Collective will won it for WP

MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day newspaper column, says Western Province lifted the Currie Cup in Durban because they played as a team.

World Cup-winning coach Jake White was often quoted as saying the 15 best players don’t necessarily make for the best XV. Rugby, White argued, was a team game and he viewed the team as a collective.

Western Province, in beating the Sharks in the Currie Cup final in Durban, won it with a team effort. Individuals were inspirational, but it was the collective will of the team that saw them overturn a 12-3 deficit to win the title for the first time in 11 years.

Springbok and Bulls legend Victor Matfield, in summary of Province’s last minute semi-final win against the Lions a week earlier, suggested the 20m rolling maul was massive in the context of the team dynamic and that it could finally see Province turn individual potential into team reward.

There has always been a feeling among players up north that the delights of playing for Western Province (and the Stormers in Super Rugby) give players a celebrity like status in Cape Town and that the individual often stands taller than any team collective.

Brilliant individuals played for Province and the Stormers in the last decade but as a team they always fell short of success in the Currie Cup and Super Rugby. Something always seemed to be missing and Matfield felt the way this Province team worked for the win against the Lions and the way eight forwards worked in unison and refused to be beaten in the last minute of the game was something he had not seen from a Province team.

Just maybe, said Matfield, this is the start of something special.

Just maybe it is because the semi-final was not won on individual brilliance and neither was the final. Sure there inspiring individual performances, especially from lock Eben Etzebeth, but the most inspiring aspect was how the players believed in each other and played with the cohesion of players who believed that to win it they had to believe in the qualities of their team-mates.

Province were underdogs and not expected to win so they also had an advantage in that there wasn’t expectation. It does make a final easier when so few anticipate victory, even if so many hope for the victory.

The Sharks were expected to win. Their match 22 had superior pedigree. They demolished the Bulls in the semi-final and they were playing at home.

Their players also expected to win and if anything mentally they didn’t give the final the necessary respect. They will dispute this but they played like a team who believed the opposition wasn’t good enough to win. I’d argue their focus was wrongly on who they were playing instead of the fact that they were playing in a final.

The intensity and edge needed to compete and win a final wasn’t there from the Sharks. All the edge came from the visitors.

Supporters will ask how is it possible not to pitch for a final? It’s certainly not through a lack of desire. Experienced coaches always warn of the danger of players being too hyped in their preparation and mentally playing the game in the week and being drained come match day. This wasn’t one of those occasions because there wouldn’t have been doubt within the Sharks camp that they could be successful.

The Sharks coaches would have feared complacency, but no matter the caution a player has to believe he could lose if he is to ensure he doesn’t. I just don’t think it ever occurred to the Sharks players they could lose and sport continues to produces finals in which the overwhelming favourites get done in a one-off because the desire to win is not matched by the fear of potentially losing.

The better team on the day won and it’s hard to argue with a result that goes to the team that gets it right. Province got it right in the final. They deserve every ovation for the performance.

I also think Bok coach Heyneke Meyer and his selectors deserve applause for being bold enough to select London-based Saracens hooker Schalk Brits in the Bok squad.

It sends a positive message that if you play well enough you will get selected, regardless of where you are based or how old you are.

Brits has played well enough, especially in the last two seasons.  Equally so the Toulouse-based former Bulls prop Gurthro Steenkamp, who is another deserving national call-up.

659 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 101.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-98: The Bulls fans would probably remind you that they were formed in the late 1930′s…..conveniently forgetting that they were part of the,now,nearly defunct lions union.

• 102.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler-90: There is a pretty cool one on News 24 Multi-media that you can save and set :)

• 103.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@katman-95: Erre you walked into that one Katman… is it not obvious to you that since Wp boks returned for the last league game they have now destroyed the Cheetahs, had three bok injuries, but still nailed the lions in a semi. and then with Habana a furhter 4th bok injured in the 7th Minute beat the Mighty Sharks in the tank in the final….

So the lions beating everyone while their boks play in the Rugby Championship means nothing until the boks return to their franchises.. then it only matters…
    But I know you would not understand as you will need to roar somewhere else when those same teams slog it out in SR… ouch….

Ackermann by how many poitns did you say will Christmas not come again for this sueless Wp side? 15 hey??
    Sjoe…..

• 104.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-102: That’s the one

• 105.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-100: ek het die gevoel ons gaan daai stat baie minder hooor as in die laaste tien jare:lol:

• 106.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler-90: http://www.sport24.co.za/Multimedia/Rugby/Currie-Cup/WP-crowned-Currie-Cup-Champs-20121029

A few potential STFU’s to the guppies amongst that lot of pics.

