Ireland 12 Springboks 16
10 Nov 2012
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Test in Dublin.
FULL TIME: IRELAND 12 SPRINGBOKS 16
80 mins: Ireland try a chip over the top to expose the space behind the Springboks’ defesive line. However, Pietersen covers and runs into touch. Game is over. SPRINGBOKS WIN 16-12!
78 mins: As the clock starts ticking down, Ireland are desperate to find a break from deep as they trail by four.
74 mins: GREAT ESCAPE! From a scrum penalty, Ireland charge into the Springboks’ red zone. They batter the tourists’ defence and build good momentum. But they run out of steam and concede a penalty at the tackle point. South Africa escape.
70 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Lambie kicks his third penalty. The visitors hold the lead during the closing stages. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 16-12!
69 mins: MONSTER SCRUM! Replacement prop Heinke van der Merwe has been a monster in the scrums since coming on for CJ van der Linde. With an Irish feed, the Springboks milk the penalty in a kickable position.
66 mins: Springboks milk a penalty near the halfway mark. Lambie steps up to take a shot at goal, but his effort is short.
61 mins: Wing Francois Hougaard is pinned for offside. Sexton tees up from a 50m out, but he misses as the ball falls short. Pienaar picks up the attempt and clears the danger.
56 mins: OUTSTANDING DEFENCE! Back to 15 players, Ireland were relentless on attack as they carried the ball well in Springbok territory. But the visitors hold up well, phase after phase they soak in the pressure. They eventually force the penalty as tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis contests for the ball on his feet.
52 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! Ireland struggling with a man down, and concede a kickable penalty. Lambie steps up and pops it over the crossbar. South Africa are ahead for the first time as Heaslip returns from the sin bin. SPRINGBOKS LEAD 13-12!
49 mins: Springboks continue to add pressure on the Irish defence. However, Etzebeth loses the ball forward 8m from the tryline. The hosts survive, with 14 men on the field.
46 mins: SPRINGBOK TRY! De Villiers’ bravery in leadership and South Africa’s efforts pay off. The Boks finally cross the chalk via a Pienaar snipe around the fringes. Lambie converts. IRELAND LEAD 12-10!
43 mins: YELLOW CARD! The Boks get a strong rolling maul going and Ireland struggle to counter. They commit three offences, with skipper Jamie Heaslip bearing the brunt and getting sin binned.
42 mins: Springboks get an early penalty in the second half. But De Villiers turns down the option to kick at goal and orders Lambie to find touch.
HALF-TIME: IRELAND 12 SPRINGBOKS 3
40 mins: Henry concedes a silly penalty as he disrupts Springbok scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar from a side entry at the breakdown. It’s a long range attempt, but with time up on the clock, Pienaar tries his luck. He’s short, and Barnes blows for half-time.
38 mins: Springboks continue their woeful performance as they are pinned for the 11th time. Sexton gets his fifth attempt at goal, but he misses.
32 mins: YELLOW CARD! From the restart, Pietersen lands an early hit on Ireland flank Chris Henry. Both teams start a scuffle off the ball. After everyone settles, Barnes gets advice from his assistant and sends Pietersen to the sin bin.
30 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Springbok defence under fire from Barnes. Ireland get another kickable penalty in the opposition’s 22m area. Sexton converts. IRELAND LEAD 12-3!
27 mins: Ireland outside centre Keith Earls skins the Bok defence on the outside with his pace. But Springbok flanker Francois Louw makes a great steal at the tackle point – from a difficult position.
26 mins: Let off for Ireland. Lambie misses his second penalty attempt from centre field.
24 mins: Ireland creating great momentum with ball in hand. Running the ball from all over the park. But their attack ends when lock Eben Etzebeth makes a great steal in midfield. Barnes is consistent with the whistle, blowing the Irish for holding on.
21 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Minutes later, Springbok captain Jean de Villiers concedes a penalty at the breakdown within Sexton’s strike range. And the No 10 makes it three from three. IRELAND LEAD 9-3!
18 mins: SPRINGBOK PENALTY! South Africa poach possession off an Irish lineout, and Pietersen is put into space and he bumps Sexton off en route to the hosts’ red zone. Ireland’s defence are penalised for offside as they panic under pressure. Flyhalf Pat Lambie punishes the Irish with a successful three-pointer. IRELAND LEAD 6-3!
