Potent Province power to glory

GARETH DUNCAN watched Western Province break their 11-year Currie Cup drought with a famous 25-18 final win over the Sharks at Kings Park.

Everyone loves an underdog story. And this match was one of the greats in South African domestic rugby.

The pre-match odds laid heavily in the Sharks’ favour. They had home-ground advantage, the strongest pack of the competition and the best team on paper, one loaded with Springboks. The Sharks had the confidence of beating the Stormers and WP four out of five fixtures earlier in the season, and they never lost to a South African team in Durban all year. The stats also proved they were the best attacking and defensive side of the Currie Cup.

However, what stats can’t measure is heart, mettle and determination. And WP, who were missing the likes of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker, Tiaan Liebenberg, Siya Kolisi and Schalk Burger, had bucket loads of this on the day.

The Sharks started off strongly and created several try-scoring opportunities, but they unraveled against a gritty WP outfit that failed to tire. The men from the Cape might have come off second best at the collisions and scrums for most parts of the match, but their breakdown assault, superior lineout efficiency and accurate tactical kicking game was crucial in their surprising triumph.

Man of the Match Deon Fourie was a star at openside flank, while Eben Etzebeth, Juan de Jongh and Demetri Catrakilis also deserve special mentions for their individual contributions in a top team performance.

But it took a while for the visitors’ ascendancy to emerge.

The opening quarter was dominated by the Sharks, who exposed the usually resilient Province defence on several occasions. Conversely, the hosts’ guard was resolute.

If it wasn’t for a sensational cover tackle from Bryan Habana, which denied opposite number JP Pietersen a clear run to the whitewash in the seventh minute, the Sharks would’ve held a comfortable lead.

However, Habana’s moment of defensive brilliance came with a sacrifice. The Springbok speedster struggled to gather to his feet after that hit and was taken off the field moments later because of a knee injury. Big blow for Province, and to those who were hoping to see more from the face-off between the two in-form wings.

While the Sharks were denied try opportunities, flyhalf Pat Lambie punished most of the penalties the visitors conceded. The 22-year-old found the target on four occasions to give the Sharks a 12-3 lead by the half-hour mark. Catrakilis nailed one three-pointer during this period.

Then came the unexpected Province fightback.

The biggest damage was done by Juan de Jongh, who executed a telling break shortly after Joe Pietersen’s 32nd-minute penalty.

From a scrum in centre field, the outside centre ran a perfect angle off Catrakilis to expose a gap in the Sharks’ defensive line. His explosiveness saw him beat three defenders in Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Lwazi Mvovo on his way to the chalk. Catrakilis converted.

The pivot also added his second penalty on the stroke of half-time, which saw WP lead 16-12 at the break.

The Sharks regained the ascendancy in the second stanza and jumped back into the lead thanks to Lambie’s fifth and sixth penalties.

But Catrakilis landed three vital shots at goal thereafter. First a penalty to regain the lead, which was their only reward after applying relentless pressure on attack against a solid Sharks defence in the opposition’s red zone. Then he nailed two drop goals to add to the buffer. The second drop goal was an important score as it forced the hosts to search for a converted try in order to level the scores.

The Sharks created late drama as Louis Ludik broke down the sideline during the closing stages, with Charl McLeod on his outside. He only had Pietersen to beat, but he passed the ball too early and the defender guessed right to tackle McLeod. The reserve scrumhalf then tried to offload to Lambie, but he lost the ball in contact.

The Sharks also won possession after the final hooter, but again, they lost the ball in contact – this time 10m from the tryline.

Province held on to complete an excellent victory. What an amazing underdog story.

1,055 Comments

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 2022 » Show All

• 701.carol: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-695:

That is great, hope your suburb is rockin’!

Remember lots of water before lights out!

• 702.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

Holy ****!!! It’s still the 27th!!!

Another hour and twenty minutes if gloating!!!!

Pppppppprrrrroooooovvvviiiinnnncccceeeeeee

Not even Heineken and his rubbish book selections will spoil my weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Die Currie Cup Kim weer!!!!!!!!!!

POP!!!!!!!

• 703.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ufo-690:

Howzit, mate. Stick around. This site is not to be taken too seriously. Everybody needs a break from time to time. I was away for a couple of weeks and suddenly a couple of sensitive Sharks supporters decided to log-off. This site evolves over time and you just have to choose the debates that you want to get involved in. Too many people let this site consume them. A break is cleansing. Anyway, good to see you around.

• 704.carol: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-697:

I wish I was in CT tonight! ;-)

• 705.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

@nama1-663: Are you calling my bluff you old poker player.Does not mean it did not happened if i cant proof it. De Jongh got no passing skills and Aplon get run over on defence( despite having the heart of a lion). When I had my near death experience satan was wearing a wp trui.

• 706.ufo: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-703:

Yeah, thanks Bud… all’s good… :wink:

just had to logon and share our awesome win…

marvelous stuff and so proud of our guys…!

• 707.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

High fives and hand jobs all round for the wp.
    Well, i guess even a blind ****** gets lucky and finds a banana sometimes.

