Boks banal then brilliant
10 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, watched the Springboks deliver one of the great turnarounds in their history to beat Ireland 16-12.
How the Springboks managed this victory after the deep sterility of their first half will go down in folklore. There are probably a myriad reasons for it, some more significant than others. Heyneke Meyer has been heavily criticised by some sectors of the press and public for his pragmatism. Tonight’s performance would have done little to quell that criticism, but he won’t care.
The importance of this victory in the context of his career and sanity cannot be overstated. Had they lost this I fear Meyer, a man already showing the physical strain of his tenure, would have suffered a serious lapse of self-confidence. The spin-offs of that for the team are self-evident.
Meyer needed this win on a personal level as much as the collective did. So intricately entwined is his identity in the result that a win or a loss defines him as a winner or loser. This is not baseless nor romantic and he is not the first coach inflicted with this condition. It is an assertion based on a close professional relationship with the man.
And on this bitterly cold Dublin night, his charges, depleted through injuries and without the consistently good Beast Mtawarira, warmed his heart. There was nothing particularly spectacular about the way the victory was achieved. But there didn’t need to be. Indeed it was awful at times. Their first meaningful foray into Ireland’s 22m came in the 15th minute and they blew that by turning down a mauling opportunity (their standout strength) in favour of an elaborate backline move that would have made a club coach cringe.
The Springboks will never know the extent of what they’ve done for their coach with a come-from-behind win.
The booming pyrotechnics pre-match was the most explosive thing about this event, with the game initially settling into a kick pattern, a battle Ireland undoubtedly won in the early exchanges. As did they the collisions, which gave them the ascendancy at the breakdown, a series of turnovers the consequence.
Ireland’s defence in the first half was excellent, but their examination was a weak one, the Springboks impotency and utter lack of imagination allowing their opponents to pick off strike runners with relative ease.
Predictions were for a duel of the goal-kickers, and Jonathan Sexton, among the most accurate in the world this year, capitalised on Ireland’s territorial advantage and the Springboks’ ill-discipline to open a 12-3 lead going into the last 10 minutes of the half, Pat Lambie’s three pointer all the visitors could muster in response.
The Springboks’ problems were compounded when JP Pietersen was yellow carded in the 31st minute for an early and dangerous hit on Chris Henry. It was a holding job until the break, one they crucially negotiated successfully, to trail 12-3.
Only they will know the nature of Meyer’s message to them. I suspect it was a desperate plea. Moments like that rarely feature considered thought. His team hadn’t inspired. Far from it. They never looked like scoring. Any salvaging of their situation, so deeply dire, looked completely beyond them.
Then something changed. Their luck turned. No that’s only part of it. They got some field position. They tightened up their attacking play, the forwards asserting themselves in a manner they hadn’t until that point.
There was a rolling maul at last. Slow inches. Penalty. Jamie Heaslip gone for cynically collapsing it. Another maul from which Ruan Pienaar exploited a depleted defence to score. Lambie kicked the conversion and shortly after that sent his side ahead with a penalty. An act of defiance from a team reborn.
Test experience is not a commodity the Springboks have in abundance, and the next 20 minutes would have been an invaluable education for them. Their defence improved markedly. Particularly notable was their work-rate which saw them cut off and often smash the inside runners. They denied Ireland for waves of attack, but also spurned a couple of good opportunities in the red zone, which would have eased their plight.
But with 10 minutes to play the Springboks got an immediate return on what was a gamble on Heinke van der Merwe. The loosehead prop shoved like he has spent his time with Leinster doing only that, earning two penalties, the second converted by Lambie for a slender four-point lead. The discipline, physicality, nay brutality, and accuracy of the Springboks’ defensive effort in those dying minutes could only be truly appreciated from the stands of the Aviva Stadium. The Springboks refused to relent, refused to lose. Just refused to.
Ireland’s belief drained with every tackle inflicted on them. South Africa’s soared at the final whistle. It wasn’t pretty. But who cares? It was a small step in a long journey. But how important a step it was.

176 Comments
10 Nov 2012, 21:21 pm
‘banal boks bring out the brilliance’
lucky dragons
work to do
10 Nov 2012, 21:21 pm
Brilliant? Put down the crack pipe and step away from the keyboard, Ryan.
10 Nov 2012, 21:22 pm
Bakkies it is the same after match……………Boks disappoint and have ‘work to do’
10 Nov 2012, 21:24 pm
Not the best performance but a win is a win. Replacements had a good impact
10 Nov 2012, 21:25 pm
Brilliant? Faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaar from!!!
@Delki-3:
ja, but at least it’s a dissapointing win rather than a dissapointing loss.
yes, there is much to do.
Wth!?!? Brilliant!?!? One of the great turnarounds!?!? Hahahahahahahaha!!!!!! You have to be seriously drunk mate!!!!! You sound like a Jacob Zuma spin doctor. ‘Brilliant’ what a joke!!!
10 Nov 2012, 21:26 pm
NZ whacked the Paddies by 60-0. Boks squeaked in by a hugely lucky 4.
What a Test!
Give it to the Paddies, their collective sum was far greater than the integer, what a fight by both sides, I didn’t expected that.
And thanks HM for bringing in Heineke v.d Merwe, the guy who left SA because he saw no hope for his test career with the likes of Steenkamp and the Beast selected ahead in that ‘Merit with Bias’ racial ****.
Give it to the Irish, they made it a giant Test match!
Big match by RP. Controlled the game and kicked excellently.
10 Nov 2012, 21:28 pm
Sorry. There was nothing brilliant about the Boks tonight.
One of the worst Bok performances I have seen in many a year.
Meyer better start working any magic he may have…. because the Boks this year look WOEFUL.
Boks banal, then just 3% above very average against a weak Irish team.
