Meyer: We avoided massive setback
10 Nov 2012
Heyneke Meyer admitted the Springboks would have been ‘three steps backwards’ had they lost against Ireland but stressed the importance of victory in the education of his team.
The Springboks trailed 12-3 at half-time with very little evidence that they would turn it around in the manner they did. However, there was an inspired effort in the second half to seal a victory that Meyer said has significance beyond the obvious.
‘Our performance in the first half was unacceptable and I can’t tell you my words to the team. There were too many penalties, we couldn’t get going. But I’m proud of this team. At nine points down we showed a lot of character to come back. We’ve learnt a lot from tonight,’ Meyer said.
‘This means more than when we beat Australia at home scoring five tries. It was a tough week Beast was out, Gurthro failed another fitness test today, Heinke hasn’t trained with us and in the first three minutes Jannie was injured and wanted to come off. We were under the sword. It was the worst half I’ve ever seen this year.
‘I was desperate at one point. I want us to do well, especially for the supporters back home. There could have been a lot of excuses, with almost a whole team out and a lot of guys that moved on. But we don’t want to offer excuses. Losing would have been a huge setback for me and the team. It would have been three steps backwards for us.’
Meyer singled out his young players for praise, explaining that their composure and ability to execute instructions was central to the win. He added that there has been patent progress from June to this point.
‘We would have lost from this situation at the beginning of the year. What we did in the second half was special,’ he said.
Captain Jean de Villiers echoed Meyer’s sentiments. ‘It’s one thing to be selected for the Springboks but more difficult to put in a performance worthy of wearing a Springbok jersey. The first half wasn’t. The response was fantastic,’ he said.
‘In Mendoza [against Argentina] we were in the same situation but we failed to respond. I said at the beginning of the tour that we needed to take it to the next level and I think we did that tonight.’
Meyer, however, stressed that perspective is needed when assessing where they stand at present.
‘This is the type of game we needed to win. There were a lot of soft moments this year, but in the second half here there were none. But I what to make it clear that a more highly-rated Springbok team beat Ireland a couple of years back, and then lost to Scotland,’ he said.
‘We have to be humble, keep our feet on the ground and learn from here. Scotland are waiting and they’re a good team. I can tell, though, the team took a lot of confidence from this.’
By Ryan Vrede, in Dublin

333 Comments
10 Nov 2012, 23:58 pm
Meyer = dead man walking.
11 Nov 2012, 00:06 am
Bedank HM! It’s the right thing 2 do
11 Nov 2012, 00:09 am
@XV-1:
Cheer up.
It could’ve been worse.
11 Nov 2012, 00:12 am
@I am a stormer-3: if you are happy with that Bok performance then all good to you.
11 Nov 2012, 00:32 am
We took 3 steps back when he was appointed and then another 3 when he selected his coaching staff. To harp on about our win against a piss poor Aus team is pathetic.
11 Nov 2012, 00:41 am
a full stregth tri nations winning bok gteam lost to ireland when apparently only one of their players would have made our team.
aweful game, but we won. we dont always.
11 Nov 2012, 00:42 am
a full stregth tri nations winning bok team lost to ireland when apparently only one of their players would have made our team.
aweful game, but we won. we dont always.
11 Nov 2012, 01:19 am
Any win is a good win. The problem I have is standards and growth prospects. I saw little tonight bythe way of attacking potential. Beating an opponent in to submission will only work 70% of the time. We desperately need to introduce skill and dynamism to an accurate powerful forward display which we seem to be targeting at the expense of backline magic
11 Nov 2012, 01:23 am
@munkiboi-7: Sorry, but I am going to call you out.
Before readmission, the Boks had only lost once to Ireland. 1965. Lansdowne Road. 9-6.
Once.
We then stumbled to a loss in 2004. A huge, epic loss in the context of history and the fact that we had just come off winning the Tri Nations for only the 2nd time. This was when Jake White fired up the Irish by saying only 3 Irish players would make the Bok team. A very silly thing to do in hindsight.
The Boks lost the nest two in Dublin too.
So we lost 3 consecutive games in Ireland – 2004, 2006 and 2009.
Thank the gods but we have curtailed that shocking aberration of a record by winning the last 2 in Ireland. Normal order is restored.
We have only lost 4 times to Ireland. But that is already 4 times too many. Wanna know why?
The All Blacks have NEVER lost to Ireland in the long history.
So when I hear normally sensible Bok supporters like you saying we should be grateful for a win in Ireland, it really drives home how mediocre the Boks have become in comparison to the All Blacks. Also, it sickens me to hear the Irish commentators saying they have no fear of the Bok, they have vivid memories of defeating the Boks in Ireland.
Here’s to many, many more consecutive wins in Dublin. Here’s to stamping out the winning memories the Irish so smugly cling to when dismissing the Boks as the All Blacks poorer cousins.
11 Nov 2012, 02:17 am
Stuff this. We were **** again and the coach should be fired. He is clueless.
11 Nov 2012, 02:17 am
Lest we forget the controversial try that gave them the win in 2004.
Although we must concede that we should not be in a position that a try should give them a result.
If the current team winning by a small margin against a team rated 7 or 8 in the world pleases the coach, scribes and majority of supporters, then we have truly started scraping the bottom of the barrel.
To compare this Irish side to the one who lost narrowly to the AB’s is crazy.
They were without the only decent players they have, they are forced to pick hand-me-downs from SA to get a team on the park.
The NH teams are sub-standard and what today proved is how poor both the Boks and the Australians are at the moment.
11 Nov 2012, 05:21 am
Someone said it before – we are playing not too lose instead of playing to win…
We seldom thrash teams anymore – if we win – and I say if as we are losing far too many – we just win. Sad reality…
We need a coach with vision and that can instil a culture of trust and trust in your fellow player. Play the situation and not on instructions…
11 Nov 2012, 05:52 am
So we move to 2 in rankings, which is helluva important for seeding and the WC draw in Decemeber. One blessing.
On the flip side, regardless of what happened last night and the eventual win, something I have just read in the “Rapport” has made me want to bash our coaches all over again…
An interview with Raymond Rhule…
The kid says in it, that he is a player who wants the ball in hand, and who loves running with it….but that he has been told he needs to be able to kick as well, and he is working hard kicking while he is with the Boks…..
I don’t know about anyone else, but that sums it up for me.
Yes, nothing wrong in principle with working on a kicking game, but for the loveofbrannascokeandbiltong, when one of the most naturally gifted young finishers in SA is working on his kicking, WTF are our coaches doing?
Do our backline ever run any moves in training? Or do they all work on improving their kicking and bashing?
11 Nov 2012, 05:55 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-13:
Good morning! So you also didn’t sleep last night…
Just lost our 6th wicket…
Ja it is a lost cause. We will continue to move backwards with that mindset…
11 Nov 2012, 05:58 am
We are actually seven down…
I hope the tail can add another 100+. I think Jacques Rudolph needs to get on with things a bit and move the game forward… At least Rory can klap a ball and Morne thinks he is as good at Matty Hayden…
11 Nov 2012, 05:59 am
Well moving to number 2 in the rankings will assist the new coach for the world cup… I hope it is Mallet…
11 Nov 2012, 06:20 am
@Gumboots-14: Didn’t sleep much before the alarm went for the cricket……And that too (cricket) leaves a suur smakie at the moment. 7 Down technically yes….
Oh dear. Think it’s time for run actually, a long one.
11 Nov 2012, 06:25 am
@Gumboots-16: At least with the cricket there should be no talk of a loss at this stage
All the way back to the change room…
Rudolph listened to you…he got on with things all right
11 Nov 2012, 06:31 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-18:
LOL – We need to pile them on now… Declaration soon… 500 would be good but we need to up the tempo…
Enjoy the run. My run this morning was down the stairs to watch the cricket…
11 Nov 2012, 07:39 am
Get some help Heyneke. Fire your sycophants and give us all a genuine reason to cheer.
11 Nov 2012, 07:49 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-13: That’s jut f’n sad man!
11 Nov 2012, 08:10 am
on yer bike Punter!
11 Nov 2012, 08:12 am
Heinke van der Merwe – Thank You . He won us the game IMO
11 Nov 2012, 08:12 am
Loosing would have meant HM is one step closer to f..ing off which would have been a step forward. Winning is a step back.
11 Nov 2012, 08:21 am
Who are these Aussie cricketers
I only know Ponting
11 Nov 2012, 08:44 am
@Dawn-25: hayi bo! warner, clarke, hussey, sid-vicious, mitch johnson etc
11 Nov 2012, 08:56 am
Hulle bliksem quota kleinveldt die hele veld vol
11 Nov 2012, 08:57 am
@ Trans yadika!
I see now. Two openers I don’t know.
11 Nov 2012, 09:27 am
I’m seriously starting to think that HM suffers worse delusions of grandeur than hi predecessor?
At the very least he has a far worse record than P.Divvy at the same stage of their careers.
Now I’m not a fan of the Snor at all, but if people believe that HM with his one dimensional gameplan (he obviously kept it on ice from when he thought he’d get the post 6 years ago, because the rugby I watched last night was about that far our of date), his penchant for picking out of for or never had form Bulls players and his complete failure to pick and develop talented players in favour of clowns like Zane Kirchner is the new messiah of SA rugby then we are in for a surprise.
To reiterate, his record thus far is 2 wins and a draw against an understrength England. A win and a draw against the mighty Argies. A win and a loss against possibly the worst Aussie side in recent memory and a couple of rogerings from the Kiwis…… and then a near death experience with the Irish?
And people find this acceptable on the basis that he is apparently building the side?????
Dubble K met ‘n middel A.
His only significance in the game today is as a reminder of what prehistoric rugby looked like.
Why pick an excellent fullback at centre, put an excellent centre on the bench and place the WORST fullback in SA at 15?
Why pick backline reserves and then not use one of them?
Why pick a massive impact player (in his words) like Brits and then leave him on the bench? As if his selection wasn’t enough of a snub to the many talented young hookers in SA?
How about giving some of our excellent players of colour a shot? Why pick an out of form Steyn on the bench in favour of an in-form Jantjes?
The Kiwis would have put up a record score if we played against them like that. It was only because the Irish attack was as impotent as a 200 year old castrato that we survived.
And then theirs his coaching team. Ricardo Laubscher? REally? I think that is about all I need to say there.
And finally. This habit Meyer has of trying to claim the excellent form and talent of guys like Etzebeth, Lambie etc as his doing, when if anything he’s had a negative impact in them?
HM. Shape up pronto ou pel, because if a performance like last night happens next week, we may scrape through holding the dam wall together, before it explodes and you drown in a humiliating defeat by the poms.
Something even the ex-prince of clowns P.Divvy never had to answer for.
RANT OVER.
11 Nov 2012, 09:32 am
I’m as angry as a grizzly bear on a vodka babbelas with a mouth full of wasps who just discovered his she-bear in bed with the one-legged koala next door.
11 Nov 2012, 09:39 am
Anyone who watched the Argies pummel the Welsh yesterday, would likely agree that they would have given the Irish a similar hiding.
And our boys scraped a 4 point win…. SCRAPED IT.
And guys here are saying we should be happy with the win?
Is this what Bok rugby has regressed to? Pride at scraping through against sides outside the top 5? Joy at a 4 point escape against the Irish and a draw to the Argies in the space of 3 months?
Happiness at a win and a loss against an Aussie side that is so k a k that they got almightily stuffed by Les Bleus last night?
Well forgive me, but as arrogant as it sounds, I’d prefer to have the mindset of the Kiwi players, coaches and public alike when I say that losses or near misses against the Irish, Welsh and Scots should be reason for anti-depressant prescriptions to be renewed.
11 Nov 2012, 09:43 am
I’ll take the win. Heyneke knows what he is doing. Team is still gelling and first overseas tour for a few of the players. I see many bloggers seem to think we play running rugby, sorry hasn’t happened in a long time. Even WP doesn’t play running rugby so you mountain goats shouldn’t complain. Paddies were spoiling big time yesterday
11 Nov 2012, 09:44 am
Vettie
The same Argies who cam last in the Tri Nations.
While the same Aussies who beat the mighty All Blacks a couple of weeks ago were whipped 33-6 by the French.
These end of year tours are tough for the tired Southern Hemisphere teams. I’m just happy with the win.
3 out of 3 will satisfy me. However we achieve it.
11 Nov 2012, 09:46 am
“We have to be humble, keep our feet on the ground…”
A freakin phrase that makes me mal.
We need to get Clarke out early tomorrow. Top run scorer in the world this year.
11 Nov 2012, 09:46 am
Lets look at a few problem areas?
Front row not balanced – 3 big slow men – Always believed in a nr 2 with more to offer, (fetcher, ball skills etc) Not saying Strauss was the problem, just not balanced! Brits or even Chilly boy could balance it out better!
