Lambie gets his break
7 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, reports Pat Lambie will start at flyhalf against Ireland, while Morne Steyn is still in the mix.
Lambie emerged as a strong competitor for the flyhalf berth with an impressive Super Rugby campaign and commanding performances in the Currie Cup. Initially seen primarily as a fullback, Lambie now has a chance to advance his cause to play in his preferred position at pivot.
With Heyneke Meyer committed to settling on a deputy for Johan Goosen for the 2013 season onward, Lambie will know he has been handed the inside lane in that race.
Steyn comes onto the bench in what can only be ascribed to Meyer’s fears around Lambie’s tactical aptitude. Steyn was dropped from the match 22 for the home leg of the Rugby Championship, with Meyer saying he didn’t have the attributes to warrant his retention as an impact player.
However, Meyer has made consistent references to Steyn’s tactical prowess, and was forthright in his reasons for picking Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies.
‘I don’t believe in a pecking order so I won’t say Elton was second behind Johan Goosen [from the Soweto Test]. I believe in horses for courses,’ Meyer said.
‘I just felt I didn’t want to be in a position like we were in Soweto when Goosen went off injured in the first 10 minutes and then have to replace him with a youngster who is inexperienced. Morne has 40-odd Tests and has played on the year-end tour before, so he is an insurance policy. Elton will get his chance at the right time. As far as Pat goes, I want to see what he can do. He has really impressed me recently and his goal-kicking has been superb in difficult conditions, he is in the zone, which is what ultimately got him the start.’
Elsewhere Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw have overcome injuries to start, but this is not the case for Gurthro Steenkamp, who picked up a knock playing for Toulouse at the weekend.
Hooker Schalk Brits is involved in the match 22 for the first time in four years, edging out Chiliboy Ralepelle. ‘Chili has been injured a lot this year. Scrummaging is so important here and Schalk Brits has been in superb form. Chili will never let you down, but you want an impact from the bench and with most of the games being won in the last 10 minutes, we’ve really lacked someone who can come on and make the difference. Schalk is just a better impact player,’ Meyer said.
The bench has a dynamic look about it with the industrious and abrasive Flip van der Merwe and Marcell Coetzee included, while Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo have the aptitude to exploit the space that will open up in the final quarter.
The forecast is for cold but clear conditions at kick-off on Saturday. Ireland announce their team on Thursday and are expected to name skipper Paul O’Connell and experienced prop Cian Healy in their run-on side.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

569 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
7 Nov 2012, 16:06 pm
@Finfan-161:
Howzit Fin.
I see you once again shooting your load without digesting what the poster has said.
He is talking about Andries Coetzee not Marcell.
7 Nov 2012, 16:06 pm
@ufo-193:
Look I rate Juan De Jongh, but he is starting to become a touch over-rated with some people on here calling Heyneke Meyer racist for not selecting him.
I’m just pointing out that he is not the perfect player and there are other reasons he may not have been selected to start other than racism.
7 Nov 2012, 16:07 pm
@grant10-199: For sure. In the end the selections up front is most important. For example, Gerhard vd Heever has a super rugby winners medal and a Currie Cup winners medal at two different Provinces.
7 Nov 2012, 16:08 pm
@katman-187:
“I would have preferred Taute at 15, but I’d have him at 13 any day of the week. And yes, ahead of De Jongh and Mapoe.”
Well, you must go and coach the Lions then because clearly Mitchell knows vokkol.
Selecting Coetzee ahead of Taute at full back.
Selecting Mapoe ahead of Taute at outside center.
Maybe you are the missing link in the Lion’s coaching staff.
7 Nov 2012, 16:08 pm
@Horings-171:
Im not a stormers supporter… I just dont know why Taute is rated so highly at 15 and he’s no better than De Jong at 13 either… Aplon even as a utility back offers more at 15 than Taute imo.
But that being said,I dont believe SA has a world class 15 at the moment, so even though picking Taute, Aplon or Ludik could be an improvement, its nothing to get excited about…
SA havent produced a great 15 since Andre Joubert…
7 Nov 2012, 16:10 pm
@Jeraldjay-201: Andries Coetzee is somewhere in Johannesburg or probably tanning on a beach in Plett, so can’t be considered as a replacement for Zane. Marcell is in Ireland but IMHO won’t be a good choice as a replacement for Zane either.
@Kaizan-200:
i don’t think anyone is calling him a perfect player… but he is a better centre than jaco and is in better form at 13 at the moment too…
when heyneke was appointed he said the main criteria he would select on is ‘form’…
yet he picks jaco who is a fullback and did not have a good game when he did play 13 for the boks… over the form 13 in the country…
strange ways indeed…!!
