 2012, 08:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-844: I visited Jacques Hanekom at the WPRI a month ago: what a place !! We went to the undercovered practice area as well: according to him it is quite cool inside during summer time. The Boks’ Sevens were practising on a Friday morning around 11.00 when I was there.
The surface is of such a nature that you don’t get grassburns. They can actually do live scrums on the surface as well which is an advantage when all the fields (outside) are wet and soggy during winter.
Jacques is an excellent coach. We went to the same res at Stellenbosch during the eighties and played “koshuisrugby” : he was the loosehead and I was the hooker. His technical knowledge about the game is phenomenal.
Apparently all the rehab work of the Province team is done at the WPRI as well. Previously a lot of the rehab was done at the HPC in Bellville. Johan van Wyk (he played hooker for Province), a qualified physio does all the rehab (of the senior players as well). I could see all the names written on the white board in his office e.g Duane, Siya, Nick etc.
I spoke to a former Bok’s (John Villett) wife last night. He works at the university of Stellenbosch and he felt at the time that the university made a huge mistake not to get involved at the WPRI.
28 Oct 2012, 08:54 am
Well done to Province, I thought yesterday’s game the showed the temperament that has been such a Hallmark of Bulls rugby for such a long time under Matfield!
That bloody mindedness that they will beat their opponents was evidenced against the Lions and now against the Sharks in a game they had lost before the kick off even!
All credit to AC and his troops
28 Oct 2012, 09:00 am
@CharlesM-847: A good mate of mine is the GM there, it’s amazing what they have done!
28 Oct 2012, 09:01 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-829: Not many players can sidestep off both feet. Such a joy to watch…and WHAT a try!
28 Oct 2012, 09:02 am
@CharlesM-847: The “problem” with the WPRI is that they have 50 U/19 players during a season of whom most are contracted by Province. Next year 15 guys will stay on. This means that they will be able to take in “only” 35 new U/19 players. Province contracted a couple of players that are not from Province and therefore there is room for more or less 25 to 30 “locals”. Jacques wants the university to identify more or less 20 promising players who could join the players at the WPRI for the first couple of months. By doing that they should be able to perhaps contract a few players to supplement the 35 already accepted. However, somebody will have to work through all the application forms of first year students. It seems that they are bit reluctant to do that. His idea is to place the 20 players at a res close to the facilites of the WPRI. Therefore they can join the squad for early morning practices as well late afternoons for the first couple of months.
Recently it was announced that the university and WPRI came to an agreement that Jacques H will be “allowed” to coach the forwards of the Maties in the next Varsity Cup
28 Oct 2012, 09:05 am
@Gumboots-843:
@CharlesM-845:
I remember Rassie stating that his main job as DOR was to set up the structures and ensure consistency and communication between all levels of WP rugby, especially the youth systems.
28 Oct 2012, 09:05 am
@CharlesM-851: The 15 guys that will stay on at the WPRI will then be enrolled as students at the varsity during 2013.
28 Oct 2012, 09:07 am
@David-852:
843 should have been 844.
28 Oct 2012, 09:13 am
@CharlesM-851: Thanks for the incredible insight!
That can only bode well…..very well.
Maties finally seen the light
As long as fellas like that are running the show, things are only going to get better.
(Now to keep the grubby Pretoria paws away……whole new problem that
28 Oct 2012, 09:19 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-855: What I’m hoping will happen is that Jacques will convince the varsity to “buy” into his plan about the 20 young players as mentioned above. The thing about Jacques is he only cares about the game and to develop young players – no hidden agendas etc. He has vast experience and knows a lot of influential people. He knows Mike Cron, the Kiwi scrum coach very well and according to him they’ve spent hours together discussing scrums only !!
28 Oct 2012, 09:33 am
@CharlesM-856:
Ek is bly om te **** dat goeie rugbymanne dinge beheer.
Jy was mos ook in Dagbreek, of hoe?
28 Oct 2012, 09:36 am
Hope Siya celebrated too ………
28 Oct 2012, 09:37 am
Congratulations WP.
Commiserations to the Sharkie supporters.
Specially the vanquished.
28 Oct 2012, 09:38 am
****?
Try hoer
28 Oct 2012, 09:43 am
@cane-859: Cheers Cane.
28 Oct 2012, 09:43 am
Cobgratulations province for a well deserved gutsy win – it was long over due and to do it with a B team … amazing stuff.
Estebeth SA player of the year. Province and Stormers teams of the year. The mediocre AC coach of the year. Exiled guppy bloggers arrogant windgat trolls of the year. Nikita blogger of the year, runners up Bakkies and dog food.
Celebrate my brokebacks, celebrate and shout proooooooovince!
28 Oct 2012, 09:44 am
Joanne blogger of the year??????
28 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
850. The ‘step’ to the right was actually thanks to Keegan Daniels face which made it even sweeter
28 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
@Dawn-863:
I think the Shark Supporters copped out so that they didn’t have to come online to congratulate the Province Dudes and Dolls… Their excuse was nothing less than they do and say… Only my opinion anyways…
28 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
Hi Charles!! We’re you at the game last night. Hope the hangover is good. My head is killing me, but for some reason I seem to remember every highlight of the game. Even trying out the funny little dance.
28 Oct 2012, 09:53 am
@RL-862: I think there were 2 instances where AC’s decisions altered WP’s fortune’s a lot which he isn’t getting credit.
Bringing on Schreuder for the Greek against the Lions was inspired and proved the difference.
