ANC slams Bok coach

ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe says Heyneke Meyer ‘is not keen on putting black players in the team’.

On Tuesday, Meyer selected Jaco Taute ahead of Juan de Jongh at outside centre, Pat Lambie and Morne Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies at flyhalf, and Adriaan Strauss and Schalk Brits ahead of Chiliboy Ralepelle at hooker. Three players of colour were included in the starting XV – Zane Kirchner, JP Pietersen and Beast Mtawarira – with another two – De Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo – on the eight-man bench.

‘The situation is the coaches select the basic minimum black players in the team and relax thereafter and overlook good players,’ Mantashe said. ‘Why do we wait until there are no other players? The attitude is that coaches think this is a white sport and they meet the basic amount of players.’

Mantashe said it seemed like Meyer was reluctant to select black players who deserved a place in the side.

‘My view is that the new coach is not keen on putting black players in the team, even those who have proven they are the best.’

He said there was something wrong if someone like Jantjies was not selected and that Mvovo and Stormers flanker Siya Kolisi (who was injured in late August and ruled out for the rest of the season) also deserved a spot in the team.

530 Comments

• 1.Malcolm B: Reply to this comment

eish!!! when are the people going to get over the race issue??? If Habana was fit he would be in the starting team. If Mujati was allowed, he would be in the team and im pretty sure if Kolisi was fit he would be in the team. Get over it Mantashe!!!! Im sorry but elton is not the best and unfortunately HM has this obsession with size and therefore JDJ on bench. im so sick of this race card being thrown in everytime somebody is not happy. anyway, have a nice day

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

nama is gwede mantashe :-)

• 3.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

mvovo does not belong in the team or on the bench.

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-3: who should be there in his place?

• 5.skunk: Reply to this comment

Love how the headline is unrelated to the story. Anyways barring a miricle HM will not last 4 years. Maybe not even 1. He is clueless the poor man.

• 6.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Dead man walking…

• 7.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

I Have to agree with Mr Mantashe, if Taute is the long term FB, then play him there and give JdJ a run, Houghaard has done absolutely nothing the entire season, both in SR or Boks and both at SH or Wing to deserve the extended starting time he gets, Chilliboy is has been denied his chance to prove his worth for too long and the same is happening to Mvovo. Kolisi on defense would have over shadowed Burger this season and was way more effective in carrying the ball that Jacques Potgieter could have dreamed of yet he carries tackle bags. Coaches and myself included ask for transformation to be from the bottom up and produce quality players, now that we have them they are being blocked for reason we do not know, and that to me stinks!!

• 8.skunk: Reply to this comment

Anyways HM has never been a good coach. But he was hailed as the Messiah of SA rugby. I don’t really care if he is racist or not. I just want him very far from the springboks.

• 9.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Yes finally someone addresses this issue. Fikile should of actually been the one to address it.

There is seriously something wrong with Heyneke Meyer’s thinking.

• 10.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

I have to agree that HM looks reluctant to select players of colour besides bozo.

He uses size as an excuse. But I can guarentee you nobody would have complained if basic rugby sense would have prevailed.

Best 13, play him there. – JDJ
    Best two wings currently fit, play them there – Mvovo/ JP
    Best FB, play him there – Taute
    Two best on form FH’s, play them – Lambie/ Jantjies

But no, Chillyboy has no form built up, has been injured all the time, he is in the squad only because of potential. Also Kirchner should be the 3rd choice FB after Taute and Ludik.

HM overlooks quality where it is blatent and sees quality when there is none!

Poor selections going to be this man’s downfall.

• 11.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@skunk-5: @TheTackler-6: We’ll talk again in 4 years.

• 12.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-7: Agreed 100% But i think he is not aware that he is doing it. It is happening subconciously.

To play players out of position ahead of guys who are good and play in that position is ludicrous.

• 13.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Gwede if you dont like it, go watch soccer

• 14.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@skunk-8: Never been a good coach? Fark me he has one more trophies than most coaches can dream of.
    I do not agree with all his decisions but the anti Meyer sentiments on this is laughable sometimes and so is your post. Now go get me some corn flakes!!

• 15.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-13: 100%

• 16.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-4:
    i’m not sure i should answer that?
    its arguable there are a number of replacements who would be appropriate but the point is this is about where his game is and importanlty about that australian debacle. our standards are dropping across the board and gone are the days when such glaringly terrible mistakes by individual players, which loses us games, are punished swiflty by having their jerseys taken from them.

• 17.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

If Meyer put more blacks in the team he might win more than 40% of the time, didn’t he also say earlier in the year that he viewed Lambie as a fullback.

• 18.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Mantashe why don’t rather go fark around at the Kings and start learning the game……oh my bad. That would be a kak place to start…….

• 19.slavedriver: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-17: Why dont you worry about your own rugby.

• 20.skunk: Reply to this comment

Kwagga

Meyer is a kak coach who got lucky with a great generation at the Bulls. Oh and i like my milk warm…

• 21.slavedriver: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-3:AGREED.I do think JDJ belongs in the team though.Kirchner should also bugger off,useless.

• 22.BESTER: Reply to this comment

Are only ******** allowed to have opinions on Springbok Rugby? As jy Nie-Blank is moet jy soccer gaan kyk!

• 23.BESTER: Reply to this comment

******* = Doetsman

• 24.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

I see PDV’s hand in this…. the Po3s

• 25.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@BESTER-22:
    and you should go ask Malema where you bullet is, SA Rugby and SA dont need your kind.

• 26.skunk: Reply to this comment

Suffer guy

Just so you know that whole go watch soccer line is racist.

• 27.Cokhane: Reply to this comment

Borchie loves controversy. He is cleaver he only ever posts news that will get hits!
    Well played Borchie!

• 28.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-7: Kolisi is injured, dont you follow rugga ?

Why can’t Meyer pick who ever he wants , he must make then win not you , why should he pick any of the spectators teams ?

• 29.slavedriver: Reply to this comment

@skunk-26: know i have heard it all,how precious.

• 30.capebull: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-13: How many white players in soccer team ??

• 31.capebull: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-10: Mvovo , had a change , I rather play someone else

• 32.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

i’m not a racist, i have a colour TV

• 33.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

When politicians start coming out with statements trying to influence team appointments…….thats when you know your team is farked.

• 34.capebull: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-10: Taute does not even play FB for his province ????

Best fulback this year Louis Ludick …. Sharks, second the FB of Lions Coetzee

I agree on JdJ , but he will play second halve.

• 35.BESTER: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-25: You getting me wrong, the comment are aimed at my Efrikaaner Broerderbend cronies. Cause many of them on this site are quick to remind you if you’re not white, you’re not right, and you need to go watch or play your soccer,

• 36.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-28: are you kidding me? i was talking about Kolisi being overlooked for Potgieter in the England series, sweet lord, im trying to establish a pattern of good black players being overlooked for OBVIOUSLY inferior white players, Mvovo excelled in the NH when given a shot, why now do we have a makeship scrummie come wing who is low on form and confidence taking that spot instead of qualified wing?

• 37.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@capebull-30: Do you know how stupid is your question?

• 38.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@BESTER-35: my apologies then for reading it incorrectly, i retract my comment.

• 39.Cokhane: Reply to this comment

This is why SARU will never select a foreign coach, because then they can’t play this “racist” card. A foreign coach would never agree to select a side based on racial quotas, he would select purely on merit.

Every single white South African coach has been accused by the ANC of overlooking black players.

• 40.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-7: So Kolisi will start next season and Bugger will be on bench ??

• 41.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@slavedriver-21:
    agree that kirchener even at his best is nothing more than dependable and solid, however, he has had a good season so far for the boks and has certainly not let them down the way mvovo has.

ja, there are more exciting alternatives who should start to come into the mix.

• 42.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Mvovo had a shocking CC final … if heineke prefers white players, then why does he pick the kakkest bok ever = zane?

• 43.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Mantashe would make a better rugby coach than Meyer. He seems like a genuine fan who isn’t particularly blinkered, though this article tried to make it so focusing exclusively on his race comments.

Oh, and Meyer OUT!

• 44.skunk: Reply to this comment

@capebull 30

Will that help with the EOYT in anyways? Or do you enjoy being random?

• 45.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-36: If you know your rugga like you claim , Kolisi played at 6 , if you want to be upset, the moan about Elstadt and Pottie. I suppose you see a prop as a prop no difference between 1 and 3.

Mvovo had terrible knock and that cost us a try , but so did Vermeulen he knocked twice . Morne was dropped cause his bad kicking , he was not worse than Jantjes ( missed 3, ABS as well as CC ), Goosen and Pienaar.

So give Lambie a chance

• 46.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Another guy from the ANC chipping in with his 10c. We have come such a long way from the days where the only player of color was a wing.

• 47.Stormtrooper: Reply to this comment

I hate it when politicians get involved in sport. BUT Meyer is doing himself no favours & leaves a lot of questions out there in his selections. I don’t think he is racist. I think what he is trying to do is replicate or even clone his old Bulls side & the recipe that won so many titles. He had some great players in that side who also excelled with White and went on to win the WC. His role is to build a side from the bottom up & I’m sure he knows this. If he continues to play players out of position at the expense of a better player in that position, who happens to fall into the black zone, he is commiting political suicide.

• 48.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-40: probably not yet but he wouldnt let you down if he did replace Burger, and that’s if Burger comes back after that last injury. Kolisi has been brilliant this season under the guidance of Burger, my 2 outstanding finds for SA rugby this year was Kolisi and Etzebeth, both should be stars for the Bok’s in the future, i say should because Kolisi has a bigger hurdle to climb, his colour.

• 49.capebull: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-37: Why ???

• 50.skunk: Reply to this comment

Cockhane

When has a rugby side in this country ever been selected on merit. We have quota players and of course horses for courses players. No merit both ways.

• 51.David: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-33:
    You’re missing the sensitivities that still remain in SA because of rugby’s track record. There are still a lot of whites who regard rugby as “our game”, hence the “stick to soccer” comments.

• 52.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-45: yeah and a hooker cant player 6 (Fourie) and a lock cant play backrow (Dannie Russouw) and woah woah woah a 6 cant play 8 (Keegan), a 15 playing 13?? never heard of in my life before!! dont try that argument with me that backrowers have to stick to their numbers.

• 53.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

I don’t like Heyneke but at least he hasn’t made players feel like quotas. Shimange on the bench for 20 tests in a row is bullsh!t.
    Davon Raubenheimer , Morgan Newman , Ismaeel Dollie in your squads is bullsh!t.

At least players of color in Heyneke’s squads can all feel deserving to be there on merit and form and nothing else matters.

• 54.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-42: I truly hate that degenerate as a Bok. Meyer selects him because he cannot attack, is not flashy and can kick far, and is from the Bulls.

• 55.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-42: yeah, it was only Mvovo who had a shocker, of course Lambie didnt freeze in that game right? the forwards were totally on song and McCleod had a blinder

• 56.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@skunk-20: Take a step back and have a look at the team he inherited back then and what he did with them. Talent means zip without good coaching. Russel,Pienaar to name two. Meyer has up till now not been a quick fix type coach although he needs to start fixing up sh it pretty soon.
    IMO this tour is exactly what he needs to start identifying and settling certain players and if that means experimenting than thats also not a bad thing. What coach has not gone that route?
    The fact that he is snubbing crowd favourites in his selections causes mass histeria in some households and sites like this but I still see him as a long distance runner and not a sprinter.

• 57.skunk: Reply to this comment

Meyer is selecting players to fill a quota. If you can not see that then you are not objective. Like I said before HM is not a good coach. Never liked him. He of course is the man who converted a flank to hooker because he did not rate the next best hookers in his squad. Maybe you remember who they were.

• 58.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-43: You know what your posts are as worthless as your nic. No debate or a glimmer of thought goes into them. As long as it is anti Meyer/Bulls you have something to stroke your stiff about….quite pathetic to be honest.

• 59.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-55:
    It is amazing how people can blame a loss on one person.

• 60.John1976: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-53: That is absolutely nonsense, he is exactly achieving the opposite by playing inferior white platers in the place of in form black players. Hougaard and Steyn are in kak form and Taute is definately not a 13 of domestic (CC) or international quality.

• 61.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John1976-60: Yes agreed. Hougaard should be on the bench and Steyn should be at Hatfield Square.

• 62.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@David-51: David I agree but seeing we are all meant to be equal is the “How many whites are there in a the national soccer side?” not a fair question? Is transformation a one way street?

• 63.skunk: Reply to this comment

Kwagga

If I am not mistaken HM has sold us the “every test match is a must win”. When that became mission improbable he starts saying he is building experience.

Now I hear you talking about long term combinations but he said the man playing at outside center is a long term 15 investment. Sounds to me like he is out of his depth. Too many horses for courses players at the moment.

• 64.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-14: He’s never been a good coach. Everytime he struck out on his own he was the most miserable failure as coach. Think his early Bull career before Todd Louden entered the picture and his stint at Leicster and now at the Boks where he’s calling the shots to a bunch of noob “coaches”*lol*. He’s an awful coach and selector.

@goodstuff summed it up well, HM overlooks quality when it’s blatant (Brussouw, any number of quality fullbacks, Bakkies [Imagine Bakkies at 4 and Etsebeth at 5 vs the Irish], Lambie until now, JDJ, Jantjies etc etc) and he sees quality where there is nothing. (his assistant coaching team, Spies, Potgieter, Kirtchner, Morne, Taute at 13 etc etc.

TBH I haven’t seen one redeeming quality from HM as coach. Not one. He’s a complete failure at the moment in his honeymoon season.

• 65.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@skunk-63: Must admit the Taute selection baffles me as well. Let’s hope this tour leaves us with more answers than questions.

• 66.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@skunk-63: Agreed you should just have 1 or 2 positions that are horsers for courses.

• 67.skunk: Reply to this comment

Kwagga

watch the next bafana game and count for yourself.

• 68.John1976: Reply to this comment

@David-51: It seems as HM is sharing that sentiment looking at his selctions thus far. He has an added handicapped that he is always going to select players, unless they already had a chance and prove that they are not international quality, that he had identified as major talents i.e. JJ, Potgieter, Botha, Kirchner, Greyling,

• 69.Doughnut: Reply to this comment

Could see this one coming … No good reason to exclude JdJ. Re EJ i can accept some rotation but he must start at least one test.

Kirch does not deserve to be dropped , he has done a satisfactory job .. if the game plan changes then yes bring in a runner ..

• 70.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@David-51: ah so its ok for this fat little k un t mantashe (who is about as corrupt in his soul as a human can be) to try and select a national team?

*** that, its racial engineering but if you wanna defend it davey thats cool buddy.

seriously, mantashe? MANTASHE???????? wtf does this little zuma lapdog know about anything but hanging onto the coattails of the anc and snuffling in the trough like a pig.

• 71.skunk: Reply to this comment

Lets be honest HM is lost. I for one do not blame race but rather inability. HM is not making sense at all.

• 72.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-58: I’m sorry you feel that way. I suspect it is because you are a Bulls man at heart. I honestly have no anti Bulls bias and have given Meyer a fair chance. I’m just fed up with the Boks being bottle-necked by poor coaches.

• 73.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@John1976-60:

Nah don’t agree. The inferior white players that couldn’t impress like JJ , Greyling and Potgieter aren’t in the current squad. You can accuse him of favoritism I have all year , but at least I have not had to see “Shimange on the bench” type of scenarios. It’s not fair on the player. End of story.

• 74.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Chill the ufk out.

De Jongh/Jantjies will get what’s due to them soon, how/when exactly I can’t tell you but that’s how the rugby universe operates.

• 75.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@skunk-67: we are in agreement regarding meyers credentials.

a bs last second win in 2007 in durbs saw him elevated to messiah status but its clear he is clueless and stubborn as a post but that doesnt make it a racial issue and p r i ck s like mantashe who are presiding over the looting of our country must shut their fat mouths and f u k off.

• 76.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@skunk-71:

That about sums it up ja.

• 77.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@capebull-49: Jimmy Joubert, Peter Ballack, Mark Tovey, Neil Tovey, Les Grobbelaar, Noel Cousin, Jinggles Perreira, Big-John Salter, Nelson Castro, Roger De Sa, list is is endeless, all soccer legend who played prior 1994.

Now name 5 blacks who played for the Boks before 1994, just 5

• 78.skunk: Reply to this comment

Ranger

Mantashe was asked as a Bok fan his views. He shared them. And not just on color but on our failure to invest in youth. I think people forget we all have an oppinion about the team. But we know what sells and that is what has been given.

• 79.Brads: Reply to this comment

Gwede Mantashe is a bloody racist.
    He is wanting black or coloured players ahead of whites because he thinks the team should have them, not because the team needs them.
    Last time I looked, the score was the same if you ran in a try irrespective whether the player was black or white.
    Same as losing. You don’t get extra credits for fielding passengers.

Gwede Mantashe should be called to account.
    Who are these black players that have been overlooked by inferior white players?

• 80.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

It had to come…

• 81.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-64: Finally some thought into a post. Spies I have said what I felt about HM and the way I see him going about things. On his assistant coaches I will agree but I somehow cannot see that he had the only hand in those selections but thats just a personal feeling.

Every coach has a couple of players he will stick to John Smit, Ricky Januarie, Jaco vd Westhuizen take your pick the list goes on. but remember we have also won two world cups with players in the teams that we all felt does not belong there.

To me he is still a good coach but is starting to resemble the ‘springhaas in die spotlight’ look. I do believe he has the capacity to bounce back and if not I’ll have my humble pie with a smile.

• 82.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@skunk-71: ah, skunk you are a top bloke really, unlike me haha.

i need to calm down i think haha but a burning anger ignites in me when one of the mafiosos running things in this country uses race to shift the spotlight.

nkandla is the current anc nightmare and on cue, hey presto! comments on the bok team.

these okes are clever for sure but tuncs none the less.

