Ireland 12 Springboks 16
10 Nov 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Test in Dublin.
FULL TIME: IRELAND 12 SPRINGBOKS 16
80 mins: Ireland try a chip over the top to expose the space behind the Springboks’ defesive line. However, Pietersen covers and runs into touch. Game is over. SPRINGBOKS WIN 16-12!
78 mins: As the clock starts ticking down, Ireland are desperate to find a break from deep as they trail by four.
74 mins: GREAT ESCAPE! From a scrum penalty, Ireland charge into the Springboks’ red zone. They batter the tourists’ defence and build good momentum. But they run out of steam and concede a penalty at the tackle point. South Africa escape.
70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Lambie kicks his third penalty. The visitors hold the lead during the closing stages. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 16-12!
69 mins: MONSTER SCRUM! Replacement prop Heinke van der Merwe has been a monster in the scrums since coming on for CJ van der Linde. With an Irish feed, the Springboks milk the penalty in a kickable position.
66 mins: Springboks milk a penalty near the halfway mark. Lambie steps up to take a shot at goal, but his effort is short.
61 mins: Wing Francois Hougaard is pinned for offside. Sexton tees up from a 50m out, but he misses as the ball falls short. Pienaar picks up the attempt and clears the danger.
56 mins: OUTSTANDING DEFENCE! Back to 15 players, Ireland were relentless on attack as they carried the ball well in Springbok territory. But the visitors hold up well, phase after phase they soak in the pressure. They eventually force the penalty as tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis contests for the ball on his feet.
52 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Ireland struggling with a man down, and concede a kickable penalty. Lambie steps up and pops it over the crossbar. South Africa are ahead for the first time as Heaslip returns from the sin bin. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-12!
49 mins: Springboks continue to add pressure on the Irish defence. However, Etzebeth loses the ball forward 8m from the tryline. The hosts survive, with 14 men on the field.
46 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! De Villiers’ bravery in leadership and South Africa’s efforts pay off. The Boks finally cross the chalk via a Pienaar snipe around the fringes. Lambie converts. IRELAND LEAD 12-10!
43 mins: YELLOW CARD! The Boks get a strong rolling maul going and Ireland struggle to counter. They commit three offences, with skipper Jamie Heaslip bearing the brunt and getting sin binned.
42 mins: Springboks get an early penalty in the second half. But De Villiers turns down the option to kick at goal and orders Lambie to find touch.
HALF-TIME: IRELAND 12 SPRINGBOKS 3
40 mins: Henry concedes a silly penalty as he disrupts Springbok scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar from a side entry at the breakdown. It’s a long range attempt, but with time up on the clock, Pienaar tries his luck. He’s short, and Barnes blows for half-time.
38 mins: Springboks continue their woeful performance as they are pinned for the 11th time. Sexton gets his fifth attempt at goal, but he misses.
32 mins: YELLOW CARD! From the restart, Pietersen lands an early hit on Ireland flank Chris Henry. Both teams start a scuffle off the ball. After everyone settles, Barnes gets advice from his assistant and sends Pietersen to the sin bin.
30 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Springbok defence under fire from Barnes. Ireland get another kickable penalty in the opposition’s 22m area. Sexton converts. IRELAND LEAD 12-3!
27 mins: Ireland outside centre Keith Earls skins the Bok defence on the outside with his pace. But Springbok flanker Francois Louw makes a great steal at the tackle point – from a difficult position.
26 mins: Let off for Ireland. Lambie misses his second penalty attempt from centre field.
24 mins: Ireland creating great momentum with ball in hand. Running the ball from all over the park. But their attack ends when lock Eben Etzebeth makes a great steal in midfield. Barnes is consistent with the whistle, blowing the Irish for holding on.
21 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Minutes later, Springbok captain Jean de Villiers concedes a penalty at the breakdown within Sexton’s strike range. And the No 10 makes it three from three. IRELAND LEAD 9-3!
18 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! South Africa poach possession off an Irish lineout, and Pietersen is put into space and he bumps Sexton off en route to the hosts’ red zone. Ireland’s defence are penalised for offside as they panic under pressure. Flyhalf Pat Lambie punishes the Irish with a successful three-pointer. IRELAND LEAD 6-3!
14 mins: GREAT RUN! Hooker Adriaan Strauss shows what he’s capable of in space – a devastating runner.
10 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Springboks pinned again, this time the forwards are guilty of chasing a high ball from an offside position. Sexton gets his second goal attempt, and he nails it. IRELAND LEAD 6-0!
6 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! The Springboks concede the first kickable penalty at a lineout in their red zone. Sexton converts from a challenging angle. IRELAND LEAD 3-0!
3 mins: Both teams using the boot early on. So far, they are evenly matched.
