Lambie gets his break
7 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, reports Pat Lambie will start at flyhalf against Ireland, while Morne Steyn is still in the mix.
Lambie emerged as a strong competitor for the flyhalf berth with an impressive Super Rugby campaign and commanding performances in the Currie Cup. Initially seen primarily as a fullback, Lambie now has a chance to advance his cause to play in his preferred position at pivot.
With Heyneke Meyer committed to settling on a deputy for Johan Goosen for the 2013 season onward, Lambie will know he has been handed the inside lane in that race.
Steyn comes onto the bench in what can only be ascribed to Meyer’s fears around Lambie’s tactical aptitude. Steyn was dropped from the match 22 for the home leg of the Rugby Championship, with Meyer saying he didn’t have the attributes to warrant his retention as an impact player.
However, Meyer has made consistent references to Steyn’s tactical prowess, and was forthright in his reasons for picking Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies.
‘I don’t believe in a pecking order so I won’t say Elton was second behind Johan Goosen [from the Soweto Test]. I believe in horses for courses,’ Meyer said.
‘I just felt I didn’t want to be in a position like we were in Soweto when Goosen went off injured in the first 10 minutes and then have to replace him with a youngster who is inexperienced. Morne has 40-odd Tests and has played on the year-end tour before, so he is an insurance policy. Elton will get his chance at the right time. As far as Pat goes, I want to see what he can do. He has really impressed me recently and his goal-kicking has been superb in difficult conditions, he is in the zone, which is what ultimately got him the start.’
Elsewhere Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw have overcome injuries to start, but this is not the case for Gurthro Steenkamp, who picked up a knock playing for Toulouse at the weekend.
Hooker Schalk Brits is involved in the match 22 for the first time in four years, edging out Chiliboy Ralepelle. ‘Chili has been injured a lot this year. Scrummaging is so important here and Schalk Brits has been in superb form. Chili will never let you down, but you want an impact from the bench and with most of the games being won in the last 10 minutes, we’ve really lacked someone who can come on and make the difference. Schalk is just a better impact player,’ Meyer said.
The bench has a dynamic look about it with the industrious and abrasive Flip van der Merwe and Marcell Coetzee included, while Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo have the aptitude to exploit the space that will open up in the final quarter.
The forecast is for cold but clear conditions at kick-off on Saturday. Ireland announce their team on Thursday and are expected to name skipper Paul O’Connell and experienced prop Cian Healy in their run-on side.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

569 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
7 Nov 2012, 14:16 pm
@nama1-41: I really hope you are wrong but JdJ (especially) and Elton may think so too. Like I said in 15 above, HM said that Morne is no impact player: he is contradicting himself. If JdJ did not score that try in the final of the CC, he might not even have been on the bench. IMO JdJ should be in the starting XV, Nama
7 Nov 2012, 14:17 pm
I would have played;
Taute to 15
JDJ to 13
Coetzee to 7
Alberts bench
Jantjies bench
Mapoe bench
Kirchner out
Steyn out
7 Nov 2012, 14:17 pm
Meyer is trying to outdo RS.
7 Nov 2012, 14:18 pm
@the_rugby_guru-49: Brilliant post!! Like HM, we should never, ever forget how well Morne kicked in 2009.
7 Nov 2012, 14:20 pm
No I just think it’s mornes last chance. He won’t play after this tour
7 Nov 2012, 14:20 pm
@the_rugby_guru-39:
“seriously. Give heyneke a break. Elton had his chance. … Heyneke is now giving. Lambie a chance.”
How long did Elton’s chance last. Would you be OK with it if Lambie gets the same amount of minutes and then thrown to the scrap heap if he does not win the game for the Boks all on his own self?
Taute and Morne should not be in the match 22 even
Hougaard and Alberts should’ve been on the bench.
Ireland to moer this Bok team on Saturday.
7 Nov 2012, 14:21 pm
Jantjes and De Jongh……
sad business I tell you.