• 83.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@David-51: White folks still get suprised that I know more about rugby than they do, its weird having conversation in the pub or at work, that’s when you realize your average white bloke knows no more about rugby than your average black dude. There are white dudes who know more about football than black dudes

• 84.skunk: Reply to this comment

Explain MS and Hougie.

• 85.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@skunk-78: as a bok fan?

no man, gwede is trying to shift public focus which is firmly on nkandlagate.

its standard ancuntness procedure sorry.

• 86.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-83: who cares seriously xhosa?

eminem is a great rapper, tiger a great golfer.

get on with it please.

• 87.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-85: I see you got promoted. You are now THE Rangerman. Nice ring to it. ;)

• 88.skunk: Reply to this comment

Lol Ranger try remember who wrote the article. The whole thing is not about race. Its about three sentances that were. Its just being milked because of who it was who said it. Rubbish reporting as always…

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

This is all so unneccessary.

HM just had to choose the best 15 on merit alone and all would have been ok..

Some bloggers saw this coming….now Pandoras Box is opened……no closing it.

well done HM…..you have truly created a s hit storm now. Bet you dont see through till end of 2013.

• 90.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

xhosa – there were no real good black players before 1994 …except Tobias – but he was no Naas

• 91.John1976: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-73: I honestly don’t see the difference, Showing no faith in players and giving then 3 to 5 minutes on the park is the same as keeping one player on the bench for a season.

• 92.skunk: Reply to this comment

Ranger

The journos asked his view because he is a rugby fan. He responded. Nkandlagate and all that is part of the SA i least enjoy and bother even less about…

• 93.Brads: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-90:
    That is like saying there were no good black politicians in southern USA prior to 1970.

• 94.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

they all played soccer … LMAO

• 95.John1976: Reply to this comment

@The Rangerman-85: Are you serious, comment on a rugby team selection will have that effect.

• 96.BESTER: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-62: The South Africans registered their historic 1-0 win over the Nigerians in a semifinal match played in Equatorial Guinea last night, thanks to a 24th-minute goal by Janine “Booth” van Wyk.

• 97.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

HM OUT

• 98.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-14: What trophies has he won? A Super Rugby title and one or two currie cups? Its amazing that people still credit the Bulls success post 07 to HM ,those people are morons.

HM has deflated my enthusiasm for Springbok Rugby with his caveman like antics as a coach.

• 99.skunk: Reply to this comment

Suffer guy

you are a ****

• 100.Stawm: Reply to this comment

So the ruling ANC, again, feels the need to label people as racists, and meddle in sport. Dont they have something better to do, like run the country, maybe even stop stealing from the state coffers till they are empty?

You are vocal about a rugby team selection Mr Mantashe, but why have we never ever heard anything from you about all the corruption in your ruling party, all the stealing of state funds and mismanagement of projects.

Please give us your thoughts on this Mr Mantashe:

Here is a detailed breakdown of the state’s expenditure on the President’s residence at Nkandla spending:
    Die Burger (17 October) and City Press (21 October) put the total cost of the Nkandla upgrade project at R248 million.
    This figure includes:
    • R121 million to construction companies
    • R3 million for bullet proof windows
    • R9.23 million for a perimeter fence
    • R2.3 million for lift/s
    • R54 million has already been paid to consultants, architects, land surveyors, engineers and project managers
    • Thirty-one costly new buildings were constructed in the compound, with one contractor (who built six of them, see below) charging Public Works R8 million per building
    • A gate house, a gymnasium and guest rooms
    • An underground bunker, with a lift to ferry President Zuma between the main house and the bunker
    • A helipad
    • The installation of air conditioning systems at a cost of R1.5 million
    • R200 000 on lightning protectors for the thatched roofs
    In August 2010, public works told Parliament the project would cost R6.4 million.

This upgrade has been undertaken despite massive upgrades to Zuma’s official residences in Pretoria, Durban and Cape Town also having been undertaken since 2009.

Payments to contractors started in December 2009 – seven months after Zuma was sworn in as president.

The final delivery date of the project is August 2013.

The biggest beneficiary of the Nkandla upgrade by far has been businesswoman Thandeka Nene’s Bonelena Construction Enterprise and Projects, which scored two building contracts worth R33.4 million and R66 million, respectively.

The R33.4 million contract was for “emergency work”, indicating the work did not go out on public tender.

Bonelena’s second contract, the cost of which increased from R55 million to R66 million, was for the construction of “25 new buildings” at R2.6 million each.

Moneymine 310 (an apt name!), a company owned by businesswoman Pamela Mfeka, was contracted to construct six new buildings at the compound at a cost of R47.6 million, meaning each building cost R7.9 million.

It is still unclear exactly what expenses Zuma and his family will carry, but a Public Works document released earlier this year put the figure at R10.6 million.

The Nkandla compound was built by Zuma in 2000.

During the corruption trial of Schabir Shaik it was alleged that money from French arms dealer Thales was used to fund the building of the complex.

• 101.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@grant10-89: Which is why PDV wasn’t a poor option as coach , because he could never be accused of being racist.

• 102.simorf: Reply to this comment

The point of transformation and BEE is that if you have two players of different colour and of equal quality/skill/performance that you pick the player of colour. If you apply that to the springbok team then you can happily picking Mvovo, JDJ and Chiliboy without losing anything. One could even say that all three players are in fact better than the current first-choice players in the respective positions.

In the past one might have been able to use the argument that the player of colour was just not good enough. Now there is no excuse. If you have the opportunity and the players why NOT pick them?

From a white guy

• 103.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-33:
    This has always been the case in SA sport. Its a wonder we have won 2 world cups and can compete at all.
    If you throw in all the inter provincal rivalry, its an even bigger wonder we achieve anything at all.

• 104.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: why are you quiet about Taute who in my book has had shockers as Mvovo did in Australia?

why does he belong in the team in you mind?

and think whether you should answer this one too… :lol:

• 105.Brads: Reply to this comment

@wpallday-98:

So if HM is pushing a game plan that is increasingly less successful, why does every other thread on keo advocate going back to what is traditional to SA rugby.

• 106.David: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-62:
    There haven’t been any restrictions on whites coacing or playing soccer for the national team since before 1994. We’ve had white players, coaches a captains.

• 107.super_adi: Reply to this comment

Seems like Meyer’s going to have to learn the hard way and will be forced to pick black players like Jake White was.

• 108.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-100: Are you saying that Mantashe, as a SA rugby fan, in his own capacity does not have the right to voice his opinion when ask by journos?

• 109.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@simorf-102: exactly the point and in the case of Mvovo, he is definitively better than Houghaard right now.

• 110.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@simorf-102:
    agree fully
    we have the players, black or white
    we should be near the top of the tree instead of fighting for second place
    3 SA teams in the S15 playoffs- our national pool of players is vast

if HM picks the right players, we should be dominant, and at least holding our own against the ABs

• 111.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-74: JDJ is 25, how much longer must the man wait? He was the next bok 13 for the last 2/3 years now.

• 112.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

meyers a genius.
    he’s playing moneyball just like that baseball coach, Brad Pitt does for the Oakland A’s.,

• 113.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i don’t know why people complain about chiliboy when sense dictated – at the time – that meyer was doing both goosen and duane a disservice fielding both after having played +/- 40min of currie cup after long injury layoffs.

• 114.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@Brads-105: Who cares about Keo threads .Our traditional strengths have never been hugely successful ,but Meyer believes he is the one person who can get it right.

• 115.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-111:
    he has too much flair for HMs liking

• 116.Brads: Reply to this comment

@simorf-102:
    You are suggesting the selector and coach are in sync with your idea of a game plan and are picking white players over black.

More likely, a dated game plan involving dinosaur sized forwards can’t find any equally ineffective blacks rather than whites.

• 117.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-104: also, Mvovo might have let in a try then but Aus’s first try was let through by MSteyn and some forward, cant remember the number, but of course we only focus on the bad the black man did, puhsses me off.

• 118.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-113:
    for me personally, id start chilliboy any day of the week ahead of the hookers we have available now that bismark is out

hes a better test match hooker than strauss (the ruck inspector) and brits (wing/hooker)

• 119.Brads: Reply to this comment

@wpallday-114:
    There in lies the issue

• 120.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-104:

to be fair he’s won one lost one against the only two teams in world rugby who can compete with us.
    i called him out during and straght after the new zealand game, and while he wasn’t the worst player going and certainly did offer something in the game against oz, he did make a few mistakes.

• 121.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-113:
    @jacoshark-118:
    agreed.
    chilli is underated and under-utilised.

• 122.gunther: Reply to this comment

You would think the ANC would have bigger fish to fry.

Obviously not.

• 123.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-37: Please tell him why it is a stupid question.Dont just comment and then disappear.

• 124.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@slavedriver-19:

because there is nothing to worry about

• 125.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-112:
    i havn’t seen the movie or read the book, but have heard all about it.
    my question then is, wasn’t the story about a guy who WINS some competition/trophy with a bunch of players who were ‘not the bookies choice’..?..

• 126.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@John1976-108:
    Correct.

• 127.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-122:

its election season

which goes hand in hand with DEFLECTION season

anc takes its political lessons straight out of the republican party playbook.

• 128.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-124: give it a week, NZ supporters are the same as Saffas, the slightest blip gets the hive buzzing. and remember sir, pride commeth before the fall

• 129.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125: The coach to save money on player prices chooses players with the best figures based on computer analysis or such and such.

Basically doing what everyone does now.

But the only stats HM looks at is height/ weight!

• 130.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I guess I am the only bloke who considers Taute a far more exciting selection than dejong would be.

nonetheless dejong is on the bench and i imagine it is because he covers 12 and 13. Given how little time the coach has had getting combo’s together it is understandable trying to keep the 12/13 combo intact. Particularly when you now have a new 10 and 14 and 11 combo from the last game. Hence him also wanting to keep kirchener at 15. Otherwise we would have an entirely new backline outside of Pienaar and DeVilliers from the last game.
    I imagine Meyer would have considered Mapoe but again, the lack of combo time is a problem with that selection currently.

Basically, backline injuries have been really bad for Meyer with injuries to key forwards only less damaging. Ironically, his pack is already starting to have a settled look about it.

• 131.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-128:

we are not like SAFFA supporters they blip all the time

• 132.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-124: Give it time windgat. We have a saying in SA “Die wiel draai.” translated as “The wheel turns.”

Which basically means that everyone gets their chance, whether for a good time or a bad.

When NZ have a bad time again then we won’t miss your absence. :)

• 133.John1976: Reply to this comment

@John1976-108: BTW I think that you have raised some serious issues that really require the public protector to investigate. However posting it on the blog, in order to suggest that Mantashe should not have an opinion on rugby matters, is not going to make a difference.

• 134.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-52: Mr Mc tool

Fourie played well in the cc as a number 6 , before him a lot of playeres was tried in different positions without success.

Hougie, Pienaar, Steyn , Kunn,

Rossouw was actually a 7 playing lock, now yes some positions share commen things , a hooker can play a role as a loosie,

13 is a centre , defence is a big part of that , defence at 15,14 and 11 is different , thats why players moving from these num,bers to 13 , will always struggle with defence ( JJ , Taute )

Even J Fourie struggled with his defence in early years.

So you can swop certain numbers with a certain amount of success , 7 and 4 , 2 and 6
    But not 7 and 6 and not 15 to 13 without major addaptions in players style of play. So Danie would not be a 6 even if he changed his style of play .

Players you mentioned are acceptions on the rule , not the rule

• 135.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Condolences to the family of the girl who passed away at the Linkin Park concert last night. What a tragedy. Concert was brilliant – apart from the wind, but none of that seems relevant anymore, after hearing of the passing. :(
    Whoever reckoned that Lucozade structure was safe, is smoking the same crack as Meyer.

Onto Meyer….. nothing to say but: you made your own bed, enjoy sleeping in it. This could all have been avoided Heyneke, had you made more logic inspired selection decisions, rather than what seem to be emotional and size prejudiced ones. *toldyoufuckingso*

• 136.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-126: Why are you feeling that way?

• 137.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Yes I agree that De Jongh and Jantjes should be picked ON FORM

Meyer is no racist. I dont like his selections but hes picked Mvovo whos out of form and we know how much he likes Zane Kirchner,Bjorn Basson and Bryan Habana
    Politics needs to just P I S S O F F out of rugby and stop being pathetic losers.

Go and work on sorting out South Africas murder record rather than complaining about a bok team.

Also its not Meyers fault that Habana, Kolisi are injured and Chilliboy has only just returned.

For goodness sake its so annoying these people need to go away and let the team do the talking.

• 138.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-132:

yip I got the “wheel turns” part, to be fair though its a pretty slowing turning one for your mob

• 139.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@BESTER-96: Bryan Habana has scored the most tries in Bok Jersey….whats your point?
    @wpallday-98: A bit more Currie Cups than that.(3 and shared one with FS) Tell me then to what can we attribute the Bulls success then coming from fackall to top of the pops….the weather. Lets end this conversation there as it is headed in the same old direction.

• 140.Brads: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-128:
    Very true.

• 141.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-135:

Marketing fail.

• 142.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125:

no they don’t win in the end, laughingly there are similarities to Meyers selection policy.

basically the gm of oakland builds a team out of stats on the cheap. The players he recruits are nobodies favorites because they look funny, throw funny, are bulls,etc,etc. not to dissimilar to meyer (and jw before) that a good big one has better potential than a small good one.

ironically, they lose in the end to the Yankees “x-factor”. They had won more games that year than the Yankees and I believe hold the record for “wins” in a season.

But hence, another belief of Meyers…..he believes in “game-breakers” as he calls them.

• 143.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Who gives a toss what some spiv secretary in one of the world’s most inept, corrupt governments thinks about sporting selection…

Coaches live and die by their sword… not so with the baffoons in charge of more important issues than sport…

• 144.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-130: “Given how little time the coach has had getting combo’s together it is understandable trying to keep the 12/13 combo intact.”

Bull twang

De Villiers and De Jongh are a combo at S15 level. Have been for a while now.

• 145.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-131: Dude, you are talking to me like i dont read NZ rugby articles and blogs, you guys are exactly like us, you even dislike the aussies as much as we do.

• 146.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-130:

A blind man’s dog could’ve selected that Bok pack, in fact many would’ve picked a better pack than Meyer going back to his 1st squad.

Meyer’s rigid system’s outdated and his refusal to adapt will cause his downfall.

If he doesn’t change his mindset after this tour his Bok coaching career will be hanging by a thread.

• 147.capebull: Reply to this comment

@skunk-67: 2010 WC =0

• 148.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-141: Tell me about it. But honestly, while no-one could have predicted the disaster……someone should have at least ‘thought about it’. FFS, this is CT, wind damage and disasters are at the core of our existence.

• 149.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

and before anyone says why would Meyer not just keep the devilliers-jdj combo intact from superrugby…..it would mean currently having a newbie debuting bydefault at either 12 or 13 because of injury at a period of the game when pressure would be amplyfied.

It is just a smarter move having dejong on the bench covering at the minute.

• 150.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-134: now why do you have to resort to name calling, just shows the class im dealing with, our discussions with each other are done sir.

• 151.Brads: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-143:
    Well said.

All Polly’s require at least two faces.

• 152.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-145:

the point was the Bokke have far more blips than NZ, 5 and counting this year already, you read NZ rugby blogs are they as bad as KEO?

• 153.capebull: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-77: 2012 ?

• 154.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

http://www.news24.com/MyNews24/What-are-they-smoking-in-Pretoria-20121108

@NZINCHINA-152: The link above is for you :) From another Saffa forum….. you think this is bad? Read the provincial hate in those parts.

• 155.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-146:

really, wasn’t vermuelen injured then and bekker? And bismaark?

Etsebeth and coetzee were inspired debut selections in my opinion.
    Basically your gripe is Potgieter, who had a decent game by the way but was there by default as well because Alberts was also out injured?

erm, yes, you do indeed talk twak.

• 156.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

even PDV got criticised for not picking enough black players. politicians are rightly frustrated that after 20 years only 3 black players are are starting for the boks.

so the coach carries the criticism for systems failure.

• 157.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-152: pretty much on par i must say, are you trying to convince me that NZ supporters are not as passionate as Saffa supporters, not as “objective” as Saffa supporters and not as diverse in views?

• 158.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-155:

And Greylng also made the cut by default because coenie was also injured initially and then later on.

• 159.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-154:

i’ll have a read now

• 160.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-152:
    the boks dont cheat.

nz does.

• 161.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-152: another point, NZ get kicked out of 2007 RWC, NZ fans post online looking for someone to take out Barnes, Boks out of 2011 RWC, SA fans get a FB page to ban Lawrence. we are different sides of the same coin my friend.

• 162.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-157:

no mate i’m saying in most years AB fans have less to worry about as they lose a lot less often then SA

• 163.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

For those who care to read…

Does deep rooted racist behaviour still exist in SA Rugby? The simple and straight answer is yes. Can we call it racism? Well not in my opinion since racism or racists are those left wing fundamentalist ******* nut cases who make conscious decisions and take deliberate actions against people of a different race. What is happening in our rugby is the result of an ingrained belief that when it comes down to it, whites are more superior than blacks or coloureds.

You want proof of this? Spent some time with white folks around a braai or any environment discussing rugby. In fact, spend some time around white folks, family, friends etc in any environment discussing anything in South Africa. Listen to the comments when they see a white guy beg at the traffic light. Or when a white guy comes up to their car at a petrol station to fill it for them – or my personal favourite, when a white guy is on the back of a garbage truck emptying their bins…

Oh yes, make no mistake, I think and say the same thing all white folks does or what the white folks now reading this think! My best friends do, my brothers do, so too my uncles, acquaintances or any white guy I just met in a group of just white guys who airs to seemingly innocent black guy jokes in the company of fellow whites when they are on their own.

Of course I also do try and teach my son that everyone is equal, I consciously try and integrate myself with my coloured friends whenever I can because I am not a racist, I don’t hate people for the colour of their skin. But do I sub-consciously have this superiority complex because I am white – I hate to admit it but if I am honest with myself given my reactions to situations as explained above, and laughing at those seemingly innocent racist jokes around a braai with my white friends only, yes it is ingrained in my conscience.

