Highlanders boast strong squad
31 Oct 2012
The New Zealand franchises have announced their Super Rugby squads.
The Highlanders have named 10 All Blacks in their squad, with hooker Andrew Hore taking over the captaincy from loosehead prop Jamie Mackintosh.
The Otago franchise’s highlight additions are centre Ma’a Nonu and loosehead prop Tony Woodcock from the Blues.
Flank Adam Thomson is the major omission as he has sealed a deal to play overseas next year.
Defending champions the Chiefs have gained All Blacks lock Ross Filipo, who featured on the Test scene in 2007 and 2008. Filipo once played for the Crusaders before enjoying overseas stints with Bayonne and the London Wasps.
Seven-time champions the Crusaders have announced nine newbies in their squad. They are hooker Codie Taylor, fullback Johnny McNicholl, props Joe Moody and Nepo Laulala, lock Dominic Bird, and loose forwards Shane Christie, Jordan Taufua and Jimmy Tupou.
The Christchurch franchise have also recruited Samoan Jeremy Su’a to bolster their scrumhalf ranks.
The Hurricanes look set to build on this year’s surprise campaign, having signed Tongan scrumhalf Samisoni Fisilau, Crusaders prop Ben Franks and six newbies in centre Rey Lee-Lo, flank Ardie Savea, wing Matt Proctor, prop Eric Sione, flank Blade Thomson and utility back James Marshall.
The Blues have replaced the loss of Nonu with Auckland star Malakai Fekitoa and Chiefs centre Jackson Willison. The inclusion of prop Tim Perry eases Woodcock’s departure.
BLUES
Backs - Frank Halai, Waisake Naholo, Charles Piutau, Rene Ranger, Marty McKenzie, Malakai Fekitoa, George Moala, Francis Saili, Jackson Willison, Baden Kerr, Chris Noakes. Scrumhalves: Bryn Hall, Piri Weepu, Jamison Gibson-Park.
Forwards - Kane Barrett, Luke Braid, Steven Luatua, Brendon O’Connor, Ronald Raaymakers, Peter Saili, Anthony Boric, Liaki Moli, Culum Retallick, Ali Williams, Charlie Faumuina, Tom McCartney, Tim Perry, Angus Ta’avao, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Keven Mealamu, Quentin MacDonald, James Parsons.
CHIEFS
Backs - Tim Nanai-Williams, Andrew Horrell, Robbie Robinson, Lelia Masaga, Patrick Osborne, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Bundee Aki, Richard Kahui, Charlie Ngatai, Gareth Anscombe, Aaron Cruden. Scrumhalves: Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Brendon Leonard, August Pulu.
Forwards - Fritz Lee, Sam Cane, Nick Crosswell, Ross Filipo, Tanerau Latimer, Liam Messam, Craig Clarke, Mike Fitzgerald, Romana Graham, Brodie Retallick, Ben Afeaki, Josh Hohneck, Toby Smith, Solomona Sakalia, Ben Tameifuna, Hika Elliot, Rhys Marshall, Mahonri Schwalger.
CRUSADERS
Backs - Tyler Bleyendaal, Dan Carter, Ryan Crotty, Israel Dagg, Robbie Fruean, Zac Guildford, Willie Heinz, Tom Marshall, Tom Taylor, Adam Whitelock, Jeremy Su’a, Johnny McNicholl, Andy Ellis
Forwards - Dominic Bird, Shane Christie, Wyatt Crockett, Tom Donnelly, Corey Flynn, Owen Franks, Ben Funnell, Nepo Laulala, Richie McCaw, Joe Moody, Kieran Read, Luke Romano, Jordan Taufua, Codie Taylor, Matt Todd, Jimmy Tupou, George Whitelock, Luke Whitelock, Sam Whitelock.
HIGHLANDERS
Backs - Phil Burleigh, Tamati Ellison, Jason Emery, Hosea Gear, Ma’a Nonu, Declan O’Donnell, Kade Poki, Hayden Parker, Buxton Popoalii, Colin Slade, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Fumiaki Tanaka, Shaun Treeby.
Forwards - Josh Bekhuis, Tim Boys, Liam Coltman, Elliot Dixon, Ma’afu Fia, John Hardie, Jarrad Hoeata, Andrew Hore, Chris King, Jamie Mackintosh, Nasi Manu, Brayden Mitchell, Jake Paringatai, Brad Thorn, Joe Wheeler, Tony Woodcock.
HURRICANES
Backs - Cory Jane, James Marshall, Julian Savea, Andrew Taylor, Matt Proctor, Tim Bateman, Rey Lee-Lo, Alapati Leuia, Conrad Smith, Beauden Barrett, Tuis Pisi, Samisoni Fisilau, TJ Perenara, Chris Smylie.
Forwards – Jack Lam, Faifili Levave, Karl Lowe, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Blade Thomson, Victor Vito, James Broadhurst, Jason Eaton, Mark Reddish, Jeremy Thrush, Ben Franks, Reggie Goodes, Ben May, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Eric Sione, Dane Coles, Motu Matu’u.

274 Comments
31 Oct 2012, 08:02 am
Squads not looking that strong…also NZ drew vs Aus “C” …. NZ fans not happy with the “AIG” sponsorship…. about 5 000 people at ITM cup final …. 15 000 at tests …. NZ rugby all of a sudden not looking that healthy!
31 Oct 2012, 08:05 am
Do you know what AIG stands for ??…………….
……………………Australia Is ***…….
31 Oct 2012, 08:06 am
Gya that is……….
31 Oct 2012, 08:28 am
Suffer Guy you have made those figures up…………..You must be DESPERATE for a sign of a chink in the MIGHTY NZ armour.
The smallest crowd at an All Black test this year was 30 000 which is not bad for a small population like NZ. And there were 12 000 people at the ITM cup premiership final, not 5000.
NZ rugby is very very healthy, if you want MORE proof of that wait till next yr……hehe
31 Oct 2012, 08:44 am
@Delki-4:
haha
Yeah suffer guy is a clueless and hopless case for a troll.
He said the 15000 test match was from a South Africa vs ABs match……lol
31 Oct 2012, 08:53 am
@Delki-4: Still small numbers for a country that loves rugby! I think that it is more a sign of fatigue – so much rugby in a season, even if you are supporting a winning side can cause some measure of fallout amongst paying spectators.
The ABs will again be the measure in 2013 – but hopefully the Bokke will settle and restore some balance at the top of the rugby world.
31 Oct 2012, 08:59 am
Highlanders strongest team. Mmmmm not sure if that is good for New Zealand rugby.
31 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
Possible Stormers squad
Backs: Dewaldt Duvenage, Louis Schreuder, Nic Groom, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, JDV, JdJ, Marcel Brache, JP Du Plessis, Bryan Habana, Gio Aplon, Gerhard van den Heever, Edries Arendse, Joe Pietersen, Jaco Taute
Forwards: Stephen Kitshoff, Pat Cilliers, Brok Harris, Frans Malherbe, Deon Fourie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Scarra Ntubeni, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Michael Rhodes, De Kock Steenkamp, Siya Kolisi, Ryhardt Elstadt, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Nizaam Carr, Don Armand
31 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
Landers recruited well damn! aaron smith and tanaka @ 9 are fire, they better hope their flyhalfs stay healthy this year though…it’s going to be a fight for the centre spots nonu, burleigh, treeby, ellison, b.smith – can play wing or fb too – and emery…
31 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
@WhatIf-6:
But the difference between numbers from suffer guys post to actual figures is alot.
ITM cup was held in the temporary stadium in Christchurch. Holds 18000 spectators, it is small.
Point is that people were ok with saying the weather was bad and ticket prices were high as to the reasons of a less turnout at the CC. We have those problems all the time but for some reasons we cant use those excuses at all. Even when Christchurch population is 359000 people compared to where the CC was held of over 3 million people, i think our numbers are not to bad.
31 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
@Sasuke-7:
Why isnt it good for NZ rugby?
Your team still has to beat them.
31 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
@Sasuke-7:
Oh and i recall last year, Hurricanes laughing stock of Keo…. destined wooden spooners.
Shows how much alot of people know before kick off
31 Oct 2012, 09:18 am
Blues will struggle but the rest look like great squads.
Even Hurricanes now look extremely dangerous with Jane, Savea, Smith, Vito, Lowe…
Fk me, NZ sides looking strong.
31 Oct 2012, 09:21 am
@Hurricane-11: You would expect your champion team or the Crusaders to have the strongest squad. When your underachievers have the best squad you should be worried.
@Hurricane-12: Hurricanes were brilliant last season. I enjoyed their play.
Look at the S.A sides. Our two strongest squads next year will be our conference winners and the S.A team that made the final.
