Preview: Ireland vs Springboks
9 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE analyses the key match-ups and picks a winner of the year-end tour Test in Dublin.
The optimism among Ireland supporters appeared to be high when I first arrived in Dublin last Saturday, but I’ve since sensed a steady shift to something bordering pessimism, in light of injuries to key and experienced players. They still hope for an Ireland victory, of course, but there is none of the strong belief that had accompanied their ambition in recent meetings at Lansdowne Road.
Ireland have won three of the last four Tests in the city. Experienced and respected men among their media contingent predict that dominance will end, despite acknowledging the Springboks’ own struggles with injuries and their poor form in 2012. I think they’re right, although any Springbok victory will not be accompanied by glowing praise of the beauty of their performance.
The forecast is for cold but clear conditions at kick-off, which will assist the attacking play of both sides, not that either team is likely to thrill in their own territory. The Boks won’t veer from the kick-chase method when in their half, and they will look to put Ireland’s receivers under pressure with committed chasers. The hosts have consistently pointed to the importance of putting their primary punters – Ruan Pienaar, Pat Lambie and Zane Kirchner – under pressure. I don’t foresee them achieving this, with the Springboks’ pack likely to be dominant and in so doing buying the aforementioned players time to set themselves and pick their spots (they’ll target fullback Simon Zebo), whether that be up-and-unders or kicks into space.
Pat Lambie’s tactical game showed improvements in the Currie Cup, but the pressure of Test matches is incomparable and he’ll be under close scrutiny in this regard. Lambie will also be thrust further into the spotlight if the Springboks succeed in pressuring Ireland into penalties in kickable positions. He has kicked superbly of late and needs to replicate that form on the international stage. Certainly if Ireland find their attacking groove they are capable of punishing the Springboks for infringements, with Jonathan Sexton and Ronan O’Gara among the most accurate Test goal-kickers in 2012.
If Lambie wobbles with the boot the Springboks have problems. Statistically no team in the world has spent more time in the opposition’s 22m than they have this year, yet the return in terms of tries scored has been desperately poor. They have consistently conceded penalties or made handling errors when on attack in this zone. There needs to be a dramatic reduction in both counts. The Springboks simply have to be more clinical.
The Bok pack has fronted well in set and general play, even against the All Blacks, who are widely regarded to be the strongest eight in the game. They’ll be too good for the Irish, who’ll miss Paul O’Connell’s physicality and leadership and Sean O’Brein’s industry and potency at the breakdown. If Francois Louw can impose himself at breakdown time (off the back of a good gainline contest) it will further compound Ireland’s attacking struggles. I think he will, with Declan Kidney’s team not possessing enough high calibre strike runners to boss the tackle and render Louw a non-factor.
Expect parity at scrum time, while the tourists will boss the lineouts, where their rolling maul will be a massive weapon.
Overall, Ireland will be a fierce competitor but not one with the quality to take advantage of a significantly weakened Springbok side.
VREDE’S CALL: Springboks by 10

1,019 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 21 » Show All
9 Nov 2012, 12:32 pm
Don’t font jissus.
He is going to have an episode.
9 Nov 2012, 12:33 pm
@Gumboots-293:
I don’t think so Gummy.
But credit where it is due.
These were good, true, non-abusive, real live human beings…………………………………….Hounded Out of keo by the Stormers Faction.
9 Nov 2012, 12:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-294: Not sure about UCT connection. Tribe was Kesivan, Buddy Wells + 2 who I can’t remember. Kesivan is from East London. He’s involved with the World Music festival CT is putting on next month as well.
9 Nov 2012, 12:36 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-299:
Correct!
9 Nov 2012, 12:37 pm
@cane-302:
Disgusting really.
One day there will only be Stormers supporters and fence sitters like transie left.
An Orwellian nightmare.
9 Nov 2012, 12:38 pm
Their names are the names of Martyrs.
Slaughtered by the Broke-back Bureaucracy that is keo.co
@cane-302:
We all make our own decisions mate! I’ve wanted to go many times because of things said, but I didn’t and I’m glad I stayed…
9 Nov 2012, 12:40 pm
@gunther-305:
And their Jackals, (Katman please note spelling) like you and katmandu.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-299: Hey. I was at the ZZ Top concert too!
You are starting to freak me out.
One of the best I’ve seen. They barely spoke a word the whole show, then at the end Billy Gibbons let off a long stream of Spanish just before he walked off!
Cooler than cool.
Any news on Duminy’s injury? I see he was taken to hospital for Xrays…
9 Nov 2012, 12:44 pm
@Gumboots-310: What happened?
9 Nov 2012, 12:45 pm
@stormersboy-311:
He fell badly during warm down and was taken to hospital. Seems quite bad…
9 Nov 2012, 12:46 pm
@cane-308:
An accident of geography!