I even tested myself and my fellow whites on this at one time. When I was still actively involved in coaching I made a decision to assist in and coach in an all coloured/black club. Once you break down the initial barriers and after a while you realise how different the lives of these boys are to what you know. How different white and black folks view the world around them and issues in life. But that was not the biggest shock for me. The day I took my black team to an all-white club for a game and experienced first-hand how these guys are racially abused by not only the guys on the sidelines, but the players on the field – the same guys I would normally braai with – and you see how this affects them, you realise what I am talking about.

Experiencing that did not make me an honourary black or less white than I am. I did not stop braaing with my friends, I still laugh along with those silly little jokes. But hell, at least I am no longer in denial that there is a problem I need to address – and like one of the players (the captain in fact) told me when we had a quiet chat sometime after I left the club, so does he because their braais at home amongst ‘his own kind’ is not that much different than mine.

Enough from me though, you folks can now continue throwing accusations from one side of the fence to the other.

• 164.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

I Knew this was coming.
    To be fair Heinke has done it to himself.
    I usually attack these ANC dudes that play the “race-card” in sport.
    I think they have cause this time.
    I wanna see players play coz they are good enough, but Meyer makes it difficult for you.

• 165.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-149: I dont agree.

• 166.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-129:
    nothing wrong with those stats :grin:

@Brigadier Van Zyl-142:
    please, stop…

you’re freaking me out

• 167.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-162: yes, i understand that, because your NZRU gets along well, but when the cow dung does hit the fan you guys are just like us, that you cannot dispute.

• 168.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-159:

couldn’t open it but having been to a game at Loftus and spent time in Pretoria nothing would surprise me

• 169.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Meyer is not even just race based.
    He is AWB based lol …
    He does play the non-Afrikarners.

I just ask that he plays the best team,
    What was Jacque Potgeiter doing in a Bok shirt.. Or Dean Greyling.

• 170.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-167:

agree with you to a certain extent but it runs a lot deeper in SA with all the other shite you guys have going on

• 171.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-165:

so then, if devilliers and jdj were starting this weekend at 12/13 and one of them goes down injured who comes on to fill the position?

please don’t throw in any names of players that have not played or even played as a combo with the the uninjured player still on the field.

• 172.Charging Rhino: Reply to this comment

In my opinion it has less to do with white or black. It’s got more to do with being white Afrikaans….. and then everyone else. Whether an English “soutie” or Coloured or black player or whoever.
    I don’t know Meyer (like most of you…duh), but it appears he gets more inward focussed when the heat is on, in contrast to looking “out there” at different options. (Perhaps like Jake White in hiring Eddie Jones to help with the backline attack).
    I’m happy he has finally given Pat, the “soutie” a chance…. but it’s taken 2 x Man of the Match performances and a third good CC Final performance to get there…. as he never had a chance before that. Pat basically said…”yes I do exist and I will play better than the best 88 other players SA has who take to the rugby field in 2 successive matches to show you it!!! …..” And perhaps even a 3rd if the Sharks lineout had operated better. That is a big BOOM to Meyer.

But Mr Gwede Mantashe, saying “The attitude is that coaches think this is a white sport and they meet the basic amount of players.” is a bit harsh and racist yourself don’t you think? Although there may be a little bit of truth in there maybe?

• 173.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi-156: exactly right, the systems have failed, gov should be asking the hard questions of SARU, asking them where their measurable programs are? what are the numbers for your sustainable ground roots systems to prove you are making progress in transforming the sport? once a quarter passing clinic is not transforming the sport!!

that being said, when black guys of quality do come through, Meyer must pick them, and we do not have a shortage of those at this point to justify the selections he’s made this weekend.

• 174.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-150: Appologies, I was wrong.

• 175.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-170: that is true, the diversity and complexity of our society will always permeate itself into our sport, its the teething period of a new nation, it has gotten better and will continue to do so i believe.

• 176.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Charging Rhino-172: I can not agree with you , you taking this to far.

not only is HM accused of racism, but he is also against english. Ag nee man

• 177.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-175:

Howzit Boet! I have enjoyed reading your posts and I have to agree with them. You are one of the really good and objective Bulls supporters… How is life as a daddy? Great of course…

• 178.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-166:

it actually goes a bit further than that as well….the oakland gm played players in positions on the field they were not accumstomed to. Stats suggested the players would get the team as a whole a better return after an extended run?

Taute at 13?
    And I would argue that his perchant for turning small blindsiders into hookers. And seeing how one of Bismaark Dup’s key weapons as the worlds best hooker is stealing ball on the ground as well as Deon Fourie converting the other way round this CC season…..there must be obvious stats and similarities between the skills of a traditional SA 6 and 2?

• 179.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-173: I can not agree with you, children in grade 4 and grade 5 have quotas in all sport , these children were born past 1994, why still have quotas in primary schools ?

You should rather ask what happens with these players after school , should gov. not spend like 250 mil on a sport facility to capture these players rather than , building a home for 1.

• 180.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163: Great read PA, just great.

• 181.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-171: Its better to start the game with a settled combo. You want to handicap us from the start? Doesnt make sense.

I would have Taute on the bench covering the centre positions. Seeing that Taute and JDV has played before it will suit your logic.

The thing is Taute should never have started that game against Aus, it should of been de Jongh.

• 182.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

I’m starting to detest meyer, he talks so much c r a p it’s unbelieveble. This morning I saw a interview with him and he said he didn’t select jdj because he didn’t want to select two new players in the backline so he went with lambie, which is fine I rate lambie but to start with taute at 13 who has had one cap and had a horrible debut as apposed to jdj who has more caps and has never let the sprinboks down doesn’t make sense.

• 183.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-120: should he be in the team seeing to as he knocked on incessantly, failed to clear succesfully, was USELESS on defence where nonu and smith where waltzing past him.

are you willing to accept the coach might be thinking about mvovo the way our boy with the inside lane to his thoughts explained to me yesterday?

285.Horings said:
    7 Nov 2012, 17:08 pm

@Transformation-283: Because Meyer believes Taute is potentially more equipped to handle the pressures of international rugby. He will rather COACH Taute to be a better player than JdJ can ever be.

what if meyer thinks mvovo is “equipped to handle the pressures of international rugby” ?

would you accept that as a plausible explaination? :D

• 184.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren-182:

I can’t read or believe anything the man says… The sooner he is history the better…

Stand up Mr Mallet…

• 185.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-179: when i say grass roots, i mean everything before CC senior team, i want to see where there are fully functional and sustainable academies in traditionally black regions? are there any? please i want to be proved wrong, where are the support for those systems to assist these players of colour that isnt controlled by the big unions? why is Sharks rugby having a hand in an academy in some arb country in the NH and not in the Transkei?

• 186.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-177: thanks GB, dont wanna see me on game day though, objectivity is out the window then.

fatherhood is great thanks, couldnt have asked for a better child. my wife and i have truly been blessed.

• 187.nama1: Reply to this comment

There, now you’ve done it HM.

You could’ve easily selected a team with 5 POC in the run on team for Saturday, all there on merit, and not even the most conservative white rugby supporter would’ve blinked an eye. Now you have the freakin politicians on your back as well.

Damn it man!!!

You are busy destroying the support that PdV drummed up for the Boks amongst all the people of SA during his tenure in no time with your inexplicable omissions of players who deserve to be in the run on team.

Get it right ASAP. We don’t need the politicians to meddle in rugby affairs.

• 188.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-184: This critism from Mantashe is going to cause HM to dig in his heels even further. He will just continue to try justify his selections and claim responsibilty for all the success stories and blame inexperience and unavailability of his preffered players for his failures.

• 189.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163:

Of course deep rooted racist supremacy influenced ideology runs through SA rugby who in their meager imaginations got the gdamn nerve to even think otherwise, just check the sh’t fly when threads like this come out.

This moron idiot coach brought this down on his own head, he thinks he’s next to God or something and has no responsibility to the broader population of this country and wants to run this team like his own little pet club enclave of supremacy dictatorship in his own little self made indoctrinated delusion.

He should get fckd up holy by the powers that be for his outright blind bigoted self indulged fascination. It was bound to happen the way he been carrying on as if he’s only answerable to himself and his pie in the sky whiter shade of pale God.

I don’t reckon HMM Meyer gonna make the cut, he’s gonna blow before he gets past base one, Saru got a big fckup on their hands now, they either gonna have to fire this palooka and pay him out or hope he walks through his frustrated ideology being thwarted or else reel him in and read him the riot act.

• 190.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-184: You know what the sad thing is I thought he was the right choice for the job. Wow I was wrong.

• 191.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

To be honest he just said what a lot of other people have been saying.

• 192.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Is HM more hated than PDV?

• 193.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-181:

although I also considered that option I still believe the other to be a better one at the minute. With only 2 weeks training you don’t exactly have a lot of time to practice with your “shadow” center and in your case it would be Taute with dejong moving to 12, a position he does not play as much in and hasn’t played for the boks in ever or for a really long time (previous coach).Coupled with the fact that Taute would then slot in at 13 a position he is still getting a feel for. So another debut combo half way through the game? Try remember that neither of these blokes would even get a look in if Frans Steyn was availible (or jaque fourie for that matter) and will be soon again. These okes are not the best centers SA have currently, they are fighting it out for 3-5 in the pecking order in my opinion and after next superrugby season that could be lower or higher in the pecking order.

• 194.the_rugby_guru: Reply to this comment

Most see with the whole taute experiment is simple. Jacque fourie started his career as a fullback. Taute Has the potential to be the next fourie Meyer doesn’t rate de Jong. That doesn’t mean he is racist. He doesn’t rate brussow. And he rates steyn. Those are his views. I don’t necessarily agree with them. And most don’t. But why always pull race cards. Lame. Sad. And the ultimate indicator of what sa is. A racist haven.

• 195.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren-182: he says he “doesn’t want to make many changes in the backline so he stuck with jaco and juan will get his chance”

• 196.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

PDV was the legend, even though I didn’t always think so during his tenure.
    PDV was forward thinking, no old school Bulls Rugby.

• 197.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@John1976-188:

so what exactly are “his selections”?

is it specifically DeJong we are reffering to?
    Or should Elton be on the bench for 80 minutes gathering splinters? Because I imagine unless Lambie gets injured he’ll play the full 80?

• 198.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

-JDJ should be second center with JDV as first center.
    -Taute wasnt even part of the set up and now gets a start ahead of JDJ.
    -Personally I think Taute should be 15 before Kirchner.

• 199.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-193: Look Brig, HM recently mentioned that he does not believe in pecking order to justify the ommision of Jantjies from the matchday 23. He is using the “horses for courses” approach and will therefore select the player he feels best suited for a particular game. That simply means based on the coach’s opinion anyone can leapfrog anybody at any stage depending on the coach’s preference.

• 200.Jeez: Reply to this comment

I wouldnt mind seeing these players in a match 25 one day:

Forwards:
    Steenkamp
    Beast
    Chilli
    Kolisi

Backs:
    Jantjies
    JdJ
    Rhule
    Habana
    JJP
    Mvovo
    Aplon

If they could be in a match 25 most of the time half of the team on the field will be players of colour.

Its essential for HM to get the numbers game right to get the politicians off his back. And if you look at these quality players to pick from it shouldnt be that difficult…

Hougaard should not be in the squad as a wing, not when these quality players are available. And to be fare he’s not the second best scrummie… so he should get the chop to make way for promising black players…

Chilli should be a regular substitute hooker…

Never again should a player like Potgieter be picked ahead of Kolisi.
    And Morne Steyn should make way for a promising player like Jantjies even if he falls behind Goosen and Lambie…

imo

• 201.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows-198: Or on the bench covering 15, 14, 13

• 202.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-195: You see that to me doesn’t make any sense. Surely it would be better to play juan who has better rapport whith jdv than a 1 cap player playing in a unfamiliar position.

• 203.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-197: I am refering to all his selections meaning his matchday 23, not any individual in particular.

• 204.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

The best bok backline they could get available:

15 Francois Steyn 14 JP Pietersen 13 Juan De Jongh 12 Jean de Villiers 11 Bryan Habana 10 Patrick Lambie 9 Ruan Pienaar

21 Francois Hougaard 22 Johan Goosen 23 Jaco Taute

29 Jano Vermaak / Cobus Reinach
    30 Elton Jantjes
    31 Gio Aplon
    32 Paul Jordaan / Tim Whitehead

• 205.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Personally I believe Mvovo is ordinary. The sharks new Kabous long hair version 2012.

any number of other better wingers in my opinion, white,black,female or otherwise.

If there is a 13 in SA that genuinely can feel overlooked it would be rob Eberson in my opinion. Would have been in the mix from the very start and would have slotted in at 13 very nicely outside of steyn or devilliers.

• 206.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@John1976-203:

so what is wrong in the pack?

• 207.skunk: Reply to this comment

Lets see what hapns in a couple of days time. I have no intrest in watching Meyers Boks. Just like I ddnt care much for Harrys Boks or Strualies Boks. Pathetic coaches all of them. And yes rugby is still viewed by many as a white sport. If you think otherwise listen to all the lovely comments about soccer when a black person comments about rugby. If its not about race then why jump on the mans back for saying what we are all saying.

• 208.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@John1976-133:
    I agree it wont make a difference. Mantashe however is giving his opinion as ANC secretary general. He should then be more diplomatic and keep his personal opinions personal.

• 209.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-197: “His selections” you ask? Meyer has a long list of selection war crimes, unbelievably achieved in a fuckingshort period of time.
    He is either:

a) thick
    b) thick
    c) thick
    d) thick

He is currently on trial for above mentioned war crimes.

• 210.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-130:
    I agree with on Taute, he has a great talent. I also agree though that he should be playing 15 and not 13.

• 211.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Let’s be honest here, Meyer threw Goosen, Etzebeth, Coetzee and Taute straight into the team as soon as he could, regardless of inexperience or injury problems.

Yet he becomes scared of putting in other players who don’t fit his favoured profile…

Secondly he’s a dumbass for not seeing this issue coming.

• 212.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-178:
    yes, very interesting to say the least. i think i’ll read the book or watch the movie, or both.
    i suppose at the end of the day the trick is for all those little ideas and slight changes made to pay off for a coach applying such a methodology.

because, again, at the end of the day its either going to work or its not. make no mistake, i still believe in heyneke meyer and just hope his system see’s fruition sooner as opposed to later.

@Transformation-183:
    lmao :lol:

tears transie… tears…

yes… yes i will accept that as a plausible explanation.

• 213.skunk: Reply to this comment

Stawm

he gave his oppinion as a rugby fan. Not as the ANC sec gen. Journos just thought the ANC angle will sound more catching.

• 214.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-205:
    i reckon there’s even an indian wing out there, somewhere, who would give mvovo a serious run for his money :lol:

• 215.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-205:

Don’t insult Kabous.
    90 tries in 128 matches for Natal is no mean feat.

• 216.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-206:My opinion is :Kruger is a bit soft, fall off tackles quite easily ; Alberts is a 20 minute max player and disappears later in the game; Strauss is a ruck inspector and could also be found taking up space in the backline.

• 217.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163:

Exactly what I been telling 99% of the white superiority engendered pseudo intellectually educated snot noses right here, its buried deep within their bourgeois reared psyche and even these little self denying supremacists who ‘think’ they are not afflicted by this inane societal disease can’t even see it within themselves.

The author of this piece at least took a pretty hard look at himself and came out with some honest answers.

• 218.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214:

raj ‘hotwings’ naidoo

put your boots on

• 219.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-215:

was that pre or post professional era?

• 220.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163:

Thanks for wearing your heart on your sleeve here – RESPECT!

However, Heyneke Meyer was put there by SARU – Jurie Roux, Hoskins and their merrymen who themselves have vitriolic pulsating rascism in their own ranks and amongst themselves.
    SARU have now relocated to Hendrik Verwoerd Drive – now I ask you with tears in my eyes what kind of sensitivity is that?
    Have these people lost their mind?
    Ask any of the black coloured churra or moslem men and women walking the corridors there and part of this reason is that SARU has done squat in either an Academy to develop nurture feed & condition players of colour or to address this head on and groom players of colour in the same way youngsters at 15-20 are groomed for the provincial teams so we can say – see there – these boys were picked on merit – and they were – only they could run over and walk through those players of colour because of their headstart at the lunch and dining room table.
    I am sorry that Heyneke Meyer becomes the lightning rod for SARU who have closed their eyes wide shut to their very own constitution – so Gwede has every right to highlight the effect as SARU have failed to address the cause.
    This is a right mess and should Meyer and his white Springboks lose to Ireland and England – we all will be calling for his head.
    The biggest stuff up (well actually one of many) SARU did was to walk away from an investment of R15,000,000-00 in November last year and not appointing Peter de Villiers to groom the talent he spotted.
    This shows zero succession plan and quite frankly was unzipping their fly in the face of every coloured, black, mozzie, indian and matabele from Zimbabwe.

• 221.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-210:
    Yes and Meyer also agrees that Taute is looking long term as a possible 15 but not selecting Kirchener would mean losing even more of what little experience you have in the backs.
    Meyer has continuelly said “horses for courses” but he is stuck in the middle of trying to get some consistent selection vs his preffered players in preferred positions.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-209:

personally I believe You along with skop to be the most emotionally unstable on this sight. Throw in HG to make it a trio.

But that is just my opinion.

• 222.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-138: Nah, not really, been three years since we had an epic year and 5 years since we won the WC, so not really. AB’s had a dry spell on and off since 1987, but also did not win the WC for 24 years. Our cicle was only 12 years.

But SA going through a dip nou as well as Aussies, so I think AB’s will have easy ride in SH for the next three years if things stay the same, that is if your coach doesn’t screw it up like he did your lineouts in ’09.

