Meyer: We avoided massive setback

Heyneke Meyer admitted the Springboks would have been ‘three steps backwards’ had they lost against Ireland but stressed the importance of victory in the education of his team.

The Springboks trailed 12-3 at half-time with very little evidence that they would turn it around in the manner they did. However, there was an inspired effort in the second half to seal a victory that Meyer said has significance beyond the obvious.

‘Our performance in the first half was unacceptable and I can’t tell you my words to the team. There were too many penalties, we couldn’t get going. But I’m proud of this team. At nine points down we showed a lot of character to come back. We’ve learnt a lot from tonight,’ Meyer said.

‘This means more than when we beat Australia at home scoring five tries. It was a tough week Beast was out, Gurthro failed another fitness test today, Heinke hasn’t trained with us and in the first three minutes Jannie was injured and wanted to come off. We were under the sword. It was the worst half I’ve ever seen this year.

‘I was desperate at one point. I want us to do well, especially for the supporters back home. There could have been a lot of excuses, with almost a whole team out and a lot of guys that moved on. But we don’t want to offer excuses. Losing would have been a huge setback for me and the team. It would have been three steps backwards for us.’

Meyer singled out his young players for praise, explaining that their composure and ability to execute instructions was central to the win. He added that there has been patent progress from June to this point.

‘We would have lost from this situation at the beginning of the year. What we did in the second half was special,’ he said.

Captain Jean de Villiers echoed Meyer’s sentiments. ‘It’s one thing to be selected for the Springboks but more difficult to put in a performance worthy of wearing a Springbok jersey. The first half wasn’t. The response was fantastic,’ he said.

‘In Mendoza [against Argentina] we were in the same situation but we failed to respond. I said at the beginning of the tour that we needed to take it to the next level and I think we did that tonight.’

Meyer, however, stressed that perspective is needed when assessing where they stand at present.

‘This is the type of game we needed to win. There were a lot of soft moments this year, but in the second half here there were none. But I what to make it clear that a more highly-rated Springbok team beat Ireland a couple of years back, and then lost to Scotland,’ he said.

‘We have to be humble, keep our feet on the ground and learn from here. Scotland are waiting and they’re a good team. I can tell, though, the team took a lot of confidence from this.’

By Ryan Vrede, in Dublin

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

333 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

• 151.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

@nama1-145:

Interestingly- the EXACT same thing happened in the France – Aus game, but the tackle wasn’t as big. No yellow there, just a penalty.

• 152.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-147:

well in that case, congratulations :lol:

@wnbb-148:
    that’s the spirit :lol:

• 153.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1-145:

Your mates were right.
    It was early, high, dangerous and no arms.
    Yellow was fine… and i am a bok supporter.

• 154.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-146:
    Oh, was that the reason.

The guys said it was because he did not use his arm and I disagreed.

• 155.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-96:
    Why do you think Jantjes is yet to be tested but Goosen is has probably played less test match rugby but he is your first choice. Really does not make sense at all.

• 156.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-145: Yellow in my opinion.On more than one occasion he charged with his shoulder as well.Maybe developing a technical issue with his tackling.Probably due to the BB method of coaching.Just my opinion.

• 157.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-142:
    i guess being a bok coach wil always be one of those; ‘you can please some of the people all of the time…’ type of positions.

it will matter not what he does or who he selects as players or coaches.

some or all of the people will at some time or other find fault with him.

• 158.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-145: I had no problem with that yellow, must be honest. At that stage the Bok players frustration was boiling over. We were being blown off the park, our kicking game (hahahahaha) was indeed a fuckingjoke, and the players were rattled as all hell – with discipline declining FATS. JPP was simply ‘acting’ out on some of that frustration, and one could see the ‘cynical’ nature of what he did quite clearly IMHO.
    I don’t blame him……had he not done something silly, one of our other players would have at that stage.
    The players at that stage were unrecognisable as themselves……the ‘kick kick kick’ Lambie I saw in that 1st half was a stranger, a total stranger. And apart from Eben and Strauss, that 1st half was as woeful as it gets, man for man.

All I know is, when I read Rhule’s comment about how he has been told to improve his kicking game in the Rapport this morning, I have zerofuckinghopeatall for Meyer and his moegoes.

• 159.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-152: Yeah.If you say so.As long as you are happy that the Boks and the Blue Bulls are in a rebuilding phase for the next 5-10 years,I am happy for you. :D

• 160.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@Vetkoek-137: Shot bru, but I can only accept the position if I am allowed to play my natural game……no skop en jaag k@k :p

• 161.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-153:
    Prove that we can view the same thing and come to different conclusions.

