Highlanders boast strong squad

The New Zealand franchises have announced their Super Rugby squads.

The Highlanders have named 10 All Blacks in their squad, with hooker Andrew Hore taking over the captaincy from loosehead prop Jamie Mackintosh.

The Otago franchise’s highlight additions are centre Ma’a Nonu and loosehead prop Tony Woodcock from the Blues.

Flank Adam Thomson is the major omission as he has sealed a deal to play overseas next year.

Defending champions the Chiefs have gained All Blacks lock Ross Filipo, who featured on the Test scene in 2007 and 2008. Filipo once played for the Crusaders before enjoying overseas stints with Bayonne and the London Wasps.

Seven-time champions the Crusaders have announced nine newbies in their squad. They are hooker Codie Taylor, fullback Johnny McNicholl, props Joe Moody and Nepo Laulala, lock Dominic Bird, and loose forwards Shane Christie, Jordan Taufua and Jimmy Tupou.

The Christchurch franchise have also recruited Samoan Jeremy Su’a to bolster their scrumhalf ranks.

The Hurricanes look set to build on this year’s surprise campaign, having signed Tongan scrumhalf Samisoni Fisilau, Crusaders prop Ben Franks and six newbies in centre Rey Lee-Lo, flank Ardie Savea, wing Matt Proctor, prop Eric Sione, flank Blade Thomson and utility back James Marshall.

The Blues have replaced the loss of Nonu with Auckland star Malakai Fekitoa and Chiefs centre Jackson Willison. The inclusion of prop Tim Perry eases Woodcock’s departure.

BLUES

Backs - Frank Halai, Waisake Naholo, Charles Piutau, Rene Ranger, Marty McKenzie, Malakai Fekitoa, George Moala, Francis Saili, Jackson Willison, Baden Kerr, Chris Noakes. Scrumhalves: Bryn Hall, Piri Weepu, Jamison Gibson-Park.
Forwards - Kane Barrett, Luke Braid, Steven Luatua, Brendon O’Connor, Ronald Raaymakers, Peter Saili, Anthony Boric, Liaki Moli, Culum Retallick, Ali Williams, Charlie Faumuina, Tom McCartney, Tim Perry, Angus Ta’avao, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Keven Mealamu, Quentin MacDonald, James Parsons.

CHIEFS

Backs - Tim Nanai-Williams, Andrew Horrell, Robbie Robinson, Lelia Masaga, Patrick Osborne, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Bundee Aki, Richard Kahui, Charlie Ngatai, Gareth Anscombe, Aaron Cruden. Scrumhalves: Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Brendon Leonard, August Pulu.
Forwards - Fritz Lee, Sam Cane, Nick Crosswell, Ross Filipo, Tanerau Latimer, Liam Messam, Craig Clarke, Mike Fitzgerald, Romana Graham, Brodie Retallick, Ben Afeaki, Josh Hohneck, Toby Smith, Solomona Sakalia, Ben Tameifuna, Hika Elliot, Rhys Marshall, Mahonri Schwalger.

CRUSADERS

Backs - Tyler Bleyendaal, Dan Carter, Ryan Crotty, Israel Dagg, Robbie Fruean, Zac Guildford, Willie Heinz, Tom Marshall, Tom Taylor, Adam Whitelock, Jeremy Su’a, Johnny McNicholl, Andy Ellis
Forwards - Dominic Bird, Shane Christie, Wyatt Crockett, Tom Donnelly, Corey Flynn, Owen Franks, Ben Funnell, Nepo Laulala, Richie McCaw, Joe Moody, Kieran Read, Luke Romano, Jordan Taufua, Codie Taylor, Matt Todd, Jimmy Tupou, George Whitelock, Luke Whitelock, Sam Whitelock.

HIGHLANDERS

Backs - Phil Burleigh, Tamati Ellison, Jason Emery, Hosea Gear, Ma’a Nonu, Declan O’Donnell, Kade Poki, Hayden Parker, Buxton Popoalii, Colin Slade, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Fumiaki Tanaka, Shaun Treeby.
Forwards - Josh Bekhuis, Tim Boys, Liam Coltman, Elliot Dixon, Ma’afu Fia, John Hardie, Jarrad Hoeata, Andrew Hore, Chris King, Jamie Mackintosh, Nasi Manu, Brayden Mitchell, Jake Paringatai, Brad Thorn, Joe Wheeler, Tony Woodcock.

