Boks set for Auckland challenge
2 Nov 2012
The All Blacks will play seven Tests at home in 2013, including the clash against the Springboks at Eden Park.
The Boks will have to travel to Auckland during next year’s Rugby Championships on 14 September and face the title holders at Eden Park, where South Africa last won in 1937. The All Blacks have beaten the visitors five out of eight times at the venue.
France will also tour New Zealand during the June Test window for a three-match repeat of the 2011 World Cup final. Les Bleus will tackle the world champions in Auckland (8 June), Christchurch (15 June) and New Plymouth (22 June).
The All Blacks host the Wallabies in two of the three Bledisloe Cup Tests. One will be a Rugby Championship fixture in Wellington on 24 August, while the other will be played in Dunedin on 19 October.
The Pumas travel to Hamilton on 7 September.

45 Comments
2 Nov 2012, 06:20 am
no comment
2 Nov 2012, 07:57 am
Nice……
2 Nov 2012, 08:22 am
The French series will be great! Just hope they putt up more of a fight than the Irish did this year
2 Nov 2012, 08:27 am
great … Boks playing the All Blacks in front of max 15 000 again … ffs! we should let the All Blacks play the Boks in George … treat them the same … no more 80 000 + crowds~!
2 Nov 2012, 08:35 am
“The All Blacks will plays seven Tests at home in 2013, including the clash against the Springboks at Eden Park.”
I believe it is “The All Blacks will play…” NOT plays!!!
2 Nov 2012, 08:50 am
@goodstuff-5: Hilarious!
2 Nov 2012, 08:58 am
Suffer Guy shows you how much people think of the Boks ……These days you are LUCKY to get 15000 watching the Boks play
Lol
2 Nov 2012, 09:01 am
all the better, we’ll beat them on their hallowed turf…
2 Nov 2012, 09:06 am
It amazes me that the Bok’s have only played, and lost, all 3 games played against New Zealand at Eden Park over the last 15 years.
Meanwhile,
Australia have played, and lost, 10 times over the same period
England have played, and lost, 3 times despite only touring every 4 years
France have played, and lost, 3 times in the last 5 years.
Even Ireland have played, and lost, 3 times in the last 10 years.
Doesn’t the NZRU rate SA enough to schedule more matches at its premier ground.
2 Nov 2012, 09:19 am
@Brads-9: Doesn’t the NZRU rate SA enough to schedule more matches at its premier ground.
no, they’re kak scared we’ll smack you okes there and rubbish your “premier ground”
2 Nov 2012, 09:25 am
@Brads-9:
I suppose the fact SA only has a 18-3 played/win ratio against NZ in NZ over the last 15 years, tends to justify the NZRU scheduling of important fixtures at its premier ground.
Beating Australia is alway fun, so filling a stadium is not too much bother, hence the frequency.
As for the NH teams. They clearly offer a variation of the subjugated opposition.
Playing, and beating SA at the same venue more frequently would become really boring. It was therefore a no brainer to give a few other venues patrons the opportunity to gaffaw.
2 Nov 2012, 09:30 am
@Transformation-10:
18-3 Trans, that’s 18-3 over the last 15 years.
Talk it up all you like about how it would have been different if SA played more often at Eden Park, but you cannot deny the results of the SA assaults on NZ have been woeful.
2 Nov 2012, 09:38 am
@Brads-12:
All the while, over the same period, SA have played NZ 18 times at home and lost 10 times.
2 Nov 2012, 09:52 am
@Delki-7: Suffer_guy does not represent me as a Saffa….. He is a little like ET in that regard. No person or nation really wants to take ownership of them and claim them.
See them as “Lost Property”. The battered shoe, chewed up cell phone cover or torn wallet handed in at the kiosk….
2 Nov 2012, 09:56 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-14: That is just kak funny. Thanks for putting a smile on me face. Having a tos Friday thusfar but will sort that out with a couple of cold ones and steak later on.
2 Nov 2012, 10:15 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-15:
There is nothing a few cold ones can’t sort out
(and if there is, I have yet to encounter it)
2 Nov 2012, 10:29 am
@Brads-12: Very true.Our record against the kiwis is very poor indeed,especially since our return in the 90′s.The four in a row that PdV achieved against you okes probably the only bright spark for us Bok supporters.Other than that,nothing for us to get excited about.