Team mark, 4/10
If Heyneke Meyer takes credit for the turnaround, I am going to beak something, or someone.
@TheTackler-8: Erm. What about the 2 or 3 point win NZ squeaked at home against Ireland just the game before?….
What? Brilliant is not a word I would use to describe that performance, I’d be more likely to call them lucky.
10 Nov 2012, 21:29 pm
8 Tackler – yip, the same Irish team who lost to the AB’s by 3 the week before in Christchurch. Same team.
@TheTackler-8:
Do you remember who was that test referee?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-13: Break…not beak. Fuckinghell I can’t even type thanks to The Meyer of Mayhem.
10 Nov 2012, 21:30 pm
And why are these morons on super sport talking up the ‘kicking game’?!?!?! All they did was not use the backline and rumble it up using the forwards. Nothing special there. But some of these praise singers (read Matfield and Botha) are not helping South African rugby by talking up this bs!!!
10 Nov 2012, 21:30 pm
Boks look very useless.
Before this game a few English scribes were saying Eng should beat these Boks at home. Now they will all be saying it.
10 Nov 2012, 21:31 pm
Verkrampte Seffricans need to lose their domkop obsession with the “kicking game”
10 Nov 2012, 21:32 pm
hahaha jy tik seker.fcukin lucky ******** to beat Ireland c.Heinke won one scrum against a tired prop and when a fresh one came on he got pushed thru his poephol.
10 Nov 2012, 21:33 pm
Get rid of the cancerous Meyer he will eat bok rugby up from the inside
10 Nov 2012, 21:35 pm
Shud have brought gangam style on he would have torn this leprechauns a new shitehole.
10 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
Come on
This is a tired Boks team, players such as Pienaar and Louw have been playing non stop since Sept 2011, could someone counts how many rugby games has Jannie Dup played last 14 months?
10 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
Someone’s a bietjie gesuip
10 Nov 2012, 21:37 pm
@Hondo-25: how many points do you think the “tired” NZ players would have ripped past this inexperienced Ire team?
Stop accepting mediocrity.
10 Nov 2012, 21:38 pm
quotas dont get tired
10 Nov 2012, 21:50 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-27: Not sure. A not-tired NZ almost lost to Ireland… At home.
10 Nov 2012, 21:53 pm
Comon boys..the times we did good,it was bloody good.ref(not blaming him)made blunders.and the Irish were negative,bordering on thuggish. Its a young team,playing away from home,against a lot of pressure.and they won.eks gelukkig.
10 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
Very sterile from the Boks today.
We need to OFFLOAD IN THE TACKLE more.
10 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
@Soda-2: hahaha hy het die berig seker uit ge TIK.
10 Nov 2012, 22:05 pm
Jinne Ryan.
I usually credit you for your articles but put down the Guinness, please man.
10 Nov 2012, 22:08 pm
@saru1983-24: That 2nd half was ideal for Juan de Jongh. Him sitting on the bench is the reason I have 5 glasses left in my lovely set of 6.
Fumingisnotthefuckingword.
I actually dunno with this Meyerdictator anymore.
10 Nov 2012, 22:08 pm
Greatest turnaround in history? Brilliant Boks?
Surely only a satisfactory performance from South Africa, Pienaar ran the show with Strauss and Etsebeth also impressive.
10 Nov 2012, 22:09 pm
@Hondo-25: kak logic Hondo and you know it. Heinke got nailed by the boy on debut in their first contest. So please when you comment make sense man. Otherwise don’t bother wasting you valuable time because nobody will take you seriously.
10 Nov 2012, 22:10 pm
Im sorry,but i dont rate Taute.de jongh?
10 Nov 2012, 22:13 pm
@willievz-33: ja Willie. I had to read it twice to confirm he was not pulling our chain.
That was one of the worst Springbok performances I’ve ever seen. They were quite simply rubbish. Not an ounce of creativity in the entire match. Clueless. Like the coaching staff in my opinion. Heyneke might be passionate and give his all for the team but frankly he hasn’t a clue what he’s doing. From the get go.
10 Nov 2012, 22:13 pm
@Slumtown-32: poessnaakse comment!
10 Nov 2012, 22:15 pm
Ryan you are delusional, like your joked-up boss. Pathetic display by Boks. Would`ve been 40-0 halftime against anyone but Wales on the day.
10 Nov 2012, 22:16 pm
Brilliant???
Fluk we have become so used to average and then call it brilliant…
10 Nov 2012, 22:19 pm
I’ve said earlier on another thread.
My biggest concern with the kick-chase gameplan is that everything is done at half pace.
If you have an attacking mindset, you do things at full speed.
That is what the Boks did in the second half.
And make no mistake, if it wasn’t for Heaslip’s card, the Boks would have lost this one.
10 Nov 2012, 22:20 pm
what has happened to our backline for crying out aloud. There’s nothing there. A few individuals having an occasional dart at a defensive wall, in-between up-and-unders. Embarassing really. Ryan I seriously couldn’t be bothered reading your garbage again. Scroll down in future.
10 Nov 2012, 22:21 pm
@willievz-42: agree wholeheartedly. Game turned on that yellow for sure.
10 Nov 2012, 22:22 pm
what an insipid performance by the boks and by ryan
10 Nov 2012, 22:22 pm
Ryan
In any case, enjoy the Dublin nightlife tonight.
Go to the original Brazen Head pub – you might see a R10 note against the bar, which I donated.
10 Nov 2012, 22:23 pm
@TASSIES-36:
Not what I saw, he won a penalty against the Irish on his first scrum, or didn’t he?
The Boks actually won it away from home, they haven’t won too many in 2011/12 (don’t count the RWC because the opposite team wasn’t a home team)
Steve Walsh won it for the Boks in Argentina and that about it!
