Double boost for Boks
7 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, writes Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw participated fully in Tuesday’s training session and will start against Ireland on Saturday.
De Villiers was ruled out of the Currie Cup play-offs with a hamstring injury sustained in the Springboks’ final Rugby Championship match in Soweto and has been carefully managed since in the hope that he would recover for the tour opener. The Springboks’ skipper didn’t train fully at Blackrock College RFC on Monday, but participated in a defensive session today, showing no signs of discomfort.
Louw hurt his neck on club duty for Bath a fortnight ago and was sidelined for the clash against London Welsh last weekend, but also appears to have made a full recovery and will start at openside flank, with Marcell Coetzee, who stood in for him in yesterday’s training drills, on the bench as cover.
The formation the Springboks ran this afternoon further indicated that Pat Lambie has trumped Morne Steyn for the starting berth at flyhalf. Lambie is also likely to assume goal-kicking duties ahead of Ruan Pienaar, although the latter is a very competent goal-kicker for his Irish club side Ulster, and will be used if Lambie’s boot betrays him.
Interestingly, Elton Jantjies slotted in at pivot for what was almost certainly the reserves, meaning Steyn is unlikely to make the match 22. This is in keeping with head coach Heyneke Meyer’s belief that Steyn is not the type of impact player he needs.
Hooker Schalk Brits is, and will inject pace, skill and athleticism into the contest when he replaces Adriaan Strauss. With the forecast for fine, cold but largely clear conditions, the stage is set for Brits to impress on his return to Test rugby after a four-year absence.

180 Comments
6 Nov 2012, 17:45 pm
go lambie!
6 Nov 2012, 18:00 pm
Go Springboks!
6 Nov 2012, 18:16 pm
The big Lambowski – he’s the DUDE!
6 Nov 2012, 18:32 pm
Great news !
So glad that Jantjes will at least be on the bench!
HM must decide on a replacement fetcher a sap….Cant wait till Brussow also back in the mix….
Now for a world class 3 to assist Jannie…
6 Nov 2012, 18:34 pm
also wonderful that we have such a wonderful impact player in Brits….hope he gets plenty of game time!
6 Nov 2012, 18:59 pm
I reckon that HM is being far too precipitate in trying to finalise his first and second choice 10.
6 Nov 2012, 19:03 pm
And who ran out at 13 in practice?? I hope its JDJ. Taute should be in at 15 not 13. He was shown up badly against the AB defensively.
6 Nov 2012, 19:04 pm
@grant10-4: Brussouw will never get picked under HM.
6 Nov 2012, 19:06 pm
Just glad Flo and Vermuelen will be operating together this weekend……”the Boondock Saints”
6 Nov 2012, 19:30 pm
Good news, he’ll make a big difference.
6 Nov 2012, 19:48 pm
Without those two players Boks would seriously struggle! Now to finnish the jigsaw: JdJ at 13 and Jaco at 15.
As you were.
6 Nov 2012, 20:42 pm
Good news on many fronts.
6 Nov 2012, 20:55 pm
I think the big surprise is that HM has made the correct call. That itself is better news than any one player making the starting lineup.
6 Nov 2012, 21:22 pm
Very pleased. Can’t wait!
6 Nov 2012, 22:32 pm
HM is fooling everyone, most of all the Irish: Morne will start and he will kick very many up and unders, attempted drop goals and a couple of off-target conversions…
6 Nov 2012, 22:33 pm
Is Lou really fit or is this the typical dumb Springbok mentality at work?
I think Lambie should not take any kicks in the 1st 20mins, perhaps let Pinaar take the first two. Easing him in should be the rule of thumb for all these kids.
Britz is an interesting inclusion. He is well studied in the Northern Hem., so no suprises for Ireland etc. Will antisipate his run on. Would like to see how he fits in and performs at International Level.
I’m delighted to see Habanana resting this tour out, not for his own sake but for mine. He is such a toser
6 Nov 2012, 23:07 pm
@Greenies-16: What is a “toser”? Are you a dumb man?
7 Nov 2012, 01:35 am
@13.garth – that indeed is the news. It has taken Meyer long enough to realise what the whole world realised a long time ago. Great news nonetheless!!
7 Nov 2012, 06:31 am
Romney is history
7 Nov 2012, 07:19 am
Good news that Lambie finally gets a start… hope he has an absolute blinder….!! and good to have Jantjies on the bench…
great that Flo is fit and Jean too…
and Congratulations to Obamarama!! Great great news for the US and the World… Now, like the Boks, he really needs to carry through on the promise…
Hopefully this election will see the end of those lunatic loose canons who shot the GOP in the foot… the AmericanTaliban or Tea Party…!!
Romney acting like the fool he is and not wanting to concede graciously…!! NO surprises there…!!
7 Nov 2012, 07:23 am
GREAT NEWS!!!!
The Dacia Sandero, is now available in left hand drive market
7 Nov 2012, 07:28 am
I will be at the Linkin Park concert so will have to watch a re run of this game.
