Lambie gets his break
7 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, reports Pat Lambie will start at flyhalf against Ireland, while Morne Steyn is still in the mix.
Lambie emerged as a strong competitor for the flyhalf berth with an impressive Super Rugby campaign and commanding performances in the Currie Cup. Initially seen primarily as a fullback, Lambie now has a chance to advance his cause to play in his preferred position at pivot.
With Heyneke Meyer committed to settling on a deputy for Johan Goosen for the 2013 season onward, Lambie will know he has been handed the inside lane in that race.
Steyn comes onto the bench in what can only be ascribed to Meyer’s fears around Lambie’s tactical aptitude. Steyn was dropped from the match 22 for the home leg of the Rugby Championship, with Meyer saying he didn’t have the attributes to warrant his retention as an impact player.
However, Meyer has made consistent references to Steyn’s tactical prowess, and was forthright in his reasons for picking Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies.
‘I don’t believe in a pecking order so I won’t say Elton was second behind Johan Goosen [from the Soweto Test]. I believe in horses for courses,’ Meyer said.
‘I just felt I didn’t want to be in a position like we were in Soweto when Goosen went off injured in the first 10 minutes and then have to replace him with a youngster who is inexperienced. Morne has 40-odd Tests and has played on the year-end tour before, so he is an insurance policy. Elton will get his chance at the right time. As far as Pat goes, I want to see what he can do. He has really impressed me recently and his goal-kicking has been superb in difficult conditions, he is in the zone, which is what ultimately got him the start.’
Elsewhere Jean de Villiers and Francois Louw have overcome injuries to start, but this is not the case for Gurthro Steenkamp, who picked up a knock playing for Toulouse at the weekend.
Hooker Schalk Brits is involved in the match 22 for the first time in four years, edging out Chiliboy Ralepelle. ‘Chili has been injured a lot this year. Scrummaging is so important here and Schalk Brits has been in superb form. Chili will never let you down, but you want an impact from the bench and with most of the games being won in the last 10 minutes, we’ve really lacked someone who can come on and make the difference. Schalk is just a better impact player,’ Meyer said.
The bench has a dynamic look about it with the industrious and abrasive Flip van der Merwe and Marcell Coetzee included, while Juan de Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo have the aptitude to exploit the space that will open up in the final quarter.
The forecast is for cold but clear conditions at kick-off on Saturday. Ireland announce their team on Thursday and are expected to name skipper Paul O’Connell and experienced prop Cian Healy in their run-on side.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo

569 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All
7 Nov 2012, 21:02 pm
@Treehugger-349:with all due respect, this is not because of 1 selection but HM’s consistent lack of faith in POC.
Its his prerogative since he’s the coach to select whomever he wants that he believes will allow him to win. BUT then…we must be able to call him out when he consistently doesn’t give a consistent group the same chances he gives others!
7 Nov 2012, 21:07 pm
@grant10-345: WP should be used as the blueprint for transformation and development of young players in this country.Still remember the lily white Sharks teams of last year which was quite embarrassing to SARU.
7 Nov 2012, 21:07 pm
@grant10-348: Ag buy yourself a dry pantie man.
Mujati is neither an SA citizen, nor a resident – why the fark should he be eligible?
7 Nov 2012, 21:08 pm
@The Rangerman-334: bwahahaha look at you being precious
“generalising”
7 Nov 2012, 21:09 pm
@wnbb-352: Kinda like the Kings team of this year hey?
7 Nov 2012, 21:16 pm
HM will be under scrutiny now….he has dug a deep hole for himself….I bet he wont handle the heat for long….he will fold…..and to be honset the way he has treated some players I reckon there may be a collective sigh of relief….
7 Nov 2012, 21:17 pm
The USA elections should be a real eye-opener for SA society.We had one party that absolutely believed that the white male section of society would get them over the line .How wrong were they!History will judge the Republicans harshly from today onwards.In their total disregard or contemp for minorities,the youth and poor they absolute committed political Hari Kiri.Heyneke hanging on to his deep centred beliefs that the white SA male is the far superior specimen on a rugby field will also be his downfall on the rugby field.We should embrace diversity and stop excluding people based on deep rooted prejudices.
7 Nov 2012, 21:19 pm
@wnbb-350:
Agreed , Alberts would be best off the bench imo , running at the tired legs in the last 25-30min as he was doing on last year’s Europe tour. Higgenbotham also came on for the Aussies against us and made a impact. I like the idea of a big ball carrier for the last 20 – 25min.
7 Nov 2012, 21:21 pm
@grant10-348:
Awesome team. But also agree with wnbb on Kolisi as starter. Burger on bench. He is from now on an impact player and will be phenomenal.