@TheTackler-8:
They also won the RWC by a one point at home with Craig Joubert the hero
10 Nov 2012, 22:23 pm
Brilliant? This illustrates just how low our expectations have become of our team. I can accept that we drastically improved in the 2nd half in comparison to the first, but to say we were brilliant in the 2nd half just goes to show that we have seriously lost confidence in this team.
Unbelievable.
10 Nov 2012, 22:24 pm
The Bokke won…woopy do woooooooooooo!!!!
Hulle is darem verkak…in goeie Afrikaans.
Vokkit…ek moes my vokken heeltyd verdedig omdat ek so ‘n kak span ondersteun.
O ja, het Juan de Jong toe site gekry?
10 Nov 2012, 22:25 pm
This defunct and verkrampte “game plan” will get us nowhere.
Not good enough to beat the other top tier nations (too predictable and easy to beat) and just good enough to scrape desperate wins against 2nd tier NH teams.
We need a new approach.
As for Matfield talking about kicking more….this is all that is wrong with domkop conservative SA rugby.
10 Nov 2012, 22:27 pm
Oh dear now Nama will play the race card!…. his usual card trick.
10 Nov 2012, 22:27 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-50: Matfield, for all his genius, has only won two games against NZ in NZ.
The lesson is that we should stop believe that what worked for us in the past is effective. Because it hasn’t worked for us on a longer timeline.
We keep on harping about how good we were in 2009, but in the broader context, our “conservative strengths” have played second fiddle to NZ for two decades now.
10 Nov 2012, 22:29 pm
Wouldn’t a nal have been a better word in this context? Just asking…
10 Nov 2012, 22:30 pm
@TASSIES-43:
“what has happened to our backline for crying out aloud.”
No Juan de Jongh to at least try something even if it does not come of.
@TASSIES-43:
Last time that I saw a Boks’ back line worth its salt was in 1997/8,,,,
The Paddies’ backline with two of the best rugby wingers in Trimble and Bowe haven’t done much damage either on their home turf
Makes you think?
Boks were at no stage “brilliant”.
10 Nov 2012, 22:37 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-51:
Jou pa se ****, OK!!!
10 Nov 2012, 22:37 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-56:
You need a ‘game breaker’ or two among the forward for that ‘brilliance’, the Boks had only one in Brits but there was no reason to substitute Strauss who had a man’s game today.
10 Nov 2012, 22:39 pm
The Springboks are not playing to their full potential under Meyer.
We need to address the following issues:
1) Offloading in the tackle – we need to do this more and get better at it.
2) Quick ball from the rucks – this still needs to be addressed. Ruan Pienaar may have scored a try, but his performance at scrumhalf today was far from perfect. Ball was too slow and allowed the defense to re-set.
3) Pop passing from the rucks – Instead of passing the ball directly to the forwards from the rucks, we need to start throwing pop passes, so the forwards can run onto the ball at pace. Otherwise they take the pass from standing start and dont gather any momentum…. Our scrumhalf needs to pass the ball to the forwards on the charge. NOT from a standing start.
4) Support at the breakdown – Not enough men committed to the rucks. Not enough support runners available at the breakdown. If we improve in this one area, we will look like a different side. Our forwards are very good but they are not approaching the breakdown with enough ferocity.
5) Use our bench better – Schalk Brits and Juan De Jongh should have had some game time today. We were getting tired towards the end and were often stretched on defense…. Both players would have added a bit more on defense and attack… Not to mention the fact that they need game time for the greater purposes of this tour!
6) Discipline – We were up against a very trigger-happy ref today. We need to adapt our game plan and keep our cool better. We were baited into scuffles and this didn’t help our cause. More composure is needed and better discipline…. If we are infringing at the breakdown and the ref shouts at the player to stop, his team mates should be slapping him on the back so he knows to stop (in case he didnt hear the ref).
7) Player selection – our backline is very very sterile. We need to get one or two more X-factor players in the side. Taute should be a bench player at this stage in his career. Aplon, De Jongh, Jordaan, Rhule, Jantjies…. Any of these players can add some spark to the backline.
If we address the above issues we will improve.
Overall, the Boks should not be happy with that performance. We are better than this and that was not a Bok side playing to their full potential.
10 Nov 2012, 22:43 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-51:
Give me a vokken solid rugby reason why Heyneke did not replace Taute with de Jongh.
While you’re at it, tell me how great the JdV and Taute were in the back line.
Vokken dom kond!!!
10 Nov 2012, 22:45 pm
@nama1-60:
He is too small is not a penticostal…
10 Nov 2012, 22:48 pm
Nama – is jy ‘n bietjie gesuip?
You seem to be desperately focusing on Taute/de Jongh? How come you are not screaming about not seeing Brits come on, himself a very attacking player?
10 Nov 2012, 22:49 pm
@Hondo-55:
“Last time that I saw a Boks’ back line worth its salt was in 1997/8,,,,”
Come on, remind us… who was in that back line?
you read like a book Nama, always with a colour slant….. racist pig.
@nama1-60: Taute should have moved to Fullback, de Jong should have come on and Jean dv should retire
no comms with the ref who was nailing us for nothing
10 Nov 2012, 22:50 pm
@Kaizan-59:
1-4: glaring deficiencies indeed, but if it haven’t been addressed at the High School level it’s too late now, it is what it is
Point 6 – it’s a fine line, most of these penalties were the 50/50 kind, could have gone either way, all the individual forwards other than Etzbeth and Flip are disciplined players by SA Standards.
