Habana grabs grand prize
2 Nov 2012
Bryan Habana was named South Africa’s Player of the Year on Thursday night in Cape Town.
Habana was honoured with the top individual national prize after showing great form throughout 2012.
He was part of the Stormers team that topped the South African conference before losing to the Sharks in the semi-final.
He starred for the Springboks during their 2-0 June Test triumph over England. He was also the top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship, crossing the chalk on seven occasions.
He also helped WP to their first Currie Cup title in 11 years. Unfortunately, a knee injury picked up during the domestic final win over the Sharks will see him miss South Africa’s end-of-year tour to Europe in November.
‘This is a humbling experience,’ said Habana. ‘I have to credit the coaches and players I’ve been around. Their support and criticism helped me a lot. The journey of where I was to where I am now wouldn’t have been possible without them.
‘I’d also like to thank Dr Sherylle Calder for helping me focus on the basics. And thanks to my family and friends for all the support. It’s an honour to use my talent to represent this amazing country we call South Africa.’
Habana also receieved the Try of the Year Award for his individual brilliance during the first half of the Boks’ Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
The other top prizes were given to wing JP Pietersen (Players’ Player of the Year) and lock Eben Etzebeth (Young Player of the Year).
SA RUGBY AWARDS
Player of the Year: Bryan Habana
Players’ Player of the Year: JP Pietersen
Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth
SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika
SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein
Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)
Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)
Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Deon Fourie (Western Province)
Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons)
Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)
Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis
Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

684 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All
3 Nov 2012, 17:48 pm
yours is and always have been the filthiest team to have played the game, ever.
that they are universally viewed and considered to be the dirtiest team to play against and are the biggest cheats in the last twenty years of the sport, and before.
save your false, fake projecting and grow the guts to look yourselves in the mirror and see yourselves for what you are.
dirty cheats
always have been
always will
3 Nov 2012, 17:52 pm
At the 1999 RWC, the IRB created a rule to the effect that a referee was not to be appointed to a match in which the winning team might next play a team from his homeland. The panel selecting referees in this RWC tournament has inexplicably disregarded this ruling.
And I add this further fact, without comment or any inference: the chairman of the panel that makes the refereeing appointments is David Pickering, the chairman of the Welsh Rugby Union.
In their selection of the officials to run the quarter-finals matches this weekend, the panel has allowed several breaches of the 1999 ruling. Bryce Lawrence, a New Zealander, is refereeing Australia versus South Africa. The winner of this match could play New Zealand, if the All Blacks defeat Argentina. It is immaterial that Wallabies prop Ben Alexander says he is happy with Lawrence’s officiating.
3 Nov 2012, 17:55 pm
The All Blacks no longer even bother to bend the laws. They set out to deliberately cheat.
For only one piffling syllable, CHEAT is an awfully big word. “Who are you calling a cheat?” demands the card-playing gunslinger, just before the mandatory murder and the five aces sliding from the sleeve.
The All Blacks cheat in spades. Half of their tries in the Tri- Nations have been set up by blatant cheating.
Go back to the first South Africa game just before Wyatt Crockett scored in the corner. It is hard to believe that Richie McCaw could be four yards offside and get away with it, but there he is holding back the South African lock.
In the first game against Australia they are at it again. Piri Weepu set up the first try by going through a hole created by Ali Williams holding Quade Cooper to the ground.
In the buildup to the second try Ma’a Nonu sets a screen (much as they might do in basketball) for Kieran Read.
Every week Paddy O’Brien, the International Rugby Board head of referees, sends out a directive to the coaches about issues that have arisen from the weekend games. At this point O’Brien warned coaches about all the holding back and obstruction that was going on. He might as well have told the All Blacks to stop doing the haka for all the notice they took.
3 Nov 2012, 18:01 pm
@David-599:
well, his behaviour certainly suggests that.
3 Nov 2012, 18:09 pm
Didn’t realise how boring a Saturday was without rugby…
Washed the cars, did some gardening and even went shopping… my oh my things are expensive…
3 Nov 2012, 18:19 pm
@Gumboots-605:
the cost of living is becoming outrageously expensive the world over and is going to lead to some sort of societal/social breakdown for the poorest at some point or other, which will of course affect everybody else in some way.
something has to be done but with the ineffectual leaders we have, i dont expect anything will.
3 Nov 2012, 18:26 pm
Huff. Post is hardly mainstream thus must be isolated incidence then
3 Nov 2012, 18:27 pm
should be incident
3 Nov 2012, 18:59 pm
I see our coxless 4s, who won gold in London have just been named the world rowing crew of the year.
3 Nov 2012, 19:06 pm
yawn..
as for you reffing edict set in 1999, post 602 you fail to mention that Barnes did exactly that in 2007, you didnt seem to mind then’
3 Nov 2012, 19:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-601: Jy kan lekker kuk praat as jy tyd het ne??The history of the bulls can’t be described as rosy.Broederbond to the core at the height of apartheid .The most racist team in the history of SA rugby as viewed by the general public outside of the boereworscurtain.Further,under Buurman van Zyl English speaking Saffas were basically banned from Loftus.Just saying.
