Lambie set for Bok start

RYAN VREDE, writing from Dublin, says Pat Lambie ran at flyhalf for the bulk of Monday’s training session in a strong indicator that he will play ahead of Morne Steyn at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

Lambie impressed throughout the Super Rugby campaign in the position and was exceptional in Currie Cup semi-final at Kings Park, where his tactical game management and goal-kicking lead the Sharks to the final.

It had been a straight choice between Lambie and Steyn for head coach Heyneke Meyer, who remained hopeful that Steyn would regain his confidence after dropping him for the home leg of the Rugby Championship. He believes Steyn’s tactical kicking game is the best of his available flyhalves, but has acknowledged Lambie’s growth in this facet of play, most recently at Monday’s press conference which preceded training.

‘You can’t compare the Currie Cup and Tests but he showed great tactical awareness in winning the Currie Cup with the Sharks in 2010 as 19 or 20 year old. Suddenly I’ve seen some of that in him again and he is really improving and knocking on the door hard at the moment.’

Steyn is now unlikely to feature in the match 22 as Meyer doesn’t see him as an impact player, with Elton Jantjies expected to provide cover on the wood.

Lambie has an opportunity to stake a serious claim for the shirt and will be acutely aware of the importance of a strong performance at the weekend. Johan Goosen remains Meyer’s preferred pivot of those at his disposal, but with Meyer set to commit to a deputy for Goosen for the 2013 season and onwards towards the World Cup, Lambie has an inside lane.

‘I know Morne will get back to his best soon,’ Meyer said. ‘Dan Carter said to me a couple of years ago that he went through a difficult time and went to France and came back a better player, which gives me confidence about Morne [Meyer was intimating that a break will have done Steyn good]. But you also want to see who is the next guy after Goosen.’

Meyer lamented that nearly a year into his reign he was still deciding between flyhalves.

‘Because the three are young [Goosen, Lambie and Jantjies] the only way you’ll see whether they have it or not is by playing them. The difficulty is that if your flyhalf isn’t on song then you lose because he runs the whole game plan. I would have loved to have the opportunity earlier in my tenure to look at the 10s. But I didn’t have that luxury. We’re probably the only elite nation without an established 10,’ he said.

He did, however, express delight at the new-found depth in a position that has historically been troublesome.

‘I’m happy at what we have at present and then future looks good with Handre Pollard and others coming through,’ he said. ‘If you look at the last 10 years this is probably the best group of flyhalves we’ve had available. But how they respond in these conditions is key. They’re all good at running and distributing the ball, but with the World Cup being in England you’ll need guys who are tactically astute. They all have to work on that aspect of their games.’

Meanwhile, JP Pietersen is set to be reinstated on the wing after missing the Rugby Championship through injury. Francois Hougaard is likely to retain his place on the opposite flank.

Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw didn’t participate in the contact session but the former ran freely and is expected to overcome a hamstring strain to start. Louw has a neck injury that is being monitored. If he fails to respond to treatment he will be replaced at openside flank by Marcell Coetzee, with Arno Botha coming onto the bench.

Adriaan Strauss will keep his place at hooker ahead of Schalk Brits, who will be used as an impact player. Elsewhere in the front row, Gurthro Steenkamp was a notable absentee at training, the prop picking up an injury in Toulouse’s match this weekend. In the event of Steenkamp’s injury precluding him from joining the squad, Leinster’s Heinke van der Merwe will be called up.

Probable Springbok XV to face Ireland – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

635 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 201.capetown: Reply to this comment

Modern defense is more about execution of the defensive systems (maintaining the alignment, co-ordination with fellow players, timing with fellow players, etc) rather than DIE GROOT V*KKEN TEKKEL BY THE SINGLE GROOT V*KKEN SPELER

Wake up, this aint league C club rugby

• 202.fishdish: Reply to this comment

Oops- is the word ho-mo too derogatory? My bad

• 203.katman: Reply to this comment

All of you take your blogging opinions way too seriously. This guy has the job of national coach, so he has a little more riding on his decisions than any of you. And while I may not agree with all his selections, to accuse him of racism or being an idiot is just daft. He knows what he wants to do with the team, and he stands to lose all if it doesn’t pan out. Same as Divvy did. Same as White did.

Personally, I’d have Taute at 15 and De Jongh at 13. And I’d drop Strauss for Brits, and Lambie for Jantjies. But I’m not going tear my poepstring if he doesn’t pick it 100% my way.

Chillax, have a jam sandwich and sit in the sun for 10 minutes.