The highlanders having the strongest squad is like the Bulls or the Cheetahs having the strongest squad here in S.A.#doesntseemright
31 Oct 2012, 09:27 am
@Sasuke-14:
You do realise that ITM team and super rugby teams are different.
And players move around. It really depends on what players have moved to different parts of NZ.
long gone are the days where if you were born in Otago, you stayed in Otago. Players move around alot more now.
31 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
Apart from the Blues, the NZ squads look strong, & pretty evenly matched.
Now easy games in NZ…
31 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
@Angostura-16:
Now = NO
31 Oct 2012, 09:33 am
@Sasuke-14: you’re sounding like tacitus…the All Black backline that ripped us a new one this year had dagg ONLY as a crusader and they’re still number1 and undefeated. in our country the bulls are kak, is it bad for us?
31 Oct 2012, 09:36 am
@Hurricane-15: Yes but if you look at the history of the Highlanders in super rugby its not very good. Compared to the Crusaders and the Chiefs who just won it last year. You would want your best players to be in one of those teams.
Looking forward to the new season though. Highlanders impressed last season just to fall short at the end hurdle. They too like the hurricanes play a nice brand of rugby.
31 Oct 2012, 09:39 am
@Transformation-18: No because our best players are currently at the Stormers and Sharks which is good because they were our two best teams last year.
31 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
@Sasuke-20: so which team/s – like you say about the crusaders – should do well in SR for there not to be the same problems you’re forseeing for SA Rugby?
where did the Stormers finish in 2007 & 2009 Super rugby?
31 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
@Sasuke-8: Should be de Allende in place of Arendse
31 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
@Transformation-21: Our top three teams historically in SR is the Sharks, Bulls and Stormers. Two of those teams look really strong on paper for next year, the other is busy rebuilding.
While the top teams in Nz rugby is Crusaders, Blues and lately the Chiefs. The Highlanders were always considered the worst Nz team now they have the strongest squad? Doesnt seem right. I am sure they will do great next year but i dont see them winning it.
31 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@Old School-22: Oh yes forgot about him.
31 Oct 2012, 10:02 am
@Transformation-9:
What happened to Daniel Adongo? Heard he had great ITM Cup… We could use a guy like him down here. He, Luke and Cornell Du Preez would make a dynamic loose trio.
31 Oct 2012, 10:08 am
@mxhosa-25: Is he coming back to S.A.?
31 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
@sasuke-20:
The rebuilding Bulls finished ahead of the Sharks on the log…
31 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@sasuke-26:
Don’t know… It would be great if he did though.
31 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@mxhosa-27: lol but the sharks still made it to the final.
31 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
Saders will be the best team, Chiefs lost their star players in SBW and Tomulolo.
Landers have yet to attain the winning culture, even with all the quality players.
31 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
@sasuke-29:
I doubt the Sharks would’ve beaten the Crusaders in Christchurch.
31 Oct 2012, 10:30 am
@goodstuff-30: Thats what I am trying to get across here to Transie. Thanks for putting it so simply
31 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@Sasuke-29: And they played like the sixth-placed team in the final.
31 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@mxhosa-25: andimazi ukuba into yakhe ithini ibulls mos zamkhulula ukuba ahambe ayekudlala enz andiyazu ukuba bamkhulula for ne-super rugby na…
31 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
The Stormers will carry SA’s super rugby torch again.I don’t think a sixth placed team will be that lucky again to end up in a final.
31 Oct 2012, 10:40 am
@Sasuke-8: pretty potent. I think the CC final this year was a preview of the big SA battle for supremacy next year. The Sharks will be quite awesome too:
Fwds: Mtawarira, Du Plessis, Herbst, Chadwick, Du Plessis B, Burden, Cooper, Steph Du Toit, Marais, Bresler, Coetzee, Deysel, Alberts, Botes, Kankowski, Daniel.
Backs: Reinach, McLeod, Lambie, James, Steyn, Whitehead, Jordaan, Mvovo, Pieterson, Ndungane, Sithole, Ludik, Viljoen
If Steph Du Toit and Marais make the step up and do well in the 2nd row, I’m betting on the Sharks winning their first title.
31 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
@wnbb-35: They got some nice additions to their squad, I think they will finish either 1st or 4th.
31 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
@sonofgun-36: They goy Franco van der Merwe on loan. This will help strengthen their lineout. It is very close for me between the Sharks and the Stormers for the best squad.
31 Oct 2012, 10:48 am
@Sasuke-19: @Sasuke-23:
The Highlanders in Super Rugby?
1998 – 4th overall (2nd best NZ franchise)
1999 – 3rd overall (Top NZ franchise)
2000 – 3rd overall (2nd best NZ franchise)
2002 – 4th overall (2nd best NZ franchise)
Not too shabby a record – perhaps their (Landers) cycle has bottomed & is on the up again… it happens (look at history of WP/Stormers, N-Tvl/Bulls, Tvl/Cats/Lions, Ntl/Sharks, FS/Cats/Cheetahs over time, say since 1990 – the wheel turns, up & down, without exception…)
31 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
@Sasuke-37: Probably.The Sharks might do well,but you’d have to question their BMt or fragile mentality when it matters most.
31 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
@Angostura-39: Yes I remember them doing quite well during those years but if you look at the last 10 years they have been poor. They have picked up good form with Josephs though.
31 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
The Sharks need to toughen up mentally if they want to be successful and shed their chokers tag of world rugby.It needs to start with Plumtree.That score-line on Saturday flattered the Sharks.WP,in all honesty,should have put at least 40 points on them.AC,tactically, totally out thought and outgunned Plum in every aspect of mental superiority.
31 Oct 2012, 11:12 am
Jantjies eyes Stormers springboard
Published: Tuesday, 30. October, 2012re
Elton Jantjies believes that his loan season with the Stormers will provide the perfect environment to take his game to the next level.
The Springbok flyhalf will play a full Super Rugby season for the Cape side next year and then return to play in the Currie Cup with the Golden Lions, after which he will make a decision on his long-term future.
This will give him the opportunity to measure up against the rest of the contenders for the Bok No.10 jersey in the first half of the year before heading back to Johannesburg to fulfill his contract with the Lions.
With Morne Steyn at the Bulls, Pat Lambie at the Sharks and Johan Goosen at the Cheetahs the South African Super Rugby conference is shaping up to be something of a flyhalf shoot-out next year, and Jantjies believes that the environment at the Stormers will give him an ideal opportunity show what he is capable of.
The Cape side topped the Super Rugby table this year and showed great character and depth to bounce back from their semifinal exit of that competition to win the Currie Cup as underdogs away from home, so Jantjies could hardly have a better platform from which to develop his game.
Jantjies said that the amount of young talent at the Stormers and their committed approach makes them the perfect fit for him next year.
“I think they have an awesome coach and I think they have got a lot of youth and excitement there. I can just see myself fitting in there and I think that they are playing a good style of rugby so I think I will enjoy it there.
“They are very based on team emphasis and I think that from the outside it looks like an awesome environment to be in, and I like to be in a comfortable environment,” he said.
Although they effectively ended his Currie Cup season Jantjies has been encouraged by the fight that the young Province pack showed at the end of the Currie Cup, and is also looking forward to linking up with what will be an all-Bok backline bar the scrumhalf.
“They were awesome, especially the tight five. Everybody said ‘they don’t have experience’, but age is just a number, I don’t think age is a thing in rugby.
“Their backs were great as well. They have got good experience, Jean de Villiers and Bryan [Habana] and Juan [De Jongh] and Gio [Aplon] – all of them play for the Springboks so I can only see good things coming.
“Their scrumhalves like Nic Groom and Louis Schreuder have also been playing well so if we gel together then it will be great,” he said.
With that exciting mix of youth and experience Jantjies is confident that he will be able to move his game beyond what he has shown in his short career already, in what will be something of a homecoming for a former Province fan.
“I can only grow and grow, I will have to work hard on a few things in my game, but I will just keep doing what I do,” he said.
“I lived in Cape Town for a few years and then moved to Joburg, and when I started playing for the Lions my heart changed to the Lions but I was a Province supporter all along,” added Jantjies.
Before he heads to Cape Town Jantjies will have the small matter of the Springbok year-end tour, and as the man who took over from injured Goosen against the All Blacks he finds himself as the incumbent flyhalf.
With Steyn and Lambie also named in the squad Jantjies does not expect to waltz into the starting line-up, but is hopeful of gaining more experience in European conditions than he did in 2010.
“I am just going to go out there and enjoy it, I think it is going to be an awesome experience playing in that type of weather, that type of environment and with that type of pressure.
“I think it is going to be awesome if I get game-time playing overseas. In 2010 I only played against the Barbarians so I am really looking forward to the tour and I think it is going to be awesome for the guys who are also young and learning, I think we can only go forward,” he said.
