Habana grabs grand prize

Bryan Habana was named South Africa’s Player of the Year on Thursday night in Cape Town.

Habana was honoured with the top individual national prize after showing great form throughout 2012.

He was part of the Stormers team that topped the South African conference before losing to the Sharks in the semi-final.

He starred for the Springboks during their 2-0 June Test triumph over England. He was also the top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship, crossing the chalk on seven occasions.

He also helped WP to their first Currie Cup title in 11 years. Unfortunately, a knee injury picked up during the domestic final win over the Sharks will see him miss South Africa’s end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

‘This is a humbling experience,’ said Habana. ‘I have to credit the coaches and players I’ve been around. Their support and criticism helped me a lot. The journey of where I was to where I am now wouldn’t have been possible without them.

‘I’d also like to thank Dr Sherylle Calder for helping me focus on the basics. And thanks to my family and friends for all the support. It’s an honour to use my talent to represent this amazing country we call South Africa.’

Habana also receieved the Try of the Year Award for his individual brilliance during the first half of the Boks’ Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

The other top prizes were given to wing JP Pietersen (Players’ Player of the Year) and lock Eben Etzebeth (Young Player of the Year).

SA RUGBY AWARDS

Player of the Year: Bryan Habana

Players’ Player of the Year: JP Pietersen

Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth

SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika

SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Deon Fourie (Western Province)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons)

Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis

Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

684 Comments

• 1.ufo: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to: Bryan, JP, Eben, Cecil, Jan, The Sharks, John, Keegan, Deon, Hansie and Demetri

Awesome stuff and well deserved to all…!!

• 2.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

Well done Habana. Well done to all. Lekker selekshions. Bruynokes on top!

• 3.Gtown: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1: welcome back!

• 4.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Gtown-3:

Thanks for the welcome G…!

Good to be back…

• 5.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@ufo-4: Where were you? Were you a participant in one of the recent strikes?

• 6.Martini: Reply to this comment

Currie cup sharks team of the year? What about the u20s? They won the blerry world cup!

• 7.whatever: Reply to this comment

Well done to the boys…………….um, team of the year…Sharks Currie Cup?? WTF they lost? So now losers win prizes………nice :)

• 8.Rage: Reply to this comment

Cant understand how and why Sharks got the CC team accolade….

• 9.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ufo-1: Thank you UFO.You should read all th bullshit going on on the SARU/New Dawnn thread site.You are probably the only one who can restore sanity.Bakkies/HG/Pedgree OK.Inject humor
    into a turgid conversation..Keep well.and good luck.i know that you dont
    like to be offensive.,but force tourself

• 10.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Amused that Allister did not get coach of the year. With the stormers/wp injuries and still top the log and win the dam comp is not easy. With all due respect someone out there tell me what has Plumtree done to deserve that title ? Also the Sharks as team of the year ??? common …

• 11.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Congrats Habana.And Bulls fans said that he was finished when left them for the Cape.Tacitus must be choking on his biltong. :D

• 12.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Rage-8: Suck it up pal.They were by far the best team= until the final match I do not think that things contrived against them.I just think that they were beaten bt a better team on the day.Another day,another result.Enjoy your teams victory.In 2 years time will it seem
    unimportant.?Please stop the gloating now and basking in the self relected
    glory of what was a wonderful team effort.
    The wheel surey turns,and may I not react in the manner that you have.
    Nevertheless,Well played W.P.

• 13.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-12:

WTF you trying to say?

• 14.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I would have gone with the u/20 team myself,but will abide by the decision made.In any case I don’t want to upset precious Sharks fans.

• 15.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 12 what’s wrong with you?

Can’t you see Im not the only one who’s wondering bout that award?

Nee hel man,get a life pal…or better yet,share your holier-than-thou attitude with people who actually care.

REGARDS

• 16.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@whatever-13: Good question.

• 17.Staal: Reply to this comment

Slaap jul mense nog nie daar in SA nie? Lol

• 18.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-14: So you are a Sharks fan? Or just a closet Sharkie?

• 19.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I see that I am to late….one Sharkie is already gone bonkers.

• 20.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@whatever-13: Read Rage.Read me.Mentoring my grand child in comprempsion.You includedwould be just a step r.Regards.

• 21.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-19: is=has,before the grammar police jumps on my back. :D

• 22.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-18:

Arn’t all Sharks fans in the closet? :)

• 23.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

A step too far.

• 24.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-19: Referring to me? I asked you a straightforward question. How difficult can it be to type ‘yes’ or ‘no’?

• 25.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Stop,inhale,blow out …and count to ten Rye.Congrats on your team’s achievement .

• 26.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-20:

and what is “comprempsion”…….?

If you speak English I’ll try follow, but speak slowly and throw in a few spaces if you can…….

• 27.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@whatever-22: Definitely not. The Sharks are generally proud fans.

• 28.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-24: What the fck are you on about?Fck,is it full moon time for you sharkievarkie supporters?

• 29.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-27:

Proud to be out the closet as well perhaps :)

• 30.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@whatever-26: Type slowly…he is very sensitive tonight.

• 31.Rage: Reply to this comment

Rye is drunk/drugged/both…surely.

• 32.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-25: Thank you.

• 33.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-32: No problem.Just thought that you are better than that.

• 34.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-32: I agree. Well done – keep it up.

• 35.ufo: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-9:

hey rye… how you doing…?

yeah… read some stuff on that thread but not interested in chatting to people who are not interesting in chatting to people…

anyway as they say… this site is a bastion for free speech and, much as i may disagree with the extremes on both sides of the equation, it may be good for both sides to hear the voices of the other… that is if they ever do indeed hear each other… :lol:

@Rage-8:

i’ve been supporting wp for over 45 years… nothing will ever shake my support for the team… and i was over the moon by their last two games and winning the cc again… at last… but have said before that the sharks were the team to beat this year… and i wasn’t just blowing smoke… they have played an awesome brand of total rugby this year and in the currie cup… so for the season i have no problem with them getting the team of the year…

@sparticus-10:

yeah… personally i would have given it to ac for the results he has got throughout the year with ongoing major injury crises… but i have no problem with them giving it to plumb as he has also had a really great year…

so no arguments from me…

most pleased with bryan and ebens awards of course… :wink:

• 36.Transformation: Reply to this comment

nothing for marcel? shame :-(

• 37.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ufo-35:

You are too kind UFO!

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-35: best team of the year finished 6th tied with the bulls on points…their playoff performances must’ve propelled them further up in the voting stakes. good for them.

• 39.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-36: The Kings will take all the awards next year. :)

• 40.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Two of the top awards going to ‘Province’ boys.Very happy about that.

• 41.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ 35

Fair enough ufo,no arguments there…just sounds kinda strange that the bridesmaids got to take the gifts home,thats all.

• 42.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-40: In fact, they should’ve been given all the awards. It is truly unfair.

• 43.ufo: Reply to this comment

@whatever-37:

just being as honest and realistic as i can… :lol:

@Transformation-38:

yeah transport… but for me it’s not about log points or positions… we all say we want to see great rugby… and the sharks have been playing it… in fact, playing the best rugby in south africa this year… so i have no problem with that being recognised, acknowledged and rewarded… kudos to them…

just hope ac and the stormers can produce similar rugby next year…!! :wink:

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-39: you bet your last cent! ;)

• 45.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Rage-41:

we took a pretty damn awesome ‘gift’ home bud…!!

i’m very happy with that little trinket…!! :lol:

• 46.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-42: No,two top ones will do.We already had our WP awards evening the other day. :D

• 47.wnbb: Reply to this comment

One junior award for the Bulls.Probably been a while since that happened.

• 48.Finfan: Reply to this comment

It is a pity Keegan Daniel didn’t get the grand prize. Maybe he should be nominated for the Nobel prize for Worthy Runner-ups?

• 49.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-48:

Yes, I sold Big Issue for two years.

• 50.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@whatever-26: @whatever-26: THE GRAMMAr police have arrived.Highly polihed,bootsglovesand whips.THE fount of all knowledge,wisdom andndestanding.I have a few sundunowmers a the sun sets .My Motor skills deteriorateas does my spelling.
    and i also do not the edit too carefullyAnd so words come out incorrectly.
    And My spelling gets sloppy because just a little bit of inenbriation tales hold. You aee,I am not goig to to change the world with my song as you would do..The MahatmaGhandi of
    Ke o.The new Satre the improved Bertrand Russel. I just want to banter ,exchange idead,have fun.

• 51.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-49: Well Done

• 52.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-50:

Must be goood sh it dude :)

• 53.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-50:

Swaai me a stop, gazzilaam

• 54.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Would have said Siya Kolisi for Super Rugby playera of year. Team of year U20′s and coach of the year toughie between plum and AC…

• 55.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-49: Selling big issues means you are you either a politician or a barman. Which one?

• 56.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54: Unfortunately you are not a member of SARU so your opinion means absolutely nothing. You are an opportunist of note.

• 57.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the oirish’s new not-so-all ‘black’ strip.

http://img.skysports.com/12/11/218×298/Ireland-alternative-black-kit_2854047.jpg

• 58.Transformation: Reply to this comment

they’re hoping the strip maak die bokke skrik & think they’re playing the keewees. :-)

• 59.Finfan: Reply to this comment

Well done and congratulations Hansie Graaf, the Griffons star.

• 60.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-55:

• 61.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-57:

Must be sponsored by Guiness

• 62.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-58: It is not allowed, I am sure. Apparently they wanted to do the haka as well but the NZRU’s obtained an urgent and successful court interdict.

• 63.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

sharks, team of the year, and then some

• 64.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The award to the sharks as team of the year and to plumtree as coach of the year are obviously quota awards and cannot be taken seriously. Otherwise i have no real problems with the other awards.

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

lmao @ “quota awards” :mrgreen: funny guy this robzim

• 66.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-62: Michael Bent will be happy he gets to be an AB after all.

• 67.Greenies: Reply to this comment

What a bloody farse

If Brian Habanana gets player of the yr then the rest of them are absolutely poo.
    So what does he get the award for,
    -unable to side step
    -dives to the ground when contact arrives- pussie
    -lacks intelligence (does a quick tap and nearly causes a knock on let alone stuffing up the penalty advantage and nearly looses posession)
    - seeks individual glory when team should come 1st
    -gives away posession very easliy
    … and I can go on.

Looks like the awards are no different to the World beauty pagent.
    Purely politics nothing more. note when south africa won that just after the creation of the rainbow nation!

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-66: showing off much? :-)

http://instagram.com/p/Rdy5VVBWvl/

• 69.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-67:
    I refer the right honorable a$$hole to the question that was answered a moment ago.

• 70.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

Ryecatcher@12. You have probably just reacted in the way you did’nt. Jeez man in sport there will always be a competitor second. Accept it. You carrying a lot of dissapointment with you. Go get rid of it man and move on. Your health will suffer.

• 71.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@7 ….in the way you didn’t want to…

• 72.whatever: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-71:

??

• 73.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-71:

Best nic ever, along with Kwas and Pokkel :)

• 74.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

The team of the year award:

The team of the year award didn’t take place last night.

It was brought forward to last Saturday evening. And the party continues. yeeha.

Anyway, well done Sharks!

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

only in SA

http://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151103461932826&id=103345027825&set=a.410873977825.185623.103345027825&refid=52&_ft_=qid.5806062874129879028%3Amf_story_key.2836454638396953050

• 76.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

‘Black’ Ireland to tackle Boks
    2012-11-01 22:03

Cape Town – Ireland will take on the Springboks in their upcoming Test match in black jerseys.

With both teams sporting traditional green jerseys, the home team usually wears a white strip when the side’s clash. However, for this game in Dublin on November 10 the home team will for the very first time don a predominantly black jersey.

“With South Africa coming to town the launch of a new Ireland alternate jersey gives us an opportunity to bring some variety to how we present the Irish rugby brand,” IRFU Commercial & Marketing Director, Padraig Power, told the Planet Rugby website.

“We think the new green and black jersey looks fantastic. The style is contemporary and innovative and the team really love the look. Our feedback from supporters has been very positive and we expect it to look really strong on the pitch. We think our supporters will be delighted with it and they will wear it with pride.”

• 77.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-74:
    Can’t see the point of giving the Team of the Year award to a province when we have the Currie Cup to do that. Rather have an SR team of the year.

• 78.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Wow, giving the Super Rugby Player of the Year to Daniel… If ever there was a sympathy prize in rugby, this has to be it, because even suggesting that Daniel made a bigger impact on Superrugby than Etsebeth is preposterous, well to each their own, and i think that even Daniel knows it…

You gotta feel for the guy, the Anton Leonard of Sharks rugby, coveted by his own, shunned by the rest….

• 79.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-78: the judges read this and decided to give Keegan Cullen the prize as consolation, also the way he was dropped from the Boks had a lot of guppys (read HG) change their tune on Heyneke.

” Captain Keegan Daniel
    was at the table, speaking to his media
    officer, not knowing the microphone in
    front of him was switched on. They were
    discussing his trip to the SA Rugby Awards
    to be held in Cape Town on Thursday night.
    To the shock of the journalists present,
    Keegan said angrily: ‘I’m not flying down if
    I’m not winning anything. Surely you guys
    will know these things before the actual
    event? It wastes a whole day of my break’.

• 80.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the “Players’ Player of the Year” – now that is THE AWARD which I place above all others.

Yes, Habana had a great Championship but what did he do the rest of the year?

Sweet f*nny adams if you ask me.

• 81.Rage: Reply to this comment

Speaking of which…the award for Worst International Kit Of Our Time must go to England for their purple costume.

This black Irish outfit deserves an honourable mention.

• 82.gunther: Reply to this comment

No Currie Cup first Division player award for Lukas?

• 83.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-80: Absolutely mate, and I think JP was a brilliant choice. One could confidently say that among SA players, only JP and possibly Bismark could boast being the number one if not a close second to the best in the world in their respective positions. JP has been massive this year, expect an equally massive one next year too.

• 84.Slappes: Reply to this comment

…and the award for the inaugural “10months of no Peosklappe award” goes to the LIONS.

• 85.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-78: ag shame vet Fanie..wanted Eben to get another award?

• 86.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

habana would be a great name for a cigar.

• 87.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where’s Hondo

Peyper is the ref of the year

And well-deserved foeitog man

• 88.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

sooooo ….

WP wins the Currie Cup – but the Sharks are the team of the year???

JPP is players player of the year, but he was injured for most of the season…

Habana player of the year??? why? because he wasn’t as kak as the previous 2 years?

Super Rugby player of the year – keegan?? really?? wtf

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons) === LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

klomp kak – even more kak and useless than the sensus results

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-88:

Keep your pants on

This was decided and voted on before the final.

• 90.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Player of the Year : Eben

Players’ Player of the Year: Eben

Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth

SA Sevens Player of the Year: who cares

SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year: WP : Currie Cup

Coach of the Year: Johan Ackerman

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Bismark

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Dimitri

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Luke/Any EP kings player

Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis

Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

• 91.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Dawn then why hold the event after the final???

• 92.Gaz: Reply to this comment

If those nominations were in fact the best tries scored in SA, we really do play kak rugby!

• 93.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-91:

How should I know

• 94.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well done to all the recipients, they all had great seasons and I’m sure the selections were close.

No argument with any of the selections.

• 95.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Who the fark is Hansie Graaf?

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-79:

Seriaas?

• 97.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-95:

I was also wondering. Sounds like a character from the “Liewe Heksie” series of years gone by: “Liewe Heksie, Dawie Kabouter, Bennie Boekwurm and Hansie Graaf”.

• 98.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Happy with all the winners except the team of the year.

IMO it had to go to the Baby Boks.

• 99.papaown: Reply to this comment

How can coach of the year be John Plumtree man?
    AC won the SA conference and Currie Cup, which no Province coach has managed to do in 11 years?

Well Plum has also done his bit this year but would’ve preferred the award to go to a SA coach, honestly!

• 100.papaown: Reply to this comment

But Well Done to Habana, what a difference he’s been this year and even better to credit Calder with getting him to focus on the basics.

You know he’s not the 1st player to go to the Cape and lose his mojo, the stardom effect there isn’t an easy thing to overcome.

Its just good when a player focus’s on the basics and the game becomes soo much easier. Great to see!

Kudo’s to Etzebeth as well, what a statement he’s made in his 1st year of International rugga! He will have a Storming career :-D

• 101.capebull: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-88: cc is nothing comapred to S15

• 102.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-36: LMAO, why you always on Marcel’s case.

Personally I would’ve given him S15 player of the year as he was ALWAYS a sure thing in my fantasy team!

• 103.Delki: Reply to this comment

This thread is like a cartoon. You Saffers are are side splitting………..

• 104.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Congrats Brian & Eben! Well deserved.
    JPP – great recognition from the players, shows how much your peers rate you.

Sharks – my team! Lucky I think to win team of the year, Province & baby books probably can feel a bit aggreived.

AC – you had a great 2012, probably could have been your award as well, especially considering how well you managed your injury crisis.

Nevertheless, SA rugby looking solid.

• 105.capebull: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-88: I am sure you slept outside last night, I will react like that to if was locked out.