5 & 7: leave it to Nama, that’s his domain
10 Nov 2012, 22:51 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-62: because why replace Strauss who had a brilliant game, maybe that is why
Taute is not a 13, in fact his name gets mentioned after 65 minutes for a tackle
10 Nov 2012, 22:53 pm
Oh I agree that de Jongh should have started, with Taute at 15 in place of the dull Nik Naks man.
Just pointing out how much of a racial slant our little Nama pal puts on it. He squeals like a little racist varkie about it all day long……….
10 Nov 2012, 22:55 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-62:
Brits did not come on because Strauss was having a very good game. Why replace Strauss?
Taute did not do anything. at least try something different by sendingf JdJ on, don’t you think?
Julle moet ophou om rugby in terme van kleur te kyk. Ek weet, ek doen dit nie of jy dit nou wil glo of nie.
10 Nov 2012, 22:55 pm
@nama1-63:
Honiball, Pieter Muller, Brendan Venter, Pieter Russow, Percy, Snyman AND Stef Tereblanch to counts few
Something to savour
10 Nov 2012, 22:57 pm
@nama1-60: hmmm….nama you been drinking cape smoke?
please dont start with the racial whining because you are frustrated the boks won and you couldnt nail meyer ok?
10 Nov 2012, 22:59 pm
Zane was his usual kak self again today….there is no place for quotas in sport
10 Nov 2012, 23:02 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-68:
HM at last getting it right, he is fighting for his tenure, bringing in Louw, Pienaar, Heineke and Brits convinced me he knows his stuff
Pienaar confiscated the Test from Lambie today due to the conditions and no doubt under HM’s instructions but Lambie will get better in the next one
10 Nov 2012, 23:04 pm
@Hondo-73:
Dont you think Jantjies will be given a chance against the Scots.
10 Nov 2012, 23:05 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-64:
You still did not give me a rugby reason.
Yes, I know I’m the vokken racist on this site. I can live with it.
Now, give me a vokken solid rugby reason why Heyneke did not replace Taute with de Jongh.
@JL1-65:
“Taute should have moved to Fullback,”
Taute should not have been in the touring squad, much less in the team.
He was not even the best FB at the Lions nor was he the best outside center.
Taute is a young player learning his trade,
LIKE RUHLE…. not test material yet….
Not a test player at this stage of his career.
10 Nov 2012, 23:09 pm
Ratings…
Zane 3
Jpp. 6
Hougaard 5
Taute 6
Jdv 6.5
Lambie 7
Pienaar 8.5
Duane 7
Flo 8
Bone collector 6
Ebem 6.5
Kruger 6.5
Jannie 6
Strauss 7
Cj 5
10 Nov 2012, 23:10 pm
boks came back, got in front and closed out the game, a win is a win bloggers. irish min-cap no hopers played with passion and made us work hard for it. not our best game by far but it’s the score on the board that counts
10 Nov 2012, 23:12 pm
@Jeraldjay-74:

What for?
You must have missed watching the dude against the ABs or against WP lately, HM needs to win every single Test now, he did himself enough damage already by playing Janjies, Mvovo, the Beast and De Jung
10 Nov 2012, 23:14 pm
@The Rangerman-71:
What is that…bait????
(Die vokken laaitie beginne werk op my gat)
Do you even have something to say about the Boks performance tonight?
Why don’t you tell us what you think about the Boks’ performance!!!
10 Nov 2012, 23:16 pm
cannot understrand why our backline cannot create tries
10 Nov 2012, 23:17 pm
Dronk dan begin die gevloek …. Tipies
10 Nov 2012, 23:18 pm
@Kaizan-59:
Absolutely correct.
The Pumas have started offloading in the tackle and they looked great. We scraped past a depleted Ireland side, they beat the grand slam champions convincingly.
Agree also about Pienaar. You will get some idiot thinking he had a good game because he got a try, but his general play left the Boks static on attack. Ruan Pienaar is our biggest problem.
Our best game this year was against England when Hougaard was at scrummie. He delivered quick ball to our attackers and we gathered momentum phase after phase. With Pienaar there we look void of ideas on attack. Our attackers are denied any space or momentum with Pienaar.
Well said.
10 Nov 2012, 23:19 pm
@suffer_guy-76:
You think Pienaar deserved 8.5?
* shakes head and laughs to himself *
10 Nov 2012, 23:24 pm
@nama1-75: Agree with you that Taute should not be on tour.
10 Nov 2012, 23:25 pm
@Daddy-83:
Ruan pienaar was very good today, ran the show and gave us direction. Service was fine, kicking game and tactical appreciation was strong.
You know you really sound familiar….almost like we’ve spoken before.
10 Nov 2012, 23:27 pm
@suffer_guy-76:
Here are my ratings, yours in (parenthesis)
Zane (3) 5
Jpp. (6) 6.5
Hougaard (5) 6
Taute (6) 5
Jdv (6.5) 5
Lambie (7) 6
Pienaar (8.5) 7
Duane (7) 6
Flo (8) 8.5
Bone collector (6) was Albert there?
Ebem (6.5) 7
Kruger (6.5) 6
Jannie (6) 5.5
Strauss (7) 8 add the brilliant game management
Cj 5 On occasions just amazing and then nothing at all, can’t be quantified
10 Nov 2012, 23:27 pm
You don’t want to play the Frenchies in this mood.
They will moer the AB’s with Jerome Kaino and Sonny Bill in the team.
10 Nov 2012, 23:31 pm
@nama1-79: wie’s jou laaitie boy?
just dont talk sh it and say race isnt what makes your neurons fire son, its plain for everyone to see.
when you recognise your problem you can build a neural bypass.
10 Nov 2012, 23:33 pm
The major problem with our backs and lack of creativity is the obsession Heineken has with size and power runners particularly in our backline. We dont have a blend of players that can actually beat an opposition player with deft footwork or intelligent running lines. We have too many similar players. All of Kirchner, De Villiers, Taute and JP Pietersen are big powerful runners – what we really need is a balance.
