Highlanders boast strong squad
31 Oct 2012
The New Zealand franchises have announced their Super Rugby squads.
The Highlanders have named 10 All Blacks in their squad, with hooker Andrew Hore taking over the captaincy from loosehead prop Jamie Mackintosh.
The Otago franchise’s highlight additions are centre Ma’a Nonu and loosehead prop Tony Woodcock from the Blues.
Flank Adam Thomson is the major omission as he has sealed a deal to play overseas next year.
Defending champions the Chiefs have gained All Blacks lock Ross Filipo, who featured on the Test scene in 2007 and 2008. Filipo once played for the Crusaders before enjoying overseas stints with Bayonne and the London Wasps.
Seven-time champions the Crusaders have announced nine newbies in their squad. They are hooker Codie Taylor, fullback Johnny McNicholl, props Joe Moody and Nepo Laulala, lock Dominic Bird, and loose forwards Shane Christie, Jordan Taufua and Jimmy Tupou.
The Christchurch franchise have also recruited Samoan Jeremy Su’a to bolster their scrumhalf ranks.
The Hurricanes look set to build on this year’s surprise campaign, having signed Tongan scrumhalf Samisoni Fisilau, Crusaders prop Ben Franks and six newbies in centre Rey Lee-Lo, flank Ardie Savea, wing Matt Proctor, prop Eric Sione, flank Blade Thomson and utility back James Marshall.
The Blues have replaced the loss of Nonu with Auckland star Malakai Fekitoa and Chiefs centre Jackson Willison. The inclusion of prop Tim Perry eases Woodcock’s departure.
BLUES
Backs - Frank Halai, Waisake Naholo, Charles Piutau, Rene Ranger, Marty McKenzie, Malakai Fekitoa, George Moala, Francis Saili, Jackson Willison, Baden Kerr, Chris Noakes. Scrumhalves: Bryn Hall, Piri Weepu, Jamison Gibson-Park.
Forwards - Kane Barrett, Luke Braid, Steven Luatua, Brendon O’Connor, Ronald Raaymakers, Peter Saili, Anthony Boric, Liaki Moli, Culum Retallick, Ali Williams, Charlie Faumuina, Tom McCartney, Tim Perry, Angus Ta’avao, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Keven Mealamu, Quentin MacDonald, James Parsons.
CHIEFS
Backs - Tim Nanai-Williams, Andrew Horrell, Robbie Robinson, Lelia Masaga, Patrick Osborne, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Bundee Aki, Richard Kahui, Charlie Ngatai, Gareth Anscombe, Aaron Cruden. Scrumhalves: Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Brendon Leonard, August Pulu.
Forwards - Fritz Lee, Sam Cane, Nick Crosswell, Ross Filipo, Tanerau Latimer, Liam Messam, Craig Clarke, Mike Fitzgerald, Romana Graham, Brodie Retallick, Ben Afeaki, Josh Hohneck, Toby Smith, Solomona Sakalia, Ben Tameifuna, Hika Elliot, Rhys Marshall, Mahonri Schwalger.
CRUSADERS
Backs - Tyler Bleyendaal, Dan Carter, Ryan Crotty, Israel Dagg, Robbie Fruean, Zac Guildford, Willie Heinz, Tom Marshall, Tom Taylor, Adam Whitelock, Jeremy Su’a, Johnny McNicholl, Andy Ellis
Forwards - Dominic Bird, Shane Christie, Wyatt Crockett, Tom Donnelly, Corey Flynn, Owen Franks, Ben Funnell, Nepo Laulala, Richie McCaw, Joe Moody, Kieran Read, Luke Romano, Jordan Taufua, Codie Taylor, Matt Todd, Jimmy Tupou, George Whitelock, Luke Whitelock, Sam Whitelock.
HIGHLANDERS
Backs - Phil Burleigh, Tamati Ellison, Jason Emery, Hosea Gear, Ma’a Nonu, Declan O’Donnell, Kade Poki, Hayden Parker, Buxton Popoalii, Colin Slade, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Fumiaki Tanaka, Shaun Treeby.
