Boks banal then brilliant
10 Nov 2012
RYAN VREDE, in Dublin, watched the Springboks deliver one of the great turnarounds in their history to beat Ireland 16-12.
How the Springboks managed this victory after the deep sterility of their first half will go down in folklore. There are probably a myriad reasons for it, some more significant than others. Heyneke Meyer has been heavily criticised by some sectors of the press and public for his pragmatism. Tonight’s performance would have done little to quell that criticism, but he won’t care.
The importance of this victory in the context of his career and sanity cannot be overstated. Had they lost this I fear Meyer, a man already showing the physical strain of his tenure, would have suffered a serious lapse of self-confidence. The spin-offs of that for the team are self-evident.
Meyer needed this win on a personal level as much as the collective did. So intricately entwined is his identity in the result that a win or a loss defines him as a winner or loser. This is not baseless nor romantic and he is not the first coach inflicted with this condition. It is an assertion based on a close professional relationship with the man.
And on this bitterly cold Dublin night, his charges, depleted through injuries and without the consistently good Beast Mtawarira, warmed his heart. There was nothing particularly spectacular about the way the victory was achieved. But there didn’t need to be. Indeed it was awful at times. Their first meaningful foray into Ireland’s 22m came in the 15th minute and they blew that by turning down a mauling opportunity (their standout strength) in favour of an elaborate backline move that would have made a club coach cringe.
The Springboks will never know the extent of what they’ve done for their coach with a come-from-behind win.
The booming pyrotechnics pre-match was the most explosive thing about this event, with the game initially settling into a kick pattern, a battle Ireland undoubtedly won in the early exchanges. As did they the collisions, which gave them the ascendancy at the breakdown, a series of turnovers the consequence.
Ireland’s defence in the first half was excellent, but their examination was a weak one, the Springboks impotency and utter lack of imagination allowing their opponents to pick off strike runners with relative ease.
Predictions were for a duel of the goal-kickers, and Jonathan Sexton, among the most accurate in the world this year, capitalised on Ireland’s territorial advantage and the Springboks’ ill-discipline to open a 12-3 lead going into the last 10 minutes of the half, Pat Lambie’s three pointer all the visitors could muster in response.
The Springboks’ problems were compounded when JP Pietersen was yellow carded in the 31st minute for an early and dangerous hit on Chris Henry. It was a holding job until the break, one they crucially negotiated successfully, to trail 12-3.
Only they will know the nature of Meyer’s message to them. I suspect it was a desperate plea. Moments like that rarely feature considered thought. His team hadn’t inspired. Far from it. They never looked like scoring. Any salvaging of their situation, so deeply dire, looked completely beyond them.
Then something changed. Their luck turned. No that’s only part of it. They got some field position. They tightened up their attacking play, the forwards asserting themselves in a manner they hadn’t until that point.
There was a rolling maul at last. Slow inches. Penalty. Jamie Heaslip gone for cynically collapsing it. Another maul from which Ruan Pienaar exploited a depleted defence to score. Lambie kicked the conversion and shortly after that sent his side ahead with a penalty. An act of defiance from a team reborn.
Test experience is not a commodity the Springboks have in abundance, and the next 20 minutes would have been an invaluable education for them. Their defence improved markedly. Particularly notable was their work-rate which saw them cut off and often smash the inside runners. They denied Ireland for waves of attack, but also spurned a couple of good opportunities in the red zone, which would have eased their plight.
But with 10 minutes to play the Springboks got an immediate return on what was a gamble on Heinke van der Merwe. The loosehead prop shoved like he has spent his time with Leinster doing only that, earning two penalties, the second converted by Lambie for a slender four-point lead. The discipline, physicality, nay brutality, and accuracy of the Springboks’ defensive effort in those dying minutes could only be truly appreciated from the stands of the Aviva Stadium. The Springboks refused to relent, refused to lose. Just refused to.
Ireland’s belief drained with every tackle inflicted on them. South Africa’s soared at the final whistle. It wasn’t pretty. But who cares? It was a small step in a long journey. But how important a step it was.

176 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
10 Nov 2012, 22:27 pm
Oh dear now Nama will play the race card!…. his usual card trick.
10 Nov 2012, 22:27 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-50: Matfield, for all his genius, has only won two games against NZ in NZ.
The lesson is that we should stop believe that what worked for us in the past is effective. Because it hasn’t worked for us on a longer timeline.