• 708.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

705. Even a near death experience can’t stop you obsession with WP. That’s not very healthy you know :-)

• 709.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-699:

This bus is full!

And how was Joe’s tackle on McLeod. Oh my god!

And Schroeder’s non-clearance at the line-out with 15 secs left.

Anyway, all that is history right now.

• 710.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

707. Thanks for the handy Brig. Much appreciated :-D

• 711.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ufo-690:
    Preach it boet…don’t stop preaching it.

@I am a stormer-693:
    I told him yesterday that this nic is a short lived one.

He’ll be on here under his original nic or maybe a new one claiming that he has “just discovered” this site. :lol:

• 712.nama1: Reply to this comment

When was Beast subbed?

I am watching the highlights on TV now and I see that he was part of the last scrum in the 81st minute.

• 713.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-707:

Don’t be rude.

Actually I take that as a complement. Thanks mate.

It is a m.onkey off our back. Thank god.

• 714.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

The Brig found his way to the keyboard after drowning his sorrows. Tacitus is nowhere in sight. Poor Bullies. Beaten by the Stormers, thrashed by the Sardines and now facing the sight of the cup returning to its rightful home.

@I am a stormer-709: People can ***** and moan that Ludik threw the pass at the wrong time. The fact remains Joe read his body language and timed his tackle to perfection.

WP jou lekker ding!!!!!!

• 715.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@nama1-712: He wasn’t. Just Burden and the Doc, who was coming off second best against Ginger who had worked him out by then.

• 716.nama1: Reply to this comment

I guess this victory by WP settles the “Coach of the year” award.

Toetie must get it ahead of Plumtree.
    1. Topping the s15 log.
    2. Winner of the CC.

Ons gaan seker nie daaroor stry nie.

• 717.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

708.Golden Boy said Are you trying to be nasty to me Golden boy. I were an ardent WP supporter untill I saw the light (like Paulus you know) now the only colour for me is blue the colour of heaven you know (with the odd pink thrown in as in a lipstick sunset ) And you my brother can change your life for the better too just go blue.

• 718.ufo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-716:

indeed…

• 719.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-705:
    you did not get it, I see.

666 ring a bell?

Oh yes, I’m calling your bluff. Cards on the table, my good man.

Show me the money…sorry posts.

• 720.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-715:
    jeepers, that laaitie worked him over, didn’t he.

How good is he going to be in 5 year’s time? Hope we’ll have the money to keep him in the Cape.

• 721.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

717. I’ve seen the light.. And it’s blue AND white DYNAMITE!!!!

Booooooooooooooooom

Btw… WP supporters are never nasty. Arrogant, he’ll yeah!!!! But nasty? NEVER!!!!!
    :-D

• 722.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-705:
    “De Jongh got no passing skills…”

So, tell us what you think of his try scoring skills and of course his dancing skills. :lol:

• 723.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Province played their hearts out and were deserved winners.

The Sharks made sure that it was a massive contest. Bad luck to them. The sun will shine again.

But the lack of sorry sad sack sensitive saarks supporters sums this place up.

• 724.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

719.nama1 said:But I did get it I went with it subtletly I thought.You probably prefer a hammer to a scalpel? As for your proof your honour I am no archeoalogist and digging up dinosaur bones are not my thing. Still does not mean it did not happen.

• 725.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-722:

Blue and white.

BOOM!!!

• 726.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-721:
    More like in humble …never nasty…never arrogant.

We leave that for the Shark supporters with HG their choir leader.

• 727.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-725:

Once more.

BLUE AND WHITE!

BOOM!!

DYNAMITE! BOOM!

• 728.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

722.nama1: Very good line he run, solid defender and if his distributing skills were as good as his dancing he would have been a legend.Now his only a legend under the dark shadow of the mountain. Its just not that special.

• 729.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

726. Humble indeed..

BOOM!!!!!!

Pardon, it just slipped out. Where’s my manners
    ;-)

• 730.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-724:
    If you can’t prove what you alleged WP fans said, you look like a liar.

It’s not a good look.

Don’t tell lies just to make a point.

@I am a stormer-725:
    We are BLUE…
    We are WHITE
    We are ****** DYNAMITE…

BOOM!!!… :lol:

• 731.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

Goodnight all… I will be sleeping in my province jersey tonight :-)

Die Currie Cup Kom weer!!!!!!!!!!

Boooooooooooooooooooooom

• 732.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-731:

Nag ou grote. Sweet dreams!

• 733.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-728:
    Tell us about Lambie now.

did you see the tackle the “Vodacom cup fly half” made on him in the 80th minute? Who came out on top between the “Vodacom cup FH” and the “he-should’ve-been-Bok-FH-since-2010-already Lambie?”

A near Bok pack in front of him plus a “bolter” for the EOYT at SH compared to FIVE u/21 laaities in the pack with a green SH for the Greek.

Who, in your opinion, won that battle today?

• 734.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-731:

cheers GB… me too…
    cheers nama, IAAS…

enjoy…!!

• 735.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@nama1-720: Bugger 5 years. Imagine him at 31/32 when a prop is at the height of his powess!