Dropping Brache for De Allande, who didn’t offer much for me on the day, had the Sharks targeting De Allande and Van der Heerver on defence most part of the game which aloud JdJ the licence to attack, score and make the breaks he did.
It was almost like selecting SBW and using him primarily as a focal point of the Sharks defence allowing gaps for other players.
Very impressive!
28 Oct 2012, 09:58 am
Hangover from Hell I tell you….
Dont even want to imagine the party if Stormers win the Superrugby.
I need a drip or something.
Happiest and proudest oke on the planet…..contemplating going through to airport, hear the boys get home at 11 am….
28 Oct 2012, 10:04 am
Congrats to WeePee supporters. Ref favoured us and the score could have been bigger.
Was at the game and saw a girl with Eben who looks like the girl in the picture on this site. We never deserved winning this. Enjoy the celebrations.
28 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
869. Thanks moping. There has to be a winner. Good thing is that SA has a solid core of players to choose from for the next few years.
28 Oct 2012, 10:09 am
Morning all on this bright and breezy Cape Town morning…!
Nothing like the smell of victory in the morning…!!
Final time once again… Very proud of the Team… And of AC… and the managers…
Tough luck Sharks and their supporters… still a helluva team and gonna be a force next year for sure…
Cheers Charo…
a little bit of fun if I may…?
It’s astounding, time is fleeting
11 years… takes its toll
But listen closely, not for very much longer
We’ve got to keep control…
D’you remember doing the Time Warp?
Drinking to faded glory?
The Blackness would hit us and their voices all calling
When will you win the Cup again…?
When will you win the Cup again!?
Then…
… just a jink to the left
And then a step to the right
With a swing of his hips
And a hand-off with bite…
But it’s his pelvic thrust that really drives them insane,
Juan does the Gangnam again!
28 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
@Dawn-863:
Knockers of the year maybe.
Puma is Poster of the year.
28 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
@ufo-871:
Mooi man. Baie mooi.
28 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
@cane-872:
Don’t mention pollution!
Nikita farted and cleared the room.
28 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@ufo-871: Great to have you back sir!
28 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@I am a stormer-874:
LOL,
Did she ever.
Hardly
a
Sharkie
left
standing.
28 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@I am a stormer-873:
@Bagel-875:
Thanks Bud… couldn’t ignore our first victory since the creation of keo…!!
28 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@papaown-867: finally AC knows what it is like to win a cup – now go on and win the superrugby trophy not the little trinket look-alike.
28 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
Other breaking News from around the Globe!!!!!
Buller defeat South Canterbury to win the Lochore Cup.
28 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
To my WP brothers, eish what can I say? I only wish I didn’t have an exam tomorrow and could have enjoyed it with a beer in each hand!
As a huge Juan fan I’ve been bleak with his performance this year, but then to pull that out the hat… Unbelievable. Man of the Match for me. The Sharks almost exploited the overlap brilliantly on a number of times only for Juan to cut them down!
Little Scara I would start you over Tiaan anyday.
Eben you will get 150 Bok caps!
Deon you’re a hero.
Allistair well deserved, couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy, now go get us Elton and the S15 trophy!
Commiserations to certain Shark fans, a phenomenal team that I suspect had no idea WP would play so well.
So much depth in SA, now it’s up to Heineken to end our year with a BOOM!
28 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
@grant10-868: congrats boet…
28 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
Dreaming of Ignacious?
28 Oct 2012, 10:30 am
I do hope the WeePees and their Lackeys will be gracious Victors.
I’m sure the Sharkievarkies would have been.
28 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@cane-883:
You make a number of false assumptions there.
I believe most WP supporters were gracious in their comments after the match.
28 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
@WP-Forever-884:
Glade to hear it WP.
I have not read earlier comments on the thread.
28 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
@ufo-871: That fits perfectly with Juan De Jongh’s moment of glory..
Just a jump to the left
And a step to the right….
A hand to the face…….
And lift those knees and fly……..
(and then the celebration)
It’s just the pelvic thruuuuust
That really drives you insaaaaaane……
28 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
@cane-859:
Cheers Cane. This win is similar to with the way I felt after the Dunedin win in 2008.
28 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
Well done SA – winning the Hong Kong sixes. What a match…
Howzit Cane…
28 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
@cane-885:
All of us are just savouring the moment right now. It has been a long time.
And Province/Stormers supporters are always quick to compliment the other team when we are the wrong side of the scoreboard. You know that.
Haven’t seen too many sharkievarkies around. Expect for Charo.
28 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
@I am a stormer-889:
Except not expect. Blame it on the beer.
28 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
So the Bulls are the only other SA team that was able to bag any silverware this year: the U21 CC
We got:
The Super rugby Conference trophy (yes)
The Vodacom Cup
The U19 CC
The Currie Cup.
Others will say that the Conference trophy is not important, until they win it, the wait and see……
28 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@I am a stormer-889:
For sure!
28 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@Jeraldjay-887:
Was that the Enrico January lucky bonce win?
28 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
@Gumboots-888:
Well done.
28 Oct 2012, 10:55 am
@stormersboy-886:
absolutely…!!!
28 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
@I am a stormer-889:
I congratulated your side earlier.
28 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
@cane-894:
28 Oct 2012, 10:58 am
@Gumboots-888:
Missed that totally. Great stuff.
Now we have to get behind the Highveld Lions this afternoon. The weather looks good at the moment. The Wanderers will be bursting at the seams.