Forwards - Josh Bekhuis, Tim Boys, Liam Coltman, Elliot Dixon, Ma’afu Fia, John Hardie, Jarrad Hoeata, Andrew Hore, Chris King, Jamie Mackintosh, Nasi Manu, Brayden Mitchell, Jake Paringatai, Brad Thorn, Joe Wheeler, Tony Woodcock.
HURRICANES
Backs - Cory Jane, James Marshall, Julian Savea, Andrew Taylor, Matt Proctor, Tim Bateman, Rey Lee-Lo, Alapati Leuia, Conrad Smith, Beauden Barrett, Tuis Pisi, Samisoni Fisilau, TJ Perenara, Chris Smylie.
Forwards – Jack Lam, Faifili Levave, Karl Lowe, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Blade Thomson, Victor Vito, James Broadhurst, Jason Eaton, Mark Reddish, Jeremy Thrush, Ben Franks, Reggie Goodes, Ben May, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Eric Sione, Dane Coles, Motu Matu’u.

274 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
31 Oct 2012, 08:02 am
Squads not looking that strong…also NZ drew vs Aus “C” …. NZ fans not happy with the “AIG” sponsorship…. about 5 000 people at ITM cup final …. 15 000 at tests …. NZ rugby all of a sudden not looking that healthy!
31 Oct 2012, 08:05 am
Do you know what AIG stands for ??…………….
……………………Australia Is ***…….
31 Oct 2012, 08:06 am
Gya that is……….
31 Oct 2012, 08:28 am
Suffer Guy you have made those figures up…………..You must be DESPERATE for a sign of a chink in the MIGHTY NZ armour.
The smallest crowd at an All Black test this year was 30 000 which is not bad for a small population like NZ. And there were 12 000 people at the ITM cup premiership final, not 5000.
NZ rugby is very very healthy, if you want MORE proof of that wait till next yr……hehe
31 Oct 2012, 08:44 am
@Delki-4:
haha
Yeah suffer guy is a clueless and hopless case for a troll.
He said the 15000 test match was from a South Africa vs ABs match……lol
31 Oct 2012, 08:53 am
@Delki-4: Still small numbers for a country that loves rugby! I think that it is more a sign of fatigue – so much rugby in a season, even if you are supporting a winning side can cause some measure of fallout amongst paying spectators.
The ABs will again be the measure in 2013 – but hopefully the Bokke will settle and restore some balance at the top of the rugby world.
31 Oct 2012, 08:59 am
Highlanders strongest team. Mmmmm not sure if that is good for New Zealand rugby.
31 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
Possible Stormers squad
Backs: Dewaldt Duvenage, Louis Schreuder, Nic Groom, Elton Jantjies, Peter Grant, JDV, JdJ, Marcel Brache, JP Du Plessis, Bryan Habana, Gio Aplon, Gerhard van den Heever, Edries Arendse, Joe Pietersen, Jaco Taute
Forwards: Stephen Kitshoff, Pat Cilliers, Brok Harris, Frans Malherbe, Deon Fourie, Tiaan Liebenberg, Scarra Ntubeni, Eben Etzebeth, Andries Bekker, Michael Rhodes, De Kock Steenkamp, Siya Kolisi, Ryhardt Elstadt, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Nizaam Carr, Don Armand
31 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
Landers recruited well damn! aaron smith and tanaka @ 9 are fire, they better hope their flyhalfs stay healthy this year though…it’s going to be a fight for the centre spots nonu, burleigh, treeby, ellison, b.smith – can play wing or fb too – and emery…
31 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
@WhatIf-6:
But the difference between numbers from suffer guys post to actual figures is alot.
ITM cup was held in the temporary stadium in Christchurch. Holds 18000 spectators, it is small.
Point is that people were ok with saying the weather was bad and ticket prices were high as to the reasons of a less turnout at the CC. We have those problems all the time but for some reasons we cant use those excuses at all. Even when Christchurch population is 359000 people compared to where the CC was held of over 3 million people, i think our numbers are not to bad.
