ANC slams Bok coach
8 Nov 2012
ANC secretary general Gwede Mantashe says Heyneke Meyer ‘is not keen on putting black players in the team’.
On Tuesday, Meyer selected Jaco Taute ahead of Juan de Jongh at outside centre, Pat Lambie and Morne Steyn ahead of Elton Jantjies at flyhalf, and Adriaan Strauss and Schalk Brits ahead of Chiliboy Ralepelle at hooker. Three players of colour were included in the starting XV – Zane Kirchner, JP Pietersen and Beast Mtawarira – with another two – De Jongh and Lwazi Mvovo – on the eight-man bench.
‘The situation is the coaches select the basic minimum black players in the team and relax thereafter and overlook good players,’ Mantashe said. ‘Why do we wait until there are no other players? The attitude is that coaches think this is a white sport and they meet the basic amount of players.’
Mantashe said it seemed like Meyer was reluctant to select black players who deserved a place in the side.
‘My view is that the new coach is not keen on putting black players in the team, even those who have proven they are the best.’
He said there was something wrong if someone like Jantjies was not selected and that Mvovo and Stormers flanker Siya Kolisi (who was injured in late August and ruled out for the rest of the season) also deserved a spot in the team.

530 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 » Show All
8 Nov 2012, 12:43 pm
@Gordon Gekko-285: what point am i missing?
you say ” SARU has done squat in either an Academy to develop nurture feed & condition players of colour or to address this head on and groom players of colour in the same way youngsters at 15-20 are groomed for the provincial teams”
now i ask you, which of the – Paarl Gym, Grey, Affies, Wynberg, Bishops etc – get funding from SARU to produce players.
if you know, can you also find out how much has the Sports Ministry spent rectifying the glaring imbalance in facilities between previously so-called “white schools” and “black schools”?
to make it even easier, forget about ngconde balfour & makhenkesi stofile, focus on fikile’s contribution in redressing the parlous state of township school sport facilities.
8 Nov 2012, 12:43 pm
@MacToogie-343: He could’ve looked at the Bulls vs. Stormers games, both games Potgieter and the entire Bulls loose trio was nulified by the Stormers buckup reserve loose trio.
Sorry, but he chose to ignore the writing on the wall.
8 Nov 2012, 12:44 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-345: ‘Godlike’ you say.. that yours and Habana’s opinion of this racist twit?
shows how bamboozled you are when you look straight inside a racists eyes and see God instead.
8 Nov 2012, 12:44 pm
@Tacitus-344:
Tac, if Meyer does not rate de Jongh, Jantjies, Mvovo etc, why on earth does he take them on these tours?
8 Nov 2012, 12:45 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-349: But it then result i na season ending injury! Having our future FH superstar getting a ligament tear in his first game is not a success.
8 Nov 2012, 12:47 pm
@goodstuff-346:
elstadt was also out injured at the time. Potgieter is an out and out blindsider in the aj venter mould in my opinion. AJ ended up a particulalry studious players but was a bladdy malkop initially as well. Kolisi is not the traditional blindsider he was looking for. Kolisi currently competes with coetzee for a spot in my opinion.
You mention Flo now but none were calling for him earlier in the season, it was all brussow this and kolisi that. Louw was an inspired selection by meyer…a player that everyone had forgotten. Stander is an 8 and okay at best so far.
8 Nov 2012, 12:48 pm
@nama1-347: Very true. But I also don’t believe that Alistair, who is sensitive to the needs of ALL his charges (you don’t need to look far to find proof of this – grab the 1st WP player you see and ask him), had any less work to do in getting the balances right, than what Meyer has ahead of him. Getting this balance, while still performing, all comes to down to the MAN running the show, and his character.
Alistair has been honest throughout (no, he isn’t perfect, but he’s honest….)
Meyer, wellfucknows who assists him with his interviews etc, but his double talk and in some cases utter ‘lies’ tell me that his character is questionable, while Alistair’s is solid and that’s why Toetie gets the ‘buy in’ from all/most.
8 Nov 2012, 12:48 pm
Deur: Gavin Prins in Johannesburg
2012-11-05 05:31
Die Menseregtekommissie (MRK) ondersoek klagtes dat die omstrede sangeres Sunette Bridges tydens ’n liefdadigheidsete vir arm kinders geweier het om lekkers aan ’n swart seun te gee.
Joma van der Merwe van Phalaborwa in Limpopo sê sy het in Junie die sangeres na ’n huis in Danville, Pretoria, genooi om soetgoed aan armes uit te deel.