14 mins: GREAT RUN! Hooker Adriaan Strauss shows what he’s capable of in space – a devastating runner.
10 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! Springboks pinned again, this time the forwards are guilty of chasing a high ball from an offside position. Sexton gets his second goal attempt, and he nails it. IRELAND LEAD 6-0!
6 mins: IRELAND PENALTY! The Springboks concede the first kickable penalty at a lineout in their red zone. Sexton converts from a challenging angle. IRELAND LEAD 3-0!
3 mins: Both teams using the boot early on. So far, they are evenly matched.
KICK-OFF: Irish flyhalf Jonathan Sexton starts the match with a deep kick-off. South Africa gather easily and clear. But the ball doesn’t go into touch and Sexton tests fullback Zane Kirchner with an up-and-under. Kirchner struggles under pressure and Ireland win possession. But referee Wayne Barnes blows for a knock-on from the hosts during the move.
Ireland - 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Gordon D’Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Chris Henry, 6 Peter O’Mahony, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 Cian Healy.
Subs – 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Donncha O’Callaghan, 20 Iain Henderson, 21 Ronan O’Gara, 22 Eoin Reddan, 23 Fergus McFadden.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandre Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 CJ van der Linde.
16 Schalk Brits, 17 Heinke van der Merwe, 18 Pat Cilliers, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Marcell Coetzee, 21 Morne Steyn, 22 Juan de Jongh, 23 Lwazi Mvovo.

696 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
10 Nov 2012, 20:18 pm
@Dusky-174: Oh yes Dusky, it’s the ref. We are actually f’ing awesome aren’t we? Moron.
We lucky to only trail by 9… This could have been really ugly…
Imagine if we had ball players like JdJ at 13 and a fullback that at least can play a bit. Hougie also nowhere… I suppose I’m picking on the Pink Bulls now… but the truth has to be told…
@Dusky-176:
@willievz-178:
dont know what game you guys are watching
op my tv lyk hy kak
10 Nov 2012, 20:19 pm
Poor start by boks. HM sharing half the blame, Barnes helping him turn this into a farce!
@sparticus-190: I’ve been watching CJ at the rucks, and he’s absolutely ineffectual. Not one of his ruck cleans actually shifted a player. He’s taken one short ball into contact and lost the turnover. And he lumbers round at the pace of a pensioner. Really not sure why he’s there.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-200:
True…doesn’t matter who plays… much of a muchness…
@Dusky-199: second that too JDV the cancer in the Bok backline
eish Hm is taking the Boks to new depths , reduced to having Ruan taking long range hail marys just to keep us in the game
lets be honest Pdv was a good coach compared to HM at least with Pdv we would beat the “minnows” now we are drawing with Argentina and facing a lose against Ireland
10 Nov 2012, 20:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-200: I agree – which makes Heyneke even a bigger toss. The sooner he goes – the better.
This is by far the worst 40 mins I’ve seen the boks team, especially when you take into account the opposition we’re playing. There is absolutely no clear strategy out there, so the fault can’t purely lie with the players. I ask again: WTF is going on here?
Spiessssssssssssssssssss !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
De Jongh?
@katman-205: he´s utterly useless – always has been – I would much rather have Dean Greyling on the pitch or Kitshoff.
10 Nov 2012, 20:21 pm
Black jerseys = kryptonite.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-203: Oh, he is kak in this game. But he would have to be about 6 grades kakker to equal Morne Steyn’s kakness.
The good news is…………. Steyn will rescue this for us!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@lesiba-210: agree totally – poor.
@XV-150: @Dusky-114: Nope , the boks transgressed. They being beaten to the ball and then also when the Irish tackle them they hold the player off the ground. The Irish is dominating the contact points.
Boks lucky its only 12-3
@TheTackler-214: lol well said.
Well we will see the love child soon… dan gaan die poppe skop…
10 Nov 2012, 20:22 pm
Juan De Jongh ahead of Jaco Taute & Taute ahead of Zane Kirchner. That would already improve matters.
10 Nov 2012, 20:22 pm
HM will (sadly) never get fired. Word is that he has full SARU support. Even if we lose all our EOYT games, HM will not get the boot.