7 Nov 2012, 07:38 am
Speculation in the press this morning that HM to retain Taute at 13…
7 Nov 2012, 07:42 am
@grant10-23:
If he had the balls he should have played Taute at 15 and Juan at 13…
Unfortunately, we know differently…
7 Nov 2012, 07:46 am
JDJ = average
7 Nov 2012, 08:20 am
@Greenies-16: Habana was the best springbok next to Louw, Vermeulen and Etsebeth. Best backline palyer by far, so only tosser is you.
7 Nov 2012, 08:22 am
@Gumboots-24: HM continues to confuse me….
For every good call he makes he seems to make a bad 1 ….
Taute even saying he wants to play at 15 for Stormers ….and prefers that…
JDJ plays with JDV in superrugby…..and is in top form….
I just seriously do not understand HM motivation , at all…..
Frustrating ….
7 Nov 2012, 08:26 am
@suffer_guy-25: Your opinion = poor
7 Nov 2012, 08:27 am
So Obama has another term?
Should’ve gotten Georgie Gregan to do his victory speech
7 Nov 2012, 08:28 am
“This is in keeping with head coach Heyneke Meyer’s belief that Steyn is not the type of impact player he needs.”
what a load of kak.
7 Nov 2012, 08:30 am
@trupisero-29:
:lol;
it was such a larf when he did that. some of those nz players looked like they were about to burst into tears. in fact i think a few did.
7 Nov 2012, 08:34 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31: Some of them still cry at night I think.
7 Nov 2012, 08:36 am
@trupisero-29:
Why?
7 Nov 2012, 08:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31: “Another four years mate.”
Really will be dissapointed if Taute/ Hougard are chosen above JDJ/ Movo.
Two better black players being replaced by arguably weaker white players. Hougard is an amazing impact player and should be utilized as such, has added nothing as a starting wing.
Taute should replace Kirchner who is solid but average in many departments. This position is our weakest link in the backline, with few prospects for the future. Our FB options on tour should have been Taute/ Ludik.
We have tons of potential 13 coming through the junior ranks, while we have very few good FBs coming through.
7 Nov 2012, 08:38 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31: @trupisero-32: Haven’t heard this one! Pray, please tell, gentlemen!
7 Nov 2012, 08:40 am
@Dawn-33: he won more of the electoral college votes than Romney…
7 Nov 2012, 08:42 am
@BrumbiesBoy-35: oh come on chap – 2003 RWC semi dying moments ring a bell?
7 Nov 2012, 08:44 am
@trupisero-36:
Why should George Gregan do the acceptance speech
7 Nov 2012, 08:46 am
eish….people are sloooowwwww this morning.
7 Nov 2012, 08:47 am
@trupisero-36: Oh, THAT game?
Nah, I’m sure Georgie was just being his normal, modest self & u’re right, I’m sure most of them cried all the way back over The Ditch!
7 Nov 2012, 08:51 am
@grant10-27:
I’m trying so hard to understand the man! At times I think he is moving in the right direction, then he comes up with stupid selections. It has been hard as first impressions always count and his first selections proved how naive the man really is. Why play guys out of position? What message does it send? Why choose a second rate lock in the UK as injury cover? He is definetely not endearing to most people.
7 Nov 2012, 08:51 am
@goodstuff-34:
after the australie fiasco i disagree, strongly.
mvovo over hougaard?
i would not let mvovo anywhere near my team if i was coach.
i would be open to testing both taute in the position as well as kirchener to see if he brings anything extra to his game in the event taute does well.
7 Nov 2012, 08:53 am
@BrumbiesBoy-35:
its what gregan taunted the ab’s with in the 2003 wc a few minutes from time
here it minus the audio:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65xd81cj7pA
7 Nov 2012, 08:57 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-42: What Australia fiasco? What did Mvovo do wrong? As far as I remember Mvovo has been in the 22 since Mendoza where he was one of the stand outs and Hougard was one of the reasons we lost.
7 Nov 2012, 08:58 am
@trupisero-29:
funny
7 Nov 2012, 09:02 am
@goodstuff-44: Sorry, I see he was subbed on for Habana/ Hougard. But what did he do wrong?
7 Nov 2012, 09:05 am
@grant10-27: For all the good news with Obama and his speech… WE still need to come back to this shi.t of HM and his selections.
Taute staarting@13 is just wrong on soo many levels
7 Nov 2012, 09:06 am
@papaown-47:
…and the message it sends to those specialists in a position…
7 Nov 2012, 09:09 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-43:
Yeah, just being himself again!
Aaah, those were good days!
7 Nov 2012, 09:11 am
Heyneke making dodgy selections again,he will have to apologise after the fact again,Taute should start at 15 with JdJ at 13.Play your in form players or you are handycapping the Boks like previous coaches,and can expect the same results.
7 Nov 2012, 09:14 am
With Jacques Fourie leaving before the S15 season, JDJ was primed to take over the mantle, however, he played himself out of favour before the June tests and were very poor throughout Super Rugby. HM was right to leave him out, but not at the expense of JJ, I believed Eberson and Whitehead deserved it on form.