“Toe Sunette sien daar is ’n swart kind wat in die tou staan, het sy vir my gesê sy hoop nie ons verwag dat sy die swart kind ’n drukkie moet gee nie, want ons weet mos hoe voel sy oor swartes. Ek het toe vir haar gesê dis my aangenome kind en ek sal hom uit die tou gaan haal,” sê Van der Merwe.
Bridges het gister aan Rapport ontken dat sy rassisties opgetree het en sê die doel van die dag was om lekkers vir arm kinders te gee, “nie vir die kind van die organiseerder nie”.
Ná die voorval het ’n e-pos-oorlog tussen Bridges en Van der Merwe losgebars wat na die sangeres se Facebook-blad oorgespoel het.
’n Vrou van Hermanus wat anoniem wil bly het gesien hoe van die sangeres se 10 000 volgelinge Van der Merwe slegsê en het op haar beurt ’n klag by die MRK ingedien.
Isaac Mangena, MRK-woordvoerder, het bevestig dat die kommissie ’n klag ontvang het.
“Ja, ons ondersoek ’n klag van rassisme teen Sunette Bridges vir uitlatings wat op sosiale media gemaak is,” sê Mangena.
Van der Merwe sê sy was baie teleurgesteld toe Bridges só opgetree het.
“Ek het toe sommer vir my kind gesê die lekkers is vir arm kinders en dat hy syne later sal kry.
“Ek wou nie daar ’n scene maak nie, maar ek het wel vir haar ’n brief geskryf,” sê Van der Merwe.
“Ek het daai kind gekry toe hy twee dae oud was. Hy is nou nege, speel rugby en praat mooi Afrikaans.
“Velkleur moenie in die pad staan van liefde en respek nie,” sê Van der Merwe.
Sy beplan om ook ’n klag by die MRK in te dien.
Van der Merwe het e-pos-bewyse aan Rapport gewys waarin Bridges die k-woord gebruik.
Die sangeres het in reaksie daarop aan Rapport gesê daar kan maklik met e-posse gepeuter word.
“Ek het al male sonder tal die vraag oor of ek ’n rassis is geantwoord. Die kort antwoord is nee. Ek glo egter Boere-Afrikaners het die reg om oor hulself te regeer,” sê sy.
Sy het ook al op haar Facebook-blad geskryf die ware betekenis van die woord “rassis” het lankal sy werklike betekenis in die Suid-Afrikaanse konteks verloor.
“Hy word deesdae bloot gebruik om alles te beskryf wat enige wit persoon doen waarvan ’n swart persoon nie hou nie. Wanneer ’n swart man in ’n pos aangestel word bo ’n blanke man wat beter gekwalifiseerd is, is dit nié rassisties nie.”
Sy sê: “Ek het nog nooit ‘uitsprake’ teenoor swart mense gemaak nie. As ek my uitspreek oor ’n minister wat nie sy of haar werk nie doen nie, is dit nie my skuld as daai minister swart is nie.
“As ek woedend raak oor barbare wat bejaardes met byle, grawe of pangas vermoor, is dit nie my skuld dat daai barbare swart is nie,” sê sy.
Een van die e-posse wat Bridges glo aan Van der Merwe gestuur het, lui: “LOL! … nee… jy Jomammatjie, het ’n groot fout gemaak! Ek het vir jou lankal gesê wat my mening oor k****s is en jy het een gaan aanneem.”
Bridges sê Van der Merwe het self die e-pos geskryf en aan haarself gerig.
“Ek sit met al die oorspronklike kommunikasie tussen my en daai vrou. Toe ek die eerste keer die e-pos sien, het ek haar daaroor gekonfronteer en haar gewaarsku dat ek ’n klag teen haar gaan indien as sy volhou dat ek verantwoordelik is vir die snert,” sê Bridges.
8 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
@Tacitus-344: how about the opinions of Nick Mallet, and nearly every other reasonable rugby fundie on the planet.. who would they play first up at outside center, Taute or De Jongh..?
you wanna call this a rugby decision when it is anything but.. that how you try and smoke screen the bullshit.. you and your racist herr heineke both
This thing better blow up in his face.. if he loses Saturday playing these witzie wunderkinds against a mediocre Ireland I actually hope the sky of Hades falls down around his lily white racially entrenched neck
8 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-339:
@goodstuff-340:
Tac believes everything that HM says and if HM said the defensive lapses were because of Elton, then so it was.
8 Nov 2012, 12:50 pm
@goodstuff-355:
it was his 2nd game by the way and I can only imagine goosen looked good to go in training and the doc okayed it?