31 Oct 2012, 11:13 am
Stormers squad looking strong , lots of depth. If i have one criticism of Allister it’s his lack of rotation and squad management. Bekker is always vrot by June. And Etzebeth has played a lot of rugby this year too.
The way the Bulls rotated Bakkies and Danie Rossouw is the way we should be doing it.
31 Oct 2012, 11:16 am
@Transformation-43: I am sure he will return permanently to the Stormers after his loan deal. Same with Taute.
31 Oct 2012, 11:17 am
@Sasuke-32: what he said and what you said are not even remotely the same thing!
7.Sasuke said:
31 Oct 2012, 08:59 am
Highlanders strongest team. Mmmmm not sure if that is good for New Zealand rugby.
new zealand rugby surely is not the crusaders, next year the crusaders will be without carter & mccaw you reckon this will affect the crusaders and thus “new zealand rugby”?
31 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
@wp_boytjie-44: Yes agree 100% we have enough quality locks to rotate Bekker and Etzebeth now and then. De Kock Steenkamp can come in for Bekker and either Michael Rhodes or Elstadt can come in for Etzebeth.
Is Ruan Botha a 4 or 5 lock?
31 Oct 2012, 11:20 am
@sasuke-32:
Then the strong teams, on paper, you mentioned have yet attain that winning culture either. So am not sure how a strong Bulls team would not be a good thing for SA rugby… As a matter of fact, given the national coach, it would be great.
Along with the Stormers they have the best youngsters under the age of 23. And depending on how quickly those youngsters adapt to SR, they might even top the SA conference… They might have lost their stars, but they still have a 2 time SR winning coach (unless they coached the team, like they did the boks) as well as the bulk of the supporting cast.
31 Oct 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation-46: What I meant with that was that I dont think a New Zealand team will win the Super 15 if your strongest squad is a team like the Highlanders and not the Crusaders or Chiefs.
31 Oct 2012, 11:24 am
@wp_boytjie-44: etsebeth with who, Kockie or Elstadt?
31 Oct 2012, 11:25 am
@Transformation-34:
For the good of SA rugby mabamkhulule. Andimboni edlaliswa phambi kooArno Botha, Wian Liebenburg, Shaun Addendorf okanye uJean Cook.
31 Oct 2012, 11:26 am
@Sasuke-49: great. loud and clear
new zealand rugby and winning super rugby are the same thing
31 Oct 2012, 11:27 am
AC,tactically, totally out thought and outgunned Plum in every aspect of mental superiority.
That makes no sense.
You are talking kak.
Please go away and have another crack at it.
31 Oct 2012, 11:33 am
@Transformation-43:
Always better for a player to play in a good team. Jantjies will have a good year and I hope that he will be well managed by Coetzee and not played to death like Coetzee loves to do with his top players.
31 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
@mxhosa-48: Bulls were very inconsistent this year and if you look at there Currie Cup form. Does not bode well for next year. They will be competitive but i predict another mid table finish for them. Sharks and Stormers is where its at.
31 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
15 Jaco Taute / Louis Ludik
14 Gio Aplon / JP Pietersen
13 Juan De Jongh / Paul Jordaan
12 Jean de Villiers / Francois Steyn
11 Bryan Habana / Lwazi Mvovo
10 Elton Jantjes / Patrick Lambie
9 Nic Groom / Charl Mcloed
8 Duane Vermeulen / Ryan Kankowski
7 Schalk Burger / Willem Alberts
6 Siya Kolisi / Marcell Coetzee
5 Andries Bekker / Franco Van Der Merwe
4 Eben Etzebeth / Anton Bresler
3 Patrick Cilliers / Jannie Du Plessis
2 Tiaan Liebenberg / Bismark Du Plessis
1 Steven Kitshoff / Tendai Mtawarira
16 Deon Fourie / Craig Burden
17 Francois Malherbe / Wiehan Herbst
18 Rynhardt Elstadt / Jean Deysel
19 Nizaam Carr / Keegan Daniel
20 Louis Schroeder / Cobus Reinach
21 Peter Grant / Meyer Bosman
22 Gerhard Van Den Heever / Odwa Ndungane
23 Scarra Ntubeni / Kyle Cooper
24 Deon Carstens / Dale Chadwick
25 Ruan Botha / Jandre Marais
26 Michael Rhodes / Jaques Botes
27 Gary Van Aswegen / Butch James
28 JP Du Plessis / Tim Whitehead
29 Marcel Brache / Marius Joubert
30 Joe Pietersen / Riaan Viljoen
31 Damien De Allende / S Sithole
32 Don Armand / Steph Du Toit
33 Jebb Sinclair / ????
Who would be your pick. Both teams look strong as ever even with the loss of many key players since 2009.
Stormers could use Francois Louw and Sharks could use Pienaar and these teams woulf be back to their best.
Imagine Stormers have lost Mujati, Brits, Watson, J Fourie, Chavhanga, Quinn Roux, Blaauw, Januarie, Jantjes, Bobo & Engelbrecht, Sadie, Whitehead, Newman & Paul Bosch + many others and still manage to be strong.
Sharks havent lost so much but the likes of Pienaar, Rhodes, Cilliers, Sykes, Smit, Hargreaves, Skeate, Michalak + Barrit are all players of worth to any team.
Super rugby looks exciting especially to see how the Kings fare and the Bulls should be there or there abouts again.
31 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
@Transformation-52:
It does not go hand in hand but obviously if a team wins the super rugby it will have a positive effect on the national team.
31 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
With squads on paper I personally think Stormers will take conference. They know how to deal with injuries and now have.play off temprement.
Especially if you think, they have Tyrone Holmes, Kurt Coleman, De Kock Steenkamp, Willhelm Van Der Slyus and JC Kritzinger and Brok Harris to call upon if they have injuries and they all have vast experience.
31 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
Don’t worry Elton,we will change your heart back to blue and white stripes.Unfortunate you WILL have to go through the extensive detoxification process to get rid of everything Lion in you.In any case,just glad that another home boy is returning to his roots.Just need JPP to do the step up as well.Now that would be just lovely.
31 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
@Sasuke-47: @Transformation-50:
Don’t know much about Ruan Botha , wish they held on to Quinn Roux he played a blinder off the bench in Super 15 when we beat the Pink Bulls at Roftus. If we play a team like the Rebels at home then we could easily start with Elstadt and De Kock Steenkamp and then having a player like Armand or Rhodes at 7 ,the line-out still looks solid.
Same goes for loose-forward , incredible depth. There should be rotation not predictable burnout
31 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
Sonny Bill under the knife
Published: Wednesday, 31. October, 2012 in category Southern Hemisphere
All Blacks star Sonny Bill Williams underwent surgery for a chest injury on Wednesday, which has ended his hopes of fighting South African heavyweight Francois Botha next month.
Related articles
ABs to blood new captain
Coles comes of age
Williams, 27, who in August quit the world champion New Zealand team to take up a club contract in Japan, injured his pectoral muscle playing for the Panasonic Wild Knights on Saturday
31 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
@wp_boytjie-60: Where did Quinn Roux go to?Thought he had a brilliant game against the pinkies a Moftus as well.
31 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
@Transformation-61:
Poepbroek.
31 Oct 2012, 12:00 pm
@wp_boytjie-60: True what you saying. Hopefully he comes back next year.
@Transformation-61: His running scared.#Phantominjury
31 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
the minds!!!! jurie is such a kenner, slippery but a kenner nonetheless
Mbalula praises proactive SARU
Published: Tuesday, 30. October, 2012
Sports minister Fikile Mbalula has commended SARU for taking the lead in fast-tracking transformation in the sport.
“They are the first federation to have taken it upon themselves to convene a transformation indaba,” Mbalula said at the SARU Indaba in Johannesburg on Tuesday.
“They are the first to admit there are inherently deep-seated weaknesses to realise transformation.”
Mbalula said the country had moved at a slow pace in creating a level playing field in sport after 18 years of democracy.
“After 20 years of unity talks, we have seen little fundamental transformation in sport in general and rugby, in terms of participation of players from historically disadvantaged communities,” he said.
While he called on rugby leadership to ensure that all South Africans received a fair opportunity to play the sport, Mbalula said transformation should not be trivialised by merely looking at the numbers.
“Today when national teams are selected, the question of colour becomes an issue to a point where it is vulgarised and is reduced to racism,” he said.
“It is polarising society, to begin to question a national team on how many black people are there, how many white people are there when the national team represents South Africa as a whole.
“What are our responsibilities as administrators and as the people who run the sport?
“It is to ensure that full transformation is realisable. There must never, in the next 20 years, be a question about the national team.”
Mbalula said rugby could become an even stronger global player if it utilised the larger populace.
“Rugby should utilise its full potential by transforming and thus taking advantage of the diverse population of rugby players in South Africa,” said Mbalula.