In the CC his form re-appeared and he showed us how brilliant he can be, he scored an indivual try that sealed it for WP. He still hangs on to the ball too much, and really needs to trust the guys on his outside.
Together with Frans Steyn they will make a killer combo. JDV is a problem. A even bigger elephant in the room than what John Smit was. Why is it that the Springboks always play better in the back when he is injured (’07 and ’11 WC) and WP starts scoring tries as soon as he is drafted into the bok squad (’12 CC). No coincidence! He is the cancer.
I prefer 12. JDJ, 13. Mapoe ahead of 12. JDV, 13. Taute.
7 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
I see that they are reporting that Jaco Taute trained at 13 yesterday.
7 Nov 2012, 09:30 am
@goodstuff-44:
are you kidding with me?
the high ball he did not field from a kickoff, allowing it to bounce, when it was his ball led to a try and then also running away from assisting in the tackle of that self same try by ben alexander.
score was tied 19 all at the time in about the 70th minute, and then mvovo in two simple movements lost us the game.
pray tell what hougaard did to lose us the game? and pray tell which game you are referring to? the games before that we won and drew.
7 Nov 2012, 09:33 am
Obama wins.
Big Bird heaves a huge sigh of relief.
7 Nov 2012, 09:35 am
What time is the game on sat, SA time?
7 Nov 2012, 09:49 am
@Stawm-55: According to the SA Rugby website – Internationals:
Saturday, November 10 2012
16:30 – England vs Fiji
London
16:30 – Wales vs Argentina
Cardiff
16:30 – Scotland vs New Zealand
Edinburgh
Castle Outgoing Tours
19:30 – Ireland vs South Africa
AVIVA Stadium, Dublin
Internationals
22:00 – France vs Australia
Paris
7 Nov 2012, 09:53 am
@stormersboy-52: HM said earlier this week that Taute’s future is at 15. Why keep him at 13 ? It does not make sense. He can stand it at 13 in the case of injuries during a match perhaps, but JdJ is a much better 13 – but: JdJ needs to offload the ball more as mentioned above
7 Nov 2012, 09:54 am
@CharlesM-56:
Thanks!
7 Nov 2012, 09:56 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53: Can’t comment on the missed fielding of the high ball, but the defence of the try Mvovo was covering his channel as there was a man on the outside of Alexander, also the man who missed his channel was Alberts who was to slow to catch a prop! And the man who did make the tackle (J Krugar) was too weak to bring him down. I personally blame poor performance of the final minutes to Todd McFarland the defence coach, he sucks, Bulls never had a strong defence, their tactic was always to out score the other team.
Hougard hasn’t done anything bad at wing (except the miss tackle on beal that led to a try ) but he hasn’t shown any attacking potential either.
Rather use the man as ‘n impact reserve for the last 20-30min. Hougard has played his best test rugby of the bench.
7 Nov 2012, 10:23 am
@cane-54: Obama must have been reading this thread – apparently his 1st tweet after the win was “four more years”
7 Nov 2012, 10:30 am
368.Heavens Game said:
2 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
@Jeraldjay-362: So Obama can talk the talk when it comes to “Foreign Relations”… But what has he done other than continue or worsen the USA status quo globally…
- China doesn’t respect him
- Afghanistan is more of a farkup than it ever was under George W
- USA’s relationship with Britain and Europe has not improved and has declined especially with the former, stemming back to his cowardly labeling of BP as “British” when it is majority owned by US shareholders, in order to pass the buck regarding the oil pollution farkup…
and much, much more….
His only saving grace has been having Hilary Clinton as his Secretary of State…
Actually I reckon I could almost guarantee that Romney will be the next President…
370.Jeraldjay said:
2 Nov 2012, 14:15 pm
@Heavens Game-368:
Fark HG.
You “almost guaranteed” that the Sharks would win the Currie Cup and look what happened….
So based on your recent prophecies I will put my money on Obama.
371.gunther said:
2 Nov 2012, 14:17 pm
@Jeraldjay-370:
Everything HG owns is in the pawnshop.
7 Nov 2012, 10:43 am
@Jeraldjay-61: bwahahahahahahahaha farking Mormon “almost guaranteed” rubbish
7 Nov 2012, 10:51 am
@Jeraldjay-61:
Ja I remember that kuk post
Idiot
7 Nov 2012, 10:53 am
@trupisero-60:
Obama’s only a half black.
7 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
@David-64:
He’s a non-black.
7 Nov 2012, 10:55 am
@David-64:
Or, as I read on Facebook this morning, an “un-black”
7 Nov 2012, 10:57 am
@Dawn-66: You guys are all wrong, he be coloured!
7 Nov 2012, 11:00 am
@Dawn-65:
Chris Rock reckons he’s white.
7 Nov 2012, 11:03 am
@goodstuff-67: Him middle name Hussein – Kaapse slams?
7 Nov 2012, 11:04 am
@Jeraldjay-61:
HG wrong AGAIN.
How many times this year already?
I wonder what it is that gives him such arrogance, surely not results?
