Potent Province power to glory

GARETH DUNCAN watched Western Province break their 11-year Currie Cup drought with a famous 25-18 final win over the Sharks at Kings Park.

Everyone loves an underdog story. And this match was one of the greats in South African domestic rugby.

The pre-match odds laid heavily in the Sharks’ favour. They had home-ground advantage, the strongest pack of the competition and the best team on paper, one loaded with Springboks. The Sharks had the confidence of beating the Stormers and WP four out of five fixtures earlier in the season, and they never lost to a South African team in Durban all year. The stats also proved they were the best attacking and defensive side of the Currie Cup.

However, what stats can’t measure is heart, mettle and determination. And WP, who were missing the likes of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker, Tiaan Liebenberg, Siya Kolisi and Schalk Burger, had bucket loads of this on the day.

The Sharks started off strongly and created several try-scoring opportunities, but they unraveled against a gritty WP outfit that failed to tire. The men from the Cape might have come off second best at the collisions and scrums for most parts of the match, but their breakdown assault, superior lineout efficiency and accurate tactical kicking game was crucial in their surprising triumph.

Man of the Match Deon Fourie was a star at openside flank, while Eben Etzebeth, Juan de Jongh and Demetri Catrakilis also deserve special mentions for their individual contributions in a top team performance.

But it took a while for the visitors’ ascendancy to emerge.

The opening quarter was dominated by the Sharks, who exposed the usually resilient Province defence on several occasions. Conversely, the hosts’ guard was resolute.

If it wasn’t for a sensational cover tackle from Bryan Habana, which denied opposite number JP Pietersen a clear run to the whitewash in the seventh minute, the Sharks would’ve held a comfortable lead.

However, Habana’s moment of defensive brilliance came with a sacrifice. The Springbok speedster struggled to gather to his feet after that hit and was taken off the field moments later because of a knee injury. Big blow for Province, and to those who were hoping to see more from the face-off between the two in-form wings.

While the Sharks were denied try opportunities, flyhalf Pat Lambie punished most of the penalties the visitors conceded. The 22-year-old found the target on four occasions to give the Sharks a 12-3 lead by the half-hour mark. Catrakilis nailed one three-pointer during this period.

Then came the unexpected Province fightback.

The biggest damage was done by Juan de Jongh, who executed a telling break shortly after Joe Pietersen’s 32nd-minute penalty.

From a scrum in centre field, the outside centre ran a perfect angle off Catrakilis to expose a gap in the Sharks’ defensive line. His explosiveness saw him beat three defenders in Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Lwazi Mvovo on his way to the chalk. Catrakilis converted.

The pivot also added his second penalty on the stroke of half-time, which saw WP lead 16-12 at the break.

The Sharks regained the ascendancy in the second stanza and jumped back into the lead thanks to Lambie’s fifth and sixth penalties.

But Catrakilis landed three vital shots at goal thereafter. First a penalty to regain the lead, which was their only reward after applying relentless pressure on attack against a solid Sharks defence in the opposition’s red zone. Then he nailed two drop goals to add to the buffer. The second drop goal was an important score as it forced the hosts to search for a converted try in order to level the scores.

The Sharks created late drama as Louis Ludik broke down the sideline during the closing stages, with Charl McLeod on his outside. He only had Pietersen to beat, but he passed the ball too early and the defender guessed right to tackle McLeod. The reserve scrumhalf then tried to offload to Lambie, but he lost the ball in contact.

The Sharks also won possession after the final hooter, but again, they lost the ball in contact – this time 10m from the tryline.

Province held on to complete an excellent victory. What an amazing underdog story.

1,055 Comments

Pages: « 111 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 2122 » Show All

• 751.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

This game today was a great specatacle of rugby for South Africa bearing in mind how many of the players from both teams could still qualify for the U/21′s. Take even those in the 22 to 24 year old bracket. That must be a huge up for Heyneke Meyer. Heyneke must now know by now which players he can work with.