• 107.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-102:

Awesome thanks

• 108.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-101: Did the excersize once and on that basis the bulls have won more but that means fakall except a bit of bragging right 2am in the morning next to the braai

• 109.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-91: Thanks,mate. :D

• 110.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@katman-66:
    More nonsense from you. Dont be such a suurgat man. Watch a replay of the game and get back to me.

• 111.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-101: I like to remind them of a few things when they pull that stunt:

1. Currie Cup was not played every year from when it started.. So Wp could not win it every year when the bulls did not exist..
    2. They like to say.. since the bulls existed they have won it the most… I like to say: Since Province existed… they have won the CC even more…. :)

• 112.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-103: I think they will roar against the mighty Russia in their first super rugby game next Jan/Feb. :D

• 113.wing_14: Reply to this comment

Mr Mark Keohane, don’t now come with this rubbish article. You, sir, was as arrogant as many sharks supporters last week and believed the final was just a formality. Please go back and read my post on your article, “the sharks will win the currie cup” which included a detailed analysis on they they were going to do it. You must feel like a complete moron. Why don’t you re-write your atricle and start with an apology to the WP team and us, the supporters. We had to listen to every man and his dog how we had no chance to win. You are right, rugby is a team sport and province is a team. I really hope you have learned your lesson now and never say things like this team or that team WILL win. Rather say “in my opinion they have a very good chance”, this way you can actually show a bit more respect towards the other team and not sound like a mr. know it all. You don’t know everything abour rugby and neither do I. Lets keep it simple and to quote YOUR WORDS … all that matter is rugger opinion. Yours and mine. Nuff said

• 114.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

jir, but reading some comments from the WP supporters you’d swear their team lost the game because of bad reffing, 99% of rugby games have bad calls FFS, leave it to a WimPy supporter to feel aggreived even when they finally do win a proper trophy.

• 115.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-111: :D In any case if they(bulls) are so wonderful they,at least, had about 70 years to win more than their measly 23 titles . :D

• 116.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@wing_14-113: Fark me are you alright up there as ‘dizzy heights’ do not really have enough punch to describe this post.

• 117.BULLET: Reply to this comment

As a sharks man, it breaks my heart!
    Well played AC & Province! Massive character shown the last few weeks, and as a team, you deserve all the plaudits and glory that come your way in the next few weeks.

RSA Rugby is strengthening nicely, and when the full Boks return, I am confident that the Sharks, Province & Bulls will be string in the Super rugby Championships next week.

Team of the year – needs to be Province after winning CC & Conference trophy!
    Enjoy the awards

• 118.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-115: Wil julle twee nie maar net met mekaar se totties gaan speel en klaar kry nie……

• 119.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-114: ongellukig is ongellukig.

die poep is noe uitie broeke gewas van die eerste helfte nie :lol:

veral daai mathew pierce het bobby skinbad se broeke by hand gedoen.

• 120.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@wing_14-113: Well said man!!

who always said? A rugby ball is not round for a reason…

• 121.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-117: Well said loodpil

• 122.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-111:Bulls has won more cc finals than any other team ,

Wp has been awarded the trophy mor than any other team 33 times of which 20 is before 1939 since then 13 times , Bulls started in 1939 they have won cc finals it 23 times.

So you are right and you are wrong , in early days it was Wp , Border and Boland with TvL and Griquas joining later , no final was played.

But enjoy the win now. Past is past

I still disaggree with Vermeulen , Arno offers a lot more than a rock.

• 123.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@wing_14-113: i would say that him saying “Sharks will win” is his opinion, but hey, we’ll leave you WP supporters on your high horse for a wee while yet.

• 124.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Bliksem the admin chicks at Newlands must have been outside Cashcrusaders early this morning to buy a cupboard for the CC.

• 125.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-119: my pig Latin is rusty bru, i didnt understand a word you just said :S

• 126.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@capebull-122: Vermeulen is just another ‘hyped up by the WP fans’ player. Plain and simple

• 127.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-106: KD looks like a midget in that pic. :D

• 128.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-124: faaaaaaaaaaaaawk, funny!!!!!!

• 129.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-114: read all the comment on this thread to get the whole pics numbnuts!