7 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
Ja let Morne Steyn carry tackle bags whole tour!
7 Nov 2012, 11:15 am
@Sasuke-71: no ways – let him BE the tackle bag
7 Nov 2012, 11:23 am
@trupisero-72:
Agreed!
7 Nov 2012, 11:27 am
@trupisero-69:
Kaapse slams?
7 Nov 2012, 11:40 am
@CharlesM-57: Couldn’t agree more. It makes no sense to blood him there as his inexperience could damage rather than build his confidence.
It’s not like Juan won’t be up to the Irish midfield.
Sometimes that oke just doesn’t make sense, I tell you.
7 Nov 2012, 11:42 am
@Stawm-70: Hg never lets facts stand in the way of an argument.
In fact if everyone was pro Romney on this site he would have taken the Obama position.
It’s just what he does. Try and stir up trouble. Unfortunately his game is up.
Mary Mary quite contrary.
7 Nov 2012, 11:47 am
Anyway the team will be announced at 14h30 today.
That should clear up some uncertainty and start a flood of new debate/complaints
7 Nov 2012, 11:54 am
slow day…
7 Nov 2012, 12:02 pm
The last US election was a referendum proving America is, collectively, not racist…
This US election should have been a referendum proving that America is not stupid…
However…The United States of America has just beyond all doubt proven that they are collectively farken stoopid…
America’s Nero…
Fiddler on the White House roof while modern day Rome burns…
7 Nov 2012, 12:04 pm
@coma-51: I agree Jean de Villiers is the new Smit. Said so a few days back. Our Premier centres going into the WC will surely be 12 Frans Steyn 12 Jan Serfontein and 13 Jacques Fourie 13 Francois Houghaard/ Juan de Jongh. I believe Houghaard has great ability to make a good 13. He is not so hot on the wing and is a useless scrummie.
With backup talent such as Mapoe, Tim Whitehead, Rob Ebersohn and possibly others I sure hope JDV isnt still around come RWC time.
7 Nov 2012, 12:06 pm
@CharlesM-57: Agree Taute above Zane Kirchener any day and Juan de Jongh is a better centre in my opinion. Houghaard provides cover for centre as well.
7 Nov 2012, 12:08 pm
@goodstuff-59: No-one seems to recognise it but Houghaards best position to me is actually 13. When he played there for the Bulls he was dynamite. he has a mean step and can create havoc at centre.
7 Nov 2012, 12:20 pm
@Slumtown-82:
I’ve also wondered about that. He’s far better in open play, a bit like Willie du Plessis.
7 Nov 2012, 12:24 pm
@David-83: You mean Willie Le Roux?
@Slumtown-80: Jaque Fourie will be over the hill in 2015.
7 Nov 2012, 12:24 pm
@David-83: Yeah the first time I really sat up and took notice of him was when he was playing 13 for the Bulls. He has a devastating step which means he can probably dodge a player or two in midfield and if not he has a good offload and the strength to take a tackle and recycle. Furthermore his tackling is generally very solid and he is a commited player with speed to burn. Why he isnt being considered here is a mystery to me considering Juan de Jongh is the only other decent 13 with Fourie out.
Adding to that the fact that once fit, Pietersen and Habana will undoubtedly form the wing pairing with players like Rhule and Mvovo in line as subs Houghaard will be out of the Bok setup at this rate and that would be a tragedy – he really has X Factor.
7 Nov 2012, 12:25 pm
heymaker continuing to say one thing and then do another…
can you imagine what is going through juan’s mind…? heymaker seems to be doing all he can at stuffing up juan’s confidence royally… (let’s hope juan doesn’t let this affect him) but when and if he does get a start knowing that heymaker would rather have a retreaded rookie fullback who woud rather be 15 playing at 13 instead of him the pressure will be way more than it needs to be and then if he does make a mistake heymaker will drop him without a second thought…
sheesh… heymaker’s man-management leaves lot to be desired… sounds like it’s worse that rudie staaldraad…!!
very frustrating…
let’s se what the teamsheet says at 14:30…
7 Nov 2012, 12:25 pm
@Heavens Game-79:
Lead balloon post of the year
7 Nov 2012, 12:27 pm
@Slumtown-85:
I’d like to see the bulls play him at fullback next year.
In fact I’ve sent a strongly worded email to them.
7 Nov 2012, 12:27 pm
@Sasuke-84: fark me if Jacques Fourie will be over the hill then Jean de Villiers will be a pensioner lol. Seriously though – Jean has 2 years on Jacques. I definitely think Jacques is going to make a charge for the next WC – at 32 he wont exactly be dead and buried. If he can maintain his pace why the hell not?
7 Nov 2012, 12:28 pm
@Heavens Game-79: Lol, Romney is just another rich **** who wants power as his next “must have” item. And by the way, it’s the republican vote that is considered the stupid one, they were the idiots that voted for Bush in the 2nd term, not the majority who voted for Obama.
Hicks, hillbillies and re tards.