• 223.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@skunk-213: Without someone jumping out and accusing me of being a “Camps Bay lilly liberal”, might I say that I can’t believe people are surprised, shocked or even upset at Gwede’s remarks.
    Meyer had to have seen it coming after all the smack he (Meyer) has spoken throughout the year when it comes to selections? He is not trusted – by anyone outside Pretoria (or not anymore at least…and to think this twat was hailed as the Dalai Lama of the rugby world when he descended onto the Bok throne riding a bull with wings) I doubt Meyer can even remember some of the sh y te he has spat out since being appointed………
    Funny old world though – he might not remember, but others do :)

After all, we live in one of the most polarised societies on the planet……

• 224.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-220:

He Gecko
    Long time since we saw you post something.

• 225.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

on another note,

what’s with all these articles on lambie (mostly) and various other sharkies..?…

this blog’s taken a decidely sharkie turn

• 226.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Meyer brought this ugly situation onto himself.When he took over he promised to reward form,but he turns around and select non-performing Bulls players and selecting players out of position above performing ones like JdJ etc etc.SA is better off with an English speaking coach it seems.These Afrikaner ones are as thick as planks it seems.Real farking rock spiders to say the least.That’s what you get when you leave civilisation to trek up to the northern wilderness.

• 227.Horings: Reply to this comment

Can anyone please comment on the selections of Strauss, Etzebeth, Louw, Vermeulen and Coetzee. All of them Meyer rate highly, pushing them into the team as soon as they were available. All of them were not close to regulars under the old regime. All of them are not anywhere near the Bulls set up.

Questions: Were these good selections? Have these players been successful at the highest level in their first international season?

Yes, Meyer made mistakes and he is still making some, but he has done a lot more good things than bad things. Interesting that Werner Kruger, Dean Greyling, Morne Steyn, Flip vd Merwe, Francois Hougaard, Kirchner are all players first capped by Peter de Villiers. Only Juandre Kruger, JJ Engelbrecht, Jacques Potgieter and Arno Botha are new Boks that are Bulls. Kruger has been good and Botha is an inspiring choice. Potgieter is a fail and Engelbrecht was not really part of any test match.

• 228.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-204: disagree – Frans is the best 12 we have and Jean is the cancer in the backline. Ultimately Jan Serfontein will also make the mix and 13 at present going to the best candidate would be Jacques Fourie if were speaking hypothetically and probably will still be in 3 years time. Behind him we have Juan de Jongh and id dare to say players like Paul Jordaan and Robert Ebersohn should be somehwere in that frame too.

• 229.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-221: My name with Skop and HG’s? Uberfuckingawesomeness…… not.

Don’t let a little bit of my emotion get in the way of the truth, RE: Meyer.

Has he, or has he NOT made this whole coach thing VERY HARD for himself?

• 230.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-217:
    You did notice the part where the club player admitted his braai buddies say much the same thing didnt you.
    You can step down from your self acclaimed high horse for a while. There is definitely a racism problem in this country, but it is not a one way street. You are only seeing the one side.

• 231.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214: Funny, but no, you are wrong.

Fast, strong and good finisher – took three WP players to keep him from scoring in CC SF, almost looked like he would for a second or two.

• 232.XV: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163: Respect

• 233.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

can anyone tell me, is @skopdiekan-217: that oke who ran off to the UK and now runs down anything white, who was blocked from keo.co.za a few times?

• 234.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-59: At this level, one player off form can be the difference between winning and losing.

• 235.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-226: Dit is natuurlik nie rasisties nie.

• 236.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@John1976-216:

I agree and would have considered Flip as a starting combo. but makes very valid points withregards to lineout calling and he would again be starting from scratch by playing that combo. Likewise if he called in a new 5 who has not yet been in the mix.

• 237.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Horings-227:
    the only mistakes meyer has made in my opinion was putting his faith and trust in, and believing in ‘the peoples’ players only for them let him down, badly.

• 238.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-225: :) Trying to get the attention of the lost guppies?

• 239.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-226: Kom ons wag maar vir die eerste Engelse coach om ‘n SA span in die super rugby reeks te laat wen.

• 240.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@skunk-213:
    Maybe you are right, in fact considering how much the “journos” like to incite hatred with their falsifications just to generate public interest, it is most probable you are right. With this in mind then, no high profile politician with any brains should respond to a question like that when it is not in his mandated portfolio to do so.

• 241.willievz: Reply to this comment

I saw this coming.

• 242.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-229:

dude…he doesn’t injure players himself.
    And finding some sort of consistency in selection is as important as just starting this months “player of the month”.

I have asked the question already but none answer.
    Who is exactly wrong in this tests match day squad given the “situation”

• 243.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Horings-239:
    Kitch Kristie?

• 244.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-231:
    yes… yes… he is deadly at cc level isn’t he…

• 245.gonzo: Reply to this comment

A pity ANC can’t hold an amnesty for guys like Mujati who were capped before the passport regulation came in. I understand the sentiment of the law but applying it retrospectively seems unnecessary

If everyone was fit, Meyer could select Beast/Mujati/JPP/Habana and he seems to like Kirchner for now. Add JdJ and Jantjies on the bench. Meyer could end the game with an almost non-white backline. That’s 7 guys in the 22 all based on merit and appears to be in Meyer’s thinking. Perhaps even add Kolisi if he’s fit and Meyer decides to blood him.

So how can the guy really be criticised?

I know my logic doesn’t hold water with Taute maybe taking Kirchner’s place once Steyn is fit, Jantjies dropping out once Goosen is back. But it’s not far off reality now

• 246.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-233:

Who cares?
    Maybe MacToogie you are looking for Percy FitsPatrick.

• 247.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

As for playing black players – the unfortunate thing is Chilliboy, Jantjes Kirchener are not the best in their respective psotions. I agree Mvovo should be put ahead of Houghaard at present as he is more of a specialist wing. So cant see us losing much on switching them. Rhule has just been included in the squad. Juan de Jongh SHOULD be playing but by making that selection it would mean Taute to 15 and Kirchener out – catch 22.

I believe all this starts at grassroots level and blaming the national coach for lack of transformation is childish in the extreme. With sport there is no BEE style appointments – you either cut it or you dont.

Agree on Kolisi but he is injured at present. Had Meyer selected him in the beginning instead of effing about with all his Bulls tjommies then maybe he wouldnt be injured now – he certainly ticked all the boxes when there was great uncertainty about who can play 6. So on that one yep – Heynekes lame selections are very much to blame and he had an opportunity to add another black player to the team which he did not.

• 248.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-235: No.The Afrikaners that stayed behind in the Cape are totally different to the Pretoria ones. :D

• 249.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-243: Jy praat van daardie uitnodigings toernooi? Net Lions ondersteuners sien dit as noemenswaardig. O ja, Kitch het ook sy rugby in Pretoria geleer. Moet seker maar die Afrikaanse invloed wees.

• 250.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i don’t know why everyone is getting their collective knickers in a knot, meyer won’t change, bow down to media/political pressure or even concede to SARU.

29 May 2012

Players must know why they play the game,’ Meyer told me. ‘They must know why they want to play for South Africa. They must be committed to leaving a legacy. I don’t want players whose dream it is to be a Springbok. I want those who have always dreamed of being good … great … Springboks. I want players who want it; not because a coach, their moms and dads, ‘the media or the public want it for them … but because they want it. Great players don’t have to be told to go the extra mile. They are great because they go the extra mile.’

just relax, buy your beers, wood and meat on saturday and watch the boks like a fan/supporter and stop thinking you know more than the coach.

• 251.Transformation: Reply to this comment

250.Transformation said:
    8 Nov 2012, 11:21 am
    i don’t know why everyone is getting their collective knickers in a knot, meyer won’t change, bow down to media/political pressure or even concede to SARU.
    29 May 2012
    Players must know why they play the game,’ Meyer told me. ‘They must know why they want to play for South Africa. They must be committed to leaving a legacy. I don’t want players whose dream it is to be a Springbok. I want those who have always dreamed of being good … great … Springboks. I want players who want it; not because a coach, their moms and dads, the media or the public want it for them … but because they want it. Great players don’t have to be told to go the extra mile. They are great because they go the extra mile.’

just relax, buy your beers, wood and meat on saturday and watch the boks like a fan/supporter and stop thinking you know more than the coach.

• 252.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-238:
    a bit of OTT if you ask me though. :)

cloying desperation, when trying to win back someone who’s spurned you is an easy way to really put them off you in a big way.

it could work, but it could fail too.

• 253.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-248: Ja, ons noem hulle Joiners.

• 254.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Horings-227: Everybody in SA saw them as natural successors to the old guard or possible replacements.

Potgieter, Arno, JJ, W Kruger and Greyling were all favouritist selections based on HM’s warped and outdated gameplan.

Arno, is the only player from that lot that can offer anything of value.

Kirchner was always a quota, but with JDJ who is the better player he can actually improve the makeup of his team. The issue I think is HM likes players he can relate too. He can obviously not relate to any Cape Colourds, as he has not picked one coloured player to start who has not played for the bulls more than one match. Aplon and Jantjies are the only non-bulls coloureds to start a match, and only one match.

Potgieter sucked from the get go and stayed in the team for ages before public pressure got him to eject the greese ball.

Aplon had one chance and he got shafted, so did Jantjies! Steyn had to ruin our RC chances before he got booted!

Clear favouritism through out HM’s reign as coach so far.

• 255.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-243: :D . Thick as planks I say.He actually believes that South African super rugby success started with the Bulls just like the CC started when the Bulls started to play with themselves. :D

• 256.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Horings-227: well said Horings, people are so blinkered when it comes to provincialism , of those players you mentioned:
    Dean Greyling,
    Morne Steyn,
    Flip vd Merwe,
    Francois Hougaard,
    Juandre Kruger,
    JJ Engelbrecht,
    Jacques Potgieter
    have been dropped or shifted quite soon after have bad games, with the exception of Steyn of course but that is a different story as Meyer was trying to play him back into form (bad idea in my books)

• 257.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-251:
    are you speaking to us or skop? :grin:

• 258.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Horings-249:
    I see. So his success is due to Afrikaans influence?
    Live and learn.

• 259.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-220:

I can keep you busy for hours on my thoughts on SA Rugby bud.

Did something yesterday, won’t repost the whole thing here but you can read it here. http://www.ruggaworld.com/2012/11/07/imagine-if/

• 260.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-256:
    agreed

• 261.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-250: My neighbour’s kid has a learning disability, a severe one; combined with various other afflictions. But, he is MASSIVE in build and has always dreamt of becoming a Springbok.
    I’m expecting him to be awarded a Bok jersey sometime in the VERY near future.

• 262.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-246: i care because i do not engage with or indulge trolls such as yourself.

• 263.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-251: Did Potgieter go the extra mile when after 30min mark of every game he stops carrying the ball because he is useless?
    Did Steyn go the extra mile when he missed all the kicks that lost us the RC?
    Did Taute go the extra mile when he missed Dagg which led to a try that started the avalanche that killed us? Or when Taute kicked the ball directly to Carter only for them to go wide and score?
    Did Greyling go the extra mile when he got carded for fore arming McCaw?
    Did Hougard go the extra mile when his box kicks got stormed down every 2nd kick?

HM knows what he wants but it translates in his brain as:
    Big, fast, blue bull, tactical kicking or big again.

• 264.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-252: They should rather be sending flowers doncha think?

• 265.Horings: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-256: Thanks. Agree on Morne, but you will recognise the amount of debutants Meyer brought into the team. Morne is one of the few experienced players (partially due to Peter de Villiers) and in my opinion it is the experienced guys that let him down this year. Not the new selections he made.

Glad to see there are some bloggers who are clear thinkers and do not think they are bright because they are English speaking without showing any signs of logic.

• 266.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-250:

Transie – you in trance there? Of course he will have to change, it just takes a while before the natives get restless because Meyer is losing.
    Have you not seen how he has low self esteem and continuously blinks at press conference interviews, is because he is in deep doo doo and he knows it.
    Meyer has been unable to impart the gravitas required for this level of competition.
    Heyneke Meyer is an emotional man and fairly immature with his emotions as we have seen in the coaches box as it runs away with him.
    He is as emotional and passionate as a number of hard core people here who shout at their TV screen at home – and Meyer does not have composure to think and process strategies for his team that he fuels on his passion and a prayer to go with it.
    The European teams have been waiting for the arrival of the Boks, and they will be clinical about filleting us as much as your butcher at the local Spar – sorting out your rib-eye for Saturday.
    Cook with gas – Not coals.
    Drink a Soweto Pepsi and wonder who will be in the Super Rugby Promotion Relegation matches in July 2013 as there is a doo doo storm coming.
    Peace.

• 267.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-256: Sorry, haw many games did Potgieter srewup before he got dropped? The answer is whatever the number of games he played. That idiot should never have come close to the bok setup.

JJ wasn’t ready and never really got a chance.
    Steyn screwed up our entire RC challange. He is the sole reason we never stood a chance. Him and Louis Koen.

• 268.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

ooMantashe ngamagwala bathetha nje kodwa bengenzinto , nini madoda abaphetheyo kodwa niphethwe. aniyazi uba abacinezeli benu bathi aba bamnyama behlisa umgangatho ,indlela yokudlala NESIDIMA seliqela. uba basathetha bafana nje noleqa intlanzi emanzini . isibhambathiso sabekwa ngoo Craven naba nakwabo lamadoda alandela iimimiselo yoyise mkhulu.

imfesane zange babanayo uba nifuna yona

*madlaga alapha mfowethu akasifuni mfowethu afun’usenza mfowethu amakhoboka mfowethu* ndigwija

• 269.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-258: No I do not really think that. Only a reaction to racist comments.

• 270.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-262:

You come across as an insecure cretin. Troll my derriere!

• 271.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-264:
    yes, perhaps a small unassuming gift of flowers together with a considerate, from the heart ‘which speaks to the person/s on a personal level and says how well you know them’ little gift, less of expense and more of thought.

do that and then give them their space, and respect that space.

time will do the rest… and hopefully you find one another again. :grin:

• 272.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-268:

don’t lose us in translation here – Google Translate please so we get your meaning.

• 273.Marty: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163: Interesting post and I like the passion. You’ll find that most ‘whites’ like you and I feel the same way but I am not stressed at all as time is the factor here.

What everyone forgets is that S.A. has already made immense strides with regards to racism in the last 10 years. I compare it this way, when I was in school (upper class public school) I had mostly white friends and the barrier was still large.

I look at my mates’ children now that are in primary school (upper class public school) – these kids don’t even know the difference between Indian, black, white, Asian, etc. Their house parties, sleep-overs, etc. are an absolute mixed combination. They all have the same accents.

In another 10 years I believe the gap would have closed even more. Just give it time.
    In rugby terms, I think that all passionate rugby supportes couldn’t give a damn anymore about colour – we just want to see the best.

Once all ethnical races have the same opportunities (i.e. public schools are an even mixture of Indian, white, balck, etc.) the make-up of the national team will be balanced naturally.

• 274.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-251:
    there is good in you, transie
    this is the transie i like and want to see more of.
    not the divisive all black loving stirrer :grin:

• 275.Horings: Reply to this comment

Snaaks hoe die mense in die Kaap belewenisse in terme van ras het en ‘n opinie vorm oor hoe ons die probleme in die land kan oplos. Julle weet nie wat aangaan nie. As mens in Bosbokrand rondloop is jy ‘n ewigheid van die Kaap af. Nie net 1500km nie.

• 276.cane: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-264:

How about “Sorry Puma, Sharksgirl and Shark-Lover”. I was only fooling around.

Signed,
    Niki.

• 277.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-267: Potgieter played 3 games before getting the axe, hardly a lifetime, and like i said he was trying to play Steyn back into form as he is doing with Houghaard now, which i said was a mistake, so in my view that is 2 bulls player he favoured from a list of 8 he tried out, hardly a big number if you look at the make up of the squad

Aplon is never going to be the long term solution at wing or FB and i am just as flabbergasted as you that Jantjies and Mvovo arent starting this weekend, the point Horing’s is trying to make and which i am trying to supplement is that the only reason why supporters perceive Meyer to have a Bulls bias is because of their own provincial bias. the facts are there for all to see if they just choose to.

• 278.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-220: “SARU has done squat in either an Academy to develop nurture feed & condition players of colour or to address this head on and groom players of colour in the same way youngsters at 15-20 are groomed for the provincial teams so we can say – see there – these boys were picked on merit – and they were – only they could run over and walk through those players of colour because of their headstart at the lunch and dining room table.”

which school out of all the ones that have historically produced rugby players/springboks is SARU funded?

• 279.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-270: point made, thanks.

• 280.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Marty-273:

Racism is not unique to SA – not by a long shot. It is an issue in SA because we make it an issue which is not a bad thing actually. That said, transformation in rugby would be an automatic by-product if we get the other **** right in our game.

• 281.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-276:
    sorry that they were polluting the place with their man boy love..?..

wow!

political correctness is going to be the end of this world.

• 282.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

speaking of the world ending, isn’t it supposed to any day now?

when exactly?

is it a specific date?

• 283.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Horings-275: dude, i cant back or understand your posts if you use all these big afrikaans words man :P

• 284.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-266: A/n (very) injury hit Ireland, Scotland and the Poms all fancy their chances against us….. A loss to ONE of them, will be a loss too many for Meyer at this stage.

• 285.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-278:

You miss the point Transie – profile the players and then look at the wonga behind the players

• 286.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-280:
    exaclty, and well put.

‘A former Auckland teammate and personal friend of Pat Lam says racism is nothing new in New Zealand rugby.’

http://tvnz.co.nz/rugby-news/racism-nothing-new-in-nz-fatialofa-4829886

‘The morons in question may in fact have been speaking for a much broader societal spectrum than will ever be publicly acknowledged. Racism is New Zealand rugby’s dirty little secret – an issue that whenever explored, ignites blasts of righteous indignation and denials.’

http://www.nzrugbyworld.co.nz/magazine/152/pacific-divide

to our credit, i would say we are far more honest, open and engaging in this regard.

• 287.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-284:

I think Gert Smal has made a study of all the Springbok players as he knows thei line out calls and has developed a game plan to neutralise the forwards.

