Collective will won it for WP

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day newspaper column, says Western Province lifted the Currie Cup in Durban because they played as a team.

World Cup-winning coach Jake White was often quoted as saying the 15 best players don’t necessarily make for the best XV. Rugby, White argued, was a team game and he viewed the team as a collective.

Western Province, in beating the Sharks in the Currie Cup final in Durban, won it with a team effort. Individuals were inspirational, but it was the collective will of the team that saw them overturn a 12-3 deficit to win the title for the first time in 11 years.

Springbok and Bulls legend Victor Matfield, in summary of Province’s last minute semi-final win against the Lions a week earlier, suggested the 20m rolling maul was massive in the context of the team dynamic and that it could finally see Province turn individual potential into team reward.

There has always been a feeling among players up north that the delights of playing for Western Province (and the Stormers in Super Rugby) give players a celebrity like status in Cape Town and that the individual often stands taller than any team collective.

Brilliant individuals played for Province and the Stormers in the last decade but as a team they always fell short of success in the Currie Cup and Super Rugby. Something always seemed to be missing and Matfield felt the way this Province team worked for the win against the Lions and the way eight forwards worked in unison and refused to be beaten in the last minute of the game was something he had not seen from a Province team.

Just maybe, said Matfield, this is the start of something special.

Just maybe it is because the semi-final was not won on individual brilliance and neither was the final. Sure there inspiring individual performances, especially from lock Eben Etzebeth, but the most inspiring aspect was how the players believed in each other and played with the cohesion of players who believed that to win it they had to believe in the qualities of their team-mates.

Province were underdogs and not expected to win so they also had an advantage in that there wasn’t expectation. It does make a final easier when so few anticipate victory, even if so many hope for the victory.

The Sharks were expected to win. Their match 22 had superior pedigree. They demolished the Bulls in the semi-final and they were playing at home.

Their players also expected to win and if anything mentally they didn’t give the final the necessary respect. They will dispute this but they played like a team who believed the opposition wasn’t good enough to win. I’d argue their focus was wrongly on who they were playing instead of the fact that they were playing in a final.

The intensity and edge needed to compete and win a final wasn’t there from the Sharks. All the edge came from the visitors.

Supporters will ask how is it possible not to pitch for a final? It’s certainly not through a lack of desire. Experienced coaches always warn of the danger of players being too hyped in their preparation and mentally playing the game in the week and being drained come match day. This wasn’t one of those occasions because there wouldn’t have been doubt within the Sharks camp that they could be successful.

The Sharks coaches would have feared complacency, but no matter the caution a player has to believe he could lose if he is to ensure he doesn’t. I just don’t think it ever occurred to the Sharks players they could lose and sport continues to produces finals in which the overwhelming favourites get done in a one-off because the desire to win is not matched by the fear of potentially losing.

The better team on the day won and it’s hard to argue with a result that goes to the team that gets it right. Province got it right in the final. They deserve every ovation for the performance.

I also think Bok coach Heyneke Meyer and his selectors deserve applause for being bold enough to select London-based Saracens hooker Schalk Brits in the Bok squad.

It sends a positive message that if you play well enough you will get selected, regardless of where you are based or how old you are.

Brits has played well enough, especially in the last two seasons.  Equally so the Toulouse-based former Bulls prop Gurthro Steenkamp, who is another deserving national call-up.

659 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 » Show All

• 501.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-462: :) Even scarier than that…..is the one open mouthed guppie on that site who on the “Injury concerns for Meyer” thread, suggested that Louw’s injury is no great loss, and that Marcell Coetzee can ‘fetch’ along with any of Keegan Daniel, Jaques Botes and Jean Deysel – this oke reckons one of them can be called up no problems. ****didhenotwatchthefuckingCCfinalonSaturday?****

He did mention Deon Fourie, Justin Downey and Marnus Schoeman rather begrudgingly as well….

That guppie site does my mind in. The only tribute site on the interweb that is AS shmuchy, sickly sweet, one eyed, adoring and totally beyond the delusional in nature can be found at:http://bieberfever.com/

• 502.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

Our thoughts and prayers with all Americans in the path of Sandy.

• 503.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-501: yep, to my knowledge, the only sharkie that can claim to be a fetcher with a straight face is Bissie, and he hasn’t been particularly great at it of late.

• 504.katman: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-491: You mean the Kings? They’re not even a seagull team (white with black wings), they’re a full blown albino chicken.

• 505.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-502:
    Wonder !f Ph!lly !s !n !ts path.

Sterke ET.

• 506.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-505:

Philly is in its path.