28 Oct 2012, 10:59 am
@cane-893:

Cane, I told you before he backed himself and went for the gap under immense pressure.
But yesterday’s win was big for WP supporters and will be remember for a long time.
28 Oct 2012, 10:59 am
@I am a stormer-898:
Prize giving now on SS206…
Yeah can’t wait. Was going but too tired after yesterday…
28 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
@I am a stormer-889:
Good.
28 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
@Fern-896:
I forgot about that. Good for you. I blame it on the hangover.
28 Oct 2012, 11:03 am
@I am a stormer-902:
No problem,me and Puma are cut from the same cloth:-)
28 Oct 2012, 11:06 am
@Fern-903:
Yeah right.
28 Oct 2012, 11:10 am
@Fern-903:
You are not fit to wipe puma’s arsse.
28 Oct 2012, 11:11 am
actually,………………………………………….let me rephrase that.
You are only fit to wipe puma’s arrse.
28 Oct 2012, 11:11 am
Handsome reword I scooped, mainly from the UK betting house whose odds funny enough were higher on the Sharks than the S. Africans counterparts

The two heroes of the final will be well rewarded; Peyper by his employers and Mvovo by HM
My ‘reward’ will go to the SPCA and my old school, two great institutions!
28 Oct 2012, 11:12 am
Cane,he said we were cut from the same cloth.
28 Oct 2012, 11:16 am
@Fern-908:
He was mistaken.
28 Oct 2012, 11:16 am
@Fern-908:
No I didn’t.
You will need to say a 1,000 hail mary’s before you can be mentioned in the same sentence as Puma.
28 Oct 2012, 11:17 am
Stormers will have so many good players next year. AC has to manage them well.
I’d pick
1 Kitshoff
2 Liebenberg
3 Malherbe
4 Etzebeth
5 Bekker
6 Burger
7 Kolisi
8 Vermeulen
9 Duvenage
10 Jantjies
11 Habana
12 JdV
13 JdJ
14 Van Der Heever
15 Taute
16 Ntubeni
17 Brok
18 Micheal Rhodes
19 Deon Fourie
20 Groom
21 Peter Grant
22 Aplon
28 Oct 2012, 11:17 am
Puma said that me and him are cut from the same cloth.
28 Oct 2012, 11:18 am
@Hondo-907: You saying Peyper blew against the Sharks?
28 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
Rhycatcher, bluebottle, rainbow banana, Hondo, assessing, ‘jet jungle (HG?) treehugger, RL, and a few others thanks for sticking around a bit and taking it from us last night. Sorry if we went a bit over the top, but respect to you for having the huevos
28 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
@Caper-911: Why on Earth would you pick Duvenage… Or V D Heever over Aplon? Also no Elstadt in your team.
Try again.
28 Oct 2012, 11:20 am
I can’t wait for Mark Keohane’s piece of prose tomorrow.
I think he’s on his 3rd re-write as we speak. And the deadline is creeping closer.
28 Oct 2012, 11:21 am
@Fern-912:
Then he lied.
28 Oct 2012, 11:24 am
Two highlights for me:
1. Siya Kolisi’s break through the Bulls defence at Loftus
2. JdJ’s handoff of Daniels and sidestepping Mvovu
Priceless both…
28 Oct 2012, 11:24 am
@Bagsy: hondo is senile…
28 Oct 2012, 11:26 am
For those who disparage Catrakilis – he seems to be developing well and I would not be surprised if he was not a Springbok in a couple of years time. His only problem will be if the KIngs get thrashed by everyone.
28 Oct 2012, 11:28 am
@Gumboots-918:
42- 6 against the Bulls at Newlands was also special. JJ Engelbrecht and Sadie returning for a one lekka serving of humble pie.
28 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
@wp_boytjie-921:
The away games were special wins, but yes that one was lekka too.
28 Oct 2012, 11:32 am
@papashanga-920:
He wasn’t great at the beginning. It was a massive occasion for everyone and the nerves got involved.
But we will all have to wait a long time before you see 2 drop goals in a match. 1st with the right. 2nd with the left. That is how much he grew in confidence as the game wore on.
28 Oct 2012, 11:33 am
@Transformation-919: I actually wonder whether he’s not just a troll.
HG certainly is, and the more I read Skops latest posts the more I think he’s also just a troll.
TROLL: “Just here to piss people off and have fun creating an imaginary personality.”
Like Hondo’s racism… It’s not the same as the usual bunch, more just for a reaction it seems.
28 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
Sorry its probably been asked and answered a million times, but could someone tell me when the squad announcement is, and will it be broadcasted?
28 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
@Jeez-925: 2:00pm, and I’m pretty sure it’s being broadcasted.
What will be the fate of Morne…
28 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
@Bagel-926:
He’ll be there.
28 Oct 2012, 11:49 am
@Jeez-925:
Ja 14:00 on Supersport Blitz SS200
28 Oct 2012, 11:49 am
@Bagel-926: Thanks. A squad announcement without Morne Steyn’s name will restore some faith in HM imo.
If he does pick MS it will be clear that he is unwilling to learn from his mistakes and that he is unwilling to put his faith in players who he doesnt know that well (Lambie and Jantjies) and this hardheadedness does not bode well for the boks future…
28 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
@Jeez-929:
He’ll justify it by the bemoaning the lack of senior backline players. Especially if Jean and Brian are injured.