• 106.papaown: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54: I’m Siya’s biggest fan but he was not as dominant in S15 as Marcel. Rock solid on defence for sure and destroyed the Bulls…but Marcel was more consistent all round.

Am VERY surprised with Keegan getting that award as he was up and down for me… IMHO

• 107.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Allister won the 2010 coach of the year for ALSO ending in two finals , so chill….

Unlucky for Etzebeth think he could have won more , but for a 20 year old in his first season he couldn’t have hoped for more …

• 108.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

bakkies on standby.

such a mixed emotions place to be in as a fan.

cant wish too much he’ll come into the squad cos that will mean someone needs to get injured, and that someone would/could be eztebeth.

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-108: The Bulls have confirmed that both Lionel Mapoe and Callie Visagie will join them on a loan basis for the 2013 Super Rugby season after which they will return to the Lions for the promotion/relegation match with the lowest finishing South African team.

• 110.mopingshark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-109:

It is now strange that Callie didn’t get a Bok call up as reward for joining the Bulls. At least Lionel was rewarded. Viva HM viva.

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

The thing about Marcel’s performance in Super Rugby is that it must be seen in perspective relatived to the performance of the other 2 first choice loose forwards, especially in the first half of the campaign.

Marcel led the stats for most tackles made, with Siya not that far behind him.

Keegan and Willem Alberts by contrast, were in the top ten list for tackles missed, along with JPP and Charl McCleod,

So really it’s not that surprising that Marcel had to make so many tackles, as the rest of the team were missing them way too often. He spent most of his time cleaning up after them, a job he did do very well. i.e. there were many more opportunities for Marcel to make tackles. Good thing he did. or they would have lost practically every game in the first half, rather than just every 2nd game.

Contrast Siya who played alongside Duanne Vermeulen and Elstadt. They never miss much so his performance in mu opinion was the better one, as especially when you look at the way that he can take the ball up very effectively.

Both are very good players, but Marcel isn’t as good as Siya in my opinion.

Next year will hopefully see more “granitic” ( ;) ) performances from both of them!

• 112.Finfan: Reply to this comment

Strange logic. Surely the All Blacks should’ve been the Team of the Year and I reckon Israel Dagg deserved to be Player of the Year.

• 113.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-111:
    I think Marcel’s confidence took a beating after he was dropped from the Bok team.

He was non-existent in the CC final.

It’s all HM’s fault.

• 114.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@papaown-99:

It was decided before the final

• 115.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-113: Out of any of the Sharks, he deserved Super Rugby player of the year more than anyone else (in the Sharks team ) IMO.

Keegan was woeful in the first half of the season, great in the second half.

Coetzee was great the whole way through

• 116.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-109:
    i like lionel, hope he has a good season with the bulls.
    same for visagie. all things considered, it would be stupid to let these guys waste away fitness and form wise so its wise of the lions to make these deals.

and fyi, i think the lions will beat the kings in their relegation match going on their relative strengths shown as of now.

@mopingshark-110:
    thats just b.ullshit considering the wider midfield and wing squad requirements for the boks this eoyt. he deserves a call up far more than christian cullen did, if using the same criteria.

oops…. i meant keegan daniel.

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-115: ek stem saam…the cappie was nowhere in the early stages…

• 118.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Yes.

Keegan got what he deserved – S15 player of the year.

2nd to him was daylight.

He led the Sharks through an injury ravaged 1st half of the S15 season and then through a second half of the season where the Sharks were basically playing a knockout game every week.

On the way he racked up some impressive offload stats – 2nd only to Sonny Bill, and then attacking stats at least in the top 10 of all players in the comp… His defence stats were not too shabby either, with his effectiveness at least as good as any other SA loosie bar Wreckin Ball Coetzee and Siya Kolisi…

Brian is truly a worthy winner of Player of the Year, and JPP is truly a Player’s player as demonstrated by his award.

However Keegan is King of continually proving his doubters wrong, especially SA’s Fatfucking Spermwhale obsessed coach…

Daniel the Lionheart… SA could do far worse than having him as Cappie… (Maybe they already are…)

• 119.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

These are only awards guys! They are not written in stone. I for one don’t believe they are really worthy to comment on. In team sports, teams should be rewarded, like the Sharks ;) were on performing so much better than any other team in South Africa winning hmmmm – kudos from their supporters. Why should the Cape win team awards after all they only won the Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup and the worthless Conference trophy. Taking all that into account the Sharks are worthy winners of the one award which really has value in a team sport. No moaning from my side…

• 120.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

And yes, Eben truly deserved his Young Player award…

Am sure he was in the mix for Player of the Year and Player’s Player too… Probably just lost out on both by a whisker…

• 121.ufo: Reply to this comment

christian cullen is one of if not the best rugby fullbacks and widely considered to be one of the most attacking players to have ever played the game…

for bryan to equal his record number of tries in a rugby championship season is a helluva achievement… so his sa player of the year 2012 is spot on… imo…

now bryan is co-holder of cullen’s season record….AND jonah’s world cup try record…

not too shabby for a player that so many experts on keo don’t rate…!!?? :lol:

those two of the greats of the game…

bryan is in great company and will go down in rugby history as a great too…

to the eternal chagrin of said experts…

guess who gonna enjoy the last and longest laugh… :lol:

• 122.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-115:
    It’s was between Marcel and Bissy for Super Rugby Player of the year IMO.

Keegan had one or two good games. The one that unfortunately stands out is the super rugby game in Durban against the Stormers.

Looking forward to seeing who comes out on top between Kolisi and Marcel.

I rate Kolisi more but my opinion might be a bit biased.

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

keegan daniel captaining the boks…?…

wow!

you are stratospheric

• 124.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

…oh and the u/19 trophy…

…so the cupboard aint that bare now is it?

• 125.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-118: YOU mean he led the team to a defeat in every second game they played in the first half of the season, leading the rouges gallery of most tackles missed out of any South African player, with the other Sharks in close pursuit.

He had a much better 2nd half, but was not nearly consistent enough to be deserving of that award.

• 126.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-118:

Even the New Zealand Rugby show ReUnion had Marcell Coetzee in their Super 15 team of the year at the end of the competition. He was better than Keegan Daniel.

• 127.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-111:
    That logic is fked my man.

So because you say Alberts and Keegan missed a lot, Marcel made a lot? Daniel isnt even in the top 20 missed tackle list.

Marcel tops Kolisi in every aspect, including what you say is Kolisi’s strength. ie Taking the ball up.

Coetzee topped the overall tackle stat with Kolisi in 6th and Daniel 12th.
    Coetzee was second in runs made and more importantly 11th in metres made, with Kolisi not even in the top 20 for either.

Added to this, Coetzee was 4th in the offload list, behind SBW, Keegan and Cruden!
    All this points to is an unbelievable amount of work that he gets through in a game.

Defensively Kolisi is a farking beast but has a long way to go concerning his allround loose forward play.

• 128.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Why did Morne Steyn not get an award……..farking system is rigged I tell ya!!!!!!

• 129.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-128:

…cause you didn’t vote… sms vote to 082whocaresahoot – dreams do come true…

• 130.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-127: No, it’s sound. Marcel stood out more as he didn’t have many players around him performing well.

Siya didnt because the other players did their share of the work.

• 131.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-125: rouges gallery… no… Sharks sponsor aint Red any more…

Leading a rogues gallery of most tackles missed – hmmm, I reckon you telling a porky… A big one.

Consistency – he led the Sharks the whole season, right up to the final. He also managed to keep his place and cement it at a franchise with greater depth in quality loosies than probably any franchise in SUper Rugby…

So… I call you on your bullshitt…

Funny that… The Mr Holier than Thous on Keo continually being exposed as fibbers and bullshitters….

• 132.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-121: um, Keegan Daniel IS the “christian cullen of loosies” hello :D

• 133.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-113: Shame, Heyneke Meyer must feel like Apartheid. He gets the the blame for everything that is wrong.

Rather have a look at the number of games Marcell played in his first full season and you should conclude that he is a bit tired and therefore not playing at his full potential.

• 134.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you know you’ve failed as a player when people fall over themselves to give you compensatory feel good award at the endd of the season.

i would not want because i dislike being dishonest to myself as much as to others.

• 135.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-126: Coetzee is a prodigy… And yes he is a player of the present and future. He also is better than Keegan in many aspects of loosie play… But just saying he is a “better player” does not enlighten one little bit…

Keegan is a different player. Not less effective, or less better. Just Different.

You would think that supporters of a Province for who a certain Rob Louw played would understand this and understand the value of such a player…

Alas, it seems SA’s dumbfuckery quotient grows every year apparently with Cape Town rugby supporters truly at the forefront…

• 136.Horings: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-130: So how did the Sharks out perform the Stormers if everyone around Marcell is bad and everyone around Kolisi is good? Only one of two conclusions can be made. Marcell is better than McCaw or Kolisi is worse than McNeil Hendricks.

• 137.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i have to be honest to myself,

my typing and spelling skills are atrociuos.

• 138.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-130:
    Really?

So why is Daniel second on the offload list, 12 on the most tackles made list(not even in the top 20 missed tackle list), 12 on the most linebreaks list, 10th on the most runs made list and 13th on the most metres made list.

Right behind Coetzee in every aspect.

With Kolisi nowhere?

‘didnt have many players around him performing well…’ Indeed.
    Please boet, you’ve got to have something more than that. Surely.

• 139.Horings: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-138: Where is Daniel on the “Bus is vol” list? Ritght up there at numero uno.

• 140.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

It is quite embarrassing that the Super Rugby Player of the Year is not in the Bok set up…

So, the coach prefers an overweight blindside flank who was injured for most of the season, and the second best 8 at the Bulls, as the Bok eighth man over the best SA player in Super Rugby…

Farkenhell… wanna know why the Bok win rate at less than 50% I point no further…

• 141.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Horings-139:
    Well that would be missed tackles wouldnt it? Douche.

• 142.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-136: kolisi is better than the bulls starting trio combined :lol:

• 143.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

…and the oscar goes to…

• 144.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-138: It is plain to see Holier than thou Stormersboy is a lying hounddog with regards to this…

Farken disgraceful bullshitt of the highest order :lol:

• 145.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-140: not at all luke watson was the super rugby player of the year and jake didn’t pick him… :roll:

• 146.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-139:

that would actually be a fun award to give out every season.

‘best handoff recieved’ for the season’ award.

• 147.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-138: Firstly, you need to read my post properly.

i said two things:

Firstly I didn’t dispute that Marcel had a great season. He was player of the season in Super Rugby IMO. Not Keegan. Keegan was a strong contender for CC pkayer of the year for me.

I did say that it needed to be seen in perspective.

I also said that I think that Siya is a better player, but didn’t shine as much (although he made a fairly good job of it) as the team around him were sharing the spoils.

Nothing wrong with any of that logic.

• 148.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

R25-00 for a piggy back ride on an Argie maul anyone?

And a little voice pipes up, “me plz…”

• 149.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146:

:lol: I have it for my screensaver… that would have been a joint award with super 15 player of the year, I guess…

• 150.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-140: It is quite embarrassing that the Super Rugby Player of the Year is not in the Bok set up…

was it equally embarassing when Sarel Pretorious wasn’t in the Bok setup last year? :lol:

• 151.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-142: I agree! But that is only because of our useless selectors. Kolisi was not better than Adendorff if you compare them at the same age level, but I have no trust in our coaching staff at this point in time. Therefore, a loose trio consisting out of Botha, Stander and Liebenberg/ Adendorff would be great, but we will stick with Spies and PotgieterX2

• 152.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146: That would be Dean Mumm’s handoff on Marcell Coetzee in the S15.
    Seriously, no other comes close.

• 153.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

And those dumbfuck self professed Sharks “fans” like Megatron and his mates at Sharksworld really should feel like the braindead idiots they truly are with Plum winning Coach of the Year…

I still can’t believe the dumbfuckery of these idiots calling for “Dumbtree” to be replaced by such a luminary as… Jimmy Farken Stonehouse.

Suppose all supporter groups have their share of idiots… But hellsteeth these Sharks “fans” rival the idiocy of many of those of the Blue and White striped perversion for damned sure this year…

• 154.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146:
    Piri Weepu v Robbie Fruen in the very first game.

Dean Mumms vs Coetzee was also big.

• 155.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-148:
    bwahahahah :lol:

seriously, tears man… farking tears… :lol:

@Gumboots-149:

it was a beaut indeed.

• 156.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-150: Simply put. Yes.

• 157.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-152:

…naaa JdJ handoff of SA’s Cullen beats it…

• 158.Horings: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146: We can name it the Spencer Bands award or the original “The Bus is vol” Juan Smith award.

@John Galt-141: Sorry, it must be a sensitive subject at this stage. We can joke about it in a couple of months time.

• 159.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-144: It’s a matter of public record on this blog, it was posted on earlier this year with all the stats (around midway through the season).

You can go look for it if you like, I can’t be bothered.

• 160.John Galt: Reply to this comment

You must have missed Fruen v Piri.

But then again you would.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sjoe, actually that one was high on the creepy to unsettling scale for me personally.
    farkit, never seen anything like that before.. didn’t know if i should larf or cry…. in the end i did both :lol:

• 162.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

No handoff this year comes close to the one by the Baby Faced assassin on Sulk Burger a couple of years back on his way to scoring under the poles… I think it was to win the CC.

A true classic. :lol:

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-152: yup, no contest! :lol:

• 164.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-157: I’ll meet you halfway :) Both involved in a “alleged superstar” guppie landing on his @ ss.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-155: Tears of joy Bakkies? ;)

• 165.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-159: You have been called out as a bullshitter, not just by yours truly but by one other….

It seems it may just be true…

Keo’s Mr Holier than Thou exposed as a fibber by a simple principle of triangulation…

Consider yourself exposed, oh Captain my Captain

• 166.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-160: and fruean on spies was also vicious…

• 167.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-154:
    ja, i think i remember the fruen handoff. it was a wierd hybrid one handed fend to a handoff to a ruck clean out sort of thing.

not as good as jdj’s though imo.

award category nominees so far:

1. KD
    2. Coetzee
    3. Weepu

• 168.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-153: I’m actually not certain which Sharksworld campaign used the most sharkhours, resources and took up the greatest whack of the budget?

Was it the campaign to have Keegan sacked as Guppie captain, or the campaign to have Keegan voted in as “SARU Player of the Year”?

• 169.Horings: Reply to this comment

I do not know if it counts when it is done with your head, but Richard Bands’ “handoff” in the Richie McJaw game in 2003 was the best ever. Then Bands gets the second award for his Spencer handoff in the best ever try by a prop. Juan Smith comes in third because of the number of hand offs in his career.

• 170.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-167: Is there room in this category for Jebb’s ‘fistoff’ on Deysel? I know it’s not technically a hand off, but…………..it did start with a hand/fist off type of action, and ended with a guppie flat on his @ ss?

• 171.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-158:
    nice :grin:

i like the juan smith one.

• 172.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-164:

Only because the result was so awesome for Province – I go for it… 25 – 18 ring a bell ;)

• 173.katman: Reply to this comment

The best hand-offer in the business is the bus conductor, Juan Smith. Don’t know why people still try arguing with him when he says it’s full.

• 174.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-132:

oh… i see… ! :wink:

• 175.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-170:
    A fistoff?

Nah thats what happened in the Province change room after the CC final.

• 176.Horings: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-175: En die Sharks was jaloers!

• 177.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-132:

so… put another way then…

we could call keegan..

the Bryan Habana of loose forwards…!! :lol:

• 178.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-175: Classic! Many a true word said in jest…

• 179.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Horings-133:
    If you saying Coetzee’s poor performance in the CC final was because of fatigue, then that says something about his character.

His got a great work ethic but lacks “mongrel”. Something you need when you play TEST matches against our antipodean friends.

• 180.Horings: Reply to this comment

@katman-173: Feite. Ek dink Kobus Wiese moet ook krediet vat vir die legendariese status van Juan.

• 181.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-168: Not sure either… and that is why do not belong there on that dismal excuse for a Sharks supporter sight…

I mean Transie is considered an “expert” there… WTF? :lol:

• 182.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-162:
    ja, that was one for record books too :lol:

• 183.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

One highlight I will never forget is the punchdrunk Bissie after trying to tackle Ysterbeth in Super 15 Semi final. Anyone remember that one? That was priceless…

• 184.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-179: He has more than enough mongrel. His engine is enormous, but playing all the super rugby games and all the tests and taking into account the ridiculous finals series the Sharks had to do. Then he surely must be fatigued.

And he is not doing badly, he is just not standing out. I saw it in the Griquas Sharks game already where Deysel and co looked more energetic than him.

• 185.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Another of my highlights was Siya’later’ Kolisi slicing through the Bulls defence to create the Habana try at Loftus…

• 186.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-184: Alberts is as big a worry for me on the EOYT. I think Arno Botha must play a big part in the coming tour.

• 187.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-185: We are discussing handoffs. Dis nie nodig om daardie ene nou te noem nie. Demmit! Ai, he made that break right in front of me.