We keep on harping about how good we were in 2009, but in the broader context, our “conservative strengths” have played second fiddle to NZ for two decades now.
10 Nov 2012, 22:29 pm
Wouldn’t a nal have been a better word in this context? Just asking…
10 Nov 2012, 22:30 pm
@TASSIES-43:
“what has happened to our backline for crying out aloud.”
No Juan de Jongh to at least try something even if it does not come of.
@TASSIES-43:
Last time that I saw a Boks’ back line worth its salt was in 1997/8,,,,
The Paddies’ backline with two of the best rugby wingers in Trimble and Bowe haven’t done much damage either on their home turf
Makes you think?
Boks were at no stage “brilliant”.
10 Nov 2012, 22:37 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-51:
Jou pa se ****, OK!!!
10 Nov 2012, 22:37 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-56:
You need a ‘game breaker’ or two among the forward for that ‘brilliance’, the Boks had only one in Brits but there was no reason to substitute Strauss who had a man’s game today.
10 Nov 2012, 22:39 pm
The Springboks are not playing to their full potential under Meyer.
We need to address the following issues:
1) Offloading in the tackle – we need to do this more and get better at it.
2) Quick ball from the rucks – this still needs to be addressed. Ruan Pienaar may have scored a try, but his performance at scrumhalf today was far from perfect. Ball was too slow and allowed the defense to re-set.
3) Pop passing from the rucks – Instead of passing the ball directly to the forwards from the rucks, we need to start throwing pop passes, so the forwards can run onto the ball at pace. Otherwise they take the pass from standing start and dont gather any momentum…. Our scrumhalf needs to pass the ball to the forwards on the charge. NOT from a standing start.
4) Support at the breakdown – Not enough men committed to the rucks. Not enough support runners available at the breakdown. If we improve in this one area, we will look like a different side. Our forwards are very good but they are not approaching the breakdown with enough ferocity.
5) Use our bench better – Schalk Brits and Juan De Jongh should have had some game time today. We were getting tired towards the end and were often stretched on defense…. Both players would have added a bit more on defense and attack… Not to mention the fact that they need game time for the greater purposes of this tour!
6) Discipline – We were up against a very trigger-happy ref today. We need to adapt our game plan and keep our cool better. We were baited into scuffles and this didn’t help our cause. More composure is needed and better discipline…. If we are infringing at the breakdown and the ref shouts at the player to stop, his team mates should be slapping him on the back so he knows to stop (in case he didnt hear the ref).
7) Player selection – our backline is very very sterile. We need to get one or two more X-factor players in the side. Taute should be a bench player at this stage in his career. Aplon, De Jongh, Jordaan, Rhule, Jantjies…. Any of these players can add some spark to the backline.
If we address the above issues we will improve.
Overall, the Boks should not be happy with that performance. We are better than this and that was not a Bok side playing to their full potential.
10 Nov 2012, 22:43 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-51:
Give me a vokken solid rugby reason why Heyneke did not replace Taute with de Jongh.
While you’re at it, tell me how great the JdV and Taute were in the back line.
Vokken dom kond!!!
10 Nov 2012, 22:45 pm
@nama1-60:
He is too small is not a penticostal…
10 Nov 2012, 22:48 pm
Nama – is jy ‘n bietjie gesuip?
You seem to be desperately focusing on Taute/de Jongh? How come you are not screaming about not seeing Brits come on, himself a very attacking player?
10 Nov 2012, 22:49 pm
@Hondo-55:
“Last time that I saw a Boks’ back line worth its salt was in 1997/8,,,,”
Come on, remind us… who was in that back line?
you read like a book Nama, always with a colour slant….. racist pig.
@nama1-60: Taute should have moved to Fullback, de Jong should have come on and Jean dv should retire
no comms with the ref who was nailing us for nothing
10 Nov 2012, 22:50 pm
@Kaizan-59:
1-4: glaring deficiencies indeed, but if it haven’t been addressed at the High School level it’s too late now, it is what it is
Point 6 – it’s a fine line, most of these penalties were the 50/50 kind, could have gone either way, all the individual forwards other than Etzbeth and Flip are disciplined players by SA Standards.
5 & 7: leave it to Nama, that’s his domain
10 Nov 2012, 22:51 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-62: because why replace Strauss who had a brilliant game, maybe that is why
Taute is not a 13, in fact his name gets mentioned after 65 minutes for a tackle
10 Nov 2012, 22:53 pm
Oh I agree that de Jongh should have started, with Taute at 15 in place of the dull Nik Naks man.