Our locks – Do not believe Kruger is the answer (avoids contact and cant dominate a tackle). Etsebeth a very good player but he wants to play the enforcer role, but not really seeing it? He is a very good line-out player with good defensive qualities… He fits the role of a number 5 lock perfectly? Bakkies and flip or even Alberts better suited as a no 4 lock.
Our loose trio… Now here is where I think we really struggled! 3 Good players, but not balanced….. no pace here. We need a number 8 with serious speed. Also think Vermeulen really struggled!
Back line will get sorted with the likes Francois Steyn, Goosen and Habana returning. Hougaard could become one of the great scrumhalves if given the opportunity to play his game!
And lambie was like he was in the currie cup final choke, standing still selling the back line. Useless!
Please Jaque Fourie… Come back to SA??????????? Our only option at 13
The likes of Burger, Smit, Beast, Guthro, Bismark, Spies, Kankofski ect returning to the forwards will also make a big impact!
11 Nov 2012, 09:56 am
@Tacitus-33:
Yes, the same Argies who came last in the RC, whipped the welsh and I have no doubt would have done the same to the Irish.
The Aussies got lucky to DRAW with the AB’s in a nothing fixture. Other than that, they have been put to the sword in every test against decent opposition just about this year and we celebrate a win and a loss against a side in clear turmoil?
And this nonsense of being tired is B.S as well… As will no doubt be proved today and next week by the Kiwis. If it’s dry and the Kiwis don’t win by at least 15 to 20 today (AT LEAST) then I will eat my hat.
Stop making excuses for HM. Man up and admit that the saviour of SA rugby in all eye’s tainted with the Blue of a Bull has been nothing but a severe and trying disappointment to almost everyone else who is growing tired of his k a k excuses. He has been found out and shown up.
Even P.Divvy was doing better than him at similar stages of their career and if that isn’t alarming then I don’t know what is.
11 Nov 2012, 09:58 am
Divvy had the best team Sa a have ever had.
Meyer is starting from scratch.
Give it some time.
11 Nov 2012, 10:19 am
We seriously lack any cohesion on attack and we struggle to put phases together which lead to tries.
I won’t make excuses for HM based on putting a team together, just look at what Argentina did to Wales. Excuses are for losers
11 Nov 2012, 10:21 am
@Tacitus-37:
Meyer has PLENTY to work with.
Especially against an Aussie team that will get beaten by most opposition this year and an Argentinian team that has been beaten by most opposition this year. Apart from us drawing to them that is.
So that’s also a k a k excuse.
Meyer needs to take off his blinkers and accept his gameplan, selections on and off the field and philosophy is not working.
11 Nov 2012, 10:25 am
Im less and less convinced after each game.
But damn Etzebeth is awesome!!!! Vermeulen had a good game. Strauss had his best game for the boks I’ve seen.
11 Nov 2012, 10:26 am
It’s just as well we didn’t play the Frenchies, they would have sorted us out good and proper,
We have a lot of work to do, and trying to excuse the performance yesterday is exactly the type of attitude that will make us mediocre.
11 Nov 2012, 10:27 am
@suffer_guy-27:
Rory will be back tomorrow.
You obviously haven’t played sport at any decent level to know what it feels like to make your debut.
11 Nov 2012, 10:27 am
I thought Vermeulen had a massive game in the tight effecting turnovers and halting Irish runners from gaining momentum@the tackle point.
I prefer these types of performances from my number 8 than one’s where presence is lacked , ala Spies, or the skillful running 8 , Kankowski.
In an ideal world I’d prefer Kanko on bench in case there’s a need to change the game plan.
11 Nov 2012, 10:28 am
Haha Tacitus, who built the team Divvie had. Time for credit where credit is due.
I said ages ago HM would struggle as he has to rebuild. Everyone said no way, not with the players we have.
Experience in test rugby is vital – bottom line!! But experience isnt everything obviously
11 Nov 2012, 10:30 am
@Tacitus-33:
“These end of year tours are tough for the tired Southern Hemisphere teams.”
Really?
You include the All Blacks here as well as one of “the tired Southern Hemisphere teams?”
When last did they STRUGGLE to win over there, much less lose a match?
11 Nov 2012, 10:31 am
I remember people saying we must be patient when P.Divvy scraped home against the welsh and Scottish in his first season.
I also recall various Bulls supporters seething and gnashing their teeth on this website when P.Divvy scraped home against the welsh and Scottish in his first season, suggesting it was NEVER acceptable to endorse such mediocrity from a Bok side against the same opposition.
So why has it now become acceptable, because thus far he has a worse than mediocre record.
11 Nov 2012, 10:38 am
Watching the French game yesterday reminded me how we should NEVER have lost to an Oz side this year!
Not THIS year people! They had soo many injuries and key players off form. They didn’t even have a team that finished in the top 6 in S15, points wise.
HM should’ve used his personnel better and been far less conservative in his approach to the game. And should’ve dropped MS much earlier and put faith in Jantjies @ that point in his tenure.
11 Nov 2012, 10:41 am
I felt Strauss also had a strong game, gained meters in attack,strong on defence and was constantly communicating with the forward pack.
Anyone also notice he didn’t miss one line out throw? A very good decision not to substitute him. I can appreciate not using your subs when there’s no need as the player on the field is neither tired and is also having a strong game
11 Nov 2012, 10:43 am
Still a Bok supporter through thick and thin. I am hoping for 2 more victories that would leave us with a record of.
12 games for the season, 7 wins, 3 losses.
7 wins and 3 losses against the best in the world….. more than acceptable in my books. Go bokke!!!!!
11 Nov 2012, 10:44 am
@nama1-45:
Please – allow me. You have to go back to 2002 to find the All Blacks last defeat to England in the NH (a 3 point loss) and 2003 till they last lost lost to England in the SH (a 2 point loss). They have not lost home or way in the other 9 matches since then.
The Scots, Welsh and Irish are easier. They last lost to Wales in 1953 and they have NEVER lost to Ireland and Scotland.
Even in “rebuilding” phases, between coaches and when they have had to endure tiring end of year tours.
But apparently we no longer measure ourselves against the All Blacks. Instead we ask for some calm and time for coaches who offer up mediocre and bland rugby.
11 Nov 2012, 10:44 am
‘This is the type of game we needed to win. There were a lot of soft moments this year, but in the second half here there were none. But I what to make it clear that a more highly-rated Springbok team beat Ireland a couple of years back, and then lost to Scotland,’
Already making excuses even before the game. So much for going in with a winning mentality…
11 Nov 2012, 10:45 am
Lambie for me had an ok game. His 1st start for some time and was glad he was given a full 80 minutes.
I would still give him a few more games at 10 before making judgement but this game would’ve served him well especially playing overseas.
I would still like to see Jantjies get a full 80 minutes as well so we can see how they both go at this level. HM has unfortunately shown he has no faith in the youngster, where he should start Jantjies and also have MS as the “insurance” pick.
That would make more rugby sense but ofcourse we know HM doesn’t do things according to any rugby logic.
11 Nov 2012, 10:47 am
@Dawn-28: ndiyakuthanda nam dawny…
11 Nov 2012, 10:49 am
there;s absolutely nothing wrong with the player depth in SA at the moment, in fact i would hazard a guess that its just as good as a few years ago if not better, the difference is that at the moment it is coming from the stormers, not the bulls, and yet the stormers are not being picked.
what is even of greater concern is that world rugby is def not strong at the moment with all teams going through a rebuilding phase – its the weakest ireland side weve faced in the last 5 years with 5 or 6 of their key players out and not having the depth we do. richardt strauss was v good.
11 Nov 2012, 10:50 am
Just WHO exactly is incharge of how we attack as a unit?
This would Definitely be strentghened by having JdJ at 13 instead of Taute as there’s more of an understanding and JdJ runs better lines.
His side steps also create magic moments that turn a game on its head.
Having said that I am not convinced having JdV@12 allows a a backline to progress attack wise. All too often he looks for contact instead of attacking the space.
It’s very telling how much better WP looked on attack when JdV was not@12.
IMHO
11 Nov 2012, 10:50 am
@LoanShark-49:
I’m also a Bok supporter through thick and thin, but if you want to be honest in that statement then it would be:
played 7, won 3, drawn 1 and lost 3 against the best in the world to date.
Argentina and Ireland are not in the top 5 and therefore should not be counted amongst the best in the world.
And our 3 wins came against England twice at home and one win against the most horrendously poor Aussie team I have seen in recent memory… also at home.
11 Nov 2012, 10:51 am
freddie michalak had a storm of a game last night, carved up the aussies…no wonder plum shifted lambie to fullback.
11 Nov 2012, 10:52 am
heinke and cilliers looked pretty good together in their first match – they offset the backrow well. Beast and Gurthro’s loss is significant tho. JP running like a steam train – i;d play jdj at 12 and jp at 13.
11 Nov 2012, 10:53 am
@papaown-55: that is Jonan “Kitch Christie” van Graan.
11 Nov 2012, 10:53 am
@Transformation-57:
The sharks a different team when Freddie was playing!
11 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
@cab-58: jp is on fire
11 Nov 2012, 10:54 am
What is the view on Hougaar’s performance?
Thought he had an ok game. Solid on the D and had 1 enterprising run. He didn’t really offer much on attack though and also had a knock on. He’s a real talent but for me should not be starting now for the Boks@11.
IMHO
11 Nov 2012, 10:55 am
@Vetkoek-50: Exactly. We’ve been duped into accepting this whole “coach needing to settle in” **** and have thus accepted mediocre performances. Instead of focussing on the selections and strategy that a coach brings in, even with a “weaker pool” of players, we place too much focus on the comparison of current vs previous players.
The All Blacks don’t accept this whole “settling in” nonsense and this is one of the reasons why their performances are so consistent. On the other hand, we have a captain and coach who feel free to throw the “we’re learning” **** whenever it suits them, even if strategy and player selections are at fault.
We are accepting mediocrity.
@Transformation-57:
michelak a proper creative flyhalf that plays with ball in hand, not HOOOOFF
@LoanShark-49:
Do you also find the brand of rugby we play “acceptable?”
11 Nov 2012, 10:57 am
@Transformation-61:
he is.
9. hougard 10. pienaar 11. rhule 12. jdj 13. jp 14. jdv 15. taute/kirchener.
11 Nov 2012, 10:58 am
@papaown-62:
He was burnt on the outside by his opposite number, found wanting on at least 3 more occasions on his defensive positioning and gave away a quarter of the teams penalties by himself.
Other than that he was average
Agree he should not be starting at 11 for the boks. In fact, I think his best service to the Boks would be off the bench as an impact player as Pienaar is on form our best 9 and I think we have better wings?
11 Nov 2012, 11:01 am
funny thing is we heard phrases like “the mark of a good team is winning when you’re not playing well” when the all blacks scraped a 22-19 win vs the irish with a carter drop goal after 80min.
11 Nov 2012, 11:01 am
@LoanShark-35:
very good post, agreed almost wholeheartedly.
except in the case of vermeulen i would say he was actually quite good defensively in the way a brick wall is, however, his attacking link play is still poor and in need of a lot of work.
11 Nov 2012, 11:03 am
@nama1-65:
At stages yes and at stages no…. What is happening at the moment is we are playing 2 conflicting game plans. We have the Stormers mentality of picking a very strong defensive unit so in essence playing not to loose. We want to play what I think is HM’s idea of complete rugby, which is dominating up front play territory and kick when you have to, and then attack out wide when the opportunity arise. But doing that with the mentality of not to loose is problematic. Not enough attacking skill in the team at the moment…. We are very one-dimensional?
If that makes any sense?
11 Nov 2012, 11:05 am
Flo was once again one of our best players last night, but he wouldn’t even have been there if not for injuries to others.
Spies would probably be starting ahead of Vermeulen if he were fit.
If there is a single person in SA who can look me in the eye and tell me with a DEAD STRAIGHT FACE the Zane Kirchner is the best fullback in this country, without any provincial bias, but looking just at him as a player, then I will have no choice but to recommend a dose of white padded cell.
Taute our best 13? No. He isn’t. Good Fullback though.
11 Nov 2012, 11:09 am
this has got nothing to do with a stormers gameplan, meyer is a bulls coach, there were 3 stormers forwards picked and 2 backs. the stormers defense is solid and their attack is v good too – there is noone to touch de-jong in terms of creating play. we are creating nothing and hoofing everything, grant does not play that way and neither does jdv or jdj, the wingers are not encouraged to have a strong kicking game and gio aplon and joe pietersen are v skillful players.
11 Nov 2012, 11:10 am
@Transformation-68:
I agree with this, but I would actually add something to that statement.