• 188.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-181: Two corrections for you.

a) It is SITE, not sight (I have 2 hours to go before my ‘Spelling and Grammar’ police shift ends, and
    b) Transformation to my mind is one of the most clued up bloggers around.

Apart from that, I do agree with you. The folk who blog there seem to be borderline Ru Paul in terms of hysterics and drama.

• 189.katman: Reply to this comment

@Horings-180: Hier is ‘n oulike foto van die einste move.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2009/jul/05/lions-doctor-james-robson-physical-tour

• 190.katman: Reply to this comment

@katman-189: Of as jy hom in sy volle glorie wil sien, kyk hier. Click op die boonste middelste foto.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/gallery-1003162/South-Africa-xx-The-Lions-xx–The-Test-pictures.html

• 191.Horings: Reply to this comment

@katman-189: Classic!

• 192.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Horings-187:

Mate we were holding on and holding on. The Bulls were threatening our line like no other business. All of a sudden… Loftus was tjoepstil… for me that was a priceless moment… also with all the injuries it was a classic moment… Sorry for bringing that one up…

Also would like to see eight Botha, seven Vermeulen, six Flouw… I think in slow conditions it could work… Alberts as impact player…

• 193.ufo: Reply to this comment

i do not begrudge keegan his award at all… as said previously…

however…

with regard to keegan making the Most Missed Tackles list during superrugby…

please click through for the list from rugby stats… on this discussion…

http://www.sarugby.com/forum.cfm?threadid=798

• 194.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-192: That will be a very physical loose trio without comprimising work rate. I will switch Botha and Vermeulen, because I think experience is important for an 8-man (Fielding the kicks and being isolated some times.)

• 195.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-165:Just becuase 2 one-eyed Sharks supporters call a WP supporter a bullshitter without any evidence doesn’t make it so.

So lets have a look at a specific statement that you made and compare it against evidence to see who is actually bullshitting OK:

Post 118:

” His defence stats were not too shabby either……

Stats:

Kolisi

Tackles Made: 221
    Tackles Missed: 18

Tackle completion rate: 92%

Coetzee

Tackles made: 288
    Tackles missed: 34

Tackle completion rate: 88%

Daniel:

Tackles made: 191
    Tackles missed: 30

Tackle completion rate: 84%

Now let me draw your attention to the tackles missed stat: This is without the game against the Cheetahs taken into account as the stats were missing for this game. I took his tackles made stat off the master list. He may well have missed a tackle in that game bringing him up to 31 and a tie in the top 20.

At the best he is one tackle away from being in that rogues gallery for most tackles missed.

So in the light of this, and your statement that he had a good defensive Super Rugby season, who is the bullshitter now??

Go wash my car.

• 196.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Horings-194:

Saying that…. I’m a huge CJ Stander fan too… sorry he is leaving SA rugby. I’m sure Province will offer him something on his return… ;)

• 197.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-175: Tackle completion rates (made vs missed)

Siya: 92%

Coetzee: 88%

• 198.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-165: What have you done now?Now he is going to go and blog on RT all day. :D

• 199.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Oh ,I see he is back with useless stats. :D

• 200.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-188: 2 things…

1. Thank you for correcting my glaring sightless mistake.
    2. Borderline Ru Paul in terms of hysterics and drama is right here on Keo. Especially wrt the CC… You know, that comp much derided in the Cape and on Keo for the past few months… now assuming pinnacle prominence again after a rather fortuitous win… :lol:

• 201.mopingshark: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-197:

Come blog with me on RT

• 202.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-198: hehe

• 203.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-197:
    Yes, i know that. We’ve already discussed what a beast Siya is on defense, i said so myself.

You were going on about Kolisi being a better allround player than Coetzee. ‘Taking the ball up etc…

Which I proved he is not.
    Not right now anyway.

• 204.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-195: oh yeah,it does.We don’t need to provide evidence to come to that conclusion. :D

• 205.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-181: you don’t belong there? :lol:

your name and posts are the dude :mrgreen:

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-197: And the marging of error on those?

Not that you would know what that actually means…

PS.. Heres a wink for you too :wink:

• 207.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

If you look at tackles per game played

Marcel 15
    Siya 14

So very close there.

Must say, impressed to see Coetzee played every single game.

• 208.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Horings-184:
    Marcel, I feel will only be the complete player in a few seasons time when he bulks up a bit more.

As I said before it will be interesting to see who developes quicker – Kolisi or Coetzee.

• 209.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-188: the crazy thing is that HG, his man-servant Sharks_Lover, John Galt and Puma. Pissant ALL blogged there before i knew about the site :lol:

• 210.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

What rugby happening this weekend? Anything?

• 211.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-170:
    nou soek jy moeilikheid mevrou. :lol:

@katman-173:

• 212.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-206: Bullshitter.

The truth is out there.

• 213.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo-177: indeed keegan habana-cullen… :lol:

• 214.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-209:

Blogged where?

• 215.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I’m gonna have a ‘Braai & Habana’ this weekend!

I think he deserves it.

The Currie Cup has finally been restored to its rightful place.

That’s said, it will be a decidedly BLEAK krismis elsewhere

• 216.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@mopingshark-201: He is already there.Btw,your nick suggest that you could have been one of them Sharkies that called for Plum to be replaced with Jimmy ‘the great’Stonehouse.I see your Bulls mates on RT are now calling for him to replace old Pine. :D

• 217.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Oosthuizen 16 under, five clear of Ernie and Adam in second place.

Both him and Ernie shot 9 unders today…

• 218.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-204: capo capo capo.

You need to let it go dude.

It will eat you up inside quicker than the Bloe Trein you consume every evening.

• 219.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

*Blou

• 220.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Well done HAB’s, do you think Habana and JPP having a little stint at centre have made them more alert and have done wonders for their game out on the wing. Habana is back from the dead and JPP has been on fire and probably would have pipped habana if not for injury. But great to see both of them back in form.. could it be down to them spending time at centre for their respective clubs?????

• 221.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-214: on Sharksworld

• 222.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-203: Im not saying either is bad, both are good, my opinion stands, for the reasons i gave.

There is no “proving anything” when comparing players that are that close, you know that.

• 223.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Stormersboy,Mr captain of industry getting all excited again? :D

• 224.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-221:

Oh Ok! Do you blog there? Don’t they all suck up to each other there? Similar to how it used to be here, before the exit… ;)

• 225.katman: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-217: Louis is in great form at the moment. Is he paired with Els for the third round?

My money’s on him for the Nedbank Challenge.

• 226.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-218: huh…is that a threat? :lol:

• 227.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-222:

Siya is king boet… no matter what anyone says…

• 228.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-226: Is what a threat?

• 229.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-227: I know, just messing with the Sharkies, it doesn’t take much. All emo, no facts.

• 230.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@katman-225:

I’m going to watch the Nedbank Challenge mate… I don’t want to miss it for the world. Did you watch this morning… They were both cooking, at one stage Ernie looked like shooting a 60… I think he was like 6 under after 8 holes…

• 231.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-224: i’m considered a “troll” there :D

• 232.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-229:

We only have about two Shark bloggers left. Don’t be so hard on them boet…

• 233.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-231:

No ways… ;)

• 234.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

HAHA JP before Habana, what a joke award

• 235.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-232: They may not be posting but some of them are watching…… ;)

• 236.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Anyway, it’s been fun.

• 237.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-233: i’m saying!! :mrgreen:

• 238.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-231:
    you’re considered a ‘troll’ EVERYWHERE :lol:

• 239.katman: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-230: No, I didn’t see it live. But I read about Louis and Ernie’s rounds. 59 would have been something else, but a pair of 63′s is not to be sneezed at.

I could watch Oosthuizen’s swing all day. This remains the best golf shot I’ve seen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqo1MSqfIPc

• 240.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Now that the farken Keo Captains of Industry reckon they suddenly “stats” experts lets just throw some more confusion into the mix…

Firstly lets use a source that has more credibility than those keen little hobbyists ruggastats… RugbyStats from them Kangaroo Shaggers.

Here are Keegan’s Stats (compared to closest SA peer)

1. Most Tries – Keegan 15th on 6… No other SA loosie in top 20
    2. Most tackles made – Keegan 12th on 191… Coetzee was 1st on 288… Kolisi at 6th on 221.
    3. Most runs – Keegan at 10th on 132. Coetzee 2nd on 178.
    4. Most run meters – Keegan at 13 on 925. Coetzee at 12. Highest Saffa was Mvovo on 983
    5. Most Line breaks – Keegan at 12 on 10. Closest Saffa was JPP at 15th on 9
    6. Most offloads – keegan at 2 on 27… Closest Saffa is JPP at 10 on 19

He also is disciplined – not being on the top 20 for penalties conceded.

Other than Marcell Coetzee, Keegan is statistically the best SA loosie in Super Rugby.

His obvious proven superior attacking attributes add credence to the statement that he is “the Christian Cullen of loosies”

• 241.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-235:

Really! ;) I doubt they even say the word Keo anymore…

• 242.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-212: Yes. It is… And you sir, are a liar
    a cur
    a rugby idiot
    and worst of all a WP supporter…

• 243.David: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-208:
    I suppose it depends on which position one compares them in.

• 244.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

We just want to be winning, and that’s motivation enough for us to do what we need to do every week

Words to live by from the All Blacks – this is what the Boks dont get – its always the point to the silverware menaing if we sneak a Cup here and there thats supposed to be enough. Winning week in and out is the real goal.

• 245.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@katman-239:

Just watched that again… that was awesome some shot… Yes a 59 was looking good for Ernie. Phil was on 11 under and dropped two shots at the end…

• 246.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-205: The Dude? You fuckked in your head, laaitie…

I hardly got time to blog here, never mind fuckaround on another fuckedup blog…

Unlike you professional blogger groupies I surprisingly do have more constructive things to do…

• 247.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-240:
    Which loose forward position is he the best in?

• 248.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rabooby-220: Yes… Good point. Good post

• 249.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-209: But Transie, you my manservant… or in Old SA parlance, my booi :lol:

• 250.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-234: Apologies Friday, Meant Habana before JP a joke :)

• 251.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Well I’m off for skills development now. Going on course, a golf course… Going to meet Mr Green and Mrs Bunker…

Have a good one all… Cheers

• 252.wnbb: Reply to this comment

According to super rugby stats it’s safe to say that Coetzee. overshadowed Kolisi in all departments instead of ‘missed tackles’ where MC missed 34.Now,MC was number one for most tackles made,so basically that missed tackles just showed his commitment to be involved in games at all times.Anyone can play around or interpret stats to suit their own agenda …ne mr captain of industry??

• 253.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-247: He is an excellent openside… and an outstanding 8.

He is second to Flo at openside and second to none in the Bok setup at 8 at the moment…

There would be no place for Keegan in a loosie trio of Kanko, Flo and Coetzee… But fark me there is a place for Keegan in the current setup…

But you dumbfuck size and boere supremacists stuck in the past can’t see it, just like Meyer…

• 254.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-238: :shock: omg!

• 255.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-252: with all the metres and tackles you can give me Francois Louw over Marcell anyday. I dont like what he brings to the table.

• 256.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@David-243:
    6 will be covered by Flo / Brussouw / Maybe Fourie in the future.

8 will be covered by Vermuelen / Botha / Maybe Spies?

So 7 is the position both will be looking at.

• 257.David: Reply to this comment

Keegan is in the same boat as JdeJ as far as HM is concerned. His gameplan, for want of a better word, like Jakes is based on a mythical “traditional” Bok strength of big, fast, hard running players.
    This is also one of the reasons why black players will struggle to make his Bok team.

• 258.ufo: Reply to this comment

cheers bill… good round and good weekend…

• 259.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-256: I think Kolisi deserves a shot at 6 as well. 7 we may well see the return of the dinosaurs Schalk and Juan – that would be cool to see Juan back – and Willem Alberts is still one of the premiere 7´s.

• 260.Stawm: Reply to this comment

HG
    Keep googling stats all you want. You lost the CC and SR final.

Also, thanks very much for making this rugby year even more entertaining, especially the CC final on Sat. The thought of you crying your eyes out made the victory even sweeter.

Give us a HooHa why dont you?

• 261.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-256: at 8 we should be looking at Vermeulen, Kanko (never thought Id say that) and Johnson.

• 262.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-246: is that why you posted you whole bio in there? :D

@Heavens Game-249: you wish! :D

pity sharkie is on a “wildcat strike” led by Lambie’s father Puma…now you’ve resorted to using the services of your other man-servant aka “cuzzie” Extraballas :mrgreen:

147.Heavens Game said:
    22 Oct 2012, 13:55 pm

@ET.-145: Excellent… Welcome back cuzzie… Fark me now there’s gonna be farken chaos, snot en trane…
    You rate Lambie the ‘General’ like you did way back when he first emerged…
    Maybe you are actually the real Cape Kenner these Cape Kenner sheep wish they were after they finally get rid of the myopic Traditional Power tunnel vision once and for all…

• 263.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-252: Exactly… Fark, for once your lucidity surprises me.

• 264.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@David-257: how do you explain the inclusion of Jantjes, Lambie, Houghaard, and JdJ then?

• 265.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-262: Yes I did. It was a mistake, clearly…

Especially considering the proliferation of obsessive sickfucken cyberstalkers on these sites…

• 266.wnbb: Reply to this comment

My stats are taken from an Aussie website.Most of these stats websites have different numbers here,so you have to take it sometimes with a pinch of salt.My problem is that for someone like Stommerik to come on here,gives us his numbers,and expect that that should be taken as fact.

• 267.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-262: Not wish… you are Mega… I own you, my boy… :lol:

Always have… stalker

• 268.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-253:
    Don’t put me in the same boat as HM. :evil:

• 269.cane: Reply to this comment

Well done to Brian and all other winners.

Brian had a fabulous year,
    and in my humble opinion,
    should be a contender for the IRB Player of the Year as well.

• 270.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-261:

The loosie combo will always be the least of our concerns.

But would love to see a fit Juan Smith playing at blinside next year.

• 271.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-268: For once I take back an insult… was too extreme… for that I am truly sorry :wink:

• 272.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@cane-269:
    No the IRB player of the year is between Richie and Read.

Read should walk it though.

• 273.David: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-264:
    Jantjies and Lambie are there because there’s nobody else. Besides, 10s aren’t usually big players, unless you rate Frans at 10. JdJ for the same reason as Jantjies. Hougaard is supposedly 9 backup.

• 274.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Was suprised the Sharks (CC) got team of the year.

But the fact that the Stormers,WP, Sharks and Sharks in SR are all technically different teams, makes the award tricky to give.

Overall, I guess the Sharks were the most consistent, but then again, the Stormers finished top of the SR log, but then again, the Sharks topped the CC log, but then again, WP won the CC.

I might have named them joint winners to be honest.

• 275.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-267: you are more delusional than langenhoven thinking he owns keo :lol:

• 276.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-269: A bit selfish, though. I mean he’s had it three times now. Give someone else a turn, for fck’s sake.

• 277.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cane-269: you are smoking good lowe Hutt s.hit :D

has habana’s form been better than, say, julian savea on the wing?

• 278.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-274: Agree with thde consistency part.Ending in sixth position is consistently in line with their finishes in previous years of super rugby. :D

• 279.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-274: I wouldn’t have given it to either of them. I would have given it to the Baby Boks. Beating NZ to take the Junior WC, no small thing IMHO.
    Felt they deserved that award.

• 280.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-272: Read at a canter. And it will be most deserved.

• 281.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-254:

ja

you need to check yourself, before you wreck yourself,

because multinic blogging is bad for your health

@londonshark-274:
    oh sweet mary!

takes a sharkie to come up with a ‘joint winners award’…

this isn’t the special olympics, boet

dry your eyes… not everyone’s a winner

• 282.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-195: Don’t bother SB. Troubling Heavens Gat with anything resembling facts goes goes whoosh over his tiny brain cell.

This looked like it could be a nice thread. I read further, saw HG posting and true to form the thread went downhill at a rapid rate of knots. Farking troll.

• 283.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

And a little voice pipes up, “me plz…”

• 284.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-270: amen – loosie isnt a position we need to worry about but we do need to get the balance of the loose trio right. There have been some disasters in that department this year.

• 285.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-281: nc nc nc pitiful :lol:

• 286.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@David-273: lol 9 backup but playing on the wing?? He should seriously be looked at as a 13.

• 287.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-278:

:) You have a point, but we actually finished 5th (Reds were 6th).

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-281:

Easy tiger, they won the award, I’m happy. I’m actually saying I’m not sure they deserved it.

• 288.cane: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-272: @katman-276: @Transformation-277:

Easy Oke Dokkies………………..easy.

I said “should be a contender”.

No way he could beat McCaw or Read.
    But Other Countries, should at least make up the numbers of those
    who don’t have a show of winning.

So either McCaw or Read to win the IRB award.
    With nominations also for Brian, and perhaps a Bog Leaper and Froggie.

• 289.charo: Reply to this comment

matthew pearce couldn’t stop apologising to the wp faithful that the decision was made the night of the semifinals.

it was pitiful to watch.