KICK-OFF: Irish flyhalf Jonathan Sexton starts the match with a deep kick-off. South Africa gather easily and clear. But the ball doesn’t go into touch and Sexton tests fullback Zane Kirchner with an up-and-under. Kirchner struggles under pressure and Ireland win possession. But referee Wayne Barnes blows for a knock-on from the hosts during the move.
Ireland - 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Chris Henry, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs – 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Donncha O’Callaghan, 20 Iain Henderson, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Eoin Reddan, 23 Fergus McFadden.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 CJ van der Linde.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

696 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 » Show All
10 Nov 2012, 21:29 pm
@Gumboots-447:
So what did you think of boks performance?
Boks win because HM is a great coach!
Mallet saying this Irish side is much worse than the Welsh team!!! He is probaly right…
10 Nov 2012, 21:31 pm
Mallet such a **** – not a great Ireland side – looked pretty good to me
10 Nov 2012, 21:32 pm
@CoachPete-501:
Firstly we won! Now that is something which doesn’t happen too often lately… Secondly our game plan is pathetic and outdated… Very 2005… Our coach will not budge and the players are only doing what they are told to do… We win by the skin of our teeth… I can’t see us winning many games against the better team playing like this… It is frustrating to say the least… That in a nutshell…
very weak coaching performance
The players led by De Villiers saved the weak coaches arse second half
The two reserve props better than the two starters
Kirchner is the biggest nonentity in the team
Taute should be at 15 and De Jongh at 12, JdV at 13
Etsebeth should go to 5 and a real enforcer to 4, maybe Alberts.
This was a weak Ireland side Argy gonna thump them to show Meyer how far behind we have actually slumped under his poor coaching and management.
@nikoli-504: What Mallet means, is that this Irish side at full strength is a GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD side. This Irish side WAS a weakened one, and they did helluva well.
10 Nov 2012, 21:33 pm
@nikoli-504:
Mate they are missing half their team to injury… Imagine if they were full strength… They were very average mate… We were poor too…
Did I mention WP won the Currie Cup!! WP jou lekka ding !!!
WP Currie Cup Champs 2012, champions, champions, champions, champions, champions, champions, champions, champions, champions
Pienaar our sh going forward. Let us forget about FDP, also Barnes helped the paddies to close the gap. Defence was great. We have to build from here.
10 Nov 2012, 21:34 pm
@skopdiekan-506:
Spot on…
Ag we not that flash
****** win
@Gumboots-499:
I’m cool mate. Yeah too close for comfort. Suddenly I’m nervous about facing Scotland.
@Dusky-500:
That is just too much information.
Do you want me to turn this into a Western Province Currie Cup 2012 champions thread if you really really want me to?
Anyway, how’s Iceland or wherever you are?
10 Nov 2012, 21:35 pm
@brains_trust-509:
Oh yes… WEEPEE jou lekka ding…
10 Nov 2012, 21:36 pm
@Gumboots-505: Yeah
We have the players, so its more about how we play i think or how we should play.
I would like to see Taute move to 15 and de jonge come in at 13 or 12
and maybe jantjies on bench or starting at 10
JDV is happy with the performance??- WTF, is he on tik. (Btw WP won the CC)
Our captain says he is happy with what he saw and that we’re improving. I give up.
10 Nov 2012, 21:37 pm
@I am a stormer-513:
Well what happened the last time in Edinburgh??? We better pull up our socks and tie our coach up for about a week…
10 Nov 2012, 21:37 pm
@skopdiekan-506:
Yes skoppie i agree
10 Nov 2012, 21:38 pm
@I am a stormer-495: Sure, we all know South Africa can do better. Which says something about the Europeans, unable to finish off the stronger enemy while he is down, then he gets somehow up and all ends as usual.
10 Nov 2012, 21:38 pm
@CoachPete-515:
For sure, but he don’t like JdJ… so can’t see it happening…
10 Nov 2012, 21:39 pm
@brains_trust-516: I was just as shocked. If that performance is something for him to be happy about, then that in itself tells you what he thinks of the team.
10 Nov 2012, 21:39 pm
Geez the Boks are so average it farking sad!
10 Nov 2012, 21:40 pm
I think on these softer fields Alberts should be considered at 4
10 Nov 2012, 21:40 pm
“Hopefully we’ll beat Scotland” – Nick Mallett.
Yes, folks, it’s that bad.