Heyneke will very soon realise that the keep-the-vokkin-bal approach is the way to go and not the skop into the heavens approach will be the success of SA rugby.

Today has proved that he has the players to do just that.

• 752.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-750: Wow, did you come up with that all by yourself?

• 753.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

HG.

About that beer.

I’m available.

Don’t be a schoolgirl!

• 754.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Richard Senormous: Congratiolations Richard I thought that will go right over your head. You are now officially promoted to grade eight.

• 755.nama1: Reply to this comment

14.Hondo: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 17:12 pm

Min 12
    No2 for WP is on his 3rd faked tackle already?!

26.Hondo: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 17:19 pm

I like JP, intercepting the banana pass destined to the two tokens squatting for it on the overlap,,,

38.Hondo: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 17:27 pm

Aplon and DeJongh are busy today,,
    ——————————————————————————————————

Then he goes quiet only to return with this:

647.Hondo: Reply to this comment
    27 Oct 2012, 21:35 pm

Congrats WP!
    I scooped a sizable amount today by getting right both the winner and the margin!
    And special thanks for Peyper, what an elegant, classy swindler he is!
    No sympathy for the Sharks I am afraid who are guilty of:
    1. Letting Peyper doing his cheats unopposed :(
    2. For picking ‘Springbok’ Mvovo ;)

————————————————————————————————————
    Making a kondo of yourself again, Herr Hondo? :lol:

• 756.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-754: Well done. But if I wanted my own comeback I would have wiped it off your mom’s face last night.

• 757.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-747:
    Jy klink bekend met jou verskuilde boodskappies.

You are only fooling yourself, my son. No need to hide behind a new nic.

Sweet dreams.

@Transformation-748:
    What on earth was he thinking when he wrote that? :lol:

• 758.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Richard Senormous-756:
    No need to bring his mom into it.

Not nice.

• 759.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@nama1-758: Well, when you’re dealing with children….

• 760.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

757.nama1: enlighten me then who am I and Richard my mom is not from this dimension anymore,unless you mean man of the match witch iI think is Eben. Good luck with that. Or are you one of those perverted gravediggers.

• 761.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-760: Neither are mine, join the club.

• 762.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Richard Senormous-759:
    Just deal with the person.

Leave his family out of it.

• 763.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-760:
    Bring me the posts where WP supporters “belittled the Lions win last year” first.

• 764.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-760:

Eben could’ve been man of the match. But wasn’t.

Other than that you didn’t make much sense.

• 765.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

762.nama1 Thanks Nama i feel safe when you are around as for you richard you filthy boy a big car do not make up for you know what.:)

• 766.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-765:
    @Richard Senormous-759:

Scram both of you.

This is not a children’s playground.

People get hurt around here.

• 767.nama1: Reply to this comment

WESTERN PROVINCE
    Conference Cup Winners – check
    Vodacom Cup Champions – check
    U/19 Provincial Champions – check
    Currie Cup Champions – check

Blue Bulls
    Craven Week Champions – check
    U/21 Provincial Champions – check

Sharks
    Currie Cup Loser Finalist 2011 – check
    Super 15 Loser Finalist 2012 – check
    Currie Cup Loser Finalist 2012 – check

CHOKERS – check

Normal order has been restored. :wink:

Nighty night.

• 768.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@nama1-767:

Lekker slaap ou grote!

• 769.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-765: If I haven’t said it yet: Well done on another original comment.

• 770.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

766.I am a stormer: This is gonna hurt you. You are not a Stormer, you are merely a stormer supporter. That does mean you prefer agony to ecstacy but tonight i will give it to you. Your team played well and you deserved your victory against the odds. (jaco peyper to name the biggest) I enjoyed Wp rugby for the first time in a long while now if only my Bulls…..

• 771.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

769.Richard Senormous A metaphor on your nickname, another year in grade 7 for you and you fought it was clever.

• 772.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-770: What? You mean I am a Stormer is not really a Stormer? You mean to tell me that it’s just a nickname he’s given to himself? Please, please, please tell me you are indeed the real Jet Jungle. Otherwise my world is going to collapse.