The lower order batsman Duminy was warming down by kicking a rugby ball around with teammates on the playing field after the end of Friday’s play at the Gabba where the Proteas reached stumps at 255 for two, when he suffered a mishap.
Duminy (28), a star of South Africa’s historic 2-1 series victory in Australia four years ago, was carried off the ground by medical staff.
A team spokesperson said Duminy had been taken to hospital for scans on a left ankle.
@Gumboots-312: oh dear.
9 Nov 2012, 12:47 pm
@Gumboots-307:
True.
But the likes of You and I have only ever been hounded by other individuals……………………………………………………..Not by Management.
9 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
A mutual tugging Cape wankfest…
How farken sentimentally sweet…
An average brick from a shithouse is more interesting…
You wankas have ruined this site
@cane-316:
True!
@Heavens Game-317:
9 Nov 2012, 12:50 pm
@gunther-313:
Aren’t we all.
9 Nov 2012, 12:50 pm
@Heavens Game-317: Cry me a river.
9 Nov 2012, 12:51 pm
@cane-316:
Por favor.
You two haven’t been hounded by anybody.
Put your big girls pants on.
9 Nov 2012, 12:57 pm
Mokuena slams Mitchell the ‘demon’
Thu, 08 Nov 2012 08:29
We are humans, not animals
Former South African Sevens captain Jonathan Mokuena has become the first player to publicly speak out against suspended Lions coach John Mitchell.
In the same week that the former All Black mentor, Mitchell, demanded to be reinstatement as Lions head coach, Mokuena said that will be the “biggest mistake” in the history of South African rugby.
Mokuena, who played in almost 30 tournaments on the IRB Sevens World Series and captained South Africa for a season, went on to call the Kiwi a “demon”.
In an exclusive interview with this website, Mokuena claimed that Johan Ackermann, who was caretaker coach during the Currie Cup season while Mitchell remained under suspension, has more potential as a head coach of the Golden Lions Rugby Union.
Mitchell’s management, the Fordham Group, this week expressed anger that the 48-year-old Kiwi was still suspended despite some misconduct charges having reportedly been withdrawn.
However, the GLRU are still withholding details of the protracted arbitration hearing, until such time as they have had a chance to speak to Mitchell.
This resulted in calls from some in the public domain for Mitchell’s reinstatement and an outcry against the players.
However, Mokuena responded in kind – first on the social network Twitter and then in an interview with this website.
Mokuena said Mitchell was very disrespectful to the players and treated them like animals.
“Johan Ackermann is a great person and he knows how to work with adults,” the former Bok Sevens skipper said, when asked why he rated Ackermann above Mitchell.
“He [Ackermann] shows a lot of respect for the players – that is why the team played the way they did. Unfortunately they lost in the final minute [of the Currie Cup semifinal to eventual champions Western Province], but they could so easily have won that game.”
Asked about a comment on Twitter, Mokuena admitted he felt Mitchell showed them no respect.
“We [the players] are humans, not animals,” the player told this website, adding: “We are adults. You don’t curse and swear adults who are married and already have children – that is not how you treat people.”
Although Mokuena left the Lions before their successful Currie Cup campaign in 2011, after having joined them from Griquas in 2010, he confirmed that he had experienced the same unpleasantness that resulted in misconduct charges being laid against Mitchell.
“I wasn’t part of the current complaints against him,” Mokuena told this website, adding: “By then I had already returned to Griquas.
“The environment for me just wasn’t right,” he said of his departure before the 2011 Currie Cup season.
“Obviously he didn’t rate me as a player, but I experienced this all during my time at the Lions.”
Mokuena also had other unsavoury things to say about Mitchell on the social network, Twitter.
“That will be the biggest mistake in the history of SA rugby if you allow that demon back into the lions….,” he said, when @LionsRugby_23 suggested that Mitchell should be given his job back.
@dawie207 suggested Mitchell is one of the best coaches the Lions ever had. He felt that while Ackermann is also a good coach, Mitchell has more potential.
“I give you one day with that man!…….always easy to give opinion when you don’t know what’s happening in the inner circle,” Mokuena said in response.
Asked by another of his followers if the coach is not supposed to be tough, Mokuena replied: “All coaches in sa is tough! But being disrespectfull and be-littling players is a different story.”
In response to another follower, who said the Lions’ only trophy in 12 years, the 2011 Currie Cup competition, came under Mitchell, Mokuena said: “To tell you the truth players weren’t happy even at that stage….they just bite the bullet for each other.”
To @Buckyboy7 he said: “obv you’ve neva played pro rugby dude!! All coaches in sa is tough…but as a player you want atleast to be treated with respect.”
