Habana grabs grand prize
2 Nov 2012
Bryan Habana was named South Africa’s Player of the Year on Thursday night in Cape Town.
Habana was honoured with the top individual national prize after showing great form throughout 2012.
He was part of the Stormers team that topped the South African conference before losing to the Sharks in the semi-final.
He starred for the Springboks during their 2-0 June Test triumph over England. He was also the top try-scorer in the Rugby Championship, crossing the chalk on seven occasions.
He also helped WP to their first Currie Cup title in 11 years. Unfortunately, a knee injury picked up during the domestic final win over the Sharks will see him miss South Africa’s end-of-year tour to Europe in November.
‘This is a humbling experience,’ said Habana. ‘I have to credit the coaches and players I’ve been around. Their support and criticism helped me a lot. The journey of where I was to where I am now wouldn’t have been possible without them.
‘I’d also like to thank Dr Sherylle Calder for helping me focus on the basics. And thanks to my family and friends for all the support. It’s an honour to use my talent to represent this amazing country we call South Africa.’
Habana also receieved the Try of the Year Award for his individual brilliance during the first half of the Boks’ Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.
The other top prizes were given to wing JP Pietersen (Players’ Player of the Year) and lock Eben Etzebeth (Young Player of the Year).
SA RUGBY AWARDS
Player of the Year: Bryan Habana
Players’ Player of the Year: JP Pietersen
Young Player of the Year: Eben Etzebeth
SA Sevens Player of the Year: Cecil Afrika
SA U20 Player of the Year: Jan Serfontein
Team of the Year: The Sharks (Currie Cup)
Coach of the Year: John Plumtree (The Sharks)
Super Rugby Player of the Year: Keegan Daniel (The Sharks)
Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Deon Fourie (Western Province)
Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Hansie Graaf (Griffons)
Try of the Year: Bryan Habana (All Blacks vs Springboks, Dunedin)
Vodacom Cup Player of the Year: Demetri Catrakilis
Craven Week Player of the Year: Sergeal Petersen (EP)

684 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All
2 Nov 2012, 15:44 pm
obama light years better than that conservative uptight aswipe mormon , then again they all such complete arseholes , who gives a titty – have you checked their debates when they grab each other around the arm in an embrace that says im boss, someone should sommer duck under and hook his oppo that would be worth watching ekse, and those US trophy wives that come on afterwards to console their ‘great’ men – fkme what a bunch of twatasses allround- what they need is a Bojo the king – i wonder if Boris could make it in US politics? i cant stand politicians, the only one i kinda like is boris cos he’s such a complete tool.
2 Nov 2012, 15:47 pm
@Heavens Game-379:
You can talk sh*t. Romney was a one term Governor, the Bush tax cuts which should have expired in 2010, along with 2 unfunded wars, was the main reason for the current deficit. Mitt didn’t start Bain, he was given it, with funding and his demand that if he failed he’d get his old job back.
As for his trickle down idea that lower taxes for the wealthy will help small businesses, it didn’t under Reagan or Bush.
2 Nov 2012, 15:48 pm
@Dawn-400: Once!
2 Nov 2012, 15:52 pm
@trupisero-396: You forget Dubya stole one… But hey, as stoopid as yanks may be, they not half as stoopid as the fools who give what, a 70% mandate, to the current President of SA… And the last one too – the HIV and Crime denialist… Remember him… and his pipe?
2 Nov 2012, 15:53 pm
Speaking of baby boks… would the current WC winning team beat this one?
15 Ulrich Beyers
14 Tshotsho Mbovane
13 Jaco Taute
12 Francois Venter
11 Wandile Mjekevu
10 Johan Goosen
09 Piet Rademan
8 Arno Botha
7 Siya Kolisi
6 Nizaam Carr
5 Eben Etsebeth
4 Ruan Venter
3 John Roy Jenkinson
2 Bongi Mbonambi
1 Juan Schoeman
2 Nov 2012, 15:56 pm
@David-402: Davey, Davey… “his trickle down idea”…?
His?
Sure about that?
You farken dunce
2 Nov 2012, 15:56 pm
@Heavens Game-404: Stuck beetroot, with a hint of garlic in his pipe and smoked it.