Looks like the other boys are out against ol’ JdJ. SUCK IT UP! The midget’s all round game is magic! The modern Mannetjies le Rooux BOOM !

• 736.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

See ye boys! It’s been a great evening. Poor HG, BOOM!

• 737.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

730.nama1:What is the truth Nama but our own (and that mean you as well)skewed perception of it. (note to myself must keep notes in future) That blue and white nonsense you stole from heavens game? Is he your mentor? Sorry MickeyBrass no disrespect intended, just thought it was more informal.I am new here I am still learning the rules.Must give you WP supporters this, you get extremely optimistic very fast. Seems like when the glass is empty the glass is full? Win win.

• 738.nama1: Reply to this comment

Some of the things I said early on Friday night and Saturday morning.

471.nama1: Reply to this comment
    26 Oct 2012, 23:42 pm

@I am a stormer-466:
    It won’t be by “1? point bru, I can guarantee you that.

@cab-467:
    We don’t need Fleckie.
    Our laaities in the front row will hold their own against a NEAR Bok front row. (+WP)
    We’ll win the line outs. (+WP)
    Our back row will be competitive. (slightly + Sharks)
    Our half back pairing will outplay them (thanks to GROOM)
    Our centers will outplay them (thanks to JdJ)
    Our back three will outplay them. (thanks to Habana/Aplon)

The WP team will outplay them.

88.nama1: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 00:40 am

@I am a stormer-484:
    All you have to do, is to BELIEVE.

We’ll do it tomorrow.

BELIEVE it.

I already explained HOW.

THEY are the team under pressure.

489.nama1: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 00:42 am

@I am a stormer-486:
    Lekker slaap.

You won’t be able to sleep tomorrow night. That’s for sure. :smile:

493.nama1: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 01:21 am

WEEPEE going to win the Currie Cup this afternoon.

By 10.

510.nama1: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 10:15 am

Match ups to look forward to:

Jannie vs Kitshoff
    Bresler vs Etzebeth
    Keegan vs Vermeulen
    Reinach vs Groom
    Jordaan vs De Jongh
    JPP vs Habana

Mmmm………….liplekker!!!

End result: WP will win the CC.
    ——————————————————————————————
    Oh lord, it’s hard to be humble
    when you beat them in every way
    to know me, is to love me
    I must be a helluva man :lol:

This calls for a tripple KWV.

• 739.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Apparently Jaco Peyper was the big loser today as the sharks refused to give him his leather jacket .

• 740.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

733.nama1: I rate Lambie highly as a flyhalve not a fullback . One tackle here or there is not gonna change my opinion. The shark pack looked tyred to me even when they were dominating scrums. I had the feeling it was just a matter of time. The sharks were guilty of that old springbok mentality of not showing up when the going gets tough.You hardly ever get that from the all blacks.Today WP looked hungry, they played with freedom and they fought harder right through. The youngsters looked very good. I just wondered, what changed from that tyred boring outfit of superrugby.

• 741.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-731:
    Nag boet.

…en weer…en weer…en weer…

@jet jungle-737:
    “That blue and white nonsense you stole from heavens game?”

“I am new here I am still learning the rules.”

Ahhhh…I see. You’ve been reading the site for a while now but you are a 1st time blogger. :lol:

Where have I heard that one before? :lol:

Here’s a rule to remember: Don’t make up lies to make a point.

• 742.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-714: Tact will come out when Meyer announces his bulls laden bok team and try and justify it based on their U21 team that won the cup

• 743.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-740:
    Remember Fleck said it in an interview with this site. They realized that their defensive orientated approach of the S15 won’t win them any cups and therefor they were going to use the CC to work on a more attacking minded approach.

I’m sure we;ll see a different Stormer side next year.

• 744.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-738:

Mooi man. Baie mooi!

The manne had to BELIEVE in themselves.

• 745.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-742:
    :lol: :lol:

Meanwhile the WP u/21 won the CC. :wink:

• 746.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-744:
    That they did…that they did.

…and HOW!!!

• 747.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

741.nama1: Thats the truth Mr Nama,i have been following this site for a while,never blogged because I am sensitive but you know that saying about evil people prosper when good people do nothing? Well it seem that the balance of this site is tipping towards the dark side and the good are leaving in droves. I know you guys like to play with yourselves but is it really that much fun? Have to go now I have a lot of homework for monday.Enjoy it while it last.

• 748.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-738: eish Eben made Anton “he should be a Bok” Bresler his beeyatch! yoh

851. Puma said:
    21 Oct 2012, 21:12 pm

@sharks_lover-867: Bresler OUT PLAYED the Bok Locks from the Bulls. And that was in the wet conditions that we will be playing in NH coming up in two weeks time. If Meyer can’t appreciate that kind of player then really he can bugger off too. Why should Bresler then play that brainwashed up rugby for Meyer if he is not appreciated? Jeez time
    to wait for a new coach it seems
    that can see who is really the real deal in each position.

Bresler, Ludik and Keegan has been treated badly really.

eish

• 749.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-747: Good luck with your homework. Grade 7 can be quite challenging.

• 750.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

749.Richard Senormous: Dankie oom lyk my jy weet waarvan jy praat.

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 2022 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.