Saru hopes for new dawn

The South African Rugby Union says it has committed to a transformation plan that will for once properly measure its success and failure on this issue.

The governing body held a two-day transformation indaba in Johannesburg, which concluded with Saru president Oregan Hoskins and representatives of each of the 14 member unions signing a declaration.

‘We have had visions and charters in the past, with good intentions, and progress has been made,’ Hoskins said. ‘But what distinguishes this one is the commitment to properly measure ourselves on our progress.’

The key performance areas will be access, skill and capability development, demographics, performance, and alignment to national policy and governance.

No details of the plan have been released yet (they will first discuss an implementation plan), but Hoskins explained that they would strive to go beyond previously unsuccessful attempts at transformation.

‘As the sports minister [Fikile Mbalula] said, transformation is not about the “vulgar” simplification of numbers in the Springbok team,’ Hoskins said. ‘It is about a whole range of opportunities being created in a number of different areas to continue to transform rugby at all levels and in all corners of our activity.’

Saru chief executive Jurie Roux said the indaba and declaration were part of an extensive strategy to finalise the transformation implementation plan. He also said it confirmed that Saru would adopt deliberate transformation initiatives in order to ensure equal opportunities existed for all South Africans.

‘We have had a group working on this process for several months,’ Roux said. ‘In April we presented the outline to the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Sport and since then we have workshopped the draft plan with provinces on an individual basis.

‘This indaba is the culmination of that process and from this we will finalise the implementation plan.’

Saru hopes the strategic transformation plan will increase the number of blacks involved at all levels of the game and ensure rugby was accessible to all who wished to participate. There will also be a focus on improving skills and performance in identified coaches, referees, administrators and players. It stressed that in accordance with transformation plan, Saru members would focus on quality and merit to deliver world-class performances on the field of play.

324 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 1.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

whats wrong with the old dawn?

• 2.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

kak r(h)ule S

• 3.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Dawn going for a makeover?

Pity they didn’t have a vision on how kak HM is and got him a charter plane outta here.

Lets not talk about them Kings…

• 4.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Gonna be one of THOSE threads

• 5.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-4: ag, don’t get your swirlkous in a knot :)

• 6.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

The Boks went to townships here in PE …. they gave a few rugby balls to students and also gave training … the next day the kids played soccer with the rugby balls …. Its like trying to get Pavarotti fans to become fans of Lady Gaga ,,,

• 7.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-4:
    a thread ALL about you..?..

cant say there’s been many of them.

• 8.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-6: Like the WP okes throwing money at the fans.

They end up buying Saders jerseys with the money.

• 9.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

lol!!

• 10.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-8:

• 11.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Better headline from a number of perspectives:

DAWN HOPES FOR NEW SARU. :-)

• 12.Delki: Reply to this comment

I notice you Saffers are absolutely awful organisers and administrators. What is the reason for this??

• 13.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Delki-12: Colonialism.

• 14.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

The quota system was invented by NZ Rugby Union after 1995 — its the only way NZ can beat the Boks …

• 15.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Delki-12:
    Can we get back to you on this?

• 16.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-14:
    huh?

• 17.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-13:

• 18.katman: Reply to this comment

So what you having done, Dawn? Botox? Lipo? Tuck?

This is exciting.

• 19.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Delki-12: Want ons is n klomp etters……happy?

• 20.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@katman-18: New, improved and tooit like a tooiger.

• 21.gunther: Reply to this comment

Nobody does an indaba like we do.

We are world indaba champions.

Free t-shirts, caps and pens.

And plenty of catering.

All rounded off with a succinct 4,376 page report that nobody will ever read.

• 22.gunther: Reply to this comment

Any kid who can play soccer with a rugby ball has serious talent.

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-21:
    what’s that saying about ‘a conference room full of m.onkeys banging away at a keyboard long enough will produce the complete work of p. divvies book’..?..

@gunther-22:

get them into the nearest rugby centre of excelence pronto.

• 24.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-21: Apparently the Joef Liegue spent a million Rand on berets for some Che Guevara styled conference recently. Nothing more ridiculous than a fat sub-sahara-african trainee dictator in an ill fitting commie T-shirt and militant head dress nodding off to the post-lunch drone from the podium.

• 25.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-18:

Keo Celebrity Blogger Makeover.

• 26.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-25: Maybe we can send capo for a Schnauzer cut.

• 27.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

Common guys, really??? After twenty odd years the SA think tank had their Eureka moment. This is all about corporate jargon, big lunches and feeling important.