7 Nov 2012, 14:21 pm
15 aplon 14 pietersen 13 mapoe 12 jdj 11 rhule 10 kantjies
7 Nov 2012, 14:22 pm
@the_rugby_guru-49:
if he’s gonna be used later in the tour… give him some game time before then to ‘acclimatise’ … he’s not gonna get any time… then get a start under more pressure than he needs to… it alsmot suggests he’s being set up to fail…
heyneke really needs to start being more clear and consistent in his utterances and selections… almost seem that he’s saying whatever people want to hear to shut them up and then just goes and does the opposite…
@Finfan-50:
neither of which should come into an objective selection…
7 Nov 2012, 14:24 pm
agree Lambie was given less playing time than jantjies. I don’t agree with meyers selections completely. But at least give him credit for trying Lambie. Oh wait Lambie is toO white
7 Nov 2012, 14:25 pm
Taute to 15
JdJ to 13
Bench looks a bit iffy as well. Certainly not the strongest bench Ive seen.
7 Nov 2012, 14:25 pm
@the_rugby_guru-60: Shut up troll
7 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
Piss poor selection that excludes JDJ and keeps Kirchner.
The man is love sick on north men ruggas.
JDJ is a better player at 13 than any player currently in SA.
This is pathetic. Boks will still win, but poor selection continues to be HM second biggest enemy, that and his re tardedly outdated game plan!
7 Nov 2012, 14:27 pm
@nama1-41:
7 Nov 2012, 14:28 pm
Keep your fcken panties dry, people. This team is going to obliterate the potato mashers.
anyway… good luck to the players selected… not their fault…
go bokke…!!
@katman. Yes they will.
7 Nov 2012, 14:30 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-22: ja, he’d rather have taute fake tackles in midfield
7 Nov 2012, 14:33 pm
BoK xv.
1 beast
2 duplesis(c)
3 duplessis
4 etzebeth
5 Pete Steph dutoit
6 burger (vc)
7 flouw
8 vermeulen
9 dupreez
10 lambie/goosen
11 habana
12 steyn
13 pietersen
14 rhule
15 taute
Bok xv 2013
7 Nov 2012, 14:33 pm
@katman-65: Yes, but does not bode well for the future when HM cannot see what is sitting on his face!!!!
7 Nov 2012, 14:34 pm
I’ve just realised why JdJ hasn’t been getting game time at 13. He’s on the bench as backup to Jean in case of injury. HM isn’t seriously considering him as a starting 13 option, hence the practice with Kirschner moving to 13.
Kirchner over Ludik??? Taute over Jordaan??? Where is young Reinach??? And Daniel???
HM is clearly unaware that The Sharks got the Team of the Year award.
Sad.
Taute’s defence at outside centre against New Zealand was shocking. Difficult to believe Meyer sees him as a better pick than De Jongh…actually forget that, it’s not all that difficult to believe.
7 Nov 2012, 14:35 pm
taute in the centres again? what a fing joke
7 Nov 2012, 14:35 pm
Watch Earls ghost past Taute at least three times tomorow.
Sjo, HM must be thanking his stars that BOD isn’t there to show Taute for the Apprentice he is.
7 Nov 2012, 14:36 pm
@David-71: lol it just wouldn’t do to play him in his natural position and Taute in his.
7 Nov 2012, 14:37 pm
@goodstuff-63: Good grief, get over yourself. Its not exactly if there is an abundance of talent to go around. If he sticks in a whole team of younsters and untried players and we loose, I bet you will be the first to ***** about that too. Its a well balanced team, we will do well
7 Nov 2012, 14:37 pm
Match 23 is made up of:
Sharks: 7
Bulls: 5
WP (CC champs): 4
Lions: 3
Overseas players: 3
Cheetahs: 1
Vokkit, the Bulls and the Lions have double the amount of players WP, the domestic champions, have in the side.
Hahaha…what a farken joke!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 Nov 2012, 14:38 pm
@CharlesM-51:
How else do you explain Hougaard on the wing or Taute/JJE at 13. I don’t buy into this “they are there because they are bigger” kak. There is something else at work here.
