ANC slams Bok coach
8 Nov 2012
ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe says Heyneke Meyer ‘is not keen on putting black players in the team’.
On Tuesday, Meyer selected Jaco Taute ahead of Juan de Jongh at outside centre, Pat Lambie and Morne Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies at flyhalf, and Adriaan Strauss and Schalk Brits ahead of Chiliboy Ralepelle at hooker. Three players of colour were included in the starting XV – Zane Kirchner, JP Pietersen and Beast Mtawarira – with another two – De Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo – on the eight-man bench.
‘The situation is the coaches select the basic minimum black players in the team and relax thereafter and overlook good players,’ Mantashe said. ‘Why do we wait until there are no other players? The attitude is that coaches think this is a white sport and they meet the basic amount of players.’
Mantashe said it seemed like Meyer was reluctant to select black players who deserved a place in the side.
‘My view is that the new coach is not keen on putting black players in the team, even those who have proven they are the best.’
He said there was something wrong if someone like Jantjies was not selected and that Mvovo and Stormers flanker Siya Kolisi (who was injured in late August and ruled out for the rest of the season) also deserved a spot in the team.

530 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All
8 Nov 2012, 08:46 am
@Te Rangatira-33:
You’re missing the sensitivities that still remain in SA because of rugby’s track record. There are still a lot of whites who regard rugby as “our game”, hence the “stick to soccer” comments.
8 Nov 2012, 08:48 am
@capebull-45: yeah and a hooker cant player 6 (Fourie) and a lock cant play backrow (Dannie Russouw) and woah woah woah a 6 cant play 8 (Keegan), a 15 playing 13?? never heard of in my life before!! dont try that argument with me that backrowers have to stick to their numbers.
8 Nov 2012, 08:49 am
I don’t like Heyneke but at least he hasn’t made players feel like quotas. Shimange on the bench for 20 tests in a row is bullsh!t.
Davon Raubenheimer , Morgan Newman , Ismaeel Dollie in your squads is bullsh!t.
At least players of color in Heyneke’s squads can all feel deserving to be there on merit and form and nothing else matters.
8 Nov 2012, 08:49 am
@suffer_guy-42: I truly hate that degenerate as a Bok. Meyer selects him because he cannot attack, is not flashy and can kick far, and is from the Bulls.
8 Nov 2012, 08:53 am
@suffer_guy-42: yeah, it was only Mvovo who had a shocker, of course Lambie didnt freeze in that game right? the forwards were totally on song and McCleod had a blinder
8 Nov 2012, 08:55 am
@skunk-20: Take a step back and have a look at the team he inherited back then and what he did with them. Talent means zip without good coaching. Russel,Pienaar to name two. Meyer has up till now not been a quick fix type coach although he needs to start fixing up sh it pretty soon.
IMO this tour is exactly what he needs to start identifying and settling certain players and if that means experimenting than thats also not a bad thing. What coach has not gone that route?
The fact that he is snubbing crowd favourites in his selections causes mass histeria in some households and sites like this but I still see him as a long distance runner and not a sprinter.
8 Nov 2012, 08:56 am
Meyer is selecting players to fill a quota. If you can not see that then you are not objective. Like I said before HM is not a good coach. Never liked him. He of course is the man who converted a flank to hooker because he did not rate the next best hookers in his squad. Maybe you remember who they were.
8 Nov 2012, 08:57 am
@Spiesisworthless1-43: You know what your posts are as worthless as your nic. No debate or a glimmer of thought goes into them. As long as it is anti Meyer/Bulls you have something to stroke your stiff about….quite pathetic to be honest.
8 Nov 2012, 08:58 am
@MacToogie-55:
It is amazing how people can blame a loss on one person.
8 Nov 2012, 08:58 am
@wp_boytjie-53: That is absolutely nonsense, he is exactly achieving the opposite by playing inferior white platers in the place of in form black players. Hougaard and Steyn are in kak form and Taute is definately not a 13 of domestic (CC) or international quality.
8 Nov 2012, 09:01 am
@John1976-60: Yes agreed. Hougaard should be on the bench and Steyn should be at Hatfield Square.
8 Nov 2012, 09:01 am
@David-51: David I agree but seeing we are all meant to be equal is the “How many whites are there in a the national soccer side?” not a fair question? Is transformation a one way street?
8 Nov 2012, 09:03 am
Kwagga
If I am not mistaken HM has sold us the “every test match is a must win”. When that became mission improbable he starts saying he is building experience.
Now I hear you talking about long term combinations but he said the man playing at outside center is a long term 15 investment. Sounds to me like he is out of his depth. Too many horses for courses players at the moment.
8 Nov 2012, 09:04 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-14: He’s never been a good coach. Everytime he struck out on his own he was the most miserable failure as coach. Think his early Bull career before Todd Louden entered the picture and his stint at Leicster and now at the Boks where he’s calling the shots to a bunch of noob “coaches”*lol*. He’s an awful coach and selector.