10 Nov 2012, 21:41 pm
@Gumboots-521:
Yes its clear he does not like Jdj pity
And he had his security blankie there on the bench M Steyn
10 Nov 2012, 21:41 pm
@kaksioek-525:
Those famous words came back to bite us last time around…
10 Nov 2012, 21:42 pm
the only one they shud get rid of is Meyer
10 Nov 2012, 21:43 pm
Ireland was supposed to be the easy game… Eish…
@ lesiba – totally can u imagine Richie scraping home against the weakest Irish teams in history (they only won 2 of their last 9 games) and they saying he was please with the boys???
strange
if I mentioned child molestation, you all would have.been outraged and up in arms. Dusky has used it twice as some feebly weak attempt at an insult, and not one saffa has taken him to task for it.
how very typical of you
hypocrites
@saru1983-528:
…and his muppet support team…
CROUCH…..TOUCH……SSSSSUCK!!!
10 Nov 2012, 21:44 pm
@Gumboots-518:
Right now the Boks can’t take on any team with any certainty. Hm had the team together for a full 2 weeks after the CC final. And then this. We can talk about selections but every coach has his favourites.
Right now Taute must go to FB, JDJ to 13 – HM won’t play him at 12. Hougaard looks out of place at wing and should be replaced by Rhule – then again HM is too conservative to do that. Hougie can be benched – he would still be a good impact player.
But that 1st half – never seen such kak Bok rugby for a while.
10 Nov 2012, 21:45 pm
@Gumboots-527: We shouldn’t have to hope that we’ll beat Scotland. It should be a given. We should be able to field as second XV against them. But the way the Boks played tonight, any win at all is bordering on miraculous.
10 Nov 2012, 21:46 pm
@poppa69-531:
I enjoy talking rugby on a rugby blog… Sorry! Anyone who gets pleasure out of insulting anyone deserves what they get… bottom line mate… Each for their own on this site… I don’t agree but that is how the cookie crumbles…
10 Nov 2012, 21:46 pm
@poppa69-531: Um, I don’t know, maybe we just don’t like you.
10 Nov 2012, 21:47 pm
@Dusky-446:
Sad that you think like that about young girls.
I understand your team was once again a joke and your anger was clouding your little judgement that you have but the young girls card?? Serioulsy?
This is how fuked in the head you are… You said that Barnes was worse than Bryce….so he dosnt call it your way he deserves a facebook page as well?
Live with it, you blame everyone but your team or coach….you and bakkies must be play mates.
10 Nov 2012, 21:47 pm
Ruaan Pienaar? Not my favorite player…. But what a second half… scored the try and kept the game away from Bambie…. He does have a rugby brain!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
10 Nov 2012, 21:48 pm
@I am a stormer-534:
It was for sure the worst 40 minutes of rugby I have ever watched… I’m tired of excuses too. Time to put up our hands and perform on the field. If we ever want to match the AB’s then we need to do so on the field instead of with all the talk… Something not kosher…
10 Nov 2012, 21:50 pm
Why is our captain very happy with this performance???
Has the standard of our game lowered our expectations that much? I guess he’s tired of showing his abject frustrations with HM’s strategy, so he figured a curveball was in order…Caught Owen a bit by surprise there
10 Nov 2012, 21:51 pm
@brains_trust-530:
in case you missed it they did in june
22-19 (thats a 3 point difference)
irish almost won the game
nz needed some illegal play and a dan carter drop after the hooter
10 Nov 2012, 21:51 pm
@fishdish-541:
Well he is not too used to winning, so he was ecstatic… LOL
10 Nov 2012, 21:52 pm
@Gumboots-536:
Most of us do mate
But others want attention in other ways Sad
10 Nov 2012, 21:54 pm
@LoanShark-539:
pienaar not my favourite player by a long shot but taking the game from lambie was the best tactical change of the 2nd half.
i would give jantjes a shot at the next game, unfortunately lambie has shown us what he’s got.
@I am a stormer-534:
I’ve never rated Kirchner but do you seriously think he had a bad game. I thought he was solid.
And did Taute play this evening?
Liewe kok – hoe kak was dit?
10 Nov 2012, 21:56 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-545:
I will give you a spoon mate… you are stirring…
10 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
Bring back helium – waar die fk is snorretje snor die grreatest?!
10 Nov 2012, 21:57 pm
First half was pathetic with only the Irish playing any rugby. Boks more intent on enhancing their reputation for thuggery amongst the NH fans. Second half the Boks at least played to their (currently limited) strengths. I thought JdV had one of his more influential games for a long time trying to lead from the front. Still don’t really rate him very highly as a player any more (he speaks pretty well as the captain though), but today he was pretty good. Even allowing for a few very good players missing at he mo, this does not look like a good Boks team. Not sure that HM is making any progress in doing anything about it either. As for W Barnes, just another example of how little feel he has for the game. He may understand the laws, and may even sometimes choose to enforce them (when he manages to keep up with the play and doesn’t get stage fright), but like nearly all his games this was a fractured and unappealing spectacle whistled by the ‘headmaster’.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 » Show All