• 773.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-771: Please refer to comment # 769

• 774.cab: Reply to this comment

How these tools can keep overlooking fourie after he turns out performance after performance completely beggars belief – theta rather lose than be wrong – here is a genuine match for Bismarck du plessis maar nee these okes have made up their mind – well ge ready for losses on the EOY tour – stupidity deserves what it gets.

As for de Jong how he has jot commanded a started Centre spot for the Boks over the last 2 years is positively criminal – he is by FAR the most attacking centre in south African rugby it’s not even close – this is is gdam pure colour blind and provincial stupidity preventing worldclass weapons like this from being selected for the Boks.

• 775.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

772.Richard Senormous I am the real Jet Jungle no illusions here

• 776.Richard Senormous: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-775: Oh thank dog. I was about to end it all.

• 777.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@assagai-651:

Sykes looked like Romney in a beer hall!

• 778.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@nama1-654:

Francois Bonthuys + RBHS = Jou lekker skool!

• 779.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Lyk my oom Richard het sy roes loop afslaap, hoop nie hy haal more sy babelaas hoofpyn op die tannie uit nie.

• 780.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Zille United 25 AFC Zuma 18

• 781.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Hard luck Sharks fans…
    Seems the better team on the day won.
    Good too see a few Sharks fans come on and have a blog about it, respect.
    As we know there will be one or two Sharks fans that have the reputation of talking a big game then dissapearing after it goes pear shape…….Hes Gone Missing…..once again.
    Well done to the WP, i have not watched the game yet, it was on delayed coverage on here in NZ at 4.00am. Well catch the replay.

• 782.The Experience: Reply to this comment

Yoh but a trophy feels good :D This performance against a very good Sharks team made those 11 years seem worth it! Still getting teary eyed even thinking about it. WP jou lekker ding!

• 783.whatever: Reply to this comment

Just watched final replay…………..BOOOOM!

Beauuuutiful, well done Province

To all those anti province shark supporting **** ends……..swivel china’s……

• 784.knormoer: Reply to this comment

BOOM!!

What was that?

The sound of the canister of Whoopass [tm]!

Did it work?

It does, but you gotta pull it outta your own *** first.

• 785.knormoer: Reply to this comment

congrats WP peoples – you deserved this.

never underestimate the underdog…

• 786.knormoer: Reply to this comment

We are Black

• 787.knormoer: Reply to this comment

we are white

• 788.knormoer: Reply to this comment

we can like to be

• 789.knormoer: Reply to this comment

pretty fkn shite…

FTFY.

• 790.Rage: Reply to this comment

Richard,jet shoes….wie de fok is die ouens????

• 791.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 780 well said

• 792.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Rage-791:

For sure, ANC KZN:

Let them eat k@k

• 793.Fern: Reply to this comment

Well done province on the win,you were the better side on the day.
    As for me,I am a Sharks supporter all the way.
    Atleast the bulls did not win:-)

• 794.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

790.Rage : Welcome welcome is jy ook nuut hier?

• 795.David: Reply to this comment

Divans first choice record on the radio the morning after 1986 CC final:

“Oh Lord, it’s so hard to be humble”. :lol:

• 796.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Durban was special. We partyied late into the night a The Roman Lounge. The Indian girls are so beautiful. I feel humbled buy the hosptalty. I made so many friends. Thank you Durbs. Breakfast in Toti – then on to the Kei for kreef. Life is so good without Haire Gate (haregat)

• 797.Fern: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-796:
    I googled that club,see itis a g ay bar.
    ofcourse indian girls are beautifull,thats why my gf is indian
    you bent little butterfly

• 798.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Fern-797:

Very Bent this morning. Durban is Poison :)

• 799.Fern: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-798:
    wow your side won and you had a blowbang bukake
    congrats,now feck off

• 800.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Really lovely morning here in Cape Town.

The ocean air seems even sweeter.

Pages: « 111 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 2122 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.