Potent Province power to glory

GARETH DUNCAN watched Western Province break their 11-year Currie Cup drought with a famous 25-18 final win over the Sharks at Kings Park.

Everyone loves an underdog story. And this match was one of the greats in South African domestic rugby.

The pre-match odds laid heavily in the Sharks’ favour. They had home-ground advantage, the strongest pack of the competition and the best team on paper, one loaded with Springboks. The Sharks had the confidence of beating the Stormers and WP four out of five fixtures earlier in the season, and they never lost to a South African team in Durban all year. The stats also proved they were the best attacking and defensive side of the Currie Cup.

However, what stats can’t measure is heart, mettle and determination. And WP, who were missing the likes of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker, Tiaan Liebenberg, Siya Kolisi and Schalk Burger, had bucket loads of this on the day.

The Sharks started off strongly and created several try-scoring opportunities, but they unraveled against a gritty WP outfit that failed to tire. The men from the Cape might have come off second best at the collisions and scrums for most parts of the match, but their breakdown assault, superior lineout efficiency and accurate tactical kicking game was crucial in their surprising triumph.

Man of the Match Deon Fourie was a star at openside flank, while Eben Etzebeth, Juan de Jongh and Demetri Catrakilis also deserve special mentions for their individual contributions in a top team performance.

But it took a while for the visitors’ ascendancy to emerge.

The opening quarter was dominated by the Sharks, who exposed the usually resilient Province defence on several occasions. Conversely, the hosts’ guard was resolute.

If it wasn’t for a sensational cover tackle from Bryan Habana, which denied opposite number JP Pietersen a clear run to the whitewash in the seventh minute, the Sharks would’ve held a comfortable lead.

However, Habana’s moment of defensive brilliance came with a sacrifice. The Springbok speedster struggled to gather to his feet after that hit and was taken off the field moments later because of a knee injury. Big blow for Province, and to those who were hoping to see more from the face-off between the two in-form wings.

While the Sharks were denied try opportunities, flyhalf Pat Lambie punished most of the penalties the visitors conceded. The 22-year-old found the target on four occasions to give the Sharks a 12-3 lead by the half-hour mark. Catrakilis nailed one three-pointer during this period.

Then came the unexpected Province fightback.

The biggest damage was done by Juan de Jongh, who executed a telling break shortly after Joe Pietersen’s 32nd-minute penalty.

From a scrum in centre field, the outside centre ran a perfect angle off Catrakilis to expose a gap in the Sharks’ defensive line. His explosiveness saw him beat three defenders in Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Lwazi Mvovo on his way to the chalk. Catrakilis converted.

The pivot also added his second penalty on the stroke of half-time, which saw WP lead 16-12 at the break.

The Sharks regained the ascendancy in the second stanza and jumped back into the lead thanks to Lambie’s fifth and sixth penalties.

But Catrakilis landed three vital shots at goal thereafter. First a penalty to regain the lead, which was their only reward after applying relentless pressure on attack against a solid Sharks defence in the opposition’s red zone. Then he nailed two drop goals to add to the buffer. The second drop goal was an important score as it forced the hosts to search for a converted try in order to level the scores.

The Sharks created late drama as Louis Ludik broke down the sideline during the closing stages, with Charl McLeod on his outside. He only had Pietersen to beat, but he passed the ball too early and the defender guessed right to tackle McLeod. The reserve scrumhalf then tried to offload to Lambie, but he lost the ball in contact.

The Sharks also won possession after the final hooter, but again, they lost the ball in contact – this time 10m from the tryline.

Province held on to complete an excellent victory. What an amazing underdog story.

1,055 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1522 » Show All

• 451.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

So Buddha Thelo was the lucky charm after all….

• 452.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-444: Agreed, with a few exceptions

• 453.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@WP-forever-409:

Not to mentioned Arno Botha, PSDT, Paul Jordaan, the Province front row…

• 454.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-446:
    But remember what the other cyclist are saying most of them cheated during the Tour de France so he was the winner out of all the cheaters

• 455.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-430: As promised welll done to your team.
    Good win.
    En joy

• 456.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-447: @Robzim-444: I’m going to join that other site. Just to gloat….. I’ll enter with a “Hiyas Bro – hifuckingfive”.
    And leave with a BOOM.

Honestly 3 Finals – 3 Chokes? Dearestgangnamitsalmostwristslittingtime. Hiyas ‘choker tag’ – hifucking5.

• 457.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Where is Heavens Rubbish

• 458.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-455: Thank you kind sir :) Commisserations to you and your team. It was a great game though. Great advertisement for SA rugby.

• 459.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-351: Well sad

• 460.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-449: BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM Bakkies BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM. :)

• 461.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Lambie was good , did enough to start as bok flyhalf Heyneke can’t have any excuses now

• 462.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkatha-420:

Umbona njani lamfana weKings uyi prop, ungene njelalela phezolo?

• 463.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Well done Province deserved win, Etzebeth flippin phenomenal, the Sharks looked nervous to me. Province supporters every right to gloat, enjoy

• 464.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-449:
    tye = tuie

fok my afrikaans is vrot :lol:

• 465.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Ok Guys outa here
    Cheers all enjoy the evening
    WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

boom

• 466.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-460:

• 467.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-287: Welocome back.Have missed you

• 468.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-452:

There are some gracious shark supporters for sure.

