Potent Province power to glory

GARETH DUNCAN watched Western Province break their 11-year Currie Cup drought with a famous 25-18 final win over the Sharks at Kings Park.

Everyone loves an underdog story. And this match was one of the greats in South African domestic rugby.

The pre-match odds laid heavily in the Sharks’ favour. They had home-ground advantage, the strongest pack of the competition and the best team on paper, one loaded with Springboks. The Sharks had the confidence of beating the Stormers and WP four out of five fixtures earlier in the season, and they never lost to a South African team in Durban all year. The stats also proved they were the best attacking and defensive side of the Currie Cup.

However, what stats can’t measure is heart, mettle and determination. And WP, who were missing the likes of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker, Tiaan Liebenberg, Siya Kolisi and Schalk Burger, had bucket loads of this on the day.

The Sharks started off strongly and created several try-scoring opportunities, but they unraveled against a gritty WP outfit that failed to tire. The men from the Cape might have come off second best at the collisions and scrums for most parts of the match, but their breakdown assault, superior lineout efficiency and accurate tactical kicking game was crucial in their surprising triumph.

Man of the Match Deon Fourie was a star at openside flank, while Eben Etzebeth, Juan de Jongh and Demetri Catrakilis also deserve special mentions for their individual contributions in a top team performance.

But it took a while for the visitors’ ascendancy to emerge.

The opening quarter was dominated by the Sharks, who exposed the usually resilient Province defence on several occasions. Conversely, the hosts’ guard was resolute.

If it wasn’t for a sensational cover tackle from Bryan Habana, which denied opposite number JP Pietersen a clear run to the whitewash in the seventh minute, the Sharks would’ve held a comfortable lead.

However, Habana’s moment of defensive brilliance came with a sacrifice. The Springbok speedster struggled to gather to his feet after that hit and was taken off the field moments later because of a knee injury. Big blow for Province, and to those who were hoping to see more from the face-off between the two in-form wings.

While the Sharks were denied try opportunities, flyhalf Pat Lambie punished most of the penalties the visitors conceded. The 22-year-old found the target on four occasions to give the Sharks a 12-3 lead by the half-hour mark. Catrakilis nailed one three-pointer during this period.

Then came the unexpected Province fightback.

The biggest damage was done by Juan de Jongh, who executed a telling break shortly after Joe Pietersen’s 32nd-minute penalty.

From a scrum in centre field, the outside centre ran a perfect angle off Catrakilis to expose a gap in the Sharks’ defensive line. His explosiveness saw him beat three defenders in Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Lwazi Mvovo on his way to the chalk. Catrakilis converted.

The pivot also added his second penalty on the stroke of half-time, which saw WP lead 16-12 at the break.

The Sharks regained the ascendancy in the second stanza and jumped back into the lead thanks to Lambie’s fifth and sixth penalties.

But Catrakilis landed three vital shots at goal thereafter. First a penalty to regain the lead, which was their only reward after applying relentless pressure on attack against a solid Sharks defence in the opposition’s red zone. Then he nailed two drop goals to add to the buffer. The second drop goal was an important score as it forced the hosts to search for a converted try in order to level the scores.

The Sharks created late drama as Louis Ludik broke down the sideline during the closing stages, with Charl McLeod on his outside. He only had Pietersen to beat, but he passed the ball too early and the defender guessed right to tackle McLeod. The reserve scrumhalf then tried to offload to Lambie, but he lost the ball in contact.

The Sharks also won possession after the final hooter, but again, they lost the ball in contact – this time 10m from the tryline.

Province held on to complete an excellent victory. What an amazing underdog story.

1,055 Comments

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 » Show All

• 851.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-847: The “problem” with the WPRI is that they have 50 U/19 players during a season of whom most are contracted by Province. Next year 15 guys will stay on. This means that they will be able to take in “only” 35 new U/19 players. Province contracted a couple of players that are not from Province and therefore there is room for more or less 25 to 30 “locals”. Jacques wants the university to identify more or less 20 promising players who could join the players at the WPRI for the first couple of months. By doing that they should be able to perhaps contract a few players to supplement the 35 already accepted. However, somebody will have to work through all the application forms of first year students. It seems that they are bit reluctant to do that. His idea is to place the 20 players at a res close to the facilites of the WPRI. Therefore they can join the squad for early morning practices as well late afternoons for the first couple of months.
    Recently it was announced that the university and WPRI came to an agreement that Jacques H will be “allowed” to coach the forwards of the Maties in the next Varsity Cup

• 852.David: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-843:
    @CharlesM-845:

I remember Rassie stating that his main job as DOR was to set up the structures and ensure consistency and communication between all levels of WP rugby, especially the youth systems.