7 Nov 2012, 12:30 pm
@Slumtown-85: He will be the back up scrummie and wing on the bench. His defence is probably his only weakness in the 13 position. It is the hardest position to defend at in the backline. I am not talking about his one on one tackling/defence (which is great), I am talking about his reading of the play and when to drift and when to rush up and in. This is something that Jaque Fourie was very good at.
7 Nov 2012, 12:31 pm
@goodstuff-90: Only republican worth a damn is Ron Paul, but those hicks are too stupid too choose him, he would have been the only republican to get the Democrat vote needed to beat Obama. But like I said, FOX and the hillbillies don’t like smart people.
7 Nov 2012, 12:34 pm
Hougard at 13 is a pipe dream, bulls have so many centres in the under 19/21 ranks coming through that some have jumped ship all ready (Sadie).
But I think Hougard would defend even worse at 13 than Taute, Beal ghosted him on that channel on the try line.
7 Nov 2012, 12:37 pm
@goodstuff-93: how many other tackles has Houghaard missed that stick in your mind? I dont recall any. I´m sure he has missed a couple but in general his defence is pretty solid
7 Nov 2012, 12:45 pm
why are you guys looking for and manufacturing players and reasons to play 13 when we have juan de jongh ready willing and able and in great form…?? i really don’t understand…
could you tell us why you would prefer hougaard over de jongh…? how many games did he play at 13 and how long ago…?
or at least if you want someone else go for someone who has played there regularly recently and shown some sort of form in the position…
you guys confuse me as much as heymaker…
7 Nov 2012, 12:46 pm
@Slumtown-89: Lol I believe next year will be Jean’s final year of international rugby.
He needs to play competitive rugby again. Playing in Japan wont get him selected for the Bok squad. I am all for him returning if he is up for it and if he is on form. He needs to return to super rugby or european league atleast but he cant realistically expect to be selected if he is playing in Japan.
7 Nov 2012, 12:47 pm
@ufo-86:
Yes lets see what team he selects at 14h30.
But it is most likely that Juan will be benched and Taute will be 13.
Kirchner is a safe option at 15 ’cause he is solid under the high ball and has a good tactical kicking game especially in those conditions, so I don’t have a major problem with his selection.
But Taute’s position is 15 and he has to compete with Kirchner for that spot. Juan is in the form of his life, why not give the kid a chance.
7 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
@goodstuff-93: Hougard would be a 13 if he was in Australia. problem is that SA has a fixation with big with out brains type of players.
7 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
@ufo-95: lack of depth at 13 and putting Houghaard in his best possible position in my opinion. Each player has his niche. Ruaan Pienaar seems to have been right about him being a decent scrumhalf. Frans Steyn I always knew was a good 12 – he was awful at 10 and not bad at 15. Lambie another case in point – yes he can be a centre or fullback but his real talent shines through at 10. Ditto Houghaard – his best position ive seen him in is 13 – he is extremely talented and would be a waste to let him go due to others insistence on playing him at 11 or 9.
De Jongh should be the current 13 – but Houghaard makes a good backup at the moment – no need to draft Taute in at 13. Thats my point.
7 Nov 2012, 12:50 pm
@goodstuff-92: Isn’t Ron Paul a black drag queen?
7 Nov 2012, 12:51 pm
@Slumtown-94: Yes, but one instance was in the 13 channel. I agree with UFO, JDJ is in great form and a great option at 13.
7 Nov 2012, 12:52 pm
@Slumtown-99: If I recall correctly he has only played Currie Cup games at 13. Is that correct?
7 Nov 2012, 12:53 pm
@mabu-98: exactly – another one being overlooked the whole time is Ebersohn – he has consistently performed at 13. James O Connor and Rob Ebersohn stats in terms of height and weight are identical yet in SA he is considered too small for test rugby. James O connor is one of Australias top players. Go figure.
7 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
@goodstuff-101: yep i agree. Just saying Houghaard will only come into his own at 13.
7 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
cant remember – i seem to think he played some Super Rugby there too.
7 Nov 2012, 12:55 pm
@katman-100: I am assuming you are joking, because to take that statement searious would imply that you know the names of drag queens, which is…to say the least…upsetting.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ron_Paul
7 Nov 2012, 12:57 pm
@Slumtown-103: Good point.
7 Nov 2012, 12:57 pm
@goodstuff-106: Don’t worry. I know who Ron Paul is. He’s this guy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igQlbesF0zA
7 Nov 2012, 12:58 pm
@goodstuff-93: I reckon he should get a shot at 15 in S15. He has it all and that position could put him in Christian Cullen mould
7 Nov 2012, 12:58 pm
@Sasuke-96: yeah agreed
7 Nov 2012, 13:00 pm
Let’s be honest, last time Hougard showed real x-factor was bits and pieces in this years SR and last year in the 2011 WC against weak 3rd tier rugby nations.
I have not seen any x-factor from him this international season.
I know he has it, but I think HM moving him from SH to wing damaged his confidence.
