Highlanders boast strong squad

The New Zealand franchises have announced their Super Rugby squads.

The Highlanders have named 10 All Blacks in their squad, with hooker Andrew Hore taking over the captaincy from loosehead prop Jamie Mackintosh.

The Otago franchise’s highlight additions are centre Ma’a Nonu and loosehead prop Tony Woodcock from the Blues.

Flank Adam Thomson is the major omission as he has sealed a deal to play overseas next year.

Defending champions the Chiefs have gained All Blacks lock Ross Filipo, who featured on the Test scene in 2007 and 2008. Filipo once played for the Crusaders before enjoying overseas stints with Bayonne and the London Wasps.

Seven-time champions the Crusaders have announced nine newbies in their squad. They are hooker Codie Taylor, fullback Johnny McNicholl, props Joe Moody and Nepo Laulala, lock Dominic Bird, and loose forwards Shane Christie, Jordan Taufua and Jimmy Tupou.

The Christchurch franchise have also recruited Samoan Jeremy Su’a to bolster their scrumhalf ranks.

The Hurricanes look set to build on this year’s surprise campaign, having signed Tongan scrumhalf Samisoni Fisilau, Crusaders prop Ben Franks and six newbies in centre Rey Lee-Lo, flank Ardie Savea, wing Matt Proctor, prop Eric Sione, flank Blade Thomson and utility back James Marshall.

The Blues have replaced the loss of Nonu with Auckland star Malakai Fekitoa and Chiefs centre Jackson Willison. The inclusion of prop Tim Perry eases Woodcock’s departure.

BLUES

Backs - Frank Halai, Waisake Naholo, Charles Piutau, Rene Ranger, Marty McKenzie, Malakai Fekitoa, George Moala, Francis Saili, Jackson Willison, Baden Kerr, Chris Noakes. Scrumhalves: Bryn Hall, Piri Weepu, Jamison Gibson-Park.
Forwards - Kane Barrett, Luke Braid, Steven Luatua, Brendon O’Connor, Ronald Raaymakers, Peter Saili, Anthony Boric, Liaki Moli, Culum Retallick, Ali Williams, Charlie Faumuina, Tom McCartney, Tim Perry, Angus Ta’avao, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Keven Mealamu, Quentin MacDonald, James Parsons.

CHIEFS

Backs - Tim Nanai-Williams, Andrew Horrell, Robbie Robinson, Lelia Masaga, Patrick Osborne, Asaeli Tikoirotuma, Bundee Aki, Richard Kahui, Charlie Ngatai, Gareth Anscombe, Aaron Cruden. Scrumhalves: Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Brendon Leonard, August Pulu.
Forwards - Fritz Lee, Sam Cane, Nick Crosswell, Ross Filipo, Tanerau Latimer, Liam Messam, Craig Clarke, Mike Fitzgerald, Romana Graham, Brodie Retallick, Ben Afeaki, Josh Hohneck, Toby Smith, Solomona Sakalia, Ben Tameifuna, Hika Elliot, Rhys Marshall, Mahonri Schwalger.

CRUSADERS

Backs - Tyler Bleyendaal, Dan Carter, Ryan Crotty, Israel Dagg, Robbie Fruean, Zac Guildford, Willie Heinz, Tom Marshall, Tom Taylor, Adam Whitelock, Jeremy Su’a, Johnny McNicholl, Andy Ellis
Forwards - Dominic Bird, Shane Christie, Wyatt Crockett, Tom Donnelly, Corey Flynn, Owen Franks, Ben Funnell, Nepo Laulala, Richie McCaw, Joe Moody, Kieran Read, Luke Romano, Jordan Taufua, Codie Taylor, Matt Todd, Jimmy Tupou, George Whitelock, Luke Whitelock, Sam Whitelock.

HIGHLANDERS

Backs - Phil Burleigh, Tamati Ellison, Jason Emery, Hosea Gear, Ma’a Nonu, Declan O’Donnell, Kade Poki, Hayden Parker, Buxton Popoalii, Colin Slade, Aaron Smith, Ben Smith, Lima Sopoaga, Fumiaki Tanaka, Shaun Treeby.
Forwards - Josh Bekhuis, Tim Boys, Liam Coltman, Elliot Dixon, Ma’afu Fia, John Hardie, Jarrad Hoeata, Andrew Hore, Chris King, Jamie Mackintosh, Nasi Manu, Brayden Mitchell, Jake Paringatai, Brad Thorn, Joe Wheeler, Tony Woodcock.

HURRICANES

Backs - Cory Jane, James Marshall, Julian Savea, Andrew Taylor, Matt Proctor, Tim Bateman, Rey Lee-Lo, Alapati Leuia, Conrad Smith, Beauden Barrett, Tuis Pisi, Samisoni Fisilau, TJ Perenara, Chris Smylie.
Forwards – Jack Lam, Faifili Levave, Karl Lowe, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Blade Thomson, Victor Vito, James Broadhurst, Jason Eaton, Mark Reddish, Jeremy Thrush, Ben Franks, Reggie Goodes, Ben May, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Eric Sione, Dane Coles, Motu Matu’u.