We need players that can beat players and bring a threat – players like Raymond Rhule, Willie Le Roux, Andries Coetzee, Paul Jordaan etc – look at the Auzzies and you will see they have a mix of striker runners in Ashley Cooper, McCabe and then flashier stepping players like Cooper, Ioane, O’Conner – same with the All blacks with Dagg, Jane etc allied with power runners like Nonu and Savea, Gear. We just have power runners!!! Get the balance right and we may see a better display.
10 Nov 2012, 23:34 pm
the boks won.
how and why and the post mortem can wait for tomorrow.
bi t chi ng after a win is for losers and people who have never played rugga.
have a fu kk en beer and chill out keolings, real life begins again on monday ok?
10 Nov 2012, 23:35 pm
@nikoli-80:
Because the forward coach is also the “attacking” coach, that’s why.
@suffer_guy-81:
Jou p.oes. Hoes daai vir dronk en vloek.
Ek gaan Desember maand verby Uitenhage ry, meneer.
@willievz-84:
Dankie Willie. Partykeer dink ek ek is heeltemal uit die pad uit.
10 Nov 2012, 23:39 pm
Meyer is a very weak coach.. far too weak in his self deluded mentality to be a Springbok coach.. he is busy destroying this team with his totally out of his depth inept synopsis on what works and what don’t in international rugby
Its not getting any better its actually getting worse and one can see the players doubting his decision making and trying to do the best from a very weak and unstable base..
Meyer has to go or else Springbok rugby for the next foreseeable future is fck’d
10 Nov 2012, 23:39 pm
@The Rangerman-88:
Jy’s my laaitieboy.
Jy sal dit altyd wees. Jy sal my NOOOOIT kan inhaal nie, my klonkie.
Kyk weer in die spieel. Daar’s jou rasis.
10 Nov 2012, 23:44 pm
@nama1-93: yes yes sonny.
you are quite obviously gesuip.
go sleep off you dissapointment you racist.
i am not the counter clerk and you will get no change from me boy.
10 Nov 2012, 23:45 pm
Great to see the Boks FINALLY beat a Team dressed in ‘Black’ !!
10 Nov 2012, 23:47 pm
and with that, i am off.
nice comeback boks.
not pretty but a win all the same so i hope the lads have a good party in dublin.
BOKKE!!!
10 Nov 2012, 23:48 pm
Dis saterdagaand en dis duidelik waar die week se pay vir sommige mense spandeer is. Nama, jou kopseer gaan môre lol.
John Smit was excellent as commentor tonight.
Much better than Big Vic. (ek weet engels is sy tweede taal maar jy prat nogsteeds kak).
@skopdiekan-92:
You racist you… how dare you criticize OUR savior.
10 Nov 2012, 23:49 pm
@The Rangerman-94: listen fuckwit you are the ‘boy’ in this scenario.. you pisswilly little laaitjie with you pathetic ignorant racist ignorance stuck up your own fckup fanny.. now shut the fck up and if you can’t respect somebody who should put little piece of garbage racist trash like you over their knee and spank the living daylights out of you then somebody better fix your over aggrandized little laaitjie head for you one time little stupefied arrogant punk..
10 Nov 2012, 23:53 pm
@skopdiekan-100: yes yes snoeky.
this is not high school you old d oo s and its not my problem if nama is gesuip.
personally i could give a fck how old you or wrinkly nama are, its your wisdom i would respect if you had any, and wisdom has very little to do with age and all to do with knowledge.
now get fcked ok?
10 Nov 2012, 23:55 pm
Shut up Skop, you’re an embarrassment again.
10 Nov 2012, 23:57 pm
@The Rangerman-94:
‘n 30+ jarige laaitie wat nou eers kinders probeer groot maak wil nou met mense praat wat al amper klaar hul kinders groot gemaak het.
Hy moet eintlik jammer gekry word, want daar’s nie eintlik ‘n groot verskil tussen hy en Juju nie.
Hulle dink altwee hulle weet alles, maar eintlik weet hulle altwee vokkol.
O ja, en dan is hulle laaste uitweg “JY IS ‘n RASIS” as hulle meer vokkol het om te se nie.
Die laaste uitweg.
10 Nov 2012, 23:58 pm
@The Rangerman-101: you a little whitearse pathetic little pisswilly baby that needs the hiding of your over aggrandized little snot nosed life.. you pathetic little ignorant stupefied molly coddled ignoramus idiot runt.
10 Nov 2012, 23:58 pm
Jy klink gesuip, Nama.
11 Nov 2012, 00:02 am
@katman-102: you shutup fckface or should I shut you up again fuckwit
neither you nor your little whitey pathetic piece of garbage racist pisswilly punk bumchum know the first thing about what comprises either wisdom or knowledge or respect.. and little fuckface pissarse pricks like you both need the hiding of your over aggrandized little fckface lives.
11 Nov 2012, 00:06 am
@skopdiekan-106: That’s what I’m talking about. Embarrassing.
11 Nov 2012, 00:08 am
@skopdiekan-104: snoeky you are such an angry guy.
you think i should “respect” you or nama because you throw threats and innuendo around on a blog?
you are a d oo s man, live with it.
@nama1-103: yes yes nama, your opinion is better than mine because you are older you wrinkly old apartheid racist ****
wake up pellie, your opinion is as valuable to me as the opinion of mantashe and i think i have made my opinion on him quite clear.
11 Nov 2012, 00:10 am
@katman-107: embarrassing for you perhaps don’t devalue what your over aggrandized little fckface snout needs to get taught the lesson of your over aggrandized little fckface life prissy little irrelevant punk.