7 Nov 2012, 13:01 pm
@Slumtown-82: he is too small for centre according to Meyer…
7 Nov 2012, 13:04 pm
@Slumtown-103: one would think the JJ experiment is enough proof that taller players dont always do the job.
7 Nov 2012, 13:05 pm
@Jeraldjay-97:
yeah bud… it is looking that way and if it is I will not be happy but will not take it out on jaco as he does not select himself and has been clear about what he would best like to do…
but heymaker is contradicting himself once more… which is very frustrating… but as you say… let’s wait and have a look-see what team sheet he pins on the board…
@Slumtown-99:
oh okay… missed that you were punting hougie as back up… happy that you would have juan start…
unfortunately for him… hougie’s versatility is hurting his bok career… i would prefer to persist with him at 9 over ruan… give him full backing and let his confidence grow in that position which I believe is his best… but because he is not fully backed by the coach he is too nervous and frenetic when he does play there…
but if not 9 i would always have him on the bench cause he can cover for every single backline position…
7 Nov 2012, 13:06 pm
@katman-108: No, that is a dubbed over Ron Paul.
This is Ron Paul:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NRONC4WYF0&feature=related
7 Nov 2012, 13:07 pm
@Slumtown-103:
i reckon o connor is THE most talented and complete current rugby player in world rugby…
7 Nov 2012, 13:07 pm
@Transformation-112: Meyer needs to start defining what small is, because Brussow is much stronger than Spies. ive seen Hougard bouncing players on attack at will, nogal.
7 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
@Slumtown-82: When did Hougaard play 13 for the Bulls?
In any case, there are too much talent at the Bulls for Ludeke / Pine Pienaar to consider playing him there.
7 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
@ufo-116: Even more than Carter. Thats a tall order!
7 Nov 2012, 13:10 pm
@Transformation-112: read my post 103
7 Nov 2012, 13:10 pm
@goodstuff-111:
agree with that hundred percent… hougie does’t know what is expected of him anymore…
pity… he’s a helluva player and i loved the attitude he used to display play but doesn’t seem to any more…
he should actually come down to cape town… seriously…
7 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
@willievz-118: cant remember I think last year
7 Nov 2012, 13:12 pm
@mabu-113: yeah and Taute at 13 isnt exactly going too well either.
7 Nov 2012, 13:14 pm
@goodstuff-111: To be honest that is exactly why he hasnt shown x factor – he is being played in the wrong positions. He is a disaster at srumhalf in my opinion. I have yet to see one complete game were he doesnt stuff it up at scrumhalf. He´s ok as a wing for sure but I still believe each player has a unique positino where they excel. Some players are so good they can do well in a number of positions but all have 1 position where they excel. My belief is Houghaards position where he would excel is 13.
7 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-119:
yeah i know… but that’s my opinion…
if o connor was a kiwi playing behind their forwards he would be a true legend… his kicking may not be as consistent as carter’s… (but neither has carter’s been as consistent as it used to be..) but i reckon he tops carter in everything else except maturity… and as he matures, watch out world…
but aus is also stuffing him from pillar to post so he can’t consistently show what he can do at 10… i’d pick him over cooper, beale, barnes and whoever else… every single time…
7 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
@ufo-121: Howzit Ufo,
Long time!
I am increasingly viewing Hougaard as a bench player who offers a team more value if he plays the last 25 minutes, be it 9 or 11.
7 Nov 2012, 13:16 pm
@mabu-113: By taller I presume you mean bigger as well. Just think back to to when we won the WC in 2007. We had some farking monsters in that team. Bulls won 3 Super titles feelding big blokes. So to me the size argument holds a certain amount of water unless you crowbar a player into position ala Taute just because of it. Do not agree with that.
7 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
@ufo-125: Fair comment.
7 Nov 2012, 13:19 pm
@willievz-126: Howzit Willa! I also see him as an impact on the international stage but will still start him at S15 level at 9 and have him work through his kicking issues.
7 Nov 2012, 13:19 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-127:
Butch at 10 made a huge difference to the overall physicality of our backline and our team. The opposition 10,12 and forwards were very reluctant to attack his channel.
7 Nov 2012, 13:20 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-129: Hoesit Kwagga,
I think most international teams will start him at 9.
7 Nov 2012, 13:20 pm
Found this in the Times. Fark…
Judging from the Springboks’ last training session, Meyer could spring a few surprises when he announces his team later today. It might have been testing back-up ability, but for long periods during the session, Morne Steyn was the pivot, Zane Kirchner ran at outside centre (a position in which he gained test experience) and surprisingly, Lambie was at fullback throughout the training run. It was generally accepted that Lambie would be in the 10 jumper on Saturday.
Another interesting move was young Jaco Taute on the right wing and JP Pietersen on the left. The two wingers chased the endless up-and-unders that Steyn sent skywards throughout the two-hour session.
The forwards should be as expected, although Willem Alberts was used exclusively as a lock forward towards the latter part of the practice.