3 Nov 2012, 19:12 pm
@wnbb-611: English speaking rugby players
3 Nov 2012, 19:19 pm
Mind you,we got a similar type of moron supporter supporting them today just like back in the days.
3 Nov 2012, 19:31 pm
Oops extraball made a mistake
3 Nov 2012, 19:34 pm
lie to yourself all you want poppa
the truth has a knack of making itself found
one day or another
it all comes round
3 Nov 2012, 19:36 pm
thought i’d share this poll i found on the herald:
Poll of the Day
4250–4300 votes
Do you think it’s fair that Australia is blocking welfare for Kiwis in Australia?
No = Aussies can get welfare in New Zealand so why shouldn’t Kiwis be entitled to the same over there? 62%
62%
Yes = Kiwis shouldn’t be living in Australia if they can’t afford to. 38%
38%
3 Nov 2012, 19:39 pm
The New Zealand Rugby Union sponsorship deal with AIG is understood to be worth around $80 million.
The 5-year deal, worth approximately $15m a season, was divulged at a meeting with the All Blacks senior leadership group before being made public without the dollar amounts last month.
In New Zealand sports, it is second in value only to the All Blacks contract with adidas.
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10844989
3 Nov 2012, 19:44 pm
French and English clubs eye South Africa as a possible Heineken Cup breakaway threatens, writes Gregor Paul
A European power struggle to restructure the Heineken Cup is being watched closely by Sanzar as there are rumblings that the leading English and French clubs are ready to lure South Africa’s provinces out of Super Rugby.
(further)
Imagine a cross-border competition featuring the best English, French and South African sides; the three biggest domestic markets in the world could build a tournament with major commercial clout.
“I’m aware that some English clubs have been talking to South African franchises,” says Peters. “But we have absolutely no indication that they (South Africans) want to go down that route. When we speak to the franchises, we get no indication they are unhappy with Super Rugby and the revenue streams from that competition are substantial.”
The danger for Sanzar will rise if the English and French begin to put some details on the table. Super Rugby is lucrative for the South Africans but nor is it perfect in its current form.
There was widespread player dissatisfaction this year with the mid-competition break – not so much in the way it broke the momentum but because it required significant numbers of individuals to play at close to maximum intensity for 10 consecutive weeks.
The travel burden has been a perennial bugbear as well and Sanzar will be nervous if a serious, detailed proposal eventuates forcing the Africans to evaluate just how committed they are to Super Rugby
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/rugby/news/article.cfm?c_id=80&objectid=10844936
the kiwis know the numbers on this and are well aware of the need to continue tricking and deceiving us into believing sanzar is to our benefit.
do it unions/saru
do it
3 Nov 2012, 19:49 pm
Imagine a cross-border competition featuring the best English, French and South African sides; the three biggest domestic markets in the world could build a tournament with major commercial clout.
3 Nov 2012, 19:52 pm
@wnbb-611:
you are misguided.
well meaning but misguided.
3 Nov 2012, 19:53 pm
do it
do it
3 Nov 2012, 20:00 pm
Saturdays are really boring with out rugby, the other alternative justifies my sentiments.
3 Nov 2012, 20:02 pm
@David-609: When you got as far as coxless, I was sure you were referring to ET.
But well done to the rowers. Poppa is a canoe man himself. I’m sure this is old news to him.
3 Nov 2012, 20:09 pm
@katman-623:
I think it’s brilliant. They should all be included for SA sportsmen of the year. We only remember the swimming and athletics at the Olympics, yet these guys have performed amazingly.
3 Nov 2012, 20:20 pm
@David-624: I happened to be in the vicinity of a TV when their Olympic final was broadcast live. And it was one of the most amazing finishes of any Olympic event I’ve seen. They were so out of it with a couple of hundred meters to go that the poor commentator got completely flustered and started calling them Australia.
3 Nov 2012, 20:24 pm
i see the europeans are using the new ‘crouch touch set’ scrum engagement sequence. i appreciate it speeds up the process a little by rducing the number of steps in the sequence but its clear teams are still engaging early, this being one aspect of the different scrumissues which it does not solve.
3 Nov 2012, 20:25 pm
@katman-625:
I remember that. People also forget that they won (I think) at the World Championships.
3 Nov 2012, 20:29 pm
fark i cannot stand jimmy cowans.
despicable little sniveller.
3 Nov 2012, 20:43 pm
@David-627: Had to look it up on YouTube again. Here’s the link – unfortunately you’ll have to sit through the mens double scull final before the lightweight 4′s. But it’s worth the wait. What an astonishing finish to the race – 4 boats split a a couple of tenths of a second.
3 Nov 2012, 20:43 pm
Sorry, here’s the link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VNl-cdY0lko&feature=related
3 Nov 2012, 20:58 pm
@katman-630:
Thanks!
3 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
@katman-630: Thanks! OMG what a race!!!!! Sheer guts and a refusal to die won out.