2 Nov 2012, 15:58 pm
@David-402: And Davey, I think you might be confusing Bain & Company with Bain Capital… The latter he did found…
Schmuck
Sheezus, you Keo Captains of Industry like you fantasy fibbing bulldust stories
2 Nov 2012, 15:59 pm
@trupisero-407:
2 Nov 2012, 15:59 pm
yep Boris leader of the free world, thats more like it.
2 Nov 2012, 16:01 pm
@cab-410: I reckon you need to stick more with those atoms and theoretical sh’yte you more comfortable with… This real world outside ivory towers maybe not really for you…
2 Nov 2012, 16:03 pm
meyer’s only real claim to fame so far in my opinion is the resurrection of habana who has looked a completely different player under him, but im not sure about player of the year, there’s still alot of fragility on his wing.
2 Nov 2012, 16:07 pm
@Heavens Game-386: backing the Romney aren’t we? why am i not surprised, FARKING mormon.
HIYAS bro!
2 Nov 2012, 16:09 pm
@Heavens Game-408:
He was asked to start a new division called Bain Capital when he was at Bain & Co. Yes, trickle down. That’s the theory of low taxes for what the Repubs call “job creators” (the top 1%) which will trickle down into the general economy. Rogoff, a favourite economist of the Republicans has even stated that it doesn’t happen as the wealthy invest in shares or offshore accounts.
2 Nov 2012, 16:09 pm
@Transformation-413:
Indeed
2 Nov 2012, 16:10 pm
American politics?
2 Nov 2012, 16:11 pm
@Heavens Game-411:
not sure where u get your crud from, never worked in an ivory tower in my life. i like to read, not what they tell you too, most of the **** they tell you to read is not worth reading. anyway i still give my 2p worth, afterall you economists clearly got no fkn clue, trickle down, my gat, they been spinning that shite for the last 30 years and thats where its gotten the current system, and they still too dom to let it go. all about the haves trying to hold onto it and the have nots trying to grab some of it.
2 Nov 2012, 16:13 pm
Wait till Extraball gets here
2 Nov 2012, 16:15 pm
@cab-412: habana’s form improved BEFORE the june tests thus meyer had nothing to do with it…
2 Nov 2012, 16:17 pm
This is what happens when there is no rugby on the weekend
2 Nov 2012, 16:19 pm
@David-414: So “trickle down” is Romney’s idea… Farken clever guy then…
So, according to you, Laissez-faire is all down to Romney… Nothing to do with Chicago School, neoclassical or Friedman…. Little old Mit. Founder of Bain Capital…
WOnder why he never won the Nobel Prize for ecos and those fools Friedman, Fogel, Lucas, Posner and Hayek did…
How the hell HM is gonna spin a reason to include the bloody useless wally MS in the Irish game is beyond me…
@Transformation-419:
not so sure – he used to be the best player in the Bok backline in 2007 and arguably the best winger in the world, but he’s been in horrendous form the last couple of years – S14 sides were actually targetting his wing he was so weak, but he’s looked good the last few months – he still is dodgy under big pressure tho, jutted out of line for the ABs try which he does all the time and leads to tries being scores that might have been scored anyway but he makes it too easy.
2 Nov 2012, 16:20 pm
@grant10-422: MSteyn is refreshed like Jean, mental break baba!
2 Nov 2012, 16:24 pm
@cab-423: he was on the cover of SA Rugby mag and mentioned “going back to basics and not forcing issues” Fleck also commented on what they did in the off-season…meyer wasn’t there!
2 Nov 2012, 16:25 pm
Go have a beer folks – or even go shag someone – this online frustration is not good.
2 Nov 2012, 16:27 pm
But use protection, please – we can’t risk any of you breeding
2 Nov 2012, 16:29 pm
@kaksioek-427:
That is a valid point!
2 Nov 2012, 16:30 pm
@PissAnt-426:
“shag”???
very unlike you
hayek gave the best argument for laissez-faire, but its pretty simple really, its fundamentally flawed system, cos there can only be one winner, whovever becomes the biggest and best devours up all the competition, so there is no competition, destroying the supposed fundamental principle of the whole system. and they know that, which is precisely why they gotta introduce in these competition rules and regulations.
as for the capital markets, what a gdam joke, they model these systems as if there is any predictability to any of it, as if they have the foggiest gdam clue, and then they wonder why it all goes tits up when they create these financial instruments that are derivatives of dervivates and totally devoid of any value whatsoever.
the system is going to crash, simple, i been saying it for years, the only reason they been able to stablise it is cos they rich after years of accumulated wealth, but thats all dissapearing with the rebalancing and when the welfare state can no longer sustain the quality of life the europeans are used to, that when u gotta start heading for the hills and your generator bunker u were stocking up after the 2nd crash.