It now remains to be seen what Meyer dishes up but the backline could look like this on Saturday:
15 – Lambie; 14 – Taute; 13 – Kirchner; 12 – De Villiers; 11 – JP Pietersen; 10 – Steyn; 9 – Pienaar
Geoff FitzGerald
Dublin
7 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
@Finfan-132: We’ll know in a little over an hour I guess……
7 Nov 2012, 13:23 pm
@willievz-126:
howzit willie…? yeah indeed…
yeah… i think you’re right, he does offer great value off the bench and his explosiveness off the mark is magnified when he goes on against tired legs… he’s a great little player… will be a pity if he’s never allowed to fulfill his potential…
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-128:
cheers bud…
7 Nov 2012, 13:23 pm
When ever I think of test matches between Ireland and the Boks their are two games that comes to mind.
1. We played our 100th game against them in our old jersey and shorts without any sponsored branding on them and lost that game. It was Frans Steyn debut.
2. When Paul Honiss told John Smit to talk to his players and then allow the tap kick which lead to a try to win the game.
7 Nov 2012, 13:24 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-129:
agree with that too…
7 Nov 2012, 13:26 pm
@willievz-118: I remember in 2009 in the currie cup Hougaard playing 13. He might of played there recently but i cant recall when.
7 Nov 2012, 13:27 pm
@Finfan-132: O kak hier kom moeilikeid.
7 Nov 2012, 13:28 pm
@Jeraldjay-135: Jake White was the coach of both those Bok teams.
Jake White’s first test in charge of the Boks was against Ireland, in Bloem, playing in white.
The team he chose was an interesting one:
South Africa: G du Toit; B Paulse, M Joubert, W Julies, H Mentz; J van der Westhuyzen, F du Preez; O Du Randt, J Smit, capt, E Andrews, B Botha, V Matfield, S Burger, P Wannenburg, J Cronje.
Replacements: H Shimange, CJ van der Linde, Q Davids, G Britz, B Conradie, J Fourie, B Russell.
7 Nov 2012, 13:29 pm
@Finfan-132: perhaps a 2nd half backline?
7 Nov 2012, 13:32 pm
@Sasuke-84:
Willie D’upe was one of the 4 du Plessis brothers who played for WP.
7 Nov 2012, 13:32 pm
@ufo-125: Trust me, we’d ruin O’Connor’s career in an instant
He’d be on the bench as there’s no space for him. Never getting ahead of Carter even if he does show better form. Nor Dagg, not big enough to play inside centre, unlikely to displace Smith at outside. Maybe we’d give him a run on the wing once in a while but that’s it. He’d have to get used to being a super sub and he’d make quite a fine one.
But the Blues would love to have him join
Then he could join the ABs in 2016
7 Nov 2012, 13:35 pm
@David-141: oh my bad. before my time
@Jeraldjay-135:
@willievz-139:
yeah… wasn’t the centenary game the one where he got the irish backs up saying they weren’t good enough to make his team…? he should of saved us all the embarrassment and just dunked his face in an egg-mayo sandwich…
he also rested quite a few senior players… and then capped two bok captains in one match..
People look at players like Lambie, Pienaar, Fransie, Hougaard etc and then think THEY (the “kenners”) know what their best positions are.
Why not ask the player where HE wants to play and let him play there. If he is not good enough in that position to play for the Boks, so be it. Don’t look for another position for the player just to get him into the team.
Hougaard has now proved that he is not good enough at SH to be 1st choice SH neither is he good enough at wing to be 1st choice there. Let him go back to the Bulls now and specialize in one of the positions and when he proves that he is the best in HIS preferred position, let him play for the Boks.
Selecting someone because he has the so called “X-factor” is very subjective and recent performances usually are not taken into account.
If Meyer is serious with only selecting players who showed some form, then Hougaard, Morne and Taute should not be named in his team this afternoon. Alberts should only be named as a bench player. Somehow, I doubt that it will happen that way.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-127: do you need big or do you need strong players on the field?
7 Nov 2012, 13:36 pm
@Finfan-132:
Farking useless kick-and-chase gameplan.
Bloody dinosaur.
7 Nov 2012, 13:38 pm
@willievz-139:
Yes, when they play in SA it is the only time we play in an alternate strip.
I had a look at the last 4 games played in Ireland and we lost 3 of them. We won the last by a narrow 23-21.
Before then the only other game we lost was in 1965.
7 Nov 2012, 13:39 pm
@gonzo-142:
maybe… but carter does get injured and also needs to be rested sometimes too…
jk gonna take the blues to the playoffs… watch…!
have a bet with Transformation about that… hope you haven’t forgotten Trans…!!
jk shown great maturity, confidence and character by signing up a great management team…
7 Nov 2012, 13:40 pm
@nama1-145:
great post and point…!
@mabu-146: Depends on what your flavour is. Do you want a big far t to impress the kids or a strong one to impress the connoissuer…..hehehe
To answer your question, depending on the position and role of the player it might call for one or the other or a combination of both.
@Finfan-132: holy **** that is a train smash of note waiting to happen. If he´s planning an afternoon of up n unders ala Morne Steyn chased up by fullbacks and tall blokes like JP, Taute, Kirchener and Lambie we are in deep poo.