Just found another interesting stat.
NZ has not lost a test match in Europe since 2002.
In this time SA have lost 9 tests in Europe.
I predict a typical 3 match French tour.
1 near loss or even a win, accompanied by 2 whippings.
2 Nov 2012, 10:32 am
@wnbb-17:
I wasn’t intending to rub in the salt as it were, I just thought it appropriate to post a few comments to counter the troll at #4.
2 Nov 2012, 10:35 am
@wnbb-17: That’s the problem with the majority of Bok fans. Many of our brothers and sisters in ‘Bok support’ seem to think (and fuckknows where it comes from) that we have somehow been at the very least ‘equal’ to NZ post isolation.
The truth is, we haven’t even come close to matching them, bettering them or even competing with them (apart from P Div’s success in 2009).
And if we are talking rugby in general: The Kiwis have smashed us in 7′s, Super rugby for the most, and the AB’s have an unrivalled record in Europe as seen in Delki’s post.
So why we even think we are on equal footing to them is delusional to start off with, and sadly only leads to disappointment for those who live in this parralel rugby universe.
2 Nov 2012, 10:40 am
@Delki-18:
Thing is here, the old stats are out the window.
Everybody dined out for 20 years off the fact NZ were chokers, and so long as some team somewhere on the planet won the RWC other than NZ, results between RWC could be dismissed.
Now look at what has happened.
The so called holiday/development/last harrah SH mid year tour by northern hemisphere teams has become serious.
So will the EOYT by SA and Aus.
Serious effort will be put in to win each test.
2 Nov 2012, 10:44 am
@Brads-22: This EOYT is very serious indeed. With the IRC RWC draw taking place in December, both Australia and South Africa will be desperate to go into the draw at 2.
2 Nov 2012, 10:56 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-23:
Exactly as it should be.
2 Nov 2012, 11:58 am
MAn oh Man the French are going to New Zealand. I bet the ABs are feeling nervous about that one, i for one will be behind the Frogs to take ANOTHER home series v the ABs as the ABs are slow starters in June!!!
2 Nov 2012, 13:42 pm
Boks will make it a clean sweep in Europe! . ….and off course next year a clean sweep in NZ. About time we teach them a proper rugby lesson or two!
“Nag ou Groote”
2 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
@Delki-18: You mean a November international or have you just wiped Cardiff ’07 from your memory like I have tried to do but can’t?
2 Nov 2012, 15:49 pm
@Brads-20: Mate youre the farkin troll!
And you too thick to even understand the post in #4, but its not trolling, its an opinion.
#4@wnbb-17: Not the only “bright spark” but one of the few, unfortunately.
Dont forget the unbeaten team in 98/99, who also klapped smelly Kiwis in each game. The 2004 team under White were also great (they shouldve won that first test in NZ where Howlett scored in like the last minute), and 2005 they were also good against NZ (another last-minute try by Mealamu avoided defeat).
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-21: As above, we HAVE come close, we have matched them, and even surpassed them over the post-isolation years, but not consistently enough.
I agree it should be the #1 priority of the Boks to work being #1 team in the world (this goal includes the decimation of the ABs). I dont care about beating the Wallabies, or a good EOYT. I want the ABS defeated and the RC trophy to be the Boks’
2 Nov 2012, 15:51 pm
@race of tan-25: Unfortunately it wont happen that way Tan… there is no pressure of a Final on NZ in that kind of Tour. NZ are great at playing Tournaments/Series’ formats. Its the one-off Finals-rugby that they struggle with.
As much as I wish the Frenchies could get their revenge for a terrible refereeing display in the 2011 Final, alas I seriously doubt it will happen…
2 Nov 2012, 18:56 pm
@bokfan1-28: So you would rather win a RWC every 12 years and find beating our great rivals, the New Zealand All Blacks, 11 times out of 36, 30%, acceptable?
Show me a good loser, and I will show you a loser.
The benchmark are the All Blacks.
We are below that, and need to get our act together.
Simple.
2 Nov 2012, 20:36 pm
@21 Pedigree…if Saru had put the proper structures together over the last twenty years instead of their ad hoc approach to building the game in the Republic then the stats would read somewhat differently, I remember telling Tacitus, thank the heavens for the strong provincialism in Sa which has made up for some of Saru’s unique ineptness .