Gracias. MOT

• 507.katman: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-479: This sabbatical from Super Rugby is going to be an interesting journey for the Lions. But I see it as similar to a year in a monastery with plenty soul searching and growth. And when we return we will be like those monks that do kickass kung fu. Be warned.

Also, one doesn’t just join WP because you live here. There’s far more to supporting a team. Besides, historically Capetonians are the people in SA who have never left their backyard. They don’t know anything else. At least the Cheetahs folk trekked as far as Bloem, and the rest of us have an even richer history of discovery and, therefore, choice. My people spread across the country, and I completed the circle by ending up back here.

• 508.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@katman-507: :-D

• 509.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-505:

That hurricane is going to take one look at extraball and run for the hills.

• 510.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-507:

Ah yes completed the circle.

But did you make it beega?

• 511.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-510: Sounds like the guy at Edgars when Thelo tried to exchange a pair of chinos.

• 512.W.P: Reply to this comment

Katman you’re fighting a losing battle. Peyper was poor. He blew a k@k game. End of story. Move along…….

• 513.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@katman-507:
    So what you’re saying is you’ve come home to Mama!
    Welcome my son.

Just for info: I grew up and lived in Jhb until age 23. Then 3 years backpacking, then moved to CT. Have always had family here. Have always felt half CT, half Jhb. Decision was easy to support WP – I wanted to go to a match every weekend.

• 514.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-513:
    That triggered a line or 2:

Welcome my son. Welcome, to the machine! (WP)

• 515.Stawm: Reply to this comment

The question remains though:

Did WP really play that well, or, as Detritus puts it, were the Sharks that bad.
    Apparently, WP/Stormers havent really won too many games in the last few years, the other teams have simply played badly, or didnt have all their A players etc.
    So says Tacitus.

• 516.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-510: gayton on metrofm talk later @ to “set the record straight on how he is able to make these deals happen”

did you see this?

http://m.lockerz.com/s/256652375

• 517.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@katman-507:

I know exactly what you’re saying.. Living in jozi doesn’t make you a Lions supporter.

Ellis and Loftus feel like home.

• 518.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

KEO’s on the snarf, Eastern hookers on the menu. Gunther talking a big game but his stats pale in comparison to KEO.

• 519.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

So keo and Gavin Rich both stuck their necks out and said the Sharks would win the Currie Cup.

Now Gavin Rich has stuck his neck out even further by saying that the Sharks will win the Super 15 next year.

I’ll be following developments very closely.

Each and every week.

• 520.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

If Ryan is running at 30 odd percent KEO’s stats must be worse then funny guy’s.

• 521.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I’ve left my backyard

In fact many Capetonians have

• 522.grant10: Reply to this comment

A Strauss fit to tour…..still waiting news on Flo

• 523.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-519: well this is nothing new mate…

http://keo.co.za/2009/02/12/sharks-will-fly-sa-flag/

• 524.wnbb: Reply to this comment

katman is net n lekker ou suurgat.sy kuk span het dit nie gemaak nie nou en gaan ook nie super rugby speel nie .

• 525.katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-521: Kuils River doesn’t count.

• 526.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-516:

Ja.

I also want to know how a convicted bank robber gets in on mining details.

• 527.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-519: The Sharks, on balance, are an outstanding side and John Plumtree commands respect as a coach because his actions say much
    more than his words. Some coaches talk a
    great game, while Plumtree is from the
    school that prefers others to do the talking
    based on achievement of the team.

I’ve never liked the Sharks because I’ve
    never liked Durban and Durban has never
    liked me. There is no mountain and there is
    no loyalty from their rugby supporters
    when times are tough.

You only have to do a check on crowd attendance in a poor season and compare it to when the Sharks are competing for a home semi-final. At
    least down in Mountain Goat country 35 000 still come out whether the Stormers are
    playing for the wooden spoon or missing
    out on a semi-final by points differential.

But because I don’t like the Sharks doesn’t
    mean I’m not picking them to be the best of
    the South African sides. Of course they are
    but to win the competition they have to be
    hosting a semi-final.

Can they do it? To quote someone familiar with the Durbanites, there’s the lovely line of Bob
    the Builder … ‘Yes we can!’

• 528.Dawn: Reply to this comment

In fact katman you are sounding more and more like those homophobic Shark trolls who are twisted with hatred for anything with “Cape” in it.

And don’t worry I may not always comment but I read every fecking thing.

• 529.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-521:

I thought you lived in a penthouse?

• 530.katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-528: Liefling, kan ons nie net vergeet en vergewe?