@goodstuff summed it up well, HM overlooks quality when it’s blatant (Brussouw, any number of quality fullbacks, Bakkies [Imagine Bakkies at 4 and Etsebeth at 5 vs the Irish], Lambie until now, JDJ, Jantjies etc etc) and he sees quality where there is nothing. (his assistant coaching team, Spies, Potgieter, Kirtchner, Morne, Taute at 13 etc etc.
TBH I haven’t seen one redeeming quality from HM as coach. Not one. He’s a complete failure at the moment in his honeymoon season.
8 Nov 2012, 09:06 am
@skunk-63: Must admit the Taute selection baffles me as well. Let’s hope this tour leaves us with more answers than questions.
@skunk-63: Agreed you should just have 1 or 2 positions that are horsers for courses.
Kwagga
watch the next bafana game and count for yourself.
@David-51: It seems as HM is sharing that sentiment looking at his selctions thus far. He has an added handicapped that he is always going to select players, unless they already had a chance and prove that they are not international quality, that he had identified as major talents i.e. JJ, Potgieter, Botha, Kirchner, Greyling,
8 Nov 2012, 09:07 am
Could see this one coming … No good reason to exclude JdJ. Re EJ i can accept some rotation but he must start at least one test.
Kirch does not deserve to be dropped , he has done a satisfactory job .. if the game plan changes then yes bring in a runner ..
8 Nov 2012, 09:07 am
@David-51: ah so its ok for this fat little k un t mantashe (who is about as corrupt in his soul as a human can be) to try and select a national team?
*** that, its racial engineering but if you wanna defend it davey thats cool buddy.
seriously, mantashe? MANTASHE???????? wtf does this little zuma lapdog know about anything but hanging onto the coattails of the anc and snuffling in the trough like a pig.
8 Nov 2012, 09:09 am
Lets be honest HM is lost. I for one do not blame race but rather inability. HM is not making sense at all.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-58: I’m sorry you feel that way. I suspect it is because you are a Bulls man at heart. I honestly have no anti Bulls bias and have given Meyer a fair chance. I’m just fed up with the Boks being bottle-necked by poor coaches.
@John1976-60:
Nah don’t agree. The inferior white players that couldn’t impress like JJ , Greyling and Potgieter aren’t in the current squad. You can accuse him of favoritism I have all year , but at least I have not had to see “Shimange on the bench” type of scenarios. It’s not fair on the player. End of story.
8 Nov 2012, 09:10 am
Chill the ufk out.
De Jongh/Jantjies will get what’s due to them soon, how/when exactly I can’t tell you but that’s how the rugby universe operates.
8 Nov 2012, 09:11 am
@skunk-67: we are in agreement regarding meyers credentials.
a bs last second win in 2007 in durbs saw him elevated to messiah status but its clear he is clueless and stubborn as a post but that doesnt make it a racial issue and p r i ck s like mantashe who are presiding over the looting of our country must shut their fat mouths and f u k off.
8 Nov 2012, 09:11 am
@skunk-71:
That about sums it up ja.
8 Nov 2012, 09:12 am
@capebull-49: Jimmy Joubert, Peter Ballack, Mark Tovey, Neil Tovey, Les Grobbelaar, Noel Cousin, Jinggles Perreira, Big-John Salter, Nelson Castro, Roger De Sa, list is is endeless, all soccer legend who played prior 1994.
Now name 5 blacks who played for the Boks before 1994, just 5
Ranger
Mantashe was asked as a Bok fan his views. He shared them. And not just on color but on our failure to invest in youth. I think people forget we all have an oppinion about the team. But we know what sells and that is what has been given.
Gwede Mantashe is a bloody racist.
He is wanting black or coloured players ahead of whites because he thinks the team should have them, not because the team needs them.
Last time I looked, the score was the same if you ran in a try irrespective whether the player was black or white.
Same as losing. You don’t get extra credits for fielding passengers.
Gwede Mantashe should be called to account.
Who are these black players that have been overlooked by inferior white players?
It had to come…
8 Nov 2012, 09:13 am
@Spiesisworthless1-64: Finally some thought into a post. Spies I have said what I felt about HM and the way I see him going about things. On his assistant coaches I will agree but I somehow cannot see that he had the only hand in those selections but thats just a personal feeling.
Every coach has a couple of players he will stick to John Smit, Ricky Januarie, Jaco vd Westhuizen take your pick the list goes on. but remember we have also won two world cups with players in the teams that we all felt does not belong there.
To me he is still a good coach but is starting to resemble the ‘springhaas in die spotlight’ look. I do believe he has the capacity to bounce back and if not I’ll have my humble pie with a smile.
8 Nov 2012, 09:13 am
@skunk-71: ah, skunk you are a top bloke really, unlike me haha.
i need to calm down i think haha but a burning anger ignites in me when one of the mafiosos running things in this country uses race to shift the spotlight.
nkandla is the current anc nightmare and on cue, hey presto! comments on the bok team.
these okes are clever for sure but tuncs none the less.