Gert – is our man – and he hates to lose and has a point to prove – roll on 21H00 Saturday to see the end result.

• 288.Horings: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-283: Sorry. I start to comment in Afrikaans when I get a bit angry at some bloggers.

My point in 275 is the following: There are signs in Cape Town and in Johannesburg that everyone can live in harmony when they are going to the same school and have similar backgrounds. This is true.

The fact is, places in the Platteland like Bosbokrand is so far from this. The entire country will not change for the good in the next 100 years and the chances are it will first go downhill fast.

• 289.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

This is what makes Springbok rugby so unique… No other rugby coach has to deal with this.

Politicians need to let Meyer do his job. Transformation is a gradual process. They are only adding stress to everyone’s lives by pulling the race card out. And to be quite honest its actually damned disrespectful to a highly accomplished man who Mantashe probably doesnt know personally.

Coaches need time to build a winning team and move towards transformation. To throw the toys out the pram so soon does more harm than good.

Heyneke keep going Sit. I have critisized your game plan in the past, but the way you have been treated is disgraceful.

• 290.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Was Mantashe asking the same questions of Divvy when he was coach and selecting fewer black touring players than HM is?

Mantashes obviously got way too much time on his hands. You’d think he’d have something more important to do.

• 291.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-286:

YAWN.

• 292.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-287: I remember Bismark saying he had to learn new calls at the start of the year. I know Smal knew the old calls, but does he know the new calls.

• 293.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-286: NZ has racism, theft, rape and murder. No doubt about it, every Kiwi will admit it. We even have skin heads in Chch who attack helpless Chinese students for no reason.

But it’s not always the first card that gets played, thank god. And it is definitely less of an issue than in SA but we have a different history, demography, political landscape.

But then this thread is about SA so let’s not high jack it

• 294.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-291:
    this isn’t about you, precious.

• 295.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Marty-273:
    People said that after the 2003 RWC also. We are nearly 10 years down the line now. What changed? The number of POC in the run on team has been increased from 2 to 3, that’s what.

I remember a former blogger, WP_ ,and I had this discussion after the RWC in 2007 and he told me to be patient because things will be on equal footing by the next RWC (2011) given the amount of young talent coming through.

Yet, you ask for another 10 years to get it right?

Now, if there were no other merit selections available, it would not have been a problem. The problem now is that you have a situation where the player/s who
    is/are left out is/are better than the player/s who get/s selected.

• 296.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Horings-288: lol, was just pulling the piss bud, i dont share your view on the country though, we have plenty problems for sure and it will take a long tie to fix but i see signs that things are moving in the right direction faster than we expected, for me the starting point is education and it seems the gov has finally realised that their current models are not ideal and need a rework, once the education system gets on the right track things will get better quickly.

• 297.cane: Reply to this comment

@Horings-292:

I thought your Guys just called someones number in Afrikaans.

• 298.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-221:

Check this stupid ignoramus white moron thinking its emotionally stable, have you ever seen more outright supremacy laden denial anywhere in creation, its imbecile idiot morons the likes of these that are the epitome of the cancerous racist garbage that needs rooting out of the pseudo sophistication entrenched bigotry in SA rugby

• 299.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-289:
    Transformation is gradual yes, but he currently has black players who are of international quality who are being kept out by inferior white players.

• 300.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-293:
    yes, the point is i was agreeing with and validating pissant’s statement by pointing out two examples of racism in nz, of which there are many more than one would like i guess

he makes the point that is exists and is not unique to sa, and i agree.

i’m sure one could just as easily find examples in any other arbitrary rugby country.

• 301.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-261:

Do you live under power lines?

• 302.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Teacup slams ANC saying they are not keen on putting capable people in government. Film at 11.

• 303.John1976: Reply to this comment

@nama1-295: I find it similar to the argument, from HM, that Coetzee is ready to step up to international rugby while Kolisie had to wait and gain more experience and there are many more examples. It is really pathetic to expect players and supporters to accept that kind of prejudice.

• 304.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-282:
    22 December, I think.

@Kaizan-289:
    You don’t really have to “know” Meyer to see that he is reluctant to play certain players.

• 305.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

HM must refrain making cotradictory statements that might be construed as racist behaviour…

Marcell Coetzee (21), a blindside flanker, after impressing in SR – is deemed old enough and good enough to start for the boks at openside flanker. We are told Siya Kolisi (21), who also impressed in SR at openside flanker, had to prove himself some more before he could be considered for higher honours. Yet it took Arno Botha (21) a handful of CC games to prove he was bok material.

The reason cited for Elton Jantjies collecting splinters on the bench in the dead rubber third test against England, was inexperience. Meyer has continually stated that he will not throw a player in the deep end. But he had no problem starting 20 year old Johan Goosen and 21 year old Jaco Taute against the best in the world.

When Pat Lambie, who earlier was deemed not good enough to play flyhalf for the boks, impresses at flyhalf after 3 CC games – having outplayed his direct competition in one of those games – he gets a start. Yet JdJ who was not seen as good enough to start at 13, impresses in 3 CC games in that position – having outplayed his direct competion in one of those games – we’re told the CC is enough to gauge a player’s aptitude for test rugby. So, 3 CC games are good enough to convince Meyer that Lambie is ready to start for the boks but not JdJ…

At the start of the international season Chilliboy was third choice hooker, he got injured, came back, played three games off the bench and is back in the squad. When he does not make the match 23, the explanation given is that he hasn’t played much rugby recently. However, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermuelen and Coenie Oosthuizen needed half a game, after coming back from injury, to prove they were ready…

Some of Meyer’s problems are of his own doing…

• 306.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-272: hayi bendisathetha nabahlali base mzantsi hayi england , uvile?

• 307.Horings: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-296: Yes, hopefully you are correct. I am still in the country, so I obvioulsy do have hope.

We are so far behind in education that it will take at least 10 years just to re-educate the current new teachers how to teach properly. This will in turn take 12 years for people to come through the system under our new education system.

In the mean time increased pressure on the economy will have a huge affect on the poorest of poor people and I think a revolution is on our door steps. People down south may not feel the tension, but we feel it up north.

• 308.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-33: I realised that 12 years ago when they introduced the racist quota system at Currie Cup level…if only more people would admit how damaging it is when politicians mix politics & sport…the racist Nationalist regime tried it before this one and sadly these fools haven’t learnt from it.

• 309.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-301:
    bwahahahaha :lol:

• 310.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-305: cacile madoda lomntu akanifuni nje ngabanye , ayothusi lento . niphethwe ngabantu abacenge intlalontle ke ingxaki aboyika ugqabhuza amathumba ngoba inkovu iyanuka

• 311.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-304:
    ok, thanks for that.
    i’ll look forward to it.

• 312.Braders: Reply to this comment

The problem is not at at test level! The problem lies at junior, club, Vodacom Cup and CC level.
    What is SARU doing to develope world class black players????
    What about the Kings issue? They were promoted to Super Rugby because they were supposed to be selecting many black players? This hasn’t happened?
    If there are world class black players available like Habana, Peterson etc. they will be selected!!!!

• 313.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Marty-273:
    Yeah 50 years too late imagine the progress if that indoctrinated trash hadn’t set root so deep for 50 years too long, and then 80% of the white rugby lovers on this site would welcome turning the clock back to that, take a gender at their oozing thought processes and try spot the progress if you reckon you can.

• 314.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Let’s see:

Kolisi is out for the season.

Chilliboy is coming off a long injury layoff.

If you put de Jongh in at centre, it just means Taute pushes Kirchner out, so no net gain in black players.

Mujati is not eligible.

Habana is injured.

And when Jantjies came on against the All Blacks, we got killed despite having an early lead.

So what you’re left with is Mvovo, who is not the big match player that Hougaard is.

So what’s the argument?

• 315.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-300: fair point. sometimes it’s hard to keep up with these racism threads. The posts come faster than i can read. i just figured it was one of your usual anti-nz posts but this time you were illustrating a point. my apologies :)

• 316.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-287:

Gordon

the last time a gert smal team met a heyneke meyer…

75-14 happened. And that a springbok laden stormers side.

both are very good coaches in my opinion.

• 317.nama1: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-299:
    Precisely.

@John1976-303:
    Exactly.

See mxhosa @ 305.

• 318.Redox: Reply to this comment

I do believe that Heyneke is prejudice against player of colour but you could say the same thing about smaller players and players who dont wear light blue rugby jumpers i certainly do not think that its something his aware of i just dont think Heyneke is coping with the pressure assoicated with the job when this happens u tend to go with ppl your comfortable with. The best example of bias is the Home test against new zealand, Taute battled all game on defence, heyneke hadnt criticised a single player by name all season and that includes Dean Greyling after the test in nz, heyneke does the post match interview and is asked about the boks defensive frailties and what does he say? “Its not Elton’s fault he hasnt played in a while” Yes HM we realise its not his fault but you werent asked about Elton. So after watching a terrible bok performance with countless missed tackles and mistakes all HM saw was the fact that elton failed to drift on defence once. Eish you see what you want to see i guess

• 319.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-314:

hey tacci…..how’s things haven’t seen you around for a while.

• 320.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Braders-312: In the absense of world class players, for what ever reason, it is reasonable to expect the coach to select the next best available players in that particular position, not so. With young inexperience players the criteria should be apply when it comes to selection. Currently, as pointed out the comment #305 above, different rules are applicable to different players and is definately an indication that HM is PREJUDICE towards certain players.

• 321.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-315:
    no worries hey,
    this time i was in fact merely illustrating a point but for the rest it will be the usual anti-nz bias. you can say a lot about me, but at least i’m consistent :)

• 322.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@John1976-303: Heyneke Meyer is an outright broederbond type entrenched racist man, which g’dam dumbfck idiot is still trying to pretend otherwise?

He should germanic the riot act chucked at him, smack him straight out of his indoctrinated entrenched stupor

• 323.Horings: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-313: Well we would have become a communist country 50 years ago. Taking into account that our education actually have gone backwards the last 20 years then we would have been the most uneducated communist country ever. At least some educated people are keeping this country above the water.

• 324.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-319:

Not much happening on the rugby front for a while.

• 325.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-316: WHOA WHOA WHOA, STOP THE BUS!!!!!!!
    A kiwi on keo who admits he was wrong and says sorry??????

RING RING, RING RING

“Hello?…… Oh Hi Satan……… yeah sure, i will send a blanket and heater down right away…… you’re welcome”

• 326.John1976: Reply to this comment

@John1976-320: should be “same” criteria

• 327.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-277: He is giving starting spots to untested idiots and continues to support players who are out of form. But players who are rocking and playing well are neglected and overlooked! Wh ydid he select Potgieter in the first place? Because he is a bull. Why does he continue to try and make Taute/ Hougard something they are clearly not? Hy does he not reward form? But does he say one thing and does something else?

The man does not see reason, but only does what is comfortable. He clearly is not comfortable with a tried and test quality 13 who happens to be smaller than a tried and failed 13 who happens to be bigger.

The man is blinded by his narrow bulls mentality of bigger is better, bulls is better or white is better. This seems to be his train of thought.

Look at his choices at 13 before selecting JDJ?

De Villiers (biggest centre besides F Steyn in SA I believe, actually a specialist 12).
    JJ Engelbrecht (tall, fast and a bull, actually a wing)
    Taute (big and fast, weak defender at 13, actually a 15)
    JDJ (smaller but fast, agile and clinical finisher, best defender of all of the above)

Do you see the nonsensical nature of his decision making?

• 328.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-322: germanic = get
    autospell fault

• 329.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-314:
    and there you have it…
    you have such a way to cut through all the BS and get to the bottom of things, tac.

dawn was right about your gravitas… its big… and its blue… :lol:

• 330.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-295: @MacToogie-299: Last year during the Currie Cup Alistair Coetzee was heavily criticised by Thelo Wakefield for a WP Currie Cup team that was ‘too’ white. Alistair Coetzee answered on a public platform, in fact, the same platform Thelo used to ‘question’ his selections.
    Alistair, being the absolute gentleman and RUGBY man that he is, answered in a manner that left ZERO doubt as to his selection policy during that time, and that merit (his merit rankings as coach) played the only role in his selections. What Coetzee said made sense to most and couldn’t be argued with if I recall correctly.

This year, once again, some of his selections were questioned, BUT: No race involved. Questioned reasons of form and form alone…..
    But look at the squad he fielded, trusted and carried through with him, from the S15 to CC – pretty representative indeed.

One coach who doesn’t get flustered with rugby politics anymore is Alistair. Just does his thing and backs his chaps: the black ones, the white ones, the brown ones, the yellow ones, the blue ones.
    In fact, Last Sunday’s RAPPORT had a great interview with A Coetzee….He GETS it, the tricky Saffa rugby landscape.

• 331.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-311:

Just take a drive to the Drakensberg for the day and you’ll be fine. :lol:

@Tacitus-314:
    Why should Taute push Kirchner out if JdJ comes on?

For crying out loud, the boy was not even deemed the best FB at the Lions. The coaches, both Mitchell and Ackers, preferred Coetzee ahead of him in that very important position.

What the freakin hell did he do this season to command a starting berth with the Bok side, either at outside center or at FB?

• 332.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Understanding Heyneke is like negotiating with the devil in the pits of hell.A total waste of time.

• 333.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-314: And when Jantjies came on against the All Blacks, we got killed despite having an early lead. I am sorry, but Taute kicked the ball directly to Carter which created the try that put us behind the AB’s before Jantjies came on.

Also I believe the defensive errors were mostly due to a untested 13 playing against the best attacking team in world rugby.

Biggest selection error was giving Taute the 13 jersey!

• 334.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-314: Duane and Goosen were thrown in after long injury layoffs? But Chilli needs ‘time’?
    Hougaard has been kak out of position on the wing and at 9.
    Play Taute at 15, drop Zane (although I like Zane…yes I do), play Juan at 13 – and at the very least players are in their correct positions? No?
    WTF is wrong with my logic Smurf?

• 335.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Horings-323:
    Agreed

• 336.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-314:

The argument is the bullshit agenda, if you still can’t see it you’re as delusional as your race afflicted coach

• 337.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-314:
    You forgot about Jantjies ahead of Morne on the bench. What’s your take on that.

Hougaard a big match player? Did he show it this year or are you still referring to the 2010 SR final?

• 338.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-332: I have decided to enjoy a crack pipe during the Irish Test, as I have a feeling I might be able to ‘channel my thoughts’ to link up with Meyer’s as he vloeks and spits on that walkie talkie.
    I’m hoping some enlightenment on Meyer and his mission will follow.

• 339.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-331:
    how did you know that.?.. :shock: :lol:

ek kan nie te veel weg gee nie maar die woorde ‘daar waar dit reen op die klein drakenstein’ is n kode… :lol:

• 340.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Taute can be held directly responsible for two tries conceded by the boks against the AB’s.

Take away 14 points and I believe we could’ve won that game.

Let’s be honest about which selections cost us that game.

Sure as hell wasn’t Elton.

• 341.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-327:

potgieter was selected because alberts was out injured as was vermuleun

• 342.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-334: To be honest, only Duene was a success, pushing Goosen in the team early resulted in a season ending injury.

• 343.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-327: i do see your point, but then dont make it a Bulls mindset, that is a MEYER mindset, he personally scouted Potgieter for the Bulls, obviously thought there were traits that HE likes and wanted to see playing for the Bulls, he dropped the player after he realised that wasnt the case at international level, you cant begrudge a coach for trying out theories on different players, but when they dont work he must admit that he was wrong, which he has done too, my only worry is with Houghaard out of position instead of a proper wing.

Again i will say, this is a Meyer mindset, not a Bulls mindset. if he stuck with 12 out of form Bulls players in in the Boks then i would agree with you that something is fishy, the evidence right now just suggests that he prefers a certain type of player not which team they play for.

• 344.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Meyer also doesn’t rate Charl Mcleod or Keegan Daniel, Joe Pietersen or Deon Fourie.

Imagine the outcry if all of these guys were black as well.

The fact is, Meyer just rates different players to those that many other fans rate.

The fact that some of the overlooked players are black, merely means that there is a race drum to beat for them which the white overlooked players don’t have access to.

Mantashe doesn’t know anything more about rugby than skopskiet or Simon Borchardt or Joe Cardinelli. So his opinion on whether a black player is better than an incumbant is no more valid than that of some WP fan screaming for Deon Fourie’s inclusion.

Everyone’s got an opinion. It is unfortunate that some opinions can be artificially boosted by loading it up with the race card.

• 345.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-336:

and yet Habana refers to Heyneke in god-like terms?

must be racist.
    bladdy twit.

• 346.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-341: Would have picked Kollisi, Elstadt, Flouw, CJ Stander, there is pantheon of players better than that greese ball.

• 347.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-330:
    His advantage of course is that he was on both sides of the divide as player. I’m sure that experience helps him a lot. Guys like HM will never really understand the true intricacies of our rugby landscape. The bigger problem here is that they also don’t want to learn. For them it is, “my/our way is right and you just have to fit in or **** off.”

• 348.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-342: Exactly. It was an insane move at the time, but he did it because it suited him (the useless feather duster that he is). But now he conveniently mentions Chili’s “long injury layoff” as a reason for not getting a look in…..
    He contradicts himself permanently, and that’s why he is looking like a d ## s.

• 349.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-342:

kak, the boks performance of the season so far was vs the ozzies with Goosen who played a very decent first game first up. In fact, we look a completely different team with goosen there than we had with jantjies.

he comes across as the talismatic sort that meyer has always rated.

• 350.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-348:
    agreed.

• 351.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-285: what point am i missing?

you say ” SARU has done squat in either an Academy to develop nurture feed & condition players of colour or to address this head on and groom players of colour in the same way youngsters at 15-20 are groomed for the provincial teams”

now i ask you, which of the – Paarl Gym, Grey, Affies, Wynberg, Bishops etc – get funding from SARU to produce players.

if you know, can you also find out how much has the Sports Ministry spent rectifying the glaring imbalance in facilities between previously so-called “white schools” and “black schools”?

to make it even easier, forget about ngconde balfour & makhenkesi stofile, focus on fikile’s contribution in redressing the parlous state of township school sport facilities.