“If this happens there is no doubt that rugby can play an important role in nation building and fostering unity and social cohesion.”
Gideon Sam, the president of the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) called on rugby unions and role players in the sport to make transformation a top priority.
“Let transformation not be the poor cousin of all your programmes,” Sam said.
“Don’t let it lie down there so that it must come back from time to time to breathe life into it.”
Sam said it was important representatives from provincial rugby unions steered transformation to ensure an even playing field in the sport.
SARU chief executive Jurie Roux hoped the two-day Indaba would lead to a watershed moment for rugby in South Africa.
The transformation workshop was attended by provincial rugby union presidents and chief executives, SARU management, sports portfolio committee chairman Richard Mdakane, SASCOC and the sports ministry.
Roux said rugby needed to approach transformation holistically and echoed Mbalula’s view that the sport needed to be grown from grassroots levels.
He added that the first step SARU made towards tackling transformation head on was to simplify their transformation charter into an “implementation plan”.
“We’ve gone down to something that is divided into seven dimensions which include preferential procurement, equity employment and addressing the issues of mass participation and broadening the base of rugby,” Roux said.
“Because only if you broaden the base of rugby and only if you transform the minds of those individuals that work with our school children can we transform the sport.”
31 Oct 2012, 12:05 pm
@wnbb-62: leinster for a one year loan. He is suppose to come back when the European season finishes next May. We will see though, the lure of the Irish green is strong.
31 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
@wnbb-62: ireland…
31 Oct 2012, 12:08 pm
@Sasuke-66: how good is the irish economy?
31 Oct 2012, 12:11 pm
@wnbb-59: Elton , Cape Town , Home Roots , what are you smoking… the Home Roots ?
31 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
@Sasuke-66: @Transformation-67: Thanks.
31 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@capebull-69: graaff reinet…
31 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@Transformation-68:
good enough for ruan and cj stander etc. it seems.
capo will know.
he’s just wangled an irish passport.
31 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
So Johnny Bravo tweaks his titty and now he can’t box? Sounds like someone sent him a link to the Youtube clip of Fransie’s fight with Tyson.
31 Oct 2012, 12:35 pm
@sasuke-55:
CC form has no bearing on SR… The Sharks, CC champions in 2010 and finalists in 2011 have finished no higher than 6th on the overall log in the last two SR seasons. Lions, CC champs in 2011 finished dead last.
31 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@katman-73:
fark me, botha would have moered that poser so phukken hard.
i actually think its for the best, nothing worse than a complete one sided mismatch.
and who knows what this would have done to nz’s fragile psyche.
31 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@mxhosa-74:
Agreed on that one , so many 1 or 2 test Springbok players of recent years are the one’s that have been selected on Currie cup form at the end of the year.
31 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
@Sasuke-19: Crusaders squad isn’t bad at all – Read, Dagg, Carter, and McCaw coming in at the business end of the season. I would rate them our four best ABs. Not to mention guys like Franks, Crockett, Romano, Ellis, Freuen, Guildford, and about 20 Whitelock boys. And plenty of other guys that are handy at super rugby level. In fact I would argue that it’s a stronger squad on paper than the Highlanders, let alone finals experience.
@Transformation-61: Not looking good for SBW. He should just pack in the boxing, the league and sushi and come back to play for his home town. The Blues needs him!
31 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75: Indeed. They’re only just recovering now from Tiger dumping their caddy hall-of-famer two years ago.
31 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
Hello crackheads!
31 Oct 2012, 12:51 pm
Would have liked to see Willie Le Roux in the Bok squad thought he was brilliant for Griquas and Cheetahs , an all-round player with vision that can kick , offload , finish and good under the high ball.
31 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
Have to have a little throw up in my mouth but well done to WP on breaking their drought!
at least i was camping with the peanut so i didnt have to suffer too badly
31 Oct 2012, 12:56 pm
@katman-78: They say dopping is kiwiland’s biggest health problem.
Perhaps they should only be allowed to dop when Richie is onside.
That’ll solve it real quick.
31 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@The Rangerman-81: Its a case of well done, now farkoff!…;)
31 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-75:
SBW has biten of more than he can chew here.
But if he goes ahead with it, good on him….only takes 1 punch to end a fight.
31 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
@katman-78:
Dont think so, please dont make things up.
31 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
@trupisero-82:
what is?
31 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@trupisero-82: lol
31 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@Hurricane-86: drinking alcohol.
31 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
@trupisero-83: thats pretty much how i feel ja.
anyways, i am off to mozambique in the morning with our boat for a spearfishing adventure.
boys trip.
fernandos
R&R
couta
wahoo
sailies
kaakaap
that about covers it.
31 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
@The Rangerman-79: why does you nic have a “The” now?
31 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
Geez WP?
WP throw money at fans
2012-10-31 11:53
After an 11-year drought, WP beat the Sharks 25-18 in last Saturday’s final in Durban, and paraded their new silverware through the city on Tuesday.
When the procession reached Khayelitsha, the team found their route lined by thousands of fans.
Players, including wing Bryan Habana, nearly caused a stampede when they threw money, including R50 notes, at the crowd.
As the money was thrown from the bus, fans jostled to get their hands on the cash. There were no reported injuries.
31 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@wp_boytjie-80: c.rap defence…
31 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@katman-78:
nz-usa diplomatic golfing ties are only just starting to work towards a recovery from that. word is the us gov was instrumental behind the scenes in setting up the AIG sponsorship deal as a way of mending relations.
31 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
@The Rangerman-89: lucky baassstard!!
@Hurricane-86: get with it man
31 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@Sasuke-88:
oh
@Transformation-90:
Have you seen the old comedy Happy days?
Remember fonzie….well just saying fonzie sounds weak, but say “the Fonz” has a bit more edge to it.
I believe Rangerman is going for that same edge…. i mean The Rangerman.
31 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@Transformation-91: lol they are like Hip hop stars!
31 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@trupisero-94:
Hang on just having a drink….. oh i get it now
31 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@Transformation-91: That’s beyond odd. That’s tacky.
31 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
@Hurricane-84:
true hurri, it only takes one punch to end a fight maar daardie fransie botha is a f.okken bul van n man jong. i’ve seen him take a helluva lot of punches before going down (which is what sbw will need to do).
no boet, he’s big game… like hippo or a buffalo.. you need heavy calibre to bring a guy like that down. i think he took klitschko and holyfield to about 8 or 9 rounds and tyson only stopped him after 5.
look, he’s a good footballer i’ll give him that but i would say he’s taken on more than he can chew here.
31 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
kusazodlalwa unga nyebelezeli
SBWs is feigning his injury..SA sport has suffered enough this year, not sure they could handle one of their old buffaloes being slaughtered at the hands of a kiwi
theyve seen the Springbok suffer for twenty years of this affliction
poesklapped by kiwis..
oh. and to pre-empt any “strikes”
we’re world champions, your views as eight equal are meaningless..
@Hurricane-95: You can change your name to Sandy now….
@Hurricane-97:
31 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@trupisero-102: Bwhahahhahaha
caba sizizinja imali le ngamathambo , kuqala aba bakuthi . bayijulile lemali ebelungwini? hayi kunzinyana
@Sasuke-96:
did you take the day off the watch the parade?
31 Oct 2012, 13:21 pm
@Hurricane-95:
its the new edgy ranger haha.
@gunther-106: Unfortunately not. Wish i was in Cape Town yesterday though. Looked like such a jol.
@poppa69-101: nah, methinks SBW would be getting poesklapped. Botha is in a different league to the plonkers he’s fought until now.
31 Oct 2012, 13:22 pm
so SBW got injured against small japanese men? imagine what the white rhino would do to him …. think SBW would end up looking like “suzie” did in 1995 … (when 5 or 6 NZ rugby playing cannibals ate her – thats why they had a bit of spuitpoep)
31 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-99:

With you there Bakkies.
lol Hippo or a buffalo…
31 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
ooMbalula zizidenge nje ezithethapha zithethephaya, loluphi olutshintsho alubonayo yena yedwa umntwana wabantu . ligwala eliya
31 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@suffer_guy-110: He wasn’t so big in Japan.
31 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@trupisero-102:
You first my little flower.
@The Rangerman-107:
@suffer_guy-110:
haha
Make you wonder how none of the Boks nor Ozzies injured him but a 5 foot Asian that knows his pressure points.
31 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@nkqo6-112: hey, kont6 – you know this internet thing doesn’t automatically translate whatever it is you are typing?
Or are you talking to yourself?
31 Oct 2012, 13:28 pm
sunni would take one fat klap from botha.
pity he got injured by a japanese midget.
31 Oct 2012, 13:31 pm
@trupisero-115:
Shhh, someone has swapped all his letters on his keyboard and he has not noticed.