Just pointing out how much of a racial slant our little Nama pal puts on it. He squeals like a little racist varkie about it all day long……….
10 Nov 2012, 22:55 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-62:
Brits did not come on because Strauss was having a very good game. Why replace Strauss?
Taute did not do anything. at least try something different by sendingf JdJ on, don’t you think?
Julle moet ophou om rugby in terme van kleur te kyk. Ek weet, ek doen dit nie of jy dit nou wil glo of nie.
10 Nov 2012, 22:55 pm
@nama1-63:
Honiball, Pieter Muller, Brendan Venter, Pieter Russow, Percy, Snyman AND Stef Tereblanch to counts few
Something to savour
10 Nov 2012, 22:57 pm
@nama1-60: hmmm….nama you been drinking cape smoke?
please dont start with the racial whining because you are frustrated the boks won and you couldnt nail meyer ok?
10 Nov 2012, 22:59 pm
Zane was his usual kak self again today….there is no place for quotas in sport
10 Nov 2012, 23:02 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-68:
HM at last getting it right, he is fighting for his tenure, bringing in Louw, Pienaar, Heineke and Brits convinced me he knows his stuff
Pienaar confiscated the Test from Lambie today due to the conditions and no doubt under HM’s instructions but Lambie will get better in the next one
10 Nov 2012, 23:04 pm
@Hondo-73:
Dont you think Jantjies will be given a chance against the Scots.
10 Nov 2012, 23:05 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-64:
You still did not give me a rugby reason.
Yes, I know I’m the vokken racist on this site. I can live with it.
Now, give me a vokken solid rugby reason why Heyneke did not replace Taute with de Jongh.
@JL1-65:
“Taute should have moved to Fullback,”
Taute should not have been in the touring squad, much less in the team.
He was not even the best FB at the Lions nor was he the best outside center.
Taute is a young player learning his trade,
LIKE RUHLE…. not test material yet….
Not a test player at this stage of his career.
10 Nov 2012, 23:09 pm
Ratings…
Zane 3
Jpp. 6
Hougaard 5
Taute 6
Jdv 6.5
Lambie 7
Pienaar 8.5
Duane 7
Flo 8
Bone collector 6
Ebem 6.5
Kruger 6.5
Jannie 6
Strauss 7
Cj 5
10 Nov 2012, 23:10 pm
boks came back, got in front and closed out the game, a win is a win bloggers. irish min-cap no hopers played with passion and made us work hard for it. not our best game by far but it’s the score on the board that counts
10 Nov 2012, 23:12 pm
@Jeraldjay-74:

What for?
You must have missed watching the dude against the ABs or against WP lately, HM needs to win every single Test now, he did himself enough damage already by playing Janjies, Mvovo, the Beast and De Jung
10 Nov 2012, 23:14 pm
@The Rangerman-71:
What is that…bait????
(Die vokken laaitie beginne werk op my gat)
Do you even have something to say about the Boks performance tonight?
Why don’t you tell us what you think about the Boks’ performance!!!
10 Nov 2012, 23:16 pm
cannot understrand why our backline cannot create tries
10 Nov 2012, 23:17 pm
Dronk dan begin die gevloek …. Tipies
10 Nov 2012, 23:18 pm
@Kaizan-59:
Absolutely correct.
The Pumas have started offloading in the tackle and they looked great. We scraped past a depleted Ireland side, they beat the grand slam champions convincingly.
Agree also about Pienaar. You will get some idiot thinking he had a good game because he got a try, but his general play left the Boks static on attack. Ruan Pienaar is our biggest problem.
Our best game this year was against England when Hougaard was at scrummie. He delivered quick ball to our attackers and we gathered momentum phase after phase. With Pienaar there we look void of ideas on attack. Our attackers are denied any space or momentum with Pienaar.
Well said.
10 Nov 2012, 23:19 pm
@suffer_guy-76:
You think Pienaar deserved 8.5?
* shakes head and laughs to himself *
10 Nov 2012, 23:24 pm
@nama1-75: Agree with you that Taute should not be on tour.
10 Nov 2012, 23:25 pm
@Daddy-83:
Ruan pienaar was very good today, ran the show and gave us direction. Service was fine, kicking game and tactical appreciation was strong.
You know you really sound familiar….almost like we’ve spoken before.