• 352.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-343: He could’ve looked at the Bulls vs. Stormers games, both games Potgieter and the entire Bulls loose trio was nulified by the Stormers buckup reserve loose trio.

Sorry, but he chose to ignore the writing on the wall.

• 353.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-345: ‘Godlike’ you say.. that yours and Habana’s opinion of this racist twit?

shows how bamboozled you are when you look straight inside a racists eyes and see God instead.

• 354.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-344:
    Tac, if Meyer does not rate de Jongh, Jantjies, Mvovo etc, why on earth does he take them on these tours?

• 355.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-349: But it then result i na season ending injury! Having our future FH superstar getting a ligament tear in his first game is not a success.

• 356.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-346:

elstadt was also out injured at the time. Potgieter is an out and out blindsider in the aj venter mould in my opinion. AJ ended up a particulalry studious players but was a bladdy malkop initially as well. Kolisi is not the traditional blindsider he was looking for. Kolisi currently competes with coetzee for a spot in my opinion.

You mention Flo now but none were calling for him earlier in the season, it was all brussow this and kolisi that. Louw was an inspired selection by meyer…a player that everyone had forgotten. Stander is an 8 and okay at best so far.

• 357.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-347: Very true. But I also don’t believe that Alistair, who is sensitive to the needs of ALL his charges (you don’t need to look far to find proof of this – grab the 1st WP player you see and ask him), had any less work to do in getting the balances right, than what Meyer has ahead of him. Getting this balance, while still performing, all comes to down to the MAN running the show, and his character.
    Alistair has been honest throughout (no, he isn’t perfect, but he’s honest….)

Meyer, wellfucknows who assists him with his interviews etc, but his double talk and in some cases utter ‘lies’ tell me that his character is questionable, while Alistair’s is solid and that’s why Toetie gets the ‘buy in’ from all/most.

• 358.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Deur: Gavin Prins in Johannesburg
    2012-11-05 05:31
    Die Menseregtekommissie (MRK) ondersoek klagtes dat die omstrede sangeres Sunette Bridges tydens ’n lief­dadigheidsete vir arm kinders geweier het om lekkers aan ’n swart seun te gee.

Joma van der Merwe van Phalaborwa in Limpopo sê sy het in Junie die sangeres na ’n huis in Danville, Pretoria, genooi om soetgoed aan armes uit te deel.

“Toe Sunette sien daar is ’n swart kind wat in die tou staan, het sy vir my gesê sy hoop nie ons verwag dat sy die swart kind ’n drukkie moet gee nie, want ons weet mos hoe voel sy oor swartes. Ek het toe vir haar gesê dis my aangenome kind en ek sal hom uit die tou gaan haal,” sê Van der Merwe.

Bridges het gister aan Rapport ontken dat sy rassisties opgetree het en sê die doel van die dag was om lekkers vir arm kinders te gee, “nie vir die kind van die organiseerder nie”.

Ná die voorval het ’n e-pos-oorlog tussen Bridges en Van der Merwe losgebars wat na die sangeres se Facebook-blad oorgespoel het.

’n Vrou van Hermanus wat anoniem wil bly het gesien hoe van die sangeres se 10 000 volgelinge Van der Merwe slegsê en het op haar beurt ’n klag by die MRK ingedien.

Isaac Mangena, MRK-woordvoerder, het bevestig dat die kommissie ’n klag ontvang het.

“Ja, ons ondersoek ’n klag van rassisme teen Sunette Bridges vir uitlatings wat op sosiale media gemaak is,” sê Mangena.

Van der Merwe sê sy was baie teleurgesteld toe Bridges só opgetree het.

“Ek het toe sommer vir my kind gesê die lekkers is vir arm kinders en dat hy syne later sal kry.

“Ek wou nie daar ’n scene maak nie, maar ek het wel vir haar ’n brief geskryf,” sê Van der Merwe.

“Ek het daai kind gekry toe hy twee dae oud was. Hy is nou nege, speel rugby en praat mooi Afrikaans.

“Velkleur moenie in die pad staan van liefde en respek nie,” sê Van der Merwe.

Sy beplan om ook ’n klag by die MRK in te dien.

Van der Merwe het e-pos-bewyse aan Rapport gewys waarin Bridges die k-woord gebruik.

Die sangeres het in reaksie daarop aan Rapport gesê daar kan maklik met e-posse gepeuter word.

“Ek het al male sonder tal die vraag oor of ek ’n rassis is geantwoord. Die kort antwoord is nee. Ek glo egter Boere-Afrikaners het die reg om oor hulself te regeer,” sê sy.

Sy het ook al op haar Facebook-blad geskryf die ware betekenis van die woord “rassis” het lankal sy werklike betekenis in die Suid-Afrikaanse konteks verloor.

“Hy word deesdae bloot gebruik om alles te beskryf wat enige wit persoon doen waarvan ’n swart persoon nie hou nie. Wanneer ’n swart man in ’n pos aangestel word bo ’n blanke man wat beter gekwalifiseerd is, is dit nié rassisties nie.”

Sy sê: “Ek het nog nooit ‘uitsprake’ teenoor swart mense gemaak nie. As ek my uitspreek oor ’n minister wat nie sy of haar werk nie doen nie, is dit nie my skuld as daai minister swart is nie.

“As ek woedend raak oor barbare wat bejaardes met byle, grawe of pangas vermoor, is dit nie my skuld dat daai barbare swart is nie,” sê sy.

Een van die e-posse wat Bridges glo aan Van der Merwe gestuur het, lui: “LOL! … nee… jy Jomammatjie, het ’n groot fout gemaak! Ek het vir jou lankal gesê wat my mening oor k****s is en jy het een gaan aanneem.”

Bridges sê Van der Merwe het self die e-pos geskryf en aan haarself gerig.

“Ek sit met al die oorspronklike kommunikasie tussen my en daai vrou. Toe ek die eerste keer die e-pos sien, het ek haar daaroor gekonfronteer en haar gewaarsku dat ek ’n klag teen haar gaan indien as sy volhou dat ek verantwoordelik is vir die snert,” sê Bridges.

• 359.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-344: how about the opinions of Nick Mallet, and nearly every other reasonable rugby fundie on the planet.. who would they play first up at outside center, Taute or De Jongh..?

you wanna call this a rugby decision when it is anything but.. that how you try and smoke screen the bullshit.. you and your racist herr heineke both

This thing better blow up in his face.. if he loses Saturday playing these witzie wunderkinds against a mediocre Ireland I actually hope the sky of Hades falls down around his lily white racially entrenched neck

• 360.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-339:
    :lol: :lol:

@goodstuff-340:
    Tac believes everything that HM says and if HM said the defensive lapses were because of Elton, then so it was.

• 361.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-355:

it was his 2nd game by the way and I can only imagine goosen looked good to go in training and the doc okayed it?

I really don’t know but players get injured, and some look more prone to injury than others. A bloke like goosen gets injured every month and another like morne steyn not once in 4 years?

• 362.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-358: The northern Afrikaner problem needs to be addressed it seems.They are the biggest obstacle to unity in SA

• 363.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

HM is not a racist. That is a ridiculous statement. He just picks the team as he see fit. In my opinion Zane is not good enough but HM thinks he is. I thought Lambie should have started ahead of Steyn a lot earlier, but HM didn’t. It is only as question of race when the players we think are being overlooked are black. JdJ should start in my opinion, but I don’t think HM is biased against his colour.
    On the Coetzee vs Kolisi question, both were in the running for one spot. Coetzee is slightly more experienced. Kolisi will be a Bok when he recovers from his injuries and HM will be the coach who picks him

• 364.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-352: really? one game? the writing was on the wall that Sharks were 2012 CC champions, how did that turn out?

im not saying you are wrong in your assessment of those players, im just saying neither was HM in trying out who he wants to.

• 365.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-359:

yes depending on your stance and argument you achoose to use mallet as doctrine.

like when he played jannie debeer ahead of lem in that semi. Or when he dropped teichmann,etc,etc..

mallet made monumental selection cockups

• 366.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-350: REALLY? You agree that Meyer has himself to blame for a lot of the sh y te coming his way? I need a drink. :)

• 367.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-365: Nick Mallet is just one example .. take a sample of top rugby fundies world wide including Australians and NZ coaches.. which one would play Taute ahead of De Jongh.. and Morne Steyn ahead of Jantjies.. and Coetsee or Potgieter or Spies ahead of Kolisi.. which one.. I’d like to see which rugby fundie is as blind and ideologically bent as this prick who don’t know the first thing about running and coaching a national rugby team.. let alone one that REQUIRES some embracing of more than just his own narrow minded ideological stance on life.

• 368.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-163 :P ost of the week.
    Lot of Skop type **** flung around las night.I agree on the ingrained
    thing.One only ha s to note ones own reactions when a ta xi cuts you off.
    So a lot of inherent attitudes.But as I sa id last night I will not spend
    the rest of my life feeling guilty or self flaggelating.The racist adjective
    is overworked and is the currency of the intellectually impaired.

• 369.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-268: Lalela indoda… uyakhala fanayo ntombazana…

• 370.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-358:
    very sad, especially when children are the ones who suffer from such behaviour/treatment.

i hope the investigation will bring all the fact to light and if guilty she should be ounished accordingly.

• 371.nama1: Reply to this comment

An Australian dossier on the Protea players in which they analyzed the strengths and vulnerabilities of our players. The series starts tomorrow at 02H00, SA time.

THE PROTEA FILES – THE TOP-SECRET DOSSIER

GRAEME SMITH (c)
    STRENGTHS: When Smith plays well, South Africa plays well. He is the key to how South Africa goes. He is a really tough, hard man and knows his game inside out. When in form, he moves beautifully and he can hurt you through the legside. He pulls really well, anything short he tries to pull and he has now got a very-well developed offside game as well.

VULNERABILITY: When Smith is not in form, his feet don’t move that much and he can be very susceptible to lbw. We should look to develop some doubts in his mind and get him lbw. While he has improved his offside game, he is still less proficient outside offstump.

ALVIRO PETERSEN
    STRENGTHS: He is a very solid player, on both the front and back foot. He has worked really hard and is mentally very strong. He is a good solid opening batter. He just goes about his business and he has a good technique.

VULNERABILITY: Is susceptible to the ball coming back in at him. We should look to bowl a few going away from him and then really look to get a good one coming back in at him. That’s where we should attack him.

HASHIM AMLA
    STRENGTHS: A quality individual as well as a quality player. Amla has developed his strengths and through the legside he plays beautifully. He has now developed some good shots through the offside. He scores a lot square of wicket, he hits the ball a lot squarer than most other batsmen because he is very wristy. He has exceptional wrists. He tends to drive square. He has improved out of sight and is a good guy with a great temperament.

VULNERABILITY: We should look to get into his head and play a bit of a psychological war. We should also look to attack him with short-pitched bowling, let’s really go after him with some short-pitched stuff.

JACQUES KALLIS
    STRENGTHS: A once in a generation player. Never gets the wraps he really deserves but a simply outstanding allrounder, who is great everywhere. With Jacques, you get two great players.

VULNERABILITY: We should look to revert to some short-pitched stuff and really test him out with that. Also, he has got such a high backlift he can get caught on his crease.

AB DE VILLIERS
    STRENGTHS: An unbelievable player who scores all around wicket – has the potential to be best batsman in the world. He scores off the back and front and he can take us apart in a session.

VULNERABILITY: His batting has been deteriorating while he has been keeping wickets. Susceptible to the ball coming back into him, to trap him lbw. If he is scoring well, we should look to bowl wider to him to try to dry him up and he won’t like that at all.

JACQUES RUDOLPH
    STRENGTHS: A really good solid player. Left-hander who scores all around the wicket. A very competent batsman.

VULNERABILITY: Susceptible early to nicking out, caught behind or in slips. We should look to take the ball across him, slant it, and get him in the corridor nicking. Doesn’t like the ball swinging ball back into his pads.

JP DUMINY
    STRENGTHS: A player who is all class. He scores well all around the wicket. He just looks so easy at the crease a lot of time, one of those guys that you watch and go ‘wow’. He drives beautifully and is a player that fans love to watch batting.

VULNERABILITY: He is another batsman we should look to take on with short-pitched bowling. We especially should look to get him pulling. He has an odd-sort of defensive pull, it is neither here nor there and it is an area we can get him.

VERNON PHILANDER
    STRENGTHS: He has been outstanding, a late bloomer. He is so accurate he makes you play almost every delivery and is a great weapon, working in conjunction with the other South African quicks.

VULNERABILITY: Our batsmen must look to bring him back for a third and fourth spell. We must keep him out there on good batting wickets. He has been great with new ball, but is pretty much untested coming back for third and fourth spells.

DALE STEYN
    STRENGTHS: There is not a huge amount that has not already been said. He is all quality and has ability to go up a gear up when he needs to. He has great control, he swings the ball and has got genuine pace.

VULNERABILITY: It is almost impossible to pinpoint an area of weakness but he doesn’t bowl as well to left-handers. Not sure why. Our left-handers should certainly be looking to score against him.

MORNE MORKEL
    STRENGTHS: A bowler who is very different. That is a good thing from South African point of view, they are all so different. Steyn has skidding pace, while Morne is very tall with the same amount of pace. Morkel bowls really well to left-handers.

VULNERABILITY: He can be a bit all over place, we should look to put him off his game by scoring on both sides of the wicket. We should look to test his ability to absorb pressure. He is another bowler we want coming back for his third or fourth spell.

IMRAN TAHIR
    STRENGTHS: A very attacking spinner who takes lots of wickets. Has got a good leg-spinner, he has got a really good googly, he has got all the deliveries. Is a genuine wicket-taker.

VULNERABILITY: We should really ramp up pressure on him. He has taken a huge amount of wickets but has conceded a lot of runs as well. South Africa used to use Paul Harris to hold the game up for them, but Imran Tahir won’t be able to hold up a game. He can concede too many runs. He can be very impatient with his bowling and it leads to him being expensive.

IT”S ON, ekse.

• 372.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-366:
    NEE FOKK! i meant to say to brigadier:

@Brigadier Van Zyl-349:
    agreed.

• 373.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup-363: He might be very clever with the continued Zane selection.When push comes to shove he might turn around and say:’Look,if I was a racist I would not have selected Zane,a player despised by the majority of SA’s rugby public’.Very clever indeed,but on the other hand he is an Afrikaner,so ……. :D

• 374.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-369: andisimameli isifanakalo ntanga

• 375.willievz: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-358: Sy is pateties.

• 376.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-223: Morning good lady.
    JDJ for JDV
    Chilli for Strauss
    Any other black winger for Hougaardt
    Would not ha ve weakened team.

• 377.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-358:
    Not the 1st time that she is in trouble re the use of the K-word. She was in a twitter war with someone where she used the word extensively. She was also very unapologetic afterwards.

Now we know what kind of people supported Bles. :lol:

• 378.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-371: Some dossier.I will be watching at midnight to see if the Aussies stick to the gameplan.

• 379.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The simple fact is that Heyneke Meyer is not too keen on selecting the bruinous and souties regardless of merit or ability…

It is not overt… It is rather a case of who he can trust as an extension of himself on the playing field…

• 380.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-372:

Secretly you agree. Just admit. :lol:

• 381.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-376: Sorry but in the backline Taute is the weak link at 13. Best defensive midfield of SR is JDV and JDJ. Add Lambie as FH then you have a great attacking platform as well.

• 382.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-226: Nothing to do with fa ct that he i s Afrikaans .Stupidity not limited by language.

• 383.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

I dont dig the whole politics thing, and we all know Heyneke is backing certain non-white players as much as he backs white ones.

But Im glad it has been brought to attention – how can Taute a fullback be given the #13 jersey ahead of someone like De Jongh?
    Taute made some defensive errors in the ABs game. I love Taute – but he should be 15, not 13 when we have a BRILLIANT 13.

Elton too – he SHOULD be starting 10. He deserves to be given a good chance to stake his claim. Morne had 7 KUK Tests in a row! Give Elton 7 Tests in a row, then we can see what he is capable of. His form has been brilliant.

On the flip-side, Chiliboy needs to play a bit to get match-fitness etc back. Schalk deserves a chance as its Norther Hemisphere, so Meyer wants to see him.
    If Chili was not injured he could’ve/shouldve started, with Schalk on bench. Give Adriaan a rest. We will need him against England.

• 384.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-226: If I inserted the word
    Zulu or Xhosa for Afrikaner.you would lambaste me as a racist.

• 385.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-378:
    It will be a good series, I think. Hope we get off to a good start if we win the toss. Apparently the last time Aus lost a test match in Brisbane, was in 1988 against the WI team of Sir Viv Richards. So, the task ahead for the boys is huge.

• 386.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

The jist of it is this: HM is sucking at his job right now, and if he continues than it will be really sad for all those boys up north and much of SA who believed him to be the chosen one.

Not our fault, we all thought he would be a proper coach, but it turns out he just had the best players in SA at his desposal.

Can’t see us lose any games on tour, if we lose even one game, oooohhhh than he will be under pressure!

• 387.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-380:

• 388.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-376: Agree 100% with you, although in the case of Chili he hasnt played much, so there is a question. But he can at least get 2nd half then?

@goodstuff-381: Agree with you there too. Its also not fair on Taute as he is an awesome player, but doesnt play 13 and is now expected to play Tests in that position?

• 389.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-382: I am just using the English viewpoint of Afrikaners,nothing more.Personally I have no problem with that people.

• 390.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-379:
    So, if we get a black coach next and he only selects players “who he can trust as an extension of himself on the playing field…,” we will refrain from calling him a racist or scream discrimination if those players happen to look like him, are we?

• 391.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-376: Good day to you my friend :)
    Very true.
    And I must be honest, it really seems as though Meyer is loathe to trust ‘anyone’ not in his circle of trust. I don’t think it’s a coaching weakness, I think it’s a character weakness on his part.