7 Nov 2012, 21:23 pm
@wnbb-357: Agree with your last sentence.Why is every conversation with you about colour.?
7 Nov 2012, 21:32 pm
@ryecatcher-360: Colour or the politically correct word,race,will always be a factor or talking point on SA society.The selection of today’s Bok team clearly created huge consternation in SA society today,from politicians to bloggers on media forums.The non-selection of form black players like Mvovo and Juan created that.To be brutally honest,Meyer basically shot himself in both feet when he selected lesser players in Taute and Hougaard.
7 Nov 2012, 21:33 pm
It’s easy to see where the keo yoofleeg get their “if you don’t do as I say you’re a racist” drivel from. Just look at Zuma’s Nkandlagate spin doctor, the slimy Bigmac Maharaj. If you ask questions and demand to see documentation, it can only be because you’re a racist. Forget that the questions might be pertinent and pressing. We’ll just go with the “you’re a racist” approach, thangewverymuch.
Ditto for little poepols like Nama here. If the coach doesn’t pick his coloured dream team, he’s racistkont.
It’s tired, people. And it doesn’t stick in the long run. And by using it so often in such a short space of time, you’ve completely worn it out. So what the fck are you going to use next?
7 Nov 2012, 21:33 pm
@wnbb-361: in SA society
7 Nov 2012, 21:39 pm
Nama is a well-respected contributor to this forum.Calling people names just because you can’t come up with a better argument doesn’t lend itself to healthy debate.Rather take a timeout and return later with an improved civilised response.Just saying.
7 Nov 2012, 21:40 pm
@papaown-351:
Good point. It’s not so much the fact that Meyer isn’t selecting a player of colour but the fact that he is inconsistent in his selections, favouring less experienced and arguably less talented white players (JJ, Potgieter) over black counterparts (JDJ, Kolisi for example).
Why on earth Steyn over Jantjies?
Taute is a great player but has proven nothing at 13. JDJ has performed at the highest levels (CC, S15, Boks – 2 tries on debut) and brings a different dimension than the same old bash into the opposition kak, at least he can step (and dance)
It just doesn’t add up and stinks to high heavens. So call a spade a spade.
7 Nov 2012, 21:43 pm
I don’t agree on the politics guys and it’s not a topic I enjoy but gonna throw my 10c in the mix tonight.
There are so many more players of color today that have great potential than there were 5- 10 years ago. Don’t you guys remember the days you had a player of color on the wing and that was it. Well all 3 Top SA Rugby franchises now have forwards of color that are there on merit like Chilliboy , Scarra , Kolisi , The Beast.
Rather give me the talents of today than Owen Nkumane , Solly Tybilika (RIP no disrespect) , Shimange , Khaya Malotona.
Bottom line , players of color today are there on merit. Can’t think of a current Super Rugby player of color that I could call a “quota”.
Things are moving in the right direction.
7 Nov 2012, 21:46 pm
@papaown-351: It is not a skin colour thing.
It is a size thing.
7 Nov 2012, 21:48 pm
@grant10-345:That’s exactly what I warned about last week. Rugby people must get it right before the politicians start to dictate to them.
@katman-362:
Blah, blah, blah…
I saw a Pot Blou Gevaar expressing exactly the same kind of sentiments that I did, Nobody said that he was calling HM a racist. Why do you assume I did?
Am I not allowed to criticise the white coach or what?
7 Nov 2012, 21:48 pm
@katman-362: Hi Katman.After last night
a blues quiz.
SOUTHERN TREES BEAR A STRANGE FRUIT
BLOOD ON THE LEAVES AND BLOOD AT THE ROOT
BLACK BODIES SWINGING IN THE SOUTHERN TREES
STRANGE FRUIT HANGING FROM THE POPLAR TREES
PASTORAL SCENE OF THE GALLANT SOUTH
THE BULGING EYES AND THE TWISTED MOUTH
SCENT OF MAGNOLIAS,SWEET AND FRESH
THEN THE SUDDEN SMELL OF BURNING FLESH
HE RE IS FRUIT FOR THE CROWS TO PLUCK
FOR THE RAIN TO GATHER AND THE WIND TO SUCK
FOR THE SUN TO ROT AND THEE TREES TO DROP
HERE IS A ST RANGE AND BITTER CROP.
QUIZ.WHICH SINGER MADE THIS FAMOUS.GREATEST BLUES SINGER OF
ALL TIME?
TITLE?
WRITER?COME ON SKOP.ONE OF THE TRIBE A JEWISH TEACHER IN N.Y.
CONTEXT/
7 Nov 2012, 21:49 pm
@wnbb-357: Think you’re right.
7 Nov 2012, 21:49 pm
@bok-storm-365: Quite correct.Bloggers unhappiness at the non-selection of form players like Juan etc etc are jumped on by rabble rousers as one of calling Meyer a racist etc etc which certainly wasn’t the case.