11 Nov 2012, 00:10 am
@katman-97:
Ek drink brandewyn meneer. Ek raak nooit babelas as ek brandewyn drink nie.
In short, this sad, little browncock never struggles with a hangover.
Hoe maak julle rooiwyn drinkers.
@skopdiekan-104:
He’s not worth it Skop. Don’t waste your time.
@katman-105:
Natuurlik is ek gesuip. Dis vokken Saterdagaand.
Is jy nie gesuip nie? Watter soort Boertjie is jy dan?
11 Nov 2012, 00:11 am
@katman-107:
ja, i need lessons in respect from snoeky.
whattajoke.
anyways, i am off to bed.
luckily my brain hasnt been pickled tonight like namas as i am diving early tomorrow. hope the fish are around as i am hungry!
11 Nov 2012, 00:13 am
@The Rangerman-111: The two of them, Skop & Nama, two peas in a wrinkly scrotum. They don’t deserve respect. They deserve, at most, a government old age grant and free pills for their conditions.
@nama1-110: shame man, it was clear all along you are drunk.
you must learn to hold your tongue until your brain catches up in future please, sleep well old wise wonderful child raining father figure of the blog (racist prat).
@The Rangerman-108: you are a racist through and through .. and yet you wanna call someone old enough to smack you little pissarse runt through the roof one.. you don’t have a goddamn clue who or what a racist is because it is inherent right within your pissarse little racist snout idiot punkie boy
11 Nov 2012, 00:14 am
@The Rangerman-113: Money comes in on the Friday and by the Saturday it’s all gone and the hangover begins.
11 Nov 2012, 00:15 am
@katman-112: agreed.
are there pills for senility or should someone simply prescribe horse tranqs?
somethings got to shut the pair of dinosaurs up surely?
11 Nov 2012, 00:16 am
@skopdiekan-114: As always, I’m going to ask you to point out how you fought the racist oppression for all those years. Apart from voting PFP, that is. Because you’re just another old white toppie who’s trying so hard to use a rugby blog to change his sixty year old stripes.
11 Nov 2012, 00:16 am
@skopdiekan-114: racist.
@katman-115: and the blame game.
11 Nov 2012, 00:17 am
You’re a racist.
No, you’re a racist.
Repeat.
Yawn.
Skop, I gave you credit for being entertaining earlier – don’t let me down.
11 Nov 2012, 00:19 am
@katman-115: @The Rangerman-116: little whitearse fckfaces full of their over aggrandized little selves.. little whitearse cleverdick pricks think they got some grey matter between their ears when its pretty obvious they don’t.. up each others little fckface fannies the pair of them in tandem.
@The Rangerman-108:
You really think I want respect from you or guys like you, you have to think again, my laaitie.
I have much, much more respect for guys like Hondo and Suffer_Guy than I have for the likes of you.
With them, I know EXACTLY where I stand.
Look in the mirror, my boy.
@katman-117: he fought the system from within.
within the caprivi.
apparently nama is old enough to mo e r me.
i dont know if its becaue he is old or because i am younger?
the only good thing is that at least snoeky and nama can make me feel young again.
11 Nov 2012, 00:20 am
wisdom and knowledge are two seperate entities.
11 Nov 2012, 00:21 am
Klitschko busy moering that Polish giant.
11 Nov 2012, 00:21 am
Knowledge is knowing tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in a fruit salad.
11 Nov 2012, 00:22 am
@nama1-121: i told you where you stand with me nama.
lower than mantashe and he is on a par with snake sh i t.
now drink a big glass of water before bed old timer, the boks won and taute tackled everything that moved.
what an inspired selection!
bye now.
11 Nov 2012, 00:22 am
@kaksioek-119: you unable to discern between a little whitearse racist and a pseudo intelligent runt when they are one and the same, joined at the hip in their self endowing pisswilly self aggrandized racist slant.
11 Nov 2012, 00:24 am
@katman-115:
“Money comes in on the Friday and by the Saturday it’s all gone and the hangover begins.”
Jy raak al beter en beter meneer.
Moenie t’rug hou nie. Gooi los.
11 Nov 2012, 00:25 am
setting up structures and a kicking gameplan requires knowledge, realising halfway thru the test that its not working is wisdom ,going out and doing the same thing in 2nd half is insanity
11 Nov 2012, 00:28 am
correct some so called knowledge you can look up or try buy on the internet.. wisdom don’t come naturally to pisswilly little pricks who think the sun shines out their pisswilly little pseudo intelligent fanny face micks
11 Nov 2012, 00:29 am
Wisdom doesn’t come with age though. It comes with being wise. And you, Skoppie, are thick as two bricks in every goddam respect. No wisdom, just dom.
11 Nov 2012, 00:30 am
@skopdiekan-127: It isn’t of much interest to me.
11 Nov 2012, 00:32 am
@The Rangerman-126:
I would not have it any other way, my laaitie.
Oh yes, I’m not in the business of moering laaities, thank you.
Can’t sleep yet. My daughter is in some freakin club, doing what young girls do. But, you would not understand. Still another 12 years to go before you get there, no?
Lekker slaap.
11 Nov 2012, 00:34 am
@katman-131: what little fckface pricks like you and your baby faced dickie bird arsecreep bumchum know about wisdom isn’t even dangerous its downright out of your galaxy of recognition.. dumdum derelict doos.
11 Nov 2012, 00:37 am
@kaksioek-132: fortunately for you you do not see red when little fanny faced laaitjies think they so f’ng suave and sophisticated intelligent.. when the reality of the score is they are the epitome of snot nosed imbecilic pseudo intelligent pissarse self righteous arrogance
11 Nov 2012, 00:40 am
@saru1983-129:
At least we won the test…or that is what Rangertjie will tell you.
