Boks suffer Beast blow

Beast Mtawarira has been forced to withdraw from the Springboks’ Test against Ireland because of heart palpitations.

The Springbok management confirmed this on Saturday afternoon, several hours before kick-off in Dublin. Mtawarira, who was treated for the condition by a Cape Town specialist earlier this year, suffered a recurrence of the problem at the team hotel.

He was admitted to hospital for further tests and subsequently discharged, although the Bok management reiterated that he would not be available for the Test against Ireland.

A decision on his availability for the remainder of the tour will be made once there is clarity around the seriousness of his condition.

Mtawarira’s withdrawal has seen CJ van der Linde promoted to the starting side. Leinster prop Heinke van der Merwe, who only joined the squad on Wednesday, has been included among the reserves.

108 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.The Rangerman: Reply to this comment

eish hope beast is ok, he is a dragon.

get well soon big man.

• 2.Luiz VRC: Reply to this comment

this could be serious? hope not.
    Steenkemp is injured?

• 3.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Wow, I’d play through the puputations

• 4.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

OH not good.
    Hope it is nothing major and gets back into the lineup.

• 5.katman: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-3: Puputations? Is that when your heart goes boombiddyboombiddyboom when you see a little puppy?

• 6.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@katman-5:

• 7.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

eat the wrong food,, drink the wrong beverages.. direct and correlated consequences.., a heart that can’t handle the fallout.

Better go on a raw food cleansing diet and a blood flush program beasty boy

• 8.katman: Reply to this comment

Shut up.

Once you join us at the top of the food chain, you can join us in conversation.

Until then, shove a soya patty in it.

• 9.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

stupid little imbecilic verwoerdian arsecreep wanna pretend its civilized.. little pompous fckface don’t even begin to understand what a little piece of garbage fckface pathetic moronic uncivilized arsecreep idiot it is.

• 10.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@katman-8:
    huh?

• 11.uhuru: Reply to this comment

we could play earl rose at prop against these irish and there wouldn’t be a difference

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

heart palpitations, who woulda thought…

• 13.katman: Reply to this comment

I’d love to stick around and chew the fat with you, skoppie, but I’ve got people coming round for a braai. Plenty of chops and rump to prep, still need to pop off to SPAR for some wors, and maybe some of those bacon-wrapped-on-a-stick with bbq sauce numbers to keep the guests licking their lips while I keep the grill sizzling.

• 14.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-10: little garbage konty reckons its top of the food chain hence top of the intelligence stakes, hence entitled to devour other living breathing warm blooded species for its lustful incarnating sustenance.. little moron mongrel intellectual midget don’t know the beginning of what it is and what it isn’t.. not by at least another six hundred and seventy thousand lifetimes and cycles of transmigration.

• 15.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Steroids….

• 16.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-13:
    just bacon wrapped on the stick?
    not bacon wrapped around some meat or wors cut?
    i like those.

• 17.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@katman-13: enjoy.. just watch out you don’t develop heart palpitations before kick off.. that is if you ain’t passed out flat on your top of the food chain arly comatose and totally befok inebriated by then.

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Bacon wrapped around cherries.

What time must I be there??

• 19.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: What about a lekker karoo oyster?

@skopdiekan-7: My food shi.ts on your food

• 20.blik: Reply to this comment

CJ van der Linde to start and Heinke van der Merwe on the bench has been confirmed

• 21.katman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: SPAR calls then Oepsies – just bacon wrapped round a sosatie stick and soaked in a kind of bbq sauce. Very lekker. I grill them before I load the rest of the braai as a sort of “shut up and eat you appetiser”.

• 22.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-14: “cycles of transmigration”

And there you have te very real dangers of eating too many lentils.

• 23.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-16: With all the cheating going on I was just wondering whether you’ve joined Ashleymadison.com yet?

Oops, you do all the accusing so it must be the missus. :)

• 24.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-7: Got nothing to do with the Beast’s genetic heart pulpitations, Skoppie.