31 Oct 2012, 09:14 am
@Sasuke-7:
Why isnt it good for NZ rugby?
Your team still has to beat them.
31 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
@Sasuke-7:
Oh and i recall last year, Hurricanes laughing stock of Keo…. destined wooden spooners.
Shows how much alot of people know before kick off
31 Oct 2012, 09:18 am
Blues will struggle but the rest look like great squads.
Even Hurricanes now look extremely dangerous with Jane, Savea, Smith, Vito, Lowe…
Fk me, NZ sides looking strong.
31 Oct 2012, 09:21 am
@Hurricane-11: You would expect your champion team or the Crusaders to have the strongest squad. When your underachievers have the best squad you should be worried.
@Hurricane-12: Hurricanes were brilliant last season. I enjoyed their play.
Look at the S.A sides. Our two strongest squads next year will be our conference winners and the S.A team that made the final.
The highlanders having the strongest squad is like the Bulls or the Cheetahs having the strongest squad here in S.A.#doesntseemright
31 Oct 2012, 09:27 am
@Sasuke-14:
You do realise that ITM team and super rugby teams are different.
And players move around. It really depends on what players have moved to different parts of NZ.
long gone are the days where if you were born in Otago, you stayed in Otago. Players move around alot more now.
31 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
Apart from the Blues, the NZ squads look strong, & pretty evenly matched.
Now easy games in NZ…
31 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
@Angostura-16:
Now = NO
31 Oct 2012, 09:33 am
@Sasuke-14: you’re sounding like tacitus…the All Black backline that ripped us a new one this year had dagg ONLY as a crusader and they’re still number1 and undefeated. in our country the bulls are kak, is it bad for us?
31 Oct 2012, 09:36 am
@Hurricane-15: Yes but if you look at the history of the Highlanders in super rugby its not very good. Compared to the Crusaders and the Chiefs who just won it last year. You would want your best players to be in one of those teams.
Looking forward to the new season though. Highlanders impressed last season just to fall short at the end hurdle. They too like the hurricanes play a nice brand of rugby.
31 Oct 2012, 09:39 am
@Transformation-18: No because our best players are currently at the Stormers and Sharks which is good because they were our two best teams last year.
31 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
@Sasuke-20: so which team/s – like you say about the crusaders – should do well in SR for there not to be the same problems you’re forseeing for SA Rugby?
where did the Stormers finish in 2007 & 2009 Super rugby?
31 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
@Sasuke-8: Should be de Allende in place of Arendse
31 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
@Transformation-21: Our top three teams historically in SR is the Sharks, Bulls and Stormers. Two of those teams look really strong on paper for next year, the other is busy rebuilding.
While the top teams in Nz rugby is Crusaders, Blues and lately the Chiefs. The Highlanders were always considered the worst Nz team now they have the strongest squad? Doesnt seem right. I am sure they will do great next year but i dont see them winning it.
31 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@Old School-22: Oh yes forgot about him.
31 Oct 2012, 10:02 am
@Transformation-9:
What happened to Daniel Adongo? Heard he had great ITM Cup… We could use a guy like him down here. He, Luke and Cornell Du Preez would make a dynamic loose trio.
31 Oct 2012, 10:08 am
@mxhosa-25: Is he coming back to S.A.?
31 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
@sasuke-20:
The rebuilding Bulls finished ahead of the Sharks on the log…
31 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@sasuke-26:
Don’t know… It would be great if he did though.
31 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@mxhosa-27: lol but the sharks still made it to the final.
31 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
Saders will be the best team, Chiefs lost their star players in SBW and Tomulolo.
Landers have yet to attain the winning culture, even with all the quality players.
31 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
@sasuke-29:
I doubt the Sharks would’ve beaten the Crusaders in Christchurch.
31 Oct 2012, 10:30 am
@goodstuff-30: Thats what I am trying to get across here to Transie. Thanks for putting it so simply
31 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@Sasuke-29: And they played like the sixth-placed team in the final.