• 204.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-120: lol

• 205.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@katman-203: Katman it all revolves about him being the ex Bulls coach and the supposed stigma around it created by some of the ‘brain surgeons’ blogging on this site. I will bet a years salary had he not been ex Bull the moaning on this site would be halved

• 206.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-182: Jy is nou maar net n klas A doos.

• 207.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@capetown-199: Jy en Skoppie is seker dik pelle.

• 208.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-205:

Easy for you to say, your unemployment pension does not count as salary…

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-206:

Doing a disservice to dose across the world!

• 209.katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-205: Ja, the people on this site love to have their opinions formed for them by general consensus. They talk each other into frothy rage, day in and day out, about the same fabricated issues. Before the advent of social media and platforms like these, it wasn’t nearly as bad. But these days it take a few days for rabid opinions to take hold and spread and become undeniable fact. And then each blogger has to outdo the next with his indignant expression of said opinion. Interesting social phenomena, but bloody irritating at the same time.

• 210.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@katman-209:

Yip and the lose sight of what is fact and what is their own opinion in the process.

• 211.fishdish: Reply to this comment

@katman-203:
    Playing the fence are we??
    The kind of response I’d expect from adulterated indifference, but I mean what do you care…

Being a prejudice, bigoted racist fool is all about an adopted posture and inwardly obscure views to society. If the threat of sanctions and exclusion didn’t faze the continued imposition of apartheid what makes you think this boer cares what happens to him and his job? He’s white & living in SA.., so I think his bills will be covered.

He’s making a statement for all to see!!

Ask any impartial, half decent coach what their selection at 13 would be and you what the answer is.

• 212.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ET.-170: who is the “dunce” now?

“the district attorney’s office announced Wednesday that two men were arrested for allegedly breaking into a Rent-A-Center by throwing a brick through the window, and three more were arrested for allegedly attempting to saw through a lock and open a gate to a store

if sawwing of a lock to open a gate of a store is NOT criminal behaviour i don’t kow what you’re smoking in Florida Khakiballas :lol: .

• 213.katman: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-211: You sound like you’ve got more issues than I can help you with. Sorry.

• 214.papaown: Reply to this comment

Yep…this thread is where its ALL happening :-D

• 215.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@katman-209:

Hey boet! I was tearing my hair out on Sunday morning – golf…

Jeez man – poor Louis couldn’t find a birdie and when he did, he dropped the shot shortly afterwards… Poor Ernie came out blazing and then …

Oh well – can’t wait for Sun City…

• 216.katman: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-215: Ja, I felt for Louis. Nothing was going his way. A couple of great putts just lipped out and you could tell it was frustrating him. Ernie put up a great fight and saved a few pars with incredible putts, but Poulter was just too good.

Louis for the win at Sun City.

• 217.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@katman-216:

Ernie was just missing puts too…

Ja that will be lekka…

• 218.gunther: Reply to this comment

Sad to see Rnie has ditched Sun City.

Probably miffed about not cracking the nod last year.

• 219.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-218: Ernie says he couldn’t make it fit with his kids’ school term. Didn’t want to leave them there while he comes to SA, and didn’t want to take them out of school early. But maybe you’re right, maybe he’s just a bit miffed.

• 220.fishdish: Reply to this comment

Go on and trivialize it all you want…
    HM’s survival depends on you…

• 221.katman: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-220: It’s a fcken rugby team selection, you serious man. Not the Middle East peace plan.

• 222.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@shooter-163:

How much longer should JdJ wait for his chance? He’s been waiting since 2010 (Taute was still in high school, playing fullback). When he has to wait his turn because the coach prefers the established pairing of JdV and JF or the first choice pair of FS and JdV, I don’t see anybody [apart from staunch JdJ supporters] having problem with him not starting.

However, when he FS gets injured, it is very reasonable to expect him to start. So when a 21 year old fullback, who hasn’t even played five SR games at centre gets elevated above him, questions will be asked. Some will call it rascism… Especially since Taute showed in his two games in the RC and the CC semi final that he isn’t good enough to play centre for the boks.

I’ve always said that Meyer does not rate de Jongh and the only reason he’s there is to keep the politicians happy. But it is fair to expect him to start against Ireland given what he has done in his last three games and the last three years for that matter.

HM’s argument has been that he does not look at CC form alone when assessing a player, rather what he’s done throughout the year. Well if that the case he’s done more than Taute has.