• 853.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-851: The 15 guys that will stay on at the WPRI will then be enrolled as students at the varsity during 2013.

• 854.David: Reply to this comment

@David-852:
    843 should have been 844.

• 855.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-851: Thanks for the incredible insight!
    Maties finally seen the light :) That can only bode well…..very well.
    As long as fellas like that are running the show, things are only going to get better.

(Now to keep the grubby Pretoria paws away……whole new problem that ;)

• 856.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-855: What I’m hoping will happen is that Jacques will convince the varsity to “buy” into his plan about the 20 young players as mentioned above. The thing about Jacques is he only cares about the game and to develop young players – no hidden agendas etc. He has vast experience and knows a lot of influential people. He knows Mike Cron, the Kiwi scrum coach very well and according to him they’ve spent hours together discussing scrums only !!

• 857.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-856:

Ek is bly om te **** dat goeie rugbymanne dinge beheer.

Jy was mos ook in Dagbreek, of hoe?

• 858.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Hope Siya celebrated too ………

• 859.cane: Reply to this comment

Congratulations WP.

Commiserations to the Sharkie supporters.
    Specially the vanquished.

• 860.Dawn: Reply to this comment

****?

Try hoer

• 861.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@cane-859: Cheers Cane.

• 862.RL: Reply to this comment

Cobgratulations province for a well deserved gutsy win – it was long over due and to do it with a B team … amazing stuff.

Estebeth SA player of the year. Province and Stormers teams of the year. The mediocre AC coach of the year. Exiled guppy bloggers arrogant windgat trolls of the year. Nikita blogger of the year, runners up Bakkies and dog food.

Celebrate my brokebacks, celebrate and shout proooooooovince!

• 863.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Joanne blogger of the year??????

• 864.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

850. The ‘step’ to the right was actually thanks to Keegan Daniels face which made it even sweeter :-)

• 865.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-863:

I think the Shark Supporters copped out so that they didn’t have to come online to congratulate the Province Dudes and Dolls… Their excuse was nothing less than they do and say… Only my opinion anyways…

• 866.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

Hi Charles!! We’re you at the game last night. Hope the hangover is good. My head is killing me, but for some reason I seem to remember every highlight of the game. Even trying out the funny little dance. :-D

• 867.papaown: Reply to this comment

@RL-862: I think there were 2 instances where AC’s decisions altered WP’s fortune’s a lot which he isn’t getting credit.

Bringing on Schreuder for the Greek against the Lions was inspired and proved the difference.

Dropping Brache for De Allande, who didn’t offer much for me on the day, had the Sharks targeting De Allande and Van der Heerver on defence most part of the game which aloud JdJ the licence to attack, score and make the breaks he did.

It was almost like selecting SBW and using him primarily as a focal point of the Sharks defence allowing gaps for other players.

Very impressive!

• 868.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hangover from Hell I tell you….

Dont even want to imagine the party if Stormers win the Superrugby.

I need a drip or something.

Happiest and proudest oke on the planet…..contemplating going through to airport, hear the boys get home at 11 am….

• 869.mopingshark: Reply to this comment

Congrats to WeePee supporters. Ref favoured us and the score could have been bigger.

Was at the game and saw a girl with Eben who looks like the girl in the picture on this site. We never deserved winning this. Enjoy the celebrations.

• 870.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

869. Thanks moping. There has to be a winner. Good thing is that SA has a solid core of players to choose from for the next few years.

• 871.ufo: Reply to this comment

Morning all on this bright and breezy Cape Town morning…!

Nothing like the smell of victory in the morning…!! :wink: :lol:

Final time once again… Very proud of the Team… And of AC… and the managers…

Tough luck Sharks and their supporters… still a helluva team and gonna be a force next year for sure…

Cheers Charo…

a little bit of fun if I may…?

It’s astounding, time is fleeting
    11 years… takes its toll
    But listen closely, not for very much longer
    We’ve got to keep control…

D’you remember doing the Time Warp?
    Drinking to faded glory?
    The Blackness would hit us and their voices all calling
    When will you win the Cup again…?
    When will you win the Cup again!?