7 Nov 2012, 21:52 pm
@wnbb-364:
Thanks WNBB.
I guess Katman’s true colours are coming to the fore. Not much of a joker if you scratch through the thin coat of varnish, I guess.
7 Nov 2012, 21:55 pm
@nama1-372: Crazy,mate.In any case,got to run.Time to catch up on a team that actually believed in the development of young players.
7 Nov 2012, 21:56 pm
@wnbb-361: tKS FOR YOUR SWIFT ANSWER.wILL PONDER BEFORE REPLYING.JUST TO SAY THAT I THOUGHT
THAT AFTER MORE THAN 20 YEARS,WE WOULD HAVE EXHAUSTED
THIS NARRATIVE.IF NOT THEN WHEN?ANOTHER 20,30,40YEARS
7 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
??? MISSING
7 Nov 2012, 21:59 pm
@nama1-368: Look Nama it just an effort on their part to silence you, I think the points you are raising are making those who respond so harshly a bit uncomfortable, I think. The “chip on the shoulder” chirp has now been drop since it does not deter you from given your opinion, so guest the uncomfortable bunch had to up the ante.
7 Nov 2012, 22:02 pm
@willievz-367:
A size thing?
That’s just as daft. When will we get over the fact you don’t need bigger players in all positions to beat the opposition? Skill levels are way more important. We should learn from the Oz and ABs players like Giteau in his prime, Carter, Conrad Smith, O Connor, Beale, Dagg etc not the biggest guys around but agile and skillful.
You don’t need to bash your opposite number farking neanderthals! You just need to get past them and smaller, more agile players are able to do this and at least add some variety FFS.
This is one of the reasons we will continue to lag behind ABs and Oz.
7 Nov 2012, 22:05 pm
I think Meyer is trying to compensate for something by choosing BIG players.
7 Nov 2012, 22:06 pm
@369…..is it Billy Holiday
7 Nov 2012, 22:06 pm
@bok-storm-377:
Don’t shoot the messenger. I agree with all the points you raised.
But, HM has stated, and on more than one occasion, that JDJ and Aplon in particular are too small for test rugby.
7 Nov 2012, 22:11 pm
@willievz-380: Willie, than he should not select them at all. He is a weakling, for choosing JdJ, if that is his belief and therefore not fit to be the coach.
7 Nov 2012, 22:11 pm
@willievz-380:
Apologies, the rant wasn’t direct at you personally, just the general mindset of SA coaches and large number of fans.
7 Nov 2012, 22:14 pm
I’m rooting for Ireland to fck this moron up.. I had enough of his garbage
pity is the players will carry the brunt of this moron’s fck ups while it is he alone who should walk the bloody plank he is setting for others.. the stupid self ingratiated punk..
7 Nov 2012, 22:15 pm
@John1976-381:
I think HM seems very confused on what he really wants.
Fooled a few with his so called invincible game plan yet his pickings of players seems oddball if you ask me.
7 Nov 2012, 22:15 pm
HM has just made his life very uncomfortable….He really has been extremely shortsighted….since the 1 st 40 or 45 man squad already.
7 Nov 2012, 22:16 pm
@John1976-381: Well, initially he selected neither JDJ nor Aplon for the English series, before drafting in the latter as 3rd choice fullback for the dead rubber test.
I honestly believe he picked them ever since due to political pressure.
That is my personal belief, and because it cannot be established as fact, this needs to be read as a normative statement.
By the way – Elton Jantjies – how do you explain his sudden departure from the match 23?
7 Nov 2012, 22:17 pm
@bok-storm-382: No worries bud
7 Nov 2012, 22:19 pm
@Hurricane-384: He is clueless when it comes to selection and has found a nice phrase to hide namely “horses for courses”.
7 Nov 2012, 22:20 pm
@ryecatcher-369: Billy Holiday sang this song.. and Nina Simone adopted it as almost her gospel refrain.
I not sure who wrote it perhaps a Jewish somebody or other I go check.. I remember reading about its origins as a poetic attack on southern states indiscriminate hangings of black slaves and Holiday taking it and making it a song of deep seated anxiety, which Nina Simone carried through.
7 Nov 2012, 22:23 pm
@Treehugger-379:
Y ES SANG SEVE RAL GREAT SONGS INCLUDING “LOVE FOR SALE.
DIED OF HEROIN ADDI CTION AND LIVER FAILURE
TITLE =” STRANGE FRUIT”
CONTEXT.3 BLACK TEENAGERS ARRESTED IN INDI ANA FOR MURD ER OF
A WHITE MAN AND RAPE OF HIS GIRL FRIEND.