8 Nov 2012, 09:15 am
@David-51: White folks still get suprised that I know more about rugby than they do, its weird having conversation in the pub or at work, that’s when you realize your average white bloke knows no more about rugby than your average black dude. There are white dudes who know more about football than black dudes
8 Nov 2012, 09:15 am
Explain MS and Hougie.
8 Nov 2012, 09:16 am
@skunk-78: as a bok fan?
no man, gwede is trying to shift public focus which is firmly on nkandlagate.
its standard ancuntness procedure sorry.
8 Nov 2012, 09:17 am
@XhosaKid-83: who cares seriously xhosa?
eminem is a great rapper, tiger a great golfer.
get on with it please.
8 Nov 2012, 09:18 am
@The Rangerman-85: I see you got promoted. You are now THE Rangerman. Nice ring to it.
Lol Ranger try remember who wrote the article. The whole thing is not about race. Its about three sentances that were. Its just being milked because of who it was who said it. Rubbish reporting as always…
This is all so unneccessary.
HM just had to choose the best 15 on merit alone and all would have been ok..
Some bloggers saw this coming….now Pandoras Box is opened……no closing it.
well done HM…..you have truly created a s hit storm now. Bet you dont see through till end of 2013.
8 Nov 2012, 09:20 am
xhosa – there were no real good black players before 1994 …except Tobias – but he was no Naas
@wp_boytjie-73: I honestly don’t see the difference, Showing no faith in players and giving then 3 to 5 minutes on the park is the same as keeping one player on the bench for a season.
Ranger
The journos asked his view because he is a rugby fan. He responded. Nkandlagate and all that is part of the SA i least enjoy and bother even less about…
8 Nov 2012, 09:23 am
@suffer_guy-90:
That is like saying there were no good black politicians in southern USA prior to 1970.
8 Nov 2012, 09:26 am
they all played soccer … LMAO
8 Nov 2012, 09:27 am
@The Rangerman-85: Are you serious, comment on a rugby team selection will have that effect.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-62: The South Africans registered their historic 1-0 win over the Nigerians in a semifinal match played in Equatorial Guinea last night, thanks to a 24th-minute goal by Janine “Booth” van Wyk.
HM OUT
8 Nov 2012, 09:28 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-14: What trophies has he won? A Super Rugby title and one or two currie cups? Its amazing that people still credit the Bulls success post 07 to HM ,those people are morons.
HM has deflated my enthusiasm for Springbok Rugby with his caveman like antics as a coach.
8 Nov 2012, 09:29 am
Suffer guy
you are a ****
8 Nov 2012, 09:30 am
So the ruling ANC, again, feels the need to label people as racists, and meddle in sport. Dont they have something better to do, like run the country, maybe even stop stealing from the state coffers till they are empty?
You are vocal about a rugby team selection Mr Mantashe, but why have we never ever heard anything from you about all the corruption in your ruling party, all the stealing of state funds and mismanagement of projects.
Please give us your thoughts on this Mr Mantashe:
Here is a detailed breakdown of the state’s expenditure on the President’s residence at Nkandla spending:
Die Burger (17 October) and City Press (21 October) put the total cost of the Nkandla upgrade project at R248 million.
This figure includes:
• R121 million to construction companies
• R3 million for bullet proof windows
• R9.23 million for a perimeter fence
• R2.3 million for lift/s
• R54 million has already been paid to consultants, architects, land surveyors, engineers and project managers
• Thirty-one costly new buildings were constructed in the compound, with one contractor (who built six of them, see below) charging Public Works R8 million per building
• A gate house, a gymnasium and guest rooms
• An underground bunker, with a lift to ferry President Zuma between the main house and the bunker
• A helipad
• The installation of air conditioning systems at a cost of R1.5 million
• R200 000 on lightning protectors for the thatched roofs
In August 2010, public works told Parliament the project would cost R6.4 million.
This upgrade has been undertaken despite massive upgrades to Zuma’s official residences in Pretoria, Durban and Cape Town also having been undertaken since 2009.
Payments to contractors started in December 2009 – seven months after Zuma was sworn in as president.
The final delivery date of the project is August 2013.
The biggest beneficiary of the Nkandla upgrade by far has been businesswoman Thandeka Nene’s Bonelena Construction Enterprise and Projects, which scored two building contracts worth R33.4 million and R66 million, respectively.
The R33.4 million contract was for “emergency work”, indicating the work did not go out on public tender.
Bonelena’s second contract, the cost of which increased from R55 million to R66 million, was for the construction of “25 new buildings” at R2.6 million each.
Moneymine 310 (an apt name!), a company owned by businesswoman Pamela Mfeka, was contracted to construct six new buildings at the compound at a cost of R47.6 million, meaning each building cost R7.9 million.
It is still unclear exactly what expenses Zuma and his family will carry, but a Public Works document released earlier this year put the figure at R10.6 million.
The Nkandla compound was built by Zuma in 2000.
During the corruption trial of Schabir Shaik it was alleged that money from French arms dealer Thales was used to fund the building of the complex.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All