Then…
    … just a jink to the left
    And then a step to the right
    With a swing of his hips
    And a hand-off with bite…
    But it’s his pelvic thrust that really drives them insane,
    Juan does the Gangnam again!

• 872.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-863:

Knockers of the year maybe.

Puma is Poster of the year.

• 873.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ufo-871:

Mooi man. Baie mooi.

• 874.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@cane-872:

Don’t mention pollution!

Nikita farted and cleared the room.

• 875.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@ufo-871: Great to have you back sir!

• 876.cane: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-874:

LOL,

Did she ever.

Hardly
    a
    Sharkie
    left
    standing.

• 877.ufo: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-873:

:wink: cheers…

@Bagel-875:

Thanks Bud… couldn’t ignore our first victory since the creation of keo…!!

• 878.RL: Reply to this comment

@papaown-867: finally AC knows what it is like to win a cup – now go on and win the superrugby trophy not the little trinket look-alike. :wink:

• 879.cane: Reply to this comment

Other breaking News from around the Globe!!!!!

Buller defeat South Canterbury to win the Lochore Cup.

• 880.Bagel: Reply to this comment

To my WP brothers, eish what can I say? I only wish I didn’t have an exam tomorrow and could have enjoyed it with a beer in each hand!

As a huge Juan fan I’ve been bleak with his performance this year, but then to pull that out the hat… Unbelievable. Man of the Match for me. The Sharks almost exploited the overlap brilliantly on a number of times only for Juan to cut them down!

Little Scara I would start you over Tiaan anyday.

Eben you will get 150 Bok caps!

Deon you’re a hero.

Allistair well deserved, couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy, now go get us Elton and the S15 trophy!

Commiserations to certain Shark fans, a phenomenal team that I suspect had no idea WP would play so well.

So much depth in SA, now it’s up to Heineken to end our year with a BOOM! :D

• 881.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-868: congrats boet…

• 882.cane: Reply to this comment

Dreaming of Ignacious?

• 883.cane: Reply to this comment

I do hope the WeePees and their Lackeys will be gracious Victors.

I’m sure the Sharkievarkies would have been.

• 884.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@cane-883:

You make a number of false assumptions there.

I believe most WP supporters were gracious in their comments after the match.

• 885.cane: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-884:

Glade to hear it WP.
    I have not read earlier comments on the thread.

• 886.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo-871: That fits perfectly with Juan De Jongh’s moment of glory..

Just a jump to the left

And a step to the right….

A hand to the face…….

And lift those knees and fly……..

(and then the celebration)

It’s just the pelvic thruuuuust

That really drives you insaaaaaane……

• 887.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@cane-859:
    Cheers Cane. This win is similar to with the way I felt after the Dunedin win in 2008.

• 888.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Well done SA – winning the Hong Kong sixes. What a match…

Howzit Cane…

• 889.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@cane-885:

All of us are just savouring the moment right now. It has been a long time.

And Province/Stormers supporters are always quick to compliment the other team when we are the wrong side of the scoreboard. You know that.

Haven’t seen too many sharkievarkies around. Expect for Charo.

• 890.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-889:

Except not expect. Blame it on the beer.

• 891.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

So the Bulls are the only other SA team that was able to bag any silverware this year: the U21 CC

We got:

The Super rugby Conference trophy (yes)
    The Vodacom Cup
    The U19 CC
    The Currie Cup.

Others will say that the Conference trophy is not important, until they win it, the wait and see……

• 892.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-889:

For sure!

• 893.cane: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-887:

Was that the Enrico January lucky bonce win?

• 894.cane: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-888:

Well done.

• 895.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-886:

absolutely…!!!

• 896.Fern: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-889:
    I congratulated your side earlier.

• 897.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@cane-894:

:lol: Okey

• 898.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-888:

Missed that totally. Great stuff.

Now we have to get behind the Highveld Lions this afternoon. The weather looks good at the moment. The Wanderers will be bursting at the seams.

• 899.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@cane-893:
    Cane, I told you before he backed himself and went for the gap under immense pressure.
    But yesterday’s win was big for WP supporters and will be remember for a long time.

• 900.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-898:

Prize giving now on SS206…

Yeah can’t wait. Was going but too tired after yesterday…

Pages: « 112 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.