Lambie set for Bok start
5 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, writing from Dublin, says Pat Lambie ran at flyhalf for the bulk of Monday’s training session in a strong indicator that he will play ahead of Morne Steyn at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.
Lambie impressed throughout the Super Rugby campaign in the position and was exceptional in Currie Cup semi-final at Kings Park, where his tactical game management and goal-kicking lead the Sharks to the final.
It had been a straight choice between Lambie and Steyn for head coach Heyneke Meyer, who remained hopeful that Steyn would regain his confidence after dropping him for the home leg of the Rugby Championship. He believes Steyn’s tactical kicking game is the best of his available flyhalves, but has acknowledged Lambie’s growth in this facet of play, most recently at Monday’s press conference which preceded training.
‘You can’t compare the Currie Cup and Tests but he showed great tactical awareness in winning the Currie Cup with the Sharks in 2010 as 19 or 20 year old. Suddenly I’ve seen some of that in him again and he is really improving and knocking on the door hard at the moment.’
Steyn is now unlikely to feature in the match 22 as Meyer doesn’t see him as an impact player, with Elton Jantjies expected to provide cover on the wood.
Lambie has an opportunity to stake a serious claim for the shirt and will be acutely aware of the importance of a strong performance at the weekend. Johan Goosen remains Meyer’s preferred pivot of those at his disposal, but with Meyer set to commit to a deputy for Goosen for the 2013 season and onwards towards the World Cup, Lambie has an inside lane.
‘I know Morne will get back to his best soon,’ Meyer said. ‘Dan Carter said to me a couple of years ago that he went through a difficult time and went to France and came back a better player, which gives me confidence about Morne [Meyer was intimating that a break will have done Steyn good]. But you also want to see who is the next guy after Goosen.’
Meyer lamented that nearly a year into his reign he was still deciding between flyhalves.
‘Because the three are young [Goosen, Lambie and Jantjies] the only way you’ll see whether they have it or not is by playing them. The difficulty is that if your flyhalf isn’t on song then you lose because he runs the whole game plan. I would have loved to have the opportunity earlier in my tenure to look at the 10s. But I didn’t have that luxury. We’re probably the only elite nation without an established 10,’ he said.
He did, however, express delight at the new-found depth in a position that has historically been troublesome.
‘I’m happy at what we have at present and then future looks good with Handre Pollard and others coming through,’ he said. ‘If you look at the last 10 years this is probably the best group of flyhalves we’ve had available. But how they respond in these conditions is key. They’re all good at running and distributing the ball, but with the World Cup being in England you’ll need guys who are tactically astute. They all have to work on that aspect of their games.’
Meanwhile, JP Pietersen is set to be reinstated on the wing after missing the Rugby Championship through injury. Francois Hougaard is likely to retain his place on the opposite flank.
Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw didn’t participate in the contact session but the former ran freely and is expected to overcome a hamstring strain to start. Louw has a neck injury that is being monitored. If he fails to respond to treatment he will be replaced at openside flank by Marcell Coetzee, with Arno Botha coming onto the bench.
Adriaan Strauss will keep his place at hooker ahead of Schalk Brits, who will be used as an impact player. Elsewhere in the front row, Gurthro Steenkamp was a notable absentee at training, the prop picking up an injury in Toulouse’s match this weekend. In the event of Steenkamp’s injury precluding him from joining the squad, Leinster’s Heinke van der Merwe will be called up.
Probable Springbok XV to face Ireland – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

635 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All
6 Nov 2012, 01:18 am
VB
yep but that’s what freedom of speech all about. Pity the variety was what made it interesting but balance been skewed too far.
As for WP I’m not a wp fan but they deserve to have far more players in the boks, it’s completely bullshit that players like fourie, de Jong, kolisi, elstadt – pillars of a wp side that topped the s15 and won the CC. Instead ppl like Arno Botha jacques potgieter, andries Strauss, taute (who looks a good fullback) are being fast-tracked. It smacks of compete racism and provincialism – why can’t we get a coach with half a more inligte attitude?
6 Nov 2012, 01:24 am
148 the Authority
my allegiance is too the souty African rugby team and who should rightfully be picked by any and all fair indicators – I dint give 2 ***** for who the coach is or who the captain is if they are undermining that – and I have never supported bullshit racist selections.
It won’t happen but I hope tge Irish absolutely drill the Boks. He won’t have any clue what’s what after that. I hope tge Irish media get stuck into him too – pity they got no idea who de jong is cos it’s these selections which actually ruin south African rugby and u understand why rupert fusikela demands a certain demographic when players luke de Jong are snubbed in this manner. It’s horrific.