10 Nov 2012, 23:27 pm
@suffer_guy-76:
Here are my ratings, yours in (parenthesis)
Zane (3) 5
Jpp. (6) 6.5
Hougaard (5) 6
Taute (6) 5
Jdv (6.5) 5
Lambie (7) 6
Pienaar (8.5) 7
Duane (7) 6
Flo (8) 8.5
Bone collector (6) was Albert there?
Ebem (6.5) 7
Kruger (6.5) 6
Jannie (6) 5.5
Strauss (7) 8 add the brilliant game management
Cj 5 On occasions just amazing and then nothing at all, can’t be quantified
10 Nov 2012, 23:27 pm
You don’t want to play the Frenchies in this mood.
They will moer the AB’s with Jerome Kaino and Sonny Bill in the team.
10 Nov 2012, 23:31 pm
@nama1-79: wie’s jou laaitie boy?
just dont talk sh it and say race isnt what makes your neurons fire son, its plain for everyone to see.
when you recognise your problem you can build a neural bypass.
10 Nov 2012, 23:33 pm
The major problem with our backs and lack of creativity is the obsession Heineken has with size and power runners particularly in our backline. We dont have a blend of players that can actually beat an opposition player with deft footwork or intelligent running lines. We have too many similar players. All of Kirchner, De Villiers, Taute and JP Pietersen are big powerful runners – what we really need is a balance.
We need players that can beat players and bring a threat – players like Raymond Rhule, Willie Le Roux, Andries Coetzee, Paul Jordaan etc – look at the Auzzies and you will see they have a mix of striker runners in Ashley Cooper, McCabe and then flashier stepping players like Cooper, Ioane, O’Conner – same with the All blacks with Dagg, Jane etc allied with power runners like Nonu and Savea, Gear. We just have power runners!!! Get the balance right and we may see a better display.
10 Nov 2012, 23:34 pm
the boks won.
how and why and the post mortem can wait for tomorrow.
bi t chi ng after a win is for losers and people who have never played rugga.
have a fu kk en beer and chill out keolings, real life begins again on monday ok?
10 Nov 2012, 23:35 pm
@nikoli-80:
Because the forward coach is also the “attacking” coach, that’s why.
@suffer_guy-81:
Jou p.oes. Hoes daai vir dronk en vloek.
Ek gaan Desember maand verby Uitenhage ry, meneer.
@willievz-84:
Dankie Willie. Partykeer dink ek ek is heeltemal uit die pad uit.
10 Nov 2012, 23:39 pm
Meyer is a very weak coach.. far too weak in his self deluded mentality to be a Springbok coach.. he is busy destroying this team with his totally out of his depth inept synopsis on what works and what don’t in international rugby
Its not getting any better its actually getting worse and one can see the players doubting his decision making and trying to do the best from a very weak and unstable base..
Meyer has to go or else Springbok rugby for the next foreseeable future is fck’d
10 Nov 2012, 23:39 pm
@The Rangerman-88:
Jy’s my laaitieboy.
Jy sal dit altyd wees. Jy sal my NOOOOIT kan inhaal nie, my klonkie.
Kyk weer in die spieel. Daar’s jou rasis.
10 Nov 2012, 23:44 pm
@nama1-93: yes yes sonny.
you are quite obviously gesuip.
go sleep off you dissapointment you racist.
i am not the counter clerk and you will get no change from me boy.
10 Nov 2012, 23:45 pm
Great to see the Boks FINALLY beat a Team dressed in ‘Black’ !!
10 Nov 2012, 23:47 pm
and with that, i am off.
nice comeback boks.
not pretty but a win all the same so i hope the lads have a good party in dublin.
BOKKE!!!
10 Nov 2012, 23:48 pm
Dis saterdagaand en dis duidelik waar die week se pay vir sommige mense spandeer is. Nama, jou kopseer gaan môre lol.
John Smit was excellent as commentor tonight.
Much better than Big Vic. (ek weet engels is sy tweede taal maar jy prat nogsteeds kak).
@skopdiekan-92:
You racist you… how dare you criticize OUR savior.
10 Nov 2012, 23:49 pm
@The Rangerman-94: listen fuckwit you are the ‘boy’ in this scenario.. you pisswilly little laaitjie with you pathetic ignorant racist ignorance stuck up your own fckup fanny.. now shut the fck up and if you can’t respect somebody who should put little piece of garbage racist trash like you over their knee and spank the living daylights out of you then somebody better fix your over aggrandized little laaitjie head for you one time little stupefied arrogant punk..
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All