3 Nov 2012, 22:30 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-618:
It would seem Houston that this would be the best chance for the Sa unions to get a foothold in a European Comp. They, the unions, will actually have some leverage in terms of what they have to offer, top class players,facilities and supporter base which are commodities a new competition will jump at. In return the European clubs will do their utmost to sweeten the pot in financial returns and perhaps even compensation. Yes this is a great opportunity for Sa unions to make a pile of dough and be in a position of strength in the boardroom.
But there will obviously be downsides to this shift to the North…..I will leave that up to you to figure out.
Best wishes
Te Rangatira
3 Nov 2012, 23:37 pm
The hills are alive with the sound of silence…
4 Nov 2012, 07:26 am
bakkies you really are a sad case and our own version of poops.
there is more to life,seriously
you are like a chick on the rag
just thankfull you are not a sharks supporter.
you are a embarresment to Springbok supporters.
4 Nov 2012, 08:25 am
The biggest cheat in world rugby
is Bokke player of the year
three words
Pot Kettle Black
4 Nov 2012, 09:36 am
@Te Rangatira-633:
hi TR, as always a level headed and non emotional ‘troll versus troll’ type post in response. thank you for the concern and thoughts shown.
certainly the financial possibilities are/should be very enticing and worth making the big heads think about and consider all possibilities at the least. i certainly would welcome it and i believe a great many other saffa would, but possibly equal as many saffa would want to remain in super rugby.
and there’s the beauty of it, we could keep both comps and gain from two whole revenue sources. this is exactly what the english are saying with regard to the heineken cup and its existing sponsorships. of course there is any number of possibilitites in how/where we would find the teams to compete in both comps but i think this would be easy considering the size of our vodacom cup, varsity cup, cc premiere division, cc first divison and of course the fact that there is a whole super rugby franchise sitting around looking for things to do next season.
and as you say, we have leverage in the form of facilities, supporters, also corporate companies who would be interested in advertising opportunities and broadcasters in all three territories with the economic clout and subscriber bases to easily pay for/offer huge sums of money for this event.
the downside you allude i can only assume to be a possible loss of competitiveness i suppose..?.. this is in my opinion debatable because i think we wouldn’t become markedly less competitive that we now are, and if the sa teams went on to dominate the comp i am sure this may even boost the sa teams psychologically and thus make them more competitive… who knows…
4 Nov 2012, 09:41 am
@Fern-635:
thank you for taking the time to point this out to me, fern. i cannot promise i will become any less or more embarrasing but have taken your feelings about me into consideration.
@spartan-636:
you are deluded. clearly an ab supporter i suppose.
4 Nov 2012, 09:53 am
@spartan-636: That’s just stupid desperation talking, bud.
4 Nov 2012, 10:03 am
@Fern-635:
oh and fyi, i too am thankfull for not being a sharks supporter.
4 Nov 2012, 10:04 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-637:
a level headed and non emotional ‘troll versus troll’ type post in response
should read:
a level headed and not an emotional ‘troll versus troll’ type post in response
4 Nov 2012, 11:08 am
@katman-639:
You are entitled to your opinion jackalman.
As is Spartanicus.
Though to be honest, IMO, South African Rugby Players tend to be thick, more than outright cheats.
4 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-641:
Yes, Te Rangitira is doing his best to raise the level of debate. Always has done.
4 Nov 2012, 11:24 am
@Fern-635: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-638:
Fernly and bakkies having a tiff.
Place your bets gentlemen please.
4 Nov 2012, 11:39 am
@cane-642:
slowly coming round to admitting the truth about your sporting compatriots then, caner… good for you.
@cane-643:
agreed.
he is a most reasonable individual. it’s hard to believe he’s a kiwi sometimes.
@cane-644:
no, no tiff here.
he’s got an opinion about me and i replied in kind. in life you learn to accept that not everyone will like you and appreciate any friendships where you have them.
a little better than being an ab i suppose, where you learn to accept that everyone dislikes you, and you appreciate the fact there’s a few other kiwis who at least do.
4 Nov 2012, 12:05 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-645:
I see your Mob have Ireland, Scotland and England over the next 3 weeks.
Given recent form, I suppose you would be happy to sneak a win from one of those three.
4 Nov 2012, 12:10 pm
NZ on the other hand have Scotland, Italy, Wales and the Englanders.
And I expect the odd close call, but nothing to get concerned about.
4 Nov 2012, 12:12 pm
How come SA only have 3 Tests bakkies.
Do the other Europeans not wish to risk their players against Your Gougers.
4 Nov 2012, 12:32 pm
@cane-646:
dont be ridiculous, cane.
the boks will every one of their games on tour.
granted, it will lack finesse and probably the england game will be a ‘sledgehammers’ sledgehammer affair but win they will.
all this with a completely new bok and very young bok squad filled to the brim with capies, sharkies, lions, cheetahs… you name it.. and perhaps one maybe two bulls… if they’re lucky…
that this bok squad chock full of ABABP’s are not exactly makin their country proud is i suppose neither here nor there for the ‘real rugby pundits’.
4 Nov 2012, 12:35 pm
@cane-648:
good question. i’m not really sure why we’re not playing wales. i dont know if it was on our side or theirs that the decsion was made.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 » Show All