Then see how stupid your comment look like

• 130.wing_14: Reply to this comment

And here it is

458.wing_14 said:
    23 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
    “The Sharks have been South Africa’s most consistent performer in Super Rugby and Currie Cup, with or without their current Springboks. They play the best rugby and they are South Africa’s best team. They will win the title on Saturday.”
    Mark, you are an idiot. First of all they were not the most consistent performers in SR, that was in fact the Stormers. They play the best brand? they are the best team? That’s just your opinion
    They WILL win? Really? do you have a crystall ball? They are favourites, sure, they have a great chance, yes. You may think you’re a god but nobody can predict the future. You would have probably bet your house that the blacks will crush the wallabies last saturday but they didn’t now did they?
    On paper they have the best team with the most experience but in the end it’s 15 against 15, or 22 against 22 inside 80 minutes. How do you know the Sharks won’t implode? Remember, bounce of the ball, a bit of luck, utter determination may just get WP on top to claim the CC
    Why don’t you rather focus on whatever the hell is going on with your friends at EP rugby? Until you can take a step backwards and be realistic, keep away from the keyboard please

• 131.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-129: i read as far as your bleating about a hand on the ground by Beast, that was enough groaning for me thanks, stop being a whiney BH all the time and enjoy your team winning for a change. we all know it doesnt happen every decade.

• 132.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@capebull-122: Congrats on your u/21 victory……..although that final was a bit of a farce with 7 WP u/21′s rather preferring to peosklap the Guppies on their way to the CC trophy. :D

• 133.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-129 :”then see how stupid your comment look like”

jirre jy praat engels deliciously :lol:

is jou tottie bietjie groter noudat die wpians ietsie gewen het?

wys vir iemand anders ok, hierdie is ‘n rugby site.

• 134.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@wing_14-130: does this post mean you are happy or sad?

• 135.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-126: No he performed for two season to get where he is now.. Not like Arno just walking into the bok team on a bulls free ticket.. same with Krusty , same with Jano, Same with JJ same with Potgieter!!

Put any of these players in Wp jerseys and they will not even be looked at!!

This is the thing I hate about the Bok coach.. some players have it farking easy and others have to prove themselves over and over before getting a look in.. Like Keegan, like Vermeulen, like Aplon.. etc etc

• 136.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Sharks are choking left,right and centre in finals now.Four super finals already and now two CC’s on the trot??Is it a question of living up to their rugby DNA as a province?

• 137.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-117: Cheers Bullet. You have always been one of the class posters on this site.

• 138.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-136: so you are saying the wpians are now not the undisputed chokers of the last decade and may have some competition?

• 139.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-115: Bulls did Ok, in the 51 Finals they won 23 and Wp is second with about 13

• 140.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-133: Not my first language and on an internet blogg I dont care about spelling or grammer for that matter..
    aaaaannnnnndddd there comes the below the belt commnet to make your post seem more insecure…

Los die totties en die myne is groter gesprekke vir jou en jou man ok?

Sover ek weet geniet ek ons wen die naweek moerse baie en het ek nie nodig om jou goedkeuring te kry om dit te doen nie…

WP Djou Lekke deng!!!

• 141.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Until you change your nick i am not taking you seriously. :D

• 142.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-132: Like we saw in the cc fianl , all the stars from Sharkies did not help them.

• 143.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-140: maar jy klink so ongellukig ek bekommer oor jou?

jy huil en moan soos ‘n meisie by ‘n romcom.

dis pateties.

• 144.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@capebull-139: But have you won it 5 times in a row?

• 145.grant10: Reply to this comment

Cape Town – Springbok flank Francois Louw has suffered a neck injury during Bath’s Aviva Premiership victory over Exeter on Saturday. His fitness will be assessed by Bath’s medical team this week.

According to The Telegraph website, Louw is due to link up with the Springbok squad after next Sunday’s Premiership match at London Welsh to prepare for the Tests against Ireland, Scotland and England.

“Francois has got a bad bang on his head and it looks like he’s compacted the vertebrae on his neck so he’s in a lot of pain at the moment. I think it’s going to be a lot sorer in the morning so we will have to evaluate how he gets on,” said Bath’s director of rugby, Gary Gold.

“We will have a look at him on Monday. He’s available to us for next week’s game and then we will lose him for the Tests the Springboks are going to play.”

• 146.wp. winning nothing never looked so easy: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-141: dis ok, ek vat jou nie ernstig nie ook.

dis ‘n blog man.

en een ding weet ek vir seker, ek het die keo wpians se wen al hoe soeter gemaak met my wind up voor die wedstryd :lol:

• 147.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@wp. winning nothing never looked so easy-143: ek sal jou spelling en taalgebruik in hierdie een laat oorsien…… want ek kan!!

WP…. djou lekke deng!!

• 148.grant10: Reply to this comment

Flo only fetcher in squad.

Come on Heyneke, get D Fourie involved !

• 149.garth: Reply to this comment

@wing_14-113: We should be thanking Mark giving the Sharks the Keo Kiss Of Death.

• 150.shooter: Reply to this comment

@grant10-145: Fork. You must be worried sick!?

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.