31 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@mxhosa-25: andimazi ukuba into yakhe ithini ibulls mos zamkhulula ukuba ahambe ayekudlala enz andiyazu ukuba bamkhulula for ne-super rugby na…
31 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
The Stormers will carry SA’s super rugby torch again.I don’t think a sixth placed team will be that lucky again to end up in a final.
31 Oct 2012, 10:40 am
@Sasuke-8: pretty potent. I think the CC final this year was a preview of the big SA battle for supremacy next year. The Sharks will be quite awesome too:
Fwds: Mtawarira, Du Plessis, Herbst, Chadwick, Du Plessis B, Burden, Cooper, Steph Du Toit, Marais, Bresler, Coetzee, Deysel, Alberts, Botes, Kankowski, Daniel.
Backs: Reinach, McLeod, Lambie, James, Steyn, Whitehead, Jordaan, Mvovo, Pieterson, Ndungane, Sithole, Ludik, Viljoen
If Steph Du Toit and Marais make the step up and do well in the 2nd row, I’m betting on the Sharks winning their first title.
31 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
@wnbb-35: They got some nice additions to their squad, I think they will finish either 1st or 4th.
31 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
@sonofgun-36: They goy Franco van der Merwe on loan. This will help strengthen their lineout. It is very close for me between the Sharks and the Stormers for the best squad.
31 Oct 2012, 10:48 am
@Sasuke-19: @Sasuke-23:
The Highlanders in Super Rugby?
1998 – 4th overall (2nd best NZ franchise)
1999 – 3rd overall (Top NZ franchise)
2000 – 3rd overall (2nd best NZ franchise)
2002 – 4th overall (2nd best NZ franchise)
Not too shabby a record – perhaps their (Landers) cycle has bottomed & is on the up again… it happens (look at history of WP/Stormers, N-Tvl/Bulls, Tvl/Cats/Lions, Ntl/Sharks, FS/Cats/Cheetahs over time, say since 1990 – the wheel turns, up & down, without exception…)
31 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
@Sasuke-37: Probably.The Sharks might do well,but you’d have to question their BMt or fragile mentality when it matters most.
31 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
@Angostura-39: Yes I remember them doing quite well during those years but if you look at the last 10 years they have been poor. They have picked up good form with Josephs though.
31 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
The Sharks need to toughen up mentally if they want to be successful and shed their chokers tag of world rugby.It needs to start with Plumtree.That score-line on Saturday flattered the Sharks.WP,in all honesty,should have put at least 40 points on them.AC,tactically, totally out thought and outgunned Plum in every aspect of mental superiority.
31 Oct 2012, 11:12 am
Jantjies eyes Stormers springboard
Published: Tuesday, 30. October, 2012re
Elton Jantjies believes that his loan season with the Stormers will provide the perfect environment to take his game to the next level.
The Springbok flyhalf will play a full Super Rugby season for the Cape side next year and then return to play in the Currie Cup with the Golden Lions, after which he will make a decision on his long-term future.
This will give him the opportunity to measure up against the rest of the contenders for the Bok No.10 jersey in the first half of the year before heading back to Johannesburg to fulfill his contract with the Lions.
With Morne Steyn at the Bulls, Pat Lambie at the Sharks and Johan Goosen at the Cheetahs the South African Super Rugby conference is shaping up to be something of a flyhalf shoot-out next year, and Jantjies believes that the environment at the Stormers will give him an ideal opportunity show what he is capable of.
The Cape side topped the Super Rugby table this year and showed great character and depth to bounce back from their semifinal exit of that competition to win the Currie Cup as underdogs away from home, so Jantjies could hardly have a better platform from which to develop his game.
Jantjies said that the amount of young talent at the Stormers and their committed approach makes them the perfect fit for him next year.
“I think they have an awesome coach and I think they have got a lot of youth and excitement there. I can just see myself fitting in there and I think that they are playing a good style of rugby so I think I will enjoy it there.
