Habana grabs grand prize

Bryan Habana was named South Africa’s Player of the Year on Thursday night in Cape Town.

Habana was honoured with the top individual national prize after showing great form throughout 2012.

He was part of the Stormers team that topped the South African conference before losing to the Sharks in the semi-final.

He starred for the Springboks during their 2-0 June Test triumph over England. He was also the top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship, crossing the chalk on seven occasions.

He also helped WP to their first Currie Cup title in 11 years. Unfortunately, a knee injury picked up during the domestic final win over the Sharks will see him miss South Africa’s end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

‘This is a humbling experience,’ said Habana. ‘I have to credit the coaches and players I’ve been around. Their support and criticism helped me a lot. The journey of where I was to where I am now wouldn’t have been possible without them.

‘I’d also like to thank Dr Sherylle Calder for helping me focus on the basics. And thanks to my family and friends for all the support. It’s an honour to use my talent to represent this amazing country we call South Africa.’

Habana also receieved the Try of the Year Award for his individual brilliance during the first half of the Boks’ Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

The other top prizes were given to wing JP Pietersen (Players’ Player of the Year) and lock Eben Etzebeth (Young Player of the Year).


Player of the Year: Bryan Habana

Players’ Player of the Year: JP Pietersen

Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth

SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika

SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Deon Fourie (Western Province)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons)

Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis

Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)