I really don’t know but players get injured, and some look more prone to injury than others. A bloke like goosen gets injured every month and another like morne steyn not once in 4 years?
8 Nov 2012, 12:51 pm
@wnbb-358: The northern Afrikaner problem needs to be addressed it seems.They are the biggest obstacle to unity in SA
HM is not a racist. That is a ridiculous statement. He just picks the team as he see fit. In my opinion Zane is not good enough but HM thinks he is. I thought Lambie should have started ahead of Steyn a lot earlier, but HM didn’t. It is only as question of race when the players we think are being overlooked are black. JdJ should start in my opinion, but I don’t think HM is biased against his colour.
On the Coetzee vs Kolisi question, both were in the running for one spot. Coetzee is slightly more experienced. Kolisi will be a Bok when he recovers from his injuries and HM will be the coach who picks him
@goodstuff-352: really? one game? the writing was on the wall that Sharks were 2012 CC champions, how did that turn out?
im not saying you are wrong in your assessment of those players, im just saying neither was HM in trying out who he wants to.
8 Nov 2012, 12:53 pm
@skopdiekan-359:
yes depending on your stance and argument you achoose to use mallet as doctrine.
like when he played jannie debeer ahead of lem in that semi. Or when he dropped teichmann,etc,etc..
mallet made monumental selection cockups
8 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-350: REALLY? You agree that Meyer has himself to blame for a lot of the sh y te coming his way? I need a drink.
8 Nov 2012, 12:58 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-365: Nick Mallet is just one example .. take a sample of top rugby fundies world wide including Australians and NZ coaches.. which one would play Taute ahead of De Jongh.. and Morne Steyn ahead of Jantjies.. and Coetsee or Potgieter or Spies ahead of Kolisi.. which one.. I’d like to see which rugby fundie is as blind and ideologically bent as this prick who don’t know the first thing about running and coaching a national rugby team.. let alone one that REQUIRES some embracing of more than just his own narrow minded ideological stance on life.
8 Nov 2012, 12:59 pm
@PissAnt-163
ost of the week.
Lot of Skop type **** flung around las night.I agree on the ingrained
thing.One only ha s to note ones own reactions when a ta xi cuts you off.
So a lot of inherent attitudes.But as I sa id last night I will not spend
the rest of my life feeling guilty or self flaggelating.The racist adjective
is overworked and is the currency of the intellectually impaired.
8 Nov 2012, 12:59 pm
@nkqo6-268: Lalela indoda… uyakhala fanayo ntombazana…
8 Nov 2012, 13:01 pm
@wnbb-358:
very sad, especially when children are the ones who suffer from such behaviour/treatment.
i hope the investigation will bring all the fact to light and if guilty she should be ounished accordingly.
8 Nov 2012, 13:03 pm
An Australian dossier on the Protea players in which they analyzed the strengths and vulnerabilities of our players. The series starts tomorrow at 02H00, SA time.
THE PROTEA FILES – THE TOP-SECRET DOSSIER
GRAEME SMITH (c)
STRENGTHS: When Smith plays well, South Africa plays well. He is the key to how South Africa goes. He is a really tough, hard man and knows his game inside out. When in form, he moves beautifully and he can hurt you through the legside. He pulls really well, anything short he tries to pull and he has now got a very-well developed offside game as well.
VULNERABILITY: When Smith is not in form, his feet don’t move that much and he can be very susceptible to lbw. We should look to develop some doubts in his mind and get him lbw. While he has improved his offside game, he is still less proficient outside offstump.
ALVIRO PETERSEN
STRENGTHS: He is a very solid player, on both the front and back foot. He has worked really hard and is mentally very strong. He is a good solid opening batter. He just goes about his business and he has a good technique.
VULNERABILITY: Is susceptible to the ball coming back in at him. We should look to bowl a few going away from him and then really look to get a good one coming back in at him. That’s where we should attack him.
HASHIM AMLA
STRENGTHS: A quality individual as well as a quality player. Amla has developed his strengths and through the legside he plays beautifully. He has now developed some good shots through the offside. He scores a lot square of wicket, he hits the ball a lot squarer than most other batsmen because he is very wristy. He has exceptional wrists. He tends to drive square. He has improved out of sight and is a good guy with a great temperament.
VULNERABILITY: We should look to get into his head and play a bit of a psychological war. We should also look to attack him with short-pitched bowling, let’s really go after him with some short-pitched stuff.