• 392.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Meyer would have made a great Nats minister of Police or Defence.He’s got that same dodgy look in his eyes.

• 393.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nkqo6-374: isifanakalo? yebo ibaas… fuckwit

• 394.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-390: No… why should we ever do that?

Why should his skin colour preclude him from criticism…?

• 395.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-392:
    What about Minister of Communication. :lol:

With all that double talk of his, he may just be the ideal candidate. Nobody ever knows if he actually means what he say when he opens his mouth. :lol:

• 396.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-358: She is an utter doos.Never liked Bles either

• 397.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-392: Jackie Selebi didn’t quite look that normal either… I reckon a real case could be made for lacking a chromosome there…

Much like the picture in my minds eye of you…

You see, being mentally challenged truly is colour blind…

• 398.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-394:
    It shouldn’t and that is my point wrt HM right now.

• 399.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-397: Hamba uyo bepha inja !! :D

• 400.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-358: Biggest load of bull:

“’n Vrou van Hermanus wat anoniem wil bly het gesien hoe van die sangeres se 10 000 volgelinge Van der Merwe slegsê en het op haar beurt ’n klag by die MRK ingedien”

No chance she has 10000 supporters.

• 401.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-398: No it isn’t… Your point is not about HM’s skin colour precluding criticism of him… but rather the skin colour of the players he selects… or does not… no?

• 402.Smallzm: Reply to this comment

Is it really that hard for some to see how difficult HM is making it for himself on all levels. We are all here looking at a 40% win rate and some sub par selections along with not giving talented black players who deserve to be there their enough opportunities. Its not just this squad…but the squad and decisions from the very beginning of his tenure. There does not seem to be a clear “dream”(besides winning every test which any dunce can say) he is selling to us or his players. There is no inspirational quality I see that makes you go “imagine how awesome that would be”!

Its is this mentality of HM’s which is actually keeping us from great things in SA. He is no better than Mantashe with his ranting and continual reference to the past. However, HM’s mentality should have been left in the past as well. Its outdated nonsense the way he thinks. The minute he started with I like working “the players I know” nonsense because of injuries this season I knew we were in trouble. Its the height of nepotism which most commentors on this site detest when carried out by our government or ANC. Why are these same people not upset when HM does the same thing and ignores obvious talent…because he does not know them??? Rather JJ Engelbrecht or Potgieter than Kolisi or JDJ or Aplon because he “knows them”!

People should be asking why he does not know or trust these players when he is able to trust Taute, Goosen and Vermeluen (players who I rate by the way). Oh yes that “big, fast, strong, big boot” thing. If that’s his selection criteria then honestly, any South African can be a selector. Very capable, sometimes awesome Black players are consistently coming out the wrong side of Meyer’s selection criteria and you could call it chance…but it seems this “random chance thing” happens way too often in our country for my liking. Heyneke Meyer and Gweded Mantashe are the same… they are dinosaurs who have not embraced the growing innovative pulse in this country. They take us back a couple of steps!

• 403.davidv: Reply to this comment

This guy was ominously quiet when P-Div failed to select players of colour.
    Hmmm … odd or just “typically South African”

• 404.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-389: So the average Englishman is racist towards Afrikaners. If this is a common trait in their character why would I believe they do not have some sort of common opinion towards other racial groups.

Afrikaners is not the imperialists the Africans refer to. It is referred to you and your uncle Cecil.

• 405.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Smallzm-402: If we win 80% it will be pretty awesome.

The only reason PdV referred to him bringing the Boks closer to the people is because he failled in all other aspects, even the number of previously disadvantaged players he had.

• 406.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-401:
    No…

@Smallzm-402:
    Now wait for people to call you a racist for your views. :oops:

• 407.capetown: Reply to this comment

Oooh, kyk hoe dans die Devotees
    Dans maar lekke manne
    Net nog 1 jaar van “Messiah” Meyer

• 408.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-404: listen here mate.The English described your people like that when you chaps were still very uncivilised.You okes have come a long way since then,especially the ones that lives on the other side of the boereworscurtain.Knowing the English they probably had some choice words for other races as well,but you can’t get past the fact that your peculiar lifestyle lended itself to ridicule back in those days.

• 409.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Horings-292:

Smal knows the calls

• 410.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-405:
    PdV achieved better results than most of the Bok coaches before him. You call that a failure?

• 411.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-401: HELLO HG.
    You mystified some and delighted others by paraphrasing from
    “Search for the holy grail”
    Really enjoyed.You then started on Alice through the looking glass,
    but did not continue.I suspect not cryptic enough
    Would appreciate it if you would continue through EOYT.eg
    Ireland = James Joyce
    Kind regards

• 412.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-406: umfanawami, you can bullshitt yourself with your fishing for “tendencies” but you cant bullshitt me…

• 413.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-411: I,m sure speak for the ma jority.

• 414.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-408: The English described your people like that when you chaps were still very uncivilised.

Please explain. Hierdie boertjie is bietjie traag.

• 415.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Horings-400: I think she does have 10 000 failed marriages OR attempted marriages though?

• 416.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-412:
    Get rid of that chip, boy. It’s weighing you down.

• 417.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-410: I am not going to explain the downward trend , buying high, selling low and all that again.

• 418.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-415:
    :lol: :lol:

• 419.Horings: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-415: Ja, to be honest. I have not heard one of her songs and I do not know a single person knowing her songs. It is one of those Jurie Els scenarios. He is a legend and have many followers, but where are they? I have not met one yet.

• 420.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-412: I think you bullshitt yourself with the kuk you come up with on this forum.I don’t even want to mention your kuk rugby and political decisions for 2012.Stuff of keo blog legend.Btw,I followed your advice on the Amercan elections and took a few bob off Paddy Power.Thanks,mate. :D

• 421.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@nama1-406: Nam’s I agree that JDJ should be starting and that EJ should be on the bench….but for pure rugby reasons, race has zero to do with my opinion, they are deserved on merit and merit alone. HM seems to be selecting based on certain criteria, one of them being size….while I disagree with him isn’t it fair to say that JDJ, EJ, and Aplon do not fit that criteria and this has nothing to do with race?

• 422.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-351:

Transie my dear learned fellow, SARU does not fund any schools, save for the sponsorship they get from Coca Cola to put behind Craven Week and Grant Khomo Week in which players are ID’d then and tracked through the system by provinces either poaching or harvesting their own players.
    That is an entirely different subject with its own mysteries.

What I do know is that the Ministry of Sport has R20,000,000-00 to put behind an Academy and asked SARU over a year ago to submit a proper plan for an Academy and this has not come about as SARU wants to groom 20 players and at R1m a player that was a bit of an over investment in just 20 players when the net could have been cast wider – so we wait.

You might recall that SA Rugby funded the Rugby Academy at the Nelson Mandela Metro University – from which the late Solly Tybilika came from – and cut the funding of that initiative in spite of the university doing exactly that which South African Rugby needs.

• 423.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Horings-414: No surprise there,mate. :D

• 424.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-420: Mate, smileys is so *** soos jy.

• 425.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-421: Partially agree with you,Skepman.We must be the only rugby nation still stuck in the past.

• 426.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-411: Thanks Rye… Much appreciated… It was farken good if I may say so myself… Just one little problemo…

‘Twasn’t me :lol:

Apologies to Joyce, but Life of Brian “is the happy hunting ground of all minds that have lost their balance.” :wink:

• 427.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-416: Chip…? Nama, I reckon that stick in your eyeball that you been trying hard to remove has made you blind and shadows of racists everywhere…

Write a book won’t you… How about Heyneke’s Shadowlands for starters?

• 428.capebull: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-185: Is sport development the rugby unions job or goverment, in Auz and England and Amerika , the gov actually does this. All unions have academies , but they don’t have the funds you are suggesting. The questions is how many black players reaaly want to play rugby, I don’t know , how many white kids want to play soccer I don’t know ? if we can find a few guys like Beast, chilley, Kolisi, Scarra , it will be good. But are there 1000′s or 10′s

• 429.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I would suggest everyone reads the article in the ct were meyer explains his selections.
    For more sence than reading cherry picked comments on a blog out of context.

• 430.playtheball: Reply to this comment

@Horings-400: You’re right. She has 11 078 supporters, in fact.

• 431.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-420: “Political Decisions”? Whoooah… Senator HG has a nice ring… But I aint no senator twatwit… Never have been… Couldn’t lie enough if I tried

• 432.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-431: should read political predictions.Just didn’t bother to correct it since it was only old Hg. :D

• 433.Smallzm: Reply to this comment

@Horings-405: It would be cool if we could get the SA unemployment rate to about 10% but can you see that happening any time soon with this political leadership? Do you honestly believe that HM is ever going to achieve a 80% win ratio in any length of time? I would be seriously surprised if he gets above 60% by the end of 2013. If you think he can achieve 80%, what do you base this on? I really want us to succeed but his statements and actions are really puzzling at the moment along with the fact that he is creating a political web for himself. These factors together don’t make for rosy future for him. Political pressure + losing Boks = Disaster for a coach!

• 434.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Gordon Gekko-422: “You might recall that SA Rugby funded the Rugby Academy at the Nelson Mandela Metro University – from which the late Solly Tybilika came from – and cut the funding of that initiative in spite of the university doing exactly that which South African Rugby needs”

yes i recall that, my sister was at UPE at the time…solly, wayne van heerden and others were products of that program, however shortlived it was..

• 435.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-432: You didn’t bother to correct it because you had no idea…

Stoopid is as stoopid does :lol:

• 436.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Who is this “sangeres” everyone is blathering about

Couldn’t be a rsed to read the whole storie

• 437.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-436: Shutup wench…

• 438.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-435: whatever,mate,whatever.

• 439.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Reading this thread… most Springbok fans deserve everything they get…

• 440.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-438: Nature teaches beasts to know their friends… :lol:

• 441.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Horings-419: Indeed. Same with Lions fans. Legend says they exist. Butwherethefuckarethey?

• 442.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-437:

whaaaat!

I’m just asking

• 443.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz-439:

Now what could you POSSIBLY mean by that.

• 444.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-435: At the end of the day you were left with pie on your face after confidently predicting that Obama would lose the election.At the end of the day Obama destroyed your hope,Romney,in nine of the ten swing states.Who is the stupid doooos now. :D

• 445.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-428: that is a very good point you make there.

• 446.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-434: Nail on the head Tansie…..transformation should be spending money in poor communities who were previously disadvantaged…..not include x number of already “in the system” players in the bok or S15/CC teams

• 447.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-404: You kan laaik to speak Anglish vary delishisly hey ? :-)

• 448.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-444: My hope…lol… rather the hope of American business… and the normal hardworking people of the States who didnt turn up to vote… They will only realise how much they truly fcked up by not turning out in greater numbers about halfway through Obamas 2nd term…

Welcome to the USSA, the United Socialist State of America… Obama has learnt from his African forebears it seems – nothing like patronage and an expanding, meddling state to keep power…

America has shown it is collectively not racist, but fark me it has re-emphasised how farken stoopid it can really be…

No wonder you empathise… As I was saying, stoopid is as stoopid does… :lol:

• 449.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Funny thing is that had HM selected JdJ at 13 and Taute at 15 almost everyone, black and white, would be happy…. Very few would be counting the number of black players in the team.

By picking Lambie and JdJ in the starting line-up, he’s kak treatment of certain players, black and white, would have been conveniently forgotten.

Oh well…

• 450.Smallzm: Reply to this comment

@capebull-428: @MacToogie-445
    I had the privelege of playing in Transkei U19 team in the 90′s. There were hundreds of black rugby players in their teens just in the Border and Transkei region alone. Throw in the rest of South Africa and you are talking thousands quite easily.

• 451.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-448: Bwahaah.Your mate,Romney lost because he and his Republican Party are totally out of sync with the American electorate.Their views on women’s rights are absolutely shocking.They are totally out of touch with the American youth and minorities like Latinos and blacks.Their disrespect for the American poor was returned to them in huge numbers.His take on the auto bailout was a huge blunder as seen by the fact they could not win a largely white state like Ohio.You have to question his policies on health etc etc and his protection of the rich at the cost of the poor.An election that any other Republican candidate would have won with a poor economy,high unemployment etc etc,Romney still found a way to lose this one.

• 452.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-448: The problem is that the perception exists in America that the republicans represent an older, ‘less cool’ sector of society. Its cool to be a democrat. To be a republican means you like dungarees, have a brush cut and spend your time in the swamps catching dinner.

If the Republicans are going to challenge the communists – they need to become much more fashionable over the next 4 years. My recommendation would be to find a black representative for president. Possibly female.

And you’re right. America has made a big mistake. They have become communist. One of the things they fought so mightily against.

• 453.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-451: Romney is a twit. The Republicans were the party to take America forward but they chose a pathetic candidate. The candidate for president should have been Ron Paul. Like Obama, he is very good with masking the parties true intentions with ‘yes we can’ speeches. The republicans need to get clever and they have 4 years to do it.

• 454.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Fark Hg,you use the word ‘stupid’ ,but the fact of the matter is that business people and the auto industry in particular rejected Romney.You are just as stupid as your predictions on this forums.Stay away from predictions in future,because clearly,you are not good at it. :D

• 455.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-452: Communist???You are sucking that statement out of your arse.Try democracy.

• 456.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-451: What are their “shocking” views on womens’ rights, genius? :lol:

And how do they “disrespect the American poor”? lol

Furthermore, what “blunder” on the “auto bailout”? Hehehe

Lastly why do you “have to question his policies on health”? Fark me, they seemed pretty sound…

Come Capo… Educate me if you dare…. poodle style? :lol:

• 457.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-452: True in a way… and they need to get out and vote in numbers… Much voter apathy.

• 458.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-455: Communist. A **** pile all nicely wrapped up in colourful but slightly translucent wrapping paper. But once you remove the wrapping you very quickly find what looks like a ****, and stinks like a **** is in fact a ****. Obama will ruin America. Destroy all the traditional values that have made it as great as it is, he will take more loans from China to cover for his fiscal inabilities and he will support the lazy so that the economically active seek alternative solutions to dealing within the American market. He is a communist.

• 459.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Communist?

• 460.Dawn: Reply to this comment

And what’s all this ********???

• 461.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-457: Yep. Nobody can blame you for thinking Romney would win. With 77% of the American population being white, and overwhelmingly, generally in favour of republican policy I think voter turnout was an issue here.

• 462.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-459: Yep. All the principles are the same. Might as well call it what it is, but then he might not have won the election, would he ?

• 463.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Column: Romney’s auto mess shows he is not ready

J. Scott Applewhite, AP
    Bob King, president of the UAW

by Bob King, USA TODAY

Published: 11/02/2012 01:40pm

Mitt Romney’s meandering statements and plain falsehoods about the auto industry finally caught up to him earlier this week when he told a big whopper that cannot be squared with the truth during a speech in Defiance, Ohio. He said that Jeep, the American icon and great Toledo institution, “is thinking of moving all production to China.”

Everyone paying attention to the election called him on it. Chrysler Group LLC has set the record straight, stating it has no intention of shifting production of its Jeep models out of North America.

• 464.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Is Mitt short for something, or do they all have names like that.

• 465.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-456: One Republican fuckwit. Legitimate rape? G’night Jimbob jnr.

Missouri Republican US senate candidate Todd Akin, who was criticised in August for comments about “legitimate rape,” has been defeated by Democratic incumbent Claire McCaskill.

Until the rape comment, Mr Akin was considered the favourite to beat Ms McCaskill in a state that has trended Republican and voted for Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney.

But the race reversed course after Mr Akin’s comment to a television station that women have natural defences against pregnancy from “legitimate rape”.

• 466.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-461: Logic, rationalism and good sense suggested that America needs someone who understands economic reality to steer them out of the mess Obama has made of policies related to recovery from the recession…

It seems that in this case – “trendyness” and maybe skin colour,could have been more important to those who did turn out in greater numbers…

• 467.wnbb: Reply to this comment

How Romney could attack Obama’s auto bailout
    Philip Nussel
    | | | |

Philip Nussel is managing editor of autonews.com.
    Most voters know that Republican presidential challenger and Michigan native Mitt Romney is a businessman with a lifetime connection to the auto industry. His dad was CEO of the former American Motors Corp. and governor of Michigan.
    So one must wonder why he continues to make factually inaccurate statements about the Bush-Obama auto industry bailout of 2008-09.
    During last night’s debate he renewed his faulty logic that President Obama (and presumably Obama’s predecessor, George W. Bush) followed Romney’s “Let Detroit Go Bankrupt” philosophy during the restructuring of General Motors and Chrysler. The president again corrected Romney by reminding him that Romney’s plan essentially would have resulted in GM and Chrysler going out of business. That’s because no private financing was available at that time to keep the two automakers in business. That’s a fact.
    But for Romney and Republicans, there are plenty of other ways to attack Obama’s execution of the bailout, for instance:
    • Hundreds of longtime GM and Chrysler dealers were put out of business for no good reason and Obama and his car czar Steve Rattner could have stopped it. These were Main Street USA businesses whacked because of the belief that the automakers were overdealered and needed to radically streamline their retail networks.
    • The UAW wasn’t asked to make enough concessions. Rattner has said this himself. “If we had more time, we might have asked all the stakeholders to sacrifice a little bit more,” Rattner said in December 2011, according to a Reuters account.
    • Romney could further bring up the plight of salaried retirees at GM’s former parts subsidiary, Delphi Corp., who with the stroke of a pen in the middle of the bailouts lost their pensions while Delphi’s UAW pensioners were made whole.
    • And this will never happen, but Romney should praise the Bush administration for initiating the bailouts before Obama took office. Nobody seems to remember that GM and Chrysler probably would not have made their payrolls in the weeks before Obama took office unless the Bush administration had approved total bailout financing of $17.4 billion.
    In the end, Obama’s bailout never would have happened without Bush, the capitalist Republican, keeping GM and Chrysler alive with government money beforehand.