Eben came a long way since u sent me the pic of him and your dad in law.
    Bok , CC winner… and probably some accolades to follow next week when they announce the player of the year … 5 years ago he was a backline player in an age group C team for Tygerberg High and now he is “walking on water”. Amazing ride?

• 469.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Haveto hope now my Man U can do mea favour tomorrow night.

• 470.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-467: I gave UFO your greetings the other day, he asked me to thank you.

Thanks.

• 471.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

I think we should invite SL and Puma back to Keo, and if need be raise a kitty for them to come back, so that we can tell them to fark-off, three days before a Super Rugby or CC final.

• 472.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

PROOOOOVINCE

Hasn’t sunk in yet.

• 473.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-468: Yes indeed it’s been quite something hey?

Scarra had a great game too, so did Kitshoff, the youngsters showing how it is done. Great future ahead!

Looking forward to the ride!

• 474.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-448:

Hell yea!

HeavensGame, ride the hurt.

Think about who you are.

• 475.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-463:

It’s been such a long time since we won a major throphy so please excuse us (as fans) if we are slightly arrogant :)
    Tough luck to the sharks too,it could have gone either way, really.

• 476.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Also Peyper was utter kak. Still won despite it. With the ****** finally off our back, expect WP/Stormers to clean up in the coming years. :)

• 477.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-467:

Thank you Rye…

Got the message from Stormersboy…

Couldn’t ignore the first time WP or the Stormers have won since before thi site was created… This is the first time we can say our team did the biz…!!

Commiserations to you and your team… am very happy for Lambie that he has demonstrated with dignity why his bench-warming for the Boks was a travesty…

The best flyhalf in SA by a country mile IMO…

@stormersboy-470:

And thank you Bud…!!

• 478.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Why is m*nkey edited? This site’s regulations are a joke.

• 479.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-272: Grac ious commentent

• 480.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy-463: Thanks and well played!

Its a pity teams have morons like HeavensGame and Skopkiet as fans to fuel so much hatred etc ont his site.!

Hurt HeavensGame. I love it!

• 481.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-474: Check my post 382.

• 482.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-275: kak

• 483.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

What must hurt the haters the most: ‘Brokeback Harris’ is as we speak enjoying a beer out of the Currie Cup itself…….And then he will pass it to ‘Fatfcuk spermwhale Vermeulen’, who will then had it over to ‘Ginger’ Kitshoff, who after taking 5 slugs will throw it to Malherbe ‘the kakkest prop in SA’, who after 3 sluks, tosses it to ‘whothefuckisthat’ de Allende :)

Oh the joys …..

• 484.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-477: Anytime, going to collect on that beer soon!

• 485.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-475: if Skoppie remembers i told him at the beginning of last season that Province have the potential to dominate but they lost some good players, Sadie, JJ, Schalk,Kolisi, Flouw for this CC season. They’ve got a good thing going but are afraid to lose and that stumps their attacking creativity in my opnion, focus has been too much on defence. They’ll get there though.

• 486.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-483: And this whilst the Christian Cullen of loosies drinks Oros out of a recycled plastic bottle…..

• 487.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-287: Well said UFO.
    No triumphalism>Well p[l;ayed WE.P.

• 488.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

Come on guys, no one likes a bad loser, and a bad winner is even worse.. :-)

• 489.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-473:

yeah… the youngsters put up their hands… i like Scarra… little pocket battle tank… puts in a helluva lot of work and tackles…

But so many really really good young players… we must just hang onto them now…!!

Eben must get young player of the year…
    Bryan to get Player of the YEar for equalling the try-scroing record of the great Christian Cullen in a Tri(Quad)Nations season…
    Aliister for coach of the year surely…!! is by far the most consistent coach…

• 490.jambai: Reply to this comment

As a ex matie,is this team not similar to the ikey team that won varsity cup.demetri and eben played a big role in both.Point is those two showed that they have it to win on big stage as on paper maties always beats ikeys.Lekker province

• 491.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

aahhhhh fkit….PPPPPPPPPPRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrroooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnncccccccccccccccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Die Currie Cup kom weer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 492.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-484:

seriously must do.. this week will be a good one… can celebrate a little result of the local team we support..! :wink:

@ryecatcher-487:

Thanks Rye..!

• 493.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-486: *collapsed laughing* Oros? Bwawawawawawawawawawawawa

Nice one boet!

• 494.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-489: Yes, with WP getting team of the year.

The cupboard isn’t bare anymore!

Hope this gives them the confidence to kick on and go better in the Super Comp next year.

• 495.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Now that I have had a few minutes to calm down I would just like to say the following:

I have always been taught to be humble in victory and gracious in defeat.

Firstly congratulations to my beloved Province. It has been a long lean period but today was all worthwhile. To the Sharks, you guys were not embarassed but beaten by a team that actually believed they could win even though very few gave them hope. Sport is played on the day and not on sites or the media. Take a bow Province….

I’m so happy…

• 496.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-488: After the abuse round here, I am going to be the WORST type of Brokeback scum winner there is…..for a while at least :)

• 497.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-492: Yeah I’ll try and make a plan!

• 498.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-491: Thata boy!

• 499.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-287: Gracious post.

• 500.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

To all my mates here… Man I’m a proud boy tonight. Taken abuse and written off…

Province………………… jou blerrie lekka ding…

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1522 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.