Another thing is that Lambie is set start at fh on Saturday, ahead of EJ who played in the last test against the ABs, based on his last three CC games. See where I’m going with this? The CC is good enough to gauge Lambie’s aptitude for test rugby but no JdJ? It’s these kinda contradictions that give strength to the arguments of those a calling him a racist…

• 223.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

“I would have loved to have the opportunity earlier in my tenure to look at the 10s. But I didn’t have that luxury. We’re probably the only elite nation without an established 10,’ he said.”

is this guy on crack? he had 3 tests v eng then 6 in the RC- but he didnt have time? really you must be kidding me

“But you also want to see who is the next guy after Goosen.’”

goosen is officially the first choice flyhalf till the next WC???
    biggest f-ing joke ive ever come across

HM OUT

• 224.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-222: HEAR, HEAR…

• 225.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@grant10-200:

And last year with JdJ at 12 and Johann Sadie at 13, that game agaisnt the Blues, they were dynamite…

• 226.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-223: Meyer’s quote SHOULD read, “We’re probably the only elite nation without an established coach.”

• 227.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@katman-203: Geez Louise!! I take a week to celebrate the CC win for Province and everyone on here has gone bonkers! Have to agree with you on HM… the man just cannot win…

• 228.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-226:
    then he is delusional cause the only elite nation with an established flyhalf is NZ
    aussies dont know who their flyhalf is- beale, barnes, cooper?

i dont consider eng, france or any other nation as elite
    simple as

• 229.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-223: My personal OPION on HM.

1. People say Stormers supporters just wanna complain, well no in fact,, when he was appointed he on one show I think it was Boots & all said that he will be consistent in selection, will always if a bulls and other player is on same level pick the other player, and that he wants to win every test… Since saying this even before any games played he has already broken all these statements.

he picked a Potgieter above a just as good Kolisi I believe.
    He picked JJ above a Just as good Juan de Jongh.
    He picked Arno Botha Above Keegan daniels that I rate better!!

He changed his tune from winning every game to trying out combonations and settling players for the WC… what happened to winning every game at all cost?

2. He is biased when it comes to selections: Now I dont wanna call him a racist, but it seems true that english and coloured players seems to have to do an ALL Mighty to get into the team….

3. I dont think even HM thought out exactly where he wants to go with the boks.. He always used the phrase Winning is his gameplan to mentioning using what works for him to playing a more expanding game…. No clue as to exactly what he wants..

In the beginnig I thought he is gonna be the Messiah… now I think he is just Heyneke Meyer the hated coach by all

• 230.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-229:
    if youre not from the traditional north/south powers, or afrikaans speaking
    its near impossible to get a run in the springbok team

what frustrates me most is the fact that he has his favourite ie goosen
    and makes that knowledge public- which places even more pressure on goosen and even more on the supposed “number 2″- in this case- lambie

for lambie its almost a lose-lose situation cause he already has the lingering thought of ‘im not first choice regardless of how well i play”

HMs player management skills are seriously poor- with all the talent at flyhalf we have- HM might screw these youngsters and whole country over by not managing them correctly

• 231.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-230: Hear Hear!!

Player Management is non Existent! Like you said: He will publicly anounce Goosen as his fisrt choice with having done little to back his selection and then he will also Publicly anounce JDJ is not good enough for Bok rugby…???

He is just not consistent in his selection procedure… what frustrates me is that everyone knows where he falters except himself. Would he have clung onto Zane and Morne were they not from north of the boerewors curtain?

• 232.fishdish: Reply to this comment

@katman-221:
    Its more than just team selection, its all about the principle! Its about the exposed underbelly of thwarted purpose and manipulation. How many believe their actions to be inconsequential, the basis of carefreemasonry aptitude.

Just get over it you say…

Making ridicule of biblical events in the middle east that stretch far beyond any comprehension a cozy white boy like yourself can fathom…

• 233.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-230:

True making that public is poor form, what happens if Goosen does not live up, then HM has to start back-tracking or stick with out of form playa @ 10 (IE same case with morne)

• 234.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-232:
    Prozac
    Valium
    Alzam
    Rivitrol
    Lithium
    or a good old fashion spleeef

go get some

• 235.katman: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-232: You sound positively bonkers. I have no idea what you tried to say to me there.

carefreemasonry aptitude?

thwarted purpose and manipulation?

biblical events in the middle east?

You’re going to have to learn to explain your concept a little better or risk losing me for good.

• 236.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Provvas-231: it is laughable actually, meyer is convince zane is Test qualilty – don’t ask me where he proved himself – but JdJ proved he is super rugby quality and good enough for a bench spot & only run on for 5 min yet Taute simply does not need to prove himself ANYWHERE at 13 but he can start against the number 1 and 2 countries in world rugby and meyer doesn’t consider this “throwing [taute} in the deep end” maybe because taute is naturally big, strong and fast and thus can learn anything there is to outside centre play in the cauldron of Test rugby.