See IAAS and Bakkies’ response. :lol:

• 162.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158: Read that same story.Is that all these farkers are teaching in that camp?Kick the farking leather of the ball and you will become a great Bok.Ffs I give up.

• 163.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155:
    honestly hurri, the boy is the article almost complete.
    watch him play, its in the little deft things he does in addition to the big things where you can tell he’s got the goods.

very, very composed even in the most intense pressure situations. you would never see a look on his face like the ones patrick and elton have shown under pressure.

barring injury and bad fortune, those are two potential greats of the game in the making imo (goosen and pollard).

pat and elton will either be seen as good to so so, but never great fh’s in time.

• 164.nama1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-158:
    I read that article.

Unfreakinbelievable!!!

No problem in developing players’ all round ability but to make it a prerequisite for selection when the player has so much else to offer, is just freakin crazy.

• 165.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1-161:

I saw that.
    So many people so many opinions- check #158 above-i agree with that opinion.

Proteas looking good at the cricket- only thing that bugs me is their scoring rate – less than 3 to the over while the Aussies are going at over 4.
    But Kallis is the King – that is to just about everyone except to ET and his “cousins” :)

• 166.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155: Absolutely.Welcome to the weird and wonderful world of Heyneke Meyer.

• 167.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-159:
    dont be an idiot..!..
    4-8 years max

• 168.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-163:
    Well yet untested in international rugby.
    Sound too much like the Enblish and there young #10 only to fail big time in international rugby.
    Lets hope he is not a sicknote and atleast see what he can do against the best….. and we all know what team that is. :-)

• 169.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155: The part that doesn’t make sense is that Steyn is on his list ;-)

• 170.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@nama1-164: Mate, I was so upset when I read that at 5.45am this morning, I actually went running to calm down. I was in a filthy mood from last nights joke of a performance.
    Woke up, watched cricket pretty happily, Rapport was delivered at 5:30 am. Rottie brought it in, tore it, gave it to me….straight to the sport pages I go as usual….and decided to read the Rhule article 1st, as a ‘feel good’ story, and then I read that.

Even the Aussie wickets I saw tumbling after my run did little to make me smile.

That comment from Raymond, has sealed the deal for me.

• 171.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-166:
    Why thank you.

• 172.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155: I still don’t get the Goosen paraphernalia that has gripped SA. Still, If Elton did make the 23 for yesterday, i couldn’t blame coach for not giving him a run on, the game didn’t play out that way, Patrick needed a full 80

• 173.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Blokkies-169:
    Yeah i think he will always make Bakkies and HMs list…..the world of HM is so confusing. :-)

• 174.wnbb: Reply to this comment

But I what to make it clear that a more highly-rated Springbok team beat Ireland a couple of years back, and then lost to Scotland,’ he said. Is that a small dig at PdV?If it is than I believe the pressure is beginning to get to him.

• 175.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

and to think we were all kakking ourselves at halftime

what the F were the ozzie supporters thinking at half time

the look on some of the ozzie players faces

and then

the whislte goes, full time

BOOM

• 176.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-165:
    Cricket looking good. Hope we can get them out before tea tomorrow.

The Aus run rate is a bit inflated by Kleinveld going for 9 rpo in his 3 overs. No doubt the Aus target him because his on his debut. Hopefully he can come back tomorrow and take a wicket or two to get his confidence up.

• 177.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-165:

Jacques Kallis and Gary Sobers are the 2 best all-rounder cricketers to have EVER played the game.

• 178.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-168:
    you mean a springbok A versus springbok B test?
    you’re too kind, hurri

• 179.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Actually, let me post it word for word:

“Ek verkies om met die bal te hardloop en is nie op skopwerk ingetsel nie. Daar is EGTER VIR MY GESE dat ek sal MOET kan skop en ek werk nou daaraan”.

People…anyone reading this and feeling warm and fuzzy about it, has obviously p # ssed in his/her pants.

This is shy te scary stuff we are reading here….

One of the most gifted natural finishers in SA, being ordered to kick, or ELSE………????????

Read his words carefully….

• 180.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136: Dude, we’re not going anywhere until Meyer replaces Van Graan and Loubscher. We’ve already stalled and progress is impossible with particularly those two in the mix amplifying the Boks traditional weaknesses. They wont suddenly become decent attacking/back-line coaches. Meyer needs to bite the bullet and start consulting some professionals and recruit some quality backup. That’s how he turned the Bulls around.

Until the Boks are in a professional environment coached by guys who don’t make them worse than the sum of their parts we aren’t making progress.

• 181.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-174:

The man is becoming more and more of a joke.

• 182.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-174: Probably should read ‘want’ ne ,Ryan???