28 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
What I dont understand so many of you here make as if you know rugby , when last did South Africa have a center than can step and have such a beautiful balance whiles doing it. We only have bashers like Jaque ,Steyn an Dvilliers.De Jong is a gem he needs to be given opportunities to grow ,his a talent that can win games for us.His strong and can defend. The centers of the Sharks are in the same mode as A.Jacobs wonderful an skillfull players but will be shown up in defense.
K.Daniels is another who I admire but he has shown again that when games are tough upfront he strugggles, a bit like Bob Skinstad , I c him nomore than just an impact player.
P.Lambie is the answer for now at Flyhalf but needs to work at his game as HE DOES get botherred by the pressure.He made a few mistakes an from what I can c from this site , people are making to much of him as a player.
28 Oct 2012, 11:57 am
@David-930: He’d have only himself to blame. JdJ has been around the block for the last 3 rugby seasons, for example. There is enough personal to do the business in Europe without resorting to Morne as the starting flyhalf, the same Morne who has normally failed up north.
28 Oct 2012, 11:58 am
@honest79-931: Lambie needs someone like JdJ outside him.
28 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@mikeybrass-932: Juan had an average S15 (so did the entire Stormers backline bar Habana) so when Heyneke didn’t pick then ja no fine. But who does he pick instead?
JJ Engelbregt who is hopeless at 13 and then Jaco Taute an exceptionally promising but raw FULLBACK.
Heyneke must be credited with coaching a very effective and competitive forward pack despite injuries but he clearly has no farking clue how to select or run a backline and it seems his assistant coach is just a ‘yes man’.
A backline specialist needs to come in asap and the selection of real centers. It’s dispicable how Heyneke is so arrogant to just tell a player where he should play, ala those 13′s and Lambie at Fullback.
Also anyone remember Derrick Kuhn? Amazing flank, then Heyneke says, eish we lack depth at hooker, you go play there. Where is he now?
28 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
I still want to hear Brigadier s take on JDJ….
28 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
Hope Reinach and Ludik are included in HM’s squad.
28 Oct 2012, 12:09 pm
@Jeraldjay-936:
I don’t think so though!
28 Oct 2012, 12:11 pm
Lambie = Catrakillis, same level player = same level of potential, = middle of the road no great shakes, = Elton Jantjies also middle of the road no great shakes
SA still don’t have a strong international candidate for fly half, Goosen perhaps but his brittle bones are a major problem.
Develop Schreuder as a fly half, and try players like Willie Le Roux, Andries Coetsee and even Joe Pietersen. Maybe Fouche at Bulls or Pollard to come. But in Lambie, Catrakillis and Jantjies its just more middle of the road mediocrity though its still 1000 times better than the pathetic backward uselessness of Morne Steyn
28 Oct 2012, 12:11 pm
@honest79-931: Agreed with you on De Jong. He made a mockery of Meyers previous selections.
28 Oct 2012, 12:13 pm
@Jeraldjay-936: are you serious? Reinach??? please the kid hasnt even played Superugby, if you watched the game yesterday made a few errors and passing wasn that accurate when under pressure. Groom is better but HM has enough scrummies.
Ludik is ok but again what does he offer than Aplon doesnt??? size? That is why yesterday was soo sweet and when I think about it I cn only smile. Not Jordan,Dvilliers,Sadie, JJ, Taute and whoever in SA you wanna mention can do what JDJ did yesterday.
28 Oct 2012, 12:14 pm
@assagai-938: Elton gonna show you up Skop.
And Lambie is way better than Catra.
I do like Willie and Andries though, Schreuder too. So long as WP don’t revert to Duvenage we’ll be ok.
28 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
@Gumboots-937:
Ludik definitely deserves a call up, his been the form 15 all year.
Reinach appears to be the answer at scrummie. The combo factor also has to be taken into account, should Lambie play at 10.
If Groom can work on his tactical kicking he’ll be a future contender at 9.
28 Oct 2012, 12:17 pm
Fuckitt…
My eyes are bleeding…My head is pounding… and the gall is bitter
therefore I’m not going to hang around…
But I will say this and it pains me to say it…
WP were an immovable object yesterday… Their defence was incredible.
Also not good for Sharks to be overwhelming favourites… The Black and White fireworks fizzled and then went out…
JdJ was magnificent… If he is not No 1. center choice for Boks or Stormers then powers that be got to take a long hard look in the mirror… Also, if Meyer doesn’t do whatever it takes to get Nienaber in the Bok setup then he is a dumbfuck.
Lambie was excellent but he needed a few more team mates to come to the party too…
WP deserved their first Cup in 11 years, after more than a decade of winning nothing…. It is appropriate that they finally did win with a team of unsung heroes and not the often mythological Blue and White striped “legends”
Now I must go and choke, chunder and spew… I feel like a Kiwi now… cough cough cough Choke…
Outtahere.
28 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
Lol I see WP boys still having fun, I would have thought you would all had hang overs so bad that your eyes would have bled.
Actually I was hoping that was the case lol, but see you all still bouncing along, they adrenaline is going fade soon.
Ah but like I said after the game a well deserved win, you were so much better than us on the day.
28 Oct 2012, 12:21 pm
if Meyer does not pick Juan de Jongh as first name at center then the moron is absolutely and totally bevok in his brain
He should also pick Groom and Fourie and perhaps Kitchoff to go with Vermeulen and Etsebeth.
Fourie is by light years ahead of the rest of the countries hookers and open side flanks, he is the most devastating player of such caliber since Heinrich Brussow of 2009.