10 Nov 2012, 20:23 pm
@Soda-180:
somewhere in there , there might be a hint of racism – boneheads are people too
OMG I never thought I’d see the day but finally it has arrived….the day I admit that I’d rather have PDV as Bok coach over Meyer
These pathetic excuses for a Bok team are ponderous, bereft of any idea, indecisive, sineless and completely lacking in passion that I’m ashamed to be South African now.
They clearly have NO f’ckn idea what they are doing.
MEYER MUST GO.
@boktillzero-208: never thought id say it but yep Divvy was a much better coach. Us losing to Oz in the WC was bad luck – we should have been in the final with NZ – not bad for a coach who is supposedly useless.
Sies performance.And so Skop/.You were right all the time.
@brains_trust-222:
Time to support Botswana then…
Must be the kakkest game I have seen in ages. Argie bargy smacks of the Straueli era. lackluster.
Pienaar off, hougie at 9, lwazi at 11, zane off, taute at 15, jdj at 13. Inject a bit of potency for the second half.
10 Nov 2012, 20:24 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-224: second that yet again – Meyer is useless.
Bejesus, the worst 40 mins of Bok rugby I have ever seen sober. I hope there is a miracle after halftime or I`m hitting the ganja.
@boktillzero-223: ‘racism’ ? boneheads are a different race ?
Hey – first time I hear of it, but it makes perfect sense to me.
And TRUEasfuck Matfield talking up “Mornetjie” by saying, ” the Boks kicking game is weak and they need to get their KICKING GAME right”
Fucknowaysman.
@ryecatcher-226:
Skop needs more credit for sure… Hy weet…
@RAI8-229: Pienaar off?? Are you off your head?? He´s been the only decetn backline player??????????????????????FFS
kom bokke.
10 Nov 2012, 20:25 pm
Boks not in the game, Irish youngsters showing us up! Need to calm down & play
10 Nov 2012, 20:25 pm
@sandeno-231: Hit the doobie now buddy. Dont bother waiting. I am divided on this. On one hand, I hope Ireland hand us a 50 pointer, because although it will be difficult medicine to swallow it might begin to dislodge the disease which is Heyneke Meyer.
10 Nov 2012, 20:26 pm
Matfield says we need to get “our kicking game right then we’ll be fine”… Are we used to seeing the boks play so miserably lately that a shocking half isn’t even commented on by the commentators? Are these guys paid to give moderate comments about our performance?
@katman-205: Its sad if you think that Heinke is there as well. Never rated CJ , he was explosive as a youngster and he scored some good tries but he cannot scrum , ruck or do any of the basics required.
@ Dusky , loop @k man , Jean is at best average I agree but he certainly not k@k…..yet
Great diplomacy by BOD & Keith Woods when the tart Gaby Logan was trying to put words in their mouth insinuating that JP was deliberately being dirty!
10 Nov 2012, 20:27 pm
@Dusky-238:
If that happens I will take it on the chin…
Ireland couldn’t win a game for a while and now making the Boks look like Russia…
Whatever.
I’m now Argentinian
@BULLET-241: it was dirty you idiot…
Meyer appears to be more clueless than even his harshest critics suspected.
10 Nov 2012, 20:28 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-224: Not the players mate. They look as frustrated, confused, bewildered and flustered as what we sound right here.
I refuse to give any of the players on that field the blame for this fuckingcrackparty we are witnessing.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-233: I am praying they bring Morne on. Please ! Otherwise the Pretoria crowd will blame this loss on Lambie for sure. They are so desperate to get their high pitched voice useless flyhalf back on the field. Flippin Lambie schooled Steyn in the Currie Cup semi-final.
Bet you guys Meyer is gonna talk about the injuries and disruptions the Boks had. Meanwhile at home we have the likes of aplon and de Jongh etc
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-233: I couldn’t believe it either! This is a nightmare we’re living in, a daylight nightmare!
200. Totally agree with you. Most of us would agree that 13 to 14 of these players deserve to be there. However there is no structure. No attacking moves. No basic ball skills. No faith in the so called game plan ( if you call standing off a tackle and waiting for the Irish to run in to you a game plan. How many times were we even in their 22?!?!?!
We have a clar advantage at the line out, but still we keep kicking the ball infield!!!!!
As Bakkies likes to say ABABP, I think it will be more appropriate to say Anyone But A Bulls Coach. He should not even bother coming back to SA after this tour.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All