“They are very based on team emphasis and I think that from the outside it looks like an awesome environment to be in, and I like to be in a comfortable environment,” he said.
Although they effectively ended his Currie Cup season Jantjies has been encouraged by the fight that the young Province pack showed at the end of the Currie Cup, and is also looking forward to linking up with what will be an all-Bok backline bar the scrumhalf.
“They were awesome, especially the tight five. Everybody said ‘they don’t have experience’, but age is just a number, I don’t think age is a thing in rugby.
“Their backs were great as well. They have got good experience, Jean de Villiers and Bryan [Habana] and Juan [De Jongh] and Gio [Aplon] – all of them play for the Springboks so I can only see good things coming.
“Their scrumhalves like Nic Groom and Louis Schreuder have also been playing well so if we gel together then it will be great,” he said.
With that exciting mix of youth and experience Jantjies is confident that he will be able to move his game beyond what he has shown in his short career already, in what will be something of a homecoming for a former Province fan.
“I can only grow and grow, I will have to work hard on a few things in my game, but I will just keep doing what I do,” he said.
“I lived in Cape Town for a few years and then moved to Joburg, and when I started playing for the Lions my heart changed to the Lions but I was a Province supporter all along,” added Jantjies.
Before he heads to Cape Town Jantjies will have the small matter of the Springbok year-end tour, and as the man who took over from injured Goosen against the All Blacks he finds himself as the incumbent flyhalf.
With Steyn and Lambie also named in the squad Jantjies does not expect to waltz into the starting line-up, but is hopeful of gaining more experience in European conditions than he did in 2010.
“I am just going to go out there and enjoy it, I think it is going to be an awesome experience playing in that type of weather, that type of environment and with that type of pressure.
“I think it is going to be awesome if I get game-time playing overseas. In 2010 I only played against the Barbarians so I am really looking forward to the tour and I think it is going to be awesome for the guys who are also young and learning, I think we can only go forward,” he said.
31 Oct 2012, 11:13 am
Stormers squad looking strong , lots of depth. If i have one criticism of Allister it’s his lack of rotation and squad management. Bekker is always vrot by June. And Etzebeth has played a lot of rugby this year too.
The way the Bulls rotated Bakkies and Danie Rossouw is the way we should be doing it.
31 Oct 2012, 11:16 am
@Transformation-43: I am sure he will return permanently to the Stormers after his loan deal. Same with Taute.
31 Oct 2012, 11:17 am
@Sasuke-32: what he said and what you said are not even remotely the same thing!
7.Sasuke said:
31 Oct 2012, 08:59 am
Highlanders strongest team. Mmmmm not sure if that is good for New Zealand rugby.
new zealand rugby surely is not the crusaders, next year the crusaders will be without carter & mccaw you reckon this will affect the crusaders and thus “new zealand rugby”?
31 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
@wp_boytjie-44: Yes agree 100% we have enough quality locks to rotate Bekker and Etzebeth now and then. De Kock Steenkamp can come in for Bekker and either Michael Rhodes or Elstadt can come in for Etzebeth.
Is Ruan Botha a 4 or 5 lock?
31 Oct 2012, 11:20 am
@sasuke-32:
Then the strong teams, on paper, you mentioned have yet attain that winning culture either. So am not sure how a strong Bulls team would not be a good thing for SA rugby… As a matter of fact, given the national coach, it would be great.
Along with the Stormers they have the best youngsters under the age of 23. And depending on how quickly those youngsters adapt to SR, they might even top the SA conference… They might have lost their stars, but they still have a 2 time SR winning coach (unless they coached the team, like they did the boks) as well as the bulk of the supporting cast.
31 Oct 2012, 11:23 am
@Transformation-46: What I meant with that was that I dont think a New Zealand team will win the Super 15 if your strongest squad is a team like the Highlanders and not the Crusaders or Chiefs.
31 Oct 2012, 11:24 am
@wp_boytjie-44: etsebeth with who, Kockie or Elstadt?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All