Lambie gets his break
7 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, reports Pat Lambie will start at flyhalf against Ireland, while Morne Steyn is still in the mix.
Lambie emerged as a strong competitor for the flyhalf berth with an impressive Super Rugby campaign and commanding performances in the Currie Cup. Initially seen primarily as a fullback, Lambie now has a chance to advance his cause to play in his preferred position at pivot.
With Heyneke Meyer committed to settling on a deputy for Johan Goosen for the 2013 season onward, Lambie will know he has been handed the inside lane in that race.
Steyn comes onto the bench in what can only be ascribed to Meyer’s fears around Lambie’s tactical aptitude. Steyn was dropped from the match 22 for the home leg of the Rugby Championship, with Meyer saying he didn’t have the attributes to warrant his retention as an impact player.
However, Meyer has made consistent references to Steyn’s tactical prowess, and was forthright in his reasons for picking Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies.
‘I don’t believe in a pecking order so I won’t say Elton was second behind Johan Goosen [from the Soweto Test]. I believe in horses for courses,’ Meyer said.
‘I just felt I didn’t want to be in a position like we were in Soweto when Goosen went off injured in the first 10 minutes and then have to replace him with a youngster who is inexperienced. Morne has 40-odd Tests and has played on the year-end tour before, so he is an insurance policy. Elton will get his chance at the right time. As far as Pat goes, I want to see what he can do. He has really impressed me recently and his goal-kicking has been superb in difficult conditions, he is in the zone, which is what ultimately got him the start.’
Elsewhere Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw have overcome injuries to start, but this is not the case for Gurthro Steenkamp, who picked up a knock playing for Toulouse at the weekend.
Hooker Schalk Brits is involved in the match 22 for the first time in four years, edging out Chiliboy Ralepelle. ‘Chili has been injured a lot this year. Scrummaging is so important here and Schalk Brits has been in superb form. Chili will never let you down, but you want an impact from the bench and with most of the games being won in the last 10 minutes, we’ve really lacked someone who can come on and make the difference. Schalk is just a better impact player,’ Meyer said.
The bench has a dynamic look about it with the industrious and abrasive Flip van der Merwe and Marcell Coetzee included, while Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo have the aptitude to exploit the space that will open up in the final quarter.
The forecast is for cold but clear conditions at kick-off on Saturday. Ireland announce their team on Thursday and are expected to name skipper Paul O’Connell and experienced prop Cian Healy in their run-on side.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

569 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
7 Nov 2012, 13:45 pm
Kirchner at 15 and Taute at 13…lol
7 Nov 2012, 13:47 pm
Farkit man….
damn, moer and bliksem!
no JDJ….criminal
Ja whatever, this guy clearly doesn’t understand backline play at all.
Boks by 4
Hougie getting a free ride at wing. Taute has shown he is not a 13 and will make his name totie again. Play him at fullback HM and give JDJ his chance ffs. Morne Steyn leaped frogged Jantjies again? ****** LOL ek se.
7 Nov 2012, 13:48 pm
Can someone explain to me the whole 23 players in the squad thing?
7 Nov 2012, 13:49 pm
4 and 5 combo the one to take us forward. Like the bench as well but not to keen on the backline. This backline will beat the Irish but battle against Aus NZ
7 Nov 2012, 13:50 pm
@Bagel-5: extra prop forward so that they don’t have to do uncontested scrums.
7 Nov 2012, 13:50 pm
Should have been De Jongh at 13 and Taute at 15. and Jantjies on the bench. Boks by 1. **** you Meyer.
7 Nov 2012, 13:51 pm
De Jongh’s name has beem left out Ryan !!@Bagel-5: A whole frontrow needs to be on the bench
7 Nov 2012, 13:52 pm
@CharlesM-9: been left out
@Bagel-5:
There’s a mistake. No 20 is missing. There should be another backline player with the 5 forwards.
sheesh…
juan not even on the bench…!!
no man… heymaker is just plain wrong…!!
he’s messing with the minds of players who don’t deserve to be messed with…
hope jaco has a good game though…
7 Nov 2012, 13:53 pm
The fact that HM give players a chance that are out of form to play themself “into form” is farking ridiculous. JW did the same with De Wet Barry and Marius Joubert and only injury opened the door for Jaque Fourie (the rest is history). HM pluk ‘n lat vir sy eie gat.
@CharlesM-10: Ja man he’s gone and done it again. Taute at 13. Don’t know what his problem is with JDJ.
@CharlesM-9: Okay so Ryan has corrected his mistake.
Did HM not say that Steyn is not regarded as an impact player ? Will Elton carry tackle bags during the rest of the tour ?
7 Nov 2012, 13:54 pm
APOLOGIES….!!!
didn’t see t…
7 Nov 2012, 13:54 pm
The return of Morne Steyn, I bet Lambie wont even finish the 1st half
7 Nov 2012, 13:55 pm
@stormersboy-14: SIZE as always. I suppose he did not watch the Currie Cup final !! (neither the video of the test with Taute at centre).
M Steyn on bench?????
Nee Vok ek raak mal!
@CharlesM-15:
oh… phew…!!
thought i was going crazy…!!
I give up on this twit.
7 Nov 2012, 13:58 pm
The fear of JdJ scoring and dancing like doos a behind the post must’ve cracked Taute the nod
7 Nov 2012, 13:58 pm
gotta feel for young jantjies too…!!
7 Nov 2012, 13:59 pm
@grant10-19: Very disappointing !! I hope Lambie isn’t moved to 15 to accommodate Steyn in the 2nd half. He should move Taute to 15 and sub Zane with JdJ in the 2nd half: let’s hope it is not for the last 5 minutes only !!