Joe Pietersen can be developed into a FH and so can Schreuder.
28 Oct 2012, 12:23 pm
Normally I would just say … WP congrats.
But I would say, this time, really well done. Great game, always underdogs, well deserved after the display yesterday.
The last grasp victory at Ellispark last week now means that much. Cool.
28 Oct 2012, 12:23 pm
@Heavens Game-943:
Blah blah
Look if you felt like a kiwi then you would know how it feels to have trophies in the cabinet….
0 tropihes = you dont have a clue what its like to be a kiwi
28 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
Keegan was close to the top of the “Tackles missed” pile for most of the first half of the Super Comp this year. Things improved for him in the second half, BUT
it looks like he’s making a comeback!
28 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
Sometime soon, like right now, Heyneke will have to make a decision about the next Bok captain. JDV might be the man at the moment but he is not the long term solution that HM is looking for. I’ve been a huge fan of JDV’s over the years but his best days are behind him. He is the wrong side of 30. He is not playing in his natural position of 12. But makes an adequate 13. Frans Steyn is still in the mix. But i think the Boks might be entering an era of playing smaller but more skillful centres. And here I rate JDJ, Paul Jordaan and yes Tim Whitehead. Whitehead must be one of the most underrated centres doing the business.
28 Oct 2012, 12:25 pm
-that much more…
@Heavens Game-943: Well Played.
@assagai-945:
Their must have been a reason for Deon Fourie turning down the European offer.
Think he will be included in the EOYT squad.
28 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
@I am a stormer-949: you cannot have JDJ with PJ or TW in one team. You need a basher an none of them are in that mould.
28 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
@Heavens Game-943: POP! Bwahahahahahah
But cheers for that post HG!
Agree 100% with it, Lambie was great despite his teams performance.
Traditional Powers for the win!
28 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@Jeraldjay-952: WP offered him more money and yes he will be included.
28 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@Heavens Game-943:
Good man. Kudos to you. It was just the brokebacks day. It had to happen sooner or later.
28 Oct 2012, 12:28 pm
@Bagel-934: Morne had a below average Super. JdJ has proven himself on the international stage.
28 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
@Bagel-934: Yes, Meyer’s backline selections are puzzling indeed.
28 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
@Hg ….see we both had the same thing about bleeding eyes lol. But mine was for WP not a Shark.
I am feeling no pain, we were kuk and they were better, if we had played outstanding rugby then I would have been sulky.
28 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@Jeraldjay-942: Groom play at the base of the scrum and ruck is superior to Reinach who also lacks a refined kicking game.
28 Oct 2012, 12:33 pm
@honest79-953:
Yes you can. What i’m saying is that you need more skillful players in the centre. We don’t always need big bashers. We have to look past JDV. And who is to partner F Steyn next year when JDV is no longer there. Jean will be the captain for the tour but I would rather blood a new centre and a new captain. Otherwise HM is just delaying the situation.
Lambie = Catrakillis = Jantjies only difference is level of experience but as far as potential go they much of a muchness middle of the road decent lieutenants but no great shakes.
WP should play Schreuder or Pietersen at FH not Jantjies with Taute at FB.
Schreuder perhaps the closest I seen to Henry Honibal in his little 10 minute stint of bust it up bravery.
So when is our next game of rugby (Boks) ?
28 Oct 2012, 12:34 pm
@assagai-945: Spot on…
28 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
@Treehugger-959:
The Sharks were always in it. Even at the end I had visions of an equalising 7 pointer. And then extra time. I was just as nervous.
@honest79-953: Neither Tim Hooran or Jason Little, Frank Bunce or Walter Little, Michael du Plessis or Danie Gerber were bashers. You need centers who can attack into space which sets up the next phase mall more effectively for strike runners, etc.
@Heavens Game-943:
Honourable indeed…
@Treehugger-944:
It was just our day…
Always enjoy good sportsmanship (womanship) maybe!!!
28 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@assagai-962: Little Pieterson’s try saving tackle was immense. Perfect perfect perfect.
28 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@I am a stormer-961: I am telling you this on what I have seen from HM, he will now choose Steyn and JDJ ‘maybe’, but NEVER will he choose two of those you mentioned in one team. HM loves size and you CANNOT convince him otherwise.It is a SA thing , even the journalists write accordingly and believe this. The mindset has to change an it will take a very very very longtime.
28 Oct 2012, 12:38 pm
@Treehugger-963:
10 Nov against Ireland.
28 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
@mikeybrass-960:
Reinach is similar to Joost. Unpredictable around the fringes. Basically what we expected Hougaard to be.
But Groom has a great rugby brain and is an excellent decision maker.
28 Oct 2012, 12:41 pm
@mikeybrass-966: Jason Little and Walter Little were indeed bashers. We have NOT had a centre with the step an balance of JDJ.EVER!
28 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
Serfontein, JdJ, Venter, De Allende, Jordaan, Howard, Brache
The center channels are very well stocked just need the correct coach to unleash all the talent effectively.
Nick Groom by far the most promising 9 in the country, Reinach who??
28 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
@honest79-972:
Danie Gerber…
28 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@Jeraldjay-971: I thought Groom was excellent around the edges yesterday and played better than Reinach. Both are excellent prospects for the future. Both have been playing better than Hougaard.
My hope is that Groom will start ahead of Duvenhage for the Stormers.
