Ireland 12 Springboks 16

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Test in Dublin.


80 mins: Ireland try a chip over the top to expose the space behind the Springboks’ defesive line. However, Pietersen covers and runs into touch. Game is over. SPRINGBOKS WIN 16-12!

78 mins: As the clock starts ticking down, Ireland are desperate to find a break from deep as they trail by four.

74 mins: GREAT ESCAPE! From a scrum penalty, Ireland charge into the Springboks’ red zone. They batter the tourists’ defence and build good momentum. But they run out of steam and concede a penalty at the tackle point. South Africa escape.

70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Lambie kicks his third penalty. The visitors hold the lead during the closing stages. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 16-12!

69 mins: MONSTER SCRUM! Replacement prop Heinke van der Merwe has been a monster in the scrums since coming on for CJ van der Linde. With an Irish feed, the Springboks milk the penalty in a kickable position.

66 mins: Springboks milk a penalty near the halfway mark. Lambie steps up to take a shot at goal, but his effort is short.

61 mins: Wing Francois Hougaard is pinned for offside. Sexton tees up from a 50m out, but he misses as the ball falls short. Pienaar picks up the attempt and clears the danger.

56 mins: OUTSTANDING DEFENCE! Back to 15 players, Ireland were relentless on attack as they carried the ball well in Springbok territory. But the visitors hold up well, phase after phase they soak in the pressure. They eventually force the penalty as tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis contests for the ball on his feet.

52 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Ireland struggling with a man down, and concede a kickable penalty. Lambie steps up and pops it over the crossbar. South Africa are ahead for the first time as Heaslip returns from the sin bin. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-12!

49 mins: Springboks continue to add pressure on the Irish defence. However, Etzebeth loses the ball forward 8m from the tryline. The hosts survive, with 14 men on the field.

46 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! De Villiers’ bravery in leadership and South Africa’s efforts pay off. The Boks finally cross the chalk via a Pienaar snipe around the fringes. Lambie converts. IRELAND LEAD 12-10!

43 mins: YELLOW CARD! The Boks get a strong rolling maul going and Ireland struggle to counter. They commit three offences, with skipper Jamie Heaslip bearing the brunt and getting sin binned.

42 mins: Springboks get an early penalty in the second half. But De Villiers turns down the option to kick at goal and orders Lambie to find touch.


40 mins: Henry concedes a silly penalty as he disrupts Springbok scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar from a side entry at the breakdown. It’s a long range attempt, but with time up on the clock, Pienaar tries his luck. He’s short, and Barnes blows for half-time.

38 mins: Springboks continue their woeful performance as they are pinned for the 11th time. Sexton gets his fifth attempt at goal, but he misses.

32 mins: YELLOW CARD! From the restart, Pietersen lands an early hit on Ireland flank Chris Henry. Both teams start a scuffle off the ball. After everyone settles, Barnes gets advice from his assistant and sends Pietersen to the sin bin.

30 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Springbok defence under fire from Barnes. Ireland get another kickable penalty in the opposition’s 22m area. Sexton converts. IRELAND LEAD 12-3!

27 mins: Ireland outside centre Keith Earls skins the Bok defence on the outside with his pace. But Springbok flanker Francois Louw makes a great steal at the tackle point – from a difficult position.

26 mins: Let off for Ireland. Lambie misses his second penalty attempt from centre field.

24 mins: Ireland creating great momentum with ball in hand. Running the ball from all over the park. But their attack ends when lock Eben Etzebeth makes a great steal in midfield. Barnes is consistent with the whistle, blowing the Irish for holding on.

21 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Minutes later, Springbok captain Jean de Villiers concedes a penalty at the breakdown within Sexton’s strike range. And the No 10 makes it three from three. IRELAND LEAD 9-3!

18 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! South Africa poach possession off an Irish lineout, and Pietersen is put into space and he bumps Sexton off en route to the hosts’ red zone. Ireland’s defence are penalised for offside as they panic under pressure. Flyhalf Pat Lambie punishes the Irish with a successful three-pointer. IRELAND LEAD 6-3!

14 mins: GREAT RUN! Hooker Adriaan Strauss shows what he’s capable of in space – a devastating runner.

10 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Springboks pinned again, this time the forwards are guilty of chasing a high ball from an offside position. Sexton gets his second goal attempt, and he nails it. IRELAND LEAD 6-0!

6 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! The Springboks concede the first kickable penalty at a lineout in their red zone. Sexton converts from a challenging angle. IRELAND LEAD 3-0!

3 mins: Both teams using the boot early on. So far, they are evenly matched.

KICK-OFF: Irish flyhalf Jonathan Sexton starts the match with a deep kick-off. South Africa gather easily and clear. But the ball doesn’t go into touch and Sexton tests fullback Zane Kirchner with an up-and-under. Kirchner struggles under pressure and Ireland win possession. But referee Wayne Barnes blows for a knock-on from the hosts during the move.

Ireland - 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Chris Henry, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs – 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Donncha O’Callaghan, 20 Iain Henderson, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Eoin Reddan, 23 Fergus McFadden.

Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 CJ van der Linde.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.