• 290.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

what are peoples thoughts on Wentzel? I must admit I hadnt really seen much of him over the years but took a look at a highlights package of his season at Tigers and he is a really exciting player. Does the lock work well, is big and strong and drags defenders with him, contests well in the lineouts, has some decent pace, intelligent and offloads well in the tackle. I think he has the ability to become the premier 5 option.

• 291.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-279:

Agree.

Baby Boks should have won the team award.

• 292.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cane-288: richie was nowhere in super rugby man…how many games did he play?

• 293.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-285:

microphone check

one two

one two

@londonshark-287:

think of it like the lottery, your numbers came up and who’s to say whether you deserved it or not… now just roll with it :lol:

• 294.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@cane-288:

McCaw should win it. But to be honest, he should give to FDP after he stole it from him in 2009 :)

• 295.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-293:

Good point :)

WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 296.charo: Reply to this comment

and talking about hand offs……..

the lambie version on schalk was a classic.

but the best of all time……

kanko putting macawe on his arse on the way to the tryline.

• 297.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-288: Giving Richie the prize would be like Romney winning the election.

• 298.cane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-279:

Your Under 20 Team was quite simply…………………………….”the best”,
    by a country mile.

I agree.

• 299.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-290: at age 34??Ok.

• 300.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-297:

I take it you are not a Republican.

Even though you live in one?

• 301.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@cane-298:

Really big team too.

I watched ReUnion after the game and Tony and co said the Boks were simply too big.

Not often you hear that these days.

• 302.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-283: :)

• 303.cane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-292:

I R B ………………………….the i is for International.

get it.

• 304.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-300: I just think rampant American conservative capitalism and paranoia is dangerous to the entire planet.

• 305.capebull: Reply to this comment

It should have been ” The Rock” Vermeulen, no one moves him.

• 306.capebull: Reply to this comment

But then again ,………….. he does not move himself either.

• 307.katman: Reply to this comment

@capebull-305: Not even he himself. I think he makes attacking meters through continental drift.

• 308.katman: Reply to this comment

@capebull-306: Ah, snaperoo.

• 309.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

I am shattered :( Inconsolable…….utterly floored :(

http://www.channel24.co.za/TV/News/Riaan-Cruywagen-retiring-after-37-years-20121102

How dare he.

• 310.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-291:
    awesome team and a trully awesome achievement by them.
    you cant script that sort of story and was a real case of overcoming the odds considering the start to their tournament which they had.

my pick too and probably the all the faceless sa rugby public fans’ pick too.

@londonshark-295:
    thats the spirit

• 311.cane: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-301:

That they were London.
    Muscle and bone,
    and plenty of it.

P.S. sorry to see your side go down in the CC Final.

I was hoping the WeePees could be kept humble.

• 312.capebull: Reply to this comment

@katman-308: I think I will send him Naas’s book on ” How to tackle”

• 313.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-309:

And now, the end is near
    And so I face the final curtain
    My friend, I’ll say it clear
    I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain

I’ve lived a life that’s full
    I traveled each and every highway
    And more, much more than this
    I did it my way

Regrets, I’ve had a few
    But then again, too few to mention
    I did what I had to do
    And saw it through without exemption

I planned each charted course
    Each careful step along the byway
    And more, much more than this
    I did it my way

• 314.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@cane-311: We ‘WeePees’ are never humble. 11 Years of winning absolutely fuckingnothing couldn’t keep us humble…….
    We don’t do humble ;) Ever.

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-310: By far the most deserved for Team of the Year award. Was honestly quite shocked the kids didn’t get it.

• 315.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-313: “me plz”

• 316.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-314:

the kids are alright…

• 317.katman: Reply to this comment

What happened to the Shabir Shaik award that was meant to go to the Kings?

• 318.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-304:

The people will make their choice katman.

For what it’s worth…………………………i would like to Obama pull through.

But if he doesn’t …………………………..the people have spoken.

• 319.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-318: It’s a well known fact that the majority of the people are also idiots.

• 320.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cane-318:
    Romney is a Nazi.

• 321.cane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-314:

I’ve noticed.

• 322.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-309: I am devastated too. I loved that guy. Most of all, will miss the funny Youtube video’s they made of him.

• 323.David: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-320:
    And an out and out liar.

• 324.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-322: Indeed :) There were some classics. It’s the end of the world as we know it :(

• 325.gunther: Reply to this comment

The sharks won the team of the Year award?

For getting fisted in two finals?

• 326.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

And now for some more awards…

“Referees’s C*ck-up of the Year” – Awarded to Marius Jonker for his “missing” of the blatant knock-on by one M Steyn during the Bulls’ game against us @ Loftus resulting in our losing our conference and subsequently missing the playoffs by one point.

“Linesmens’ C*ck-up of the Year” – Jointly awarded to Stefan Breytenbach & Lourens van der Merwe for their roles in the above bloop.

“TMO’s C*ck-up of the Year” – To whoever he was that fateful night in April – See above.

THANKS GUYS, STERLING EFFORT THERE.

And finally, SARU’s very own “Pinnochio Award” – the judges were at a stalemate about this one and finally awarded it jointly to Messrs Hoskins & Roux for misleading the rugby-loving players public so much…
    And finally

• 327.capebull: Reply to this comment

@katman-317: It was traded for a fillet steak.

• 328.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-325:
    seriously, you cant script that stuff.
    there’s a movie in there somewhere.

• 329.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-325: And taking it so well. That’s what the judges were looking for.

• 330.cane: Reply to this comment

@Jinx2-320:

Actually he is a Mormon.

Don’t drink no coffee,
    don’t drink no tea.

• 331.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-328:

Unvictus.

• 332.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The Shabir Sheikh awards will make these look like the prizes at the local school tombola stall.

• 333.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-299: oops sorry didnt see that lol. He´s 33 btw.

• 334.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane-330:

Shame

What does he drink then

• 335.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-325: Now now Gunther. You know it was in the national interest to give the guppies something…..

• 336.capebull: Reply to this comment

@gunther-325: No for losing 2 finals

• 337.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-334: milk shake

• 338.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-334:

Juice.
    Unfermented.

• 339.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@capebull-337:

From his own cows

Mormons do that

• 340.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-326:
    still harping on that…

i would have thought a more fitting bunch of recipients would have been
    keith brown
    ar’s simon moore & julian pritchard
    and tmo george ayoub

for their disgusting handling of the cheetahs first game away on their arstrelasian tour against those ‘largesse receiving from the refs’ brumbies.

a game which by all accounts they should have won… where would your brumbies have been then..?

in case you dont remember so good:

Sanzar referees boss Lyndon Bray has admitted there was a “big imbalance” in the way Keith Brown allowed the Brumbies an advantage in hitting in at the scrums in their match on Saturday.

Bray has also called for more clarity on the final penalty, the one which gifted the Brumbies a victory on the whistle after they were behind for most of the match.

It is clear that Sanzar are not happy with Brown’s calls in the game, especially in the setpiece, where the Cheetahs were penalised five times, often within striking distance, and saw the Brumbies claw their way back from 23-10 to win the game.

While there is nothing that can be done about the result, talk within refereeing circles is that Brown is on shaky ground and will need to up his game or fall off the Sanzar refereeing panel.

• 341.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@cane-330: Don’t pay no taxes……

• 342.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@cane-318: … or about half have spoken loud enough

• 343.grant10: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn is set to start at flyhalf against Ireland, with Pat Lambie wearing the No 10 jersey against Scotland and England

This from SA Rugby Magazine….

So Elton has to go hold tackle bags again…..

Farkit Meyer, get over this fixation with M Steyn man!

• 344.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@cane-330: Romney is a sneaky littlefucker…..Trust him about as much as what Bakkies trusts Kiwi refs….

• 345.gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane-330:

Apparently Ma’a Nonu is one too.

• 346.cane: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-341:

I thought that was the Amish and Memonites.

• 347.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-326:

The penalty that handed the Brumbies victory over the Cheetahs on Saturday will be investigated by Sanzar.

With the siren having sounded referee Keith Brown adjudged the Cheetahs to have deliberately and illegally rotated the scrum. Christian Lealiifano subsequently kicked the penalty that gave the Brumbies a 24-23 victory.

Lyndon Bray, SANZAR’s refereeing boss, told the Beeld that three scrum specialists – former Bok prop Balie Swart, New Zealand scrum coach Mike Cron and former Wallaby prop Patricio Noriega – will review that decision as well as two other calls to determine their legitimacy.

‘Keith may not have been very sharp with the early engagement of the scrums and therefore it wasn’t a pretty sight throughout the game. But, concerning that last decision, we’ll have to determine if the teams firstly scrummed forward and then lawfully swayed the scrum with momentum. When it sways immediately without force, it may be unlawful,’ said Bray

http://keo.co.za/2012/03/13/scrum-calls-under-scrutiny/

http://www.supersport.com/rugby/article.aspx?Id=1286831

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Super15/Ref-did-wrong-Cheetahs-Bray-20120313

• 348.cane: Reply to this comment

@gunther-345:

What…………………………………………A Republican.

• 349.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-329:
    LMAO

• 350.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-340: Hey, these are Souff Effrican awards – Brown doesn’t qualify!!! :-)

P.S. Thought I’d wind you up on that one!

• 351.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-350:

that you did :lol:

• 352.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-317:

The Scabby Sheik award goes to Earl Rose for T-boning a fish and chip shop at three am.

Get out of jail free card.

• 353.cane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-344:

I would love to see Obama win for a second term.

But none of us are Americans……………………………………………and this is their choice.

And lets face it………………………………………..can Mit be any worse than George W.

• 354.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@cane-353: Ah George. Set the standards helluva high he did :)

• 355.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-316:

you better you bet.

• 356.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-352: Ah, that’s not the one I was thinking of then. Could it be the Kulubuse Zuma Award? For dedication and commitment in staying connected to the trough. Cheeky was a shoe-in here.

• 357.katman: Reply to this comment

Those Mulitchoice fckers are coining it…

An average of 525 000 viewers watched the 33 matches in the competition – an increase of 36% on the 2011 season average – according to data produced by Repucom from DSTVi All4+ information.

The average was the first time it had breached the half a million barrier while Saturday’s final between The Sharks and DHL Western Province attracted the largest ever audience for an Absa Currie Cup match on SuperSport.

An average of 1.14m viewers tuned in to the coverage with a peak audience of 1.3m viewers. The 36% growth in average audience was against the backdrop of a 24 percent growth in the available audience.

“The semi-final and final numbers are on a par with the biggest matches in Vodacom Super Rugby,” said Jurie Roux, SARU CEO. “They confirm that the Absa Currie Cup has lost none of its appeal for rugby supporters.

“The return to a strength-versus-strength format intensified interest and the unpredictable nature of the games made for compelling viewing. That accounted for the increased average audiences, but the fact that the average audience for the semi-finals and finals was also up by more than 200 000 viewers in comparison to 2011 tells its own story.”

Repucom SA chairman, Kelvin Watt, added: “What makes these numbers even more remarkable is that they exclude SuperSport HD and Out of Home viewing which we believe accounts for between 30 percent and 45 percent for major matches such as finals.”

• 358.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cane-353: Americans voted Obama in and in the process showed they are not racist… Voting him out will show that they aint stoopid either….

• 359.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-353:
    When you look at who’s backing him, yes he can. Besides GWB wasn’t the real President, Cheyney was.

• 360.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-354:
    Have you seen Will Ferrell one man show “You Welcome America” playing George W.

Kak funny.

• 361.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

WTF has Obama done other than allegedly give the order to finally take Bin Laden allegedly down… Not that there is any evidence that he is actually down…

Obama got farkall idea to run, lead or move an executive… The only thing he WAS fairly decent at was oratory – not anymore. Obviously his previous speech writer walked out on him…

Romney is a mover and shaker, successful in business – starting and moving his firm into being a pre eminent financial services organisation… He was very successful organizing the Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City – probably the best ever. He has governed a state successfully for 10 yrs…

He is a mover and shaker… He is a leader… And he will actually take USA forward… Not farken sit on his hands and do farkall other than PC sweet nothings…

• 362.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-361:
    I’ve seen all 3 presidential debates and Romney had the upper hand in 1 and 2 when it came to economic policies.
    Big difference between the two is that Obama wants to tax those in the higher income bracket and Romney wants to grow small business and create jobs so that more people can pay taxes.

But Obama moered him in the 3rd debate when it came to foreign relations. Romney has no clue.

• 363.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-355:

i gotta big boy right here :lol:

• 364.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-361:
    i dont think its so much a question of what has obama done than it is a question of what will the other guy DO.

• 365.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Obama and his administration are a key factor in why the recovery from this depressive recession is taking longer than it should… You could argue that his cowardice has affected the world in more profound negative ways than George W ever did…

But most of you sheep are too ignorant to realize this while still pretending to “Yes we can”….

• 366.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@katman-357:
    Why should anyone in his sane mind might believe in these numbers?

• 367.cane: Reply to this comment

@David-359:

See what you think of this.

http://youtu.be/imshG_wDzmY

Cheneys Toy by James McMurtry.

• 368.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-362: So Obama can talk the talk when it comes to “Foreign Relations”… But what has he done other than continue or worsen the USA status quo globally…

- China doesn’t respect him
    - Afghanistan is more of a farkup than it ever was under George W
    - USA’s relationship with Britain and Europe has not improved and has declined especially with the former, stemming back to his cowardly labeling of BP as “British” when it is majority owned by US shareholders, in order to pass the buck regarding the oil pollution farkup…
    and much, much more….

His only saving grace has been having Hilary Clinton as his Secretary of State…

Actually I reckon I could almost guarantee that Romney will be the next President…

• 369.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@katman-357: So the Currie Cup is not as irrelevant as the esteemed rugby writers and supporters from the Cape were making out for months before the final…

How things have changed and opinions shifted…

• 370.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-368:
    Fark HG.

You “almost guaranteed” that the Sharks would win the Currie Cup and look what happened….

So based on your recent prophecies I will put my money on Obama.

• 371.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-370:

Everything HG owns is in the pawnshop.

• 372.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-357:

here is one for you Katman:

http://youtu.be/jTW0y6kazWM

And anyone else who likes to see truth stare them in the face.

• 373.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-370: Yes that I did… and I was wrong…

But you forget that I almost guaranteed the Sharks fcking up the Bulls in the CC… I did the same regarding the Bulls in Super Rugby, and Stormers…

The cherry on top is that I knew the Sharks would make the final of Super Rugby too… I almost guaranteed that one while many fools were Stormersbedroef and some misguided Sharks “supporter” were calling for Plum to be replaced by Stonehouse…

Yes, so I was wrong regarding the CC final, but sometimes a black swan can slip through….

So, go ahead… Place your money on Obama… Why dont you bet your house on it too… That is, if you have a house… Because if you have, you aint gonna have one for too long yet…

• 374.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-371: you mean pornshop, surely

• 375.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-373:
    Yes, I own a beautiful home in the Southern Suburbs of Cape Town.

But theirs no way I’ll bet on a farking politian.

The American middle class will decide who their next president will be and they love Obama.

• 376.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-372: Yep, enjoyed the one you posted earlier too. Reminds a bit of Steve Earle. Or this little tune.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-c6GphpAeY

• 377.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-373:

Oh shut up

You whine whine whine all the time like shopping mall music

• 378.Warchild: Reply to this comment

A debate on US politics on Keo. Haha! Meatheads.

• 379.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-375: The American middle class love Obama…. Do they now?

Unemployment on a scale only exceeded by the Great Depression….
    Bogged down in conflicts without resolution
    Higher taxes

All affect this middle class…
    Reagan Democrats farken despise him and his Mr Spock disconnected countenance…

And try no confuse middle class with the luvvy liberals… Okay? Because like their leader it is they who are so disconnected with the real middle class that they can’t see the discontent coming even when its actually passed them by already…. and the middle class have made their decision already…

Obama is the weakest link…koebaai

• 380.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Cue: enter the Fish Hoek Fossil.

• 381.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-377: Come to ole HG, Prawny and then I show you who’s whining or squealing …

• 382.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-379:

“Unemployment on a scale only exceeded by the Great Depression….
    Bogged down in conflicts without resolution
    Higher taxes ”

This has been the U S of A since time immemorial

What makes you think another Republican is gonna change anything.

Makes no difference who’s in the White House. It’s all cosmetic.

• 383.Warchild: Reply to this comment

@cane-353: Yes. Yes, he can.

• 384.Dawn: Reply to this comment

So stop whining already

• 385.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-379:
    All will be revealed shortly…..

“Once you go black you never go back…..”

• 386.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-382: I dont think a Republican will change this fckup in one term… But Romney will do more good in one term than the “orator” in two… Guaranteed

• 387.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@katman-307: @capebull-306: Better than moving backwards ala Spies style. Boom!

• 388.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-386: Right, you mean he cause world war 3?

• 389.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-384: You…Moaner or squealer?

I have you down as the former… guaranteed.

Doggy would be a squealer…

• 390.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-388: Chrissakes… Has Keo’s dumbfuckery got this bad….

• 391.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-358: What can Mit offer America except a gaurenteed war with Iran?

