Potent Province power to glory
27 Oct 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched Western Province break their 11-year Currie Cup drought with a famous 25-18 final win over the Sharks at Kings Park.
Everyone loves an underdog story. And this match was one of the greats in South African domestic rugby.
The pre-match odds laid heavily in the Sharks’ favour. They had home-ground advantage, the strongest pack of the competition and the best team on paper, one loaded with Springboks. The Sharks had the confidence of beating the Stormers and WP four out of five fixtures earlier in the season, and they never lost to a South African team in Durban all year. The stats also proved they were the best attacking and defensive side of the Currie Cup.
However, what stats can’t measure is heart, mettle and determination. And WP, who were missing the likes of Jean de Villiers, Andries Bekker, Tiaan Liebenberg, Siya Kolisi and Schalk Burger, had bucket loads of this on the day.
The Sharks started off strongly and created several try-scoring opportunities, but they unraveled against a gritty WP outfit that failed to tire. The men from the Cape might have come off second best at the collisions and scrums for most parts of the match, but their breakdown assault, superior lineout efficiency and accurate tactical kicking game was crucial in their surprising triumph.
Man of the Match Deon Fourie was a star at openside flank, while Eben Etzebeth, Juan de Jongh and Demetri Catrakilis also deserve special mentions for their individual contributions in a top team performance.
But it took a while for the visitors’ ascendancy to emerge.
The opening quarter was dominated by the Sharks, who exposed the usually resilient Province defence on several occasions. Conversely, the hosts’ guard was resolute.
If it wasn’t for a sensational cover tackle from Bryan Habana, which denied opposite number JP Pietersen a clear run to the whitewash in the seventh minute, the Sharks would’ve held a comfortable lead.
However, Habana’s moment of defensive brilliance came with a sacrifice. The Springbok speedster struggled to gather to his feet after that hit and was taken off the field moments later because of a knee injury. Big blow for Province, and to those who were hoping to see more from the face-off between the two in-form wings.
While the Sharks were denied try opportunities, flyhalf Pat Lambie punished most of the penalties the visitors conceded. The 22-year-old found the target on four occasions to give the Sharks a 12-3 lead by the half-hour mark. Catrakilis nailed one three-pointer during this period.
Then came the unexpected Province fightback.
The biggest damage was done by Juan de Jongh, who executed a telling break shortly after Joe Pietersen’s 32nd-minute penalty.
From a scrum in centre field, the outside centre ran a perfect angle off Catrakilis to expose a gap in the Sharks’ defensive line. His explosiveness saw him beat three defenders in Keegan Daniel, Marcell Coetzee and Lwazi Mvovo on his way to the chalk. Catrakilis converted.
The pivot also added his second penalty on the stroke of half-time, which saw WP lead 16-12 at the break.
The Sharks regained the ascendancy in the second stanza and jumped back into the lead thanks to Lambie’s fifth and sixth penalties.
But Catrakilis landed three vital shots at goal thereafter. First a penalty to regain the lead, which was their only reward after applying relentless pressure on attack against a solid Sharks defence in the opposition’s red zone. Then he nailed two drop goals to add to the buffer. The second drop goal was an important score as it forced the hosts to search for a converted try in order to level the scores.
The Sharks created late drama as Louis Ludik broke down the sideline during the closing stages, with Charl McLeod on his outside. He only had Pietersen to beat, but he passed the ball too early and the defender guessed right to tackle McLeod. The reserve scrumhalf then tried to offload to Lambie, but he lost the ball in contact.
The Sharks also won possession after the final hooter, but again, they lost the ball in contact – this time 10m from the tryline.
Province held on to complete an excellent victory. What an amazing underdog story.

1,055 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 22 » Show All
27 Oct 2012, 18:46 pm
Wow, this site is going to be truly unbearable now.
27 Oct 2012, 18:46 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-243: Without a doubt.
WP managed to get on top of the Sharks scrum which was impressive.
Eben was immense. JdJ outstanding.
27 Oct 2012, 18:47 pm
WEEEPEEE FOREVER
Il echo that.BOOM.where is heavens game?
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOO
De Jongh, Catrakilis, Etzebeth, Ntubeni and D Fourie exceptional
Well done boys
well done wp
played a great game
Gangnnam everyone
27 Oct 2012, 18:48 pm
it seems like wp/stormers can only win when they are the underdogs.
Congratulations.
plum, u thought u have learned from 2011′s mistakes. u did not.
alberts, mvovo, burden and sykes did nothing today.