Truly, how difficult has it really been to address transformation. No one wants to see a quota player in a team and I am sure no one wants to feel like a quota player. Ask Luke Watson, he turned green and wanted to vomit on his jersey. (I’m no LW groupie)

Anyway, its about opportunities and development. Give the less opportune guys the means to develop equally. Or at least access to facilities. This include bursaries. Then from that platform a squad is picked.

No one has ever lamented a non white player (ok, Im not talking about down and outright racists) performing well. Those players enjoy the same status as successful white players. Its unfair to drop names, but just think Breytie, Chester, Simba Cheetah, Beast touches the ball and everyone becomes aware.

My point: Create equal/fair development/scouting opportunities and the rest will take care of itself.

• 28.David: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-27:
    You’d think Super Sport would get more involved here. The more popular rugby becomes amongst the black population the more Premium contracts they’ll sell. Bloody robbers.

• 29.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-28: Having just paid my R652 this morning, I suspect it’s going to take more than popularity to sell Premium contracts.

• 30.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-26:

And get his paws clipped at the same time.

@David-28:

If they can afford them.

Surely the lure of the buckets of world football would already be a draw card?

Unless they do something about the costs or would mean very little difference on their numbers,

• 31.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-14:

Yeah, that’s how NZ managed to beat a quota laden bok side 4 outta 5 tests in 1996? Damn those quotas, if it wasn’t for them the boks might’ve won that series and the tri-nations…

• 32.gonzo: Reply to this comment

There i was worried Keo would be low on hits with the lull in rugby this week. Nothing like a transformation article to get things started.

These are my favourite parts of the article. Sounds like real commitment guys. A new dawn:

We have had visions and charters in the past, with good intentions, and progress has been made,’ Hoskins said. ‘But what distinguishes this one is the commitment to properly measure ourselves on our progress.’

No details of the plan have been released yet (they will first discuss an implementation plan), but Hoskins explained that they would strive to go beyond previously unsuccessful attempts at transformation.

• 33.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-32: Have no fear…. The SARU rugga awards take place this evening…… There is going to be much wailing, chest beating and foot stamping when players who are expected to win certain awards DON’T win them.
    Tommorrow should be rather entertaining.

Personally, I’m desperate to see a few Sharks players win the main awards, as the word unplayable comes to mind should it not be so……

• 34.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Good work Jurie and Oregan.Now lets put that plan into action.

• 35.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-33: I will be disappointed if Lambie gets overlooked for player of the year …and future years.They might as well give it to him now.

• 36.katman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-33: I’m told there will be a special In Absentia award tonight: the Darwin Award will go to Quade Cooper for successfully removing himself from the ARU gene pool.

• 37.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-35: WRONG :) It’s Keegan’s award to lose……

@katman-36: Classic :)
    ***My Quadey is a good boy – said Quades nan before the kickoff of RWC 2011***

• 38.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-37: Eish!My bad.Totally forgot about the little guy.

• 39.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-38: Can’t blame you for forgetting the little guy. We haven’t had S_L and his mates on everyday to remind us how ‘gifted and special’ he is.

• 40.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Can we give Jurie a reward for removing the Lions from super rugby?Apart from my beloved ‘Province’ winning the CC,that has been my other highlight for 2012.

• 41.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-40:

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-39: for a team that has a “plan” for province’s rolling maul, the Sharks were sure useless at stopping the rampaging mass of bodies..

• 43.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-42: They also said they had sorted out their lineout problems that came to the fore in the semi final vs the Bulls already. All they did was swop one skew hooker with another….which confused Bok ‘should be bolter’ Bresler to the point where he didn’t even try to win his own ball anymore.

I do see the guppies have moved on though….it’s all about PSDT again.

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-39:
    we sure are lucky to have him on our side.

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-43: interesting t.itbit from the census… “people in KZN are less qualified than people in the WC, yet they are paid more”

• 46.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44: I wonder if he has even made the trip to CT for the awards this evening? Considering he stated rather obnoxiously, that he wasn’t going to waste his time flying to CT if he wasn’t going to win anything……

• 47.mathew333: Reply to this comment

how come heyneke never selected another centre for the end of year tour?

• 48.Stawm: Reply to this comment

Since this is always a politically driven issue, can someone tell me how much our esteemed trough feeders have allocated from the national budget for rugby development in general?

• 49.David: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-46:
    He might as well stay in Durban, where he also didn’t win anything. :lol:

• 50.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-46:
    well, you know the old saying about tempting fate…tsk tsk…

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.