@ufo-144: I think he said the Irish forwards wont make Maties 3rd team or something like that.
@ufo-144: He also played Habana at 13, which was terrible.
7 Nov 2012, 13:42 pm
@nama1-145:
@ufo-150:
great point about players choosing where to play…
i don’t think hougie has proven he can’t cut it at 9 because he has not been backed 100 percent there…
7 Nov 2012, 13:42 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-151: But having said that it does not mean I will exclude a guy just based on size. Habanero was a small bloke when he started out and gradually bulked up.
7 Nov 2012, 13:43 pm
@nama1-145:
So, Vermaak as bench 9?
7 Nov 2012, 13:44 pm
@ufo-154: Watched a TV program the other night where he said he would prefer 9 and admitted that his form went for a dip and is working hard to regain it so he is fulle aware of his shortcomings. Hope he sorts it out though as he will be vital when the next WC rolls around.
7 Nov 2012, 13:44 pm
@Sasuke-153:
that’s right…!!
7 Nov 2012, 13:46 pm
@Finfan-132: What an awful team. Even a plank like Meyer wouldnt select that… Would he?
7 Nov 2012, 13:47 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-157:
good to hear that and good to know he’s willing to work on it… as i said i would prefer to pick him at 9… so hope he succeeds… you’re right we will need him in top form at the wc…
7 Nov 2012, 13:49 pm
team out
7 Nov 2012, 13:50 pm
@Finfan-132: link to article pls? It seems a bit unbelievable.
7 Nov 2012, 13:51 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-159: I agree, a terrible side that. I reckon he got cold feet and would rather start the test with his blue-eyed boy at 10 and at least know what to expect. But why the fark move Kirchner to outside centre?? I can only think that Taute again didn’t impress at 13 during the previous training sessions.
7 Nov 2012, 13:57 pm
@nama1-145: Agreed. Hougie should sit bench for the Boks and should be considered as back up scrumhalf first and then back up wing second.
7 Nov 2012, 13:58 pm
Looking forward to the tour… Scotland to go down by 40+
Blog me this….
HM mentioned that he would have wanted to be involved earlier to get to know the younger players better….To have a better grasp on the debth of the national setup.
Here’s a thought…… why dont the boks have a tour to the US and Canada after the European tour?
HM can take a bok B team (not handing out caps) and feature the best next 15 players who are not currently in the elite bok squad/team.
This team can even feature fringe squad players, such as Malherbe, Aplon, Daniel, Bresler etc. and european based fringe players like Mostert, Mujati, van Niekerk ect.. Or scrap that idea and just have a B team with promising youngsters..
Pollard
Kitshoff
Steph du Toit
Serfontein
Van Zyl
Rhule
etc
etc
7 Nov 2012, 13:59 pm
@Sasuke-164:
I agree there is no point in having more than one utility back…
7 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
@grant10-161: Where?
7 Nov 2012, 14:06 pm
@Jeez-165: Could work. OR why not go to Second Tier European nations e.g. Romania, Russia, Georgia, Portugal. Save you the trip West.
7 Nov 2012, 14:06 pm
South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.
7 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
Morne Steyn on the bench bleh…..think i just puked on my laptop.
7 Nov 2012, 14:11 pm
@Jeraldjay-169: I dont agree with Hougaard at 11, Taute at 13 and Morne Steyn on the bench.
Didnt Meyer say Morne Steyn is not the type of bench player he is looking for?
7 Nov 2012, 14:14 pm
@David-156:
For now Hougie is there already…but don’t select him as your starting wing then.
Play him of the bench.
7 Nov 2012, 14:16 pm
@goodstuff-115: Ja, I’m only yanking your chain, because that Bad Lipreading stuff is so funny.
7 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
@Sasuke-171:
I’ll stick with Hougaard at 11. Let him settle in that position. Remeber he has played alot of rugby with Morne at 10 so the wings haven’t seen any ball.
I rate the guy ’cause he offers something different.
JDJ in place of Taute is a no brainer. Only HM can explain that one. His inform and will be playing next to his normal partner.
Morne Steyn is on the bench just because of sentiment. Jantjies had an excellent game against the AB’s under extremely difficulty circumstances.
7 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-159:
It looks like a last 20 min rearranged side as a test for England.
7 Nov 2012, 14:27 pm
@nama1-172:
I agree. He’s a good bench backline replacement.
7 Nov 2012, 14:31 pm
@Sasuke-171: That idiot spouts any kind of BS to asage the journos. Taute should play 15, why persist in messing with his experience at test level?
7 Nov 2012, 14:37 pm
@goodstuff-177: Because HM believes in a big and strong 13.
Regardless of whether or not he can defend in that channel.
He is happy to overlook the 13 of the best defensive team in the S15 and replace him with a bigger player.
7 Nov 2012, 14:52 pm
@willievz-178: I am starting to think other reasons also apply.
7 Nov 2012, 14:59 pm
@Sasuke-168:
Or perhaps just a bok barbarians team with all the best club based players…