2 Nov 2012, 20:48 pm
@bokfan1-28:
What an ignorant **** you are.
If you think the post at #4 was an opinion then you are seriously downgrading the intellect of the fellow. Perhaps you should take a bit of time out of your busy schedule of thumb sucking to understand the difference between fact and fiction.
As for my comments, I have already acknowledged they were abrasive but they were not intentionally directed at the wider SA audience here on Keo.
That said, they were at least facts, not unsupported drivel.
2 Nov 2012, 23:32 pm
@bokfan1-28:
“And you too thick to even understand the post in #4, but its not trolling, its an opinion.”
You have to be joking.
Tell me what part of his opoinion is even close to being the truth?
He needs to be put right. Unless you believe his opinion which mkaes you as much of a c0ckhead as he is.Please show us the 15000 crowd at a test match he is talking about against the Boks.
3 Nov 2012, 00:30 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-14: you really needed to make it a torn EMPTY wallet in your analogy… but it had me laughing big time
@bokfan1-28: considering the frequency we play each other, youve won 12 games in approx. 46 tests in twenty years.. its delusion like yours thats endemic in SA rugby and is why you guys will continue to lag behind..
@race of tan-25: the French are always a tough challenge, but they havent won a series in NZ since 94. the last series was a 1-all draw… I was at the test at Eden patk in 94, and got to witnress one of the greatest tries in rugbys history..
“try from the end of the earth” and what a pearler..I hope they can produce similar form next year, they can and do play a beautiful game that I can appreciate.. so much harder to beat then the strengths of SA rugby..
@SodaJoe-30: good posy Soda.
3 Nov 2012, 00:38 am
I am a little worried,,it has been a almost decade since England beat us, and going on history of the 6 times they have beaten us,
2002, 2003
they could be due
but looking at that record, I have new found pity and sheer sympathy for big hit..
3 Nov 2012, 01:10 am
@Transformation-10:
I think you will find that SA dont want to play there. Like when they go to NH, they never play all the NH teams…odd dont you think?
3 Nov 2012, 04:43 am
@poppa69-35:
Hey Pops…do you think we will see the Poms do a lap of honour after a close loss…..thats how they roll isn’t it.
3 Nov 2012, 05:16 am
@Te Rangatira-37: its their poaching that upsets me
3 Nov 2012, 05:24 am
@poppa69-38:
hehe……any Maori who dons the lily white of the England strip is a kupapa in mine eyes and should be stripped of their iwi status….hehe
3 Nov 2012, 09:31 am
@poppa69-35:
Getting beaten is not my issue.
4 or 5 teams are capable of this on a good day, so it is a given that the unexpected will happen from time to time.
What confuses me is the assumption that having been beaten, or damn near so in the case of the Aussies, the AB’s are apparent;y massively vulnerable to every other contending team because those self same teams have grown in stature by some form of osmosis.
Truly, an alien looking in on the Bokke supporter collective would have to be left with the belief there is some sort of bipolar disorder going on here.
This swinging from extreme despair to an unfettered expectation of triumph is a challenge to comprehend.
3 Nov 2012, 20:54 pm
Bring on the roadkill in green.
3 Nov 2012, 21:53 pm
Hey Brads some SA fans are so insecure that they get really happy when NZ either lose or come close to losing. Somehow in their minds this makes them the best in the world. even though their own record is so poor. Go figure……….
3 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
Is there anyone still alive who actually remembers Philip Nel’s Bok team, featuring young Danie Craven, winning that Auckland test back in 1937?
4 Nov 2012, 15:19 pm
@bokfan1-29: I have no time for one eyed fans from any country including NZ, but one eyed safa fans are the worst. I just watched the WC final again for the fourth time and I was looking specifically for refereeing mistakes. There weren’t many, but the worst ones favoured the French. Joubert allowed the game to flow well and only penalized infringements on both sides that interfered with play. He is the best ref around, and a South African. The AB’s deserved the win. Why is it so hard for you guys to admit how good they are? France won’t have the motivation next year to perform well. The Boks can only match the AB’s when they are off their game. That doesn’t happen too often.
4 Nov 2012, 16:19 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-16: Hello Pedigree Not recommended Tried this remedy on Thursday and by the time I went to bed was staggeringly incoherent.
(Good tautology) Apologies to you and my other friends.Regards