Habana grabs grand prize

Bryan Habana was named South Africa’s Player of the Year on Thursday night in Cape Town.

Habana was honoured with the top individual national prize after showing great form throughout 2012.

He was part of the Stormers team that topped the South African conference before losing to the Sharks in the semi-final.

He starred for the Springboks during their 2-0 June Test triumph over England. He was also the top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship, crossing the chalk on seven occasions.

He also helped WP to their first Currie Cup title in 11 years. Unfortunately, a knee injury picked up during the domestic final win over the Sharks will see him miss South Africa’s end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

‘This is a humbling experience,’ said Habana. ‘I have to credit the coaches and players I’ve been around. Their support and criticism helped me a lot. The journey of where I was to where I am now wouldn’t have been possible without them.

‘I’d also like to thank Dr Sherylle Calder for helping me focus on the basics. And thanks to my family and friends for all the support. It’s an honour to use my talent to represent this amazing country we call South Africa.’

Habana also receieved the Try of the Year Award for his individual brilliance during the first half of the Boks’ Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

The other top prizes were given to wing JP Pietersen (Players’ Player of the Year) and lock Eben Etzebeth (Young Player of the Year).

SA RUGBY AWARDS

Player of the Year: Bryan Habana

Players’ Player of the Year: JP Pietersen

Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth

SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika

SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)

Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Deon Fourie (Western Province)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons)

Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis

Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

684 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

• 51.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-49: Well Done

• 52.whatever: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-50:

Must be goood sh it dude :)

• 53.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-50:

Swaai me a stop, gazzilaam

• 54.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Would have said Siya Kolisi for Super Rugby playera of year. Team of year U20′s and coach of the year toughie between plum and AC…

• 55.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@KeurboomPark-49: Selling big issues means you are you either a politician or a barman. Which one?

• 56.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-54: Unfortunately you are not a member of SARU so your opinion means absolutely nothing. You are an opportunist of note.

• 57.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the oirish’s new not-so-all ‘black’ strip.

http://img.skysports.com/12/11/218×298/Ireland-alternative-black-kit_2854047.jpg

• 58.Transformation: Reply to this comment

they’re hoping the strip maak die bokke skrik & think they’re playing the keewees. :-)

• 59.Finfan: Reply to this comment

Well done and congratulations Hansie Graaf, the Griffons star.

• 60.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-55:

• 61.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-57:

Must be sponsored by Guiness

• 62.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-58: It is not allowed, I am sure. Apparently they wanted to do the haka as well but the NZRU’s obtained an urgent and successful court interdict.

• 63.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

sharks, team of the year, and then some

• 64.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The award to the sharks as team of the year and to plumtree as coach of the year are obviously quota awards and cannot be taken seriously. Otherwise i have no real problems with the other awards.

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

lmao @ “quota awards” :mrgreen: funny guy this robzim

• 66.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Finfan-62: Michael Bent will be happy he gets to be an AB after all.

• 67.Greenies: Reply to this comment

What a bloody farse

If Brian Habanana gets player of the yr then the rest of them are absolutely poo.
    So what does he get the award for,
    -unable to side step
    -dives to the ground when contact arrives- pussie
    -lacks intelligence (does a quick tap and nearly causes a knock on let alone stuffing up the penalty advantage and nearly looses posession)
    - seeks individual glory when team should come 1st
    -gives away posession very easliy
    … and I can go on.

Looks like the awards are no different to the World beauty pagent.
    Purely politics nothing more. note when south africa won that just after the creation of the rainbow nation!

• 68.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-66: showing off much? :-)

http://instagram.com/p/Rdy5VVBWvl/

• 69.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-67:
    I refer the right honorable a$$hole to the question that was answered a moment ago.

• 70.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

Ryecatcher@12. You have probably just reacted in the way you did’nt. Jeez man in sport there will always be a competitor second. Accept it. You carrying a lot of dissapointment with you. Go get rid of it man and move on. Your health will suffer.

• 71.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@7 ….in the way you didn’t want to…

• 72.whatever: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-71:

??

• 73.Jinx2: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-71:

Best nic ever, along with Kwas and Pokkel :)

• 74.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

The team of the year award:

The team of the year award didn’t take place last night.

It was brought forward to last Saturday evening. And the party continues. yeeha.

Anyway, well done Sharks!

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

only in SA

http://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151103461932826&id=103345027825&set=a.410873977825.185623.103345027825&refid=52&_ft_=qid.5806062874129879028%3Amf_story_key.2836454638396953050

• 76.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

‘Black’ Ireland to tackle Boks
    2012-11-01 22:03

Cape Town – Ireland will take on the Springboks in their upcoming Test match in black jerseys.

With both teams sporting traditional green jerseys, the home team usually wears a white strip when the side’s clash. However, for this game in Dublin on November 10 the home team will for the very first time don a predominantly black jersey.