@Horings-198: I would of retained Kirchner at 15…..Taute needs to do more to crack that starting position imo….
JDJ should be a shoo in at 13….It actually makes no rugby sense to me at all to not start with him…..in fact it is highly confusing to almost everyone across the board…..
As for Hougaard at 11…..Rhule is still very inexperienced and Mvovo has had an up and down season…..so I dont have issues with that selection….anyway, Habana will be back….
I am not happy with Taute at 13…..
And why the fark M Steyn…..the mot bloody unlikely impact player possible….
7 Nov 2012, 16:11 pm
@nama1-196: I think that HM is too stubborn to acknowledge his errors in previous selection unless he can somehow twist things in the media and take some credit for the previously ommited player’s improvement ala Lambie.
7 Nov 2012, 16:12 pm
@Jeez-205:
I would say Percival was a vital component to our success in France 2007.
7 Nov 2012, 16:12 pm
@katman-194:
You don’t have the authority here, boy.
“Get the fck out of here” nogal…
You are funny…
I take it you don’t really have a good rugby reason WHY he is in the team.
I’ll stick with my theory then.
7 Nov 2012, 16:16 pm
@Kaizan-202:
When you compare super rugby and cc form a youngster and relatively small player like Jordaan would make the squad ahead of de Jong, but thats not to say De Jong could offer the boks more at 13 than Taute… Taute is picked for all the right reasons, but he’s not living up to the expectation as a international 13 at the mo imo… and after de jongs squad selection for the past few years probably deserves a shot with his provincial center partner…
I hope Frans Steyn and JOrdaan combines well next year… as a pare they could be knocking hard to become the next settled center combination… In the long run I cant see HM being satisfied with the JDV FS combination…JDV is terrible at 13… As for JDV and De Jong… theyve got more to prove imo…
7 Nov 2012, 16:19 pm
@Kaizan-202:
The only reason you’d select Taute and De Villiers as a combo, is when they compliment each-others strengths.
Fact is, De Jongh has been the form 13 in RSA this year, like Etsebeth has been the form lock. Now, the only reason you don’t select form is when a solid partnership was formed – think Andries Bekker’s form in 2010, yet still having to play from the bench because of Matfield and Bakkies’ combination. Matfield I rate as the best no. 5 lock in the modern era, but that’s besides the point.
De Villiers and Taute is anything but a solid combo. FACT. De Villiers is hopelessly out of form, nearing John Smit’s proportions, and Taute is a 15. Now, like Etsebeth deserves to be there at 4, De Jongh deserves to be there at 13.
7 Nov 2012, 16:20 pm
@Kaizan-202:
How on earth does JdJ “become a touch over-rated” just because people question HM’s motives for not selecting him?
7 Nov 2012, 16:20 pm
@ufo-207: I definitely agree he should be starting ahead of Jaco. I think Meyer has started Taute for size and defensive reasons, especially when you consider they will soon be up against Manu tuilagi…. I would still prefer JDJ, but I don’t think Meyer is racist because he doesn’t share my view.
Some posters on here (skopdiekan and a few others) were saying pretty much that JDJ was the perfect player yesterday.
Personally I prefer Jordaan to De Jongh.
7 Nov 2012, 16:21 pm
At least our loose trio is better than the one selected in 2006.
SA team vs Ireland in 2006:
South Africa: B Fortuin; J Pretorious, B Habana, J de Villiers, F Steyn; A Pretorious, R Januarie; L Sephaka, J Smit (capt), CJ van der Linde; J Ackerman, A van den Berg, D Rossouw, J Smith, P Spies.
Replacements: C Ralepelle, BJ Botha, J Muller, J Cronje, R Pienaar, W Olivier, JP Pietersen.
7 Nov 2012, 16:21 pm
@nama1-211: There is simply no merit in selecting a fullback, who on previous 2 occasions were really kak games at outside centre, ahead of an experience outside centre. HM is really destroying Jaco’s confidence by playing him out of position at the highest level. Jaco can’t be feeling confident given the ease with which he was beaten by the outside backs of the ABS.
7 Nov 2012, 16:23 pm
@Jeez-212: Couldn’t agree more… I think Frans Steyn and Jordaan may end up becoming the center combo for the boks one day. (If Meyer gets over his fear of selecting small players that is)…. Either that, or maybe even JP at 13, with Jordaan moving to the wing.
Jordaan is something special. The new Danie Gerber… There are excerpts in the bible that spoke of Jordaan. His coming was foretold.