6 Nov 2012, 01:30 am
Ok. So racist is the New buzz word here?
6 Nov 2012, 01:30 am
@cab-152: Luke de Jongh, freudian slip i suppose
6 Nov 2012, 01:32 am
least some are on the same page regarding what is an outright racist call and what is not.. and this case Meyer has shown his racist hand without a f’ng doubt.. and deserves to get fck’d up holy for his indiscretion which I hope he does.
here is one for HG.. I don’t think this was the original reference to JdJ = Mannetjies Roux , I think there might have been others before that by myself.. but here is one back in May 2010
647.skopskiet:
1 May 2010, 01:45 am . De Jongh makes mistake of taking direct option always. He’s not really a 12 by design his natural play is suited better to 13 but his direct running and his fearless tackling is reminiscent of Mannetjies Roux.
6 Nov 2012, 01:33 am
and is calling some-one a white supremacist not racist?
surely, supremacist (only) is more pc?
6 Nov 2012, 01:35 am
@cab-151:
> As for WP I’m not a wp fan but they deserve to have far more players in the boks, it’s
They didn’t complain when Mallet picked 14 WP players?
> fourie, de Jong,
Fourie can’t throw in at a lineout if his life depended on it, and the Boks kick a lot and attack from lineouts. There are better scrum hookers too, AC doesn’t regard him as his first choice hooker
> kolisi, elstadt
Aren’t the injured?
> Arno Botha
Replacement for Vermeulen, young and strong
> jacques potgieter,
Stopgap after all the other loosies were injured mid year
> andries Strauss,
Bissie injured
> taute (who looks a good fullback) are being fast-tracked
He’ll play fullback, first blood him next to the captain to help him settle
6 Nov 2012, 01:36 am
What other possible explanation is there for selecting a fullback over the pre-eminent centre in SA, in his prime, has the experience, scores tries and linebreaks, tackles like a bullterier.
It’s complete rubbish.
I tell you what u must know what’s gonna happen on this tour if boks must be if they lose to the Irish team on day depleted of all their players .
6 Nov 2012, 01:39 am
fact is. HM has been changing the side left right and centre. from game to game.
no-one really knows what he is doing. most of the commentary on here is anger directed at what he iiis going to do. then when it doesn’t happen exactly like foretold… then there is something to be said at whhaaat he is doing.
eventually,,, when he does pick JDJ, which he will in the very near future do…. all the anger and angst and name calling just reflect very badly on those who have an obsession to be derogatory in general.
Skop. you specifically have issues on negativity. do you realise that? your posts are 90% negative.
not conducive to positive vibes. but then again, you’re on the right forum for that… plenty of the flock here.
6 Nov 2012, 01:42 am
@cab-158: no man. that’s not like you at all.
I also question the decision. JDJ is all the hype right now. I am 100% certain he will take JDV’s place in the near future.
6 Nov 2012, 01:45 am
Richardt Strauss is a dynamite little hooker and he’s gong to show his cousin up – bok pack otherwise is pretty good tho which is through the sheer default luck cos his other selections are injured or been shown to be plain kak.
It’s like having a maseratti and pissing in the tank and tgen wondering why the fk it gets lapped by a gdam Irish volksie. Fk I can’t this ****.
VB – mallett now we talking about some brains.
I actually thought meyer was one if new age breed but he’s just as bladdy ingrained in picking his own kind first
6 Nov 2012, 01:49 am
Shooter
If u were de Jong, you would actually be wondering right about now if there was any way you could be given the backing as a springbok coach which he deserves.
The country’s been up in arms about transformation and what does this namparra do – he picks a White fullback to play centre with absolutely no experience – over the form centre in south Africa who has contributed to the stormers and wo success over 2 seasons – what does this guy actually have to do?
There’s fkall rugby reasons at play here.
6 Nov 2012, 01:52 am
All this JDJ craze is taking the attention of the fact that this is still a pretty good Bok team. Except for two or three choices… it is basically as good as it gets for now.
And things change very quickly. JDJ will be on the bench. He is at the brink of his moment. Surely the guy is close. For now he is the depth we have… who else is there.
Ok, Taute is an odd choice… But not the worst thing ever… Strong runner, carrier and what everything. HM rpobably believes we need that kind of backline to start for now…
The Ab’s have plenty wingers and centres that can count themselve unlucky when one or the other plays. Each with their own merry band of fans shouting for one specific change… does it really matter that much now…
But calling HM a racist and garbage and scum and all this and that is now going beyond… Becoming irrational really.