“the mark of a good team is winning when you’re not playing well, but the mark of a GREAT team is winning 42-10 in the first test, sneaking home by a drop in the second test in a clear abberation and then winning 60-0 in the third test, just to ensure everyone understand how seriously pis sed off they were with the mediocrity dished up in the second test.”
11 Nov 2012, 11:12 am
the other thing is no one appreciates the fact that as bad as the boks were last night we still kept the irish scoreless.
11 Nov 2012, 11:13 am
a win is a win, but there are better players not being selected and that is the problem, why does he not at least try them as he did with flo and vermeulen who revolutionised the pack.
11 Nov 2012, 11:14 am
@Tacitus-37: Ag for crying out loud stop talking k@k man.
The man has not improved the style of play or shown any sign that he will develop this team into All Black slayers.
He is a dinosaur and has no appreciation for skill, offloading in the tackle or positive backline play. Maybe in Pretoria this prehistoric domkrag rugby is acceptable but I for one expect more from our national team.
Should we give him another 6 years to get it right like he had at the Bulls?
11 Nov 2012, 11:14 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-74:
Yes. Apart from the 12 points they scored, we kept them scoreless.
11 Nov 2012, 11:16 am
actually there was one stormers back picked and its in the wrong position – jdv done nothing at 12 for several years now, regardless of who we;ve had at flyhald.
11 Nov 2012, 11:17 am
@cab-75:
I don’t know the man, but I would suggest he suffers from the age old Bok coach ailment known as “bull-headed stubborness” – excuse the pun.
Meyer clearly won’t accept he has it wrong and will only make changes when he is forced to through injury or something else beyond his control.
Read Flo, Vermeulen, Goosen, Lambie etc as evidence of this.
11 Nov 2012, 11:20 am
@Transformation-68:
Come now Transie. You can’t compare the two.
How many 1st choice players were missing from the Irish team yesterday?
We should’ve beaten them by at least 20.
@LoanShark-70:
Makes sense.
We are indeed very one dimensional.
Easy to read for the opposition and that allows them to put plans in place to counter us on every front.
As I’ve said some time ago, changing the FH will only be a change of personnel. It won’t make much of a difference because the new player will have to abide by the game plan of Meyer. Lambie’s performance yesterday proved that. Not that he was bad but he was not great either. I think the game plan does not suit his style.
11 Nov 2012, 11:21 am
@Transformation-57:
@LoanShark-60:
problem is more and more we are finding the lambie cupboard to in fact be a little bare. that laaitie was in so far over his head last night, it was a god thing the decision making was taken away from him in the 2nd.
and in those instances when he did get the ball in the 2nd he made some awful decisions, like the switch back pass to taute off his inside against the run of play, which went nowhere.
his decesion making under pressure was really poor and he reminded me of the 40-7 loss he was involved in against nz, again last night. when he’s flustered his tactical and territorial game goes out the window.
i hope these are baptisms of fire only from which he will grow, but they have to be noted.
next up, elton.
11 Nov 2012, 11:22 am
@Blokkies-76:
Amen brother!
One thing people forget about his highness, the almighty Meyer is that he was also the coach of perhaps the WORST Bulls teams ever seen, and it was only when the backers at Loftus opened their cheque books and he was able to buy certain key players for his gameplan that he had success.
A luxury one doesn’t get with the Bok team. A good coach recognises the form and talent of the best 30 in the country and then devises a gameplan for them.
Meyer blows the dust off his 2005 play books and then picks players who haven’t exactly set the world alight, but who fit in with his 7 year old plan.
11 Nov 2012, 11:24 am
@Vetkoek-79:
yip it seems he simply is hellbent on not picking the obvious – i think he’s got a lot of passion for the boks and humility if u read his comments on the other thread – so he’s actually half decent individual but why doesnt he pick de jong? what about deon fourie? why not brussow? these are small changes that change everything.
what is worrying for me is when i read about him trying to improve rhules kicking game, why is hougaard being picked at 9, why is lambie and kirchener kicking everything HOOF everytime like clockwork, and why does he perssists with defensive centres that are not terribly good at defense.
11 Nov 2012, 11:24 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81:
Or he’s been given strict instructions to play a style of rugby that he is not accustomed to, but that suits M Steyn?
And of course he’s willing to do as he’s been told by a coach who has stuffed him around all year.
11 Nov 2012, 11:26 am
nama: how many 1st choice players turned out for the boks?
11 Nov 2012, 11:27 am
@Vetkoek-77:
dont be a pedantic doos,
i meant tryless
as in; ‘they did not score a single try’
11 Nov 2012, 11:29 am
@cab-78:
JdV must do the right thing after this tour. Retire from international rugby.
He is not good enough anymore.
@Vetkoek-79:
Remember how JW said that the more he (HM) becomes under pressure, the more he’ll dig in his heels.
Can’t for the life of me understand why he did not sent De Jongh on to at least TRY something different. That back line was a sterile as they come with only JPP the exception.
11 Nov 2012, 11:30 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-81:
Your Messiah, seems to be having a little trouble with his loaves and fishes.
11 Nov 2012, 11:31 am
@Vetkoek-84:
now you just sound like a coach who is ‘reaching’ for cheap excuses.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-86:
ahhh- I apologise. Yes, we kept them tryless.
But then lets face it, in their last test against the all blacks, they were also kept tryless. And penalty-less. And Drop-less. In fact in that game they didn’t actually score a single point so they were in fact kept point-less.
The Kiwis scored 60 points though.
Against an Irish team that had O’Driscoll and other first choice players playing.
Not a pointless comparison
@vetkoek: the boks will unleash their fury on the scots next week after yesterday’s abberation!
the one thing i can say is our attack play has gone back to the predictable kak of Mendoza, one-off runners being picked off man-handled & turned over.
11 Nov 2012, 11:34 am
“I was desperate at one point…………………………………”
Meyer.
I’ll bet.
@nama1-80: That’s another beef I have with Meyer.
He has not embraced the talents of so many brilliant players, but has tried to bend their skillset to suit his plankass gameplan.
Example: forcing Hougaard to play like FdP. Forcing Lambie and Goosen to play like Steyn. Taking Taute (a fullback) and trying to make him play like Jacques Fourie.
I mean seriously, what is wrong with this oke? Is he so uncreative that he only knows 1 way to play and therefore forces players into his perceived way of playing whether they suit the style or not?
Why not tweak his gameplan to compliment the skillsets of the players at his disposal.
Square pegs, round holes and all that…..
@Vetkoek-84:
Bekker and Beast in the pack.
Habana in the back line.
Who else?
We don’t know where guys like Schalk rate in his pecking order so no use speculating about them.
11 Nov 2012, 11:36 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-89:
No- “we kept them tryless in the process of only scoring one try ourselves and scraping through by 4 points” is the sort of **** excuse one hears on behalf of a coach who is clearly out of his depth.
When a person accuses that coach of treating a talented player like **** and asking him to play a gameplan that is about a BILLION light years from the one he’s played at his HIGHLY successful franchise all year, that’s not making excuses. That’s an out and out accusation that Meyer’s skop-en-jag “plan” is as old as methuselah and slightly less potent.
And definitely less likely to score.
@cane-88:
yes, you could say that i suppose.
i would like him to test the other little fish, slick rick, for the scotish game.
we might as well get a good accounting of these boys while we’re at it.
best way to decide the fh pecking order.
as it stands:
goosen
morne
jantjes
lambie
(with jantjes still to be tested and morne to get a cameo against eng)
@nama1-80: How many times over the years have the Boks beaten Ireland by 20 in their own backyard…?
@Vetkoek-90:
I await Bakkies applause for the All Blacks.
11 Nov 2012, 11:38 am
@Blokkies-93:
Exactly.
He turns out to be a proper doos of a coach.
Bakkies will not agree of course.
11 Nov 2012, 11:40 am
Boks beat gritty Ireland
November 10 2012 at 09:33pm
By AFP
The Springboks came from12-3 down at half-time
Ireland let slip a 12-3 half-time lead to lose their one-off test with South Africa, who turned things round to win 16-12 at Lansdowne Road on Saturday. – AFP. Iol’s take on the game.Rather explains it all.
11 Nov 2012, 11:41 am
@nama1-99:
But if he had to win the four nations next year…………. Would he be a Hero?
11 Nov 2012, 11:43 am
Wonder what puma thinks about the game?
11 Nov 2012, 11:43 am
@Vetkoek-95:
you’re just making up stuff you have no real knowledge of other than your hunches you go by, having watched the game.
who says that any of this is happening to lambie’s game behind the scenes? how do you know this? do you have an inside channel to the boks we dont know of? are you in communication with patrick?
funny how pienaar was able to make decisions serving his and the teams own interests in spite of the coach.
11 Nov 2012, 11:44 am
@nama1-94:
Oh yes, Bissie.
@Tuna-97:
This should’ve been the 1st time. We had everything in our favour.
Two weeks of training together so no “we did not have enough time together” excuse. The Irish are only really starting their season now. The Irish were without some of their most influential players like BOD and O’Connell.
No boet, everything was in our favour to really hammer them.
11 Nov 2012, 11:45 am
@cane-98:
“More chance of falling pregnant via wind pollenation”.
What gets me is that when people talk about the Boks, they should be saying that the only time it’s acceptable to scrape through is against the shackle-draggers and your lot.
And even then, I have an empty feeling inside that we should need to include your convict-cousins to the north in the pecking order
11 Nov 2012, 11:45 am
@59 Transie
WTF is van Graan doing then?
We don’t build any phase play which exposes gaps and allows the team to score tries. Our tries are one off without any build up
11 Nov 2012, 11:48 am
@cane-98:
no caner, none will be forthcoming.
and you know the reason for that.
clean up your rugby and maybe the world will start to like you again, simples.
11 Nov 2012, 11:48 am
@LoanShark-101:
I don’t know.
Was PdV a hero when the Boks won the 20093N?
11 Nov 2012, 11:49 am
I am a true Bok Supporter! I support the players and the coach! Will criticize but am also intelligent enough to realize that at the moment we are building (with 60% of our top players not available). I also realize that New Zealand at the moment is much better than us.
But being a positive individual will give the coach and players a chance to build and prove themselves! I truly believe that next year this time it will be a completely different team and we will be very competitive against the AB’s
11 Nov 2012, 11:49 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96: Morne Steyn has no business being on that list of yours.
In 2009 the only thing he could do was kick. Right now he can’t even do that.
Catrakilis is a better fly half than The Stain
11 Nov 2012, 11:50 am
1 heinke(beast on last 20m)
2 adriaan( chilli on last 15)
3 pat(jannie on last 25)
4 eben
5 juandre(flip on last 30)
6 francois
7 marcell( willem on last 25)
8 duanne
9 francois( pienaar on last 30)
10 pat (jantjies on last 35)
11 lwazi(rhule or mapoe on last 30)
12 jean( kirchner last 20)
13 juan
14 jp
15 taute (lambie last 35)
11 Nov 2012, 11:51 am
@Vetkoek-105:
You won Vet.
Things could have been worse.
Next you have Scotland, which you should win comfortably.
Then an arm wrestle with Old Blighty………………………………..which will not be pretty.
But you should still win.
That would make it 3 from 3.
And hey that ain’t bad……………………….is it.
11 Nov 2012, 11:51 am
@papaown-106:
Did you not see how we “attack” with our forwards?
What is up with Alberts? He really has mastered the art of going missing as the game progressed.
11 Nov 2012, 11:52 am
The rugby was pathetic ,but the party was fantabulous !!In other news,MU came from 2 zip down to win for a perfect Saturday,results wise.
11 Nov 2012, 11:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103:
No- I just watched a game where Lambie kicked more out of character than any other time this year.
Not making stuff up at all. Just calling it like I saw it.
The ineffective play, poor execution and poor win further emphasised the fact that something is not right.
For more evidence, see the equally kak performances in Mendoza, P.E, Perth, Otago and Soweto this year.
6 lacklustre performances in 10 games and 3 wins against sides that aren’t in the top 3, with only ONE really good result this year is pretty damning in my opinion.
Of course it would appear that for the normally unforgiving Bulls supporters among us, abject mediocrity has become perfectly acceptable, as long as it’s dished out by one of their heroes.
11 Nov 2012, 11:53 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107:
They already love us Bakkies.
Murrayfield sold out. 67,000 I think.
11 Nov 2012, 11:55 am
as @ POST 111 Jean need rest lambie to fullback taute to centre… My mistake no zane in the team whatsoever.