31 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@Hurricane-117: he must be polish – I think he understands it!
31 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@Hurricane-117: @trupisero-118: it is a bit strange but i guess he wants to have a private conversation.
on a public blog.
what a hero.
31 Oct 2012, 13:43 pm
@trupisero-118:
@The Rangerman-119:
Now Ranger, dont you think if he just changes his name to ” The nkqo6 ” … he could talk all the smack he wants and get away with it.
31 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@poppa69-101: equal 8th……quality. Fair and balanced as always Pops.
31 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@Hurricane-120: no.
you have to have an initial edge to become Edgier.
thems the rules.
31 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@suffer_guy-110: SBW getting a chest injury was unavoidable because of the way he lifts his arms to do the basketball pop pass, chest all exposed.
I was wondering when he was gonna get a hard hit there.
31 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@Skeppie-121:
A chip on each shoulder.
31 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
@The Rangerman-122:
<true<
31 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@Skeppie-121: yep, the old calls of the bledisloe being for 8th during the years 07 to 11 must have been missed by your good self..
guess us kiwis arent allowed to make the same jokes huh ?
31 Oct 2012, 14:07 pm
let me try this
31 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
Bedisloe, Mandela Plate, Freedom Cup. Not really important, only silver linings to winning the Super Rugby Championship (in terms of achievement).
But the Bedisloe has a big history between Oz and NZ.
Seeing as the NZ local comp is “ad sponsor name” Cup and the Ozzies have no domestic compitition worth anything. Guess is the Bedisloe is like their Currie Cup in terms of history and tradition.
31 Oct 2012, 14:24 pm
@gunther-124:
it must make rowing a canoe that much harder.
or does he take out his anger with the paddles..?..
31 Oct 2012, 14:25 pm
@The Rangerman-119: it is his democratic right to communicate in the language of his choice although that word is foreign to former apartheid lovers like you.
31 Oct 2012, 14:27 pm
@Sasuke-96: making it rain!
31 Oct 2012, 14:33 pm
@wnbb-130: ag kuk man.
how is he communicating by making posts that are understood by only a few?
you funny guy you.
31 Oct 2012, 14:35 pm
@wnbb-130: and “former apartheid lovers”?
thats just silly lad, up your game.
31 Oct 2012, 14:36 pm
anyways, i am out guys and gals.
well done again to wp (now farkoff lol).
have a good weekend crackers!
31 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
@poppa69-126: You’re like a schoolyard bully that gets caught and goes, “No fair no fair! He did it as well!”
Either grow up, admit that you’re nothing but a troll, or fck off?
Seriously now.
31 Oct 2012, 14:39 pm
@The Rangerman-132: at least a few understand his posts.the same cant be said of yours.
31 Oct 2012, 14:41 pm
Cheers ranger.Drop the ‘The’ because you are still nothing but a p ussy .
31 Oct 2012, 14:46 pm
@goodstuff-123: did you see the tackle?
31 Oct 2012, 14:49 pm
@Transformation-138: No. But funny enough, it’s actually a shoulder injury/ pectoral injury.
31 Oct 2012, 14:58 pm
@goodstuff-139: so your speculation is baseless…meaning your conclusion is hogwash…you were “wondering”…
31 Oct 2012, 15:04 pm
After that long, demanding, scary drive down the I-95, I have had an equally long, needed, deep sleep – 12 hours man ,12 hours. And the Florida sun beats down warmingly on the skin and will reach 83 degrees F today.
Worse still I have TIME, lots of TIME to do battle with all the ‘glorifellators’ of the Republic of ‘Apartheid’ , but they seem to be thin on the ground this day. Is it because they now know that I have time for a few days to deal with their deceiving, deceitful miscreant acts of neo-racism?
I await your feeble battle, ‘brokebeks’ and that includes that English, big ‘kekkelbek’ of the obscene washerwomen ‘skinderbekkies’-tribe, the one and only DAVID.
Rise to the call you ‘warriors of apartheid’.
31 Oct 2012, 15:12 pm
@The Angerman-133:
Are you but one of the Head Indunas of those “apartheid lovers”?
See how easy it is to placate you, oh wonderful one of “epitaphs” for adjectives(such a simple word and notion)?
Yes, I do believe you belong to, and in, a graveyard.
31 Oct 2012, 15:14 pm
@ET.-141: Don’t take this the wrong way, but no one gives a teeny weeny little fck.
31 Oct 2012, 15:16 pm
Have you dumb, non-thinkers ever considered what it means for you and your planet , Earth, if other planets like Mars or Venus or Mercury or others once supported life?
Problem is you barely think to the tip of your nose.
31 Oct 2012, 15:17 pm
Seems like Heyneke going to get Marcos Wentzel into the squad as player 32 ….
31 Oct 2012, 15:19 pm
@Transformation-140: Mmmmmm, you got a hard on for SBW?
I just stated that it is obvious with his unorthodox style of playing rugby (exposing his chest to give the pop pass/ basketball pass at the tackle point) will make him more vulnerable to that type of injury you chop!
I talk as someone that has actually played rugby and know that a shoulder to an exposed chest can be bloody painfull. So why don’t you go look at his topless pics and get excited, cheerleader.
31 Oct 2012, 15:19 pm
@ET.-144: Well no… You see most of us use our noses to smell, not to, as in your case, sample our own farts.
31 Oct 2012, 15:21 pm
@ET.-144: Don’t take this the wrong way, but no one gives a teeny weeny little fck.
31 Oct 2012, 15:22 pm
@ET.-144: Wow, did you hit your head or are you just on funny pills? Because you sound like a nonsensical ****** spitting dribble and making a mess on the floor.
31 Oct 2012, 15:24 pm
@katman-143:
So once again you indulge in a weak, cowardly, pathetic cop out instead of manfully defending your ignoble, reviled heritage and history?
Nothing about you and even your ‘Vaalie’ rugby boertjies’ has changed then as you struggle to maintain your hold on S.A. having already given up on one of your ‘Boer republics? Why else did you run from Gauteng if not because it is too black?
You are unfortunately a non-contest.
Bye ‘boertjie’
31 Oct 2012, 15:25 pm
Wat nou ou drieball?
31 Oct 2012, 15:26 pm
@ET.-150: WTF are you on about? Shouldn’t you be taking swimming lessons somewhere? Heard it might be helpful?
Katman a ‘boertjie’? Now I heard everything…
31 Oct 2012, 15:28 pm
@goodstuff-146: i take it the assumption here is you’re the only one that played rugby & thus has exclusive knowledge about shoulders on chests.?
as u were
31 Oct 2012, 15:29 pm
Just been watching CNN.Farking terrible times in NY and other areas.No electricity,transport and heating.Can’t we just get truck loads of Bulls and Sharks jerseys over there.The people can at least burn it and keep warm.
31 Oct 2012, 15:31 pm
@wnbb-154: Ooooh dude that was pretty terrible…
31 Oct 2012, 15:32 pm
@grant10-145: Who is Marcos.Sounds like a name that could be very popular in Danville.
31 Oct 2012, 15:32 pm
Loving the.moaning about players being from different franchises in SA… Wtf do you think Europen fans think the same? Its professional sport. Of course Stormers bought players in! They lost De Waal, Whitehead,Bosch, Newman, Nquelevuki, Poolman, Engelbrecht,Sadie, Januarie,Bobo, Human, Montgomery, Jantjes, Fourie, Chavhanga all in 3 seasons. So yes they did buy players in haha! Pathetic shout. Every team on the globe buys players in. What the coaches think who would fit into.they gameplan. The stormers backline may have 3 players from other unions.. So what.
31 Oct 2012, 15:33 pm
@ET.-150: You must have missed the post where I alerted you to the fact that, collectively between the lot of us, not a single fck is given. It was somewhere in the early 140′s.
154 **** joke
@Bagel-155: I am very serious,dude.
31 Oct 2012, 15:35 pm
@Transformation-153: As I was, is making an estimated opinion based on a players playing style! Whilst you can only break down my argument with pathetic dismissals because you have none of your own.
Or do you believe a person getting hit hard in the tackle over and over again without protecting his sternum will not get hurt? Just stating the obvious, with SBW trained more in playing against 10 men than 15.
But everything you say is pure fact right?
31 Oct 2012, 15:35 pm
@Rhys7-159: on second thought,maybe we should not expose New Yorkers to toxic waste.
31 Oct 2012, 15:37 pm
@wnbb-156: 34 year old london wasps player…..formerly at Leicester and leeds…lock
31 Oct 2012, 15:38 pm
Ok I’l give you that one. Haha
31 Oct 2012, 15:38 pm
@grant10-163: is he English or Bullish?