HURRICANES

Backs - Cory Jane, James Marshall, Julian Savea, Andrew Taylor, Matt Proctor, Tim Bateman, Rey Lee-Lo, Alapati Leuia, Conrad Smith, Beauden Barrett, Tuis Pisi, Samisoni Fisilau, TJ Perenara, Chris Smylie.
Forwards – Jack Lam, Faifili Levave, Karl Lowe, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Blade Thomson, Victor Vito, James Broadhurst, Jason Eaton, Mark Reddish, Jeremy Thrush, Ben Franks, Reggie Goodes, Ben May, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Eric Sione, Dane Coles, Motu Matu’u.

274 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.gunther: Reply to this comment

Wat nou ou drieball?

• 152.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@ET.-150: WTF are you on about? Shouldn’t you be taking swimming lessons somewhere? Heard it might be helpful?

Katman a ‘boertjie’? Now I heard everything…

• 153.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-146: i take it the assumption here is you’re the only one that played rugby & thus has exclusive knowledge about shoulders on chests.?

as u were

• 154.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Just been watching CNN.Farking terrible times in NY and other areas.No electricity,transport and heating.Can’t we just get truck loads of Bulls and Sharks jerseys over there.The people can at least burn it and keep warm.

• 155.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-154: Ooooh dude that was pretty terrible…

• 156.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-145: Who is Marcos.Sounds like a name that could be very popular in Danville. :D

• 157.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Loving the.moaning about players being from different franchises in SA… Wtf do you think Europen fans think the same? Its professional sport. Of course Stormers bought players in! They lost De Waal, Whitehead,Bosch, Newman, Nquelevuki, Poolman, Engelbrecht,Sadie, Januarie,Bobo, Human, Montgomery, Jantjes, Fourie, Chavhanga all in 3 seasons. So yes they did buy players in haha! Pathetic shout. Every team on the globe buys players in. What the coaches think who would fit into.they gameplan. The stormers backline may have 3 players from other unions.. So what.

• 158.katman: Reply to this comment

@ET.-150: You must have missed the post where I alerted you to the fact that, collectively between the lot of us, not a single fck is given. It was somewhere in the early 140′s.

• 159.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

154 **** joke

• 160.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-155: I am very serious,dude.

• 161.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-153: As I was, is making an estimated opinion based on a players playing style! Whilst you can only break down my argument with pathetic dismissals because you have none of your own.

Or do you believe a person getting hit hard in the tackle over and over again without protecting his sternum will not get hurt? Just stating the obvious, with SBW trained more in playing against 10 men than 15.

But everything you say is pure fact right?

• 162.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-159: on second thought,maybe we should not expose New Yorkers to toxic waste.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-156: 34 year old london wasps player…..formerly at Leicester and leeds…lock

• 164.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Ok I’l give you that one. Haha

• 165.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163: is he English or Bullish?

• 166.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-147:

Shame oh Bagy. With distance a huge problem you surely cannot expect me to sample your ” own farts ” now , do you?

What sorry mediocrity are they churning out at UCT these sorrowful days?

Try to explain to me why with glorious ‘breekgat’ neo-racists like Burger, Bekker, Brits( X 2), Fondse, De Vils and many more, W.P. could not win a CC for 11 years? They had to rely on the skills of the much denied and discredited(by too many) rural ‘klongtjies’ like De Jong, Aplon, Carr, Coleman, Francis, Kolisi, Scarawanda and even old Habana to get you that cup(I have forgotten the “poor. stupid” coach).

Would that trphy be at Newlands if not for the wonder De Jong try?

Now run on boy and when you can make it in the world out there consider coming back to talk to me in your ‘uppity’ manner.

Watch now too how the HYENA pack grows in numbers. Signs are already there.

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

according to Heyneke the best lock in the English Premiership.

• 168.katman: Reply to this comment

Cape Town – WP Rugby has apologised after players threw R50 notes to fans who’d assembled to congratulate the team on their Currie Cup victory parade through Cape Town on Tuesday.