• 392.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-377: with all respect to Hg,I’ll rather listen to shopping mall music than to read his daily tantrums on here.

• 393.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-382: The last republican is the reason for the entire global recession! That ****** single handedly pushed the price of fuel up 50%!

• 394.katman: Reply to this comment

This is just about the only Mitt Romney I can stomach.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5i3F0YnkP0

• 395.katman: Reply to this comment

Or the presidential debate. Very ha ha.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlwilbVYvUg

• 396.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-358:

What? Not stoopid?

They voted for Dubya, didn’t they?

Twice!

Farken retarded if you ask me.

• 397.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-377: Indeed. Like that fuckingBONEYM Xmas music that will be hitting ALL stores near you shortly….

HG is Keo’s version of the ‘Little Drummer Boy’, on repeat.

American politics – go figure.

• 398.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-391: Oh he offers a lot more than that…..none of it good.

• 399.trupisero: Reply to this comment

How the fark can HM start Steyn against the Paddys?

And then confirm that lambie will start against the Poms and Jocks.

Whats the farken point of taking him along?

• 400.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-396:

Agreed

For once

• 401.cab: Reply to this comment

obama light years better than that conservative uptight aswipe mormon , then again they all such complete arseholes , who gives a titty – have you checked their debates when they grab each other around the arm in an embrace that says im boss, someone should sommer duck under and hook his oppo that would be worth watching ekse, and those US trophy wives that come on afterwards to console their ‘great’ men – fkme what a bunch of twatasses allround- what they need is a Bojo the king – i wonder if Boris could make it in US politics? i cant stand politicians, the only one i kinda like is boris cos he’s such a complete tool.

• 402.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-379:
    You can talk sh*t. Romney was a one term Governor, the Bush tax cuts which should have expired in 2010, along with 2 unfunded wars, was the main reason for the current deficit. Mitt didn’t start Bain, he was given it, with funding and his demand that if he failed he’d get his old job back.
    As for his trickle down idea that lower taxes for the wealthy will help small businesses, it didn’t under Reagan or Bush.

• 403.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-400: Once!

• 404.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-396: You forget Dubya stole one… But hey, as stoopid as yanks may be, they not half as stoopid as the fools who give what, a 70% mandate, to the current President of SA… And the last one too – the HIV and Crime denialist… Remember him… and his pipe?

• 405.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Speaking of baby boks… would the current WC winning team beat this one?

15 Ulrich Beyers
    14 Tshotsho Mbovane
    13 Jaco Taute
    12 Francois Venter
    11 Wandile Mjekevu
    10 Johan Goosen
    09 Piet Rademan

8 Arno Botha
    7 Siya Kolisi
    6 Nizaam Carr
    5 Eben Etsebeth
    4 Ruan Venter
    3 John Roy Jenkinson
    2 Bongi Mbonambi
    1 Juan Schoeman

• 406.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-402: Davey, Davey… “his trickle down idea”…?

His?

Sure about that?

You farken dunce :lol:

• 407.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-404: Stuck beetroot, with a hint of garlic in his pipe and smoked it.

• 408.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-402: And Davey, I think you might be confusing Bain & Company with Bain Capital… The latter he did found…

Schmuck

Sheezus, you Keo Captains of Industry like you fantasy fibbing bulldust stories :lol:

• 409.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-407: :lol:

• 410.cab: Reply to this comment

yep Boris leader of the free world, thats more like it.

• 411.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab-410: I reckon you need to stick more with those atoms and theoretical sh’yte you more comfortable with… This real world outside ivory towers maybe not really for you…

• 412.cab: Reply to this comment

meyer’s only real claim to fame so far in my opinion is the resurrection of habana who has looked a completely different player under him, but im not sure about player of the year, there’s still alot of fragility on his wing.

• 413.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-386: backing the Romney aren’t we? why am i not surprised, FARKING mormon.

HIYAS bro!

• 414.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-408:
    He was asked to start a new division called Bain Capital when he was at Bain & Co. Yes, trickle down. That’s the theory of low taxes for what the Repubs call “job creators” (the top 1%) which will trickle down into the general economy. Rogoff, a favourite economist of the Republicans has even stated that it doesn’t happen as the wealthy invest in shares or offshore accounts.

• 415.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-413:

Indeed

• 416.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

American politics?

• 417.cab: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-411:
    not sure where u get your crud from, never worked in an ivory tower in my life. i like to read, not what they tell you too, most of the **** they tell you to read is not worth reading. anyway i still give my 2p worth, afterall you economists clearly got no fkn clue, trickle down, my gat, they been spinning that shite for the last 30 years and thats where its gotten the current system, and they still too dom to let it go. all about the haves trying to hold onto it and the have nots trying to grab some of it.

• 418.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Wait till Extraball gets here

• 419.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab-412: habana’s form improved BEFORE the june tests thus meyer had nothing to do with it…

• 420.grant10: Reply to this comment

This is what happens when there is no rugby on the weekend

• 421.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@David-414: So “trickle down” is Romney’s idea… Farken clever guy then…

So, according to you, Laissez-faire is all down to Romney… Nothing to do with Chicago School, neoclassical or Friedman…. Little old Mit. Founder of Bain Capital…

WOnder why he never won the Nobel Prize for ecos and those fools Friedman, Fogel, Lucas, Posner and Hayek did…

• 422.grant10: Reply to this comment

How the hell HM is gonna spin a reason to include the bloody useless wally MS in the Irish game is beyond me…

• 423.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-419:
    not so sure – he used to be the best player in the Bok backline in 2007 and arguably the best winger in the world, but he’s been in horrendous form the last couple of years – S14 sides were actually targetting his wing he was so weak, but he’s looked good the last few months – he still is dodgy under big pressure tho, jutted out of line for the ABs try which he does all the time and leads to tries being scores that might have been scored anyway but he makes it too easy.

• 424.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-422: MSteyn is refreshed like Jean, mental break baba! :D

• 425.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab-423: he was on the cover of SA Rugby mag and mentioned “going back to basics and not forcing issues” Fleck also commented on what they did in the off-season…meyer wasn’t there!

• 426.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Go have a beer folks – or even go shag someone – this online frustration is not good.

• 427.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

But use protection, please – we can’t risk any of you breeding :lol:

• 428.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-427:

That is a valid point!

• 429.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-426:

“shag”???

very unlike you

• 430.cab: Reply to this comment

hayek gave the best argument for laissez-faire, but its pretty simple really, its fundamentally flawed system, cos there can only be one winner, whovever becomes the biggest and best devours up all the competition, so there is no competition, destroying the supposed fundamental principle of the whole system. and they know that, which is precisely why they gotta introduce in these competition rules and regulations.

as for the capital markets, what a gdam joke, they model these systems as if there is any predictability to any of it, as if they have the foggiest gdam clue, and then they wonder why it all goes tits up when they create these financial instruments that are derivatives of dervivates and totally devoid of any value whatsoever.

the system is going to crash, simple, i been saying it for years, the only reason they been able to stablise it is cos they rich after years of accumulated wealth, but thats all dissapearing with the rebalancing and when the welfare state can no longer sustain the quality of life the europeans are used to, that when u gotta start heading for the hills and your generator bunker u were stocking up after the 2nd crash.

• 431.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-427: Too late… I am sure a few HG juniors around… In fact the little farkers have gone global… Just not sure where.

Misspent youth…

• 432.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-424: wISH HE WOULD GO TAKE A 3 YEAR BREAK IN jAPAN.

• 433.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-425:
    interesting, maybe it was fleck, we need someone in fleck in our midfield.

• 434.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-425: And he mentioned working with Calder again. I reckon she can take way more credit than the Messiah.

• 435.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-431: Nurture versus nature – there’s still hope :wink:

• 436.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@grant10-432: Fark, sorry, caps.

• 437.grant10: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-436: JA…SORRY THERE MAN

Fark…did it again

• 438.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-405: 12 Francois Venter???? Really? What about Jan Serfontein? By far the most exciting junior player coming through.

• 439.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab-430: Talking stump now… This whole financial whiz bang crash can be blamed squarely on the hair brained physicist farkers that banks go and employ all enamored with their bullshitt baffles brains 2 plus 2 ability … But for you farken madmen, 2 plus 2 never equals plain 4… Fark, you twats make it equal 21 or some godforsaken prime number that you terribly fond of…. That and farken reckoning that prices of shares/equities and hence people sentiment act like particle in water – brownian motion…. Farkenhell… You mofos farked up big time…

Now even the banks slicing and dicing their investment divisions and putting the likes of you nutty professors up against the nearest wall and shooting you chaps….

• 440.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-431: And so the “Transformation” of the world is complete?

• 441.grant10: Reply to this comment

Jantjes should tell HM to farkoff and rather come to CT and start preseason here….

That HM really p issing me off with his bloody M Steyn bromance.

• 442.cab: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-439:
    yeah what else is there to talk about – the phycists aint in that sector, i think you mean the mathematicians, but yeah none of them got any clue, the system is far more complex and undefined, its not a science, its a manmade system, which relies on confidence in the markets and way too many variable too map and the more laissez-faire, the more impossible it is too control, which is precisely why all these unpredictable swings happen in the first place. brownian motion, einstein or is that about the motion of turds bobbing along..?

• 443.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab-433: yep!

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-434: meyer claiming he can fix msteyn like he did habana was the biggest con ever, pity those doey-eyed journalists lap up all the kak, if i was there i would’ve told him straight up to stop fibbing…

• 444.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek-435: They wont kill the world… wont let her down… wont destroy basic ground…

• 445.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-441: rob kearney not playing boet so we’re safe, we can skop all day long, oirish will feel our mojo!

• 446.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-440: Ja… Meaningful Transformation too… not just “Transformation of the Mind”…

• 447.cab: Reply to this comment

look its going to eventually boil down to a rumble between the bankers and the scousers who need some mulla for special brew, and i dont fancy the bankers chances.

• 448.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-445:
    he’s damn good that kearney, dunno who his replacement is but the irish know how to counter-attack, be interested to see the side, cos i reckon gert smal might just be planning a groot ontploffing upfront and their backs might have the better of it outwide.

• 449.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@cab-442: Naah, its you Physicist farkers… The mathematicians alright okes… They dont go on and on about multiverses and all that farken sh.yte you can only dream up after a big farken bong and then forget about the actual real world… Crazy mofos

• 450.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab-442: “brownian motion”

Extraballas swimming pool missiles :lol:

• 451.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-450:
    janee, he’s little speedboat goes into overdrive when doing the doggiepaddle in the jetstream of the yankie padda.

• 452.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-445: That M Steyn, FDP and Vetgat Plod single handedly got us destroyed against them Irish…..we must not think for a second it is a walk in the park…..we come home with 1 or 2 losses old HM gonna be feeling big heat….

Dont know how to read that Meyer….sometimes he seems clued up, like with Flo and Schalk Brits and the Guthro calls, but then he makes me mal with this nonsense about this wally M Steyn…..freaks my head out…

anyway….business calls….peace out boet.

• 453.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab-448: who they have outwide, keith earls, paddy wallace – no BoD…who else is there?

their half-backs were so-so early this year…if flo, duane, alberts can shut down heaslip, o’brien and them…job nearly done…etzebeth to battle the O’co what-whats…lambie and elton can swindle sexton!

• 454.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-452: cheers mate!

• 455.cab: Reply to this comment

they had murphy and d’arcy a few years back who were very dangerous runners, i thought that there blond winger would be a real weapon now, not fitzgerald the other one, but maybe he’s gone off the boil..dannyboy or something. BoD superb but probably a year past it – maybe u right, maybe they not the team from couple of years ago. the one player that did seem to improve was cian healey (prop), i though beast scrummed his poepol in last time, but he looked to be improving in some of 6N games.

• 456.David: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-421:
    Never said it was his idea, just read my comment again. I said that he was proposing the same policies started by Reagan, which never worked. Reagan raised taxes 8 times after his initial cuts.

• 457.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-453:
    outstanding backrow, heaslip, ferris and best could match ours.

• 458.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10-452:
    Remember he has two other selectors.

• 459.cab: Reply to this comment

their strauss better than our strauss, he was at the cheetahs too, but they also seemed to prefer our strauss.

• 460.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@slumtown-438:

READ!!! Would the current team beat that one? I didn’t ask which individual was better….

• 461.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

It always amazes me that when a country like the USA overspends they way it has (it’s not the only or by any means the worst but the sheer scale is concerning) and gets itself into the position it has, that everyone complains but at the same time are unprepared to take the pain that goes with the medicine.

I’m not an Obama fan per say and tend to favor less government intervention rather than more but there does need to be some intervention to stop the artificial manipulation that has been going on.

Romney to me is just not a credible leader and his policies and supporters just seem way out of touch with what is required at the moment.

But that’s just me.

And in all likelihood the majority of US voters next Tuesday.

If not, then that’s democracy.

It won’t be the first time a bad candidate has been elected.

• 462.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-461: At some stage the deficit – national and also state & city debt levels (which no-one talks about) have to be addressed.

Common sense regarding tax and cutting spend will hopefully come to play.

US elections are highly, highly polarized – mainly because the actual voter turnout is appalling – less than 60% – so everyone appeals to the “base” – which is a good description of their politics – base.

1980 52.60%
    1984 53.11%
    1988 50.11%
    1992 55.10%
    1996 49.00%
    2000 51.21%
    2004 56.69%
    2008 57.37%

It’s a close call. I call Obama. But it’s tight. Essentially a choice between the insane nutjobs and the incompetent handout artists.

• 463.David: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-462:
    Goldman Sachs are handling the State and municipal debt, which is why they’re in the sh*t from buying CDs from those snake oil salesmen.
    As for Romney/Ryan, they still haven’t laid out an economic policy other than “trust us” we’ll bring taxes and the deficit down.

• 464.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Kan n men nou so gatkruip!! :D

Stormersboy
    November 2nd, 2012 at 11:39 SAST
    @ Puma:
    Just to be clear, when i say that I wouldn’t have given the Sharks the team of the year this is not an “anti-sharks” statement but rather one in favour of the baby-Boks.
    Also when I say player of the year it isn’t a anti- Keegan statement, but rather a pro Marcel statement
    Both should be seen in that ligh

• 465.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@David-463: Dave – I think there is some articulation, but I am a typical swing voter – fiscally conservative and socially liberal.

I don’t see Obama with a plan at all, and the challenges of defined-pension guarantees to public employees will, without any shadow of a doubt, bankrupt America if there is no change.

Right now its a hard place to make choices.

Every banker and his dog sells municipal bonds – not just Government Sachs. They are all in it together.

• 466.David: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-465:
    I don’t trust Romney though. He seems to change his stance depending on the audience. His and Ryans 20% tax reduction claims whilst reducing the deficit, just don’t add up either. As for his foreign policy approach, it scares me sh*tless.
    Obama has leaned over backwards to accommodate the Republicans, yet they’ve blocked every bill even when it’s based on their own ideas. Regulation of the financial industry has been fought, as have environmental bills. The idea of a Koch bros and Norquist driven House and Presidency should be anathema to any sensible American.

• 467.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@David-466: agree

• 468.David: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-467:
    Now lets get back to Leeds and Arsenal. :lol:

• 469.katman: Reply to this comment

Ouch. Titans just went 60 all out in their one day game against the Lions, chasing 329. That’s not a hiding – there must be another word for it. To make it worse, they played at Centurion.

• 470.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-469:
    Hondo will reckon it’s the umpires.

• 471.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-464: You copying posts from another blog now??

Shame boet.

It will probably disappoint you to know that Puma and I are good friends in private life.

He gets my respect because he gives it.

As does everyone else on this blog who does the same.

• 472.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe-462: Interesting stats on the voter turnout. I didn’t realize that they were so apathetic.

• 473.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“The time has come”, the Walrus said,?
    “To talk of many things:?
    Of shoes and ships and sealing wax
    Of cabbages and Kings
    And why the Sea is boiling hot
    And whether pigs have wings.”

• 474.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“Curiouser and curiouser.” Looking through the Keo glass.

• 475.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“I see nobody on the road,” said Alice.?
    “I only wish I had such eyes,” the King remarked in a fretful tone. “To be able to see Nobody! And at that distance, too! Why, it’s as much as I can do to see real people, by this light!”

• 476.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

For Mr RyeCatcher.

One, two! One, two! And through and through
    The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!?
    He left it dead, and with its head
    He went galumphing back.

• 477.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“It’s too late to correct it,” said the Red Queen: “when you’ve once said a thing, that fixes it, and you must take the consequences.”

• 478.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“Alice thought to herself, ‘Then there’s no use in speaking.’ The voices didn’t join in this time, as she hadn’t spoken, but to her great surprise, they all thought in chorus (I hope you understand what thinking in chorus means, for I must confess that I don’t), ‘Better say nothing at all. Language is worth a thousand pounds a word!”

• 479.carol: Reply to this comment

@MaximusLudicrusHumorus-475:

But I dont want to go among mad people, Alice remarked
    Oh you can’t help that said the cat,we are all mad here, I’m mad, you’re mad
    How do you know I am mad said Alice?
    You must be, said the cat or you would’nt have come here!! :-)

• 480.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“In a Wonderland they lie (lie?)
    Dreaming as the days go by
    Dreaming as the summers die
    Ever drifting down the stream
    Lingering in the golden gleam
    Life, what is it but a dream?”