7 Nov 2012, 16:23 pm
Ok fine HM do your thing
i just hope it works out this time cause it hasnt so far
goosen as our first choose fh is still the only thing u cant reali justify
i can see why you’d want tuate over jdj but i dont agree with it
i would have had jantjies on the bench as well
but goosen as talented as he may be should not be starting at test level at this moment in his career
looks like poor resource management to me
7 Nov 2012, 16:24 pm
@nama1-214: Some people were saying that JDJ is so good, that the only possible explanation for his non-selection was that Meyer must be a closet racist.
7 Nov 2012, 16:25 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-213: I completely agree mate.
JDJ is a good player, but his non-selection is NOT down to racism. That is nonsense.
@Jeez-212:
“I hope Frans Steyn and JOrdaan combines well next year… as a pare they could be knocking hard to become the next settled center combination…”
Wouldn’t that make a mockery of the claim that JdJ is “too small.”
Jordaan ain’t no Taute, is he? (in terms of size)
@nama1-214: Dry your panties, Nama. Your boy’s on the bench. That’s not worth stoning trucks for.
7 Nov 2012, 16:28 pm
HM has been quite the destroyer of confidences lately:
Jantjes, JDJ, Lambie, Vermeulen, Deon, Pat, Bresler, Willie, Andries – Bekker and Coetzee, Hougaard, Pienaar, Mvovo and maybe a few others. Shame, I think we’re screwed.
7 Nov 2012, 16:28 pm
@Kaizan-218: This reminds me of every young Argintinean forward being given the “new Maradonna” label. I have seen Jordaan’s pace, but I cannot see him given the space to use it at international level. I still think Serfontein is the real deal. He outshone Jordaan, Rhule and others at U20 level (although he is U19). Just a pity he did not get his chance in the Currie Cup this year.
7 Nov 2012, 16:29 pm
@Horings-216:
2006: Danie Rossouw @ 6?
That’s round about the time Jake send Luke Watson to fetch beers… We’ve come a LONG WAY,
7 Nov 2012, 16:30 pm
Mxhosa said it,
JDJ just there to keep the politicians off HM’s back … for the time being
According to HM’s utterances and selection, the nr 13 ranking
1. J. Fourie
2. JdV
3. JJ
4. Taute
5. JDJ
Hell, who needs to improve an already poor defence by selecting super rugby’s best defensive 12 (jdv), 13 (jdj) and wing (habs) combo
It more logical to select Die Groot Sterk Seun at 13, whom is not even provincial 1st choice in the position. Merit indeed
Call me Dawie, steek my met ‘n steroid en HM sal my keus
7 Nov 2012, 16:31 pm
JdJ is the best uninjured centre who can wear a Green and Gold jersey …
But I still chuckle at the naked hypocrisy of the sudden Cape clarion calls for JdJ to be included in the Boks from the same set of supporters who seemed to have forgotten that he actually existed after his breakthrough 2010 season playing at 12…
These same supporters crying racism and conspiracy against the brown man always preferred the blonde munster reject…
7 Nov 2012, 16:31 pm
@Jeraldjay-210: Especially as a goal kicker, its interesting to note that not one of the 15s in the mix is an established goal kicker….
7 Nov 2012, 16:32 pm
@shooter-224: Die olie prys wat so styg is seker ook sy skuld.
7 Nov 2012, 16:33 pm
@John1976-217:
Exactly. The effect another kak game at outside center might have on Taute, has not even come up yet. Meyer is playing a dangerous game with the boy’s future.
Maybe he, Taute, should’ve declined the opportunity and insisted that the better player be selected. Like Langes did when the cricket people selected him ahead of Andre Nel.
7 Nov 2012, 16:34 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-226: Ja, I think he only selected Rossouw to show Watson how low in the pecking order he is.
7 Nov 2012, 16:34 pm
@nama1-214: There’s a difference in questioning his motives and outright calling him a racist.
I would probably have JDJ there, because of his alleged form and mainly the confidence – Jean’s injury concern is so-so, maybe he’ll have to replace him anyway anytime in the game. Then who would you have had to come on? Taute from the bench? Not ideal either.
Calling some-one a racist is a pretty strong statement. So if Taute has a bad day, and gets replaced in the next game by JDJ… is HM then unracist-ised?
7 Nov 2012, 16:36 pm
@nama1-222:
As I said earlier, I finally realised that JdJ is only there as cover for JdV. HM does not consider him as either a first choice 13 or a long term option. He doesn’t fit his mould for the position.
7 Nov 2012, 16:36 pm
@nama1-231: Ek wil graag keo sien die dag as Meyer Spies, Fourie du Preez en Morne Steyn saam kies. Julle gaan uit freak.