@nama1-104: Nah… 20 is pushing it. Ireland are always fired up against us and like you said they started their season. They were ready to roll and they did that first half. Boks did well to pull this one through. Look I’m not defending HM he is making some silly decisions imo BUT we as supporters are bitching even before the game starts and then is just negative **** all the way. HM will pick a lat for his own arse IF he is wrong. It’s his first year ffs if this time next year it’s the same… well then I’ll bring the rope.
@nama1-113: Always said that he was way overrated.Shocking conditioning for an international player.With Vermeulen there we don’t need him really.
@nama1-99:
as a matter of fact, yes… yes i do disagree.
considering the fact meyer had to REBUILD A TEAM FROM SCTRATCH as compared to divvy who was gifted one of the most compete and best boks sides ever and did not need to make a single change in his first year, as it stands after 9 games:
Divvy = 5 wins and 4 losses
Meyer = 5 wins, 3 losses and 2 draws
in my opinion, this curve will go up even further in meyer’s favour.
@LoanShark-109:
“60% of our top players not available”
Habana
Bissie
Bekker
Beast
Goosen
Fransie
We need three more. Please don’t mention FdP.
11 Nov 2012, 11:56 am
@wnbb-114:
Proteas looking good too.
11 Nov 2012, 11:57 am
@cane-112:
What would your response be if I said to you:
You won Cane.
Things could have been worse.
Next you have Scotland, which you should win comfortably.
Then an arm wrestle with Old Blighty………………………………..which will not be pretty. But you should still win.
That would make it 3 from 3. And hey that ain’t bad……………………….is it.
11 Nov 2012, 11:57 am
@nama1-121:
Guthro
J Fourie
Kankofski
Burger
Smit
Spies
11 Nov 2012, 11:59 am
I would probably give Skop a heart attack ,but I would prefer a fit Schalkie over Alberts any day of the week.
11 Nov 2012, 12:01 pm
@xtremebull-111:
If somebody can please explain to me WHY Taute is seen as the best 15 in the country when he is not even the best 15 at his franchise?
Please!!!!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-120:
“…as it stands after 9 games:
Meyer = 5 wins, 3 losses and 2 draws”
Calculator says NO!!!
11 Nov 2012, 12:01 pm
@Blokkies-110:
alright then,
i disagree (and so does the coach).
11 Nov 2012, 12:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-120:
Ag please man. We have more than enough talent and depth to put out a Bok side that shouldn’t struggle like against Ireland, Scotland and the Argies.
This give him time b.s would be RIDICULED in NZ, who should be our fiercest rivals, so why should it here?
NZ have had to rebuild many teams after retirement, injury, changes in coaches etc and they would never accept the **** we’ve dished up this year as being excused by “rebuilding”.
11 Nov 2012, 12:02 pm
@nama1-126:
ja, 10 games
11 Nov 2012, 12:05 pm
my girlfriend thinks i’m a stalker…
well, actually…………..
she’s not my girlfriend……
yet.
@LoanShark-124: When you say Smit, do you mean John Smit or Juan Smith?
People gotta stop adding Juan onto their ‘ top players who are injured’ . Until he has a season of either Super Rugby or Heineken Cup under his belt he is definitely not in the running anymore. The dude hasn’t played for 2 years now. He might never come back, unfortunately
JPP slowly but surely developing into a thug as seen by his play yesterday.On more than one occasion he was using his shoulder in the tackle.Very disappointed with this new development in his play.
11 Nov 2012, 12:07 pm
@Vetkoek-123:
Well we do have Scotland next………………………in a few hours.
And I’d take a win by 3 points now………………………..if were possible.
As for England…………………………………those baastaards are very difficult to beat at home. They always seem to be able to reduce a game to their level…..An Arm Wrestle.
Any win over England is a good win.
So …………………………………yeah, I’d be happy enough.
11 Nov 2012, 12:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-127: Cool, but seeing as it is quite obvious that the coach knows boggeroll about back line play and I have played fly half all my life, I think it’s safe to conclude that I am right
11 Nov 2012, 12:08 pm
@charo-130:
Good luck charo,
She could do worse.
(maybe).
11 Nov 2012, 12:09 pm
@Vetkoek-115:
@Vetkoek-128:
look, this is going nowhere.
you clearly have deep seated, negatively biased views of the current national coach and the part of the country he’s from.
i do not agree with most of your views but you are free to them.
personally, while i am unhappy with much of our progress so far i will accept that he is in the midst of a rebuilding phase which came about two or three years too late and should have been overseen by his predecessors.
it will take a little longer perhaps, and it will not be without pain but i believe in the coach and i believe in the team. for me we can only go up from here on.
@Blokkies-134:
And I’d pick you ahead of Steyn
@Tuna-118:
Fair enough.
@LoanShark-124:
Between Gurtho and Beast only ONE can be 1st choice.
J Fourie: Jip, I’ll grant you him
Kankofski: Never was the 1st choice option
Burger: You’ll have to choose between him and Flo.
Smit: John? surely not.
Spies: Really?
What I’m trying to say is that even if those guys were available, you could not select the all. Look at the 8th man position for example. You have Kanko and Spies on your list while Vermeulen is currently playing. You can only select one of them to start and maybe another one for the bench. So whether the 3rd one is available or not, is irrelevant.
11 Nov 2012, 12:10 pm
@cane-116:
not sold out, yet.
besides, everybody sells out.
does not mean they love you. rather, they want to see the cheats come undone.
11 Nov 2012, 12:11 pm
Coming to Hougaard.He is becoming the new Spies.Fark,how kuk must he still play to be shafted from the team???
11 Nov 2012, 12:12 pm
@nama1-87:
Nama, go and watch the game again and see how many times JDV got us over the gain line. That is where I disagree with you.
Where I agree with you is that JDV and Taute do not gel as a centre combination. HM has failed to see this after 3 tests together.
There have got be changes in the backline for Scotland. JDJ needs a start. Lambie needs another start in order to get his confidence levels up. And I’d like to see Elton get 20 minutes.
11 Nov 2012, 12:13 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136:
I have no problem on the part of the country he is from.
I take a dismal view on supporters who excuse his obvious faults based on what part of the country he is from though.
And I take a dismal view on an international coach who has thus far shown an intense resistance to change something if it’s not working, a stubborn reluctance to pick players unless through injury (especially when said players have gone on to shine) and a clear bias towards out of form players and average coaching staff, because of the part of the country they happen to coach in…. rather unsuccesfully just recently.
11 Nov 2012, 12:13 pm
@Blokkies-134:
but seeing as the coach is the one who gets to pencil in the ‘preferred’ flyhalf list… we dont care…
11 Nov 2012, 12:14 pm
@Vetkoek-137:
please refer post #143
11 Nov 2012, 12:14 pm
@charo-130:
Funny
@wnbb-132:
I don’t know if it was just me but I thought that yellow card was a bit harsh. That tackle looked quite alright for me.
My mates disagreed but then again, they are not Bok supporters so they are never objective when it comes to the Boks.
11 Nov 2012, 12:17 pm
@nama1-145:
It was early. Deserving of a penalty but the YC was harsh.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-139:
It is very difficult to part a Scotsman with his Bank of Clydesdale pound notes.
To part 67,000 Jocks with their precious, is a minor miracle.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136: The rebuilding phase will take longer ,meaning that we need to to tolerate the BS dished up yesterday?Ok.At least I support a team that will win multiple titles in the next decade.
11 Nov 2012, 12:19 pm
@nama1-145:
yes, it was overblown.
no malice in the hit and was just fractions of a second off in the timing.
11 Nov 2012, 12:19 pm
@wnbb-140:
His best position is the bench, I believe.
Wonder what happened to all that “X-factor” he supposedly has… whatever that is. The boy offers nothing on the wing at the moment.
11 Nov 2012, 12:20 pm
@nama1-145:
Interestingly- the EXACT same thing happened in the France – Aus game, but the tackle wasn’t as big. No yellow there, just a penalty.
11 Nov 2012, 12:21 pm
@cane-147:
well in that case, congratulations
@wnbb-148:
that’s the spirit
11 Nov 2012, 12:21 pm
@nama1-145:
Your mates were right.
It was early, high, dangerous and no arms.
Yellow was fine… and i am a bok supporter.
11 Nov 2012, 12:22 pm
@I am a stormer-146:
Oh, was that the reason.
The guys said it was because he did not use his arm and I disagreed.
11 Nov 2012, 12:23 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96:
Why do you think Jantjes is yet to be tested but Goosen is has probably played less test match rugby but he is your first choice. Really does not make sense at all.
11 Nov 2012, 12:23 pm
@nama1-145: Yellow in my opinion.On more than one occasion he charged with his shoulder as well.Maybe developing a technical issue with his tackling.Probably due to the BB method of coaching.Just my opinion.
11 Nov 2012, 12:24 pm
@Vetkoek-142:
i guess being a bok coach wil always be one of those; ‘you can please some of the people all of the time…’ type of positions.
it will matter not what he does or who he selects as players or coaches.
some or all of the people will at some time or other find fault with him.
11 Nov 2012, 12:24 pm
@nama1-145: I had no problem with that yellow, must be honest. At that stage the Bok players frustration was boiling over. We were being blown off the park, our kicking game (hahahahaha) was indeed a fuckingjoke, and the players were rattled as all hell – with discipline declining FATS. JPP was simply ‘acting’ out on some of that frustration, and one could see the ‘cynical’ nature of what he did quite clearly IMHO.
I don’t blame him……had he not done something silly, one of our other players would have at that stage.
The players at that stage were unrecognisable as themselves……the ‘kick kick kick’ Lambie I saw in that 1st half was a stranger, a total stranger. And apart from Eben and Strauss, that 1st half was as woeful as it gets, man for man.
All I know is, when I read Rhule’s comment about how he has been told to improve his kicking game in the Rapport this morning, I have zerofuckinghopeatall for Meyer and his moegoes.
11 Nov 2012, 12:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-152: Yeah.If you say so.As long as you are happy that the Boks and the Blue Bulls are in a rebuilding phase for the next 5-10 years,I am happy for you.
@Vetkoek-137: Shot bru, but I can only accept the position if I am allowed to play my natural game……no skop en jaag k@k :p
@Robzim-153:
Prove that we can view the same thing and come to different conclusions.
See IAAS and Bakkies’ response.
11 Nov 2012, 12:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: Read that same story.Is that all these farkers are teaching in that camp?Kick the farking leather of the ball and you will become a great Bok.Ffs I give up.
11 Nov 2012, 12:28 pm
@Hurricane-155:
honestly hurri, the boy is the article almost complete.
watch him play, its in the little deft things he does in addition to the big things where you can tell he’s got the goods.
very, very composed even in the most intense pressure situations. you would never see a look on his face like the ones patrick and elton have shown under pressure.
barring injury and bad fortune, those are two potential greats of the game in the making imo (goosen and pollard).
pat and elton will either be seen as good to so so, but never great fh’s in time.
11 Nov 2012, 12:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158:
I read that article.
Unfreakinbelievable!!!
No problem in developing players’ all round ability but to make it a prerequisite for selection when the player has so much else to offer, is just freakin crazy.
11 Nov 2012, 12:31 pm
@nama1-161:
I saw that.
So many people so many opinions- check #158 above-i agree with that opinion.
Proteas looking good at the cricket- only thing that bugs me is their scoring rate – less than 3 to the over while the Aussies are going at over 4.
But Kallis is the King – that is to just about everyone except to ET and his “cousins”
11 Nov 2012, 12:31 pm
@Hurricane-155: Absolutely.Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of Heyneke Meyer.
11 Nov 2012, 12:33 pm
@wnbb-159:
dont be an idiot..!..
4-8 years max
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-163:
Well yet untested in international rugby.
Sound too much like the Enblish and there young #10 only to fail big time in international rugby.
Lets hope he is not a sicknote and atleast see what he can do against the best….. and we all know what team that is.
@Hurricane-155: The part that doesn’t make sense is that Steyn is on his list
11 Nov 2012, 12:34 pm
@nama1-164: Mate, I was so upset when I read that at 5.45am this morning, I actually went running to calm down. I was in a filthy mood from last nights joke of a performance.
Woke up, watched cricket pretty happily, Rapport was delivered at 5:30 am. Rottie brought it in, tore it, gave it to me….straight to the sport pages I go as usual….and decided to read the Rhule article 1st, as a ‘feel good’ story, and then I read that.
Even the Aussie wickets I saw tumbling after my run did little to make me smile.
That comment from Raymond, has sealed the deal for me.
11 Nov 2012, 12:34 pm
@wnbb-166:

Why thank you.
11 Nov 2012, 12:35 pm
@Hurricane-155: I still don’t get the Goosen paraphernalia that has gripped SA. Still, If Elton did make the 23 for yesterday, i couldn’t blame coach for not giving him a run on, the game didn’t play out that way, Patrick needed a full 80
@Blokkies-169:
Yeah i think he will always make Bakkies and HMs list…..the world of HM is so confusing.