28 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
@honest79-969:
I hear you. And I’ve heard it from HM first hand where he said size matters, particularly the loosies. He likes the big ball carrying types.
But if he wants to go for combo’s then he must play JDJ at 12 and JDV at 13. And not the other way around. He needs the playmaker as close to the action as possible. JDV seems to have lost that touch. JDV will be there in the squad only because we would be lacking experience.
But when Bismarck and Schalk are back next year, the captaincy issue will gain more importance.
28 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
@honest79-972: I don’t agree that they were bashers. What they did was create space around them ala Hennie le Roux. Re steppers, you are correct for us in the modern era. We’ve had Mannetjies and Gerber in the past.
28 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@mikeybrass-975:
I have no doubt Groom will start ahead of Duvenhage in February.
Hopefully Schreuder will be standing next to him.
28 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@Jeraldjay-974:
Some people have short memories.
28 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@I am a stormer-976: Whether Jean will recover in time for the first test is any blogger’s guess.
28 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@Jeraldjay-978: Let’s see what Feb brings. It’s exciting times for a WP/Stormers supporter
28 Oct 2012, 12:49 pm
Well done Province.
One thing though…. last year some of you called this a water down competition with no value when you got knocked out of the semi last year.
Now that you are the 2012 champs…… how does it feel?
Nice feeling ne?
Enjoy it….
28 Oct 2012, 12:51 pm
Indeed an experience. Thank you Durban for your hospitality. One that will be remembered for a long time. The underdog performed and the favourites just couldn’t pull it through.
28 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
@mikeybrass-981:
Finally we can back our optimism up with that shiny thing in the cabinet.
28 Oct 2012, 12:55 pm
@Nikita-983: hey jojo…late start to the day?
28 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@Nikita-983:
So they let you out alive. You didn’t pollute the atmosphere I take it.
28 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@Transformation-985: @I am a stormer-986:
I am off to bed very soon. Didn’t sleep at all. Natal supporters are very mature and ‘the word’ wasn’t used once. It has been misconstrued and used as sensationalism.
28 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@mikeybrass-980:
That’s what i was trying to get through as well. If JDV is in the squad but unfit for the first test, then who. No Frans, no JDV. Only Taute with 1 mediocre test behind his name. JDJ has got to be there. And as I said, don’t discount the 2 Sharkie centres. At least 1 of them should be there. More than likely Jordaan.
28 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@Nikita-987:
I am sure the Shark supporters enjoyed your company…
who wouldn’t?
28 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
@I am a stormer-988: Two mediocre tests
How he got in there ahead of JdJ is a travesty.
JdJ has to be a starter for the first test, surely… Pray to the rugby gods.
28 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
@mikeybrass-990:
I hope this size issue is laid to rest for good. Like someone said if the heart is there, size don’t matter…
28 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@Heavens Game-943:
This would be incomplete if it don’t go down with an ‘ I told you so’, did you really and honestly think you were gonna hammer the WP defenseless, even when Catrakillis and Peyper were your two most promising contributors through first half, we still came back and stuffed you through your overrated self infatuated eye.
Like I said on Thursday, it gonna be SWEET when WP stuff these overrated sardinetjies back in their sardine blik, very sweet indeed.
28 Oct 2012, 13:11 pm
@mikeybrass-990:
From your lips to god’s ears.
28 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@Gumboots-991:
It is not the size of the dog in the fight but the size of fight in the dog that counts.
28 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@I am a stormer-994: @I am a stormer-994:
So true… JdJ just does what he does best. Performs on the field… I hope he gets a start for the Boks…
28 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
Waiting for announcement of Bok sqaud for EOYT
28 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
If fourie and de jong are not picked for the eoy tour u must know one thing for certain – the powers that be are thicker than 2 short planks.
28 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
And picked to start – not to play left back.
28 Oct 2012, 13:29 pm
@cab-997: Never underestimate the power of our national coaches to be stupid.
Proooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnncccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Aaaah, what a sweet victory! That was a long time coming.
I hope they can build on this, a young team, with more and more talent coming through – here’s hoping for even bigger things to come!
Sharkie fan’s (or at least the 95% decent ones), commiserations. Somebody had to lose, but congrats on a good season.
28 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@mikeybrass-999:
There is always a surprise. Bok coaches will never let you down.
28 Oct 2012, 13:31 pm
@Nikita-987: over sensitive little molly coddled mommy’s boys can’t even take the heat of their own self righteous pollution so they chuck their fanny faced toys and head off over the horizon like the little over sensitive psyched out mommy’s boytjies they are.. shame.. now they done it because their huge big self effacing statement of contempt has put them in a place where they will have to back down off their highfalutin sharky self righteous high chair if they ever wanna be re assimilated in an environment of none PC straight laced honesty.. stupidity and sensitivity comes from the self same stable.. fake arsed goddamn self infatuated pseudo self righteous so called ego rampant ‘dignity’.
28 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@Transformation-1000:
That’s cheating!
1000 posts without any material help of Sharks or Bulls fans.
That’s gotta be a first.
28 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@cab-997: deon fourie is 1.77m & 100kg he won’t fit in heyneke meyer’s team where he needs forwards to be “big, strong & heavy”
this is the same reason the cullen of loosies was dropped for the mendoza test..
28 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
@cab-997: @cab-998: absolutely correct.. the f’ng pathetic coach is an arsehole bar none.. everything he has ever done has been from being shown up as the goddamn dunce he is…all his selections thus far have been as a result of knee jerk reactionary over correction from the stuff up decisions he started with..