• 468.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Whatever

The Navy Seals are cool

• 469.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I think that’s enough schooling for Hg for today.Will dish out other lessons later.Mitchigan and Ohio workers are thankful to Obama for saving their jobs.Think about that Hg,and decide whose the real doooos here. :D

• 470.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@MacToogie-299: @nama1-304:

I’m sorry guys, I respect your opinions but I feel very strongly that we are missing a certain issue here…

I disagree with Meyer’s selections too, but for a politician to come out and bascially accuse Meyer of racism is Hugley unfair and wrong…. Heyneke Meyer is a human being like the rest of us and whilst you and I might not understand some of his selections, it is really poor form to simply jump to the conclusion that he must be racist…. We are only rugby fans. He is an international rugby coach with years of experience at the highest level. Perhaps we should admit for one moment that he knows a bit more about rugby than we do.

Don’t forget, a man’s reputation is an important thing and for someone as high up as a politician to publicly imply that Meyer is a racist without any proof is deeply wrong.

Nama1 – you said that “you don’t have to know Meyer to know he is reluctant to play certain players”… Everyone is reluctant to play certain players whom they don’t rate… It’s called coach’s perogative….. There was a time when judges and juries would sentence black people to prison without any evidence of their crimes and now we are guilty of the same mistake with Meyer and his reputation as a man.

If you don’t know him personally, you should not judge his character.

Lastly, for politicians to get involved and apply so much unnecessary pressure is seriously bad for South African rugby…. Many coaches have already said they will never consider coaching the Boks because of the environment created by SARU and the government…. Meyer knows what his goals are regarding transformation. He needs to be left to do his job without being micromanaged by the ANC.

Mantashe has done more harm than good here.

• 471.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Hi Pissant!

Nice one there mate! I think it’s post 163 or something :-)

Regards
    Sheriff

• 472.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-463: Lol… You actually dont really understand, do you? :lol:

Obama’s policy for Detroit was “borrowed” straight from someone else’s playbook… That someone was Romney. He took flak for a “tough love” solution suggested as far back as 2008, I think… But fark me if it wasn’t the “yesyoucan” who went and used “dumbfuck” Mitt’s very own strategy….

Lol… still chuckling at your “knowledge”

• 473.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer is not the right culture fit to be SA coach.

I think Toetie has demonstrated to the world that he can throw off the shackles and play a brand that we would all like to see.

Stiffneck Meyer will not change his ways; he is clinging on to Jacob Westerduin’s advice which is to do it your way; if it does not work out then at least you were true to yourself… or so it goes

I would like to see a new coach in Jan 2013

• 474.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-465: Lol… WTF? Howzat for a storm in a teacup… Nearly as comparable as the Democrat Majority leader once having a chat about “whiteniggers”…. Farken typical lily liberals… Nimby’s – The most racistswines around behind their little facades… Hey Angie? :lol:

• 475.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Before Hurricane Sandy hit, Mitt Romney had turned to his make-your-head-explode closing message in Ohio that Barack Obama is the one who let the auto industry go bankrupt, and Mitt Romney is the guy who wanted to save it. This is perfectly in keeping with Romney’s approach to any situation in which his opponent has a more popular position: Just say you’re for that thing, and also, possibly, that they’re not. Then you can go to the voters and say, I believe in pretty much the same stuff as Ted Kennedy or Shannon O’Brien or Rick Perry or Newt Gingrich or (now) Barack Obama but I will be taller and handsomer and more effective.
    The basics of this debate are pretty clear. Mitt Romney opposed using government funds to keep General Motors and Chrysler afloat. He has managed to muddy up the issue because he has said numerous things about it, many of which contradicted each other or simply made no sense at all. (Jonathan Cohn has a nice rundown.) But if you don’t want to chase every factual rabbit down every hole, the even bigger picture is that the notion that Romney or any Republican supported a taxpayer bailout of the auto industry is totally insane.
    Since I’m apparently the only person old enough to remember it, let me sit down in my rocking chair, offer you a Werther’s caramel, and tell you all about what it was like way back in 2009. The government had already bailed out the financial industry, was proposing an $800 billion stimulus, and Republicans were running around with their hair on fire screaming about socialism. The idea of extending another bailout to an industry not as central to the entire economy as finance struck even many Democrats as an inappropriate extension of government – numerous internal Obama advisers opposed a bailout, and I remember having a hard time making up my mind before uncomfortably deciding it was worth it.
    On the right, the auto bailout was immediately decried as the most frightening thing Obama had yet attempted. Paul Ryan wrote, “we are witnessing a fundamental transformation of government’s relationship with the polity and the economy.” The Weekly Standard called it “Gangster Government.” That was the general sentiment when Mitt Romney wrote his campaign book, decrying the auto bailout
    In his book, Romney excoriates the bailout in the starkest terms, contending that “the rule of law was ignored in order to reward the auto workers union at General Motors.” He cites it in a list of a half -dozen examples during Obama’s first 18 months in office of what he describes as “actions that demonstrate” the administration’s “distrust in free enterprise.” On page 8 of his 325-page treatise, Romney insists that when liberals are in power, “they take action” like the bailout “that is consistent with socialism but call it by a more plausible name.” …
    At another point in the book, Romney wrote: “I opposed Washington’s bailout for the industry in 2008 because it enabled GM and Chrysler to avoid the restructuring and productivity improvements essential for their success. The managed bankruptcy that I proposed ultimately occurred, but only after tens of billions of dollars of taxpayer money had been wasted, and only after sweetheart deals and paybacks for favored interest groups had been engineered with the public’s money. The question now is whether or not the administration’s heavy hand has protected political and UAW interests in such a way that the industry’s burdens persist.”
    “Of course, the financial system itself must not be allowed to collapse,” he wrote, “but individual institutions that do not show the capacity to right themselves should be allowed to fail. Non-financial businesses should also be allowed to fail; if they have future prospects, bankruptcy will allow them to remerge as stronger, viable employers.” Leaving no doubt that he means the auto industry, his next line adds: “General Motors shares should have immediately been distributed to the public rather than being held by the federal government.”
    That was what the entire party believed. Bailing out Wall Street was one thing, but bailing out a non-financial industry was a step toward endless socialism.
    If you could have gone back to 2009 and told Republicans that their 2012 nominee was trying to hug Obama on the auto bailout — or, now, get to his left! – they never, ever would have believed you. It would have been more plausible to believe that the GOP nominee would be running as a huge fan of Obamacare.

• 476.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Mitt Romney and Hg are cut from the same cloth it seems.Now I understand his support for the oke. :D

• 477.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-469: I reckon you have just been owned…

I take no pride in doing it though…

Much like squashing the odd cockroach… Sometimes it just has to be done, no matter how farken revolting it can be…. :lol:

• 478.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Once it’s out there it’s difficult to retract .Hg’s buddy tried to repair the damage by making nearly 80 visits to Mitchigan and Ohio ,but the damage was already done.

• 479.Daddy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-477: @wnbb-476:

Politics is all staged. Jeez havent you learned anything from the internet?

• 480.wnbb: Reply to this comment

You are owning nobody ,buddy.You wanted to be schooled on the auto bailout ,and I have given you the facts on it.That’s all. :D

• 481.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-475: So much waffle,that essentially says exactly what my post 472 says…

If I had the time and inclination I would copy and paste a couple of relevant and definitely more succinct quotes, articles that would demonstrate this further…

The yanks that did vote Obama in have been conned… The Rockstar has conned the rest of you nimby liberal wannabes too :lol:

But I wont… Because I got nothing to prove to you, Capo my boy…

As I was saying… roaches and all… lol

• 482.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Daddy-479: Who farken asked you?

• 483.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The fact of the matter is Hg ,is that your mate made a cardinal error on an issue that was very important for the American auto worker.He has to live with that decision and move on with life,just like you made a bad error in judgment in your prediction of victory for Romney .You also need to cut your losses,accept it and move on. :D

• 484.Daddy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-482:

No one asked. I just got involved because I felt like it.

Do you have a problem with that?

• 485.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s Mitt short for.

• 486.wnbb: Reply to this comment

You can start with your name-calling Hg.I don’t care as long as I have schooled you as per your request. :D

• 487.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-483: What “cardinal error” ? Tough love… Being honest?

Fark Capo… you definitely, 100% without a doubt, are as dumbfuck as the posts you litter around here on Keo… :lol:

• 488.Superbru: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-485: Mittens :lol:

• 489.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Daddy-484: No problem at all… Here’s a can of STFU for your effort… Consider it first prize.

• 490.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-470:
    “Everyone is reluctant to play certain players whom they don’t rate… It’s called coach’s perogative…..”

It makes a mockery of “selection on merit” then, doesn’t it? I mean, if every rugby follower can see that the one player is better than the other and the coach selects the weaker player because it is his “prerogative,” surely merit is thrown out of the window.

• 491.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-485: It means come to HG, Prawny…

• 492.Daddy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-489:

I would be angry too if I had just been schooled the way you have.

I’ll leave you to the very capable hands of wnbb to continue his ownership over you.

As you were.

• 493.Daddy: Reply to this comment

@nama1-490:

Lots of us don’t rate Juan De Jongh. He is too small and too individualistic.

Heyneke Meyer deserves an extended run before we judge him as a coach. He has made his selections. We need to accept it and support the team. He is not a racist.

• 494.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-487: You are the farking idiot on here,mate .Supporting a chap without knowing he made the biggest blunder in American political history which ultimately cost him two important swing states.Ffs you are one dumb mother fcker trying to be a know it all on this forum.I thought that you are just messing around on here,but you are clearly not it seems!! :D

• 495.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

It has been interesting to watch the reaction of the ‘world’ to the re-election of Barry Soetoro.

In the words of the controversial Rev James Manning: ‘ I won’t call him white if you wont call him black’

Barry is a joke. Don’t think Romney is better. Rumour has it – very difficult to prove of course as that he is a 32rd degree Prince Hall Freemason. Apparently he has a ring that basically confirms it. The bloke history is a mystery. It also seems that he swings both ways; in that regard it seems that some had to be ‘eliminated’ to get rid of these uncomfortable allegations.

He sounds like an boxing announcer; his little attempts to portray a virtuous father is pathetic.

What I expect from him is that there will be an acceleration of his freemason agenda. Just watch how ‘experts’ will be endorsing him over the next while

We have to be concerned about Barry Soetoro as he is in charge of the US of A and their influence is felt throughout the world.

Let’s see how quickly they try to get us to ‘One Whold Orderhhh’

• 496.wnbb: Reply to this comment

My job is done for now.Check on you later,Hg ,my political bi tch. :D

• 497.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Daddy-492: Lol. Yes… obviously this humble janitor was schooled by Capo the poodle rapist…

According to his number one fan… Daddy… that is :lol:

• 498.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-494: One word…

Rubbish… Now go find Fifi quick before you make a needless mess :lol:

• 499.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-498:

Your cuckoo flown its nest again

• 500.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Daddy-493:
    Vokkit!!! Another one!

Where did I mention that he is a racist?

• 501.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-499: Yes she has…. Howabout you me go have a rough and naughty replay of the CC final… HG’s humble hut is empty for a little while… so there is space for a bit of vigorous couch rugby…

• 502.Daddy: Reply to this comment

@nama1:

Where did I say that you said he was a racist?

• 503.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-501:

No thanks

• 504.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Daddy-502:

@Daddy-493:
    @nama1-490:

Lots of us don’t rate Juan De Jongh. He is too small and too individualistic.

Heyneke Meyer deserves an extended run before we judge him as a coach. He has made his selections. We need to accept it and support the team. He is not a racist.

• 505.Daddy: Reply to this comment

@nama1:

I dont see any instance of me accusing you of calling Meyer a racist. I simply said he is not a racist.

Sounds like you have a guilty conscience.

• 506.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-503: Okay.

• 507.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-460: Daughter of Bles Bridges .After your time.

• 508.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Daddy-505:
    OK then. If you say so.

• 509.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-507: Did Gwede buy his false
    teeth at a hospice charity shop.
    Mild mockery.Please please please dont call me rascist.

• 510.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

racist .I should know how to spell the word by now.

• 511.Stawm: Reply to this comment

I’m going to wrap up this thread for all of you and put you out of your misery.

HG remains a moron, and feels the need to constantly login here and prove it to everyone.
    Everyone has a lot to say about HM.
    Same everyone had a lot to say about all preceding coaches.
    Everyone thinks they are right.
    There is no right.
    It is the coaches neck on the line, and he will live and die by his decisions.

HM has a proven track record, the only current coach in SA with one. He will succeed.

Footnote:
    I personally would play Taute @ 15, JDJ @ 13, but I’m not the coach.

• 512.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-510:
    Maybe you’re thinking of fascist?

• 513.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-511: Shutup wench…

• 514.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-513:
    Served and owned.

• 515.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Stawm-514: Yes, thats why I said it… Bad manners to talk with your mouth full… Now dont make me say it again….

• 516.Stawm: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-515:

How about some more sage predictions from you?

• 517.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Another beaut from Hg’s new buddy,Mitt.Just before the American election new jobs data showed that 177 000 jobs were created.All saw it as economic progress,but Mitt saw it as stagnation.Unlike Hg,the American electorate saw through his fake facade.Saying that 47 percent of Americans live on government handouts probably didn’t help either.I guess our resident fool,Hg ,didn’t know about faux pas either ??

• 518.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Welcome back Pietman,but who can you be is the million dollar question tonight.My money is on Horings. :D . 83Pietman
    November 8th, 2012 at 13:05 SAST
    @ Sharks_forever:
    @ Puma:
    @ grootblousmile:
    @ superBul:
    Hello boys!
    Look, I am not going to get started here on RT with this political rugby bullshyte, I have had my fill on Voldy with those ‘Campsbay cowboys and capeflatsboys’ down in the Cape on this issue, and I’m done with that.
    BUT, I want to defend our national coach 100% on his selections for the Irish test (as I had often done with PdeV).
    Unlike our rugby coaches, who are accountable and can be lambasted and have their contracts terminated for non-performance, this Gwede Mantashe oke can easily just sit there and make a few occasional controversial statements whenever he takes his snout out of the gravy trough, he is accountable only to the caders who will protect his arse regardless.
    Feel free to come bite me Gwede,IF you can counter me on the following regarding selection:
    * Kolisi is out for the season, why is he even mentioned?
    * Chiliboy ‘Sicknote’ Ralapele is on the come-back trail after a long injury (again! Take note Superbul…), so he is a ‘no-go’.
    * JdJ’s selection would have meant Taute at fullback with a loss of Kirchner, so no ‘black’(sic) player gains from that move either (in any event, a brilliant try by JdJ in the CC final at home after a practiced move that took a week to perfect doesn’t relate to any such performances in an overseas international in Dublin’ Ireland);
    * Mujati is not eligible;
    * Mvovo ipo of Hougaard with his BMT and versatility is no improvement, quite the opposite;
    * Jantjies was kuk against the All Blacks in his firt run-up game, he choked big time and is clearly not ready to be picked in the first 15 at this stage of his career.
    So, GO Heyneke!!!!! You have my full support.
    0 likes

• 519.ET.: Reply to this comment

” Does deep rooted racist behaviour still exist in SA Rugby? The simple and straight answer is yes. Can we call it racism? ”

Who has been saying this from day one of appearing on this unearthly sight and that was way, way back then?

Who further coined the term neo-racism to describe this modified racism in a supposedly ‘democratic’ S.Africa.? How else do you describe those cosmetic or window-dressing changes(black minstrel, figures of mostly 15% or 3/15 so euphemistically referred to as “quotas”)?

Who thus still constantly and correctly says then, “where I lead you will still follow?

The difference is called foresight and only gifted people have it, like Einstein, Newton, London, Shaw etc., etc.

• 520.ET.: Reply to this comment

@ET.-519:

sight should truly read SITE

• 521.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@ET.-520: Don’t worry,bud.We sometimes use the word ‘flawed’ to geniuses like you. :D

• 522.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-515:

You remind me of the fat pervert in “The Woman with the Dragon Tattoo”. Sies, jou vark!

• 523.j59: Reply to this comment

@wpallday-98: Bulls won s14 2007 – a comp without any AB’s for the 1st 7 rounds….talk about a quota win

Frans Steyn could have pre-ended this mess, if he just kicked the ball out in the final…..Sheesh

• 524.mako: Reply to this comment

Just read this article now. It worries me that politicians get to have their public say about selections in the national side. They certainly are no better equipped to do so than the rest of us. Having said that though, I also have a sneaky suspicion that he may have a point. The thing is it isn’t so much racism as size-ism.

• 525.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

Why focus on rugby so much ANC? Haven’t you got more important things to do like… I don’t know, fulfilling all of those empty promises that you made to your brainwashed, brain dead electorate?

Don’t worry about rugby … don’t even worry about cricket. If you were really concerned about sport in South Africa, you’d look closely at the shambles of a football (soccer) team.

The team hasn’t won a bloody thing since the African Cup of Nations in 1996 and has been a national embarrassment since. Also, if sport is supposed to be “representative” then where are the whites, coloureds and Indians in football?

• 526.Beast: Reply to this comment

I am so sick of the cANCer! Thank heavens I’ll be rid of them soon.

• 527.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

@Beast-526: Where are you off to?

• 528.adi: Reply to this comment

Heyneke Meyer have taken South Affican rugby back to apartheid. He is as racist as they come. One set of rules for whites and another for non-whites
    I have supported the boks through thick and thin but this have to be the worst appointment ever. He is making this team more whiter by the day. Zane and Beast are next to be chopped.

• 529.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

@adi-528: Are you taking the piss? Sure his appointments might not be the best but why make it purely about race? It’s a simple law of averages, there are more white rugby players than there are black ones.

The converse could be said of football – the thing is, it doesn’t matter, he’s not making the right white selections either.

• 530.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@adi-528:

PDV’s 2011 EOY RWC squad 8 player’s of colour out of 30

HM’s 2012 EOYT squad 10 players of colour out of 30 and with Habana out injured…

You’re not the sharpest eh chum?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.