• 183.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Blokkies-169:
    you joke, on the secret i only share with heyneke, i’ve got fouche on there as well

very underated flyhalf and player

• 184.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-180: It doesn’t matter who replaces van Graan or Loubscher mate.
    Rhule has told us all, that if you don’t focus on kicking, you aren’t going to be a Bok backline player – the end.

• 185.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-178:
    All good.
    But according to some and you, the springboks A team only played in 2009 ……..lol
    The only time it was an A team……lol sorry i keep laughing

• 186.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-170:

That sort of story blows my mind too.

When you are selected to represent your national side in whatever sport, you should be the finished article or as close to that as possible. And then still improve.

The Bok set-up is not a finishing school. Why then pick the player in the first place.

We can all see the natural flair of Rhule. Let him use that. Some guys just need 2m of space to move in and then it’s a case of “see you later.” Rhule is one of those.

• 187.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-180: our boys are being coached out of form in that camp

• 188.wnbb: Reply to this comment

As Meatloaf would sing: ‘These are the days that never ends’.We are stuck with Heyneke’s kuk coaching methods until 2015 or when he walks before that.

• 189.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-186: That view is not shared among bok selectors, apparently being bigger trumps all, makes sense if all you require of ur players is run straight into their opponent at full steam :-)

• 190.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-180:
    the boks are in a professional environment.

i agree on contracting a few outside consultants though. it worked for him before and could again. its those little things, like calder, louden, are we using similar technologies to what the other top teams are, training longer than the required number of hours and so on.

• 191.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-184: Yes I know we are well and trulyfucked under Meyer, but he isn’t going anywhere anytime soon. I’m looking for any little consolation I can find in this nightmare scenario unfolding before our eyes. Maybe he’ll let some smart rugby fellas in if things get desperate enough and listen to what they have to say.

• 192.nama1: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-177:
    No doubt about that.

• 193.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@BokkeYouBeauties-187: It’s like asking a dentist to perform a spinal fusion….
    You can’t force certain qualities on a player just because YOU fancy those qualities.

In fact to make it easier for Meyer and the gatvol public, I reckon the stooopid twat should play Morne at 10, Lambie at 12, Jantjies at 13, Goosen at 11 and Louis Fouche at 14 with Zane running 15.
    He wants a kickingfucking backline, he has it.

• 194.Blokkies: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-180: 100% agree.

It was also (one of) PDivvy’s big mistakes – tolerating average assistants.

Heineken needs to sweep clean and get some quality attach / back line coaches.

And while he’s at it, boot Louis Koen to touch as well. Goosen, Lambie and Jantjies have all kicked really well this year for their franchises – the moment they got to the Boks their kicking went to the dogs……

• 195.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

‘We have to be humble, keep our feet on the
    ground and learn from here. ……..we have no reason to be arrogant, not the way we played yesterday.

• 196.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

As ek so na nama se kak kyk… Kry ek so lekker as kleinveldt gebliksem word… As zane geboo word…. As bafana verloor….

• 197.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193: By YOU, I meant Meyer, not YOU ;) HellthisMeyer is confusing me now, can’t even think straight anymore.

• 198.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Thank God for WP starting to win titles again.Really don’t know how other supporters going to get through the next three years with Heyneke at the helm of the Boks. :D

• 199.skopdiekan: Reply to this comment

Meyer is a weak coach in contrast to a strong coach. His weakness is effected through his weak selection criteria. The Bok team is playing weak rugby through being compromised by watered down weak ideology and favoritism.

I can’t see Meyer ever getting strong because his criteria for selection is based on very weak principles of selectivity.

Meyer scraped through yesterday as a result of captain De Villiers and vice captain Strauss with two reserve props and Louw and Vermeulen turning the tables through sheer will not to lose a game where loss looked eminent.

In short the players took charge of the situation and chucked Meyer’s weakness overboard and closed out a game they should have lost if Meyer was left to his own weak devices.

All these goddamn pathetic weak excuses that we are rebuilding and we’ve lost most of our strike force through injury or retirement or unavailability is just that, weak pathetic feeble excuses. With the correct coaching and the correct strategy and correct player selection this would be a very strong Bok team. The reason it is not is because the coach is weak and his criteria for favoring certain players over others in critical positions is weakening and compromising the strength of the team as a whole.

• 200.liefling: Reply to this comment

Starting to dislike Meyer more and more. When will he learn we are already backward. Stuart Barnes says how the 6 nations is the 2nd tier but we aren’t far ahead of them. Rhules comment in Rapport sums it up, as does the selection of Morne and Kirchner. But then again when you appoint Ricardo Loubscher as your backline coach what should we expect.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.