How come it takes an entire season of CC rugby for the reality to sink in the Fourie and De Jongh are by FAR the most influential players he could ever have picked.. and so too Kolisi who he sent back from Bok camp to get injured.??
This dunce is a Planck of epic proportions and I got very little confidence in this moron from here on out.
I bet you Fourie won’t be in his squad and if De Jongh is he will ride bench, he won’t start.
28 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@I am a stormer-1004:
sharkies are smarting boy…the wives nagging just sounds a littld more irritating today…
@Transformation-1005: What is this “Cullen of loosies” nonsence?
I assume you refer to Daniels? He’s a decent player with some pace, but not exactly to be mentioned in the same breath as Cullen. He won’t embarres the Boks, but for me he is for sure not in the front of the line.
@Transformation-1005:
You are probably right! Deon has been immense this season and that having to play loosie. He has been the top fetcher in the Currie Cup. Imagine him as 2 and Flouw at 6. Quite a combo when it comes to fetching in the UK.
28 Oct 2012, 13:38 pm
@Transformation-1007:
Laughing as I know that feeling too
28 Oct 2012, 13:49 pm
@wpjoulekkading-1008: I think it was HG who labelled Daniels the Christian Cullen of loosies
28 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@Transformation-1005: Deon Fourie is the perfect little pest
28 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@Transformation-1007:
That’s funny. I’ve often had to take the dogs for an extra long walk on a Sunday. I know that feeling well.
28 Oct 2012, 13:58 pm
@wpjoulekkading-1008: our resident sharky breekgat HG dubbed keegan “the christian cullen of loosies” only for keegan to be dropped cold by meyer!
anyone screaming for deon to tour must realise that a guy like keegan who’s had a far more outstanding season – super rugby & currie cup – is also not guaranteed a spot.
fourie can get a ticket in the place of burden who bombed on the big stage.
28 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
New caps are:
Rhule, Mapoe, Botha, Franco Vd Merwe,
Schalk Brits in…
Morne Steyn is in… and Arno Botha
Schalk Brits in
28 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
No place for Fourie…
28 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
Guthro too
28 Oct 2012, 14:03 pm
guthro in
28 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
Even if starts with JdJ on this tour, you can be sure he’ll be looking for another bigger centre. I can see him playing Taute at 15 to bring his game along.
28 Oct 2012, 14:05 pm
@grant10-1020:
Yes
28 Oct 2012, 14:06 pm
Rhule in….Mapoe in
No D Fourie
Bloody hell Heyneke man….
CJ VD Linde in
28 Oct 2012, 14:06 pm
@Heavens Game-943: Cheers HG. Spoken like a gentleman. Next year will be huge for both sides.
28 Oct 2012, 14:08 pm
When the fark are we ever going to settle the FB issue.
I rate Schalk Brits but what message do you give to someone who is similar in stature and been so loyal to SA…
What more do you have to do Capie…
The Springbok squad for the Castle Outgoing Tour to Ireland, Scotland and England:
Willem Alberts The Sharks Loose forward 17 Tests
Arno Botha Vodacom Blue Bulls Loose forward 0
Schalk Brits Saracens, England Hooker 3
Pat Cilliers MTN Golden Lions Prop 3
Marcell Coetzee The Sharks Loose forward 9
Juan de Jongh DHL Western Province Centre 12
Jean de Villiers (captain) DHL Western Province Centre 81
Jannie du Plessis The Sharks Prop 39
Eben Etzebeth DHL Western Province Lock 8
Francois Hougaard Vodacom Blue Bulls Scrumhalf / Wing 24
Elton Jantjies MTN Golden Lions Flyhalf 2
Zane Kirchner Vodacom Blue Bulls Fullback 21
Juandré Kruger Vodacom Blue Bulls Lock 5
Pat Lambie The Sharks Fullback 17
Francois Louw Bath, England Loose forward 14
Lionel Mapoe MTN Golden Lions Wing / Centre 0
Tendai Mtawarira The Sharks Prop 41
Lwazi Mvovo The Sharks Wing 7
Ruan Pienaar Ulster, N Ireland Scrumhalf 60
JP Pietersen The Sharks Wing / Centre 45
Chiliboy Ralepelle Vodacom Blue Bulls Hooker 21
Raymond Rhule Toyota FS Cheetahs Wing 0
Gurthrö Steenkamp Toulouse, France Prop 38
Morné Steyn Vodacom Blue Bulls Flyhalf 41
Adriaan Strauss Toyota FS Cheetahs Hooker 18
Jaco Taute MTN Golden Lions Utility back 2
CJ van der Linde MTN Golden Lions Prop 73
Flip van der Merwe Vodacom Blue Bulls Lock 20
Franco van der Merwe MTN Golden Lions Lock 0
Jano Vermaak Vodacom Blue Bulls Scrumhalf 0
Duane Vermeulen DHL Western Province No 8 4
28 Oct 2012, 14:09 pm
@965…I am a Stormer…watching the game I didn’t think we would win even though it was close, Stormers seemed to be covered in Fairy Dust and just looked so much better, even in the dieing seconds I had no confidence just hope.
@967…Bootjies….:mrgree: not hard when we didn’t deserve it.
@970…I am a Stormer… Thanks
28 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
@Bagel-1027:
No complaints
Morne Steyn poor on form and will start in tests…
Well we all know the coach and his love child…
@Bagel-1027: Well I would have gone Fourie over Britz and so long as Morne isn’t starting I’m happy with that squad.