But I what to make it clear that a more highly-rated Springbok team beat Ireland a couple of years back, and then lost to Scotland,’ he said. Is that a small dig at PdV?If it is than I believe the pressure is beginning to get to him.
11 Nov 2012, 12:37 pm
and to think we were all kakking ourselves at halftime
what the F were the ozzie supporters thinking at half time
the look on some of the ozzie players faces
and then
the whislte goes, full time
BOOM
@Robzim-165:
Cricket looking good. Hope we can get them out before tea tomorrow.
The Aus run rate is a bit inflated by Kleinveld going for 9 rpo in his 3 overs. No doubt the Aus target him because his on his debut. Hopefully he can come back tomorrow and take a wicket or two to get his confidence up.
@Robzim-165:
Jacques Kallis and Gary Sobers are the 2 best all-rounder cricketers to have EVER played the game.
11 Nov 2012, 12:39 pm
@Hurricane-168:
you mean a springbok A versus springbok B test?
you’re too kind, hurri
Actually, let me post it word for word:
“Ek verkies om met die bal te hardloop en is nie op skopwerk ingetsel nie. Daar is EGTER VIR MY GESE dat ek sal MOET kan skop en ek werk nou daaraan”.
People…anyone reading this and feeling warm and fuzzy about it, has obviously p # ssed in his/her pants.
This is shy te scary stuff we are reading here….
One of the most gifted natural finishers in SA, being ordered to kick, or ELSE………????????
Read his words carefully….
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136: Dude, we’re not going anywhere until Meyer replaces Van Graan and Loubscher. We’ve already stalled and progress is impossible with particularly those two in the mix amplifying the Boks traditional weaknesses. They wont suddenly become decent attacking/back-line coaches. Meyer needs to bite the bullet and start consulting some professionals and recruit some quality backup. That’s how he turned the Bulls around.
Until the Boks are in a professional environment coached by guys who don’t make them worse than the sum of their parts we aren’t making progress.
11 Nov 2012, 12:40 pm
@wnbb-174:
The man is becoming more and more of a joke.
11 Nov 2012, 12:40 pm
@wnbb-174: Probably should read ‘want’ ne ,Ryan???
11 Nov 2012, 12:41 pm
@Blokkies-169:
you joke, on the secret i only share with heyneke, i’ve got fouche on there as well
very underated flyhalf and player
11 Nov 2012, 12:42 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-180: It doesn’t matter who replaces van Graan or Loubscher mate.
Rhule has told us all, that if you don’t focus on kicking, you aren’t going to be a Bok backline player – the end.
11 Nov 2012, 12:42 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178:
All good.
But according to some and you, the springboks A team only played in 2009 ……..lol
The only time it was an A team……lol sorry i keep laughing
11 Nov 2012, 12:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-170:
That sort of story blows my mind too.
When you are selected to represent your national side in whatever sport, you should be the finished article or as close to that as possible. And then still improve.
The Bok set-up is not a finishing school. Why then pick the player in the first place.
We can all see the natural flair of Rhule. Let him use that. Some guys just need 2m of space to move in and then it’s a case of “see you later.” Rhule is one of those.
11 Nov 2012, 12:45 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-180: our boys are being coached out of form in that camp
11 Nov 2012, 12:47 pm
As Meatloaf would sing: ‘These are the days that never ends’.We are stuck with Heyneke’s kuk coaching methods until 2015 or when he walks before that.
11 Nov 2012, 12:49 pm
@I am a stormer-186: That view is not shared among bok selectors, apparently being bigger trumps all, makes sense if all you require of ur players is run straight into their opponent at full steam
@Spiesisworthless1-180:
the boks are in a professional environment.
i agree on contracting a few outside consultants though. it worked for him before and could again. its those little things, like calder, louden, are we using similar technologies to what the other top teams are, training longer than the required number of hours and so on.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-184: Yes I know we are well and trulyfucked under Meyer, but he isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. I’m looking for any little consolation I can find in this nightmare scenario unfolding before our eyes. Maybe he’ll let some smart rugby fellas in if things get desperate enough and listen to what they have to say.
@I am a stormer-177:
No doubt about that.
@BokkeYouBeauties-187: It’s like asking a dentist to perform a spinal fusion….
You can’t force certain qualities on a player just because YOU fancy those qualities.
In fact to make it easier for Meyer and the gatvol public, I reckon the stooopid twat should play Morne at 10, Lambie at 12, Jantjies at 13, Goosen at 11 and Louis Fouche at 14 with Zane running 15.
He wants a kickingfucking backline, he has it.
11 Nov 2012, 12:52 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-180: 100% agree.
It was also (one of) PDivvy’s big mistakes – tolerating average assistants.
Heineken needs to sweep clean and get some quality attach / back line coaches.
And while he’s at it, boot Louis Koen to touch as well. Goosen, Lambie and Jantjies have all kicked really well this year for their franchises – the moment they got to the Boks their kicking went to the dogs……
11 Nov 2012, 12:52 pm
‘We have to be humble, keep our feet on the
ground and learn from here. ……..we have no reason to be arrogant, not the way we played yesterday.
11 Nov 2012, 12:53 pm
As ek so na nama se kak kyk… Kry ek so lekker as kleinveldt gebliksem word… As zane geboo word…. As bafana verloor….
11 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193: By YOU, I meant Meyer, not YOU
HellthisMeyer is confusing me now, can’t even think straight anymore.
11 Nov 2012, 12:54 pm
Thank God for WP starting to win titles again.Really don’t know how other supporters going to get through the next three years with Heyneke at the helm of the Boks.
11 Nov 2012, 12:56 pm
Meyer is a weak coach in contrast to a strong coach. His weakness is effected through his weak selection criteria. The Bok team is playing weak rugby through being compromised by watered down weak ideology and favoritism.
I can’t see Meyer ever getting strong because his criteria for selection is based on very weak principles of selectivity.
Meyer scraped through yesterday as a result of captain De Villiers and vice captain Strauss with two reserve props and Louw and Vermeulen turning the tables through sheer will not to lose a game where loss looked eminent.
In short the players took charge of the situation and chucked Meyer’s weakness overboard and closed out a game they should have lost if Meyer was left to his own weak devices.
All these goddamn pathetic weak excuses that we are rebuilding and we’ve lost most of our strike force through injury or retirement or unavailability is just that, weak pathetic feeble excuses. With the correct coaching and the correct strategy and correct player selection this would be a very strong Bok team. The reason it is not is because the coach is weak and his criteria for favoring certain players over others in critical positions is weakening and compromising the strength of the team as a whole.
11 Nov 2012, 12:56 pm
Starting to dislike Meyer more and more. When will he learn we are already backward. Stuart Barnes says how the 6 nations is the 2nd tier but we aren’t far ahead of them. Rhules comment in Rapport sums it up, as does the selection of Morne and Kirchner. But then again when you appoint Ricardo Loubscher as your backline coach what should we expect.
11 Nov 2012, 12:57 pm
Pdv was a clown….. Without smit, matfield etc he would be a even bigger joke… Now there is a petition by some of the tikkoppe on facebook wanting pdv to replace heineke…. 165 members has joined…lol sure that will convince hoskins….
11 Nov 2012, 12:58 pm
@skopdiekan-199: Brilliant post Skop.In total agreement.
11 Nov 2012, 13:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-183:
You do realize that you are the only one who rate him at this stage…oh and Ludeke of course
@suffer_guy-196:
Eks bly ek kon help, ou balsak.
11 Nov 2012, 13:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193: Hahaha I love it!
Of course in that back line you would need Frans Steyn as your scummy.
I mean he has the biggest boot of the lot, so put him in the pozzie where he gets the ball first, right……
We’ll skop the living **** out of all comers, and hopefully Heineken will stop head butting his Motorolla
11 Nov 2012, 13:06 pm
@suffer_guy-201: I would be prepared to pay good money (and I might throw in a few of my better album collections as well) to see you sucking an oxygen mask.
11 Nov 2012, 13:07 pm
By: Rob Houwing, Sport24 chief writer
2012-11-11 10:05
Cape Town – Another commanding performance by open-side flank Francois Louw characterised South Africa’s come-from-behind 16-12 triumph over Ireland in Dublin on Saturday.
The English Premiership-based player has been a revelation since he rejoined the national set-up, increasingly proving an astute pick by coach Heyneke Meyer.
Louw was influential even while the Springboks were on the back foot in a pallid first half from them, and retained his prominence as they commendably seized a grip after half-time in what former captain John Smit lauded as an “unbelievable turnaround”.
Here’s how we rated the Boks:
Zane Kirchner 6.5
Still didn’t provide anything unexpected, but give him his due: importantly businesslike performance in a grim scrap. Positionally sound, and good competing under high ball.
JP Pietersen 6
Certainly came out breathing fire … perhaps just a little over-amped, actually? Stuck determinedly to defensive guns but a few little gremlins, plus unwelcome yellow card for early tackle.
Jaco Taute 6
Highly debatable selection ahead of in-form Juan de Jongh, but utility man showed far better technique and resolve on defence at No 13 than in last game against All Blacks.
Jean de Villiers 6.5
So-so first half, along with so many Boks, but rallied troops splendidly for the fightback and led by example with forceful ball-carries and crunching commitment in the tackle.
Francois Hougaard 5.5
Problematic first half, and left for dead once as Keith Earls flashed by him. Some improvement after break, it must be said. Jury still out over No 11 jersey, maybe?
Pat Lambie 6
Found it very hard to be assertive as Boks outsmarted and pressed back in first 40. Looked much better as momentum shifted, though has had better days with both place- and tactical kicking and confidence somehow didn’t seem wonderful.
Ruan Pienaar 7
Satisfying game on terrain pretty familiar to him. Took initiative nicely at times, which was slightly overdue, and rewarded with game’s only try at close quarters.
Duane Vermeulen 6.5
Got through a fair bit of unglamorous, perhaps often unspotted graft. Some key turnovers or determined “hold-ups” as well. Still await best of him at Test level, though?
Willem Alberts 6.5
One of better, more assertive Bok forwards in unproductive first half, with some trademark big hits and mini-surges. Came off 15 minutes early, job largely done, to facilitate fresh legs for run-in period.
Francois Louw 7.5
Another really illuminating Test by the Bath-based customer. Seriously hard-working on the deck, facilitating some turnovers, ace tackler and alert in cover-defence capacity as well.
Juandre Kruger 5.5
Ho-hum game from the Bulls man. Went missing in action at times, and not a significant lineout factor. Still, strong driving mauls are a pack effort so must have pulled some weight there.
Eben Etzebeth 7
Just kept his cool when things got tetchy, though like all good enforcers wasn’t ever going to be too far away! Showed off his great muscularity in close combat several times, and again excellent at pressurising or actually stealing opposition lineout ball.
Jannie du Plessis 6.5
This yeoman workhorse of 2012 is clearly tired – though still didn’t take any backward step at scrum-time. Wisely the first Bok to be subbed on 55 minutes. How about a day off against the Scots to be fresh for England?
Adriaan Strauss 7
Dominated his Irish (!) cousin Richardt in the keenly-awaited match-up at hooker. Did all basic chores professionally, and one or two forceful drives.
CJ van der Linde 6
Acceptable showing from the late call-up at loosehead prop, especially considering he so seldom plays full (or even fullish) matches these days. Helped stop some Irish mauling initiatives in their perky first half.
Subs with reasonable game-time:
Pat Cilliers 6.5
Accomplished enough in scrums when he entered fray on tighthead side. Big plus was cleanout lustre and urgency in tackle.
Heinke van der Merwe 6
One particularly promising scrum at loosehead, leading to morale-boosting penalty gain.
Marcell Coetzee 6.5
Threw himself about like Duracell bunny for 15 minutes; clearly desperate to bag a start again some time.
*Follow our chief writer on Twitter: @RobHouwing
Sport24
11 Nov 2012, 13:08 pm
@Blokkies-204: Howonearth could I forget THE Boot Frans Steyn……
Now that’s a whackline
11 Nov 2012, 13:09 pm
@Blokkies-204: LMFAO, nothing makes sense anymore.
11 Nov 2012, 13:12 pm
Can’t we convince Heyneken to apply for asylum in the UK after the English game???
11 Nov 2012, 13:13 pm
@suffer_guy-201: At least Div wont coach our players out of form, not that i want Divvy back, i want to leave the past in the past. However …Meyer is yet to prove to me that he is in any way better than Divvy.