11 Nov 2012, 00:41 am
I’m more relieved that although the Boks were desperately poor, they didn’t get raped like the Wallabies did in France.
11 Nov 2012, 00:46 am
@skopdiekan-135:
“when the reality of the score is they are the epitome of snot nosed imbecilic pseudo intelligent pissarse self righteous arrogance”
Another Skop classic.
——————————————————————————————————-
The sad thing is that they don’t even realize it.
Hopefully….one day…one can only hope
11 Nov 2012, 00:48 am
if Boks played in France tonight they might very well have been raped as bad as the Wallabies were.. Boks faced a pretty mediocre Ireland side and almost blew it
France and Argentina showed they mean business and want up on the IRB ranking list, and England might not be too easy a hurdle to negotiate if we pitch up playing the garbage we did today.
11 Nov 2012, 00:50 am
@katman-124:
There will be a mighty ka-booom just now. And the Polski will be seeing stars.
11 Nov 2012, 00:51 am
@nama1-136:
The scoreboard also said so.
11 Nov 2012, 00:52 am
@kaksioek-137:
Jislaaik, when last did we beat France on their home ground?
France A vs Aus C.
Only one winner there, don’t you think?
11 Nov 2012, 00:52 am
@nama1-138: laaijies like this that went to university to learn cleverness and snot nosed self righteous attitude will only learn humility when it is smacked through their snot nosed little self aggrandized fanny faces.. I don’t hold out much hope for either these piffle arsed baby faced pseudo intellignent pricks this lifetime.. perhaps by next time.. if they lucky and the universe takes pity on them
11 Nov 2012, 00:57 am
@skopdiekan-139: Absolutely.@nama1-142: 1997, apparently.
11 Nov 2012, 00:57 am
@I am a stormer-141:
Yeah, at least one thing in our favour.
Other than that, I don’t think any Bok supporter can be satisfied tonight.
I sure as hell hope that the coach, his captain and the rest of the team are not satisfied with their performance.
11 Nov 2012, 01:02 am
103.nama1: Sjoe maar dis warm onder die kraag in hierdie Bar. Wonder wat se jy van my n veertigjarige laaitie wat nou eers probeer kinders grootmaak.( die jol was lank maar lekker
)Maar ek verstaan wat jy se oor wakker bly vir jou dogter, myne is nou eers drie en ek is al klaar die moer in as ek vyftien jaar vorentoe dink.
11 Nov 2012, 01:03 am
@skopdiekan-143:
“perhaps by next time.. if they lucky and the universe takes pity on them”
Don’t know Skop.
Maybe they won’t even realize when they get that “2nd” chance.
11 Nov 2012, 01:08 am
@jet jungle-146:
Sit net jou .22 agter die deur.
En sorg dat jy ‘n bottel het wat jy heelnag kan drink terwyl jy op Keo kak praat.
11 Nov 2012, 01:16 am
@jet jungle-146:
Jy’t ook maar laat begin boer!!!
11 Nov 2012, 01:18 am
149.nama1: dis wat my meneer in my rapport gese het, slow starter but a strong finisher
11 Nov 2012, 01:28 am
@jet jungle-150:
Hy’t jou goed geleer
Moet nooit haastig wees met stadige goed nie. Vat jou tyd.
11 Nov 2012, 02:02 am
How many times can skop say the words “aggrandised”, “pseudo” and “whitearse” in one thread?
11 Nov 2012, 02:03 am
11 Nov 2012, 02:27 am
Since last year, these players were not available today.
Habana
Fourie
Steyn
du Preez
Guthro
Beast
Smit
Bismark
Burger
Spies
Rossouw
Botha
Matfield.
Bekker
Also take into account Goosen also out.
Ignoring retired players, we still played without 1st choice players like Habana, Steyn, Beast, Bismark, Bekker …. today.
To still beat Ireland in Ireland
after trailing by 9 points says a lot. So all the nay-sayers can kiss my hairy jack and smile.
Pathetic pipsqueeks.
Till next time.
11 Nov 2012, 02:58 am
@Big Jack-154: Sorry, but I am going to call you out.
Before readmission, the Boks had only lost once to Ireland. 1965. Lansdowne Road. 9-6.
Once.
We then stumbled to a loss in 2004. A huge, epic loss in the context of history and the fact that we had just come off winning the Tri Nations for only the 2nd time. This was when Jake White fired up the Irish by saying only 3 Irish players would make the Bok team. A very silly thing to do in hindsight.
The Boks lost the next two in Dublin too.
So we lost 3 consecutive games in Ireland – 2004, 2006 and 2009.
Thank the gods but we have curtailed that shocking aberration of a record by winning the last 2 in Ireland. Normal order is restored.
We have only lost 4 times to Ireland. But that is already 4 times too many. Wanna know why?
The All Blacks have NEVER lost to Ireland in the long history. So when I hear Bok supporters like you saying we should be grateful for a win in Ireland, it really drives home how mediocre the Boks have become in comparison to the All Blacks. Also, it sickens me to hear the Irish commentators saying they have no fear of the Bok, they have vivid memories of defeating the Boks in Ireland.
Here’s to many, many more consecutive wins in Dublin. Here’s to stamping out the winning memories the Irish so smugly cling to when dismissing the Boks as the All Blacks poorer cousins.
ps every team has to deal with injuries. The Irish had their own stars out too. How come we never hear the New Zealanders complaining about injuries (even when Carter or McCaw are injured, they just get on with it….)
Nope. I REFUSE to accept mediocrity like you and so many others are starting to do.
11 Nov 2012, 02:59 am
pipsqueak
11 Nov 2012, 03:10 am
@Liewe Luiperd-155:
Thumbs up
11 Nov 2012, 03:13 am
@Liewe Luiperd-152: racist little beggar that he is.