• 237.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-236: My problem with Meyer is that the dynamic that worked for him at the bulls will not neccesarily work at Bok level.

He might be able to “MInd f@ck a young bulls player in believing in smashing everything in front of him in a tight game, but at national level the dynamic changes… Motivating one player is not the same as motivating one from say the Wp or Sharks camps… again.. poor player management..

• 238.fishdish: Reply to this comment

@katman-235:

Never had you nor do I want you!!

I’m fully aware you understand my words but pretend not to. Why, I’m not sure. They do not run deep, they don’t make a mockery of you, they’re simply words to understood or misunderstood.

You’ve chosen your intentions clearly, a bit similar to HM’s planned obsolescence and self sabotage.

And if you don’t know what I mean by biblical, read the bible. I gather you’re well read in other forms…

• 239.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Rockn Rolla-233:
    ok, wtf does internet explorer have to do with morne?
    you said this in general yesterday and sure, its a larf… but now you’re singling out morne… and i dont get it.

• 240.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

I just hope Lambie has a blinder thus putting a huge spanner in the worx of the HM plan
    IE Pat proves to be the best ” number 2″ (or Elton be it as it may) what happens when Morne suupposedly hit top for again

what a Tool !!!!

• 241.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

Jeeessssuuussss guys, pass me the crack pipe man!!! I definitely need what some of you are smoking…

Ryan Vrede CLEARLY STATES ‘Probable Springbok XV to face Ireland’ and people spend over 200 posts calling the coach a racist!?!?!?!? That must be some quality A-grad Shite!!!!!

Has it ever occurred to the loonies that perhaps Heineken knows what he has in JDV and JDJ as a center pairing and is trying out Taute IN CASE he is needed as a backup at center!?!?!?!? He is obviously there as a FB, but obviously the coach would like him to get acclimatized to center play should he be needed there some time during the game!!!!!

And besides, THE SQUAD HAS NOT BEEN NAMED YET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would like all you mo/rons getting you panties all twisted to come and apologize on here WHEN JDJ is announced as the starting center against Ireland.

And calling someone racist based on who he picks ,ESPECIALLY IN SA where SARU has publicly endorsed transformation is outright libelous and smacks of ignorance and outright stupidity.

To the more enlightened among you, my humblest apologies for this rant.

• 242.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-239: I’m guessing the only place we will ever find Morne in ‘form’ again, is by using internet explorer to navigate and load old youtube clips of him in 2009?

How are you Bakkies? :)

• 243.Rockn Rolla: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-239:

Point is dont publicly state favor to a player,cause you will look bad if they dont deliver
    HM is dragging an out of form Morne Steyn around a bok setup like a an deluded Mother holding onto a dead infant

• 244.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-241: Because it’s fun bashing Heyneke for the kak he talks. Team announcement or no team announcement, he has given the public enough to whinge about by spitting out all sorts of wickidiculous ‘one liners’ and ‘opinions’ in the media once more. :)

Sorry for him, but surely he picked up something from P Divvy’s tenure? Namely: refrain from making controversial statements ;)

• 245.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-232:
    When the seagulls follow the trawler, it’s because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.

• 246.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-241:
    agree. JDJ will probably start in the centres
    but if taute is chosen ahead of him- i hope we lose all 3 on this tour
    cause we cant keep going on like this

HM is out of his depth as is
    have never in my years, watching and playing all different kinds of sports, seen a head coach of a national team/let alone a school team act the way HM does in his coaching box

its seriously unprofessional

• 247.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-235:
    well, to do that you would need an operating level ‘VIII: Truth Revealed’ audited Accreditation and Certification from the church of scientology and let me tell you, those things dont come cheap. :lol:

• 248.katman: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-238: No, you’re just talking the stock standard keo kak. Except you’re trying to camouflage yours with big words that you have absolutely no idea how to use. Take a few steps back and try again, in simple English.

• 249.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@katman-203: I really don’t think Meyer is what he is sold as, i.e. a coaching genius, I just think Meyer coached at the Bulls at the right time, the Bulls had the right management, more IMPORTANTLY a golden generation of players in place, the then coach happen to be HM, its like in a tornado, even pigs fly, not that they can fly, but they do in a tornado, just ask Frans Ludeke who has won 2 Super Rugby titles but is he a coaching genius, you should know he once lost all Super Rugby games for the Lions, ironic that Meyer has that record as well.

• 250.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-242:

but the thing is internet explorer is slow compared to firefox, so i guess that’s what he’s getting at.
    standard fare really.

i am well thank you, & how are you?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.