• 531.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Funny guy give us your stats so we can gauge how good your chat really is.

• 532.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-523:

Interesting.

@Transformation-527:

Very intersting.

If Durban can’t fill out for a CC final or a Bok test, then god help us.

The guppies musn’t complain when they lose out on the test roster. And that goes for Bloem as well.

They’ve had their opportunities.

• 533.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-519: Flip boet, to be honest i was also one of the koosies who never gave WP a chance. But honestly and not cos we lost, i was a little uneasy when Plum had promoted the senior players to the starting line up for the final, felt very much like dejavu. Still i thought, this cant be history repeating itself, surely this time it will be different :-(

• 534.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-518: Don’t worry about him.He is a bigger loser than Keo.He is more of a comedian on here than commenting on rugby related matters.Keo at least have a real interest in rugby.

• 535.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-534:

<10

• 536.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-532: Bloem is a gonner and KP will follow suit.What do you think about the possible move to CT stadium in 2014?Will the faithful still go in their numbers?

• 537.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-526: gayton is sooooo emotional throwing up red herrings.

hahaha it’s HOT in that studio

• 538.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-533: Sorry Bokke.Two finals defeats in one season?Eish

• 539.Transformation: Reply to this comment

gayton says he is a “facilitator” , ashwin willemse was also a “consultant” for gayton & was a member of the invictus group.

• 540.assagai: Reply to this comment

this little fakefuck pseudo enlightened little katmankunty piepiejoller really does reckon he’s the bees knees of worldly wise fckfaces round here don’t he just?

Little fakefuck was so embittered and forlorn because WP actually stuffed his last hopeful wish and prayer upside down.. he after all didn’t mince any opinionated self infatuated pseudo arsed wisdom when he was so absolutely rugby wise convinced that WP didn’t stand a chance in hell.. what was his bold prediction Sharks by 10 or 15 or some such hopeful wishes and prayers…like about 95% of the rest of the rugby ‘kenner’ establishment around these parts.. least of all these great screw up scribes like Mark Keohane and Gavin Rich and the like…

between this little runtycunty katmankunty and some his like minded two faced brethren…. as for example that other snide little two face punk who goes by name ExcruciatingTwatface or ET for short.. who supposedly lives in Cape Town .. just like the fakefuck katmankunty does… but was busy baying with all his breathless might for a Sharkshit win when little Lambiekins had kicked them in front by 12 – 3 thanks to the inspiring home town arsecreeping by the one eyed referee… only to soon disappear like a puff of wispy smoke up his own fakefuck arsehole when WP turned the tables upside down… little fakefck schmucks combined.

• 541.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

We came, We Saw, We conquered.

• 542.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@assagai-540: you are all making his assertions seem relevant by losing your s.hit instead of just basking in the glory your team has afforded you.

you think the team cares if peyper was seen to be pro-sharks?

you need to recall that the likes of xhosakid were vociferous last year that the lions currie cup win should be devalued because of the absence of boks for world cup…

ebb & flow of banter…

• 543.gunther: Reply to this comment

What stats do you want my little Albanian nanny goat?

• 544.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-537:

Smokescreen.

I wonder of he had a cell near Capo.

• 545.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

You talk the big game, how many have you done give or take 20?

• 546.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-497:
    bresler was put back in school in the lineouts.
    his report card looked worse than joolias’ woodwork results.
    not a good look.

@katman-470:
    look, from a neutral point of view (ek het vir die sharks geskree) i felt most of the kak calls went against wp and in favour of the sharks on saturday.

granted, it was not as if he changed the rules of the game on the fly like lawrence did the week before but fokkit he sure did his worst in making his decisions.

defininetly went in favour of the sharks and on any other day, like the week before, a different team with a different mindset (like the week before) would have lost their spirit due to such decisions.

lets just say they are not the best of our reffing bunch. thankfully mark has accepted he is too kaka to often. peyper on the other hand must pull his safari kouse right the fark up.

• 547.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-533:

No-one gave Province a chance. I had ny doubts as well. But when everything is stacked against you and you’re gatvol of losing, then sometimes those are the best odds of all.

@wnbb-536:

Right now, they fill out a 45,000 seater quite comfortably.

With the help of all those awesome Sharks, Bulls and Lions supporters living in CT for their respective matches against the 2012 Currie Cup Champions another 15,000 should be a breeze.

• 548.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Throw in the little pink wonder comedian and you have the perfect fakefuck trio around. :D

• 549.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-546:

You still squealing give it a rest for fakes sake

• 550.gunther: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-534:

Has not have you illiterate gibbon.

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.