@brains_trust-3: Don’t be a blerry idiot. They can be damn serious. Correct decision was made to pull him.

Where is Guthro though???

• 25.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-19: you just an animal that thinks its civilized.. little do you actually know you are not..

@katman-22: yup what would you know of who you are or where you been or where you about to go.. just like here or there or everywhere.. nienta, zero, zilch, niks.

• 26.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-14:
    skop, would you believe for a very brief period of my life i was a vegetarian?

yip, the whole shebang. met a hot little number who was into eastern philosophy, zen, budha, yoga, ayuveda and all that ****. i fell head over heels for her and bought into her whole lifestyle, but i suppose i was mostly driven by sexual lust for her i guess.

anyway, i stopped eating meat for a while and ended up losing a moerse lot of weight, became anemic and generally unhealthy and sickly like an untreated leper. friends and family were convinced i had aids.

long story short, we broke up, i got over her, and went back to eating meat and being more the person i was before i met her. i put all my weight back and am as strong and healthy as an ox. mybe it was just my bad luck and i have the dna, genes, metabolism or whatever for needing meat, but i can assure you a clean living vegetarian lifestyle certainly did not work for me.

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-19:
    funny but i have tried them and a few beef and other variations before.
    the beef one was more the actual scrotal sack i think.

@katman-21:
    i like the sound of that shut up
    will lookout for some.

• 28.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26: So was I. For about the 1st 6 months or so…

• 29.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26: maybe you were too much in love and she ate up all your heartache and left you heartbroken and anemic.. otherwise perhaps you just don’t have the metabolism for a natural human dietary function

meat or flesh is for carnivores, humans like to think they are carnivores or at best omnivores by nature.. but actually they are primarily derivative species of fruitarians and herbivores.. or so says Darwin and his apeman thesis.

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-23:

i f.okken googled that, now i have to delete my computer history :lol:

• 31.katman: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-25: So you could be stuck in a in an fortunate perpetual cycle that sees you go from tapeworm to Skoppie to tapeworm to skoppie etc?

• 32.katman: Reply to this comment

@katman-31: fortunate = unfortunate

• 33.katman: Reply to this comment

Must go – braai beckons.

• 34.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-28:

apperently it was a blast too, according to skop.

• 35.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

@katman-31: nope that where you go when you don’t know who you are and where you heading or where you been.. round and round and round and round.

• 36.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

Maybe Keo should be honest and tell the doctor about his prescription to Beast.

• 37.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-9:

What triggered your mandarin outburst here? Was it skopdiekan’s health warning @7?

• 38.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-29: Nonsense. We are omnivores in bodily structure and by evolution. We’ve always had a meat component in our diets.

• 39.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

What’s happened to Guthro? Thought he was called up to the squad?

• 40.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@skopdiekan-29:
    who knows skop, who knows.
    i am sorry to say this, but i do love meat now more than i did before :lol:

and yes, i do understand and sympathise with the suffering of the animals involved. i am firmly a supporter of humane practises in the meat industry.

• 41.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

Skop, I pisss on your face.

• 42.cuntlyn: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26:

@mikeybrass-38:
    Sounds as if bakkies had a very good meat component in his vegetarian diet

• 43.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cuntlyn-42:

that was some sweet meat indeed. :lol:

there really is very few things in life quite like the feeling of young love and all night romps.

• 44.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

CJ isn’t the answer, he will definitely weaken the scrum.

Should have a guy like Kitshoff there, a proper scrummager.

CJ is a bad compromise IMO.

Oh well.

• 45.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-30: Bahaaahaaa….the skirt will not be impressed if she saw that one!

• 46.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@katman-33: Enjoy

• 47.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-44:

Kitshoff is a great prospect but still very young and has no experience at test level. Would rather bring him into the side gradually when his time is right.

• 48.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

CJ is very underrated. Not the best prop we’ve ever had, but Ive got a feeling he’ll do the business today.

• 49.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-24: Gurthro injured

• 50.Horings: Reply to this comment

Should have been JC, not CJ.

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.