In fact props to Meyer for bringing back Gurthro.
Must say I’m very unconvinced by Marcell at international level, very average ball carrier (Don’t crucify me Sharks fans)
28 Oct 2012, 14:11 pm
rhule in, go oja boy!
28 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
@Treehugger-1028:
You are by far my favourite Shark blogger…
Unbiased and honest at all times… Kudos lady…
28 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
@Gumboots-1015:
I think HM has been quite bold in his selections by going for NH based players. And obviously Rhule and Mapoe might not be in the starting line-up but great to have in the mix.
We have to give the guy credit. The selections indicate that there might be a change of gameplan and more adventurous type of rugby. As long as there is no Morne Steyn.
And this could be the end of the road for Britney. With Arno Botha cracking a nod.
28 Oct 2012, 14:14 pm
@I am a stormer-1034:
Steyn will start – that is a guarentee. Arno way better than Britney and the reason for Britney trying to go oversees. He knows his time has come…
28 Oct 2012, 14:17 pm
@I am a stormer-1034:
Don’t be too sure about Spies. Arno is there because of a lack competing 8s.
As for Brits, I reckon HM should have gone with Fourie instead, as a locally based player.
28 Oct 2012, 14:22 pm
@Gumboots-1035:
Don’t know so much. Elton is the incumbent FH after Goosen’s injury at Soccer City. He deserves a start.
Rhule in place of Habana could be an exciting situation.
I’d go:
9 Ruan
10 Elton
11 Rhule
12 JDJ
13 JDV
14 JP Pietersen
15 Kirchner – HM will select him there for the experience factor. Although Taute would be my
favourite.
Hougaard would come off the bench.
28 Oct 2012, 14:22 pm
@I am a stormer-1034: @Bagel-1031:
In all honesty i think we will see Arno Botha used as open-side flanker…. young, big, stong and fast. Might just be the answer?
28 Oct 2012, 14:24 pm
This was the perfect time to give Morne’ Steyn an extended break.
28 Oct 2012, 14:24 pm
@David-1036:
HM doesn’t rate Spies. He has said as much. And Arno had a decent game for the U/21′s yesterday.
Spies, I reckon, might have slipped a notch in the pecking order at the Bulls even.
28 Oct 2012, 14:26 pm
@phil72-1038:
Don’t think so. I reckon Arno is there a the 2nd no.8.
The 2 7′s are Alberts and Coetzee – he won’t take one of their places.
28 Oct 2012, 14:27 pm
@Gumboots-1033: mention the Kings & she goes potty
28 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
@I am a stormer-1037:
I hope you right. I know HM really likes Steyn and will do anything to have him start.
@phil72-1038:
I rate Arno highly. CJ is also a class loosie… A pity he is leaving…
28 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
@I am a stormer-1040:
I don’t know about that. Remember he made him captain at the Bulls just before getting the Bok job. I doubt whether he’d have done that if he was thinking of dropping him for Arno.
28 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
@I am a stormer-1041:
He is replacing an open side flank in Potgieter. Believe he might even start ahead of Alberts and Coetzee who were both comprehensively outplayed over the weekend…..
28 Oct 2012, 14:35 pm
@phil72-1045:
Blindside.
28 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
@David-1044:
Before HM’s very first squad announcement he was asked by Ian Macintosh what his loosies combinations would look like. First name out of his mouth was Vermeulen. Spies, he said, doesn’t like the physical stuff – this from Heyneke. Arno Botha has right now leap frogged Spies.
@phil72-1045:
Thank god Potgieter didn’t crack the nod. I know you want him at 7. But don’t expect too surprises in the run-on 15. And not with a rookie. The Bok bench will look awesome.
28 Oct 2012, 14:43 pm
@David-1046:
Soory Blindside (not a fetcher more of a ball carrier)
28 Oct 2012, 14:46 pm
@I am a stormer-1047: your bok coach is a dunce.. he don’t know his arse from his elbow and its showing more often than not.
What more does Deon Fourie have to do to prove his by far the most prolific ground ball and in your face player in the country next to Bismark.. what?
Your coach first went with the combo of Spies, Potgieter, Coetsee
then he tried Albert, Potgieter, Daniel
He will start Strauss at 2 with Chili or Brits on bench when Fourie is better than all 3 of them
your coach is an absolute goddamn dunce.. I reckon if he lucky he wins 2 from 3 on tour. Perhaps only 1.
28 Oct 2012, 15:45 pm
Too much Bulls in that squad – way too much IMO.
28 Oct 2012, 15:47 pm
Time to return to lurking mode.Well done again WP.Deserved win Best advice I have received on keo”Scroll on by”
Cheers all.
28 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
Didnt see the game so no comments thereon.
Well done WP. A young side that punched above its weight. Sort of like a Dodgeball moment
The last time WP won the cup petrol was R2.78 so its about time.
28 Oct 2012, 16:54 pm
Brits is far better than Strauss, bit fourie is better than both – Fourie would have transformed this Bok pack and I reckon he and de Jong would mean the boks could tour with a good chance of winning all games – Strauss is a solid mediocre player – average Bok team lose on EOy tours – the boks will lose.
1. Beast 2. Fourie 3. Cilliers 4. Flip 5. Eben 6. Flo 7. Alberts 8. Vermeulen 9. Hougaard 10. Lambie (only if no goosen) 12. JdJ 13. JdV 14. JP 15. Taute/frans