We can’t shy away from it forever.
7 Nov 2012, 14:39 pm
@Big Hit-73: HM must have issues with JDJ’s dance choices, obviously Taute is more of a sakkie sakkie man so there you go.
HM is either:
A: A racist selector!
B: Favouring Transvaal rugby players!
C: ******* stupid!
D: A unapreciated genius who confounds us all!
F: A, B and C (D is false)!
7 Nov 2012, 14:39 pm
WTF, sideshow bob at 15 and Taute at 13, come on Meyer, are you really that in love with steyn that you’d put a rookie international out of position in the 13 channel when you have JDJ available, for fork sakes, pick players in their correct positions and stop ******** around
7 Nov 2012, 14:40 pm
@the_rugby_guru-55: hi, you must not take your nick (self assigned) that seriously, please relax, you don’t know everything regarding HM’s intended plans for his squad.
Morne in the coach’s opinion still has a lot to offer looking at his latest comments.
7 Nov 2012, 14:41 pm
@nama1-41: I am starting to think the same thing.
@nama take of your racial tinted glasses. What a complexed individual you are little girl.
@Mr Black-64:
What else am I to think?
His record in the previous 9 test matches speaks for itself.
@nama1-79:
white is right
7 Nov 2012, 14:42 pm
@goodstuff-80:
7 Nov 2012, 14:43 pm
@nama1-78: Rather use Excel when calculating ratios. You got that all wrong boy.
7 Nov 2012, 14:44 pm
The centre combination of JDV and Taute is not effective, Taute is best suited at fullback not outside centre, although i still prefer Aplon to be at fullback. I am surprised De Jongh isn’t in the starting 15 lineup, I believe he has progressed to a higher level and definitely deserves to be there at outside centre. I don’t think this backline will function so well in terms of the centre combination and the fullback.
Schalk Brits is on the bench, one of the best hookers in the premiership certainly better than Strauss, im not sure why hes on the reserves.
7 Nov 2012, 14:45 pm
@nama1-79: It is his subconcious, it does not trust players of colour. Its like what PDV said about the mechanic.
7 Nov 2012, 14:46 pm
Capebull…Capebull kom in…Capebull …Capebull kom in…
I told you earlier in the week or over the weekend that the Bulls contingent in the team will be more than that of WP.
Now you can see for yourself.
Heyneke Meyer is a freakin joke of a coach.
7 Nov 2012, 14:48 pm
HM’s decision making process (also known as the “horses of courses” method):
Yes = 10
No = 0
1. Is he a Bull? Y/N
2. Is he big? Y/N
3. Is he white? Y/N
4. Is he my type of player? Y/N
5. Was he ever a Bull? Y/N
6. Has he never played for WP? Y/N
7. Is he possible love child? Y/N
Note: Exceptions dependent on feelings day before selection announcement.
7 Nov 2012, 14:49 pm
taute is a quota
7 Nov 2012, 14:50 pm
WHITE IS RIGHT- thats why heyneke is there
regardless of ‘transformation’
regardless of gameplan
regardless of selection
REAGRDLESS OF RESULTS
he will be backed from the hierarchy till the bitter end
its gonna be bitter, brace yourselves
7 Nov 2012, 14:51 pm
@the_rugby_guru-84:
Not as complex as you with all your different nics.
Quota_Sux…. Suffer_Guy…… the_rugby_guru…. etc, etc.
At least I stick with one nic to try and work through my complexities. You are only confusing yourself with all this different names.
You girls a beyond silly. Get it together, ffs.
@nama1-85: keegan got dropped for arno botha, how do you explain that?
7 Nov 2012, 14:54 pm
@the_rugby_guru-84: Nama is a man.
@Finfan-88:
Come again!!!
@Sasuke-90:
Maybe that. That’s more acceptable than, “he likes bigger players.”
@nama1-95: tomatoboy_ralepelle, wynand_killed_elton, boo_habana
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All