• 481.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

@carol-479:

“And how do you know that you’re mad?”
    “To begin with,” said the Cat, “a dog’s not mad. You grant that?”
    I suppose so, said Alice.
    “Well then,” the Cat went on, “you see a dog growls when it’s angry, and wags it’s tale when it’s pleased. Now I growl when I’m pleased, and wag my tail when I’m angry. Therefore I’m mad.”

• 482.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“And how many hours a day did you do lessons?” said Alice, in a hurry to change the subject.
    “Ten hours the first day,” said the Mock Turtle: “nine the next, and so on.”
    “What a curious plan!’ exclaimed Alice.
    “That’s the reason they’re called lessons,” the Gryphon remarked, “because they lessen from day to day!”

• 483.carol: Reply to this comment

@MaximusLudicrusHumorus-481:

We all are!!:-)

• 484.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“Cheshire Puss,” she began, rather timidly, as she did not at all know whether it would like the name: however, it only grinned a little wider. ‘Come, it’s pleased so far,’ thought Alice, and she went on… “Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”
    “That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.
    “I don’t much care where…” said Alice.
    “Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.
    “…so long as I get SOMEWHERE…!” Alice added as an explanation.

“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”

• 485.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

@carol-483:

“I’m not strange, weird, off, nor crazy, my reality is just different from yours.” :wink:

• 486.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

The Red Queen shook her head (after scrolling through this Keo blog),

“You may call it “nonsense” if you like,” she said, “but I’ve heard nonsense, compared with which that would be as sensible as a dictionary!”

• 487.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

One thing was certain, that the white kitten had had nothing to do with it.
    It was the black kitten’s fault entirely!

• 488.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who’s Mad as a Hatter then.

• 489.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“What’s the use of their having names,” the Gnat said, “if they won’t answer to them?”

• 490.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-488:

“That’s the effect of living backwards,” the Queen said kindly: “it always makes one a little giddy at first.”

• 491.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

And ever, as the story drained the wells of fancy dry,
    And faintly strove that weary one to put the subject by,
    The rest next time. It is next time! The Happy voice cry.

• 492.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

Anon, to sudden silence won,
    In fancy they pursue
    The dream-child moving through the land
    Of wonders wild and new,
    In friendly chat with bird or beast…
    And half believe it true.

• 493.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

All in the golden afternoon
    Full leisurely we glide;
    For both our oars, with little skill,
    By little arms are plied,
    While little hands make vain pretense
    Our wanderings to guide.

• 494.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

“I must be shutting up like a telescope!”

• 495.carol: Reply to this comment

If MaximusLudircusHumorous ever starts on Saffa literature I am b u g g e r e d!!

• 496.carol: Reply to this comment

Anyway besides Wilbur Smith is there ANY South African literature?

Must say I thoroughly enjoyed the adventures of ‘Spud’ the schoolboy!

So, besides Wilbur Smith and the adventures of Spud…. Is there anything there… please enlighten me!! ;-)

• 497.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Anyone with a bit of foresight should’ve known that voting for that Sharks team when there was no guarantee they’d win it could lead to an embarrassment.
    Baby Boks were the easy and obvious choice. Otherwise both Stormers and Sharks SR team deserved it more.

Also what a joke that they narrowed the nominees down through the facebook page! I couldn’t understand how Lambie was POTY nominee but it makes sense now… his dedicated fans must’ve gotten voting. :lol:

• 498.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@carol-496: As a non-South African, I’d say JM Coetzee is usually considered the best place to start but I’m sure the locals might have a better perspective. I have Disgrace sitting at home waiting to be read though, once I finish classics like Final Word by Sir Graham Henry and The Open Side by Richie McCaw :)

• 499.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

Athol Fugard
    Andre Brink
    Nadine Gordimer
    Sol Plaatje

• 500.cab: Reply to this comment

Ladies and ladies u far too sane to be any fun – don’t blame u but if u don’t have it u don’t have it u don’t and hod on u and lucky 4 u – peddle tge gdam argus who knows that’s what ppl do these days.

• 501.cab: Reply to this comment

Gdam they got it all too play for but not an ounce of gdam humour in their gdam calcium, not a single ounce.

• 502.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@carol-496: Don’t have time for your ignorance or stupidity.

• 503.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-471: It’s been done before on this blog. :D You don’t need to give me your puma love story.Nobody really cares. :D

• 504.cab: Reply to this comment

Well now wie weet . Toemaar.

Waar is die gdverdomtekoeksisters? Komdukteir?

• 505.cab: Reply to this comment

Maxmus poeffanus – hou jou piel binne ekse

ohh fk dus snaaks – lekker slaap – haha van crab – toemaar vreeeslik

• 506.carol: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-502:

Yawn Cappo!!

• 507.cab: Reply to this comment

Puma
    is so fkn ordentilik as hy skreeu nie n shark dan weet jy hy is verduidelik gevok, met n ggggg…

Dankie

• 508.carol: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-498:
    Thank you Gonzo.

• 509.cab: Reply to this comment

Wattehel

• 510.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab-507:

Puma does not read Afrikaans Cab, his grasp of your language is nearly as poor as mine!!

• 511.cab: Reply to this comment

Carol – yes it is hard for you to believe but I speak unbelievably good afrikaans

dankie

and sorry to disturb the argus, goodnight.

Maximuspielnus waar is jy – oh fk waar is ek

• 512.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab-509:
    Jy clink effens gedrink, is ek reg of nie?

• 513.cab: Reply to this comment

One more question waar die fk is st helier?
    Agnakont – t

• 514.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab-511:
    Night Cab…Lekker Slaap ;-)

• 515.MaximusLudicrusHumorus: Reply to this comment

Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence and fulfills the duty to express the results of his thoughts in clear form. ~ Albert Einstein

• 516.cab: Reply to this comment

Vkn hel jy praat effens veel betee as ek – naand.

• 517.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@carol-512: How’s old Nick doing?Nearly conference time for you lot.

• 518.cab: Reply to this comment

Daai ou fkn jood ou dosie van der stel is tweetalig.

Nag.

• 519.carol: Reply to this comment

Dankie Cab,ek het goeie vriend wat my leer :-)

• 520.carol: Reply to this comment

@cab-518:
    Ek dink jy moet gann slap. Totsens

• 521.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Cause it was late in the evening and ….
    Kudos to Brian, always gives his all & puts his body on the line. Been in a slump for a while but knows how to score tries

• 522.cab: Reply to this comment

Yep brian is a great player alright but he was struggling for a long time and everyone knows that.

• 523.nikoli: Reply to this comment

I’m not sure JDeV is the right captain for us but not sure who is, what u think?

• 524.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@cab-522: Bryan is a God-given talent and a true living legend.

• 525.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-524: amen to that, mr never say die

• 526.cab: Reply to this comment

Wnbb – he lost his talent for a while there tho bigtime.

Here’s a lesson from best to worst in an eyeblink – confidence no wonder the head doctors are so important – problem is he’s got frightening pace but not great coords – so he’s good but not campese great.

• 527.cab: Reply to this comment

But truth be told hananas sheer pace made up for all the skill campo ever had – you can’t replace out-and-out speed.

• 528.nikoli: Reply to this comment

@cab-527: pity we didn’t devise a gameplan to get the ball to him in a bit of space more often

• 529.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Cab…..Campo was my second fave Oz player of all time behind Mark Ella.Remember him as a nineteen year old turning About wing St uWilson inside out and burning him on the outside.Also that famous goose step.A true character of the game and matchwinner.Habana is a totally different player but both on a par in terms of greatness and achievements.

• 530.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-153:
    “And those dumbfuck self professed Sharks “fans” like Megatron and his mates at Sharksworld really should feel like the braindead idiots they truly are with Plum winning Coach of the Year…”

…and the ONLY reason he got that award was because of a PITY vote.

…same with the Sharks as team of the year… another PITY vote.

…JPP as Players player of the year…yet another PITY vote. (How many games did he play to get that accolade?)

• 531.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-529:
    Not many South Africans will know about the Australian teams of the 80′s. (Cab, I’m not saying that you don’t)

The Ella brother’s (Mark, Gary and Glen), with Mark leading, were the player’s who made Aus a real world force in rugby. Most South Africans were never privileged enough to appreciate their talent because they played in the early 80′s when we were isolated.

Mark Ella
    Simon Poidevin (an all time favorite of mine)
    Rod Mc Queen
    John? Hipwell (The scrum half with the wrist pass. The last of his kind, I think.)

Those were the players who brought Aus rugby into the mainstream before guys like Campese, Nick-Farr Jones, Willie O took them further.

• 532.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-531:
    Hi Nama…..the Ozzie teams of the eighties…brings back fond memories of brilliant passing and running lines…Yes John Hipwell a fore runner of the great Aussie halfbacks with his great pass, saw him play once for NSW when he was coming to the end of his career, great player who suffered from injuries.
    Simon Poidevin one of your favourites, great flanker who took no backward step to the Abs a real workhorse who could dish it out.
    One of my other favourites was Micheal Hawker at 2nd five/centre, ran nice lines and when Mark Ella drew in two or three defenders he seemed to waltz through everytime. They also had Micheal O’connor another excellent centre who went on to be a great in Rugby League. Can’t forget Roger Gould at full back with his long stride and big boot.Yes those were the days.

• 533.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

On coaches. HG reckons that Plumstree success made him the prophet in sharkville that the boy will come good. How many years of underperforming must be tolerated to a marginally successful year (nothing won that sparkled)The other thing that bother me about these kiewiete coming here to teach us rugby is that they dont give a dahm about the springbok team. Is it just me or am I the only one that see a trojan horse through all the mist of SA rugby.They are not just spies from the cold but actually teaching us how to play rugby. They understand our weaknesses and strenghs so much better.Go and ask any general what win wars and he will tell you intellegence(knowing exactly whats going on in your enemies backyards) I am sure when it come to testmatches the intel is flowing freely.Now I am not saying we can not learn anything from the kiwis, they do have the best rugby coaches in the world, but throwing the gates open like this for little or no gain is stupid. Imagine a bok coaching Nz super rugby teams, it wont happen.Face it Plumtree with all the boks in his squad over the years should have done much better.

• 534.nama1: Reply to this comment

Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)
    Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)
    Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)

If you have to be honest, even as the most ardent Shark supporter, not one of these accolades are deserved.

Not when you have:

Team of the Year: A bunch of laaities from the Cape ending top of the log in an INTERNATIONAL provincial competition like the S15, who then went on to win the local provincial competition against a Shark team that boasted 9 Bok players in their RUN ON TEAM in the final of the CURRIE CUP…the most revered competition at local level are much, much more deserving of the title as “Team of the Year.”

Coach of the year: Plumtree ahead of Toetie Coetzee is even a bigger joke. Toetie coached his very YOUNG, INEXPERIENCED team to the top of the log in the S15, an international provincial competition. The best Plumtree could do was to end up in 6th place and then win two knock out matches to play in the final of the S15. That, after his team lost 5 matches in the league phase. To complicate matters further, his team LOST the final of the Currie Cup against the laaities of Toetie when they played as WP against the Sharks. Yet, he (Plumtree) get the reward as “Coach of the Year” ahead of Toetie!!! Something does not add up.

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks): Now, if anybody wants to tell me that Keegan had a better S15 than SIYA KOLISI, he must be totally be fucked in his head. Keegan, who I rated actually, does not deserve this accolade ahead of a guy like Kolisi or even Marcell Coetzee. He should’ve declined it and stayed in Durbs. He already made it clear that he did not intent to travel to Cape Town if he was not going to win any award.

Just another undeserved PITY vote.

Much respect was lost Keegan.

• 535.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Some bloggers are now calling for AC to be bok coach. What did he achieve?Does it really take a genius to figure out that an defense only aproach wont take you all the way? Yet these same bloggers call HM every name under the sun for a dismal start and although he changes his bad decisions very slowly, at least he change them. Imagine if he carry on his current gameplan for four years without success. Our skills have to be lifted.There are only a few things a backplayer must be able to do well. The secret is they have to be able to do it well under extreme pressure all the time, and thats what we need to work on.

• 536.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

I agree on Kolisi. I am not saying he is miles better than Marcell Coetzee but I think HM missed a golden oppertunity there to give this youngster a chance. Everybody is crying about the quotas, along come a born and bred local and he do not get a change.I think HM had everything to gain by testing Kolisi and he missed the boat.His other selections showed a lack of confidence in Kolisi that was not warranted.I hope that I am wrong and that it was his future plans for Kolisi is what make him hold back on his selection.Chili a point in case.

• 537.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

Allways nice to have the last word. Good night.

• 538.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-535:
    Funny neh! I was waiting for the likes of you to shift the goal posts.

Remember last year when everybody was wondering who the next coach will be? Heyneke was the obvious choice in many a so called rugby fundi’s eyes because he was a winner of the S14 and the CC. Toetie was “disqualified” because he had never won anything. Even his RWC gold medal as assistant coach of the 2007 champion team, did not count in his favour. You guys wanted him to win something all on his own as coach.

Now that he is the coach of the CC champions, you ask the question, “What did he achieve?”

1. Assistant coach of a RWC winning team. (2007)
    2. Head coach of the top team in the league phase of the S15 in 2012.
    3. Twice winner of the SA Conference Cup. (2011 & 2012)
    4 Head coach of the Currie Cup Champions. (2012)

Not too bad a CV, is it?

Agree, he should not become Bok coach but it gives you no reason to ask stupid questions.

• 539.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-532:
    Man, I only saw some footage of the Ella brother and Mar especially. I think the Aussies will recognize him as the player who made them a world force in rugby union. Pity we could never play against the likes of him and his brothers.

Yes, the 80′s rugby was great even though SA was not a part of it at international level.

If I’m not mistaken, Roger Gould played against the Boks when we returned to international rugby. I remember a time where they said that “pound for pound, Gould is the best rugby player in the world.” Of cause, our Boertjies had their own Johan Heunis who they reckoned was the best at the time.

Favourite All Blacks of mine those days were:
    Stu wilson
    Bernie Fraser
    Dave Loveridge
    the Whetton brothers

• 540.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-536:
    You did not read properly.

I was not advocating for Kolisi to be a BOk in Heyneke’s team.

I was comparing his performance in the S15 to that of Keegan. There is just no way that any HONEST person can say that Keegan had a better S15 than Kolisi. So, the question then is, HOW did Keegan get the Player of the S15 award.

A moerse wrong choice, don’t you think?

• 541.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-539:
    Oh yes, and Buck Shelford.

Great player.

• 542.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-539:
    Mark Ella revoloutionized first five play with his running and sweet passing game.He always held the ball out in front and would take on the line whilst most other first fives of that period would sit back in the pocket. Also he would align his outside midfield really flat and they would be only a arms length away from him so when he popped the ball they were right off his hip, or otherwise he would show the ball and with his deceptive body movements would have defenders clutching air, amazing player who retired too early a bit like CCR.

• 543.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-539:
    Dave Loveridge was one of my favourites too. Recognised as one of the best if not the best Ab halfback of all time….but me being from the North Auckland I’m a Sid Going fan.

• 544.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

540.nama1: I were actually advocating for Kolisi to be in the bok team, sink or swim scenario, but like I say hopefully HM is thinking about his long term future. To come back to Toetie as you call him, if he achieved that gold dust sprinkled pedigree with the bulls i think you would have seen him in a different light. Rose tinted spectacles comes to mind. Now if he build on that for the next year or two and take some super titles we can talk again.

• 545.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-542:
    CCR.?

@Te Rangatira-543:
    Of the 76 All Black in South Africa, there are only THREE names that stucked in my mind: SID GOING, BILLY BUSH, JJ WILLIAMS.

Andy Leslie was mentioned sometimes as well. :lol:

The game Loveridge played against the Lions (in mid 90′s) in the rain was probably one of the best performances by a SH in the history of rugby. A master class performance.

Some SA supporters still drool about the performance by Fourie du Preez in the 1st match against England in the 2007 RWC but even that performance does even not come close to what Loveridge did that day.

A great little player.

• 546.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-544:
    I was questioning Keegan’s award as player of the S15 ahead of Kolisi.

Forget about the Bok team for a moment. Just cast your mind back to the S15 and try to think about Keegan (who I rate highly) on the one hand and Kolisi on the other. Who, in your most esteemed opinion, had the better S15?

How many Super rugby titles has Plumtree won so far?

• 547.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-545:
    CCR- Creedence Clearwater Revival
    Yes Dave Loveridge (Trapper) was a class act with a wonderful style who like the great batsmen seemed to have more time than lesser mortals….he also had a memorable dive pass which seems to have gone outta fashion………..bring back the dive pass

• 548.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-543:
    Strange that the wrist, whip pass that Hipwell possessed, is totally out of the game now. It always gave Ella that extra split second to weigh up his options. I think Hipwell’s role in Ella’s performances was underrated. When NFJ became the SH, Ella was not the same anymore.