What bliss this site will be without HG and the like bleeting about a boom here and a pop there.
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@mikeybrass-252:
well done on your teams win, boet
What now varkies? Catrakilis the new world beating 10?
@grant10-246:
Congrats mate…. Your u21 pack, outstanding!
@CoachPete-253:
I’m right here!
What a game! The Greek God of Sniping!
Well done province, great game, better on the day and deserved their victory. For us Sharks, thats the way the boerie bends, but proud of the boys. This sharks side will grow, learn and become better.
27 Oct 2012, 18:49 pm
Ek is so vokken trots op die manne.skote petoors!
Hey Skoppie, the Greek came through
@mikeybrass-245:
Quite honestly, I didn’t think our youngsters could do it either. Poor JdeV, not being there after so long.
@kaksioek-251: Give them their dues and take the medicine like a man. It’s a 11 years constipation that has to be released now. And we’ve given them their share of grief. Its their chance now – and well done WP for giving your fans something – finally !
Lambie played fantastic today…his pack disappeared, however.
Lambie should be Bok flyhalf, in my opinion…
27 Oct 2012, 18:50 pm
I HAVE WAITED ELEVEN FARKEN YEARS FOR THIS…BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
WP JOU LEKKER DING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Brendope-267: SA rugby is in good hands with the Sharks and WP. Ref aside, who was disgusting, there was great promise shown by both sides.
Sharks and WP will be our dominant sides for the next couple of years.
When the going got tough, Lambie didn’t get going…
BOOM Sharks supports have left the building
Ohhhhhhhh yeeeeeaaaaaah!
No more No Cups Coetzee jokes!
Great game, Currie Cup still has the magic!
@phil72-264: He looked very good today. He must just put a few of those performances together in a row and he will be here. From Varsity Cup two years or so ago to Springbok. Imagine !
27 Oct 2012, 18:51 pm
No more farken kak empty cabinet jokes!
WP FOR LIFE!!!!!!!
The Greek made Skop look silly. Bitter-sweet win for him.
11 Years. Now that “when has WP last won a trophy “line is farken right outta here . What a performance.
All afternoon I was saying that Pietersen was not built for tight games and always took the wrong decision although I take my hat off to him for that take and he kicked a long range kick. Well done.
27 Oct 2012, 18:52 pm
@CoachPete-276: Nope.
@WP-Forever-266:
Yeah I see that
Gongrats WP! Take a bow Etzebeth, Fourie and Catrakilis
11 years of heart ache now for the super 15 prooooooovince!
WOW WOW WOW…!!
And a massive ***AIR PUNCH***…!!!
Congratulations Western Province…!!
Very very very proud of the way the team played tonight and through a very difficult season and year!!
Commiserations to all the Sharks fans… Charo, Puma, Ranger, SharksGirl, Ryecatcher, Mr Black, SharksLover and everyone else.… your team has been the best of the season and the one to beat all season… and Province finally put one over the Sharks today…!!
Well done again Province players…
And awesome job to Allister, Jacque, Matthew and Robbie…
Heaven’s Game: “Who’se Your Daddy?”
BOOM
@Dusky-271: Ja, no, well, fine.
27 Oct 2012, 18:53 pm
Cracker game of rugby. Truly awesome final.
Congrats Province, enjoy the win. Its an amazing feeling when u win this thing after such a long time. Believe me.
WP jou lekka ding
Enjoy this loss Sharks fans, the ref kept you in the game
@wp_boytjie-281: Feels good ey ?
Sharks fans know….
“the rain is certainly coming down raining on the sharks parade” – joel stranky
@kaksioek-251:
Listening to the Sharkies, it’s been unbearable for the last week. As they say, “Hope makes a poor supper, but a good breakfast”!
Ja. Keegan. Thank Peyper. He worked hard.
Heavens game just went Jehova.
yes revenge is sweet we didn’t forget the super 15 semi
Rugby was the winner today. Either side could have won it but wow, Province, what a performance! What a high-intensity match in difficult conditions! Great advert for SA Rugby.
You beat us 4times in a row you serial Finals Chokers,WE HAD THE LAST LAUGH!!!!!!!!!!!WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE PEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
WP jou lekka Ding!!!Haaaa haaaaa haaaaaaaaa
WP WP WP WP WP WP
27 Oct 2012, 18:54 pm
@ufo-287: yooo hooo
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 … 22 » Show All