Sharpe gets Australia’s top honour

Nathan Sharpe was awarded the John Eales Medal in Sydney on Thursday.

The stand-in Wallabies skipper beat the likes of David Pocock and Adam Ashley-Cooper to the top individual accolade.

Sharpe also received the Australia’s Choice Player of the Year Award (which is voted for by fans) and the Spirit of Rugby/Nick Farr-Jones Award for his services to the code.

Michael Hooper won the Rookie of the Year Award after showing great form for the Brumbies during Super Rugby and filling in impressively for the injured Pocock in the Wallabies No 7 jersey.

The Try of the Year award went to prop Ben Alexander, who scored a telling try in the Wallabies’ 26-19 win over the Springboks in Perth during the Rugby Championship.