As the money was thrown from the bus, fans jostled to get their hands on the cash. There were no reported injuries.

WP Rugby Union president Thelo Wakefield apologised for the incident, explaining that upon stopping in Khayelitsha on the third leg of the parade, part of the crowd had appealed to players on the bus for money suggesting they were hungry.

Wakefield said: “It was maybe a little naive of the players involved, but their intentions were good. There was certainly no negative intention, only positive. If it was perceived in any other way, we apologise.”

• 169.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-164: take it easy.the joke is on those so-called rugby teams and not at the expense of the fine people of the USA.I’ve got family living on the EC and have sympathy with their struggles.

• 170.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-165: Not sure….been plying his trade over there for a while…I believe Heyneke had him as part of the Leicester team and rates him highly.

• 171.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-165: You are just sooooo witty! I normally search through all the threads just to find your posts. You are absolutely hilarious, really. I can hardly wait to see what you’ll come up with next. Keep it up, idiot.

• 172.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I would have thrown Lions kit in as well,but I don’t believe you should be nasty to the needy and less fortunate of society.

• 173.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@ET.-166: Dumb racist. I bet you failed Woodwork at school.

• 174.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-168:

Extraball’s clan looking for their free t-shirt and boerrie roll.

• 175.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163: was this Wentzel oke @ Lecicester when Meyer was there? @ 34 he probably was… eish.

• 176.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-170: At 34 he probably would jump at the opportunity of a Bok call up.Really don’t see him,at that age,wearing an English jumper although you never know with them.Some good young English locks in the premiership,so really don’t know where Meyer is coming from unless he is just looking for a reason to select another player with Gauteng links.

• 177.thesaint: Reply to this comment

@166
    Wow Carr, Francis and Coleman? How would WP have triumphed without them? Go jump in a tidal pool you ignorant twat…

• 178.ET.: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-148:

No originality? To be expected from a runner to the Antipodes, really.

@151
    TheCuntie, like a ‘boere’ auntie still stuck in a fossil moment?

@152

All too lofty for you with questions of life on mars etc., etc.?

@158

Kakman, also glued in the old fossil moment as that post has zero counter to any notion? Do you know LIFE is DYNAMIC even though evil persists?

Ok ‘Broederbonders’ now that I have done KEO a huge favour by get your collective juices flowing let me hit the road(about 3 miles) to sample the Atlantic Ocean that is found at the adorable Ocean Ridge.

Bye now MOFFIES. Do you not have another trick and treat parade for that “Hollowee Cup” this sunny Haloween day?

• 179.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-161: Not sure where the 10 men comes from but are you suggesting rugby league hits (13 men) are lighter than in rugby union? Or were you under the impression he used to play football?

I’d have thought if any muscle would be injured, it’d be in his shoulder considering his tackling style :)

• 180.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-174: The real story of the money from the bus was that Habs and Juan were trying to score four bankies and the pesky cameras interrupted the deal. But props to big Thelo for deflecting the matter.

• 181.ET.: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-177:

Notice how pathetic you are? Is the CC the only rugby in your rugby season?
    Why? Is it because every other rugby challenge just shows FAILURE?

• 182.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-178: Keep well ET.Enjoy the good weather.

• 183.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-180:

indeed.

a kudo to him.

• 184.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-175: apparently so….Bakkies also on the radar apparenty

• 185.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Ahh i see the looting and stealing has begun on the streets of new york!

• 186.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Sad to hear.Now just waiting for certain bloggers to appear and blame a certain race of their choice.

• 187.ET.: Reply to this comment

Let me leave you with a bothersome consideration.

The biggest problem in Azania since 1652 has always been, and still is, the world scurge of RACISM.
    The only solution to that is TOTAL NON-RACIALISM. Nothing short of that will suffice.

Neo-racism is your sorrowful desire and attempt and projection (purely by the ongoing control you have) but the real owners of the land of S.Africa will not accept that. Its time is limited.

That message will hit the streets I walk from Nov.15 onwards.

• 188.ET.: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-182:

You, and your duplicitous games and tantrums, have not ever fooled me creepy-crawly.