11 Nov 2012, 13:13 pm
Sharkspedigree hou op so po3s wees … Gaan bietjie uit… Die vars lug sal jou goed doen
11 Nov 2012, 13:16 pm
Bokke…. How many injuries do we have… Schalk b, habana,bissie, beast, bekker, goosen, f steynEtc…. Pdv also had the following … Matfield, bakkies, fourie dup, j fourie… Even grant10 will do good with all those players
11 Nov 2012, 13:17 pm
@wnbb-206: yep, Louw was my man of the match too. Only loosie that really pitched up and gave a Springbok worthy performance. Marcel wasn’t bad either.
11 Nov 2012, 13:20 pm
@suffer_guy-211: Already been for a long run. Had a lovely breakfast in Stellies as well….so sorry old fella, for the next little while at least, my entertainment will consist of beating you up in an internet takedown…. No place else I would rather be.
11 Nov 2012, 13:22 pm
‘Duracell bunny’.Just as well Sharkslover and Puma left.
11 Nov 2012, 13:29 pm
@wnbb-215: Puma is being given stick on that other blog….about his blind adoration towards Lambie. He went in guns blazing after the test it seems, defend defend defend.
Some fella told him that if he punts Sharks players in the aggressive way he does, he must take the flack when they suck. Eish.
I thought of Puma when I read in an article what the Irish commentators apparently said about Lambie not offering anything or something to that effect…..
(I don’t mind Lambie, but the adoration got a little creepy…)
11 Nov 2012, 13:30 pm
@suffer_guy-212: I think for obvious reasons Heynecke would have been brilliant with Divvy’s springboks, and with Heynecke i would bet my house on it, that Smit would have played no part in the boks, possibly even as early as 2008. That said, i actually think Divvy would be a good match for our current crop.
11 Nov 2012, 13:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-216: I taped the game so I will definitely check that out as well as George Hook and Brent Pope’s take on the game.Hookie is a bit of an interesting character on this side of the world.
11 Nov 2012, 13:46 pm
So gepraat van ander websites,op voelmyhoring het ons keo vriend ,exkreniwp besluit dat dit so stil is dat dit beter is om kaalgat fotos van vrouens te plaas .Altyd gese dat daai ou ietwat van n perv is.
11 Nov 2012, 13:48 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-216:
hahaha. That is so funny. Puma getting put in his place. This is stalker material we are talking about. Lambie being referred to as Puma’s grandson!
He’ll be back here soon enough. And he will get a warm roasting, I mean reception!
11 Nov 2012, 13:50 pm
it was the worst match having De Villiers coaching Whites team, he should have rather let Meyer take that team and see what he could do with it., taking a team so set in its ways and trying to accommodate Smit at all or any cost was the worst thing for Pdv to try and achieve, he should have refused that post and rather bide his time, and had Meyer run with the 2008 Boks. De Villiers would have been far better with a fresh start and new players now than Meyer is who is needing to reassess and re learn everything he thought he knew when he took over this job.
11 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
@I am a stormer-220:
Yep, no wonder the poor kid has been looking so nervous since that thread.
11 Nov 2012, 14:02 pm
217 so mucth speculation about what he would have done, clearly hes not a very good coach.
11 Nov 2012, 14:09 pm
Amazing how some people get a kick out of dissing a very sweet man just because he rates a player and is expressive about it, and then take pleasure in the fact he is getting a hard time about it elsewhere. Vicious and unnecessary.
11 Nov 2012, 14:17 pm
@Treehugger-224:
disgusting is it not?
Heyneke getshammered even when the Boks win?
Provincialism is rife in SA.
11 Nov 2012, 14:20 pm
When you see Bulls supporters beginning to question Meyer on other rugby sites,then you know that we are in big kuk.
11 Nov 2012, 14:23 pm
Puma is a good oke but he’s so biased at one stage he was suggesting all xv sharks dynamite be in the boks and some of DHS for the bench.
Meyer is also biased – there were 3 wp players on the park for the boks – etsebeth, vermeulen and jdv.
Stormers won tge CC, have come top of tge s15 two years running with an 80% win record and they got 3 players on the field, one if which is completely wrong for 12.
It don’t take a genius to conclude 1+1 does not equal drie.
11 Nov 2012, 14:24 pm
It’s not about provincialism but a coach totally out of his depth at international level.
11 Nov 2012, 14:26 pm
@David-222:
You saw what you wanted to see and it’s your prerogative to have an opinion
However, it exposed your lack of rugby knowledge outside the Jonker/Joubert winning rugby prevails at WP/Stormers territory
Pienaar confiscated the flyhalf role no doubts following HM’s instructions which makes sense cnsidered he know the players, the Irish gameplan and the ground better than Lambie.
Lambie did well under the circumstances, interpretation of his expressions and body languish is subjective, again: you saw what you wanted to see
11 Nov 2012, 14:28 pm
Had a laugh reading Puma’s posts in RT.It’s just ‘damn’ and ‘bloody’ all over the show as he defends Lambie’s virtue.No man should take such an unhealthy interest in another man.
11 Nov 2012, 14:29 pm
@Treehugger-224: @Brigadier Van Zyl-225: The man is paid a ridiculous amount of money to manage our national team.
If he screws up the incredible opportunity he has been given due to Neanderthal thinking and idiotic decisions then he must expect to get hammered.
And I expect him to up his game quite frankly because he has bumbled blindly from one corner to another……..
I was truly stoked when he got the position but I have been mega disappointed in HM’s contribution so far. At least with Divvy we knew it was gonna go pear shaped. I expected more from Heyneke.
He has been a flop so far.
11 Nov 2012, 14:32 pm
@cab-227:
Yep,
It would been helpful if the Boks could get Jonker/Joubert/Peiper to ref their Tests, just like WP and the Stormers do
However, they had to win it without this time, tough luck
11 Nov 2012, 14:34 pm
Lambie is no carter and no michelak or goosen either.
Unfortunately he’s Most effective quality, distribution, has been completely handicapped by meyers instructions to HOOF when not in right half of field – which is not going to happen – way too consevative. Let them try play outside their own 22 and especially on halfway – but no – doer daar gaan hy..
11 Nov 2012, 14:34 pm
@skopdiekan-199:
what absolute shite.
Twakkie inherited a worldclass side that basically selected itself and fcked it up.
heyneke has had no continuety whatsoever to buildon coupled with the fact that he can’t catch a break injury wise. The latest being a loosehead prop part of the combination he could bank on.
You talk way to much rubbish, you grandstand here unchecked publishing hypotheticals as bonafide fact with an unmatched arrogance and poor attitude. Your basic understanding of management and leadership is laughably naive, a sure sign of someone who has never had to manage, lead and coach. Unfortunately the nature of a website such as this gives so many the opportunity to play proffessor superman and victimize someone who could never be here to defend himself and bydefault show up so many so quickly.
How brave and clever would many of these antagonists be, sitting in a room with the bok coach I wonder?
11 Nov 2012, 14:36 pm
@cane-133: You what, Cane? Since weather will not be a flooding of biblical proportions, given that Scots play pretty good underwater rugby, anything less than double digit win is not acceptable with any chosen team, period.
As for English, agree, they are masters of pulling down to their level, kudos to them. It will be harder task to beat them by double digits.
11 Nov 2012, 14:37 pm
@wnbb-230: Based on age difference, he may turn out to be his father.
11 Nov 2012, 14:39 pm
@Treehugger-224:
Stay above it, you know who are those guys
Fact is the Boks won a hard fought test where they played like the men possessed in the 2nd half,
11 Nov 2012, 14:41 pm
@Blokkies-231:
Seriously? Neanderthal thinking? Are you seriously qualified to be calling/assuming meyer is a neaderthal when analyzing his career.
The boks were playing shite long before he got here. He’s starting from scratch and has lost only 3 games this year and with a little more luck that could have been only 1.
I am sure he is terribly sorry his selections aren’t helping your superbru stats.
11 Nov 2012, 14:41 pm
@Hurricane-185: It’s alright, remember BH kept telling the last time Poms had an A team playing was back in 2003.
11 Nov 2012, 14:43 pm
@Blokkies-231: I was expecting a bit more from Meyer myself, have not written him off yet though.
Was referring to Puma about the dissing. So human to enjoy anothers misery and mock them, nothing to be proud of.
11 Nov 2012, 14:46 pm
@Nils-236: You never know,Nils.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-225:
HM gets it right now, but no denying he brought it onto himself earlier
Picking test players who are not good enough at the Super Rugby level (Jantjies, Mvovo, Chiliboi, Aplon) created huge expectations among the POCs while those players rewarded him with great performances: Mvovo at Perth and Jantjies at Soweto and that was only 2 months ago
Now he has the whole wagon load of aps screaming and yelling, hope he will not buckle
@Brigadier Van Zyl-234: I would coach this Bok team better than Meyer is doing and my selections would be better also
You are a Meyer apologist and a De Villiers antagonist and its pretty clear as daylight where that stupid warped sense of laager entrenched rationality is emanating from.. same place as it is emanating from this self confessed racist.. @Hondo-232: yours is identically the same observation
11 Nov 2012, 14:48 pm
238 gdam that’s rich from you okes tearing into twakkie snor dippy devilliers since game one.
Now all of a sudden it’s rebuilding when before the season started there were figures of 80% being bandied about – 80% liewe fok, tge only 80% figure we going to achieve is 80% hoofing.
Where’s de Jong? Why is taute, a fullback, being selected over a player who has been groomed for tge role, in outstanding form, and not being selected. Why are 3 wp playersbebg selected for the boks despite being overwhelmingly the best side in sa.
These are valid questions. What is going on here?
11 Nov 2012, 14:48 pm
@Hondo-237: yeah you thick prick treehugger is referring to puma and you and this other neanderthal idiot think she’s talking about your messiah who is collapsing in a heap as we speak.
11 Nov 2012, 14:50 pm
I don’t play Superbru. All I care about is that we have a coach who should be improving the way we play, but after almost a year in charge I reckon we have gone backwards.
He has not made 1 single good decision of his own accord – everything he has done has been reactive instead of proactive.
Meyer is playing a gameplan that is outdated, predictable and primitive, hence my Neanderthal comment. Maybe his way of playing worked for the Bulls 5 years ago, but I am still waiting for the Bokke under Meyer to put together 1 respectable performance. He is stuck in the past.
And don’t start bleating about injuries. That is part and parcel of being a coach. It’s the style of play (stampkar) that he has adopted that has resulted in so many losses ( and draws) NOT injuries.
11 Nov 2012, 14:50 pm
@wnbb-206:
Houwing calls Flo an astute selection on Meyer’s part? Hogwash. By his own admission, Flo (for me one of the best Boks this year) would have been 4th in line barring injury. And let’s not forget he picked Potgieter as well!
“We were very keen to give Siya Kolisi an opportunity on this tour, but he is also out injured. We opted for Francois because he is a specialist openside flanker, in the absence of Schalk, Heinrich and Siya, that can cover blindside and number eight as well, while he is also a very useful option in the lineout,” Meyer said
11 Nov 2012, 14:52 pm
Meyer is going to get hammered from pillar to post till he realizes this isn’t his little pet outing for his favorite little blue eyed wannabe’s he’s grooming into his sieg heil consciousness collective..
when he realizes this is the South African national rugby team he is in charge of and not his pet little Heyneke Meyer project for personal immortality that might be when the dawn opens up and he comes face to face with some overdue reality.
11 Nov 2012, 14:53 pm
Meyer could coach Leicester to anything worthwhile ,now they(SARU) expect him to coach the Boks to a WC title.Stupid idiots ,giving the position to a person with the surname Meyer!
11 Nov 2012, 14:53 pm
@wnbb-249: could not
11 Nov 2012, 14:54 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-238: Post 246 was in reply to your post 238.
By the way, I am not judging Heynekes whole career – I don’t care about that. I am judging his performance in the last 10 months, which as a Bokke supporter who pays to go to games and buys overpriced merchandise I have every right to do.
11 Nov 2012, 14:55 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-234:
Ahhh – the age old excuse of blaming the previous coach.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-238:
Followed swiftly by the we ALMOST one more games excuse.
And if SA is not capable of putting together a decent team with our MASSIVELY talented pool of resources, then I must be watching different franchises in the Super 15.
I mean, EVEN ZANE KIRCHNER could probably hold his own if our top 4 fullbacks were injured…….
Oh wait….
11 Nov 2012, 14:57 pm
What exactly is HMs playing style, what’s the tactics,his signature coaching prowess? One dimensional is treading on treason, simply, it’s assisting the opposition with a easier task to manage the game. Flat backline, flat footed receivers, one out crash n bash rugby, which only stunts the fitness levels of the vaunted SA pack, we all know that Alberts and Vermeulen can play for 80 minutes, but the intensity in their play warrants an early shuffle on the bench. Attacking strategies is lacking or non existent. Alot of reaction rather than proaction. His selections are shrouded in controversial tones. If HM goes, who would be the next in line? I know having a kiwi coach would be sacrilege, maybe a return to mr. mallet?! Three years to next RWC, last time SARU made a drastic change, it paid off and JW was a national hero after a croc load of you know what results. Dejavu?