Why don’t coaches teach their SH’s to pass like that?

• 549.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-547:
    When I think of the dive pass, I always think of Loveridge and Divan Serfontein. (Bok SH on the ’81 tour)

Joost did it every now and then to his left side because his pass was very weak to that side. :oops:

• 550.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-548:
    Yeah my old man saw John Hipwell in his prime and always commented on the speed of his pass.Yes every first five measures time in milliseconds and with a good half back with a fast accurate pass makes a big difference. The art of good half back play concentrating on getting the ball off the deck with a Hipwell like pass are things of the past…..nearly a lost art form.

• 551.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

546.nama1: To tell you the truth I do not know. What does the stats say.For me they are just two much different players. Kolisi is more of a guts and instinct player much like Coetzee, Dewald where Daniels is calculating and leading with a lot of guts *** well. I guess the reason why he got it was being a good captain *** well as a very influentual player. Plumtrees award do not make sense at all.

• 552.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-549:
    Divan Serfontein must remember that name, cause I concentrated so much on Nas Botha on that tour I’ve forgotten who the half back was.He must have been good because I remember the halfback for the Bok going really well .

• 553.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-550:
    “nearly a lost art form.”

It IS a lost art form.

Unless some 12 year old boy discovers it again and practices it until he gets it right and brings it back onto the international fold.

I always loved how Rod Mc Queen would throw him the ball from the top of the line out and the next thing you see is the ball on its way to the FH. Meanwhile Hipwell merely “turned” his wrists.

He really was a master passer of the ball. Never as good a rugby player as Nick Farr-Jones though.

• 554.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-553:
    Yep,it is a lost artform….most halfbacks too worried about getting their box kicks right
    Correct….Nick Farr Jones is top of the pile imho.

• 555.nama1: Reply to this comment

@jet jungle-551:
    “Kolisi is more of a guts and instinct player much like Coetzee…”

Coetzee is the most “pattern” player you will ever get. Nothing instictive about him.

Just go around today and ask your friends just one question: Who do you think was the better player in the S15 this year, Siya Kolisi or Keegan Daniel?

I bet you 95% of your friends will say, Kolisi.

@Te Rangatira-552:
    Divan was a meneer (a master), as we would say here.

Probably weighed about 65kg’s but he was the most gutsy SH you could ever wish for. He had a rocket, accurate pass, a sniping break around the fringes and could kick with both feet. Also great on the cover defense and sweeping behind the back line. The complete scrum half.

WP/Stormers are still looking for someone like him and remember that he retired in the mid 80′s already. :wink:

If you can get a hold of the Bok/Lions series of 1980, you’ll get a much better idea of his talent than what he showed during the ’81 tour in NZ.

Hopefully, Coetzee will make Groom his no. 1 SH next year. He still has a long way to go but I believe he will get there.

• 556.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-554:
    John Hipwell & Mark Ella
    Nick Farr-Jones & Michael Lynagh
    Justin Marshall & Andrew Mehrtens
    Joost vd Westhuizen & Joel Stransky
    Joost vd westhuizen & Henry Honniball
    Peeri Weepu & Daniel Carter

Make your pick. :wink:

• 557.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-555:
    Thanks Nama, its good to learn something, especially about great players I have little knowledge of.
    One player on that tour who blew me away was Gerrie Germishuys, amazing winger who must have been awesome in his prime.

• 558.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@nama1-556:
    I have to go for Hipwell and Ella.

• 559.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-558:
    Actually I would rate them in this order:
    1/ Hipwell & Ella
    2/ Farr Jones & Lynagh
    3/ Weepu & Carter
    4/ Joost & Honnibal
    5/ Marshall & Mehrtens
    6/ Joost & Stransky

• 560.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Nama gotta run, the missus is calling out……catch you up.

• 561.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-559:
    Hang on I want to swap 2 for 1 but if Farr Jones was teamed with Ella I would certainly go with that pair, then again Carter & Marshall is up there too, who knows.

• 562.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-557:
    Germishuys was a speedster but not the greatest wing imo.

He made a good name for himself in NZ after scoring the only try in the 2nd test in 1981 when he rounded Bernie Fraser, I think. He also had a great series against the Lons in 1980 but that was more due to the counter attacking play by Gysie Pienaar (Ruan’s father) than anything else. But he was really not the most skillful player on the wing.

Carel du Plesis replaced him in 1982 on the left wing and he will go down as one of the greatest wings in SA history.

• 563.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-560:
    Sharp, ouboet.

• 564.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1-545:

Re the 1976 AB’s……There were also the lock Peter (Pole) Whiting and flanker Ian Kirkpatrick who stood out as excellent players (kirkptrick was past his best but still very classy) The other flanker Kevin Eveleigh was also very good, a tough as nails type of player..

The team was however one of the weaket NZ sides ever to visit SA, if not the weakest.

• 565.jet jungle: Reply to this comment

562.nama1: read post 170 on the Meyer laments…. thread (slumtown) and tell me what you think. It sounds that you really study your rugby where I am more of a catch the game if I can type, so I will take your word for it. I will reserve my judgement about Kolisi until I have seen more of him.He looks like the real deal but you know what they say about new brooms.

• 566.David: Reply to this comment

I see that HM is trying to get Mujati into the squad by getting some special dispensation as he’s not an SA passport holder/citizen. This guy just seems to be making it up as he goes along. So much for having a plan.

• 567.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David-566: yeah just saw that!

YEAH bakkies & many will choke on their prejudice if meyer pulls this off :lol:

• 568.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David-566: why didn’g meyer talk to mujati in june already? by now he’d have either agreed to get a saffa passport or carry on trying to be a naturalised brit.

*sigh*

• 569.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-567:
    My problem is that it’s to ensure that he has a full front row on the bench. Why leave it up to now to decide on Mujati? That issue should have been settled long before the tour.
    It appears that Malherbe will be the other option. I wonder who else of our overseas props turned him down for him to suddenly turn to Mujati?

• 570.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-568:
    You beat me to it. :lol:

• 571.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David-569: i can think of bj @ munster.

• 572.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-571:
    Yeah, we have a number of THs over there.

• 573.papaown: Reply to this comment

This saga with Mujati and HM’s sooo last minute turnaround… #smh

• 574.grant10: Reply to this comment

Mujati is class….gotta give HM his dues….he continues to confound me…

On the negative side his fixation with M Steyn and shunning of D Fourie and Brussow…

On the plus side….F Louw, S Brits and now Mujati….got to respect that guys….REspect HM…

• 575.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-566: @Transformation-568:
    What’s with Meyer? He does not know that Mujati does not WANT to play for the Bokke anymore even if he was eligible?

Wonder what Bakkie thinks about this newest move from HM. :lol:

• 576.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-575:
    I assume he must have spoken to him. The only thing I can think of is that the other options overseas turned him down. I reckon that Pieter de Villiers is also giving him advice.

• 577.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nama1-575: We’ll have to wait and see; to get over his normal blues Bakkies now attends cake-baking classes on a Saturday morning.

• 578.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-576:
    Even if he did that David (spoken to Mujati), Mujati is still not a SA citizen and therefor not eligible to play for the Boks. This does not make any sense at all. It’s like saying that “Meyer is targeting Castrogiovani” for the Boks.

Can’t happen under our laws.

Malherbe joined the Boks in Aus/NZ. What’s wrong with him now?

Benoude katte maak benoude spronge, if you ask me.

• 579.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-578: as david suggested, the other de villiers might’ve whispered in his ear & said malherbe is still green – see currie cup final.

wp nel is out there, so is bj & “the mooj” .

they can take the mooj to the embassy in london & get him sorted chop chop we back in business.

• 580.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-579:
    Not if they don’t involve Fikile. Do what SA cricket did last year before the CWC to get the Pakistani eligible to play for SA. :lol:

They should’ve done this a long time ago if they were serious about getting him to play for the Boks, as you have suggested earlier (p.568). Like I said earlier, this smacks of a coach who is very much nervous about this tour. (Benoude katte maak benoude spronge.)

Just take Malherbe along and see it as part of his learning curve towards 2015.

• 581.nama1: Reply to this comment

Any Keoling registered a superbru for the upcoming internationals? If so, what is the details?

• 582.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-580:
    I’m beginning to suspect there’s a win ratio somewhere in his contract. :wink:

• 583.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-582:

I read somewhere that his performance review will come up after the EOYT.

So yes, that definitely plays a role I think.

Can you imagine him losing two matches on this tour?

His record in his 1st year would then be: 5 losses, two draws and 5 wins. Not a good record huh? :lol:

• 584.David: Reply to this comment

Yeah, he’ll probably claim the injury excuse and the fact that the Bulls players had deteriorated since he left. :lol:

• 585.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-584:

OK, I’m off to watch some local T20 cricket.

Enjoy your day, David.

• 586.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ nama

This extinct wrist pass you guys are talking about…isn’t that exactly Aaron Smith’s biggest asset? Or is it different to Hipwell’s?

• 587.papaown: Reply to this comment

@582 David
    He definitely has a performance clause in his contract.

In PdV’s book he wrote about how only the performance clause in his contract saved his job on numerous occasions.

His crazy utterances would be brought up in his reviews and when the decision came as to whether they could fire him or not…his results spoke more than what ever else was coming out the media.

• 588.cane: Reply to this comment

Who is the most despicable cheat to have ever graced sport:
    -Lance. USA.
    -Tonya Harding. USA.
    -Hansie.RSA.
    -The Entire East German Women’s Olympic Team. GDR.
    -The Entire Chinese Women’s Swimming Team. PRC.
    -96% of contenders of the Tour de Farce.
    -Ben Johnson. Canada / Jamaica.
    -Marie-Reine le Gouge. Fr.
    -The 1919 Chicago Black Sox. USA.
    -Marion Jones.USA.

I’m going for a SA win here!

• 589.cane: Reply to this comment

And hey……………………………………………..Bakkies,
    Don’t bother.

• 590.ET.: Reply to this comment

@cane-589:

You most certainly have the S.A. component correct but since Marion Jones(she should be higher on the list) and Armstrong more than probably all others combined raked in the most millions in $, they win this damned thing hands down relative to ‘boertjie Hansie’s pennies.

• 591.ET.: Reply to this comment

All know that empty vessels make the most awful noise and judging by the load of empty lies and ‘drol’sucks on this thread yesterday it must have been extremely noisy as confused conservatives battled with piggypink liberals over some other country that is not theirs.
    The irony of it all is that almost all have their heads in the air eating pie-in-the-sky thus their feet are not on the ground of a country that does not belong to any of them.
    Since my feet are at least on the ground I can safely say with unquestionable truthfulness that Bruce “The Boss” Springsteen is in the remaining 4 days doing 3 separate rallies at different locations with Obama and that will surely leave some cons(ervatives) asembarrassed, confused “Mormons” here.
    That S.African with his Dave Matthew’s Band and others like Stevie Wonder, JC and more also have rallies with Obama.
    In the meantime not even Dolly with her Part-ons want to do a rally with a ‘Domney (or is Domkey better).

• 592.ET.: Reply to this comment

As for me,, although I am here as a “Resident Alien”, and will be affected one way or the other by any outcome(it is all relative) I have little or no interest.

All I say is that if NO money is wasted on wars to steal other people’s resources then more money will be available for the building of infra-structure the world over which would benefit all including the billions of poor.
    Such actions, as for example building infra-structures such as sea barriers(see what Holland has done) will reduce the damage of a hectic NATURE caused somewhat by stupidly induced, human affected climate changes, and more importantly, such worthy actions will create millions of jobs too.

I have seldom ever witnessed such a level of destruction and disaster as that seen in New Jersey and New York. It boggles the mind.
    And I have not read or seen a single report on any looting whilst looking for it in the NY Times ,Wash. Post, USA Today. and CNN and national channels ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX based in any of NY, Newark, Philly and more locations.

What concerns me the most this day is my drive back north in a few hours time.
    Let your empty vessels noise now continue.

• 593.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Uh oh.

• 594.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@cane-588: Ooh, I’m going to enjoy this one!

Have quite a good story about Hansie and his crooked-cronies but probably won’t have time to post just yet…

• 595.David: Reply to this comment

@ET.-592:
    Huff Post reported about it in New Jersey.

• 596.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Watching Mujati first 40 minutes with a renewed interest
    Same old, lazy, always away from points of contact, didn’t make one tackle and didn’t carry the ball once
    The Beast comes to mind however he is faster, doesn’t get stuck in no man land, Mujati on the other hand is sticking out doing nothing throughout the 1st Half
    Good luck HM :-D

• 597.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-567:
    @nama1-575:
    i must say i am genuinely surprised by this, genuinely surprised.

personally i would never have selected him again in light of the mujatigate affair even if it was only to play a squad member backup role, which is what it probably is.

i suppose one good outcome of this is that it proves the haters wrong again with regards to heyneke meyer, at least in so far as his perceived ‘verkrampte’ pretoria leaning houding is concerned. the guy is certainly proving to be very open minded and is pursuing whatever is best for springbok rugby as a whole… and if that means picking mujati irrespective of race issues, which in the past would have been career ending, then so be it.

i can only lament the fact that since picking almost a whole squad of ABABP’s the success of the boks has nosedived and sadly the players have let him down rather badly. to be fair, the bulls as it is, ar estill rebuilding their squad so would not have been able to make a huge difference. though, i suspect the pride and competitiveness may have been just a little greater had there been a few more in the squad.

as for mujati, i can only guess that having already played for the boks and therefore being ineligible for the poms he really has nothing to lose if he were to get another opportunity to play for the greatest team the game has ever known.

• 598.papaown: Reply to this comment

Slow day today…what time is the Bath game with Flo?

• 599.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-597:
    I think he’s a different type of All Black. :lol:

• 600.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-588:
    @cane-589:
    seriously cane, seriously…???..

wow! fish much..?..

i dont want to dignify this with an answer but i will.

lets start by going over just a few of the many, many articles and opinions offered all over the world wide web:

During the Super XV finals, for example, a former Australian captain and now its television cheer squad director (rather than commentator in the accepted sense of the word), on air directly tagged the Auckland Blues as “cheats”, linking that further to the All Blacks and, inevitably, McCaw.

That speaks, incidentally, to the corrosion of contemporary sports commentary, especially in Australia: partisanship and commercialist spruiking replace dispassionate analysis.

http://theconversation.edu.au/rugby-world-cup-are-cheats-prospering-3416

——

or:

On the negative aspects of All Black play, which has resulted in much criticism – and, as I have said, from many parts of the world. Just as the All Blacks value the necessity of quick ball for their own attack, they clearly recognise the threat that opposition quick ball poses to their defence. In fact, I thought that the All Black defence was unusually vulnerable to attack from quick ball, as evidenced by two quite simple Springbok tries in their second test in Wellington and a few similar efforts by the Wallabies. They strive therefore to limit such recycles from their opponents. Nothing wrong with that – all teams have a similar agenda – so long as they do so within the laws of the game.

It is here that I, and many others, question their tactics. Black jerseyed tacklers finish on the ground, on the wrong side of the ball, so often, that I can’t believe that it’s by accident. This prevents their opponents from arriving quickly to support their team-mate and allowing other All Black support players to attack opposition ball on the ground. Further, opposition scrum-halves are having difficulty getting in close to clear the ball and are forced to “lift” the ball for their pass to clear Black bodies. This slows down the clearing pass and gives valuable time to the defence. And, it’s illegal!

On New Zealand ball at the tackle. Whilst they, generally, arrive “through the gate” on opposition ball, they enter from outrageously off-side positions on their own ball – sometimes they are clearing out opponents from positions a metre or two BEYOND the ruck/maul. This has the beneficial effect of limiting opposition hands to the tackle ball and allowing their “early, long place” ball for instant recycle to their excellent support players. If any one doubts this, they should Google “All Blacks at the Breakdown” and view an excellently compiled video from the Wellington test v the Springboks. It is even on the increase. All players play their part, and while McCaw, Franks and Smith have been serial offenders, Kieran Read has recently perfected his technique also. It is dramatically effective and frequently brings tries – and it’s illegal!

http://www.greenandgoldrugby.com/dwyers-view-all-blacks-2010/

—–

and here’s to the lottery we can thank you filthy phukers for:

http://theconversation.edu.au/rugby-world-cup-a-lottery-amid-refereeing-chaos-3906

——–

• 601.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

yours is and always have been the filthiest team to have played the game, ever.
    that they are universally viewed and considered to be the dirtiest team to play against and are the biggest cheats in the last twenty years of the sport, and before.

save your false, fake projecting and grow the guts to look yourselves in the mirror and see yourselves for what you are.

dirty cheats

always have been

always will

• 602.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

At the 1999 RWC, the IRB created a rule to the effect that a referee was not to be appointed to a match in which the winning team might next play a team from his homeland. The panel selecting referees in this RWC tournament has inexplicably disregarded this ruling.

And I add this further fact, without comment or any inference: the chairman of the panel that makes the refereeing appointments is David Pickering, the chairman of the Welsh Rugby Union.