11 Nov 2012, 03:20 am
@Liewe Luiperd-155: whether you like it or not, there is a massive gap between All Blacks and rest of the world. So that gap was closed momentarily in 2009 when the Boks fielded their best team since 1997/8 and smashed the Blacks in 3 consecutive tests (can any other nation claim such an achievement?). Other than that annomaly, the Boks have been the Blacks’ bitche s for a loooong time. So please stop comparing our record to the Blacks – we are a world apart, Luiperd.
11 Nov 2012, 03:33 am
Deans believes it’s vital that an agreement is made between the two parties when it comes to resting Australia’s elite players during the year.
‘It has to happen and that’s what we’re spending a lot of time discussing at the moment,’ he said. ‘Just the fact that the Irish have won more European Cups than anywhere else and New Zealand’s won more Super Rugby titles than anyone else and those two groups are the ones that are rotating their international playing group. And it’s not just the international side, it’s the franchises that are thriving.’ In the words of the formerly great coach Robbie Deans.
11 Nov 2012, 04:04 am
Bwahaha… old toothless Chihuahua Skop-shite’s ‘predictions’ smashed again by the Boks and HM…
11 Nov 2012, 04:07 am
@kwas-159:
Yet the ABs didnt field there best team in 2009…so it seems a bit odd dont you think?
France beat us at home that year as well. We had no carter but you seem to forget about that.
11 Nov 2012, 05:44 am
@Bouts-29: Almost lost?
11 Nov 2012, 07:36 am
Seriously??? Do these writers get paid for writing k@k like this? Wtf? Lmao, Ryan sounds like HM’s PR officer!
11 Nov 2012, 08:09 am
Heinke van der Merwe still the most destructive scrummaging loosehead we have produced in last 4years.
derserved a start ahead of powderpuff vdLinde
11 Nov 2012, 08:45 am
@Big Jack-154:
It’s not just about the win.
It’s about the performance. Very unconvincing, don’t you think?
11 Nov 2012, 08:51 am
In today’s game it was quite evident, yet again, what goes wrong in South African rugby. Over coaching…
The players don’t play, they simply follow the set instructions. HM is the biggest culprit in this and because of his success with the Bulls, the rest of SA took this script on-board and we’re now starting to pay the price for it.
11 Nov 2012, 09:07 am
@Kaizan-59: this man has probably got closest to the truth about our rugby than anyone I’ve read this far. Plaudits. Take a bow.
11 Nov 2012, 09:12 am
@kwas-159: well I wouldn’t argue with that prognosis. We should/could have a better record but don’t. Fact. Aside from Mallet, our coaches have been less than impressive than one would’ve expected. Maybe one could also point to politics but under Meyer this cannot be blamed as a factor. This time its pretty clear that poor management and coaching is the primary influence. No question about it.
11 Nov 2012, 09:16 am
Anyway I’m outta here. St James(the beach not the bloke) is calling. Need some mussels for the pot and low tide only visits twice today and the water is rising as I type. Cheers boys(and Dawnie).
11 Nov 2012, 11:06 am
@skopdiekan-92: Hi Skop.I thought that Pienaar had a fairly decent game except that the ball never went beyond
can not remember a single backline movement.
Quiite impressed with MC for the short time he was on.
11 Nov 2012, 11:59 am
@TheTackler-8:
That’s because your team are awesome and the Springboks are just average. That makes you a better person than us too. You should celebrate by going somewhere nice. Without internet access. For a long long time.
11 Nov 2012, 16:22 pm
Wow what a lucky win…thank God!! Cause i dnt think SA supporters or HM wld have survived a loss!! That said…boy did our back line look ordinary, honestly point out any one player besides JPP that stood out and i’m sure you wld come to the same conclusion that no one made a dif!! Sad yes cause i believe as most on this site that there are better players in certain positions thats playing at the moment…shld i name them?? Thanx for asking…ok Taute ****…want to see him at fullback…is he good?? Dnt knw cause he’s pretty k@k at the moment…JdJ better!! Ruan scored the try but not a real 9 sorry boet…hougaard too good to be on wing?? Well all everyone tlked abt was Lambie and…? Well not good i’m afraid…give Jantjies a go, he will be better as he is a much rounded player..! HM is n vol k@k en sal nooit change…what a pitty!!
11 Nov 2012, 22:04 pm
South Africans love to tackle. We just do. The combative aspect of it is fun for us. the establishment of physical dominance in a collision is amusing. And ist great that we re-found tis aspect of our game.
BUT over the years we have fogotten how to attack. The glorious interchange and strategy at pace, trying to out think our opponents instead of overwhelm them. When we havea good balance, we will be unstoppable.
I believe that teh only thing Meyer said at half time was: ” The next f%$#$%#$ that gives away a penalty gets dropped for a season.”
The Boks weren’t executing badly with abll in hand – but they were being lazy in thinking. The penalties that we were giving away were stifling our attack and defence. You simply cannot be an international player that is too lazy to think. That is what rugby is about – thinking under pressure.
12 Nov 2012, 06:46 am
Everyone says that Lambie did ok in the frst half “considering his forwards were not going forward”. But here’s the thing: even when we put Carter’s forwards under pressure, he still manages to get his backline away. How is that? Lambie must have a look at Carter’s play in those matches where we dominate forward play, posession and territory, and see where and how he dictates play.
Could Goosen/Steyn/Jantjies find time to make play under pressure if his forwards were going backwards? I have not seen it yet.
12 Nov 2012, 11:14 am
Boks always struggle in Ireland so i think it was a good win, definitely an important one. I just hope HM plays the same team again, especially LAmbie let him play 10 throughout EOYT and get some game time.