11 Nov 2012, 14:58 pm
@skopdiekan-243:
I seriously question weather you could find dublin on a map never mind coach the boks there.
11 Nov 2012, 15:01 pm
@Vetkoek-247: Louw was just another knee jerk reactionary inclusion which Meyer has reluctantly been forced to recognize as absolutely necessary since his first squad had the likes of Potgieter, Spies, Coetsee, Kankowski and Alberts as his starting loosies.. and he never had any intention of including Brussow, his handling of Kolisi was pretty weak to say the least, as has been his handling of Jantjies, De Jongh and a couple others like Lambie and Daniel.
11 Nov 2012, 15:02 pm
Okes like Brig thinks that when we criticise Heyneke that we are personally insulting their father or grandfather .As fans we have the right to criticise our coaches if we are not happy.AC got criticised by WP supporters during the season as well.Shark coach ditto.The difference between bulls and other fans is the fact that other fans only see their coaches as coaches and not extension to their families.
11 Nov 2012, 15:04 pm
@skopdiekan-255:
and no matter how much he says so, I reckon Vermeulen would also have been out in the cold if his pet Spies was available for selection.
11 Nov 2012, 15:05 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-254: question all you like you stupid neanderthal moron.. I would teach stupid imbecilic white supremacist schmucks like you and your Heyneke moron messiah plenty about rugby.. as I would teach stupid imbecilic neanderthal idiotic white ingrained supremacist fuckheads like you about life… not that I would want to .. it would be a complete waste of my time and energy teaching idiotic pathetic morons like you anything worth any realistic value.
11 Nov 2012, 15:06 pm
@wnbb-256:
Meyer was so horribly exposed at Leicester that they happily parted ways with him as soon as the opportunity arose.
So apart from a period of about 3/4 years at the Bulls where he was fortunate to have some of the worlds best players available to him at a time when the rules meant skop en jag was the best gameplan available, what are his credentials?
11 Nov 2012, 15:09 pm
@cab-244:
come now Cab you have been blogging since 2003 or something, I expect more from you. Measuring a coach by how many selections he has in his side from the CC winning team? Seriously?
If Skalk was fit he would be there. so would bekker, habana, jaque fourie.
Calm yourself down. DeJong is an impact player and bench man because he covers 12 and 13. Everyone slams heyneke for “gameplan” and lack of excitement but then critisize him for not selecting the 1 center in the country who does never even look to make a pass. seriously?
Twakkie DeVilliers was a clown, that has historically been proven and recorded. We lost to Oz at home umpteen times with him in charge.Even that idiot Strauli didn’t do that.
11 Nov 2012, 15:13 pm
@Vetkoek-259: Absolutely.Let me tell you this,some or even you might criticise me for what I am going to say.Most expats around the world have to deal with personal tragedy back home at some stage of their lives but they stick it out no matter what.That excuse of Meyer suited both parties at the end of the day.
11 Nov 2012, 15:15 pm
Ok so let me see if I understand this:
When Divvy inherited a WC winning team and things didn’t go according to plan, it was his fault, and not that of the players. He must somehow have “uncoached” them or something.
Now when Heynecke takes over a team of lesser experienced players and they don’t do so well, then it’s the players’ faults?? These same players that amongst them have gotten to 3 of the last 3 Super Rugby finals of the last 3 years?
The fact is, the buck stops with him. He had more experienced players available, who had more tests under their belts but he didn’t choose them.
Then he tried to force them to play a style of Rugby that has seen it’s best days, and only changed his tune (thankfully) when defeat was staring him in the face.
I don’t dislike Heynecke on a personal level, but seriously, no one here can argue that he has been somewhat disappointing in many ways since he has taken over.
11 Nov 2012, 15:16 pm
@Vetkoek-259:
what shite, post it enough times and some ignorant will actually start using it as truth.
go check who meyer won the cc with in 2002 and follow the evolution of the players and team.
meyer was also only in charge of leicster for 1 calender month of the official season. 2 games both of which were won if memory serves me correctly.
Alan Solomens on the otherhand….he was chased out of there across the sea to ireland.
11 Nov 2012, 15:17 pm
@skopdiekan-258: Why can’t you just have a normal debate or conversation without blowing a gasket?
Half the stuff you say doesn’t even make sense.
Do you walk around talking to people like this in your normal day, or are you just a keyboard Chuck Norris?
11 Nov 2012, 15:19 pm
@Treehugger-224:
Tree, Puma left this highly esteemed and knowledgable forum with his tail between his legs because of an infatuation with a certain rugby player.
He ran into the comforting arms of an alternative forum only to have the same thing happen to him.
I find that amusing. A weird sort of amusing.
11 Nov 2012, 15:19 pm
@Vetkoek-259: Louden carried Meyer.. he is now finding himself in the cauldron of international rugby WAY out of his depth and it is showing bad..
The team that ran on yesterday were like a bunch of deer in the headlight idiots not knowing which way was up or down.. and Ireland exposing them for all they were worth as a totally clueless coach less nonentity of brain deficient imbeciles..
Luckily the players took the bull by the horns under De Villiers leadership and Louw and Vermeulen and the 2 reserve props turned the tide and the sinking ship around second half..
It had blow all to do with Meyer and everything to do with the fact that the Bok gees was under threat of collapse and a loss here would have been insurmountable as a psychological devastation to overcome. and Jean De Villiers with some of his senior players surrounding him.. most notably those he was familiar with changed the momentum by going for broke when penalties were offered in kickable range he decided to go for the try instead.. which fortunately through sheer will of intent.. came about.
11 Nov 2012, 15:23 pm
@Blokkies-264: tell that to these deficient supremacist morons who think their white backsides smell like cherry blossom konfyt.. I call a racist punk a racist punk in whatever language they need to hear the unadulterated truth.
11 Nov 2012, 15:23 pm
They can say what about PdV but he never only blamed the players for defeats unlike Meyer who blames everyone under the sun except him.Meyer wants to be perfect but he suffers from the same sickness that those type suffers with;the can’t except criticism.You can categorise Bulls supporters like that as well who absolutely believe that they support the perfect rugby team..
11 Nov 2012, 15:27 pm
@skopdiekan-266: Wow that is so much more readable than your incomprehensible rankings.
A clear, balanced view. Nice one, skop, this personality is definitely the more favorable one
11 Nov 2012, 15:28 pm
rankings = rantings
11 Nov 2012, 15:30 pm
@wnbb-268:
…yeah, right.
Twakkie never once blamed skalk for his eye gouge?
hilouriously he said it was “all part of the game”.
whom has Meyer actually blamed for defeats?
11 Nov 2012, 15:32 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-263:
He also watched the Bulls get STUFFED in Super rugby as a coach.
You see, what both you and Meyer fail to understand (and I apologise for speaking on behalf of the majority of Bok fans here), is that we are not prepared to wait 5 years for him to get it right. This isn ‘t the bulletjies we are talking here.
It’s a team made up of the BEST that SA has to offer. And given that we have been pretty up front and centre as a country in the Super rugby champs for the last however many years, this BS excuse that he is missing key players just doesn’t hack it.
He will blame everyone and everything, before he assesses whether he may just be getting his selections and tactics wrong.
Zane Kirchner and Morne Steyn anyone????
11 Nov 2012, 15:33 pm
@Vetkoek-257:
That is not the case at all. HM rates Vermeulen highly. And he knows Spies’s weaknesses only too well. I think we all do. Spies played against England because Vermeulen was still injured.
@stormersboy-262:
I have been one to give Heyneke a bit of space. to see how things unravel. I remember saying when his first squad was announced – packed full of Blue Bulls – was that some of these are going to fall off the bus. Hate to say it but injuries to certain players were fortuitous eg Spies and Potgieter. Others like JJ Engelbrecht and Kolisi can be seen with different eyes depending on your provincialism of course. There was one good decision and one poor decision.
Much criticism of this last selection has been commented on with which I agree. eg JDJ at 13. Taute at 15 or definitely on the bench. M Steyn off the bench to be replaced by Elton. That sort of thinking.
The Boks need a decent win against Scotland. The AB’s, in an hour’s time, will show us how it should be done.
11 Nov 2012, 15:36 pm
@Blokkies-269: yeah I apologize for going over the top but its an unfortunate scenario that rugby in this country is distinctly divided by ingrained racist ideological entrenched views and opinions.. it makes my blood boil when I see these pitiful ingrained white is right goddamn morons perpetuate a sick infested ideology in a spectrum of life which is supposed to be an uplifting unifying ideal for everyone in this country yet they want to revert this trash back to the stone age idiotic ideological infatuation of their ingrained upbringing and supremacist viewpoints.
I will kick and thrash like hell whenever I see even a hint of it expressed as righteousness and when they insinuate that anyone with a dark complexion is devoid of intelligence or capability or capacity to play or coach rugby then they will get it in the teeth with as much venom as I can possibly muster.
11 Nov 2012, 15:37 pm
@Vetkoek-272:
well that is also an untruth. The Bulls were already on the UP superrugby wise from 2003. Check the logs.
And the boks are probably back at No.2 after this weekend.
So nobody is actually waiting 5 years are they now? In fact after only 10 games in charge with any number of debutants this year we are already better placed than the same time last year with a vastly inferior squad availible this year.
11 Nov 2012, 15:41 pm
The only quote I’m interested in seeing from Grampa Simpson is ‘I finally realise whatacunt I am. Here’s my resignation’. Really, of what value is any other soundbite?
11 Nov 2012, 15:42 pm
@Vetkoek-272:
Also, if you actually did any thinking before posting you would realize that the boks are woefully short of experienced players and I am not even reffering to “test match” experience.
Hence the continued selection of Kirchener…who hasn’t actually done anything wrong by the way. Certainly a more attacking threat than Montgomery ever was from 2004-.
And Morne who he had hoped could bring some more stability and experience…but when it became blatantly obvious that morne needed bench time he wasn’t selected.
11 Nov 2012, 15:42 pm
@Soda-276:
very classy
11 Nov 2012, 15:43 pm
Also, backwards into what exactly? That would imply the Boks were worse before HM. Which they weren’t. He takes them three steps backwards every time he coaches them. In fact, they probably spent the first 40 minutes undoing what the assfuckingtwat did to them during the week.
11 Nov 2012, 15:44 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-275:
HM has goals.
He wants the Boks to have an 80% win record.
He also wants that no.1 ranking.
Which is fair enough. Everybody needs stretch targets.
But this is not going to happen in his 4 year tenure. The best he can hope for is to narrow the gap between us and the AB’s.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-275:
So what about 2000, 2001 and 2002, when he was Bulls head coach?
Or have you conveniently left the 3 years the bulls finished 11th, 12th and 12th under his coaching out?
Add your 2003, 2004 6th place “on the up” finishes and you have 5 years of waiting, buying and recruiting, which is not a luxury at the Boks.
And we may move to second, because the Aussies (who beat us) are WOEFUL. In fact, I think the only people who should be more embarrassed than us after yesterday are the shackle-draggers, except that when they say they are missing key-players through injury, it’s a valid excuse, because they have about 1/100th of our playing pool.
@Soda-279: You must be real fun to be around……
@Brigadier Van Zyl-278: Sometimes the truth can never sound classy.
11 Nov 2012, 15:46 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-277: I wonder if Kirchner would have all this kak thrown at him had he not played for the Bulls?
11 Nov 2012, 15:46 pm
@I am a stormer-273: Yes they will
11 Nov 2012, 15:47 pm
Pdv rated lobberts and earl rose… Enough said… He is clueless… A clown
11 Nov 2012, 15:48 pm
@Vetkoek-281:
those woeful ozzies are the same ones that took us 6 in a row. At altitude nogal under Twakkie.
My point is that you should not try and blame the boks for suddenly playing kak, they have been playing kak for quite some time already. The only difference is that the new coach has to start from zero to fix it and with such limited experience currently availible to him everytime one of his new selections goes down injured it is all the way back to zero again.
11 Nov 2012, 15:50 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-284:
well,exactly.
It will be interesting next season if the bulls come back strong.
11 Nov 2012, 15:50 pm
soda speaks my kinda language.. call a spade a fckng spade and get done with it.. wtf is all this pussyfooting around pretending we watching a bloody self acclaimed genius going around in circles putting one foot forward and two steps backward every time he tries to learn how to do the international rugby coaching foxtrot.
the man is confusing and bamboozling himself while he’s trying to confuse and bamboozle the rest of the country.. enough with the confusion and the self delusional bamboozling.. get rid of the dunce already.