“With South Africa coming to town the launch of a new Ireland alternate jersey gives us an opportunity to bring some variety to how we present the Irish rugby brand,” IRFU Commercial & Marketing Director, Padraig Power, told the Planet Rugby website.

“We think the new green and black jersey looks fantastic. The style is contemporary and innovative and the team really love the look. Our feedback from supporters has been very positive and we expect it to look really strong on the pitch. We think our supporters will be delighted with it and they will wear it with pride.”

• 77.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-74:
    Can’t see the point of giving the Team of the Year award to a province when we have the Currie Cup to do that. Rather have an SR team of the year.

• 78.thesaint: Reply to this comment

Wow, giving the Super Rugby Player of the Year to Daniel… If ever there was a sympathy prize in rugby, this has to be it, because even suggesting that Daniel made a bigger impact on Superrugby than Etsebeth is preposterous, well to each their own, and i think that even Daniel knows it…

You gotta feel for the guy, the Anton Leonard of Sharks rugby, coveted by his own, shunned by the rest….

• 79.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-78: the judges read this and decided to give Keegan Cullen the prize as consolation, also the way he was dropped from the Boks had a lot of guppys (read HG) change their tune on Heyneke.

” Captain Keegan Daniel
    was at the table, speaking to his media
    officer, not knowing the microphone in
    front of him was switched on. They were
    discussing his trip to the SA Rugby Awards
    to be held in Cape Town on Thursday night.
    To the shock of the journalists present,
    Keegan said angrily: ‘I’m not flying down if
    I’m not winning anything. Surely you guys
    will know these things before the actual
    event? It wastes a whole day of my break’.

• 80.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the “Players’ Player of the Year” – now that is THE AWARD which I place above all others.

Yes, Habana had a great Championship but what did he do the rest of the year?

Sweet f*nny adams if you ask me.

• 81.Rage: Reply to this comment

Speaking of which…the award for Worst International Kit Of Our Time must go to England for their purple costume.

This black Irish outfit deserves an honourable mention.

• 82.gunther: Reply to this comment

No Currie Cup first Division player award for Lukas?

• 83.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-80: Absolutely mate, and I think JP was a brilliant choice. One could confidently say that among SA players, only JP and possibly Bismark could boast being the number one if not a close second to the best in the world in their respective positions. JP has been massive this year, expect an equally massive one next year too.

• 84.Slappes: Reply to this comment

…and the award for the inaugural “10months of no Peosklappe award” goes to the LIONS.

• 85.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@thesaint-78: ag shame vet Fanie..wanted Eben to get another award?

• 86.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

habana would be a great name for a cigar.

• 87.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Where’s Hondo

Peyper is the ref of the year

And well-deserved foeitog man

• 88.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

sooooo ….

WP wins the Currie Cup – but the Sharks are the team of the year???

JPP is players player of the year, but he was injured for most of the season…

Habana player of the year??? why? because he wasn’t as kak as the previous 2 years?

Super Rugby player of the year – keegan?? really?? wtf

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons) === LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

klomp kak – even more kak and useless than the sensus results

• 89.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-88:

Keep your pants on

This was decided and voted on before the final.

• 90.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Player of the Year : Eben

Players’ Player of the Year: Eben

Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth

SA Sevens Player of the Year: who cares

SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein

Team of the Year: WP : Currie Cup

Coach of the Year: Johan Ackerman

Super Rugby Player of the Year: Bismark

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Dimitri

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Luke/Any EP kings player

Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)

Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis

Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

• 91.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Dawn then why hold the event after the final???

• 92.Gaz: Reply to this comment

If those nominations were in fact the best tries scored in SA, we really do play kak rugby!

• 93.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-91:

How should I know

• 94.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Well done to all the recipients, they all had great seasons and I’m sure the selections were close.

No argument with any of the selections.

• 95.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Who the fark is Hansie Graaf?

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-79:

Seriaas?

• 97.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-95:

I was also wondering. Sounds like a character from the “Liewe Heksie” series of years gone by: “Liewe Heksie, Dawie Kabouter, Bennie Boekwurm and Hansie Graaf”.

• 98.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Happy with all the winners except the team of the year.

IMO it had to go to the Baby Boks.

• 99.papaown: Reply to this comment

How can coach of the year be John Plumtree man?
    AC won the SA conference and Currie Cup, which no Province coach has managed to do in 11 years?

Well Plum has also done his bit this year but would’ve preferred the award to go to a SA coach, honestly!

• 100.papaown: Reply to this comment

But Well Done to Habana, what a difference he’s been this year and even better to credit Calder with getting him to focus on the basics.

You know he’s not the 1st player to go to the Cape and lose his mojo, the stardom effect there isn’t an easy thing to overcome.

Its just good when a player focus’s on the basics and the game becomes soo much easier. Great to see!

Kudo’s to Etzebeth as well, what a statement he’s made in his 1st year of International rugga! He will have a Storming career :-D

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1114 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.