JACQUES KALLIS
STRENGTHS: A once in a generation player. Never gets the wraps he really deserves but a simply outstanding allrounder, who is great everywhere. With Jacques, you get two great players.
VULNERABILITY: We should look to revert to some short-pitched stuff and really test him out with that. Also, he has got such a high backlift he can get caught on his crease.
AB DE VILLIERS
STRENGTHS: An unbelievable player who scores all around wicket – has the potential to be best batsman in the world. He scores off the back and front and he can take us apart in a session.
VULNERABILITY: His batting has been deteriorating while he has been keeping wickets. Susceptible to the ball coming back into him, to trap him lbw. If he is scoring well, we should look to bowl wider to him to try to dry him up and he won’t like that at all.
JACQUES RUDOLPH
STRENGTHS: A really good solid player. Left-hander who scores all around the wicket. A very competent batsman.
VULNERABILITY: Susceptible early to nicking out, caught behind or in slips. We should look to take the ball across him, slant it, and get him in the corridor nicking. Doesn’t like the ball swinging ball back into his pads.
JP DUMINY
STRENGTHS: A player who is all class. He scores well all around the wicket. He just looks so easy at the crease a lot of time, one of those guys that you watch and go ‘wow’. He drives beautifully and is a player that fans love to watch batting.
VULNERABILITY: He is another batsman we should look to take on with short-pitched bowling. We especially should look to get him pulling. He has an odd-sort of defensive pull, it is neither here nor there and it is an area we can get him.
VERNON PHILANDER
STRENGTHS: He has been outstanding, a late bloomer. He is so accurate he makes you play almost every delivery and is a great weapon, working in conjunction with the other South African quicks.
VULNERABILITY: Our batsmen must look to bring him back for a third and fourth spell. We must keep him out there on good batting wickets. He has been great with new ball, but is pretty much untested coming back for third and fourth spells.
DALE STEYN
STRENGTHS: There is not a huge amount that has not already been said. He is all quality and has ability to go up a gear up when he needs to. He has great control, he swings the ball and has got genuine pace.
VULNERABILITY: It is almost impossible to pinpoint an area of weakness but he doesn’t bowl as well to left-handers. Not sure why. Our left-handers should certainly be looking to score against him.
MORNE MORKEL
STRENGTHS: A bowler who is very different. That is a good thing from South African point of view, they are all so different. Steyn has skidding pace, while Morne is very tall with the same amount of pace. Morkel bowls really well to left-handers.
VULNERABILITY: He can be a bit all over place, we should look to put him off his game by scoring on both sides of the wicket. We should look to test his ability to absorb pressure. He is another bowler we want coming back for his third or fourth spell.
IMRAN TAHIR
STRENGTHS: A very attacking spinner who takes lots of wickets. Has got a good leg-spinner, he has got a really good googly, he has got all the deliveries. Is a genuine wicket-taker.
VULNERABILITY: We should really ramp up pressure on him. He has taken a huge amount of wickets but has conceded a lot of runs as well. South Africa used to use Paul Harris to hold the game up for them, but Imran Tahir won’t be able to hold up a game. He can concede too many runs. He can be very impatient with his bowling and it leads to him being expensive.
IT”S ON, ekse.
8 Nov 2012, 13:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-366:
NEE FOKK! i meant to say to brigadier:
@Brigadier Van Zyl-349:
agreed.
8 Nov 2012, 13:05 pm
@stormer in a teacup-363: He might be very clever with the continued Zane selection.When push comes to shove he might turn around and say:’Look,if I was a racist I would not have selected Zane,a player despised by the majority of SA’s rugby public’.Very clever indeed,but on the other hand he is an Afrikaner,so …….
8 Nov 2012, 13:07 pm
@Heavens Game-369: andisimameli isifanakalo ntanga
8 Nov 2012, 13:07 pm
@wnbb-358: Sy is pateties.
8 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-223: Morning good lady.
JDJ for JDV
Chilli for Strauss
Any other black winger for Hougaardt
Would not ha ve weakened team.
8 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
@wnbb-358:
Not the 1st time that she is in trouble re the use of the K-word. She was in a twitter war with someone where she used the word extensively. She was also very unapologetic afterwards.
Now we know what kind of people supported Bles.
8 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
@nama1-371: Some dossier.I will be watching at midnight to see if the Aussies stick to the gameplan.
8 Nov 2012, 13:10 pm
The simple fact is that Heyneke Meyer is not too keen on selecting the bruinous and souties regardless of merit or ability…
It is not overt… It is rather a case of who he can trust as an extension of himself on the playing field…
8 Nov 2012, 13:10 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-372:
Secretly you agree. Just admit.