In their selection of the officials to run the quarter-finals matches this weekend, the panel has allowed several breaches of the 1999 ruling. Bryce Lawrence, a New Zealander, is refereeing Australia versus South Africa. The winner of this match could play New Zealand, if the All Blacks defeat Argentina. It is immaterial that Wallabies prop Ben Alexander says he is happy with Lawrence’s officiating.

• 603.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

The All Blacks no longer even bother to bend the laws. They set out to deliberately cheat.

For only one piffling syllable, CHEAT is an awfully big word. “Who are you calling a cheat?” demands the card-playing gunslinger, just before the mandatory murder and the five aces sliding from the sleeve.

The All Blacks cheat in spades. Half of their tries in the Tri- Nations have been set up by blatant cheating.

Go back to the first South Africa game just before Wyatt Crockett scored in the corner. It is hard to believe that Richie McCaw could be four yards offside and get away with it, but there he is holding back the South African lock.

In the first game against Australia they are at it again. Piri Weepu set up the first try by going through a hole created by Ali Williams holding Quade Cooper to the ground.

In the buildup to the second try Ma’a Nonu sets a screen (much as they might do in basketball) for Kieran Read.

Every week Paddy O’Brien, the International Rugby Board head of referees, sends out a directive to the coaches about issues that have arisen from the weekend games. At this point O’Brien warned coaches about all the holding back and obstruction that was going on. He might as well have told the All Blacks to stop doing the haka for all the notice they took.

• 604.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@David-599:

well, his behaviour certainly suggests that.

• 605.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Didn’t realise how boring a Saturday was without rugby…

Washed the cars, did some gardening and even went shopping… my oh my things are expensive… :lol:

• 606.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-605:

the cost of living is becoming outrageously expensive the world over and is going to lead to some sort of societal/social breakdown for the poorest at some point or other, which will of course affect everybody else in some way.

something has to be done but with the ineffectual leaders we have, i dont expect anything will.

• 607.ET.: Reply to this comment

Huff. Post is hardly mainstream thus must be isolated incidence then

• 608.ET.: Reply to this comment

should be incident

• 609.David: Reply to this comment

I see our coxless 4s, who won gold in London have just been named the world rowing crew of the year.

• 610.poppa69: Reply to this comment

yawn..

as for you reffing edict set in 1999, post 602 you fail to mention that Barnes did exactly that in 2007, you didnt seem to mind then’

• 611.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-601: Jy kan lekker kuk praat as jy tyd het ne??The history of the bulls can’t be described as rosy.Broederbond to the core at the height of apartheid .The most racist team in the history of SA rugby as viewed by the general public outside of the boereworscurtain.Further,under Buurman van Zyl English speaking Saffas were basically banned from Loftus.Just saying.

• 612.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-611: English speaking rugby players

• 613.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Mind you,we got a similar type of moron supporter supporting them today just like back in the days.

• 614.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oops extraball made a mistake

• 615.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

lie to yourself all you want poppa

the truth has a knack of making itself found

one day or another

it all comes round

• 616.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

thought i’d share this poll i found on the herald:

Poll of the Day

4250–4300 votes

Do you think it’s fair that Australia is blocking welfare for Kiwis in Australia?

No = Aussies can get welfare in New Zealand so why shouldn’t Kiwis be entitled to the same over there? 62%
    62%

Yes = Kiwis shouldn’t be living in Australia if they can’t afford to. 38%
    38%

• 617.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

The New Zealand Rugby Union sponsorship deal with AIG is understood to be worth around $80 million.

The 5-year deal, worth approximately $15m a season, was divulged at a meeting with the All Blacks senior leadership group before being made public without the dollar amounts last month.

In New Zealand sports, it is second in value only to the All Blacks contract with adidas.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10844989

• 618.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

French and English clubs eye South Africa as a possible Heineken Cup breakaway threatens, writes Gregor Paul

A European power struggle to restructure the Heineken Cup is being watched closely by Sanzar as there are rumblings that the leading English and French clubs are ready to lure South Africa’s provinces out of Super Rugby.

(further)

Imagine a cross-border competition featuring the best English, French and South African sides; the three biggest domestic markets in the world could build a tournament with major commercial clout.

“I’m aware that some English clubs have been talking to South African franchises,” says Peters. “But we have absolutely no indication that they (South Africans) want to go down that route. When we speak to the franchises, we get no indication they are unhappy with Super Rugby and the revenue streams from that competition are substantial.”

The danger for Sanzar will rise if the English and French begin to put some details on the table. Super Rugby is lucrative for the South Africans but nor is it perfect in its current form.

There was widespread player dissatisfaction this year with the mid-competition break – not so much in the way it broke the momentum but because it required significant numbers of individuals to play at close to maximum intensity for 10 consecutive weeks.

The travel burden has been a perennial bugbear as well and Sanzar will be nervous if a serious, detailed proposal eventuates forcing the Africans to evaluate just how committed they are to Super Rugby

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/rugby/news/article.cfm?c_id=80&objectid=10844936

the kiwis know the numbers on this and are well aware of the need to continue tricking and deceiving us into believing sanzar is to our benefit.

do it unions/saru

do it

• 619.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

Imagine a cross-border competition featuring the best English, French and South African sides; the three biggest domestic markets in the world could build a tournament with major commercial clout.

• 620.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-611:
    you are misguided.

well meaning but misguided.

• 621.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

do it

do it

• 622.mabu: Reply to this comment

Saturdays are really boring with out rugby, the other alternative justifies my sentiments.

• 623.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-609: When you got as far as coxless, I was sure you were referring to ET.

But well done to the rowers. Poppa is a canoe man himself. I’m sure this is old news to him.

• 624.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-623:
    I think it’s brilliant. They should all be included for SA sportsmen of the year. We only remember the swimming and athletics at the Olympics, yet these guys have performed amazingly.

• 625.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-624: I happened to be in the vicinity of a TV when their Olympic final was broadcast live. And it was one of the most amazing finishes of any Olympic event I’ve seen. They were so out of it with a couple of hundred meters to go that the poor commentator got completely flustered and started calling them Australia.

• 626.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i see the europeans are using the new ‘crouch touch set’ scrum engagement sequence. i appreciate it speeds up the process a little by rducing the number of steps in the sequence but its clear teams are still engaging early, this being one aspect of the different scrumissues which it does not solve.

• 627.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-625:
    I remember that. People also forget that they won (I think) at the World Championships.

• 628.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

fark i cannot stand jimmy cowans.

despicable little sniveller.

• 629.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-627: Had to look it up on YouTube again. Here’s the link – unfortunately you’ll have to sit through the mens double scull final before the lightweight 4′s. But it’s worth the wait. What an astonishing finish to the race – 4 boats split a a couple of tenths of a second.

• 630.katman: Reply to this comment

Sorry, here’s the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNl-cdY0lko&feature=related

• 631.David: Reply to this comment

@katman-630:
    Thanks!

• 632.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@katman-630: Thanks! OMG what a race!!!!! Sheer guts and a refusal to die won out.

• 633.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618:
    It would seem Houston that this would be the best chance for the Sa unions to get a foothold in a European Comp. They, the unions, will actually have some leverage in terms of what they have to offer, top class players,facilities and supporter base which are commodities a new competition will jump at. In return the European clubs will do their utmost to sweeten the pot in financial returns and perhaps even compensation. Yes this is a great opportunity for Sa unions to make a pile of dough and be in a position of strength in the boardroom.
    But there will obviously be downsides to this shift to the North…..I will leave that up to you to figure out.
    Best wishes
    Te Rangatira

• 634.Finfan: Reply to this comment

The hills are alive with the sound of silence…

• 635.Fern: Reply to this comment

bakkies you really are a sad case and our own version of poops.
    there is more to life,seriously
    you are like a chick on the rag
    just thankfull you are not a sharks supporter.
    you are a embarresment to Springbok supporters.

• 636.spartan: Reply to this comment

The biggest cheat in world rugby
    is Bokke player of the year
    three words
    Pot Kettle Black

• 637.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-633:
    hi TR, as always a level headed and non emotional ‘troll versus troll’ type post in response. thank you for the concern and thoughts shown.

certainly the financial possibilities are/should be very enticing and worth making the big heads think about and consider all possibilities at the least. i certainly would welcome it and i believe a great many other saffa would, but possibly equal as many saffa would want to remain in super rugby.

and there’s the beauty of it, we could keep both comps and gain from two whole revenue sources. this is exactly what the english are saying with regard to the heineken cup and its existing sponsorships. of course there is any number of possibilitites in how/where we would find the teams to compete in both comps but i think this would be easy considering the size of our vodacom cup, varsity cup, cc premiere division, cc first divison and of course the fact that there is a whole super rugby franchise sitting around looking for things to do next season.

and as you say, we have leverage in the form of facilities, supporters, also corporate companies who would be interested in advertising opportunities and broadcasters in all three territories with the economic clout and subscriber bases to easily pay for/offer huge sums of money for this event.

the downside you allude i can only assume to be a possible loss of competitiveness i suppose..?.. this is in my opinion debatable because i think we wouldn’t become markedly less competitive that we now are, and if the sa teams went on to dominate the comp i am sure this may even boost the sa teams psychologically and thus make them more competitive… who knows…

• 638.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-635:
    thank you for taking the time to point this out to me, fern. i cannot promise i will become any less or more embarrasing but have taken your feelings about me into consideration.

@spartan-636:
    you are deluded. clearly an ab supporter i suppose.

• 639.katman: Reply to this comment

@spartan-636: That’s just stupid desperation talking, bud.

• 640.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Fern-635:
    oh and fyi, i too am thankfull for not being a sharks supporter.

• 641.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-637:

a level headed and non emotional ‘troll versus troll’ type post in response

should read:

a level headed and not an emotional ‘troll versus troll’ type post in response

• 642.cane: Reply to this comment

@katman-639:

You are entitled to your opinion jackalman.
    As is Spartanicus.

Though to be honest, IMO, South African Rugby Players tend to be thick, more than outright cheats.

• 643.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-641:

Yes, Te Rangitira is doing his best to raise the level of debate. Always has done.

• 644.cane: Reply to this comment

@Fern-635: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-638:

Fernly and bakkies having a tiff.

Place your bets gentlemen please.

• 645.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-642:
    slowly coming round to admitting the truth about your sporting compatriots then, caner… good for you.

@cane-643:
    agreed.
    he is a most reasonable individual. it’s hard to believe he’s a kiwi sometimes.

@cane-644:
    no, no tiff here.
    he’s got an opinion about me and i replied in kind. in life you learn to accept that not everyone will like you and appreciate any friendships where you have them.

a little better than being an ab i suppose, where you learn to accept that everyone dislikes you, and you appreciate the fact there’s a few other kiwis who at least do.

• 646.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-645:

I see your Mob have Ireland, Scotland and England over the next 3 weeks.

Given recent form, I suppose you would be happy to sneak a win from one of those three.

• 647.cane: Reply to this comment

NZ on the other hand have Scotland, Italy, Wales and the Englanders.

And I expect the odd close call, but nothing to get concerned about.

• 648.cane: Reply to this comment

How come SA only have 3 Tests bakkies.

Do the other Europeans not wish to risk their players against Your Gougers.

• 649.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-646:
    dont be ridiculous, cane.
    the boks will every one of their games on tour.
    granted, it will lack finesse and probably the england game will be a ‘sledgehammers’ sledgehammer affair but win they will.

all this with a completely new bok and very young bok squad filled to the brim with capies, sharkies, lions, cheetahs… you name it.. and perhaps one maybe two bulls… if they’re lucky…

that this bok squad chock full of ABABP’s are not exactly makin their country proud is i suppose neither here nor there for the ‘real rugby pundits’.

• 650.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-648:
    good question. i’m not really sure why we’re not playing wales. i dont know if it was on our side or theirs that the decsion was made.

• 651.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-650:
    I think it’s because they don’t love Yours,
    like they do Ours.

What with the Eye Gouging, Head Butting, leading with the fore-arm type of stuff. Who can blame them.

• 652.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-650:

How come you are the only Saffa here bakkies.

Don’t you go to Church?

• 653.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@cane-647:
    A Welsh w!n !n Card!ff w!ll be good for the game we all love.

• 654.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-651:
    nonsense.
    porbably has to do with scheduling conflicts and the like. also probably a rule to alternate between one another north and south hemisphere opponents.

@cane-652:
    who knows, cane.
    the ebb and flow of life i guess.

not much of a sunday worship man myself, really. i prefer to find spiritual engagement in my own time and way.
    i find most of the people in these church environments to be false, fake and so far removed from what religion should actually stand for.

• 655.cane: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-653:

IRB International Rankings:
    1(1) NEW ZEALAND 92.91
    2(2) AUSTRALIA 86.37
    3(3) SOUTH AFRICA 84.69
    4(4) ENGLAND 83.09
    5(5) FRANCE 83.03
    6(6) WALES 82.26

3 SA losses would see them drop to 5 or 6.

Now that would gladen the heart of most who love the game.

• 656.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-653:
    another ‘italian scare’ would be just as fun.

• 657.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-654:

If I were a Preacher-man,
    I think I’d kind of like it,
    that you didn’t turn up.

• 658.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@cane-655:
    HM the mess!ah has started slowly, just l!ke he d!d w?th the Bulls but once he h!ts h!s straps we w!ll be unstoppable.

:w?nk:

• 659.cane: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-658:

Meyer is slow………………………………….you got that right.

• 660.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-657:

funny you should say that… :lol:

• 661.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-660:

I take it,
    most Preachermen,
    are happy to see you rot in hell?

• 662.cane: Reply to this comment

My first Big showdown on Keo was on a Sunday.

High Noon in SA.

Pietman told me I would be toast once all You fukkers got out if church.

• 663.cane: Reply to this comment

@cane-662:

oooooops…………………

got out if church!

should read.

got out OF church.

But you alresdy knew that didn’t you.

• 664.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-661:
    for some strange reason, cane… a lot of people are happy to see me rot in hell :lol:

and i honstly dont know why, because i’m actually a really nice guy and quite funny to boot. i have a knack for opening my mouth and honestly speaking the truth all to often and in any company though and this has the effect of driving people away.

• 665.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-664:
    hmm
    Remember your truth may not be the actual truth…only in your head.
    As long as you stay away from the real truth you should be happy

• 666.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-664:

I for one bakkies,
    would NOT like to see you rot in hades.

However, a good toasting, up front by the fire, would not do you any harm either.

• 667.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-662:
    haha
    that must have been fun.
    maybe i’ll troll back in the archives some time.

• 668.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-665:
    and a good day/night to you too, hurri.

see, that’s the thing with the truth… it always smokes the critters out :lol:

@cane-666:

thank you, caner

been burnt before so no qualms about being burnt again.

• 669.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the F1 grand prix’s coming up at 14:30 over here. what time is it over there and are you guys watching it?

• 670.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-667:

The Sanctimonious Legion of supporters Pietman was expecting, failed to show.

So I’m still here.

• 671.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-669:

We don’t watch that **** bakkies,
    once they hit the first bend it’s all over.

We have good Rugby Teams to watch.

• 672.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this one’ll be exciting.
    hamilton on pole, the ozzie in 2nd and vettel starts from the pit lane because of playing it like a kiwi and being found out.

• 673.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-668:

cane-666:

Fook I hope this is not an omen.

• 674.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-670:
    i think for pietman it was more a case of hating the local ab supporters more than the kiwi ab supporters :grin:

but you probably did him no favours either :lol:

• 675.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-671:
    you wouldn’t know good honest hard rugby even if it slapped you across the face with its largely oversized manhood, cane.

pffffit……

@cane-673:

straight from the mouth of the ‘beast’…. aye… you’ve got you number :lol:

• 676.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-672:

Formula One is the most over rated sporting spectacle on the planet.

Not since Niki Lauda has it garnered any passion, drama or frenzy.

The whole thing is a fraud.

• 677.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-676:
    like the rugby championship… :lol:

• 678.gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane-676:

Indeed I have a good formula one story got you.

Tina Turner went to her plastic surgeon for her 200 000 km service.

Despite being pleased with her overall state she confided to the surgeon that she wouldn’t mind a bit of tightening up below decks. The surgeon had a gander an said no problem he could give it a bit of a nip and tuck.

She booked into the hospital and the next morning woke up slightly groggy but extremely please with her streamlined naughty bits. After examining herself thoroughly she noticed that her room was filled with the most beautiful floral arrangements. Shocked at what she thought was a publicity leak she summonsed the doctor demanding to know who all the flowers were from.

They’re from Niki Lauda ma’m.

To thank you for his new ears.

• 679.Fern: Reply to this comment

Cane has burnt a effigy of me,several times.

• 680.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@gunther-678:

The old one’s are always the funniest. :D

• 681.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Gunther…Eish !!!!! @678

• 682.Rage: Reply to this comment

This place is quiet without our lost shark pals.

• 683.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Gunther is an absolute joke….not his jokes.He is nothing but a wannabe comedian.No rugby acumen at all,so,naturally ,he tries to pull off the funny act on here.Our pink wonder friend needs to up his game if he wants to make it as a comedian. :D

• 684.Rage: Reply to this comment

Anybody else watching the SA sports awards? This is just plain ****

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.