6 Nov 2012, 01:57 am
It is a v good bok team but it’s short in key positions – this bok team should be unbeatable.
We’ve seen it so many times – they don’t select optimally and there’s a big surprise.
6 Nov 2012, 01:58 am
I get the point that he is actually making it more difficult for himself, by not choosing a 100% great option with JDJ.
Kind of puzzling. But HM is a rugby brain. And he did not get where he did, by being a closet racist all along.
If it is not rugby reasons, it sure as ouma’s cookies aren’t skin colour reasons. maybe he doesn’t like the dancing. serious. maybe he wants the guy to get his kop right, the way HM percieves a right head.
maybe he is disciplinarian or something along those lines. does he deserve to be called a hitler and all that -from rather fokedup people in the first place- … no.
6 Nov 2012, 02:00 am
not including you in the f-upped people bracket though … just saying.
6 Nov 2012, 02:02 am
all right. i think before i get credit for re-ressurecting a thread to 200, bed calls … enjoy >
6 Nov 2012, 02:06 am
shooter – I think ppl are rightfully upset by why de Jong is not being selected.
It shouldn’t even be a close run thing – taute could be a fine player but he should be replacing kirchener if anything at 15, not de Jong whose been in scintilatting form and when the only sa centres in his league (frans and jf) are not selectable.
6 Nov 2012, 02:23 am
131.skopdiekan:
6 Nov 2012, 00:29 am @Heavens Game-128: yeah it time up.. I’m heading out ook.
155.skopdiekan:
6 Nov 2012, 01:32 am
…here is one for HG.. I don’t think this was the original reference to JdJ = Mannetjies Roux …
About a dozen different names but still the same old doos…
6 Nov 2012, 02:56 am
This post is for the EDUCATION of the duncehead, and surely the ultimate fool who sensatioinalised a terrifying disaster by highlighting a non-event he called “looting” :
{{ Amazing story of survival after man leaves ‘farewell’ note
A N.J., man who didn’t think he would survive Sandy’s storm surge, broke into a stranger’s house and left a farewell note asking him/her to “tell my Dad I love him.”
Thankfully the letter writer, identified only as Mike, survived and was reunited with his father, Tony.
So did Christine Treglia, who found this unsettling note when she returned home, which she had evacuated before the storm:
” Who ever reads this I’m DIEING — I’m 28 yrs old my name is Mike. I had to break in to your house. I took clothes, blankets off the couch and food. I have hypothermia. A wave thru me out of my house down the block. I don’t think I’m going to make it. The water outside is 10ft deep at least. There’s no res[c]ue.
Tell my dad I love him and I tryed get[t]ing out. His number is ###-###-#### his name is Tony. I hope u can read this I’m in the dark. I took a black jacket too. Goodbye. God all mighty help me. ” }}
DUNCEHEAD, do you see the words SURVIVE, SURVIVAL and a reference to items taken?
I trust you will rot in your fake mission in “Missionvale” but I will educate you even in KLEINSKOOL but I suspect you will always be herding your old goats in VEEPLAAS.
6 Nov 2012, 04:14 am
@ET.-170:
And your point is…
CBS/AP) NEW YORK – At least 11 more people have been arrested in New York City for looting businesses in the wake of Hurricane Sandy, reports CBS New York.
A total of 15 people have been arrested for looting in the Rockaways section of the borough of Queens since the storm hit Monday.
On Staten Island, the district attorney’s office announced Wednesday that two men were arrested for allegedly breaking into a Rent-A-Center by throwing a brick through the window, and three more were arrested for allegedly attempting to saw through a lock and open a gate to a store, reports the Staten Island Advance.
But it is not all bad news…
Between Monday – when the storm hit, killing 41 people in the city – and Friday, the murder rate dropped by 86 percent and rapes fell 44 per cent.
Robbery decreased by 30 per cent, assault by 31 per cent, larceny by 48 per cent and car thefts by 24 per cent. Burglaries rose by 3 per cent.
6 Nov 2012, 04:23 am
Mmm then again, reading the last bit the only crime rate that dropped by more than 50% were the murder rate…rest just took a slight dip
6 Nov 2012, 04:45 am
Back to your SlartFart name again?
Whatever you choose you will forever be KOOStheDOOS
Note a single one of those potential 11 cases will go to court..The police is merely sending a strong message.
You need to vastly improve your language use before you comment again.