And in response to @kooslab he said: “johan built a family again, mitchell just build a bunce of robots….and it wasn’t a good enviroment to be in.”
He admitted to @dawie207 Mitchell knows he’s rugby, but added: “got no peoples skills…….we humans, not animals.”
Mitchell, through his management, said this week that he had turned down a full-time role with Sale Sharks in the English Premiership in order to get his job back in South Africa.
And while it appears there may be some settlement on the cards, Mokuena’s public outburst has certainly shed some light on what it is that went wrong in Johannesburg.
9 Nov 2012, 12:59 pm
@Esoteric-271:
My abject apologies.
I’m just a tad bored.
9 Nov 2012, 13:00 pm
@Heavens Game-317: How’s those sour grapes Heavy Guppy?
9 Nov 2012, 13:00 pm
@gunther-322:
True,
I had a charmed life on keo.co.
No Question.
9 Nov 2012, 13:02 pm
@cane-326:
It’s just that there is lower hanging fruit than you.
9 Nov 2012, 13:02 pm
@cane-302:
Sharks Lover “non-abusive”?
Have you read some of his stuff?
9 Nov 2012, 13:05 pm
@cane-306:
“306.cane said:
Their names are the names of Martyrs.
Slaughtered by the Broke-back Bureaucracy that is keo.co”
Oh please. If you wanna blame someone blame Joanne.
Besides. If they cant take some heat from some blonde Keo hanger-on then they got no balls.
9 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
cane, you’re a sneaky little forked tongue two facer. i bet you just as easily would have said the same if it was a group of bulls or stormers supporters who had left the site.
9 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
Ireland are strongly favoured to win this match because of Taute’s incomprehensible inclusion at outside centre where he has proved a rank failure at test level in this experimental position. There is no gel or intuitive anticipation for defence in TANDEM with the other backs, particularly inside centre – the All Blacks ran through him all day long. The Irish will pinpoint this weakness and exploit it in front a partisan crowd to win the match.
9 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
@Dawn-329:
Okay………………………………………………..I blame Niki.
9 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
In he goes, Boots & All, that’s Bakkies for you!!!
9 Nov 2012, 13:11 pm
It’s a free country (more or less)
You know what you get on this site, from HG to Capo to Shaun to ET.
Should stay or should I go now……..
9 Nov 2012, 13:12 pm
@cane-332:
oh dear
9 Nov 2012, 13:13 pm
@Nikita-335: If you call her she will come….
9 Nov 2012, 13:15 pm
wankwankwankwankwankwankwankwank…
tonktonktonktonktonktonktonktonk…
poppoppoppoppop…
And so it goes on…
and on…
and on..
on Keo currently
@stormersboy-336:
Like a border collie.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-330:
NO…………………………………………Puma, was above the shiit many on here profess.
End Of.
Real Life.
He was a gentleman, one of the very very best. EVER.
9 Nov 2012, 13:16 pm
@Jeraldjay-195: yes hey do bud, you just got to know where to find it…
9 Nov 2012, 13:17 pm
@cane-339:
What are we drinking tonight?
Red Label?
9 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
@Krit-323:
the guy is clearly toxic in the long term.
i would have him around as a consultant at best, who would be entirely answerable to the head coach.
sounds like personal issues and shortcomings he has, to me. its one thing to be a hardarsed coach who drills his players hard to get them to be the best and another to be a sociopath in a position which has too few good checks and balances against abuse by any such sociopath.
9 Nov 2012, 13:18 pm
Martyrs?
Wft, some okes made virtual keocide?
9 Nov 2012, 13:19 pm
tugtugtugtugtugtugtugtug
9 Nov 2012, 13:21 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-333:
@cane-339:
sjoe, puma really touched you deep by the sounds of it.
perhaps you can reconnect at sharksworld.
9 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
@Nikita-335:
I was hoping you might having a day off.
9 Nov 2012, 13:23 pm
@cane-339: You are going on like he was personally insulted.
A trite comment about Sharks supporters, which had been coming a while. Not to him but some of the others.
I like Puma and Sharks Lover and know them personally and it is their right to blog where they will, but this isn’t the place for blame, not when the chief instigators are still around.
The fact is, Keo doesn’t moderate his site. It’s a principle thing, the only time is when racism is used, something that has gotten ET. Capo, Shaun and Skop banned more than once, but even they keep coming back.
It’s a free countru
9 Nov 2012, 13:24 pm
@cane-346:
She’s a “consultant”.
9 Nov 2012, 13:24 pm
@gunther-341:
Whale Point Sav Blanc 2012.
$NZ 6.99 @ countdown.
9 Nov 2012, 13:25 pm
@cane-346:
I know how you really feel. A softie with a forgiving heart.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 … 21 » Show All