11 Nov 2012, 15:53 pm
Kirchner is a very weak fullback.. anyone incapable of seeing this much don’t know very much about rugby.. seems the coach is exactly in that category of imbecilic incapacity of being unable to see clearly also.
11 Nov 2012, 15:58 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-277:
Sorry pal, but an Argie side with WAY less experience than our boys pummeled the Welsh.
France who were without Dusattoir and Harinordaquy also put out one of their least experienced teams in years, thrashed the Aussies.
The Boks starting line-up yesterday had a total of 428 caps between them. That’s an average of almost 30 caps per player. Only 4 of the starting team had less than 10 caps.
Your and Meyer’s inexperience card is no trump I’m afraid. Not even close.
The all blacks starting 15 today has 556 caps between them, but that includes 343 caps between 4 players…..
And I will bet you a case of beer they don’t sneak through by 4 points. And if they do, I will bet the experience excuse won’t be waved around or accepted very readily.
So before you tell others to think before they speak, maybe you better consider taking your own advice.
11 Nov 2012, 16:05 pm
@I am a stormer-280: Biggest contribution Meyer can make to SA rugby is to implement a central contracting system, if he manages that he will have safeguarded the Springboks future.
Right now he is talking about avoiding a massive setback…when in fact in coaching terms he IS the massive setback.
11 Nov 2012, 16:05 pm
Brigadier
I get shrill when completely crazy selections are made – de Jong should not be playing off tge bench (ESP with frans and jacque unavailable) -these are terrible rugby and political selections.
The same thing went for pdv when he selected smit over Bismarck – these coaches get blinded by favouritism and in the process severely handicap the boks, make everyone unhappy and put themselves under the most unecessary pressure.
11 Nov 2012, 16:08 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-287:
Jake White took over from Rudolph “33%” Straueli.
And promptly thrashed Ireland and won the Tri-Nations at his first attempt.
With a team that had at least 12 players in Straueli’s last squad, including Bakkies, Matfield, FDP, John Smit and a few more key players.
11 Nov 2012, 16:09 pm
@skopdiekan-199: reasoned post
11 Nov 2012, 16:11 pm
@Vetkoek-294:
P.S. The boks that PDV got in his first year in charge were oozing experience, but came last in their first tri nations under his eye.
And he got as much flak for that.
He did however win it pretty convincingly in 2009.
11 Nov 2012, 16:17 pm
@cab-293: De Jongh didn’t even play off the bench .. he didn’t make the field
and neither did Steyn who was a wasted place on the bench .. only there for insurance policy in case Lambie bombed out badly.
and neither did Brits.. all the hooha about Brits eventually being a Bok and bringing his unique game breaking style didn’t materialize
The 2 most telling contributions off the bench came from the 2 props who were almost the catalyst for the turnaround in Cilliers and Heinke.. who would not have even been around had Beast not cried off with heart palpitations.. so Heinke being included was one more case of fortuitous selection through default and not by any Heyneke Meyer wisdom or strategic ingenuity.. just like Louw before and couple other knee jerk reactionary realigned thinking after his first ideas proved to be very weak selections.
11 Nov 2012, 16:19 pm
@Treehugger-240: schadenfreude
11 Nov 2012, 16:28 pm
265@I am a stormer……….Puma left this highly esteemed
punish yourself….highly esteemed and knowledgeable
and knowledgable forum………..:lol:
11 Nov 2012, 16:30 pm
Yeah Brits heinie and cilliers would be my selection for Scotland – why don’t he keep his safety options for bench and let’s actually pick some players hungry to take it to them.
The non-selection of de Jong is without doubt tge worst stupidest omission of tge last 2 years -play him – at least give him a gdam chance.
It’s pure lack of faith in an outstanding player of colour.
11 Nov 2012, 16:30 pm
298@ryecatcher….can’t pronounce that word, never mind know what it means
11 Nov 2012, 16:33 pm
@Treehugger-301: Rejoicing in the
misery/misfortune of others.
11 Nov 2012, 16:34 pm
@Hondo-229:
My comment had less to do with Lambies performance on saturday, as it was a dig at Puma and SLs unhealthy adoration of him and SBs comment about stalking.
11 Nov 2012, 16:34 pm
You really have to question Heyneke’s ability as a coach.He was in charge of a bulls team with good players who were suited to that Skop en jaag rugby of that era.Fdp,Matfield and other senior players basically were in charge of that Bulls team.Heyneke got a weak mentality and that’s a fact.He can’t see that SA rugby needs to move with the times as this Bulls Skop en jaag rugby is totally outdated.
11 Nov 2012, 16:37 pm
@David-303: Useless trying to explain something to a tree stump.Contrary to popular belief,they don’t have human qualities.
11 Nov 2012, 16:49 pm
Why is de Jong not given tge benefit of the doubt – what sort if insult is it to pick a fullback from completely ubschrity over a player in scintillating form.
I find it completely bizarre that SA who’ve clearly had problems in breaking the line – fail to pick the most dangerous attacking centre in SA – it completely beggars belief – it is every hit as stupid as devilliers selection of smit over tge in-form Bismarck
WTF it with these coached who are completely unable to select form when it shows itself as clearly as daylight.
De Jong gives up absolutely nothing to taur in any respect – de Jong is a centre who right now is at his peak instEad meyer I’d trying to grow a rookie fullback into an unfamiliar position at test level – this can only be explained in terms of ideological bias – it stinks.
11 Nov 2012, 16:53 pm
@wnbb-305:
Actually when he isn’t trying to annoy with his “quota” and ref comments, Hondo can be quite a perceptive blogger. The problem is trying to work out when that is.
11 Nov 2012, 16:54 pm
I actually would not be surprised if de Jong is picked and makes a couple of clean linebreaks in his 1st game, what’s the bet
it’s about time cilliers was picked the workrate oftge pack will go through the roof.
11 Nov 2012, 17:00 pm
1. Heinke 2. Brits 3. Cilliers 4. Flip 5. Etsebeth 6. Flo 7. WA 8. Vermeulen
9. Houg 10. Pienaar/lambie 11. Rhule 12. De Jong 13. JP 14. JP/JdV 15. Taute
11 Nov 2012, 17:01 pm
@cab-306: Couldn’t agree more
11 Nov 2012, 17:01 pm
so much of emo gnashing over the rapport article?
since when does a player in the back three get away with not being able to kick?
11 Nov 2012, 17:03 pm
lambie suddenly had a different kicking style yesterday.
have never seen him take a half step back first.
hope louis koen is not ******** him around.
11 Nov 2012, 17:10 pm
Hi all,
Missed the game last night, caught a horrible 10 minutes in the first half though.
Can someone explain to me the comments regarding JdV and Strauss swapping captaincy etc.?
11 Nov 2012, 17:15 pm
South Africa – 15-Percy Montgomery (21-
Francois Steyn 58), 14-JP Pietersen, 13-Jean
de Villiers, 12-Adrian Jacobs, 11-Bryan
Habana (22-Conrad Jantjes 48), 10-Butch
James, 9-Fourie du Preez (20-Enrico
Januarie 60), 8-Pierre Spies (18-Danie
Rossouw 76), 7-Juan Smith, 6-Schalk Burger
(19-Luke Watson 60), 5-Victor Matfield, 4-
Andries Bekker, 3-CJ van der Linde (17-
Brian Mujati 77) 2-Bismarck du Plessis (16-
Adriaan Strauss 76), 1-Tendai Mtawarira.
the above team got nilled @ Newlands in 2008
“pdv inherited a world cup winning team” that had consistently languished at number 3 in the rankings and had never beaten new zealand with any sort of consistency.
in fact a lot of these world cup winners were either disgustingly off-form or injured in 2008 but hey it was divvy’s fault that they lost.
11 Nov 2012, 17:21 pm
@Transformation-314: Try tell Tacitus that. We were never the best team in the World bar 2009 under PDV.
11 Nov 2012, 17:44 pm
302@ryecatcher….aaaaah, thanks, and now say it for me so I don’t stuff that up when verbalizing the word. Lol.
11 Nov 2012, 22:49 pm
I think HM needs the education
11 Nov 2012, 22:55 pm
Jake White won us the WC and still many on here cant stand him. SA rugby supporters are firstly impatient, second lack long term memory, thirdly couldnt recognise a good coach if one hit them on the head.
11 Nov 2012, 22:56 pm
Who the hell would really want to coach SA withso many idiot supporters
12 Nov 2012, 01:24 am
Our locks and loosies should be:
Locks: Etzebeth, Alberts
Loosies: Deon Fourie, Flo and Vermeulen
12 Nov 2012, 01:31 am
@j59-320:
That combo would be incredible. Good call.
12 Nov 2012, 05:08 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-179:
I think you missing the point altogether, where exactly does it say that Meyer wants him to kick? Reality is a modern day player playing anywhere in the backline should be able to kick, just like a center should be able to pass both way and a #10 be able to kick with both feet…if they want to get anywhere anyway.
Now I have seen very little of Rhule but I can only assume he can’t kick or at least can’t kick with any conviction. So let us look at a scenario where he catches the ball close to his own tryline with little support and 3 opposition players hairing down on him, would you like him to:
1. Run at the opposition because that is what he does best, get caught and either turn over the ball or give a way a penalty or;
2. Kick a woer-woer skop that may travel 5 meters either just across the sideline or even worse infield or;
3. Assess his options and punt the ball at least outside his own 25m area?
You see, learning to kick may not be about having to kick but rather having the option if needed. The thing is in the professional era he WILL be targeted if opposition knows he can’t kick and then what happens to the man.
12 Nov 2012, 05:17 am
@skopdiekan-243:
Just give it up…
• 87.skopdiekan:
5 Nov 2012, 23:38 pm
well I reckon Meyer is going to lose with playing JdV and Taute at center.. he is going to get one more fat lesson of comeuppance to his pathetic ignorant lack of any rugby ingenuity ego that he has already shown in no uncertain terms through the first year of his apprenticeship… he has fck’d up far more times than he has made good.. every time he makes a dumb selection it stuffs him straight back in his prejudicial eyes.. and yet he still hasn’t learned it yet..
Lots more…
• 383.skopdiekan:
7 Nov 2012, 22:14 pm
I’m rooting for Ireland to fck this moron up
• 394.skopdiekan:
7 Nov 2012, 22:32 pm
Boks should lose on Saturday..
• 329.skopdiekan:
8 Nov 2012, 22:45 pm
Boks going to get fck’d up Saturday and Meyer is going to bedank
Guess what, they WON!
12 Nov 2012, 06:31 am
@Transformation-314: Sure- disgustingly off form after having played the best rugby in the world the year before.
Whatever.
It was lack of coaching mate. PdV was just not a good technical coach. He did not have a clue. C’mon – even the players said it in their autobiographies. They took over coaching. He just man managed and spin doctored.
12 Nov 2012, 06:46 am
@Slartibartfast-323:
Oh that’s just old toothless Chihuahua… he’s been tjanking out incorrect predictions and ‘coulda/woulda/shoulda’s’ for years now in between his drooling vitriol… not even worth a kick in the ribs these days…
12 Nov 2012, 06:50 am
@Slartibartfast-322:
Yep you only have to look at the AB’s to see that the modern day winger needs all the skills of a full-back… Brian, JPP have that Hougaard’s kicking is improving and Mvovu and Rhule are being worked on in that dept… the latter 3′s positional play is also pretty far off the mark still…
Really not rocket-science… but then some aren’t the most objective nor knowledgeable…
12 Nov 2012, 06:52 am
@bryce_in_oz-325:
I think he stopped taking his medication though, he has been way over the top even for him.
12 Nov 2012, 07:00 am
@j59-320: 100%!!!!!
12 Nov 2012, 07:00 am
@Slartibartfast-327:
The same thing happened to Sam his brother with the onset of Dementia towards the end…
http://www.snopes.com/photos/animals/uglydog.asp
12 Nov 2012, 07:15 am
The team should be:
1. Beast (Pat)
2. Biz (Schalk)
3. Heinke
4. Alberts
5. Etsebeth
6. Fourie
7. Louw
8 Duane
9. Hougaard
10. Goosen (Lambie)
11. Rhule
12. Steyn (Jordaan)
13. De Jongh
14. JP
15. Taute
12 Nov 2012, 07:24 am
@bryce_in_oz-329:
Hehehe I can see the family resemblance there…
12 Nov 2012, 07:43 am
@garth-330: Why play Hougard, Pienaar was brilliant on Saturday second half, took control of the game.
12 Nov 2012, 09:24 am
@SjamBok-324: the Springboks entered the World Cup ranked FOURTH in the IRB world rankings, now tell me how does that translate to “having played the best rugby in the world the year before.”