“… only crime rate that dropped by more than 50% were the murder rate … ”
Do you know your was from your ” were”?
You really want to use “were” for one rate, namely murder? The rule is one item demands the singular form.
6 Nov 2012, 05:04 am
Oooohhh name calling AND you picked up a grammatical error in my post…so come on, tell us who is helping you?
Anyway, whilst we at it…”Note a single…?!
I understand ‘going past’ 10 is huge for you but all up we talking about 30 cases, better change the batteries in that calculator of yours…
6 Nov 2012, 06:17 am
Always 1 step forward with HM and 2 steps back!
For what logical reason is Taute starting ahead of JdJ.
He is sooooo frustrating as a coach!
Watch how he’ll probably only give Lambie 60 minutes this whole tour and chuck him out for Steyn! **** this guy man
6 Nov 2012, 06:22 am
Don’t understand what everyone is getting so worked up about. The caption says “probable” team. Given RV’s general accuracy, I would say that there is 0% chance this will be the actual team!
6 Nov 2012, 06:36 am
Was it full moon last night? Holy shite but all the loonies were in full force judging by the bs of the preceeding 170 odd posts..and wtf hg and skoppie claiming to have dubbed jdj the new ‘mannetjies roux’ hahahaahhahahahaha, and claiming to resurrect the thread!!!
But then again HG was probably taking the pissssss again out of old skoppie
Anyway, it does say ‘probable’ starting team and it is ‘Siener’ Ryan Vrede after all so maybe we should hold off until the actual team is announced before going all postal on Heineken?
6 Nov 2012, 06:40 am
I am honestly appalled at the lack of knowledge and appreciation for the game shown in these below-par and debasing and comments.
First and foremost, can keo.co.za ban the use of foul language, prejudice and any other form of chauvinism on this site?
In my view this comment section is a great platform to have vigorous debates not insult and demean our rugby players!
I recently read an article on Goosen and he said SA fans are the hardest to please and that is true! SA fans do not appreciate the game! All they want to see is running all over the place and they want to be selectors!
Fair enough sometimes I do feel Heineke gets the calls wrong but in most cases I feel he is right.
Juan de Jongh will get his chance to play at 13 but that is Jeans jersey and when Mossie comes back, it’ll be his with Steyn at 12 and Jean on bench.
With regards to 10′s…Goosen is first choice and we all know that and Pat Lambie hopefully has a good game and becomes the second in line with Elton on bench.
I like the possible team that trained on Monday. I’m excited to see Lambie in there and I don’t think Taute has even switched on his engen yet! Brits is an exciting prospect as back up and hopefully we see more of him.
I trust Heineke and his game plan. With Rassie in there, I believe there aren’t any better people to take charge besides those two. Say what you want but any team who loses a bulk of their seniors to overseas clubs will struggle.
Had we not lost Du Preez, Matfield, Mossie…I think things would have been different. Watch when NZ lose Carter, McCaw, Hore, Mealamu and Conrad Smith….and what happened to the Aussies when they lost Waugh, Elsom, Giteau?
I think this time next year thinks will be different and by then Taute will be at 15, Goosen at 10, Du Preez who is set to come back will be at 9 and Steyn will be at 12…
6 Nov 2012, 07:01 am
@Golden Boy-177:
Thanks, I see you say 170 and mine being 171 is obviously excluded
But for the record, the loonies you refer to usually don’t need a full moon to come out and play…
@Voose13-178:
Ultimately if you look at the last few teams the Meyer selected bar one or two odd selections he was very close to the mark. Now we can kick and scream as much as we want because our own favorite was overlooked but that is just it, it is our own personal favorite. Besides, it has never ever happened that a Bok coach selected 22 players and every man and his dog were happy…NEVER!
PS I also agree, the pieces are coming together nicely and we are only going to get better with time…
6 Nov 2012, 07:24 am
@Slartibartfast-171:
6 Nov 2012, 07:37 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180:
Was die verdwaalde poep agter jou aan?
6 Nov 2012, 07:39 am
fck this arsehole I got no time for bullshit artists and this Heyneke Meyer is the ultimate bullshit artist bar none.
all his little mindless groupies can huddle together and cry out a big hallelujah for the resurrection of the messiah.. I know a bullshit artist when I smell one and this self indulgent arsehole takes the cake.
6 Nov 2012, 07:50 am
I suggest you remove last weeks lunch box from under the seat and open the windows of the Datsun a little, the smell may go away…
6 Nov 2012, 07:51 am
Shut up.