31 Oct 2012, 15:39 pm
@Bagel-147:
Shame oh Bagy. With distance a huge problem you surely cannot expect me to sample your ” own farts ” now , do you?
What sorry mediocrity are they churning out at UCT these sorrowful days?
Try to explain to me why with glorious ‘breekgat’ neo-racists like Burger, Bekker, Brits( X 2), Fondse, De Vils and many more, W.P. could not win a CC for 11 years? They had to rely on the skills of the much denied and discredited(by too many) rural ‘klongtjies’ like De Jong, Aplon, Carr, Coleman, Francis, Kolisi, Scarawanda and even old Habana to get you that cup(I have forgotten the “poor. stupid” coach).
Would that trphy be at Newlands if not for the wonder De Jong try?
Now run on boy and when you can make it in the world out there consider coming back to talk to me in your ‘uppity’ manner.
Watch now too how the HYENA pack grows in numbers. Signs are already there.
31 Oct 2012, 15:39 pm
according to Heyneke the best lock in the English Premiership.
31 Oct 2012, 15:40 pm
Cape Town – WP Rugby has apologised after players threw R50 notes to fans who’d assembled to congratulate the team on their Currie Cup victory parade through Cape Town on Tuesday.
As the money was thrown from the bus, fans jostled to get their hands on the cash. There were no reported injuries.
WP Rugby Union president Thelo Wakefield apologised for the incident, explaining that upon stopping in Khayelitsha on the third leg of the parade, part of the crowd had appealed to players on the bus for money suggesting they were hungry.
Wakefield said: “It was maybe a little naive of the players involved, but their intentions were good. There was certainly no negative intention, only positive. If it was perceived in any other way, we apologise.”
31 Oct 2012, 15:41 pm
@Rhys7-164: take it easy.the joke is on those so-called rugby teams and not at the expense of the fine people of the USA.I’ve got family living on the EC and have sympathy with their struggles.
31 Oct 2012, 15:42 pm
@wnbb-165: Not sure….been plying his trade over there for a while…I believe Heyneke had him as part of the Leicester team and rates him highly.
31 Oct 2012, 15:43 pm
@wnbb-165: You are just sooooo witty! I normally search through all the threads just to find your posts. You are absolutely hilarious, really. I can hardly wait to see what you’ll come up with next. Keep it up, idiot.
31 Oct 2012, 15:44 pm
I would have thrown Lions kit in as well,but I don’t believe you should be nasty to the needy and less fortunate of society.
31 Oct 2012, 15:49 pm
@ET.-166: Dumb racist. I bet you failed Woodwork at school.
31 Oct 2012, 15:49 pm
@katman-168:
Extraball’s clan looking for their free t-shirt and boerrie roll.
31 Oct 2012, 15:50 pm
@grant10-163: was this Wentzel oke @ Lecicester when Meyer was there? @ 34 he probably was… eish.
31 Oct 2012, 15:52 pm
@grant10-170: At 34 he probably would jump at the opportunity of a Bok call up.Really don’t see him,at that age,wearing an English jumper although you never know with them.Some good young English locks in the premiership,so really don’t know where Meyer is coming from unless he is just looking for a reason to select another player with Gauteng links.
31 Oct 2012, 15:54 pm
@166
Wow Carr, Francis and Coleman? How would WP have triumphed without them? Go jump in a tidal pool you ignorant twat…
@stormer in a teacup-148:
No originality? To be expected from a runner to the Antipodes, really.
@151
TheCuntie, like a ‘boere’ auntie still stuck in a fossil moment?
@152
All too lofty for you with questions of life on mars etc., etc.?
@158
Kakman, also glued in the old fossil moment as that post has zero counter to any notion? Do you know LIFE is DYNAMIC even though evil persists?
Ok ‘Broederbonders’ now that I have done KEO a huge favour by get your collective juices flowing let me hit the road(about 3 miles) to sample the Atlantic Ocean that is found at the adorable Ocean Ridge.
Bye now MOFFIES. Do you not have another trick and treat parade for that “Hollowee Cup” this sunny Haloween day?
@goodstuff-161: Not sure where the 10 men comes from but are you suggesting rugby league hits (13 men) are lighter than in rugby union? Or were you under the impression he used to play football?
I’d have thought if any muscle would be injured, it’d be in his shoulder considering his tackling style
@gunther-174: The real story of the money from the bus was that Habs and Juan were trying to score four bankies and the pesky cameras interrupted the deal. But props to big Thelo for deflecting the matter.
31 Oct 2012, 15:57 pm
@thesaint-177:
Notice how pathetic you are? Is the CC the only rugby in your rugby season?
Why? Is it because every other rugby challenge just shows FAILURE?
31 Oct 2012, 15:57 pm
@ET.-178: Keep well ET.Enjoy the good weather.
31 Oct 2012, 15:58 pm
@katman-180:
indeed.
a kudo to him.
31 Oct 2012, 15:59 pm
@Transformation-175: apparently so….Bakkies also on the radar apparenty
31 Oct 2012, 16:00 pm
Ahh i see the looting and stealing has begun on the streets of new york!
31 Oct 2012, 16:07 pm
Sad to hear.Now just waiting for certain bloggers to appear and blame a certain race of their choice.
31 Oct 2012, 16:09 pm
Let me leave you with a bothersome consideration.
The biggest problem in Azania since 1652 has always been, and still is, the world scurge of RACISM.
The only solution to that is TOTAL NON-RACIALISM. Nothing short of that will suffice.
Neo-racism is your sorrowful desire and attempt and projection (purely by the ongoing control you have) but the real owners of the land of S.Africa will not accept that. Its time is limited.
That message will hit the streets I walk from Nov.15 onwards.
31 Oct 2012, 16:11 pm
@wnbb-182:
You, and your duplicitous games and tantrums, have not ever fooled me creepy-crawly.
31 Oct 2012, 16:14 pm
@katman-180: WP Rugby Union just announced that the WP parade will be repeated on the following days:
Friday 2 November 2012: 10:00 to 12:00 and 13:00 to 15:00
Saturday 3 November 2012: 09:30 to 11:30; 12:30 to 14:30; 15:30 to 17:30
Sunday 4 November 2012: 11:00 to 14:00
Tuesday 6 November 2012: 10:00 to 12:00; 13:00 to 15:00
Thursday 8 November 2012: 09:30 to 11:30; 12:30 to 14:30
Friday 9 November 2012: 09:30 to 11:30; 12:30 to 14:30; 15:30 to 17:30
Saturday 10 November 2012: 18:00 to 20:00 (Night Parade)
Monday 24 December 2012: 11:00 to 13:00 (Special Christmas Parade)
The Union promised a stronger SAPS presence and possibly some live radio coverage.
31 Oct 2012, 16:22 pm
@wnbb-186: What exactly do you mean? Can’t you be more specific? (This is not a loaded question: Just trying to figure out your thought pattern on the issue.)
31 Oct 2012, 16:24 pm
@ET.-188:
. So,you really are that mostofyou character??? Just checking
31 Oct 2012, 16:25 pm
@Transfornicaion-185:
Are you so arrogant in your rich blackness that you would question the fight for survival of the ” Wretched of the Earth ” as you still only read you sports comics
which is your dope for your rope?
” I must go down to the sea, to the lonely sea and the sky”
Note to all, this is how E.T. works . A true lover of words. never a single emoticon in what I write. So all named to be me and who have used that stupid option of silly faces CANNOT ever be me.
I love WORDS. Yes even the beautiful BeeGees song.
Recall this? :
” Full many a gem of purest rays serene the dark unfathomed caves of oceans bare
Full many a flower is born to blush unseen and waste its sweetness on the desert air”
Is Siya Kolisi merely one of the undeniable such gems? Will he be afforded the national and structural support?
I have looming doubts and questions of the controllers.
31 Oct 2012, 16:26 pm
@goodstuff-161: The destructive centre, on a contract to play 12 matches for Panasonic worth a reported US__?__.2 million, crunched his shoulder attempting a tackle on former Western Force centre Gene Fairbanks during Saturday’s match.
so much for your estimated opinions “mrgreen:
31 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
@ET.-192:
31 Oct 2012, 16:30 pm
Some okes are just born to entertain.
31 Oct 2012, 16:32 pm
Pop Quiz time:
Guess who:
Diagnostic criteria for 301.81 Narcissistic Personality Disorder
(DSM IV – TR)
(cautionary statement)
A pervasive pattern of grandiosity (in fantasy or behavior), need for admiration, and lack of empathy, beginning by early adulthood and present in a variety of contexts, as indicated by five (or more) of the following:
(1) has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements)
(2) is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love
(3) believes that he or she is “special” and unique and can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions)
(4) requires excessive admiration
(5) has a sense of entitlement, i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations
(6) is interpersonally exploitative, i.e., takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends
(7) lacks empathy: is unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others
(8) is often envious of others or believes that others are envious of him or her
(9) shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes
31 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
@ET.-192: F>UCK OFF ET
is it “survival” knocking on people’s doors imitating ConEd workers and ROBBING them?
what do you know about the “wretched of the earth” basking in Florida sun and doing doggypaddle laps in swimming pools?…
come back and help the flood victims in Missionvale and other “Northern Area” townships that you boast about, p.rick!