7 Nov 2012, 14:00 pm
Liefling’s going back to the Bulls next year. Expect him to also jump ahead of Jantjies in the queue…
I’m just hoping De Jongh gets more than 5 mins and Lambie gets his kicking spot on. All we need is one off-form performance for Meyer to stick Steyn back in.
7 Nov 2012, 14:00 pm
@ufo-23: Absolutely !!
7 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
Jantjes???
No Man HM…i am doing my best to try and find some logic….but you not making it easy my man…
7 Nov 2012, 14:03 pm
I have two questions some of you saffers could answer
Has Lambie spent any time at inside or outside center?
Does Pienaar prefer 9 or 10? I remember him complaining about being played out of position a few years back but can’t remember which one it was
7 Nov 2012, 14:03 pm
@ufo-23: Somehow see him playing second fiddle for some time to come unless Goosen really buggers things up and whilst Morne is there he will not crack the starting line up.
7 Nov 2012, 14:04 pm
@gonzo-28: Lambie played centre at the Sharks I believe and Pienaar prefers 9 hence his move accros the water.
7 Nov 2012, 14:04 pm
@gonzo-28: Lambie has played at 12; Pienaar prefers 9
7 Nov 2012, 14:05 pm
@gonzo-28:
Lambie has played a bit of CC rugby at 12. Pienaar wnts to play 9 although I still believe with the right temperament he could have been a great 10
@CharlesM-24: So strange with Taute making it clear he prefers 15 and JDJ in such great form
baffling….
Heinke v d Merwe has joined the side as cover for Guthro
7 Nov 2012, 14:06 pm
@grant10-33: yes Grant it does not make sense !! HM said earlier this week that Taute’s future is at 15
7 Nov 2012, 14:07 pm
Excellent side, although I would’ve liked to see Morne Steyn starting. Meyer is favouring Sharks players – Steyn totally outperformed Lambie when the Bulls played the Sharks in the CC.
Pleased to see that he retained Taute at 13. Give Taute another 20 to 25 tests and he will be the best international in this position.
7 Nov 2012, 14:07 pm
And still the useless Steyn creature manages to find a way into the team, alongside the pathetic Kirchner critter. If Meyer really can’t trust De Jongh and can continue to trust Kirchner at Fullback at the expense of playing Taute out of position, well, somethings gotta give. Fantastic to see Lambie in the pivot position. He’s got his chance to prove himself and I hope he does. With the long rugby season, two good flyhalves are needed (Goose n Lambs). I’ve also been impressed with Schalk Brits, who is mobile enough to get some continuity going in the last 20 minutes. Cmon Boks. Steamroll those Irish dreamers.
7 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
@Finfan-36: lmao
seriously. Give heyneke a break. Elton had his chance. The moment goosen was injured we couldn’t come back. So jantjies although good isn’t the answer. Heyneke is now giving. Lambie a chance. Something most wouldn’t have expected. Give him a chance. Also get rid of Ricardo lobster what a wanker.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-29:
yeah… you are most probably right…
but i think goosen (unfortunately) is going to have a career dogged by injury… i said before s15 that he was not robust enough yet and needed a year (or two) to toughen up… but the indecent haste by naka and heyneke to rush such a prodigious talent has hurt his career too…
said at the same time i would let lambie and jantjies fight it out for the starting spot and let goosen come off the bench, when fit, for the next year or so until he is more robust…
7 Nov 2012, 14:11 pm
In the series against England:
Morne at #10, Jantjies reserve.
In the RC:
Morne at # 10, Jantjies reserve
Goosen at # 10, Jantjies reserve
On EOYT against Ireland:
Lambie at #10, Jantjies not on the bench
What the hell is Jantjies suppose to think?
Now, you guys can try and steer away from it if you want to but imo the only plausible reason for Jantjies and JdJ not being selected is because Meyer believes in a MAXIMUM quota for players of colour. That maximum being THREE. He will select a bunch of them in his squad but when it comes to the 15 players on the field, there are usually only three.
Watch JdJ and Mvovo having to wait until the 77th minute before they go onto the field on Saturday.
This coach id driving a moerse wedge between Bok supporters.
7 Nov 2012, 14:12 pm
@ufo-40: In Naka’s defence, he said at the time that Goosen should not tour with the Boks to NZ and Aus but Meyer ignored his wishes.
@the_rugby_guru-39:
so please explain why does jantjies only get one chance….?
and morne gets unlimited chances…???
@nima boohoo why do you have to look at race you little girl.
7 Nov 2012, 14:13 pm
Morne Steyn should not even have been selected to tour – let alone have a place in the match day 22.
Typical ******** loyalty – he wants his chum to get paid and earn match day & touring fees. Baantjies vir boeties is well and alive….
Good team. Lets hope Lambie get the full 80 minutes. Out of all the flyhalfs we got at the moment he is by far the best. Goosen and Lambie will contesting for Number 10 for many year. Elton is good but no way near in the same league as Lambie and Goosen.
is the word ” bonehead ” allowed ?
7 Nov 2012, 14:14 pm
@CharlesM-42:
true…
but he didn’t exactly give him time to recover fully for the cheetahs… had he rested goosen it would have been very hard for heymaker to select him…
but point taken…
7 Nov 2012, 14:15 pm
@ufo morne has proven himself in the past more than jantjies. Let’s not forget 09. But I agree. I don’t think steyn should be in he side full stop. I also don’t think jantjies is the answer. Also I think jantjies will feature later on in the tour.
7 Nov 2012, 14:15 pm
@ufo-43: HM loves Morne and doesn’t like Jantjies’s hairstyle. What is there to explain??
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All