6 Nov 2012, 07:54 am
@Slartibartfast-181:
nee, ek dink dit het iets met David te doen maar ek is nie seker nie
6 Nov 2012, 07:54 am
I suggest you open up your glory hallelujah eyesight for a moment and wake up and smell the reality, this dunce epitomizes everything that is still backward about this arse end of the universe and you bought into the bullshit hook line and sinker domvok doos.
6 Nov 2012, 07:57 am
little katmankunty still reckons he is the gatkruip gatekeeper of this fckup parade.. the little kunty that needs his boeremag face fixed through the back of his boeremag backside.. same as his boeremag oompie heyneke, no wonder he dotes on this punk.. he is the self same prick that the coach is.. you can try take the supremacist out of the laager but you can’t take the laager out of the supremacist .. no f’ng way around that.
6 Nov 2012, 07:59 am
Shut up you loony geriatric. Or do you want me to call the big nurse again?
6 Nov 2012, 08:01 am
go call you arsecreep pals man.. you little feeble fuckwit that think you so fckng illuminating smartass… stupid little rancid punk
6 Nov 2012, 08:04 am
@skopdiekan-189: Take it easy Skoppie, You know your bowels can’t handle the aggravation.
6 Nov 2012, 08:07 am
HM hasn’t announced his team yet. It is best to save all wailing and gnashing of teeth until we know who we are wailing and gnashing about.
6 Nov 2012, 08:11 am
@katman-190:
To late, he is already smelling it.
6 Nov 2012, 08:16 am
@cab-152: Realx , the team has not even be picked.
When HM wants to pick BM he gets stopped by Politics, and when he does not pick JdJ , like most coaches before him , he is a racist, a nee man.
6 Nov 2012, 08:16 am
@163 Shooter
Ag man, HM’s just a tool and stop trying to be an apoligist on his behalf.
Its quite disparaging to be talking about how De Jongh is on the cusp of selection.
What has Taute done the whole year or in the last 2 games, as a fullback, to justify JdJ being on the cusp of selection?
Its a bullshi.t selection and just call a spade a spade.
Certain players don’t have to prove themselves to be in the team while you want others to walk on water.
Did you actually watch what he did in the Currie Cup final? Its what he did for the Boks over and over, even on debut!
6 Nov 2012, 08:17 am
@katman-190:
Maybe cast aside your whack humour and open your eyes man! Or do you reckon its ok for this coach to mess around with young careers with his idiosyncratic impositions??
Aren’t you concerned man?
6 Nov 2012, 08:24 am
I think HM has a great opportunity in trying out Taute at 15 as I see this to be his best position. He is tall and good under the high ball. He can counter attack and has a good boot on him. I don’t think Niknaks man is that bad, but he is too predictable. Catch ball kick ball…
Play Jdj at 13 with JdV at 12. They know each others game so a good option. I know there is a lot of talk here, but as a player you feel agrieved when you are playing in a position and someone gets chosen in that position and rarely plays there…
6 Nov 2012, 08:33 am
Meyer is on cheapfuckingcrack.
Taute himself has made no secret of the fact that he sees himself as a 15, and is coming to the Cape to play in his preferred position.
JDJ can play either 12 or 13, and is currently the best centre in the bloody squad that this utterlysmokeduptwat has put together.
How fuckinghardcanitbe for this moron with his Napoleonic size issues to figure this out for himself?
Nee man.
6 Nov 2012, 08:36 am
These issues have nothing to do with one bloggers feelings(no ****) towards another. Its all got to do with what is fast becoming an indigestible tolerance for an outright swindling, conniving megalomaniac who makes it difficult to presume that his decisions are purely rugby based and in the best interests of this nation.
How do you defend that?
6 Nov 2012, 08:37 am
fluk this, done with this idiot and his bs
as pdv said, this meyer fella is driving a moerse wedge through sa rugby supporters with his terrible man management
let him fl*ck up this eoyt
continue with poor results and selections into the new year
get a spanking from rugby bossess, media, many supporters and sports minister mid year
then finally get told to bugger off at end of 2013
devotees will then continue apologising for the sh* t results, **** player management, and sh*t inconsistent ramblings by saying meyer got the boot due to the evil politicians …. blah, blah, blah, blinded by years of brainwashing
to blind to see the hard facts and smelly bs
far better ways to spend a summers day in heaven at the tip of africa
6 Nov 2012, 08:39 am
Stormers best midfield combo this year was when JDJ was at 12 and Habana at 13….
And in 2009 when JDJ played at 12 and JF at 13….
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 13 » Show All