Habana grabs grand prize
2 Nov 2012
Bryan Habana was named South Africa’s Player of the Year on Thursday night in Cape Town.
Habana was honoured with the top individual national prize after showing great form throughout 2012.
He was part of the Stormers team that topped the South African conference before losing to the Sharks in the semi-final.
He starred for the Springboks during their 2-0 June Test triumph over England. He was also the top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship, crossing the chalk on seven occasions.
He also helped WP to their first Currie Cup title in 11 years. Unfortunately, a knee injury picked up during the domestic final win over the Sharks will see him miss South Africa’s end-of-year tour to Europe in November.
‘This is a humbling experience,’ said Habana. ‘I have to credit the coaches and players I’ve been around. Their support and criticism helped me a lot. The journey of where I was to where I am now wouldn’t have been possible without them.
‘I’d also like to thank Dr Sherylle Calder for helping me focus on the basics. And thanks to my family and friends for all the support. It’s an honour to use my talent to represent this amazing country we call South Africa.’
Habana also receieved the Try of the Year Award for his individual brilliance during the first half of the Boks’ Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
The other top prizes were given to wing JP Pietersen (Players’ Player of the Year) and lock Eben Etzebeth (Young Player of the Year).
SA RUGBY AWARDS
Player of the Year: Bryan Habana
Players’ Player of the Year: JP Pietersen
Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth
SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika
SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein
Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)
Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)
Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Deon Fourie (Western Province)
Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons)
Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)
Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis
Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

684 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
1 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
Congratulations to: Bryan, JP, Eben, Cecil, Jan, The Sharks, John, Keegan, Deon, Hansie and Demetri
Awesome stuff and well deserved to all…!!
1 Nov 2012, 21:39 pm
Well done Habana. Well done to all. Lekker selekshions. Bruynokes on top!
1 Nov 2012, 21:42 pm
@ufo-1: welcome back!
1 Nov 2012, 21:48 pm
@Gtown-3:
Thanks for the welcome G…!
Good to be back…
1 Nov 2012, 21:59 pm
@ufo-4: Where were you? Were you a participant in one of the recent strikes?
1 Nov 2012, 22:10 pm
Currie cup sharks team of the year? What about the u20s? They won the blerry world cup!
1 Nov 2012, 22:12 pm
Well done to the boys…………….um, team of the year…Sharks Currie Cup?? WTF they lost? So now losers win prizes………nice
1 Nov 2012, 22:14 pm
Cant understand how and why Sharks got the CC team accolade….
1 Nov 2012, 22:15 pm
@ufo-1: Thank you UFO.You should read all th bullshit going on on the SARU/New Dawnn thread site.You are probably the only one who can restore sanity.Bakkies/HG/Pedgree OK.Inject humor
into a turgid conversation..Keep well.and good luck.i know that you dont
like to be offensive.,but force tourself
1 Nov 2012, 22:18 pm
Amused that Allister did not get coach of the year. With the stormers/wp injuries and still top the log and win the dam comp is not easy. With all due respect someone out there tell me what has Plumtree done to deserve that title ? Also the Sharks as team of the year ??? common …
1 Nov 2012, 22:24 pm
Congrats Habana.And Bulls fans said that he was finished when left them for the Cape.Tacitus must be choking on his biltong.
1 Nov 2012, 22:27 pm
@Rage-8: Suck it up pal.They were by far the best team= until the final match I do not think that things contrived against them.I just think that they were beaten bt a better team on the day.Another day,another result.Enjoy your teams victory.In 2 years time will it seem
unimportant.?Please stop the gloating now and basking in the self relected
glory of what was a wonderful team effort.
The wheel surey turns,and may I not react in the manner that you have.
Nevertheless,Well played W.P.
1 Nov 2012, 22:29 pm
@ryecatcher-12:
WTF you trying to say?
1 Nov 2012, 22:32 pm
I would have gone with the u/20 team myself,but will abide by the decision made.In any case I don’t want to upset precious Sharks fans.
1 Nov 2012, 22:33 pm
@ 12 what’s wrong with you?
Can’t you see Im not the only one who’s wondering bout that award?
Nee hel man,get a life pal…or better yet,share your holier-than-thou attitude with people who actually care.
REGARDS
1 Nov 2012, 22:34 pm
@whatever-13: Good question.
1 Nov 2012, 22:34 pm
Slaap jul mense nog nie daar in SA nie? Lol
1 Nov 2012, 22:35 pm
@wnbb-14: So you are a Sharks fan? Or just a closet Sharkie?
1 Nov 2012, 22:36 pm
I see that I am to late….one Sharkie is already gone bonkers.
1 Nov 2012, 22:37 pm
@whatever-13: Read Rage.Read me.Mentoring my grand child in comprempsion.You includedwould be just a step r.Regards.
1 Nov 2012, 22:37 pm
@wnbb-19: is=has,before the grammar police jumps on my back.