MOB BROKE INT O JAIL AND SEIZED 2 OF THEM.
LYNCHED THEM AND WHEN ONE USED HIS ARMS TO BREAK FREE
FROM THE NOOSE,THEY BROKE BOTH OF HIS ARMS
THIS TOOK PLACE IN AMERICAN HEARTLAND.NOT DEEP SOUTH.
GRUESOME PHOTOS PUBLIS HED OF THE LYNCH VICTIMS
AND A DISPASSIONATE CROWD OF ONLOOKERS.MALE & FEMALE.
GIRL LATER RETRACTED ALLEGATIONS OF RAPE.
NOT POSTING THIS GRATUITOUS LY,BUT THOUGHT IT RELEVANT
ON BO RE-E LECT ION TO SHOW JUST HOW FAR AMERICA HAS COME.
“THE GREAT BILLIE HOLIDAY FIRST TO SING SONG 1939
7 Nov 2012, 22:24 pm
@skopdiekan-389: song performed most famously by Billie Holiday. Written by the teacher Abel Meeropol as a poem, exposing American racism, particularly the lynching of African Americans.
7 Nov 2012, 22:26 pm
@willievz-386: Currently it seems as though he has decided well in advance which players he wants to work with. That why those who are on form, but not preselected, are given limited opportunity, in order to prevent them establishing themselves as part of his first choice players, and are also discarded easily.
7 Nov 2012, 22:28 pm
@willievz-386:
This HM is a closet racist.. and specifically a stupid rugby analyst and coach who is obsessed with the size above talent phobia… its clear as daylight.. and all his glorified groupie heilige HM singers are blind as bloody bats to the absolute reality of his closed minded prejudices.
7 Nov 2012, 22:32 pm
Boks should lose on Saturday.. that is the damn criminal pathetic state of the situation…the only way this thicker than thick plank is going to learn his stupid lesson is to lose and keep losing till he either gets it right or else walks the same gang plank he expects his players to.
7 Nov 2012, 22:33 pm
I really do not understand the love affair with Krusty the clown?? Put Taute at 15 and play De Jong FFS? Jeez Meyer you really are a doos sometimes, but then you bring in Britz which is a masterstroke……..then you have the sick note CJ in the squad (Bench as well)………..another doos move (When has this bloke played more than 5 mins of rugby?) …………….try shy away from the doos moves boet!!
7 Nov 2012, 22:34 pm
LETS HUMANISE IT.THE 2 BOYS WERETHOMAS SHIPP AND ABRAM SMITH
HAPPENED IN 1930.MEEROPOHL.A JEWISH TEACHE R WROTE LYRICS
IN 1939.
SKOP.IMPRESSED BY YOU
7 Nov 2012, 22:34 pm
oh ja the other dooooooooooooooooos move is having Steyn anywhere near the bus………….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7 Nov 2012, 22:35 pm
Personally I have no problem with who HM picks. What I have an issue with is the contradictory statements he makes…
21 year old Marcell Coetzee – after an impressive season in SR, playing as a blindside flanker – is deemed old enough and good enough to play for the boks as an openside flanker. While 21 year Siya Kolisi – who also had an impressive SR season, playing openside flanker needs to prove himself some more… But it takes another 21 year old, Arno Botha a few CC games to prove he has what it takes to be a bok.
Elton Jantjies collects splinters on the bench against England, Meyer cites inexperience for his lack of gametime. Yet a 20 year old Johan Goosen, after only a few CC and SR games is deemed good enough to play agaisnt the two best teams in the world… He also had no problem playing a 21 year old fullback at outside centre against Aus and NZ.
At the start of the international season Chilliboy was deemed to be the third best hooker in SA. He got injured, upon his return he made three substitute appearances off the bench to prove his fitness is subsequently included in the bok squad. With Bismarck Du Plessis unavailable, he does not make the match 22 for the game against Ireland. Reason given, he hasn’t much game time. Yet it took Goosen, Vermuelen and Oosthuizen less than 80 minutes to prove they were ready for bok rugby.
Pat Lambie was deemed not good enough to play flyhalf for the boks. He spent most of the games on bench covering fullback… After 3 CC games, where impressed at flyhalf – including one where he outplayed the man who had been constantly picked ahead of him, he gets his first start in his preferred position… On the other hand, when JdJ does well in the CC – including a game where he outplayed the man picked ahead of him in the last two tests, we’re told that the CC is not enough to gauge a player’s aptitude for test rugby. Three CC games are enough for Lambie but not JdJ.
7 Nov 2012, 22:36 pm
If Meyer is “racist” can anyone explain why he has Kirchner starting at fullback EVERY game?
7 Nov 2012, 22:36 pm
@skopdiekan-393:
A racist just like you ne?
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All