31 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
@wnbb-191:
Your reading and understanding is putrid.
I read earlier posts of Jokers, a relative, on yesterday’s main thread which indicated a time close to 8am S.A. time.
After my long, scary drive from Philly to WPB to get out of the clutches of the horribly scary Sandy, I clearly was blissfully in Florida dreamland(2am EST here then). And now I have lots of free time ’til about Sat. when I will drive back north.
Think, digest, educate yourself, adjust and move on.
31 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@ET.-198: And here we go ***frustratednarcissistshowing histrueworthsmiley***
I forgot to add this little pearl to my post above…….”Rages when frustrated, contradicted, or confronted by people he or she considers inferior to him or her and unworthy.”
You my man, have been served. Please aknowledge receipt of this interweb memo.
31 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196: Sounds like Langers too…..
31 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-199:
Sounds like Blofeld.
I can just imagine him stroking his ***** whilst plotting the fall of the capitalist system.
31 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@Transfornication-197:
You have clearly been too rich and for too long and also too dumb creeping and crawling to ever understand survival, even of the drug-crazed needy. It knows NO creed or colour or state of wealth(or not) – let that be your lesson, boy.
You are so far yet you can make these hollow, sanctimonious judgements yet you should know ” first news” out is never trustworthy but is always dramatic and sensational.
I, because of my present and copious free time, see and hear this news of a neighbouring state 24/7. Do I now believe your questionable judgement or my considered take on these matters?
Be gone now as you are a time waste.
There are floods all over this world so why is Missionavale(which you hardly know) your sensational, drama-inspired call.
Do you accept that the world truly is a stage(note the singular form)?
31 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@ET.-198: Ag,ET.When you back in CT i will buy you a cold beer …and teach you how to dance Gangnam Style.Ok.
31 Oct 2012, 16:56 pm
@Atreides-200: I don’t know Langers…but dearestfuck, having TWO cerebral narcissists on one blog? How unfuckinglucky can a group of rugby lovers be?
31 Oct 2012, 16:57 pm
@wnbb-176:
He can’t play for England as he’s already played for the boks. Cappped by Staueli’s in 2002. Former Eagles and Bulls lock/flanker.
31 Oct 2012, 17:02 pm
ET,you need to live life and don’t take it so seriously,mate…..because you definitely not going to come out of it alive.I don’t think you want the following inscription on your tombstone :’Here lies a twisted,sick and bitter man’.
31 Oct 2012, 17:03 pm
@wnbb-176:
Marco Wentzel is a 2-cap Bok (2002 vintage); he is a boy from George. He & HM have a player/coach relationship spanning many years, great distances, different environments & various “clubs” (the SWD Eagles, the Bulls, the Leicester Tigers… & now perhaps the Bokke?)
If nothing else, HM is eternally loyal to his “blue-eyed” boys.
31 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
@mxhosa-205: Straeli?Enough said.Thanks,bud.
31 Oct 2012, 17:05 pm
@ET.-187:
Have to add this important concept to complete this undeniable principle:
” The biggest problem in Azania since 1652 has always been, and still is, the world scurge of RACISM.
The only solution to that is TOTAL NON-RACIALISM. Nothing short of that will suffice.”
NON- RACIALISM is like the phenomenal electro-physiological ACTION POTENTIAL It is an ALL or NONE event. Nothing in between is ever acceptable. It either happens and is thus acceptable or it does not happen.
But what would non-scientific morons know about life- or science-principles ever?
31 Oct 2012, 17:07 pm
@ET.-209: I don’t think the Khoe and San called it Azania in 1652,mate.
31 Oct 2012, 17:08 pm
@wnbb-203:
With all the Jamaicans I encounter daily, the beat-in-the-feet moves are the least of my problems.
Did you not see how Chris Gayle and the rest of the all-conquering T20 WC Windies’ Champs were doing it in that tourney?
31 Oct 2012, 17:10 pm
@ET.-187:
you go fark around in the streets of a ‘gated community’ patrolled by a ‘private security company’ somewhere in philly at 2:00 in the morning, boet.
you’ll find all the fark out about NON-RACIALISM so fast you wont have time to see your head spin.
just sayin…
if you wanna fix the world then start on your doorstep.
31 Oct 2012, 17:14 pm
@Angostura-207: Loyalty….sigh. Heyneke Meyer would have been a fanbloodytastic German Shepherd or Cocker Spaniel.
31 Oct 2012, 17:16 pm
@ET.-211: Chris Gayle is a frikkin rock star of the cricketing world. You are a cricket sitting on a rock.
I doubt your ‘moves’ come close….chirrp chirrrp.
31 Oct 2012, 17:16 pm
Watter kuk praat hy nou weer
He hate whites he hate blacks WTF
31 Oct 2012, 17:18 pm
Preach it pedigree!!!
31 Oct 2012, 17:19 pm
@Dawn-215: Tribalism is the most basic form of rascism…and tribalism is what rugby is all about ie provincialism
31 Oct 2012, 17:19 pm
A cricket sitting on a rock
I like!
31 Oct 2012, 17:21 pm
Atreides come back you must come to drinks!
31 Oct 2012, 17:21 pm
@Superbru-217: In other words, if you support a specific province you’re racist? Fck, this place is crawling with weirdos..
31 Oct 2012, 17:22 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-214:
he was denied the opportunity to blow the world of badminton wide farking open back in 85 or 75, i cant remember the year.
its all in the wrist they say…
31 Oct 2012, 17:23 pm
@Finfan-220: That’s where it all started mate,my tribe attack your tribe,smash all the males and make off with the women and children (trophies)
31 Oct 2012, 17:24 pm
Watsup Finfan I know you play no 2 so you can moer ET
31 Oct 2012, 17:25 pm
And the he/she/it craves attention with copied and pasted words(from a textbook that I have, and successfully studied from), but that does not mean that his/hers/its total understanding is not sadly lacking. It is the easiest thing to C&P and feign understanding.
You absolutely sure you were not one of the many psychiatric patients I clerked at Valkenberg many years ago?
I seem to recollect that a gender querying patient was given ECT ( electro-shock therapy) by the consultant I then worked with. Was that you and has that treatment totally failed you. Can you clarify that please?
31 Oct 2012, 17:27 pm
@Dawn-223: I moered him before. As you’ve probably realised by now, he has never recovered. Permanent brain damage. Poor fcking sod.
31 Oct 2012, 17:28 pm
Who you talking to
31 Oct 2012, 17:30 pm
He “clerked psychiatric patients at Valkenberg”
Explains a lot
Mark it Transie, mark it
@Dawn-219: Anytime!
Not on here much anymore, got pretty tiresome….
@Dawn-226: ET blogs in front of a mirror. It does create confusion and causes depression though.
31 Oct 2012, 17:31 pm
It is feckin tiresome.
Pedigree lights the place up though
31 Oct 2012, 17:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-212:
And your point is what again, irrelevant one? You need to go to Tarrytown to trick and treat those long-lost lies, this glorious Halloween.
The streets of the W.Cape and E.Cape will belong to me and like-minded people. You cannot walk where I will walk in any township of my choice.
31 Oct 2012, 17:33 pm
@ET.-224: You have been served. On a plate. With your feathers plucked out and your poephol on show. (Hope you washed it….)
31 Oct 2012, 17:34 pm
@ET.-202: cops have arrested people who smash shop windows and grab goods, people’s homes have been robbed…survival se gat!
31 Oct 2012, 17:35 pm
“You cannot walk where I will walk in any township of my choice”
31 Oct 2012, 17:36 pm
@ET.-224: You just exhibited most of the symptoms listed there in your little tirade, sunshine…oh the irony
More listening and less yapping, you might learn something and not make such an utter cocktonsil of yourself all the time
31 Oct 2012, 17:37 pm
Trans mark that Valkenberg post
31 Oct 2012, 17:41 pm
Praat van spieels en wat wat: Julius Malema gaan ‘n kunsgallery binne en se: “Is die lelike kunswerk nou iets wat julle wit mense nou moderne kuns noem?” Nee, se die eienaar van die gallery, dis ‘n spieel meneer.
31 Oct 2012, 17:44 pm
How you make those sucked-from-god-knows-where connections only the PSYCHIATRIC you will ever know. Your eyes have not seen me so what is your sorry, dubious point. You cricket knowledge of said Chris(yes I have spoken to him and many more) I will not even seek to tax.