274 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

• 201.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-199:

Sounds like Blofeld.

I can just imagine him stroking his ***** whilst plotting the fall of the capitalist system.

• 202.ET.: Reply to this comment

@Transfornication-197:

You have clearly been too rich and for too long and also too dumb creeping and crawling to ever understand survival, even of the drug-crazed needy. It knows NO creed or colour or state of wealth(or not) – let that be your lesson, boy.

You are so far yet you can make these hollow, sanctimonious judgements yet you should know ” first news” out is never trustworthy but is always dramatic and sensational.
    I, because of my present and copious free time, see and hear this news of a neighbouring state 24/7. Do I now believe your questionable judgement or my considered take on these matters?
    Be gone now as you are a time waste.

There are floods all over this world so why is Missionavale(which you hardly know) your sensational, drama-inspired call.
    Do you accept that the world truly is a stage(note the singular form)?

• 203.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-198: Ag,ET.When you back in CT i will buy you a cold beer …and teach you how to dance Gangnam Style.Ok.

• 204.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-200: I don’t know Langers…but dearestfuck, having TWO cerebral narcissists on one blog? How unfuckinglucky can a group of rugby lovers be?

• 205.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-176:

He can’t play for England as he’s already played for the boks. Cappped by Staueli’s in 2002. Former Eagles and Bulls lock/flanker.

• 206.wnbb: Reply to this comment

ET,you need to live life and don’t take it so seriously,mate…..because you definitely not going to come out of it alive.I don’t think you want the following inscription on your tombstone :’Here lies a twisted,sick and bitter man’.

• 207.Angostura: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-176:

Marco Wentzel is a 2-cap Bok (2002 vintage); he is a boy from George. He & HM have a player/coach relationship spanning many years, great distances, different environments & various “clubs” (the SWD Eagles, the Bulls, the Leicester Tigers… & now perhaps the Bokke?)
    If nothing else, HM is eternally loyal to his “blue-eyed” boys.

• 208.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-205: Straeli?Enough said.Thanks,bud.

• 209.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.-187:

Have to add this important concept to complete this undeniable principle:

” The biggest problem in Azania since 1652 has always been, and still is, the world scurge of RACISM.
    The only solution to that is TOTAL NON-RACIALISM. Nothing short of that will suffice.”

NON- RACIALISM is like the phenomenal electro-physiological ACTION POTENTIAL It is an ALL or NONE event. Nothing in between is ever acceptable. It either happens and is thus acceptable or it does not happen.
    But what would non-scientific morons know about life- or science-principles ever?

• 210.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-209: I don’t think the Khoe and San called it Azania in 1652,mate.

• 211.ET.: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-203:

With all the Jamaicans I encounter daily, the beat-in-the-feet moves are the least of my problems.

Did you not see how Chris Gayle and the rest of the all-conquering T20 WC Windies’ Champs were doing it in that tourney?

• 212.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@ET.-187:

you go fark around in the streets of a ‘gated community’ patrolled by a ‘private security company’ somewhere in philly at 2:00 in the morning, boet.

you’ll find all the fark out about NON-RACIALISM so fast you wont have time to see your head spin.

just sayin…

if you wanna fix the world then start on your doorstep.

• 213.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Angostura-207: Loyalty….sigh. Heyneke Meyer would have been a fanbloodytastic German Shepherd or Cocker Spaniel.

• 214.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ET.-211: Chris Gayle is a frikkin rock star of the cricketing world. You are a cricket sitting on a rock.
    I doubt your ‘moves’ come close….chirrp chirrrp.

• 215.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watter kuk praat hy nou weer

He hate whites he hate blacks WTF

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Preach it pedigree!!!

• 217.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-215: Tribalism is the most basic form of rascism…and tribalism is what rugby is all about ie provincialism

• 218.Dawn: Reply to this comment

A cricket sitting on a rock

I like!

• 219.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Atreides come back you must come to drinks!

• 220.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Superbru-217: In other words, if you support a specific province you’re racist? Fck, this place is crawling with weirdos..

• 221.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-214:

he was denied the opportunity to blow the world of badminton wide farking open back in 85 or 75, i cant remember the year.

its all in the wrist they say… :grin:

• 222.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-220: That’s where it all started mate,my tribe attack your tribe,smash all the males and make off with the women and children (trophies) :lol:

• 223.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watsup Finfan I know you play no 2 so you can moer ET

• 224.ET.: Reply to this comment

And the he/she/it craves attention with copied and pasted words(from a textbook that I have, and successfully studied from), but that does not mean that his/hers/its total understanding is not sadly lacking. It is the easiest thing to C&P and feign understanding.

You absolutely sure you were not one of the many psychiatric patients I clerked at Valkenberg many years ago?
    I seem to recollect that a gender querying patient was given ECT ( electro-shock therapy) by the consultant I then worked with. Was that you and has that treatment totally failed you. Can you clarify that please?

• 225.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-223: I moered him before. As you’ve probably realised by now, he has never recovered. Permanent brain damage. Poor fcking sod.