@kaksioek-427: Too late… I am sure a few HG juniors around… In fact the little farkers have gone global… Just not sure where.
Misspent youth…
2 Nov 2012, 16:31 pm
@Transformation-424: wISH HE WOULD GO TAKE A 3 YEAR BREAK IN jAPAN.
2 Nov 2012, 16:31 pm
@Transformation-425:
interesting, maybe it was fleck, we need someone in fleck in our midfield.
2 Nov 2012, 16:33 pm
@Transformation-425: And he mentioned working with Calder again. I reckon she can take way more credit than the Messiah.
2 Nov 2012, 16:33 pm
@Heavens Game-431: Nurture versus nature – there’s still hope
2 Nov 2012, 16:34 pm
@grant10-432: Fark, sorry, caps.
2 Nov 2012, 16:35 pm
@kaksioek-436: JA…SORRY THERE MAN
Fark…did it again
2 Nov 2012, 16:37 pm
@mxhosa-405: 12 Francois Venter???? Really? What about Jan Serfontein? By far the most exciting junior player coming through.
@cab-430: Talking stump now… This whole financial whiz bang crash can be blamed squarely on the hair brained physicist farkers that banks go and employ all enamored with their bullshitt baffles brains 2 plus 2 ability … But for you farken madmen, 2 plus 2 never equals plain 4… Fark, you twats make it equal 21 or some godforsaken prime number that you terribly fond of…. That and farken reckoning that prices of shares/equities and hence people sentiment act like particle in water – brownian motion…. Farkenhell… You mofos farked up big time…
Now even the banks slicing and dicing their investment divisions and putting the likes of you nutty professors up against the nearest wall and shooting you chaps….
@Heavens Game-431: And so the “Transformation” of the world is complete?
Jantjes should tell HM to farkoff and rather come to CT and start preseason here….
That HM really p issing me off with his bloody M Steyn bromance.
2 Nov 2012, 16:44 pm
@Heavens Game-439:
yeah what else is there to talk about – the phycists aint in that sector, i think you mean the mathematicians, but yeah none of them got any clue, the system is far more complex and undefined, its not a science, its a manmade system, which relies on confidence in the markets and way too many variable too map and the more laissez-faire, the more impossible it is too control, which is precisely why all these unpredictable swings happen in the first place. brownian motion, einstein or is that about the motion of turds bobbing along..?
2 Nov 2012, 16:46 pm
@cab-433: yep!
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-434: meyer claiming he can fix msteyn like he did habana was the biggest con ever, pity those doey-eyed journalists lap up all the kak, if i was there i would’ve told him straight up to stop fibbing…
2 Nov 2012, 16:49 pm
@kaksioek-435: They wont kill the world… wont let her down… wont destroy basic ground…
2 Nov 2012, 16:50 pm
@grant10-441: rob kearney not playing boet so we’re safe, we can skop all day long, oirish will feel our mojo!
2 Nov 2012, 16:51 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-440: Ja… Meaningful Transformation too… not just “Transformation of the Mind”…
2 Nov 2012, 16:51 pm
look its going to eventually boil down to a rumble between the bankers and the scousers who need some mulla for special brew, and i dont fancy the bankers chances.
2 Nov 2012, 16:53 pm
@Transformation-445:
he’s damn good that kearney, dunno who his replacement is but the irish know how to counter-attack, be interested to see the side, cos i reckon gert smal might just be planning a groot ontploffing upfront and their backs might have the better of it outwide.
@cab-442: Naah, its you Physicist farkers… The mathematicians alright okes… They dont go on and on about multiverses and all that farken sh.yte you can only dream up after a big farken bong and then forget about the actual real world… Crazy mofos
@cab-442: “brownian motion”
Extraballas swimming pool missiles
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 » Show All