• 189.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@katman-180: WP Rugby Union just announced that the WP parade will be repeated on the following days:
    Friday 2 November 2012: 10:00 to 12:00 and 13:00 to 15:00
    Saturday 3 November 2012: 09:30 to 11:30; 12:30 to 14:30; 15:30 to 17:30
    Sunday 4 November 2012: 11:00 to 14:00
    Tuesday 6 November 2012: 10:00 to 12:00; 13:00 to 15:00
    Thursday 8 November 2012: 09:30 to 11:30; 12:30 to 14:30
    Friday 9 November 2012: 09:30 to 11:30; 12:30 to 14:30; 15:30 to 17:30
    Saturday 10 November 2012: 18:00 to 20:00 (Night Parade)
    Monday 24 December 2012: 11:00 to 13:00 (Special Christmas Parade)

The Union promised a stronger SAPS presence and possibly some live radio coverage.

• 190.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-186: What exactly do you mean? Can’t you be more specific? (This is not a loaded question: Just trying to figure out your thought pattern on the issue.)

• 191.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-188: :D . So,you really are that mostofyou character??? Just checking :D

• 192.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transfornicaion-185:

Are you so arrogant in your rich blackness that you would question the fight for survival of the ” Wretched of the Earth ” as you still only read you sports comics
    which is your dope for your rope?

” I must go down to the sea, to the lonely sea and the sky”

Note to all, this is how E.T. works . A true lover of words. never a single emoticon in what I write. So all named to be me and who have used that stupid option of silly faces CANNOT ever be me.

I love WORDS. Yes even the beautiful BeeGees song.

Recall this? :

” Full many a gem of purest rays serene the dark unfathomed caves of oceans bare
    Full many a flower is born to blush unseen and waste its sweetness on the desert air”

Is Siya Kolisi merely one of the undeniable such gems? Will he be afforded the national and structural support?

I have looming doubts and questions of the controllers.

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-161: The destructive centre, on a contract to play 12 matches for Panasonic worth a reported US__?__.2 million, crunched his shoulder attempting a tackle on former Western Force centre Gene Fairbanks during Saturday’s match.

so much for your estimated opinions “mrgreen:

• 194.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-192: :D . :D . :D . :D . :D . :D . :D . :D . :D . :D . :D

• 195.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Some okes are just born to entertain.

• 196.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Pop Quiz time:

Guess who:

Diagnostic criteria for 301.81 Narcissistic Personality Disorder

(DSM IV – TR)

(cautionary statement)

A pervasive pattern of grandiosity (in fantasy or behavior), need for admiration, and lack of empathy, beginning by early adulthood and present in a variety of contexts, as indicated by five (or more) of the following:

(1) has a grandiose sense of self-importance (e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements)

(2) is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love

(3) believes that he or she is “special” and unique and can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions)

(4) requires excessive admiration

(5) has a sense of entitlement, i.e., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations

(6) is interpersonally exploitative, i.e., takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends

(7) lacks empathy: is unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others

(8) is often envious of others or believes that others are envious of him or her

(9) shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes

• 197.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-192: F>UCK OFF ET

is it “survival” knocking on people’s doors imitating ConEd workers and ROBBING them?

what do you know about the “wretched of the earth” basking in Florida sun and doing doggypaddle laps in swimming pools?…

come back and help the flood victims in Missionvale and other “Northern Area” townships that you boast about, p.rick!

• 198.ET.: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-191:

Your reading and understanding is putrid.

I read earlier posts of Jokers, a relative, on yesterday’s main thread which indicated a time close to 8am S.A. time.

After my long, scary drive from Philly to WPB to get out of the clutches of the horribly scary Sandy, I clearly was blissfully in Florida dreamland(2am EST here then). And now I have lots of free time ’til about Sat. when I will drive back north.

Think, digest, educate yourself, adjust and move on.

• 199.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ET.-198: And here we go ***frustratednarcissistshowing histrueworthsmiley*** :) I forgot to add this little pearl to my post above…….”Rages when frustrated, contradicted, or confronted by people he or she considers inferior to him or her and unworthy.”

You my man, have been served. Please aknowledge receipt of this interweb memo.

• 200.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196: Sounds like Langers too…..

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.