• 226.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who you talking to

• 227.Dawn: Reply to this comment

He “clerked psychiatric patients at Valkenberg”

Explains a lot

Mark it Transie, mark it

• 228.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-219: Anytime!

Not on here much anymore, got pretty tiresome….

• 229.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-226: ET blogs in front of a mirror. It does create confusion and causes depression though.

• 230.Dawn: Reply to this comment

It is feckin tiresome.

Pedigree lights the place up though

• 231.ET.: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-212:

And your point is what again, irrelevant one? You need to go to Tarrytown to trick and treat those long-lost lies, this glorious Halloween.

The streets of the W.Cape and E.Cape will belong to me and like-minded people. You cannot walk where I will walk in any township of my choice.

• 232.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ET.-224: You have been served. On a plate. With your feathers plucked out and your poephol on show. (Hope you washed it….)

• 233.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-202: cops have arrested people who smash shop windows and grab goods, people’s homes have been robbed…survival se gat!

• 234.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“You cannot walk where I will walk in any township of my choice”

• 235.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@ET.-224: You just exhibited most of the symptoms listed there in your little tirade, sunshine…oh the irony

More listening and less yapping, you might learn something and not make such an utter cocktonsil of yourself all the time

• 236.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Trans mark that Valkenberg post

• 237.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Praat van spieels en wat wat: Julius Malema gaan ‘n kunsgallery binne en se: “Is die lelike kunswerk nou iets wat julle wit mense nou moderne kuns noem?” Nee, se die eienaar van die gallery, dis ‘n spieel meneer.

• 238.ET.: Reply to this comment

How you make those sucked-from-god-knows-where connections only the PSYCHIATRIC you will ever know. Your eyes have not seen me so what is your sorry, dubious point. You cricket knowledge of said Chris(yes I have spoken to him and many more) I will not even seek to tax.

And inform your cheerleader that every medical student clerks any and all sorts of patients from all the medical disciplines including psychiatry where you were possibly encountered.

The Atlantic waters of a very sunny OCEAN RIDGE calls while a devilish envy consumes you and your other ‘gatgabbas’(do you even understand that S. Africanism?).

• 239.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ET.-238:

“Rages when frustrated, contradicted, or confronted by people he or she considers inferior to him or her and unworthy.” – check.

“Heterosexual women bear the brunt of narcissistic heterosexual men’s hostility, according to a 2010 study.” – check.

(let me elaborate….)

“The results from this study reveal that straight men’s narcissism is linked to an adversarial and angry stance toward straight women more than toward other groups. Although narcissists may want to maintain feelings of superiority and power over all people, narcissistic heterosexual men are particularly invested in subordinating heterosexual women because they are “gatekeepers in men’s quest for sexual pleasure, patriarchal power and status,” the study authors explain.

So please continue, I take no offence. I know where it’s coming from and why ;)

• 240.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Que?

Sun’s out here too. Ocean here too.

• 241.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I scheme he’s a sociopath too

• 242.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-238: You have been threatening to go for a swim for the last three or so hours now.Just go out there and do it ,bud.I think we got the message already,the one of being an exceptional human being.

• 243.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I would also like to go to the beach,but it’s piss cold here and the clocks have gone back as well.Eish you lucky people down there in Florida and CT.

• 244.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shame wnbb

You tried to be nice to him by saying “go well” cos you think he’s smart and kwaai.

Shows how dom you are.

He turned right round in his bather and klapped you sideways.

• 245.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I have learned my lesson.Tried to be nice,but got badly scarred in the process.

• 246.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-241: He be just plainfuckedinthenoggin. I do hope he let’s us know when he will be landing at CT International in November. A welcome worthy of a ‘national treasure’ should not be out of the question? FucktheOlympians, the Proteas, the CC winners and the like. This fellow deserves the bizness.
    Vuvuzelas, dancing girls, Patricia and Helen all topped off with an open bus ride through the City of Cape Town?
    (We can peltthefuck out of him with shuttlecocks as the bus whizzes past…..)

@wnbb-243: Glorious in the mother city at the moment…..

• 247.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-246: yeah,rub it in :D . Tell those Bokkies to enjoy the Cape,because it’s going to be a distant memory when they arrive here. :D

• 248.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sod that

Close the fecking borders!

He hates SA!

• 249.David: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-246:

• 250.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Hopefully this will keep the Banana boys happy: Cape Town – Youngster Patrick Lambie will have a chance to prove his mettle as flyhalf in South Africa’s upcoming Tests in Ireland, Scotland and England during November, coach Heyneke Meyer said on Wednesday.

“He is tried and tested at Super Rugby level but I want to go forward with two flyhalves from here and I want to use this opportunity to see what Pat can do at this level,” Meyer told a media conference here.

“For me it is very important at Test level that your flyhalf be a good tactical kicker,” Meyer continued.

“I wasn’t impressed with Pat’s tactical kicking before and I asked him to work on that aspect. He showed me in the Currie Cup that he has done the necessary work and I have been very impressed.”

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.