7 Nov 2012, 16:37 pm
Would have had De Jongh at 13
Taute at 15
Aplon on bench instead of Mvovo
Francois Hougaard lucky.
Strongest bok team
15 Taute
14 Pietersen
13 De Villiers
12 Steyn
11 Habana
10 Goosen
9 Pienaar
8 Vermeulen
7 Burger
6 Louw
5 Bekker
4 Etzebeth
3 Du Plessis
2 Du Plessis
1 Mtawarira
16 Strauss
17 Cilliers
18 Van Der Linde
19 Willem Alberts
20 Marcell Coetzee
21 Francois Hougaard
22 Patrick Lambie
23 Juan De Jongh
24 Chilliboy Ralepelle
25 Coenie Oosthuzyen
26 Flip Van Der Merwe
27 Juandre Kruger
28 Siya Kolisi
29 Cobus Reinach
30 Elton Jantjes
31 Paul Jordaan
32 Gio Aplon
7 Nov 2012, 16:38 pm
@nama1-231: see 224.
7 Nov 2012, 16:38 pm
@nama1-231:
me prediction,
win 1 match on this tour – scotland
poor early season next year & carry on with this “”questionable”" man management
rugby bossess will start calling for results
politicians will start asking questions re “questionable” man management
mediocre season will continue … say a tad over 50% win ratio (moerse improvement for HM)
gone by end of 2013
devotees will scream it was due to evil ANCEEE
7 Nov 2012, 16:39 pm
@Kaizan-221:
Buddy, HM’s treatment of certain players of colour is despicable…
Example;
- I can understand Gurthro being called up after Coenie’s injury and McGyver’s constant brainfarts. Calling him up being based in Europe was due to injury.
- I do however not agree with Schalk Brits leapfrogging Chilliboy. Chilli, together with other local upstarts represent the current and future, his form has been desirable, and to make way for a 31yr old who wont make up the future face of Springbok ruby does not make sense. These tours provides the ultimate opportunity to settle players into the Bok way – it’s a smack in the face for players like JDJ, Jantjies, etc.
7 Nov 2012, 16:39 pm
@katman-223:
Answer the questions I posed to you, Scatman.
Stop trying to be funny. Now is not the time.
We are busy with serious issues here. Bok selection and such.
Undeserving Lion’s player being selected ahead of a WP player. If you can’t make an input I suggest you “Get the fck out of here.”
7 Nov 2012, 16:40 pm
@Horings-225: Serfontein is a great 12 and will definitely be a Springbok one day, but Jordaan is also a fantastic player. He’ll get space at test level if he plays outside Frans Steyn and a creative flyhalf, but even if he doesn’t, he’s just a really good all-round player.
He’s very quick, brilliant step, huge of defense and has a solid kicking game. He is however an inch or two too short for the South African rugby fraternity, so he will struggle to establish himself in the Boks set up.
7 Nov 2012, 16:40 pm
@David-234: Three tests to go…. and then another 300 games in S15 next year…
The door is never closed… HM said… If at first you don’t succeed,, then you try again.
7 Nov 2012, 16:41 pm
@shooter-233: Heyneke prefers size over skill.
And he is looking for a Jaque Fourie clone at 13.
That is the bottomline.
7 Nov 2012, 16:42 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-239: Schalk Brits is regarded as the best hooker in the northern hemisphere and many former players have hailed him as the best hooker in the world due to the fact he gives away fewer penalties than Bissie.
He knows the northern hemisphere conditions and to be honest is light years ahead of Chilli.
Sorry mate – you’re looking for racism, but it aint there.
7 Nov 2012, 16:43 pm
@nama1-240: I answered you way back in post 187, you blunt fcken tool. Are you going to blame me or apartheid now for the fact that you can’t read for toffee?
@Kaizan-244: I’m with you on this.
Bismarck and S.Brits are the best hookers in the world.
@Horings-232:
Too true – Pakslae Rossouw had a commendable Springbok career, one of my favourite players. Not a guy to shy away from the dirty work, tough as nails, and could easily slotted into 4, 5, 7 & 8. One of the really few utility players who had successes in various positions.
7 Nov 2012, 16:44 pm
@nama1-240: What a sad littlebrowncock you are. And yes, get the fck out of here.
7 Nov 2012, 16:45 pm
@Kaizan-241:
I think it is fairly safe to assume that many of the young talent the Bulls buy will become Springboks in due course.
7 Nov 2012, 16:47 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-247: Certainly, a very commendable career. Good choice of vocabulary.
He never complained if he was picked out of position, because he was rarely the first choice. He was just hungry to play and gave his all.
If only he could protect the ball better in contact, he could have become a Springbok great.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All