1 Nov 2012, 22:38 pm
@Finfan-18:
Arn’t all Sharks fans in the closet?
1 Nov 2012, 22:38 pm
A step too far.
1 Nov 2012, 22:39 pm
@wnbb-19: Referring to me? I asked you a straightforward question. How difficult can it be to type ‘yes’ or ‘no’?
1 Nov 2012, 22:40 pm
Stop,inhale,blow out …and count to ten Rye.Congrats on your team’s achievement .
1 Nov 2012, 22:42 pm
@ryecatcher-20:
and what is “comprempsion”…….?
If you speak English I’ll try follow, but speak slowly and throw in a few spaces if you can…….
@whatever-22: Definitely not. The Sharks are generally proud fans.
@Finfan-24: What the fck are you on about?Fck,is it full moon time for you sharkievarkie supporters?
1 Nov 2012, 22:44 pm
@Finfan-27:
Proud to be out the closet as well perhaps
@whatever-26: Type slowly…he is very sensitive tonight.
Rye is drunk/drugged/both…surely.
@wnbb-25: Thank you.
1 Nov 2012, 22:46 pm
@ryecatcher-32: No problem.Just thought that you are better than that.
1 Nov 2012, 22:46 pm
@ryecatcher-32: I agree. Well done – keep it up.
1 Nov 2012, 22:47 pm
@ryecatcher-9:
hey rye… how you doing…?
yeah… read some stuff on that thread but not interested in chatting to people who are not interesting in chatting to people…
anyway as they say… this site is a bastion for free speech and, much as i may disagree with the extremes on both sides of the equation, it may be good for both sides to hear the voices of the other… that is if they ever do indeed hear each other…
@Rage-8:
i’ve been supporting wp for over 45 years… nothing will ever shake my support for the team… and i was over the moon by their last two games and winning the cc again… at last… but have said before that the sharks were the team to beat this year… and i wasn’t just blowing smoke… they have played an awesome brand of total rugby this year and in the currie cup… so for the season i have no problem with them getting the team of the year…
@sparticus-10:
yeah… personally i would have given it to ac for the results he has got throughout the year with ongoing major injury crises… but i have no problem with them giving it to plumb as he has also had a really great year…
so no arguments from me…
most pleased with bryan and ebens awards of course…
1 Nov 2012, 22:47 pm
nothing for marcel? shame
1 Nov 2012, 22:48 pm
@ufo-35:
You are too kind UFO!
1 Nov 2012, 22:51 pm
@ufo-35: best team of the year finished 6th tied with the bulls on points…their playoff performances must’ve propelled them further up in the voting stakes. good for them.
@Transformation-36: The Kings will take all the awards next year.
Two of the top awards going to ‘Province’ boys.Very happy about that.
1 Nov 2012, 22:53 pm
@ 35
Fair enough ufo,no arguments there…just sounds kinda strange that the bridesmaids got to take the gifts home,thats all.
1 Nov 2012, 22:54 pm
@wnbb-40: In fact, they should’ve been given all the awards. It is truly unfair.
1 Nov 2012, 22:56 pm
@whatever-37:
just being as honest and realistic as i can…
@Transformation-38:
yeah transport… but for me it’s not about log points or positions… we all say we want to see great rugby… and the sharks have been playing it… in fact, playing the best rugby in south africa this year… so i have no problem with that being recognised, acknowledged and rewarded… kudos to them…
just hope ac and the stormers can produce similar rugby next year…!!
1 Nov 2012, 22:56 pm
@Finfan-39: you bet your last cent!
1 Nov 2012, 22:58 pm
@Rage-41:
we took a pretty damn awesome ‘gift’ home bud…!!
i’m very happy with that little trinket…!!
1 Nov 2012, 23:00 pm
@Finfan-42: No,two top ones will do.We already had our WP awards evening the other day.
1 Nov 2012, 23:04 pm
One junior award for the Bulls.Probably been a while since that happened.
1 Nov 2012, 23:13 pm
It is a pity Keegan Daniel didn’t get the grand prize. Maybe he should be nominated for the Nobel prize for Worthy Runner-ups?
1 Nov 2012, 23:18 pm
@Finfan-48:
Yes, I sold Big Issue for two years.
1 Nov 2012, 23:22 pm
@whatever-26: @whatever-26: THE GRAMMAr police have arrived.Highly polihed,bootsglovesand whips.THE fount of all knowledge,wisdom andndestanding.I have a few sundunowmers a the sun sets .My Motor skills deteriorateas does my spelling.
and i also do not the edit too carefullyAnd so words come out incorrectly.
And My spelling gets sloppy because just a little bit of inenbriation tales hold. You aee,I am not goig to to change the world with my song as you would do..The MahatmaGhandi of
Ke o.The new Satre the improved Bertrand Russel. I just want to banter ,exchange idead,have fun.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All