And inform your cheerleader that every medical student clerks any and all sorts of patients from all the medical disciplines including psychiatry where you were possibly encountered.
The Atlantic waters of a very sunny OCEAN RIDGE calls while a devilish envy consumes you and your other ‘gatgabbas’(do you even understand that S. Africanism?).
31 Oct 2012, 17:52 pm
@ET.-238:
“Rages when frustrated, contradicted, or confronted by people he or she considers inferior to him or her and unworthy.” – check.
“Heterosexual women bear the brunt of narcissistic heterosexual men’s hostility, according to a 2010 study.” – check.
(let me elaborate….)
“The results from this study reveal that straight men’s narcissism is linked to an adversarial and angry stance toward straight women more than toward other groups. Although narcissists may want to maintain feelings of superiority and power over all people, narcissistic heterosexual men are particularly invested in subordinating heterosexual women because they are “gatekeepers in men’s quest for sexual pleasure, patriarchal power and status,” the study authors explain.
So please continue, I take no offence. I know where it’s coming from and why
31 Oct 2012, 17:54 pm
Que?
Sun’s out here too. Ocean here too.
31 Oct 2012, 17:56 pm
I scheme he’s a sociopath too
31 Oct 2012, 17:57 pm
@ET.-238: You have been threatening to go for a swim for the last three or so hours now.Just go out there and do it ,bud.I think we got the message already,the one of being an exceptional human being.
31 Oct 2012, 18:01 pm
I would also like to go to the beach,but it’s piss cold here and the clocks have gone back as well.Eish you lucky people down there in Florida and CT.
31 Oct 2012, 18:01 pm
Shame wnbb
You tried to be nice to him by saying “go well” cos you think he’s smart and kwaai.
Shows how dom you are.
He turned right round in his bather and klapped you sideways.
31 Oct 2012, 18:05 pm
I have learned my lesson.Tried to be nice,but got badly scarred in the process.
31 Oct 2012, 18:08 pm
@Dawn-241: He be just plainfuckedinthenoggin. I do hope he let’s us know when he will be landing at CT International in November. A welcome worthy of a ‘national treasure’ should not be out of the question? FucktheOlympians, the Proteas, the CC winners and the like. This fellow deserves the bizness.
Vuvuzelas, dancing girls, Patricia and Helen all topped off with an open bus ride through the City of Cape Town?
(We can peltthefuck out of him with shuttlecocks as the bus whizzes past…..)
@wnbb-243: Glorious in the mother city at the moment…..
31 Oct 2012, 18:11 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-246: yeah,rub it in
. Tell those Bokkies to enjoy the Cape,because it’s going to be a distant memory when they arrive here.
31 Oct 2012, 18:14 pm
Sod that
Close the fecking borders!
He hates SA!
31 Oct 2012, 18:18 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-246:
31 Oct 2012, 18:19 pm
Hopefully this will keep the Banana boys happy: Cape Town – Youngster Patrick Lambie will have a chance to prove his mettle as flyhalf in South Africa’s upcoming Tests in Ireland, Scotland and England during November, coach Heyneke Meyer said on Wednesday.
“He is tried and tested at Super Rugby level but I want to go forward with two flyhalves from here and I want to use this opportunity to see what Pat can do at this level,” Meyer told a media conference here.
“For me it is very important at Test level that your flyhalf be a good tactical kicker,” Meyer continued.
“I wasn’t impressed with Pat’s tactical kicking before and I asked him to work on that aspect. He showed me in the Currie Cup that he has done the necessary work and I have been very impressed.”
31 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
You silly people are so foolish.
When Leeds United sends any EPL team packing in any KO competition, E.T. is unplayable and untouchable.
In recent months Leeds beat Man.U., Everton and, last night , S’hampton(3-0).
I am an Arsenal supporter and we barely beat them last year at home. I dare not mention that to him for he will remind me that when they beat Arsenal to win the FA Cup, they were cheated from doing the double that year by the hateful English F.A.
Wise up or shut up. You were truly ‘whupped’.
I am not here to indulge anyone.
31 Oct 2012, 18:24 pm
@wnbb-250: I’m very happy with Lambie @ 10,he outplays Morne in all departments imo.
31 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
@Superbru-252: No problem with that,bud.Even a blind man can see that Morne doesn’t deserve a Bok start at this moment in time.
31 Oct 2012, 18:31 pm
How stupid can you be?
The workers and the poor and those who advance their causes are where his friends are to be found and not insignificant glory-seekers and fake politicians and irrelevant people like you and those named there..
31 Oct 2012, 18:32 pm
I thought you said you are not here to indulge anymore
So feckoff
31 Oct 2012, 18:39 pm
@Neilanate-254: You can change your name….but it doesn’t change the diagnosis:
A pervasive pattern of grandiosity (in fantasy or behavior), need for admiration, and lack of empathy, beginning by early adulthood and present in a variety of contexts, as indicated by five (or more) of the following:
(1) has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements)
(2) is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love
(3) believes that he or she is “special” and unique and can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions)
(4) requires excessive admiration
(5) has a sense of entitlement, i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations
(6) is interpersonally exploitative, i.e., takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends
(7) lacks empathy: is unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others
(8) is often envious of others or believes that others are envious of him or her
(9) shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes
This is now on ‘repeat’ and will follow every comment you make. Why? Because when anything you say here is read within the context of the above – the mist lifts and you stand naked in your shuttlecocked narcissitic shame.
Ka-fkcing-chingggggggggggggggg.
31 Oct 2012, 18:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-256:
. Numbers one and two quite applicable to a few chaps on here as well.
31 Oct 2012, 18:47 pm
How silly of you.
He is qualified to diagnose you.
Whilst, contrary to what you claim, you are unqualified to diagnose anyone, not even yourself.
I bet you have not even noticed that from some of what of the above I have just read you just motor on totally emotional rubbish. There is no substance to anything you write. Thus you are worthless.
31 Oct 2012, 18:48 pm
@wnbb-257: Also true
We all have a little narcissist in us…..but when it’s a clean sweep, only then does one earn the title.
31 Oct 2012, 18:49 pm
@Neilanate-258: time for your straight jacket,bud.
31 Oct 2012, 18:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-259: Very true.The rest of the numbers fits him to a t.Please don’t tell me that this oke is also ET.
31 Oct 2012, 18:54 pm
ET,Mostofyou and Neilalante got very similar writing styles.If so,than I can only come to the conclusion that he is one demented individual .
31 Oct 2012, 18:56 pm
ET would fit the FBI’s profile for serial killers perfectly.
31 Oct 2012, 18:59 pm
@wnbb-261: It is he. He NEEDS to see what is being said about him, and if necessary defend himself, so he comes back under a cloak of darkness and ‘fake family members’. There is only one ego behind the 3 online personas. (Only one brain cell as well…..)
Typical narcissist….
(and observe….the more he is challenged, the greater the insults will become
He will also exaggerate his ‘alleged’ achievements/success and standing in society to the point where he becomes the Almighty himself…just watch….
31 Oct 2012, 19:17 pm
@wnbb-263:
A lot of people fit that profile, they did a study a while ago and found a lot of successful people share the same traits
31 Oct 2012, 19:22 pm
@Dawn-234:
i would farking love to see ET do that.
something tells me there wont be a happy ending, call it a feeling
31 Oct 2012, 19:32 pm
@victoriabok-265: True.According to FBI data they(America),since 1972,had 75 percent of the world’s serial killer community on record.They also say that that’s the reason they are such experts in that field .I am really beginning to develop a bad feeling about this blogger,ET.
31 Oct 2012, 19:45 pm
ExtraTurd
Listen here you old sorry silly senile sad sack of pus.
This is not facebook.
And we are not your friends. No gatgabbas here.
Now scram.
31 Oct 2012, 19:46 pm
“You, and your duplicitous games and tantrums, have not ever fooled me creepy-crawly”.
31 Oct 2012, 20:09 pm
@Jeraldjay-269:
. Die ou vat nie prisoners nie.
31 Oct 2012, 21:11 pm
Blues…..2013 SR Champions……’I've got a feeling”
1 Nov 2012, 06:08 am
@Te Rangatira-271:
ranga… have a bet with transformation that jk will take them into the play-offs… at least…!! so agree with you they will do well…
but…
“2013 SR Champions”
why… that will be the Stormers…!!!
1 Nov 2012, 09:32 am
@ufo-272:
UFO….so good to see you back…..someone with your positive outlook is much needed around these parts, but sorry, Blues for 2013. As for a bet on Jk taking them to the play-offs, ummm not really a betting man, leave that to the true analyzers of the game like Trans.
1 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
@Jeraldjay-269:
Beautiful.
Schooled by Extraball.
Very emboerrit.