8 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
@ryecatcher-376: Sorry but in the backline Taute is the weak link at 13. Best defensive midfield of SR is JDV and JDJ. Add Lambie as FH then you have a great attacking platform as well.
8 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
@wnbb-226: Nothing to do with fa ct that he i s Afrikaans .Stupidity not limited by language.
8 Nov 2012, 13:12 pm
I dont dig the whole politics thing, and we all know Heyneke is backing certain non-white players as much as he backs white ones.
But Im glad it has been brought to attention – how can Taute a fullback be given the #13 jersey ahead of someone like De Jongh?
Taute made some defensive errors in the ABs game. I love Taute – but he should be 15, not 13 when we have a BRILLIANT 13.
Elton too – he SHOULD be starting 10. He deserves to be given a good chance to stake his claim. Morne had 7 KUK Tests in a row! Give Elton 7 Tests in a row, then we can see what he is capable of. His form has been brilliant.
On the flip-side, Chiliboy needs to play a bit to get match-fitness etc back. Schalk deserves a chance as its Norther Hemisphere, so Meyer wants to see him.
If Chili was not injured he could’ve/shouldve started, with Schalk on bench. Give Adriaan a rest. We will need him against England.
8 Nov 2012, 13:14 pm
@wnbb-226: If I inserted the word
Zulu or Xhosa for Afrikaner.you would lambaste me as a racist.
@wnbb-378:
It will be a good series, I think. Hope we get off to a good start if we win the toss. Apparently the last time Aus lost a test match in Brisbane, was in 1988 against the WI team of Sir Viv Richards. So, the task ahead for the boys is huge.
The jist of it is this: HM is sucking at his job right now, and if he continues than it will be really sad for all those boys up north and much of SA who believed him to be the chosen one.
Not our fault, we all thought he would be a proper coach, but it turns out he just had the best players in SA at his desposal.
Can’t see us lose any games on tour, if we lose even one game, oooohhhh than he will be under pressure!
@nama1-380:
8 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
@ryecatcher-376: Agree 100% with you, although in the case of Chili he hasnt played much, so there is a question. But he can at least get 2nd half then?
@goodstuff-381: Agree with you there too. Its also not fair on Taute as he is an awesome player, but doesnt play 13 and is now expected to play Tests in that position?
8 Nov 2012, 13:17 pm
@ryecatcher-382: I am just using the English viewpoint of Afrikaners,nothing more.Personally I have no problem with that people.
8 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
@Heavens Game-379:
So, if we get a black coach next and he only selects players “who he can trust as an extension of himself on the playing field…,” we will refrain from calling him a racist or scream discrimination if those players happen to look like him, are we?
8 Nov 2012, 13:19 pm
@ryecatcher-376: Good day to you my friend
Very true.
And I must be honest, it really seems as though Meyer is loathe to trust ‘anyone’ not in his circle of trust. I don’t think it’s a coaching weakness, I think it’s a character weakness on his part.
8 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
Meyer would have made a great Nats minister of Police or Defence.He’s got that same dodgy look in his eyes.
8 Nov 2012, 13:27 pm
@nkqo6-374: isifanakalo? yebo ibaas… fuckwit
8 Nov 2012, 13:29 pm
@nama1-390: No… why should we ever do that?
Why should his skin colour preclude him from criticism…?
8 Nov 2012, 13:32 pm
@wnbb-392:
What about Minister of Communication.
With all that double talk of his, he may just be the ideal candidate. Nobody ever knows if he actually means what he say when he opens his mouth.
8 Nov 2012, 13:33 pm
@wnbb-358: She is an utter doos.Never liked Bles either
8 Nov 2012, 13:33 pm
@wnbb-392: Jackie Selebi didn’t quite look that normal either… I reckon a real case could be made for lacking a chromosome there…
Much like the picture in my minds eye of you…
You see, being mentally challenged truly is colour blind…
8 Nov 2012, 13:35 pm
@Heavens Game-394:
It shouldn’t and that is my point wrt HM right now.
8 Nov 2012, 13:36 pm
@Heavens Game-397: Hamba uyo bepha inja !!
8 Nov 2012, 13:36 pm
@wnbb-358: Biggest load of bull:
“’n Vrou van Hermanus wat anoniem wil bly het gesien hoe van die sangeres se 10 000 volgelinge Van der Merwe slegsê en het op haar beurt ’n klag by die MRK ingedien”
No chance she has 10000 supporters.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 » Show All